Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: seafoid on October 31, 2012, 02:23:56 PM

Title: Teenage bullying on social media and suicide
Post by: seafoid on October 31, 2012, 02:23:56 PM
This story from Donegal is very disturbing 

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/1031/breaking7.html

It sounds like the authorities are out of their depth. What can the Gardai do? And surely there should be consequences for those who drive someone to suicide.

There were in the States in the Phoebe Prince case

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Suicide_of_Phoebe_Prince

On March 29, 2010, Northwestern District Attorney Elizabeth Scheibel announced at a press conference[25] that six teenagers from South Hadley High School were indicted as adults on felony charges by a Hampshire County grand jury. Charges ranged from statutory rape for the two male teenagers involved (both adults under Massachusetts law) to violation of civil rights, criminal harassment, disturbance of a school assembly, and stalking. Additional delinquency complaints were also filed against the three female minors indicted by the grand jury. One was charged with assault with a deadly weapon for throwing a can at Phoebe Prince. A separate delinquency complaint was filed against one of the three female minors for assault and battery against another victim at South Hadley High School (a girl who was attacked at school after appearing in a TV news report describing the bullying that took place at South Hadley High School)
Title: Re: Teenage bullying on social media and suicide
Post by: orangeman on December 13, 2012, 12:20:31 PM
If you think that was bad, this is worse. Heartbreaking stuff.

The sister of County Donegal schoolgirl Erin Gallagher, who took her own life amid claims she was bullied on the internet, has been found dead.

Shannon Gallagher, who was 15, died last night.

She was discovered in a house in Castlefin around midnight. Police say they are treating her death as a personal tragedy.

Staff and pupils at the Finn Valley college where she was a pupil were told the news this morning.

Her death comes less than two months after her 13-year-old sister Erin died.

She took her own life after allegedly being bullied online.

She was also a pupil at Finn Valley College.

In a statement the body that runs the school said its thoughts and prayers were with Shannon's family at this sad time.

It added this is an extremely difficult time for all concerned.

A critical incident team is in place in the school as a support for students and staff.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-20708761
Post by: EC Unique on December 13, 2012, 12:32:56 PM
Shocking stuff. Really sad. RIP to the girls and God help their family. Cruel stuff. :(
Post by: Declan on December 13, 2012, 01:25:13 PM
Read that today. Hard to know what to say really. Unreal
Post by: theskull1 on December 13, 2012, 01:57:07 PM
It would appear that suicide behaves like a virus in terms of it being "the solution" for many to deal with lifes struggles. Very very common for there to be a domino effect. Someone close carrying it out seems to provide a level of acceptability for those who go after them. I'm sure there's guilt mixed in there as well. Terrible for those left behind. What can be said at these times
Post by: Billys Boots on December 13, 2012, 02:02:26 PM
Reminds me that Anne Lovett's sister died in similar circumstances within a few month's of Anne's death.  Awful. 
Post by: seafoid on December 13, 2012, 02:23:20 PM
The poor mother.

And they never found out who was behind the original bullying. 
Post by: snoopdog on December 13, 2012, 05:14:02 PM
Just seen this in the Telegraph. Absolutely tragic. my heart goes out to those 2 wee girls and especially there parents and other family members. how could you cope with that.
something has to be done about cyber bullying, surely an age limit should be put on things like facebook and twitter, govt regulated.

May they rest in Peace, god love them
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 13, 2012, 05:27:23 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on December 13, 2012, 05:14:02 PM
Just seen this in the Telegraph. Absolutely tragic. my heart goes out to those 2 wee girls and especially there parents and other family members. how could you cope with that.
something has to be done about cyber bullying, surely an age limit should be put on things like facebook and twitter, govt regulated.

May they rest in Peace, god love them
How do people get bullied on these things? Do you not have to be friends with someone on Facebook before you can post anything? Likewise on Twitter can you not set accounts to private and vet followers or as a last resort not use these social media?
Post by: SHEEDY on December 13, 2012, 05:41:12 PM
heartbreaking news. thoughts go out to the family.
Post by: omagh_gael on December 13, 2012, 06:18:14 PM
@TB

It appears that a lot of the bullying involves setting up fake Facebook accounts etc pretending to be the person and then posting all sorts of horrible stuff.

Impossible to imagine how this family is coping, hopefully the hoors that carried out the bullying are suffering now.
Post by: The Iceman on December 13, 2012, 08:43:18 PM
Fake FB accounts seems to be the norm and groups that they would all be part of. Tagging people in photos and comments and in places.
Kids are cruel and the internet makes it easier. look how easily we get annoyed on a discussion forum and most of us are supposedly adults. Take out the common sense and add the cruelty and there is a recipe for disaster....
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 13, 2012, 10:41:28 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on December 13, 2012, 06:18:14 PM
@TB

It appears that a lot of the bullying involves setting up fake Facebook accounts etc pretending to be the person and then posting all sorts of horrible stuff.

Impossible to imagine how this family is coping, hopefully the hoors that carried out the bullying are suffering now.
Scumbags.
Post by: nrico2006 on December 14, 2012, 10:10:10 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 13, 2012, 10:41:28 PM
@TB

Scumbags.

Your old friend who didn't like the fleas had a similar problem with one of her children that warranted police involvement.  A fake account was set-up in the boys name and bad abuse was fired at one girl in particular on a very frequent basis.  It was the girk who set it up and sent herself the messages trying to make it look like it was from him.  There were boys waiting for him at the bus stop etc and it got a bit out of hand.
Post by: stew on December 14, 2012, 09:14:45 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 13, 2012, 02:23:20 PM
The poor mother.

How the fcuk can that happen, somebody knows, this bastard should be hunted down until caught,or they should if there is more than one, usually is because they are, in essence, cowards.
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 14, 2012, 10:36:05 PM
I think Ask.fm is the site most of this online bullying happens, they should have their IP address however, the odd one will hide behind fake IPs and won't be caught. Need to close down Ask.Fm and sites like it.
Post by: seafoid on December 15, 2012, 03:43:44 AM
Quote from: stew on December 14, 2012, 09:14:45 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 13, 2012, 02:23:20 PM
The poor mother.

How the fcuk can that happen, somebody knows, this b**tard should be hunted down until caught,or they should if there is more than one, usually is because they are, in essence, cowards.
It is shocking. People must know who did it.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2012/sep/26/day-confronted-troll

I showed The Troll's mother and father screengrabs and printouts of his handiwork.
I showed them pictures of ashes and dead flowers.

I pointed out that one of the messages my wife received wishing me dead had arrived when I actually was gravely ill.
I told them of how I'd become so paranoid that I genuinely didn't know who to trust anymore.
I told them of nights when I'd walked the rooms, jumping at shadows and crying over the sleeping forms of my family for fear that they would suffer because of me.

Then it happened ...
The Troll burst into tears. His dad gently restraining him from leaving the table.
I put my hand on his shoulder and asked him: "Why?"

The Troll sat there for a moment and said "I don't know. I don't know. I'm sorry. It was like a game thing."
A game thing.
So, that's what it was ...
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 16, 2012, 04:16:29 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on December 14, 2012, 10:10:10 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 13, 2012, 10:41:28 PM
@TB

Scumbags.

Your old friend who didn't like the fleas had a similar problem with one of her children that warranted police involvement.  A fake account was set-up in the boys name and bad abuse was fired at one girl in particular on a very frequent basis.  It was the girk who set it up and sent herself the messages trying to make it look like it was from him.  There were boys waiting for him at the bus stop etc and it got a bit out of hand.
Just reading this now. I am not surprised that something as deranged would happen in that family as she is not wise.
Post by: Boycey on December 11, 2017, 05:40:17 PM
I've seen this a couple of times on my social media over the last couple of days and it troubles me greatly.

https://www.iradio.ie/celebrities-rallied-behind-bullied-boy-heartbreaking-plea-mother-went-viral/

I've no clue of the back story to it and have mixed feelings on whether it should ever have been posted but it sure is powerful.

When I originally posted this I didn't notice the suicide element to the thread maybe I should move it?
Post by: Minder on December 11, 2017, 06:39:03 PM
Quote from: Boycey on December 11, 2017, 05:40:17 PM
I've seen this a couple of times on my social media over the last couple of days and it troubles me greatly.

https://www.iradio.ie/celebrities-rallied-behind-bullied-boy-heartbreaking-plea-mother-went-viral/

I've no clue of the back story to it and have mixed feelings on whether it should ever have been posted but it sure is powerful.

When I originally posted this I didn't notice the suicide element to the thread maybe I should move it?

Have to say I was a bit cynical as to the mothers motives and it seems I was right to be, she is asking people to PayPal her money and think there may be a Go Fund me on the go too

Oh and she seems to be a raging racist too 
Post by: laoislad on December 11, 2017, 06:47:01 PM
Quote from: Minder on December 11, 2017, 06:39:03 PM
Quote from: Boycey on December 11, 2017, 05:40:17 PM

Have to say I was a bit cynical as to the mothers motives
and it seems I was right to be, she is asking people to PayPal her money and think there may be a Go Fund me on the go too

Oh and she seems to be a raging racist too
I was myself too when I saw it first.
Post by: Boycey on December 11, 2017, 06:59:57 PM
Regardless of whether his mother is trying to cash in or is a racist you would have to be made of stone not to feel for the young fella..