Poppy Watch

Started by Orior, November 04, 2010, 12:36:05 PM

Not a fan of poppies myself. However across the water they are a neutral fund raising device for the British Legion. The only reason they are cotrovertial in the North is because of the conflict number one and secondly the insistence of unionist to shove them down nationalist throats, which a bit like Mr Feighan actually denigrates the great work that the poppy campaign funds. If we are moving on I think that as nationalists we need to get over the poppy in the same way the unionists need to get over and accept nationalist symbols. Both sides need to accept this is shared space, we are not Finchley or Fanad but some where in between.

stibhan

I wouldn't wear a poppy, but don't find it offensive or begrudge anyone who wishes to wear one. I might have in the past, but I really don't care anymore. Poppy fascism is a hundred times more offensive to me than someone's individual choice.

Olaf

Quote from: Applesisapples on November 09, 2012, 01:36:39 PM
Not a fan of poppies myself. However across the water they are a neutral fund raising device for the British Legion. The only reason they are cotrovertial in the North is because of the conflict number one and secondly the insistence of unionist to shove them down nationalist throats,

How does this manifest itself in Northern Ireland? I don't see it.

Quote from: bennydorano on November 08, 2012, 07:14:34 PM
It's primarily a fundraiser for ex-forces i think, money raised goes to the Royal British Legion AFAIK.

If that is the case, I am changing my vote, any nationalist that wears one knowing this should be ashamed of themselves.

Will Kenny and Gilbore be wearing the offensive symbol when they prostrate themselves to British military pomp in Belfast next Sunday?  >:( >:(
Will Robinson be attending at the GPO next Easter Monday?
Why is peace and reconciliation such a one way street ?

The poppy is worn today not just to remind people of the soldiers who died in the british army in the two world wars, but it also supports what the british army is doing today in afganistan and iraq. Money raised from the sales of these poppies go straight into the british war machine in these countries. dont forget of all the countries that this empire have colonised and uprooted, by wearing this poppy your are supporting all of the above. Yer man from roscommom, the TD there, seems to forget or simply ignore these actions, I believe it is the latter. Many people from ireland have a deep fascination of all things british, we still think that they are a step above us.

Quote from: theticklemister on November 09, 2012, 03:40:00 PM

The poppy is worn today not just to remind people of the soldiers who died in the british army in the two world wars, but it also supports what the british army is doing today in afganistan and iraq. Money raised from the sales of these poppies go straight into the british war machine in these countries. dont forget of all the countries that this empire have colonised and uprooted, by wearing this poppy your are supporting all of the above. Yer man from roscommom, the TD there, seems to forget or simply ignore these actions, I believe it is the latter. Many people from ireland have a deep fascination of all things british, we still think that they are a step above us.
[/b][/b][/b][/b]

A sizable minority i'd say, the majority would have more cop on!

Olaf

Money raised from the sales of these poppies go straight into the british war machine in these countries. dont forget of all the countries that this empire have colonised and uprooted, by wearing this poppy your are supporting all of the above. Yer man from roscommom, the TD there, seems to forget or simply ignore these actions, I believe it is the latter. Many people from ireland have a deep fascination of all things british, we still think that they are a step above us.

It goes to the Royal British Legion and is  used for the welfare of ex-servicemen and their families/dependants.

What about the Poppy campaign in Canada?

charlieTully

Quote from: Olaf on November 09, 2012, 04:22:26 PM

Money raised from the sales of these poppies go straight into the british war machine in these countries. dont forget of all the countries that this empire have colonised and uprooted, by wearing this poppy your are supporting all of the above. Yer man from roscommom, the TD there, seems to forget or simply ignore these actions, I believe it is the latter. Many people from ireland have a deep fascination of all things british, we still think that they are a step above us.

It goes to the Royal British Legion and is  used for the welfare of ex-servicemen and their families/dependants.

guys like lee clegg, mark wright and james fisher.

Quote from: charlieTully on November 09, 2012, 04:30:17 PM
Quote from: Olaf on November 09, 2012, 04:22:26 PM

guys like lee clegg, mark wright and james fisher.

Exactly!

Perhaps Feighan, Kenny and Gilbore might stop off here while they are at it.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Mcanespie_road_side.jpg

"The day after the killing, the Irish Government appointed Garda Deputy Commissioner Eugene Crowley to investigate the incident. The results of the investigation were received by the Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform Gerry Collins on 8 April 1988, but have never been published.A Royal Ulster Constabulary investigation also took place which concluded that the killing was accidental.

In June 2008, the Police Service of Northern Ireland Historical Enquiries Team published its findings on the case. The report called the soldier's explanation for the killing the "least likely version" of what happened. The Ministry of Defence said it had co-operated with the inquiry and understood that this did not uncover any new evidence that would warrant further investigation. In October 2008, a Police Service of Northern Ireland investigation concluded that Jonathan Holden's gun required 9 lbs of pressure to pull the trigger, and that the soldier's account of the events was highly unlikely. It described the chances of this occurring, combined with hitting McAnespie by accident as, "so remote as to be virtually disregarded".

The Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, Shaun Woodward expressed "deep regret" at the incident in a statement made in July 2009, which was welcomed by McAnespie's family.

Quote from: Rossfan on November 09, 2012, 03:13:29 PM
Will Kenny and Gilbore be wearing the offensive symbol when they prostrate themselves to British military pomp in Belfast next Sunday?  >:( >:(
Will Robinson be attending at the GPO next Easter Monday?
Why is peace and reconciliation such a one way street ?

Why are they doing this can I ask?

Ex Stickie/OSF/SFWP/Dem Left and once a Socialist Gilbore has accepted an invite from either Belfast City Council or the Belfast organisers of those British military remembrance of their armed forces.
Meanwhile your County man and Taoiseach is going to the Enniskillen British Miltary rememebrance.
Hopefully they might both visit Mr McAnespie's memorial, plus the Bloody Sunday site(s) in Derry not to mention the sites or memorials of many other murders committed by British armed forces in the 6 Cos.

Just to show that people murdered by those forces are equally important as the Black and Tans, SAS, Paras, UDR, B Specials, RUC and many others.
Respect of both traditions on "The Island" , Parity of esteem and all that.
Then maybe we can all "move on". 

Quote from: Rossfan on November 09, 2012, 05:43:14 PM
Perhaps Feighan, Kenny and Gilbore might stop off here while they are at it.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Mcanespie_road_side.jpg

"The day after the killing, the Irish Government appointed Garda Deputy Commissioner Eugene Crowley to investigate the incident. The results of the investigation were received by the Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform Gerry Collins on 8 April 1988, but have never been published.A Royal Ulster Constabulary investigation also took place which concluded that the killing was accidental.

In June 2008, the Police Service of Northern Ireland Historical Enquiries Team published its findings on the case. The report called the soldier's explanation for the killing the "least likely version" of what happened. The Ministry of Defence said it had co-operated with the inquiry and understood that this did not uncover any new evidence that would warrant further investigation. In October 2008, a Police Service of Northern Ireland investigation concluded that Jonathan Holden's gun required 9 lbs of pressure to pull the trigger, and that the soldier's account of the events was highly unlikely. It described the chances of this occurring, combined with hitting McAnespie by accident as, "so remote as to be virtually disregarded".

The Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, Shaun Woodward expressed "deep regret" at the incident in a statement made in July 2009, which was welcomed by McAnespie's family.
Could never understand why.
In the wake of the post mortem, the coroner concluded that from the angle at which the bullet entered the body, Holden had been firing into the ground with the intention of making young McAnespie 'dance.'
According to him, there could be no other rational explanation. The Irish Cabinet discussed his findings but decided that it would be futile to press the matter as Holden had been initially charged with manslaughter but this charge had been inexplicably dropped before he was brought to trial where he was fined for some petty misdemeanour.
The Irish government was quite satisfied that the Brits were engaged in a cover up and decided that they couldn't do anything about this so they let the matter drop.
That's what I was told by a senior government minister some years after the tragic killing and I've no  reason to doubt his word..