Recent posts

GAA Discussion / Re: Ulster Senior football cha...
Last post by tonto1888 - Today at 07:42:32 AM
Quote from: ONeill on Today at 12:05:06 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 18, 2024, 07:17:32 PMThinking about how the lack of interest in games here reflect the general apathy in the community towards football. Used to be you'd have a thread for each of the big games here with multiple pages of craic, analysis and bickering. Now we've one amalgamated thread for all of ulster with very little interest or posts. You'll never see a 100page + thread of tyrone v Armagh banter ever again.

Came across this on YouTube the other day...

https://youtu.be/arMAgKKhltk?si=VJ9e3OEDG69jXF9u

It's a copy of the Sam 2005 dvd with extended highlights throughout that summer. Forgot how good these dvds were. What really stands out for me, outside of the crowds and quality of the football, was the general atmosphere in the games. The type of football played generated and sustained an almost constant noise throughout the match. The number of contests for the ball was significantly higher and its contests that generate that edge of the seat excitement that in turn created a cauldron of atmosphere and spectacle.

Youll still see unreal skills in today's game, mindblowing points and class goals. However, these are small peaks amongst the dredge we have to watch for 80% of the game. Watching games these days and I can't help but notice the level of general chat in the stands, people on phones and flatness. You'll hardly ever hear a chant outside of the odd come on you blues.

I've wrote this post as I've just completed the GAA games survey and hope that something will be found to return our game to its former glory. To me that is moving away from the obsession with possession based football and finding away to create more opportunities for contests in attack, midfield and forwards. Or maybe I'm a grumpy f**ker and will just have to accept transitions, 20+ passes back to the keeper and 30 players inside a 45 multiple times a game. What a load of shite.

The only way you can return to those days is a straight knockout from the start. It won't happen. 20 years ago I'd have sleepless nights about losing to Cavan. Now, whatever, still a lock a group games.

The GAA may be amateur but its money-making machine is as professional as the NFL in the States.

It wasnt straight knockout in those days though. That said I agree with that post. Football is generally a hard watch these days
Last post by 93-DY-SAM - Today at 07:27:05 AM
Quote from: onefineday on Today at 01:44:05 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 18, 2024, 11:52:49 PM
Quote from: cornerback on April 18, 2024, 11:42:08 PM
Quote from: screenexile on April 18, 2024, 11:32:54 PMDerry going with the same team as the league final.

No real surprise didn't think they'd risk McKinless from the start and he's a great impact sub.

No Murphy on the bench??

Can changes be made to the 26? Harte normally names his subs in alphabetical order. Doherty is out of place & Murphy would fit in at 25 alphabetically.
Yeah I think you name 4 lads in reserve who don't appear on programme but can come in last minute.
Is that right? I thought that no changes could be made to the 26? The whole team naming gaa culture is a nonsense with these multiple changes come throw-in, but I thought that at least it had been agreed no changes could be made outside the 26 named.

4 standbys who can be brought in to replace any of the 26 named. But can only have 26 on the day.
General discussion / Re: European Leagues.
Last post by jcpen - Today at 07:20:24 AM
Bad week for all English clubs apart from Villa. Probably not good news for English clubs having a 5th slot in the Champions League.
Blown outta the water by Sid Vicious doing My Way at the end.  One of the few times when a great movie was made even better by the ending credits.
GAA Discussion / Re: Ulster U20 and Minor Champ...
Last post by GAABoardMod5 - Today at 03:07:52 AM
Quote from: GAABoardMod5 on April 14, 2024, 07:17:14 AM
Quote from: GAABoardMod5 on April 07, 2024, 04:47:07 AMMinor Championship 2024 - 2 groups, top team in each group straight to semi-final, second and third in each group to 2 quarterfinals.

Group A - Games on Saturdays 6, 13, 20, 27 April and 4 May

Rd 1
Fermanagh 1-4 Donegal 3-13
Tyrone 2-7 Down 1-7
Monaghan a bye

Group B - Games on Saturdays 6, 20 April and 4 May

Rd 1
Armagh 2-9 Antrim 0-2
Derry 1-8 Cavan 1-5

Group A Rd 2 Results from 13 April

Monaghan 4-10 Fermanagh 0-8
Donegal 2-12 Tyrone 1-8

Remaining Minor Group Fixtures:

Group A

Round 3 on 20 April
Monaghan v Down in Clones
Fermanagh v Tyrone in Belcoo

Round 4 on 27 April
Down v Donegal in Newry
Tyrone v Monaghan in Ardboe

Round 5 on 4 May
Down v Fermanagh in Newry
Donegal v Monaghan venue TBC

Group B

Round 2 on 20 April
Cavan v Armagh in Kingspan Breffni
Antrim v Derry in Dunsilly

Round 3 on 4 May
Cavan v Antrim in Kingspan Breffni
Derry v Armagh in Owenbeg
Last post by onefineday - Today at 01:44:05 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 18, 2024, 11:52:49 PM
Quote from: screenexile on April 18, 2024, 11:32:54 PMDerry going with the same team as the league final.

No real surprise didn't think they'd risk McKinless from the start and he's a great impact sub.

No Murphy on the bench??

Can changes be made to the 26? Harte normally names his subs in alphabetical order. Doherty is out of place & Murphy would fit in at 25 alphabetically.
Yeah I think you name 4 lads in reserve who don't appear on programme but can come in last minute.
Is that right? I thought that no changes could be made to the 26? The whole team naming gaa culture is a nonsense with these multiple changes come throw-in, but I thought that at least it had been agreed no changes could be made outside the 26 named.
General discussion / Re: European Leagues.
Last post by Gael85 - Today at 12:56:12 AM
Will Croker be still hosting the fan zone?
General discussion / Re: Funny comedy clips
Last post by Blowitupref - Today at 12:24:36 AM
Wasn't meant to be but turned out to be a funny comedy clip.

Last post by screenexile - Today at 12:15:37 AM

No Murphy on the bench??

Murphy injured and not fit to be named apparently!