Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: longballin on April 02, 2018, 10:22:30 PM

Title: Ian Óg Twitter storm
Post by: longballin on April 02, 2018, 10:22:30 PM
Will Ian Og resign? Should he resign? I think so...
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-43622706
Title: Re: Ian Óg Twitter storm
Post by: Square Ball on April 02, 2018, 10:26:42 PM
He aploogised so that will be that, f**k all will happen to him.
Post by: bennydorano on April 02, 2018, 10:27:57 PM
What will happen that disease Hopkins tho.  Ian og will be fine
Post by: Main Street on April 02, 2018, 10:29:26 PM
Perhaps he thought Ramadan was some sort of a knife wielding murderous fiend on his way to the English capital.
Post by: longballin on April 02, 2018, 10:31:53 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on April 02, 2018, 10:26:42 PM

so did McElduff and he got screwed to the wall
Post by: GJL on April 02, 2018, 10:41:20 PM
That Hopkins woman is a complete waste of oxygen. She is a horrible poisonous woman. I don't think she even believes half of what she says. Just a WUM.
Post by: screenexile on April 02, 2018, 10:43:40 PM
Quote from: GJL on April 02, 2018, 10:41:20 PM
That Hopkins woman is a complete waste of oxygen. She is a horrible poisonous woman. I don't think she even believes half of what she says. Just a WUM.

She doesn't! She realises that she can make a pretty good living out of being a right wing sensationalist mouthpiece and that's about it.

The whole thing is an act!!
Post by: red hander on April 02, 2018, 11:19:02 PM
Quote from: screenexile on April 02, 2018, 10:43:40 PM
Quote from: GJL on April 02, 2018, 10:41:20 PM

She doesn't! She realises that she can make a pretty good living out of being a right wing sensationalist mouthpiece and that's about it.

The whole thing is an act!!

Yep. Dudley Edwards, Harris and O Hanlon are of the same ilk, hideous scum
Post by: give her dixie on April 02, 2018, 11:44:53 PM
Just last week

(https://seachranaidhe1.files.wordpress.com/2018/03/fb_img_1522155822143.jpg)
Post by: longballin on April 03, 2018, 12:07:54 AM
Quote from: give her dixie on April 02, 2018, 11:44:53 PM
Just last week

is that a photoshop?
Post by: give her dixie on April 03, 2018, 12:24:32 AM
No, this was at an Anti Semitism / Anti Corbyn rally held in London last week

Here he is in his twitter video expressing his views on the day......

https://twitter.com/ianpaisleymp/status/978318053627834368

To Ian, anti semitism is bad, but Islamophobia is ok
Post by: give her dixie on April 03, 2018, 12:44:18 AM
Her response to Ian........

Katie Hopkins

Verified account

@KTHopkins
Follow Follow @KTHopkins
More
Bless your heart @ianpaisleymp - thanks for being a loyal secret follower. Big love to the @duponline

https://twitter.com/KTHopkins/status/980902912066015233

Which is nice, considering she had this to say a couple of weeks ago:

Respectfully, I have said for a long time - the answer is a unified Ireland. One cannot vote for British independence & then blame Ireland if they would want the same. That's pure hypocrisy.

https://twitter.com/kthopkins/status/969521674449248256?lang=en
Post by: imtommygunn on April 03, 2018, 07:54:19 AM
Quote from: give her dixie on April 02, 2018, 11:44:53 PM
Just last week

Yes to anti fenianism.
Post by: MoChara on April 03, 2018, 08:42:11 AM
Ian supports and even takes credit for some confusing things on Twitter

(http://image.ibb.co/hkCTex/ian_og.png)

https://twitter.com/ianpaisleymp/status/978241036639236097
Post by: RedHand88 on April 03, 2018, 09:19:24 AM
Another classic for the Ian og scrapbook. Reminds me of that Simpsons scene...
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=91eIDu6Aw-8
Post by: Square Ball on April 03, 2018, 10:58:12 AM
Quote from: longballin on April 02, 2018, 10:31:53 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on April 02, 2018, 10:26:42 PM

so did McElduff and he got screwed to the wall

But hes in the DUP, does he have the morals to do the right thing? Will his followers have any idea what Ramadan is? Pig and grunt
Post by: gallsman on April 03, 2018, 11:15:17 AM
Of course they know what Ramadan is. It's that thing those brown lads do every year. You know, the thing with the brown lads.
Post by: RedHand88 on April 03, 2018, 11:26:22 AM
Got a professional looking leaflet through the door yesterday (Ravenhill road) about stopping the "Islamisation of Ulster". I wonder how many degrees of separation these leaflets have with DUP members.
Post by: Orior on April 03, 2018, 11:55:32 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on April 03, 2018, 11:26:22 AM
Got a professional looking leaflet through the door yesterday (Ravenhill road) about stopping the "Islamisation of Ulster". I wonder how many degrees of separation these leaflets have with DUP members.

As long as they play gaelic football then I don't mind. Down with this hurling thing.
Post by: yellowcard on April 03, 2018, 12:12:29 PM
What is nearly worse is the fact that an elected MP claimed that he didn't know what Ramadan referred to. He is either very thick or just a liar and I know which one I'd veer towards.
Post by: The Iceman on April 03, 2018, 12:32:51 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 03, 2018, 11:15:17 AM
Of course they know what Ramadan is. It's that thing those brown lads do every year. You know, the thing with the brown lads.
by painting them as racist morons who sweep a brush over a group of people are you not doing the exact same thing?

I would say it was a genuine mistake and he overlooked the second half of the tweet before retweeting
Post by: OgraAnDun on April 03, 2018, 01:10:25 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on April 03, 2018, 12:12:29 PM
What is nearly worse is the fact that an elected MP claimed that he didn't know what Ramadan referred to. He is either very thick or just a liar and I know which one I'd veer towards.

They're not mutually exclusive.
Post by: give her dixie on April 03, 2018, 01:14:45 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on April 03, 2018, 12:32:51 PM
by painting them as racist morons who sweep a brush over a group of people are you not doing the exact same thing?

I would say it was a genuine mistake and he overlooked the second half of the tweet before retweeting

There were only 16 words in the tweet.

Does he have the capabilities to read that many words in a sentence?
Post by: tiempo on April 03, 2018, 01:16:38 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on April 03, 2018, 12:32:51 PM

Bullsh1t.

By sharing it he endorsed all 16 words, should be roaded.
Post by: Minder on April 03, 2018, 01:48:58 PM
There certainly seems to be a problem with black gangs in London, higher murder rate than New York at the minute.
Post by: Orior on April 03, 2018, 03:13:00 PM
We should create a thread of all the abusive, racist, sectarian, inflammatory tweets which would have any other elected representative booted out.

Ian Og, Sammy the naturist and Lord Looney John Taylor (ok, not an elected representative) will provide plenty of examples.
Post by: red hander on April 03, 2018, 04:33:43 PM
Quote from: Orior on April 03, 2018, 03:13:00 PM
We should create a thread of all the abusive, racist, sectarian, inflammatory tweets which would have any other elected representative booted out.

Ian Og, Sammy the naturist and Lord Looney John Taylor (ok, not an elected representative) will provide plenty of examples.

Unionists are utterly shameless. Total unwillingness to acknowledge wrongdoing on their side, consider themselves the only victims, and get away with it due to a compliant media. Let them f**king stew in their own juices, no return to Stormont
Post by: imtommygunn on April 03, 2018, 07:50:27 PM

They must be very concerned about donegal, monaghan and cavan too then  ;D

These pricks have absolutely no shame. I used to get annoyed but don't see the point. No to anti semitism but yes to just about every other prejudice known to mankind. They think they are in with the big boys and are helping their tory overlords sink the big bad man who once met the ira(even though danny morrison has stated he was there when douglas herd met them before corbyn did).

They take no accountability for anything, show no willingness to compromise and show increasing signs of actually having their decisions made by the loyalist paramilitaries.

Really they are the lowest of the low.

Worst of it is there are new ones just as bad coming up. That lockhart, pengelly and the one who looks about 80 is actually only mid 30s so they aren't going away soon.
Post by: red hander on April 03, 2018, 08:21:58 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 03, 2018, 07:50:27 PM

These pricks have absolutely no shame. I used to get annoyed but don't see the point. No to anti semitism but yes to just about every other prejudice known to mankind. They think they are in with the big boys and are helping their tory overlords sink the big bad man who once met the ira(even though danny morrison has stated he was there when douglas herd met them before corbyn did).

They take no accountability for anything, show no willingness to compromise and show increasing signs of actually having their decisions made by the loyalist paramilitaries.

Worst of it is there are new ones just as bad coming up. That lockhart, pengelly and the one who looks about 80 is actually only mid 30s so they aren't going away soon.

That would be the piss artist Stalford ... it's enough to put you off drink. Saying that, over the last few months Arlene looks like she's been trying to match him glass for glass  ;D
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 03, 2018, 08:23:21 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 03, 2018, 07:50:27 PM

LOL presumably you mean 35 year old Chris Stalford? It's a tough paper round in S. Belfast.

(https://minutes3.belfastcity.gov.uk/UserData/3/7/0/Info00000073/bigpic.jpg)
Post by: imtommygunn on April 03, 2018, 08:29:03 PM
Yes that's him!

Odious man.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 03, 2018, 08:29:38 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 03, 2018, 08:29:03 PM
Yes that's him!

Odious man.
Well qualified for the DUP then.
Post by: imtommygunn on April 03, 2018, 08:31:11 PM
Exactly.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 03, 2018, 08:54:31 PM
Off tangent from the DUP, but how did Katie Hopkins become something? Has she a newspaper column or something?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 03, 2018, 09:05:21 PM
not anymore

When the Daily Heil give you the road for being too extreme - it says something
Post by: tiempo on April 03, 2018, 09:22:13 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 03, 2018, 08:54:31 PM
Off tangent from the DUP, but how did Katie Hopkins become something? Has she a newspaper column or something?

First appeared in The Apprentice the cúnt
Post by: michaelg on April 03, 2018, 09:34:53 PM
Quote from: tiempo on April 03, 2018, 09:22:13 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 03, 2018, 08:54:31 PM

First appeared in The Apprentice the cúnt
What's stronger than ****?
Post by: Therealdonald on April 03, 2018, 11:17:35 PM
Hmm Sinn Fein's silence about this is amazing? Especially after the McElduff + Kingsmill escapade.
Post by: BenDover on April 04, 2018, 07:16:37 AM
Quote from: Therealdonald on April 03, 2018, 11:17:35 PM
Hmm Sinn Fein's silence about this is amazing? Especially after the McElduff + Kingsmill escapade.
The public outcry on twitter is calling for heads to roll - does Sinn Féin really need to get over involved
Post by: Orior on April 04, 2018, 08:25:51 AM
Quote from: BenDover on April 04, 2018, 07:16:37 AM
Quote from: Therealdonald on April 03, 2018, 11:17:35 PM
The public outcry on twitter is calling for heads to roll - does Sinn Féin really need to get over involved

Exactly. Just remind the Dup the next time they are up on that very high horse
Post by: Applesisapples on April 04, 2018, 10:55:29 AM
I think SF are being sensible by staying quiet. Meanwhile the DUP look quite hyocritical given their stance on McIlduff.
Post by: DickyRock on April 04, 2018, 03:36:00 PM
Would equate this more to Máirtín Ó Millionaire's retweet than McElduff's gaff. I'd say that's why SF are relatively quiet.
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on April 04, 2018, 04:53:44 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 03, 2018, 07:50:27 PMNo to anti semitism

That's because Ulster Protestants are actually one of the Lost Tribes of Israel so there is a connection and empathy there.

Nelson McCausland knows all about it.

/Jim.
Post by: MoChara on April 04, 2018, 06:48:18 PM
https://m.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/uk/dup-mla-deletes-twitter-account-after-retweeting-post-describing-sadiq-khan-as-enemy-within-36773599.html

They'll have to ban these clampits of Twitter 😂
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 04, 2018, 07:15:39 PM
Quote from: MoChara on April 04, 2018, 06:48:18 PM
https://m.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/uk/dup-mla-deletes-twitter-account-after-retweeting-post-describing-sadiq-khan-as-enemy-within-36773599.html

They'll have to ban these clampits of Twitter 😂

He's well fed anyway, Maurice Bradley.
Post by: RedHand88 on April 05, 2018, 10:34:14 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-43652898

No word of condemnation as of yet from the DUP...
Post by: longballin on April 05, 2018, 10:40:46 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on April 05, 2018, 10:34:14 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-43652898

No word of condemnation as of yet from the DUP...

why would they condemn something they agree with?  :-\
Post by: Orior on April 05, 2018, 11:29:07 AM
The organisers behind the leaflet drop would certainly have been encouraged by tweets from Ian Og, Maurice Bradley, John Taylor and Jim Allister. Yet none of them will be charged with incitement to hatred.
Post by: Franko on April 05, 2018, 11:50:07 AM
Not a word either from Rossfan, Owenmoresider, Syferus, Owen Brannigan, Avondhu Star etc etc...

These guys usually take a strong interest in the social media misdemeanours of politicians in the 6 counties.   ::)
Post by: Rossfan on April 05, 2018, 12:01:36 PM
I'm taking my lead from Sinn Féin  ;)
Post by: Franko on April 05, 2018, 12:46:55 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 05, 2018, 12:01:36 PM

I've no doubt you're easy led and would have no bother swallowing instructions from certain political parties.
But it wouldn't be SF.

No comment on the issue then?  You and your fellow bots rambled on for 50 odd pages about the McElduff incident.

Not a peep here from any of you - even when prompted.
Post by: tiempo on April 05, 2018, 12:50:49 PM

Original post before editing was "A word."

Quisling.
Post by: Applesisapples on April 05, 2018, 01:56:54 PM
Quote from: DickyRock on April 04, 2018, 03:36:00 PM
Would equate this more to Máirtín Ó Millionaire's retweet than McElduff's gaff. I'd say that's why SF are relatively quiet.
Not quite the same thing, retweet a shit joke does not equate to a retweet of a racist slur.
Post by: Rossfan on April 05, 2018, 04:02:17 PM
Quote from: Franko on April 05, 2018, 12:46:55 PM

I've no doubt you're easy led and would have no bother swallowing instructions from certain political parties.
But it wouldn't be SF.

No comment on the issue then?  You and your fellow bots rambled on for 50 odd pages about the McElduff incident.

Unlike you buicín I don't take instructions from political parties.
Paisley like must DUPUDA types now think it's acceptable to mimic the extremist English Nationalists.
That arrogant party never apologise for anything RHI, links to UDA, hatred and bigotry etc.
McElduff was still a gobshite at best though.
Post by: Franko on April 06, 2018, 12:24:49 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 05, 2018, 04:02:17 PM
Quote from: Franko on April 05, 2018, 12:46:55 PM

But it wouldn't be SF.

Unlike you buicín I don't take instructions from political parties.
Paisley like must DUPUDA types now think it's acceptable to mimic the extremist English Nationalists.
That arrogant party never apologise for anything RHI, links to UDA, hatred and bigotry etc.
McElduff was still a gobshite at best though.

Criticised SF many times on here lad. Not a member and only a sometimes voter.  If you'd take a second to read other's posts before bashing out your latest keyboard rant about them you'd have noticed that.

Interesting that after all that, you still couldn't write something about the DUP without mentioning SF.  You and your perennially faux outraged fellow quislings have a real issue in that regard.
Post by: Rossfan on April 06, 2018, 10:05:57 AM
You and sone other "republicans" have an issue about 26 Co folk calling us Quislings etc. and being abusive to us at every hands turn.
Not exactly the way to make friends now isit?
Who the fcuk do ye think ye'll be uniting with in a UI ?
Post by: Franko on April 06, 2018, 12:04:47 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 06, 2018, 10:05:57 AM
You and sone other "republicans" have an issue about 26 Co folk calling us Quislings etc. and being abusive to us at every hands turn.

Nope, not all 26 county folk, not by a long shot.  Just those that it applies to.  Like you.
Post by: tiempo on April 06, 2018, 12:20:11 PM
Quote from: Franko on April 06, 2018, 12:04:47 PM

Nope, not all 26 county folk, not by a long shot.  Just those that it applies to.  Like you.

A period of reconciliation between Republicans and quislings throughout the island would be essential in a new Ireland in order for it to function to its potential.
Post by: Rossfan on April 06, 2018, 12:35:16 PM

So who are "Quislings"?
The 85% who don't vote SF?
People who think Barry McElduff is a clown?
People who don't agree with Franko?
People who love Gaelic games and support their local teams club and County?

Who are the non "Quislings"?
Post by: tiempo on April 06, 2018, 01:05:44 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 06, 2018, 12:35:16 PM

So who are "Quislings"?

The partitionist west brits in the demilitrised zone.
Post by: Rossfan on April 06, 2018, 03:49:31 PM
Where's that? Dublin 4 or somewhere past the twilight zone?
Post by: Hardy on April 06, 2018, 04:23:48 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 06, 2018, 03:49:31 PM

No. Like D4 itself it's not a geographical location; it's a state of mind. (That's on the benign assumption that a shinnerbot has a mind.)
Post by: Franko on April 06, 2018, 05:02:31 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 06, 2018, 04:23:48 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 06, 2018, 03:49:31 PM

No. Like D4 itself it's not a geographical location; it's a state of mind. (That's on the benign assumption that a shinnerbot has a mind.)

Yawn.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 06, 2018, 07:06:47 PM
Eh. D4 is a geographical location :)
Post by: Hardy on April 07, 2018, 10:31:32 AM
I was paraphrasing Eoghan Harris. I think. On reflection I don't know why I'd do that.
Post by: Rossfan on April 07, 2018, 11:01:25 AM

So who are "Quislings"?

??????
Post by: tiempo on April 07, 2018, 11:32:13 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 07, 2018, 11:01:25 AM

So who are "Quislings"?

??????

Miriam O'Callaghan for one.
Post by: Franko on April 07, 2018, 06:48:57 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 07, 2018, 11:01:25 AM

So who are "Quislings"?

??????

So who are "Quislings"?
If you have to ask...

I'll start with those who take every opportunity to attack northern nationalist representatives yet seem totally unable to either see or comment on the wrongdoings of other politicians on the island.  It's not an exhaustive list, mind.

No... but I'm sure some are

No

In this particular conversation we are having, yes.

No.

The rest - and vast majority I'd hope.

I'll add that, though you seem quite keen to get a response yourself, you still haven't responded to my post from a few months back on the SF thread.  (you know, the one on which you spent 50 pages discussing McElduff with a loaf on his head).

Maybe you'll oblige me.
Post by: Rossfan on April 07, 2018, 08:06:02 PM
Can you please enlighten me as I have neither the time now interest in ploughing through 50 pages to see what you might have said.

I still don't see how condemning  SF politicians makes anyone a "Quisling".
Post by: Franko on April 08, 2018, 12:24:26 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 07, 2018, 08:06:02 PM
Can you please enlighten me as I have neither the time now interest in ploughing through 50 pages to see what you might have said.

I still don't see how condemning  SF politicians makes anyone a "Quisling".

Neither do I.  But safe to say, you didn't just 'miss' it at the time.

And the bit in bold.  Straw man much?  ::)
Post by: Franko on July 07, 2018, 09:03:24 PM
So... Ian Og deleted his twitter account during the week.  And voracious tweeter Emma Pengelly has been very quiet of late.

An acquaintance of mine who is reasonably well connected to events on the hill tells me that these events are not entirely unconnnected and that Paisley has been caught filling Pengelly's boiler with loads of Ballymena pellets... so to speak...
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 07, 2018, 09:14:48 PM
Quote from: Franko on July 07, 2018, 09:03:24 PM
So... Ian Og deleted his twitter account during the week.  And voracious tweeter Emma Pengelly has been very quiet of late.

An acquaintance of mine who is reasonably well connected to events on the hill tells me that these events are not entirely unconnnected and that Paisley has been caught filling Pengelly's boiler with loads of Ballymena pellets... so to speak...

LOL
Post by: gallsman on July 07, 2018, 10:11:32 PM
They just can't stop shooting themselves in the foot. Ridiculous stuff.

At the same time, would be massively surprised if any of this hurt them at the polls.
Post by: johnnycool on July 07, 2018, 10:30:36 PM

Heard a good quote about the fundamentalist Christians that plague certain villages near me;

They won't lift their hands on a Sunday, but they'd stick their cocks in your wife on a Monday.

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 08, 2018, 01:33:04 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on July 07, 2018, 10:30:36 PM

Heard a good quote about the fundamentalist Christians that plague certain villages near me;

They won't lift their hands on a Sunday, but they'd stick their cocks in your wife on a Monday.

Is that not a Craig David song!?
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on July 08, 2018, 01:35:13 PM
What da fcuk happens on Tuesday then?! Tell me more!
Post by: illdecide on July 08, 2018, 02:01:12 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on July 08, 2018, 01:35:13 PM
What da fcuk happens on Tuesday then?! Tell me more!

When you're at work :D
Post by: dec on July 09, 2018, 06:56:28 PM
She is back tweeting again

https://twitter.com/little_pengelly/status/1016018570650714112
E Little-Pengelly MP
‏Verified account @little_pengelly

Hello!
Despite much #fakenews, I am still on twitter & my profile etc remains active.
I have been taking a lovely 4 week break from the toxic toilet that is twitter while I try out other social media platforms as not convinced of effectiveness or value of twitter. That is all
Post by: Carmen Stateside on July 09, 2018, 07:22:16 PM
I see them both on BBC parliament at the moment talking to empty green benches
Post by: Dougal Maguire on July 09, 2018, 09:25:19 PM
I'm sure the boul Richard must be regretting giving up family life for that