Sunday, 06th September 2009 @ 5.45pm

Hotel Kilmore Junior D Championship Semi Finals

Killinkere v Butlersbridge

Venue:  St Felim's Park, Drumalee

Referee:  Chris McCaffrey
"Winning isn't everything, but wanting to win is." -Vince Lombardi

AFS

http://www.facebook.com/johnny.gaahero

This might be old news to yous, but if you have a facebook account its worth checking out. Spoof page of 'your typical Cavan GAA player. Mediocre to the core.' Some of its fairly funny, even without getting half of the Cavan references.

Celt_Man

Quote from: RednBlack on September 05, 2009, 04:17:41 PM
Kingscourt win after extra time and Gaynor first in showers.

Good job I'm sitting when I read that, what a shock!  Sounds like a good game, would have went if I had of copped on it was at 2.   heading to breffni this evening, hopefully get 2 good games.  might be the only time the Gaels might get caught.... slim chance
GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

Anyone else in Breffni this evening?

The evenings are fair drawing in. 
And isn't amazing how much light is given by the Floodlights! Like day!

Well you try to say anything good about the fare displayed this evening.  I was at the other end of the pitch and didn't see Danny's box.

Another great performance by Eddie.  Won the battle of the Reillys but will it be all for nought?

Celt_Man

Quote from: RednBlack on September 05, 2009, 09:56:35 PM
lucky you were at the other end as Eddie was poxed to stay on for his thump under the umpires eyes. Both games were pretty poor football although I did enjoy Dermot Sheridan bring four Belturbet men for a ride up the park and then hitting the fifth man a shoulder that shook the stand. He is a strong boy. Fitzpatrick in 11 gave Smith a torrid time and found it hard to believe that Canavan didn't make a switch. Eddie produced a good performance but his temperament makes him a massive liability. Michael Brady at 10 had a good game

Would love to know what set Shields and Gunner off. Always looks bad when two from the same team go swinging at each other.

What missed that altogether???

put-it-up

Didnt make it to Breffni but was at the Kingscourt game.

Quite a good one to be honest - although I wasnt particularly impressed with either side. Ballinagh are really struggling at the minute and good oul Gaynor...ah somethings will never change!

Barry Reilly showed a bit of class in extra time and hit two serious points to win it for Kingscourt.

Niall McDermott impressed early on but faded out of it.

So the Mullahoran boys were having a kafuffle. I suppose he wouldnt be your team-mate if he didn't bate ya out there!!

Celt_Man

Quote from: RednBlack on September 05, 2009, 10:41:00 PM
anyone else think McQuillan was poor tonight. He missed a blatant clean pick of the deck right under his nose and two passes later Mullahoran had the ball in the net. Was impressed with Ray Kelly in the first game. Handled it firmly and dealt out the cards no matter who was due them and did it in a fast manner. Looking at the players with him at the end he definitely earned their respect. Was also good to see a man out there who could keep up with the play.

Agree with putitup......Reilly ripped over two cracking points to seal the game. Mickey Lee handled it well aside from all the abuse hurled at him from the Ballinagh camp on the grassy slope side!!!!!! Heard another neutral pass the comment that if he lived there he wouldnt let his kids play ball with them. I know thats a big generalisation and would know a few very good lads involved but God they also have a few seriously loose nutters in tow.

McQuillan was bad, Paul Brady touched the ball clean on the ground then as you said 10 sec later the ball was in the net. Also Eddie at one point was an inch from the linesman and was hurling abuse at him which is a disgrace to see whatever the decision was.

Ray Kelly was a joke, can't believe you think he done well. He played no advantage most of the time - at one point with 2 points in it, Gumley scored a great point but Kelly pulled it back for a earlier foul and Redhills missed the free, Gaels went up and score - 3 down instead of one point. Other times he blew the whistle and most of the people around me waited to see what way the arm was going to point.  As well it was a disgrace when after the final whistle to shook hands and hugged several of the Cavan Gaels players which a neutral official should never do.. it was terrible to see.  He actually went out of the way to do it too

put-it-up

They are a bit frustrating to listen to alright.

Funny enough though, any of the players I know are grand lads. A couple of the supporters are bonkers though. Every club has at least one nut though do they not? I know we have a handful of them!!!

Anyone found me a tigerish cornerback yet for the county.

Or a big midfielder or a centre forward while were at it?

Celt_Man

Quote from: put-it-up on September 05, 2009, 11:06:02 PM
They are a bit frustrating to listen to alright.

Funny enough though, any of the players I know are grand lads. A couple of the supporters are bonkers though. Every club has at least one nut though do they not? I know we have a handful of them!!!

Anyone found me a tigerish cornerback yet for the county.

Or a big midfielder or a centre forward while were at it?

Not sure how he would fare in a county set up but I've been very impressed with Eoin McGuigan from Belturbet in mid field in the last two games.  A big man and he has a serious stride which covers a lot of ground, from what I've seen he uses the ball very well too. Any man know what age he is?

Also Brendan Fitzpatrick has to be called in....a class act, can use either foot and carries the ball very well too.  Did I hear right that he wouldn't go into the Under 21 set up this year?  Or is he the right age for that?

put-it-up

How have Eoin and Darren Smith been gettin on? Two full-backs i have a lot of time for.

Yeah Bud Fitz was involved in the earlier trial games i think but didn't look in great shape at the time. I hear he is flying now though.
He is elegible for u21 this year as well.

Anyone heard anything about the county set-up with regards to backroom teams and the u21 situation?!

Celt_Man

Killygarry won by 4 points...  13  to 9, Killygarry deserved it but GOwna were very unhappy with Ollie Donohue the ref.  He let some blatant fouls on Pierson go unpunished at a vital stage about 3 I counted anyway which if converted might have had a bif effect on the game.  McCabe made his feelings known to the ref after the final whistle and when he said his bit Morris put in his penny's worth!!! The whole thing looked to be gettin out of control as the ref went down the tunnel and I didnt see what happened after that but there was enough happening to draw the crowd's attention  to the tunnel.... mightn;t be the last we hear about that

Semi final draw was at half time too...
Mullahorn v Denn
Gaels v Killygarry

Mullahorn v Denn will be a cracker in the physical stakes, fans of lovely free flowing football stay away but I reckon it will be an enjoyable tough championship encounter
as for the other game, would love to see Killygarry win but you couldn't bet against that other crowd!!!

Celt_Man

Quote from: RednBlack on September 06, 2009, 09:35:29 PM
No mention of the abuse dished about by Gowna!!! Get with it. They were a disgrace and how they had 15 on at end was amazing and that was coming from Gowna mouths!! Morris clocked ref in tunnel so will be interesting to see where that one goes. Thought our lads keot their discipline very well in the face of some real BS. Ted never once raised a hand on Pierson compared to Hartin on Reilly. Sure he marked him damn tight and gave some frees away but Pierson also went down crying way too easy and Brady Jr was a lucky boy to stay on for a few elbows. As was their numbers 3, 4 and 7.

Niall Madden was the pick of what was on show there tonight. Thought he had a very good game.

Ahh yea... Gowna were very physical this evening but that was to be expected, no team should stand back and admire the opposition in the championship (by the way I;m not condoning anything over the top)
You can't say Ted didn't foul when compare to etc etc... he did foul Pierson but didn't get penalised and I suppose that's what counts... Yea a few of the Gowna boys were lucky to stay on the field but not through rough play, more so opening their mouths to the man in the middle..

You sure about Morris clocking the ref???  Bloody Ballinagh rubbing off on him  :P ;D

Will Sean Johnson be still away for the semi? If so, I could see them beating CG.

How good would a Denn vs Killygarry final be?

As Celt man says, the Denn vs Mullaghoran semi will not be one for the purists but should be a battle!  Tomas Corr on Eddie?  Eddie is the lynchpin of the Mullaghoran team and with Danny gone, how many scoring forwards do Mullaghoran have?

Did we see Sheridan's best position i.e. wing back/half back on Saturday night?  The hunt for a dedicated/specialist is more pressing when we see what Sheridan can do outfield. And his shoulder in the middle of the park?  People around me were saying he should have been pulled up for charging.  Valid?

The number 11 for Belturbet was good but they seemed to persist in trying to give the ball to Jason.  Maybe if they'd given it to the 11, it would have been closer.

Is there extra time if it is a draw?

Now, how do we beat Mullaghoran?  Are you pondering what I'm pondering?

RednBlack

Saturday, 12th September 2009 @ 5.00pm
Hotel Kilmore Junior D Championship Semi Finals
Killygarry v Mountnugent
Venue:  Dr Plunkett Park, Kilnaleck
Referee:  Tony Gregory

Saturday, 12th September 2009 @ 5.00pm
Cavan Waste Disposal A.C.F.L. Division 4 Play Off
Mullahoran v Kingscourt
Venue:  Ramor United Park, Virginia
Referee: Raymond Tynan
•   Extra time in the event of a draw

Saturday, 12th September 2009 @ 6pm
Hotel Kilmore Junior Championship Semi Final
Swanlinbar v Cornafean
Venue:  Kingspan Breffni Park
Referee:  Jim Hyland
Linesmen:  Peter Fahy & Tony Gregory
04th Official:  Packie Smith

Saturday, 12th September 2009 @ 7.30pm
Hotel Kilmore Intermediate Championship Semi Final
Lavey v Bailieboro
Referee:  Martin Sexton
Linesmen:  Noel Mooney & Ronan Bannon
04th Official:  Philip Devine

Sunday, 13th September 2009 @ 2pm
Hotel Kilmore Junior Championship Semi Final
Butlersbridge v Cavan Gaels
Referee:  Oliver O'Reilly
Linesmen:  Kieran McCarville & Gavin Smith
04th Official:  James Clarke

Sunday, 13th September 2009 @ 3.30pm
Hotel Kilmore Intermediate Championship Semi Finals
Drung v Cootehill
Referee:  Brian Crowe
Linesmen:  Jim Giblin & John Pat Martin
04th Official:  Martin Brady Ballinagh

Sunday, 13th September 2009 @ 5.30pm
A.C.F.L. Division 5 Semi Finals
Lavey v Ballyhaise
Venue:  Boyle Park, Drumgoon
Referee:  James Clarke
Lacken v Killinkere
Venue:  St Matthews Park, Crosskeys
Referee:  Thomas Doonan

RednBlack

Wednesday, 16th September 2009 @ 8pm
Hotel Kilmore Junior C Final
Bailieborough v Killinkere
Venue:  O'Raghallaigh Park, Kingscourt
Referee:  Margaret Farrelly
Linesman:  Donal Reilly & Ollie Donohoe

Saturday, 19th September 2009 @ 4pm
Hotel Kilmore Senior Championship Relegation Play Off
Cuchulainn v Ballinagh
Venue:  PJ Duke Park, Stradone
Referee:  Martin Sexton
Linesmen:  Philip Devine & Margaret Farrelly

Saturday, 19th September 2009 @ 4.00pm
Philip Miney Meats Ltd A.C.F.L. Division 6 Round 14
Butlersbridge v Arva
Referee:  Thomas Doonan
Ballymachugh v Killinkere
Referee:  Tony McDonald
Drung v Killeshandra
Referee:  Harry Conaty
Swanlinbar v Cornafean
Referee:  John Cassidy
Shannon Gaels v Mullahoran
Referee:  Stephen McKiernan

Saturday, 19th September 2009
Hotel Kilmore Senior Championship Semi Final
Denn v Mullahoran (Game at 6pm)
Referee:  Michael Lee
Linesmen:  Jim Giblin & Padraig Kelleher
04th Official:  Raymond Kelly

Killygarry v Cavan Gaels (Game at 7.30pm)
Referee:  Jimmy Galligan - Lacken
Linesmen:  Raymond Tynan & John Smith
04th Official:  Seamus O'Connor