GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Dinny Breen on June 12, 2017, 12:15:26 PM

Title: El Ancient East Classico Kildare v Meath
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 12, 2017, 12:15:26 PM
Live on TV this weekend so probably deserves it's own thread so everyone can tell us how shit Leinster football is.

Neil Flynn is reported as a possibility for the weekend, can't see him starting but with him and Paddy Brophy in the wings Kildare will have even more impact off the bench.

The Meath HS forum are being very cocky but then Meath always expect to beat Kildare but the ability to ignore the hammering in the League and our underage dominance over them is remarkable some would say even arrogant. So we know Meath don't fear Kildare.

Meath have issues with their full back line, whether it's personnel or system they gave up an awful lot of goal chances against Louth and Paddy O'Rourke would not inspire me. Both teams are quite pacey so should cancel each other out but I think Kildare are more powerful around the middle 8, Byrne, Conway Cribben*2 Doyle and Moolick provide physicality and Kelly and Feely are more style. Kildare are susceptible to being ran at so if we can tighten those channels with maybe Moolick dropping back in addition to Conway's and P Cribben's workrate I give us a very good chance at limiting goal opportunities. Lyons is expected to pick up probably the form forward in the country Graham Reilly so with Lyins good going forward it might be a case of trying to get Reilly out of position to nullify his influence.

Kildare to win it's really about nullifying O'Sullivan and Reilly while limiting goal chances, I think Kildare have a much better range of scorers so if it goes to a shootout Kildare have artillery on the bench Brophy, Flynn, Dowling and Healy all capable of scoring 2 or 3 points from play.

Going to call it early before anxiety takes over. Kildare by 3.

Title: Re: El Ancient East Classico Kildare v Meath
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 12, 2017, 02:21:03 PM
Right ignore the above Joe McQuillan is the referee. A lottery it is..

(https://media4.giphy.com/media/ev4l3AmCgP5QI/giphy.gif)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 12, 2017, 02:24:14 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 12, 2017, 02:21:03 PM
Right ignore the above Joe McQuillan is the referee. A lottery it is..

(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/a6/15/f7/a615f7bcb557561d2f6b4fc1651b58a1.jpg)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 12, 2017, 02:38:39 PM
Five wins apiece and two draws in the last twenty years:

1997 LSFC Semi-Final: DRAW
1997 LSFC Semi-Final Replay: DRAW (AET)
1997 LSFC Semi-Final 2nd Replay: MEATH
1998 LSFC Final: KILDARE
2001 LSFC Semi-Final: MEATH
2003 LSFC Semi-Final: KILDARE
2007 LSFC Round 1: MEATH
2010 AISFC Quarter-Final: KILDARE
2011 LSFC Quarter-Final: KILDARE
2011 AISFCQ Round 3: KILDARE
2012 LSFC Semi-Final: MEATH
2014 LSFC Semi-Final: MEATH
Post by: thejuice on June 12, 2017, 03:23:31 PM
The above assessment is probably fair. Given the goal chances ye had in the league and then the last day against Louth, our biggest concern is our corner backs and some of the half back line. Other threats besides Reilly have emerged so hopefully we don't have too much riding on him producing the bulk of our scores.

In fairness to Paddy O'Rourke he is a good shot stopper and the type of mistakes he made the last day probably won't happen again for at least another few games hopefully. I expect a tight game and really could go either way.

By the way if we lose you'd probably see the sages on hoganstand going back to doom and gloom mode. 
Post by: Captain Scarlet on June 12, 2017, 05:27:54 PM
I can't see either team going too negative, purely for the fact that neither team have rock solid defences. That is wishful thinking but I am hoping for a slightly old-fashioned game.
Meath have serious pace so Kildare need to have some men sitting a bit deeper and the wing forwards will sit inside a bit. The worry in Kildare is that Meath will run down our middle and that we don't like it when forwards run at us, but no team in the country likes a team running at them with pace.
On the other hand Kildare have enough to expose the Meath backline and with D Flynn at full forward bursting out he is a serious focal point. Paddy Brophy is back from OZ, Neil Flynn coming back earlier than hoped plus Chris Healy and Fionn Dowling are on the bench. That gives a lot of varied options up front.
I think Kildare by three if we can't get goals in. If we do it could be a lot more. To be honest I wouldn't say no to Brophy coming in at some stage with D Flynn and bombing a few in around the square. That all being said, surely Meath will look to stop the green flags on Sunday above all else...
This may pain me to say but I do like what McEntee has done with the team overall and for Leinster to have two teams at the business end of Division 2 this year is a good thing. the Dubs will take either team but I don't see it being a massacre unlike other years.

Post by: Jinxy on June 12, 2017, 06:15:25 PM
Quote from: thejuice on June 12, 2017, 03:23:31 PM
The above assessment is probably fair. Given the goal chances ye had in the league and then the last day against Louth, our biggest concern is our corner backs and some of the half back line. Other threats besides Reilly have emerged so hopefully we don't have too much riding on him producing the bulk of our scores.

In fairness to Paddy O'Rourke he is a good shot stopper and the type of mistakes he made the last day probably won't happen again for at least another few games hopefully. I expect a tight game and really could go either way.

By the way if we lose you'd probably see the sages on hoganstand going back to doom and gloom mode.

I'd like to believe that...
Post by: Jinxy on June 12, 2017, 06:18:10 PM
Anyway, this is Kildare's game to lose.
We're a team in transition... still.
Post by: seafoid on June 12, 2017, 06:24:26 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 12, 2017, 06:18:10 PM
Anyway, this is Kildare's game to lose.
We're a team in transition... still.

Have you had surgery yet?
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 12, 2017, 09:14:06 PM
McQuillan refereeing makes Meath favourites, unless of course it was only McGeeney he had it in for all these years. The only championship wins Kildare have had with him refereeing were against Clare and Antrim to the best of my recollection. The losses were numerous however and he needed a Garda escort out of Newbridge for the last one against Tyrone in 2013.
Post by: Jinxy on June 12, 2017, 09:43:47 PM
If there are any more attempts to influence/intimidate Joe McQuillan before Saturday I will have no choice but to report each and every Kildare poster to the mods.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 12, 2017, 10:25:08 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 12, 2017, 09:43:47 PM
If there are any more attempts to influence/intimidate Joe McQuillan before Saturday I will have no choice but to report each and every Kildare poster to the mods.

I'm only joking, Joe McQuillan is an excellent referee, probably the best in the country at the moment.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 12, 2017, 11:18:06 PM
(https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTJe8ZrESA64Ke4kAdtBC_0aSEcW2Sk0kn7AfuBlg4QYKDZi-i7pw)

Just a few lads trying to get a selfie, we love Joe, great referee.
Post by: DJGaliv on June 12, 2017, 11:34:35 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 12, 2017, 12:15:26 PM
Live on TV this weekend so probably deserves it's own thread so everyone can tell us how shit Leinster football is.

Neil Flynn is reported as a possibility for the weekend, can't see him starting but with him and Paddy Brophy in the wings Kildare will have even more impact off the bench.

The Meath HS forum are being very cocky but then Meath always expect to beat Kildare but the ability to ignore the hammering in the League and our underage dominance over them is remarkable some would say even arrogant. So we know Meath don't fear Kildare.

Meath have issues with their full back line, whether it's personnel or system they gave up an awful lot of goal chances against Louth and Paddy O'Rourke would not inspire me. Both teams are quite pacey so should cancel each other out but I think Kildare are more powerful around the middle 8, Byrne, Conway Cribben*2 Doyle and Moolick provide physicality and Kelly and Feely are more style. Kildare are susceptible to being ran at so if we can tighten those channels with maybe Moolick dropping back in addition to Conway's and P Cribben's workrate I give us a very good chance at limiting goal opportunities. Lyons is expected to pick up probably the form forward in the country Graham Reilly so with Lyins good going forward it might be a case of trying to get Reilly out of position to nullify his influence.

Kildare to win it's really about nullifying O'Sullivan and Reilly while limiting goal chances, I think Kildare have a much better range of scorers so if it goes to a shootout Kildare have artillery on the bench Brophy, Flynn, Dowling and Healy all capable of scoring 2 or 3 points from play.

Really looking forward to this game. Both teams were the most impressive I saw Galway come up against in div 2.
Is it on rte or sky do you know?
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 13, 2017, 12:21:14 AM
Quote from: DJGaliv on June 12, 2017, 11:34:35 PM

Really looking forward to this game. Both teams were the most impressive I saw Galway come up against in div 2.

Sky thank God, decent analysis.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on June 13, 2017, 04:01:10 PM
I am hearing it is a sell-out?
Post by: Main Street on June 13, 2017, 04:29:44 PM
El Ancient East Classico  ???

You guys can't even spell Clasico.

Post by: BennyCake on June 13, 2017, 04:31:51 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 13, 2017, 04:29:44 PM
El Ancient East Classico  ???

You guys can't even spell Clasico.

Was Galway Mayo the Wild West Clasico then?
Post by: Jinxy on June 13, 2017, 05:58:33 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 13, 2017, 12:21:14 AM

You not going, Dinny?
Waiting for the final, yeah?
Disgusting arrogance as usual.  >:(
Wait till Andy hears about this, he'll have the lads bouncing off the walls.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on June 13, 2017, 06:27:49 PM
The walls of both dressing rooms are going to be covered with print-outs from various partisan forums...
I am really looking forward to this one. Obviously the win os key for both, but I think both camps are expecting a performance win, lose or draw.
Scoring, and in turn stopping, goals is even more key than normal in this game. Kildare are much-improved in terms of goals and I think they should get a couple on Saturday...
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 13, 2017, 06:38:06 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on June 13, 2017, 04:01:10 PM
I am hearing it is a sell-out?

I'd expect a respectable crowd but Kildare fans have yet to return in any sort of numbers yet despite the improvement in performances. Laois matched them for numbers the last day and that was a smaller crowd than what turned up to the Offaly Westmeath game at the weekend.
The crowds of 20 years ago are dead and gone, they are with Ryle in the Aviva.
Post by: thejuice on June 13, 2017, 09:32:37 PM
I'm pretty sure this fixture used to bring out 50-60,000. Especially for that three in a row.

I'm sure once Kildare get to a semi-final or final they'll be back in their droves.
Post by: T Fearon on June 13, 2017, 10:59:40 PM
So is Galway V Mayo the Wild Atlantic Way Classico?
Post by: AZOffaly on June 14, 2017, 09:20:00 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 13, 2017, 05:58:33 PM

You not going, Dinny?

This is in Tullamore yeah? There'll be no bouncing off the walls. Them walls are freshly painted for the grand Bord na Mona sponsorship, so if any of ye animals from Meath or Kildare bounce off them, ye'll be escorted from the premises, and hit on the head with a bale of briquettes.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 14, 2017, 09:20:50 AM

You not going, Dinny?

I was already paraphrased in the Diarmuid Connolly defence and now Andy McEntee #influncer

No the 4*4 has a full tank, the victory cigars have been purchased and I have some loose change for the unwashed in Tullamore. The match is recorded so I can enjoy our famous victory or else I can just come in and delete it saying "F*ck you McQuillan"

I will be France so will miss the Leinster Final against Westmeath.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 14, 2017, 09:21:41 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 14, 2017, 09:20:00 AM

You not going, Dinny?

This is in Tullamore yeah? There'll be no bouncing off the walls. Them walls are freshly painted for the grand Bord na Mona sponsorship, so if any of ye animals from Meath or Kildare bounce off them, ye'll be escorted from the premises, and hit on the head with a bale of briquettes.

Kildare owns Bord Na Mona.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 14, 2017, 09:23:01 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 14, 2017, 09:21:41 AM

You not going, Dinny?

Away outta that. We only put the HQ there to avail of the special grants for setting up in disadvantaged areas. Ye have the horses, and that's enough for ye.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 14, 2017, 09:28:16 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 14, 2017, 09:23:01 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 14, 2017, 09:21:41 AM

You not going, Dinny?

Away outta that. We only put the HQ there to avail of the special grants for setting up in disadvantaged areas. Ye have the horses, and that's enough for ye.

(http://thefw.com/files/2013/05/animalsthatsmile-tumblr.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on June 14, 2017, 05:09:53 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 14, 2017, 09:20:50 AM

You not going, Dinny?

I was already paraphrased in the Diarmuid Connolly defence and now Andy McEntee #influncer

No the 4*4 has a full tank, the victory cigars have been purchased and I have some loose change for the unwashed in Tullamore. The match is recorded so I can enjoy our famous victory or else I can just come in and delete it saying "F*ck you McQuillan"

I will be France so will miss the Leinster Final against Westmeath.

Are you taking the horse?
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 14, 2017, 06:47:26 PM
horses
Post by: Main Street on June 14, 2017, 10:00:54 PM
Joe McQuillan is an excellent ref and way too classy for this low brow fare. He'll endeavor to keep the game flowing which probably won't suit these slackers.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 14, 2017, 10:22:12 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 14, 2017, 10:00:54 PM
Joe McQuillan is an excellent ref and way too classy for this low brow fare. He'll endeavor to keep the game flowing which probably won't suit these slackers.

(http://cf.broadsheet.ie/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/180173_1613570427230_1475372642_31450275_1773039_n-111.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on June 14, 2017, 10:32:06 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 14, 2017, 10:00:54 PM

Take that, flourbags.
Post by: thejuice on June 16, 2017, 12:47:55 PM
Same team as the Louth game. That would lead me to conclude we are not going to change our approach.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 16, 2017, 01:57:53 PM
Kildare name same team too but word is Brophy to start.

Just learned Paul and Keith Cribben's mother is a Meath woman, the red hair I could forgive but they are now dead to me...
Post by: Jinxy on June 16, 2017, 05:28:22 PM
Both natural footballers.
You could tell there's human DNA in there somewhere.
Post by: Rossfan on June 16, 2017, 05:40:40 PM
Any adult views on this game ir is utterly just gallows humour before the winner faces Dublin? ;D
Post by: Captain Scarlet on June 16, 2017, 10:33:42 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 16, 2017, 01:57:53 PM
Kildare name same team too but word is Brophy to start.

Just learned Paul and Keith Cribben's mother is a Meath woman, the red hair I could forgive but they are now dead to me...

Their grandfather Larry McGuinness actually won an All Ireland...more bad news for you...
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 16, 2017, 10:37:16 PM
Mick Lyons' father Paddy played full back for Kildare.
Post by: Jinxy on June 17, 2017, 12:03:21 PM
Serious day for championship football, can't wait for this now.
Hopefully both sets of players go at it hammer & tongs a la '97.
I think Kildare are a year ahead of us on their learning curve but I've great faith in Andy & Co. to have the players primed to perform.
A few of our younger players stepped up the last day so hopefully that will boost their confidence and they go out and open their shoulders.
Need a big game from Cillian O'Sullivan and Graham Reilly.
My main worry is that our FB line and goalkeeper are not a stable, secure combination and we will concede goals.
Would also worry about Kildare getting the upper-hand around the middle and cutting off the supply to our forwards.
Could be a shoot-out, which will be great for the neutrals.
Post by: Hardy on June 17, 2017, 12:48:38 PM
I hate to be missing this one. Like most football people, I'm really hoping for a proper game of football today. There's no guarantee it'll happen, though. I saw Meath in Cork in the League co-operating for fifty minutes in perpetrating the worst football I've ever seen in the flesh. Looking at it from the stand, where you could see the whole field and the patterns of movement, it resembled nothing more than a game of Rugby League. You could actually see two lines of players strung out across the pitch, one moving forward (slowly, by means of short lateral and backwards handpasses) and the other retreating until an error or an intervention caused a reversal of possession and the pattern was repeated in the opposite direction.

So it's not as if under this management we are the apostles of proper football and a kicking game. However, in that match, with twenty minutes to go, suddenly we changed tactics. I don't know if it just happened or was ordered from the sideline, but we started to kick the ball long. Sometimes it was a good pass to a forward who had slipped his marker. Other times it was a kick to space or an old-fashioned punt and let the forward compete for the ball. We went from something like six or seven down to one up in that period, eventually drawing the match.

I take optimism from the hope that the management will have learned from that experience that playing football can work. Maybe not. Maybe they still believe the Rugby League approach is right for some situations.

Sorry to be concentrating on the quality of the football rather than the outcome of the game, but it's got to the stage for me that that is the order of priorities because the Rugby League stuff will kill the game if (1) it's seen to be the most effective style and (2) nothing is done to re-balance the essential structure of the game away from rewarding keeping possession until an unmissable opportunity emerges and towards rewarding kicking, winning possession and scoring under pressure.

Anyway – very difficult to see any basis to separate these teams, other than the perceived weakness and shakiness of our full back line. We've always prided ourselves on our full backs. Hopefully that means people like the McEntees know how to mend problems in full back lines. They also know Darren Fay's phone number. (No! I mean as a specialist coach. Although, maybe ...)

Honderoyal.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 17, 2017, 12:54:01 PM
I think the real football today will be in Drogheda  ::)

Anyhoo I fancy Kildare to win this one

Kildare 4-27
Meath 3-19

Post by: seafoid on June 17, 2017, 01:12:07 PM
I think Kildare now have a streak of class. Meath are still frumpy. Kildare by 5.
Post by: Jinxy on June 17, 2017, 01:33:50 PM
Who asked ye.
Post by: seafoid on June 17, 2017, 05:41:48 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 17, 2017, 01:33:50 PM
Who asked ye.
There is a sizeable Galway colony in Meath which confers both droit de seigneur and the proferring of opinions.
Flour bags were able to get out of D2. At the moment Meath is more emotional than rational.
Post by: on the sideline on June 17, 2017, 07:07:45 PM
Any links? Skybox has packed in!😡🙈
Post by: Gael85 on June 17, 2017, 07:14:00 PM
Quote from: on the sideline on June 17, 2017, 07:07:45 PM

See if this works

http://cricfree.sc/watch/live/gaa-football-national-league-live-streaming
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 17, 2017, 07:18:31 PM
Kildare full of pace and running 6 ahead should be about 10. Meath very flat looking so far in comparison
Post by: joemamas on June 17, 2017, 07:24:51 PM
Is it me or does Paul Earley talk a lot of shit.
In addition, he never shuts up.
Very annoying
Post by: twohands!!! on June 17, 2017, 07:33:42 PM
10 wides for Kildare already.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 17, 2017, 07:38:11 PM
All too easy for Kildare 1-10 scored and kicked 10 wides and should have scored a 2nd goal before the break. Meath can't be as bad in the 2nd half can they?
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on June 17, 2017, 07:39:51 PM
Kildare look vastly superior to Meath, I thought the match would be a lot closer.
Post by: on the sideline on June 17, 2017, 07:41:59 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on June 17, 2017, 07:14:00 PM
Quote from: on the sideline on June 17, 2017, 07:07:45 PM

See if this works

http://cricfree.sc/watch/live/gaa-football-national-league-live-streaming

Thanks!👍🏻
Post by: twohands!!! on June 17, 2017, 08:02:01 PM
Meath not going down without a fight.

Post by: seafoid on June 17, 2017, 08:15:03 PM
It's great to see Kildare back. Meath will be back at some stage. God loves a trier although that is hard to say in a Meath accent.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 17, 2017, 08:54:18 PM
Great stuff. It's been a long 8 years.
Post by: yellowcard on June 17, 2017, 09:01:35 PM
Meat were very disappointing I thought. Listened to Bernard Flynn on the radio a few weeks back and he thought they were capable of upsetting Dublin this year. I took him at his word and expected to win this match but they were woeful. No physicality in the contest at all although credit to Kildare, they do seem to be improving.
Post by: Tubberman on June 17, 2017, 09:10:14 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 17, 2017, 09:01:35 PM
Meat were very disappointing I thought. Listened to Bernard Flynn on the radio a few weeks back and he thought they were capable of upsetting Dublin this year. I took him at his word and expected to win this match but they were woeful. No physicality in the contest at all although credit to Kildare, they do seem to be improving.

Well sure it's easy see the problem there
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 17, 2017, 09:16:44 PM
"Listened to Bernard Flynn on the radio a few weeks back"

That was your first mistake!
Post by: Hound on June 17, 2017, 09:23:13 PM
Thought Kidare were great in the first half, bar some bad wides. Second half, not so good. Obviously still underdogs in the final, but if they have their shooting boots on, they could give us our best game in Leinster in quite a while, and a win (while unlikely) would not be out of the question.

Love Eoin Doyle as a player. Dubs have a Rolls Royce 6, but so have Kildare.

Meath battled well in 2nd half, but are still a bit short. Graham Reilly needs a kick up the hole.
Post by: thejuice on June 17, 2017, 09:40:23 PM
God, we still have a lot of work to do. Thought it would be a lot closer.

Kildare better in the strength and fitness stakes. But also tactically they knew where to snuff out our threats. Reilly and O'Sullivan were well marshalled. Unfortunately none of our other threats from the last game made an impact in their place. Jones and Wallace weren't effective. Kildares tackling was very impressive I have to say.

They'll give the Dubs a rattle but they really need to be way better at taking their scores.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 17, 2017, 09:54:18 PM
Seeing how shambolic Louth were today leads me to the conclusion that perhaps Meath got too much hope in their win over Louth.

There is a chance Meath's next opponents could be Longford.....shur that will be a handy one to get ye back on track!
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 17, 2017, 10:29:41 PM
I think we all expected it to be won or lost on the performance of the Meath full back line. Kildare's starting full forward line scored 2-9...
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 18, 2017, 05:04:50 AM
Kildare were very impressive in fairness. Gives me a small bit extra hope for ourselves considering we beat them in the division 2 league final. They look like a side that will take some beating this Summer. Definitely on the up.
Post by: yellowcard on June 18, 2017, 09:17:51 AM
Good to see Kildare getting back to being competitive again, hopefully it will make for a competitive Leinster final. Cain O'Neill seems to be going in the right direction with them.
Post by: seafoid on June 18, 2017, 10:13:40 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on June 18, 2017, 05:04:50 AM
Kildare were very impressive in fairness. Gives me a small bit extra hope for ourselves considering we beat them in the division 2 league final. They look like a side that will take some beating this Summer. Definitely on the up.
Division 2 was slated before June. Kildare and Galway have improved a lot.
Post by: cornetto on June 18, 2017, 10:46:08 AM
League 2 final team

Kildare: M Donnellan (0-01, 0-01 45); M O'Grady, D Hyland (0-01), O Lyons; J Byrne, E Doyle, K Cribbin (0-01); K Feely (0-04, 0-03f), T Moolick (0-01); F Conway (0-01), F Dowling (0-01), P Cribbin; C Healy, N Kelly (0-05), B McCormack.

C/ship team

Kildare: M Donnellan; M O'Grady, O Lyons, D Hyland; K Cribbin, E Doyle, J Byrne; K Feely (0-05, 0-04f), T Moolick; F Conway, N Kelly, D Slattery; C McNally (1-03), D Flynn (1-04), P Brophy (0-02).'

No  c .mcnally d flynn p.brophy.kildare alot stronger now than league 2 final
Post by: Jinxy on June 18, 2017, 10:47:52 AM
I left Tullamore with a depressingly familiar feeling last night.
First of all, congratulations to Kildare.
Superior all over the field.
Athletic, powerful, well-organised and hard-working.
In truth, if they upped their conversion rate we could have been beaten by 20 points.
Flynn and Brophy (in particular) ran the legs off our FB line, who were huffing & puffing after 20 minutes.
Was impressed with McNally who I previously would have considered to be more of a worker than a finisher.
Feely was excellent also and Moolick got through a load of work before he went off.

As for us, my worst fears came to pass in terms of our goalkeeper, FB line and centre-field.
I'd say Feely & Moolick wish Paddy O'Rourke was a Kildare man as they seemed to really enjoy his kick-outs.
I lost count of the number of times one of our lads was in acres of space around the middle only for Paddy's high, floating kick-out to arrive 5 seconds later at the same time as a Kildare player who invariably caught it cleanly.
We could not get past midfield, which meant we had to revert to short kick-outs and our HF line dropped deeper and deeper to try and run the ball out.
In fairness to Menton, he tried his best to drag us back into the game in the 2nd half and kicked some good scores, but he was pretty much on his own at midfield.
The mark rule is a big advantage for this Kildare side and I think they will have the edge over Dublin in terms of the aerial battle.
Our starting HF line was incredibly ineffective.
O'Sullivan tried hard but his decision-making is awful, which resulted in him turning over possession time and again.
For me, Wallace has lost the electric pace which made him such a potent weapon a couple of years ago.
Without that, he hasn't a lot to offer.
Graham had one of those days he tends to have.
He was tightly marked, his head dropped, and he contributed little or nothing.

Lenihan was the only bright spark in attack, although O'Coilean did very well when he came on.
In the period after half-time we got some good scores and built a bit of momentum but in reality Kildare were so physically dominant and so secure in possession, it was always going to be a false dawn.
I think Kildare will give the Dubs a rattle as Flynn and Brophy will enjoy the wide open spaces of Croke Park and I think Feely & Co. will do damage around the middle, however they will need to be more clinical.
As for us, literally any team with a bit of confidence & spirit could take us the next day.
Post by: thejuice on June 18, 2017, 11:11:54 AM
I wasn't  as depressed as yourself Hardy. I think Andy and Gerry need to work on a plan B if graham and Cillian are being crowded out and prevented from running. It was clear in the first half we needed more support in midfield for the breaks so pulling lads back and maybe leaving Lenihan and O'Sullivan up front by themselves. It might have stopped some of the bleeding at the back and gave the forwards some space.
Post by: Main Street on June 18, 2017, 04:02:35 PM
Quote from: thejuice on June 18, 2017, 11:11:54 AM
I wasn't  as depressed as yourself Hardy.......
Hardy?
Some good players in that Meath team but overall that was a very disappointing performance as poor as I've seen from them in the championship.
Besides having pace to burn, have Kildare rediscovered their gym mojo or are Meath players getting smaller?

Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 18, 2017, 04:25:59 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 18, 2017, 04:02:35 PM
Besides having pace to burn, have Kildare rediscovered their gym mojo or are Meath players getting smaller?

It is a Kildare team based on the gargantuan 2010 minor and 2013 under 21 teams.
Sean Hurley and Podge Fogarty are another 2 huge men who may be back in contention next season from that group.

Not to mention the 2013 minor team who still have some potentially big county players in the likes of Paul Mescal and Luke Flynn who might come onto the panel at some stage. Then the 2015/16 minor teams to come in down the line with some of he 2015 team being panellists already. This years minors look competitive and it is a massive game in Newbridge coming up against Dublin. A win there would be a massive boost.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on June 18, 2017, 04:53:00 PM
That must be the main worry for Meath, the fact thst there is not much happening at underage.
Kildare have a core there who won't peak for three years. The players are sttong and physical, but unlike the Geezer years, are not bulked up.
They don't seem to be carrying extra muscle and there is speed on most lines. That is what the Dubs have too, but I dint think we are bear their level.
The wides were and issue but P Brophy hit a fair few due to over eagerness.
How will Meath come back after that?
Post by: twohands!!! on June 18, 2017, 06:02:20 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 18, 2017, 10:47:52 AM

I'd say Feely & Moolick wish Paddy O'Rourke was a Kildare man as they seemed to really enjoy his kick-outs.
I lost count of the number of times one of our lads was in acres of space around the middle only for Paddy's high, floating kick-out to arrive 5 seconds later at the same time as a Kildare player who invariably caught it cleanly.
We could not get past midfield, which meant we had to revert to short kick-outs and our HF line dropped deeper and deeper to try and run the ball out.
In fairness to Menton, he tried his best to drag us back into the game in the 2nd half and kicked some good scores, but he was pretty much on his own at midfield.
The mark rule is a big advantage for this Kildare side and I think they will have the edge over Dublin in terms of the aerial battle.

I think Kildare will give the Dubs a rattle as Flynn and Brophy will enjoy the wide open spaces of Croke Park and I think Feely & Co. will do damage around the middle, however they will need to be more clinical.

No way in hell will Kildare win anything like the amount of ball they won from the Dublin kickouts as they won from Meath kickouts.
Not one of Cluxton's kickouts will be of the high floating ball just begging to be plucked out of the air variety.
Surely there is a better keeper in Meath than O'Rourke ?

Kildare conceded only 2 points from frees - and one of those was in something like the 68th minute when the game was over.
Meath hardly had much in the way of goal chances yesterday either.

In the 2015 championship Kildare conceded a whopping 15 goals in 5 championship games and 7 in 7 league games. 22 goals in 12 games.
Last year in the championship it was 5 in 4 championship games and 8 in 8 league games. 13 goals in 12 games.
In 10 games this year between 8 league and 2 championship they have conceded a total of 4 goals. 4 goals in 10 games.
This doesnt't account for the difference in teams played or the fact that Kildare were in different divisions, but if a side is not conceding goals, their odds of winning games, increases massively.

For me the worry with Kildare would be the wastefulness of the forwards - 2-16 is fair scoring, but as you progress in the championship you are going to meet much better defences.
The Meath defence was wide open yesterday - I'm not sure what the final tally of Kildare wides was, but for me the big negative was that a lot of them (especially in the first half) were poor enough wides.
Post by: thejuice on June 18, 2017, 09:09:09 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 18, 2017, 04:02:35 PM
Quote from: thejuice on June 18, 2017, 11:11:54 AM
I wasn't  as depressed as yourself Hardy.......
Hardy?

His post was so long that by the time I got to the end I forgot who wrote it. Sure it's bound to be him or the other fella, does it matter.
Post by: Hardy on June 18, 2017, 09:25:24 PM
I'd have said exactly the same as Jinxy, so that's OK. (Though I wasn't the match and I'm too depressed to say anything.)
Post by: Main Street on June 18, 2017, 09:46:26 PM
Not unlike this Hardy, after an encounter with a flour bag, fadó fadó.

(http://www.lordheath.com/web_images/oliver_hardy___helpmates_colour.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on June 19, 2017, 08:33:39 PM
Watched 'GAA Nua' on RTE earlier.
Turns out the Kildare lads wear swimming goggles while they train.
The whole world's gone mad, lads.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 19, 2017, 09:46:44 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 19, 2017, 08:33:39 PM
Watched 'GAA Nua' on RTE earlier.
Turns out the Kildare lads wear swimming goggles while they train.
The whole world's gone mad, lads.

We've always been great innovators.

Those goggles had been leftover from the time Micko had them training in the horse swimming pools up in the Curragh.

(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/85/af/34/85af343be4c3f9a12311ebfdc1d8f4e1.jpg)
Post by: Maroon Manc on June 20, 2017, 08:22:29 PM
What were the kick out stats? Looked like Kildare won about 70% of the kickouts, a hammering is always going to be on the cards with those sort of stats.
Post by: Jinxy on June 20, 2017, 08:40:45 PM
We had more possession than them though.
So... there's that.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on June 21, 2017, 03:05:31 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 20, 2017, 08:40:45 PM
So... there's that.

Was thinking RTE just got that the wrong way round? Sky had it 60-40 in Kildare's favour.
Post by: PW Nally on June 21, 2017, 09:03:02 AM
Quote from: Hardy on June 18, 2017, 09:25:24 PM
I'd have said exactly the same as Jinxy, so that's OK. (Though I wasn't the match and I'm too depressed to say anything.)
Depressing indeed!
Post by: Maroon Manc on June 21, 2017, 10:44:06 AM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on June 21, 2017, 03:05:31 AM
So... there's that.

Was thinking RTE just got that the wrong way round? Sky had it 60-40 in Kildare's favour.

Not sure how Meath could have ended up with more possession than Kildare given the kickout failure and given I can't recall Meath making too many turnovers or kicking as many wides as Kildare.

I'm don't know the stats on Kildare's keeper but thought I heard on Parkinsons podcast that Kildare won 11 of Meath's 21 kickouts.

Short kick outs for Meath from now on although I don't know how much too blame is O'Rourke in nets, his next calamity never seems that far away.
Post by: Jinxy on June 21, 2017, 05:54:48 PM
So... there's that.

So... there's not even that.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on June 22, 2017, 04:18:49 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 21, 2017, 05:54:48 PM
So... there's that.

So... there's not even that.

There's the seven All-Irelands though, should be enough to keep you going.
Post by: seafoid on June 22, 2017, 09:33:18 AM
Quote from: Main Street on June 18, 2017, 09:46:26 PM
Not unlike this Hardy, after an encounter with a flour bag, fadó fadó.

(http://www.lordheath.com/web_images/oliver_hardy___helpmates_colour.jpg)
Top notch