Official Cavan GAA Thread

Started by BallyhaiseMan, November 10, 2006, 01:47:12 PM

Hogarty78

Quote from: Davitt Man on February 11, 2008, 09:05:23 AM
I hear Colin O'Hara has transfered back to kildallon after a year in allenwood. Kildallon could be a force to be reckoned with this year. It mustnt have worked out in allenwood.

Yeah just heard last week he is leaving to go back to Cavan, he's a decent footballer alright and should make a big difference to Kildallon, he just wasn't quite cut out for senior football though. He's a big strong fella but I think he found the pace hard to deal with at senior level...by all accounts he would have struggled to make the first team in Allenwood this year so it is probably a good call moving home.  Very nice fella though and couldn't fault him for effort, would like to see him do well...

count_the_pennys

Quote from: Hogarty78 on February 11, 2008, 12:24:08 PM
Yeah just heard last week he is leaving to go back to Cavan, he's a decent footballer alright and should make a big difference to Kildallon, he just wasn't quite cut out for senior football though. He's a big strong fella but I think he found the pace hard to deal with at senior level...by all accounts he would have struggled to make the first team in Allenwood this year so it is probably a good call moving home.  Very nice fella though and couldn't fault him for effort, would like to see him do well...

That fella was never gonna cut the mustard at senior level...sure he's only an auld mucker, all that fella is good for is cuttin turf and batin auld fat fella's around the pitch in mickey mouse junior games...I dunno why he went to Allenwood in the first place, he was always gonna be found out up there...

cavan4ever

Had the U-21's a game at the weekend?

Homer

The u21s played Donegal up in Donegal alright. Apparently they won well with a fairly strong team out. Was told the lineout over a few pints on Saturday night I think it was something like this.

Simon Delaney (Killenkere)
Daniel Graham (Cavan Gaels)
Sean McCormack (Ballyhaise)
Damien Reilly (Belturbet)
Barry Watters (Drung)
Dane O'Dowd (Drumlane)
Finbar Jordan (Lavey)
James McEvoy (Crosserlough)
Rory Dunne (Redhills)
Pauric Smith (Castlerahen)
Paddy Brady (Mullahoran)
Tomas Reilly (Killeshandra)
Cian Mackey (Castlerahen)
Conor Smith (Cuchuillainns)
Aido Cole (Ramor)

Can't really report anything else.

I never got back to ye on the last game against Sligo (Cavan 0-12 Sligo 1-9) so I'll give a quick run through what I can recall

Simon Delaney (Killenkere) - good kickouts, not much could be done about the goal
Dane O'Dowd (Drumlane) - tried hard but not a corner back
Sean McCormack (Ballyhaise) - looked a bit slow but kept his man quiet
Damien Reilly (Belturbet) - played well
Niall O'Reilly (Ballinagh) - played well, made some nice runs forward
Stephan Connolly (Ramor) - poor and looked to be on the lazy side, replaced early in second half
James McEvoy (Crosserlough) - quiet game, replaced last 15 mins
Fiachra Cork (Castlerahen) - midfield was poor no real fielding and found behind the play
Pauric Smith (Castlerahen) -  see above
Paddy Byrd (Bailieborough) - poor game, taken off injured
Tomas Reilly (Killeshandra) - played quite well always made himself available scored a fine point
Paddy Brady (Mullahoran) - poor in the first half played better after the break and kicked one monster point but proceeded to think this gave him to right to shot at first sight. A bit greedy.
Cian Mackey (Castlerahen) - Again poor in the first half, moved to a sweeper role behind midfield in the second half and played well
Martin Dunne (Cavan Gaels) - Never got into the game and was replaced early by Conor Smith
Aido Cole (Ramor) - Started quiet, but came into the game as it progressed.

Up the port

Quote from: CC1 on February 08, 2008, 11:09:54 AM
Relegation to division 4 might be a blessing in disguise for Templeport, I'd imagine that some of the teams in that division would be far better than beating the likes of Maghera by cricket scores. Then again we are talking about Templeport... They might be playing our junior team next year...  ;D

i hope they fecking sort it out one way or the other

Up the port

Quote from: count_the_pennys on February 11, 2008, 12:40:57 PM
Quote from: Hogarty78 on February 11, 2008, 12:24:08 PM

That fella was never gonna cut the mustard at senior level...sure he's only an auld mucker, all that fella is good for is cuttin turf and batin auld fat fella's around the pitch in mickey mouse junior games...I dunno why he went to Allenwood in the first place, he was always gonna be found out up there...

I have played against O'hara and he wasnt bad at junior level but the step up to senior would have been difficult for him i reckon. I understand he had a few runs out in the kildare senior league when the allenwood team were without the county players but then come summer and c\ship he was dropped. If he is back with kildallon he will get first team football anyway even if its only junior.

cavan4ever

We have 3 new members all registered within a short space of time and all posting about the same topic  ::)

Mr. Pain

Quote from: cavan4ever on February 11, 2008, 02:41:10 PM
We have 3 new members all registered within a short space of time and all posting about the same topic  ::)

Yep, something smells here!
No Pain, no gain. Enjoy Mr. Pain responsibly.

Lads
im just booking holidays
Can any of ye post the Master League Fitxures(what weekends the games are on etc)
Cheers cant find it anywhere.

cavan4ever

Anyone have the full champioship draw?  We got Bridge thats all i know.

cavan4ever

Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on February 11, 2008, 09:38:30 PM
Lads
im just booking holidays
Can any of ye post the Master League Fitxures(what weekends the games are on etc)

This is what i got of a lad . It was sent to him edited for Divison 2 fixtures but im sure that division 1 will l be played the same weekend.

CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 1 SUNDAY MARCH 9TH

CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 2 SUNDAY MARCH 23RD

CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 3 SUNDAY MARCH 30TH

CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 4 SATURDAY APRIL 5TH (WITHOUT COUNTY PLAYERS)

CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 5 SUNDAY 20TH APRIL

CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 6 SUNDAY 6TH MAY

CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 7 SAT 10TH / SUN 11TH MAY WITHOUT COUNTY PLAYERS)

Sunday 18th may Ulster sfc Cavan v Antrim

CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 8 SAT / SUN 24TH 25TH MAY

CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 9 SAT/SUN 31ST MAY JUNE 1ST

CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 10 SAT 7TH / 8TH JUNE (PROVISIONAL)

CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 11 SAT JUNE 14TH (PROVISIONAL) 15TH JUNE CAVAN/ANTRIM V ARMAGH ULSTER SFC CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 12 SAT JUNE 21ST (PROVISIONAL)

CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 13 SAT July 12th (PROVISIONAL)

Championship ( 24th / 25th / 26th / 27th July)

August 15th wknd league final provisional)

5th September quarters cship

19th Sept championship semi finals

SUNDAY 12TH OCTOBER INTERMEDIATE FINAL 2008

Homer

Championship draws according to the Hoganstand

Senior Championship:
Belturbet v Mullahoran
Denn v Knockbride
Ballinagh v Killygarry
Crosserlough v Gowna
Castlerahan v Kingscourt
Cuchullains v Ramor
Cavan Gaels v Lacken

Intermediate Championship:
Killeshandra v Bailieboro
Laragh v Redhills
Drumalee v Ballyhaise
Kill v Swanlinbar
Lavey v Killinkere
Ballymachugh v Drumlane
Cootehill v Drumgoon

Junior Championship:
Templeport v Cornafean
Arva v Corlough
Butlersbridge v Drung
Mountnugent v Shercock
Shannon Gaels v Maghera
Munterconnacht v Kildallon

Quote from: cavan4ever on February 12, 2008, 09:47:37 AM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on February 11, 2008, 09:38:30 PM
Lads
im just booking holidays

This is what i got of a lad . It was sent to him edited for Divison 2 fixtures but im sure that division 1 will l be played the same weekend.

CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 1 SUNDAY MARCH 9TH

CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 2 SUNDAY MARCH 23RD

CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 3 SUNDAY MARCH 30TH

CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 4 SATURDAY APRIL 5TH (WITHOUT COUNTY PLAYERS)

CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 5 SUNDAY 20TH APRIL

CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 6 SUNDAY 6TH MAY

CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 7 SAT 10TH / SUN 11TH MAY WITHOUT COUNTY PLAYERS)

Sunday 18th may Ulster sfc Cavan v Antrim

CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 8 SAT / SUN 24TH 25TH MAY

CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 9 SAT/SUN 31ST MAY JUNE 1ST

CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 10 SAT 7TH / 8TH JUNE (PROVISIONAL)

CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 11 SAT JUNE 14TH (PROVISIONAL) 15TH JUNE CAVAN/ANTRIM V ARMAGH ULSTER SFC CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 12 SAT JUNE 21ST (PROVISIONAL)

CAVAN ACFL DIVISION TWO ROUND 13 SAT July 12th (PROVISIONAL)

Championship ( 24th / 25th / 26th / 27th July)

August 15th wknd league final provisional)

5th September quarters cship

19th Sept championship semi finals

SUNDAY 12TH OCTOBER INTERMEDIATE FINAL 2008

Thanks C4ever
much appreciated.

Quote from: Homer on February 12, 2008, 11:11:54 AM
Championship draws according to the Hoganstand

Senior Championship:
Belturbet v Mullahoran
Denn v Knockbride
Ballinagh v Killygarry
Crosserlough v Gowna
Castlerahan v Kingscourt
Cuchullains v Ramor
Cavan Gaels v Lacken

Intermediate Championship:
Killeshandra v Bailieboro
Laragh v Redhills
Drumalee v Ballyhaise
Kill v Swanlinbar
Lavey v Killinkere
Ballymachugh v Drumlane
Cootehill v Drumgoon

Junior Championship:
Templeport v Cornafean
Arva v Corlough
Butlersbridge v Drung
Mountnugent v Shercock
Shannon Gaels v Maghera
Munterconnacht v Kildallon

Predictions lads.
Mullahoran
Knockbride
Ballinagh
Gowna
Kingscourt
Ramor
Cavan Gaels

Intermediate
Baileborough
Redhills
Dhaise  :)(tie of the round intermediate id say)
Swad
Lavey
Drumlane
Drumgoon

Junior
Cornafean
Arva
Drung(junior tie of the round)
Shercock
Shannon Gaels
Kildallon

Early predictions on winners for me

Senior: Cavan Gaels

Inter: Ballyhaise

Junior: Drung

CC1

Quote from: Davitt Man on February 11, 2008, 09:05:23 AM
I hear Colin O'Hara has transfered back to kildallon after a year in allenwood. Kildallon could be a force to be reckoned with this year. It mustnt have worked out in allenwood.
We have Kenny Burns back from the Aus... :)
"Hey, don't worry; don't be afraid, ever, because this is just a ride."