GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: oakleaflad on June 06, 2018, 09:21:02 AM

Title: Derry V Kildare - Owenbeg, Sat 9th June 3pm
Post by: oakleaflad on June 06, 2018, 09:21:02 AM
Not much chat about this one. Will Kildare bring many up to it? Find it hard to call due to the form of both counties but I think Kildare might just pip us by 2 or 3 points. Despite not winning Kildare were fairly competitive in Division 1 whilst we struggled in Division 3.
Title: Re: Derry V Kildare - Owenbeg, Sat 9th June 3pm
Post by: JoG2 on June 06, 2018, 09:50:29 AM
Quote from: oakleaflad on June 06, 2018, 09:21:02 AM
Not much chat about this one. Will Kildare bring many up to it? Find it hard to call due to the form of both counties but I think Kildare might just pip us by 2 or 3 points. Despite not winning Kildare were fairly competitive in Division 1 whilst we struggled in Division 3.

agreed, though the 'we' who struggled in Div 3 is not really the 'we' lining out in the championship, hence the uncertainty. They'll be very little in this one, could well go to ET. Would be something to see a hefty crowd in Owenbeg on Sat
Post by: mup on June 06, 2018, 10:03:10 AM
Quote from: oakleaflad on June 06, 2018, 09:21:02 AM

Can't see many travelling from Kildare at all for this one. Morale is at an all time.

I cannot see anything but a Derry win here. By 4 or 5 points.

Hopefully it'll bring about about change within Kildare Gaa.
Post by: screenexile on June 06, 2018, 11:02:49 AM
It's actually a very big match and will define both Counties seasons.

Derry got relegated but the missing Slaughtneil contingent was a mitigating factor that bought the team a bit of respite from a backlash. We were never expected to beat Donegal but put in a reasonable performance. The team needs to win this one to salvage their season. I think we can!
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 06, 2018, 11:04:35 AM
A few hundred will travel. Derry by 6.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 06, 2018, 11:35:31 AM
(https://assets-auto.rbl.ms/ee9fa130634da628312afc62e45b55d612c576429a1c6eb8d169ed709028cf60)
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 06, 2018, 12:18:34 PM
Both counties playing the béal bocht. I reckon Derry will win this game. No idea why. Maybe the fact they scored 0-16 against Donegal but other than that I don't know.
Post by: westbound on June 06, 2018, 12:26:45 PM
I think Kildare will win this.

I was at the Kildare  v Carlow game. Kildare weren't as far off the mark as people might think. They kicked it away really in the first half when they had chances (including a penalty) but didn't get enough scores. In addition, Carlow didn't miss anything. It was one of those days for Carlow.

If the kildare players have ANY pride at all, they'll be bursting to win this game to prove that they are a decent team.

So I think they'll have enough to beat Derry.
Post by: Hound on June 06, 2018, 12:35:12 PM
I think they are two teams with a lot of potential to improve and be dark horses to make the Super 8. They both could have done with a handy draw though, to get the show on the road.

If the Kildare forwards get going, they might just be too good and win by 4 or 5. But if it's tight going down the stretch, then I think I'd fancy Derry to nick it.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 06, 2018, 08:58:14 PM
2 teams who were relegated in the league ; Derry conceding a total of 126 points (an average of 18 points per game) and Kildare conceding a total of 130 points (an average of 18.57 points per game)

Derry might have scored 0-16 against Donegal, but the current Donegal defence looks a million miles away from when they were at their peak (Cavan in the previous game managed 1-15)

Very much looks like it could be one of those games where it's a case of who wants it more on the day, probably with a slight advantage to Kildare due to the respective league standings.

Given the state of both defences, you'd have to think a high scoring affair looks a distinct possibility.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on June 07, 2018, 10:11:32 AM
I don't think it is a case of both sets of fans being cagey here, it's a case of being sick of how things are going in their own counties. Both groups have literally no idea which of their own set of players will turn up.
I know in Kildare we need to be showing some actual fight and not be bullied like we were the last day. We have to take the rough with the smooth and finally get a win.
The losing streal simply has to end this weekend.
Post by: Real Talk on June 07, 2018, 05:53:05 PM
The problem Derry have at the moment is they don't have a 'tricky pacey' corner forward who can take scoring chances.  Emmett Bradley playing in the half - forward line scored well from play and frees against Donegal but I don't see any other scoring threat and Mark Lynch is playing very deep.  Kildare's despite being relegated from Div 1 have the edge over us in all-round quality and can win this game.
Post by: JoG2 on June 07, 2018, 08:49:18 PM
Quote from: Real Talk on June 07, 2018, 05:53:05 PM
The problem Derry have at the moment is they don't have a 'tricky pacey' corner forward who can take scoring chances.  Emmett Bradley playing in the half - forward line scored well from play and frees against Donegal but I don't see any other scoring threat and Mark Lynch is playing very deep.  Kildare's despite being relegated from Div 1 have the edge over us in all-round quality and can win this game.

Niall Toner is both tricky and pacey, is a good foil for the half forward line and can take a score. But you're right about an marquee inside forward, though they are like hens teeth at the moment, not just in the Derry, but a lot of counties. What we need is the likes of Bradley, Lynch and Kielt to weigh in with 4 /5 including frees, Lynn, Mcguigan, Toner, Mcatamney etc to weigh in with 1 or 2..youre up to 14/15 points. Hopefully we push on and the men put in a serious shift which I'm confident they will do. After the league, I'm actually really looking forward to this game. The promo video for the 3 games this weekend is brilliant.
A big crowd roaring the team on could be the difference and the lift we all need.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 08, 2018, 12:18:52 PM
I have never seen such apathy around a Kildare game. I would have traveled but have a family function with family over from the UK and the USA. Maybe the phoenix will rise. Here's hoping.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 08, 2018, 01:07:45 PM
Yeah I can't remember the mood ever being as low. There's no belief whatsoever in this group of players.
Post by: oakleaflad on June 08, 2018, 01:48:54 PM
It's not Kerry or Dublin you're playing lads, no Phoenix's need to rise to beat Derry. I would be pleasantly surprised if we win this one.
Post by: thebuzz on June 08, 2018, 05:13:01 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on June 08, 2018, 01:48:54 PM
It's not Kerry or Dublin you're playing lads, no Phoenix's need to rise to beat Derry. I would be pleasantly surprised if we win this one.

I'd be pleasantly surprised too. Kildare lost a lot of close games in the league. If they get a bit of belief they'll give Derry trouble.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 08, 2018, 10:27:04 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 08, 2018, 01:07:45 PM
Yeah I can't remember the mood ever being as low. There's no belief whatsoever in this group of players.

I was considering going up but considering they won't even bother naming a team I probably won't. The disappointment would be too great when we see Eamon Callaghan starting.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 09, 2018, 12:41:44 AM
Quote from: thebuzz on June 08, 2018, 05:13:01 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on June 08, 2018, 01:48:54 PM

I'd be pleasantly surprised too. Kildare lost a lot of close games in the league. If they get a bit of belief they'll give Derry trouble.

I was chatting to a kildare fella earlier, he reckoned the ideal scenario for kildare would be to come back from 4-5 down with ten to go and win by a point. He seems to think a lack of belief is hindering them
Post by: OffTheDeck on June 09, 2018, 01:23:47 AM
Be interesting to see how Derry get on at Owenbeg. Heard reports about folks being fed up with Celtic Park, however that may have just been an excuse for poor performance
Post by: twohands!!! on June 09, 2018, 03:52:10 PM
Derry 2-7 Kildare 1-12 at HT.

No surprise given the score-line but both defences sound wide open.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 09, 2018, 04:07:05 PM
Derry 2-8 Kildare 2-15

Kildare goal 43 minutes -  a long way back for Derry now.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 09, 2018, 04:18:40 PM
Derry 2-12 Kildare 2-16 56 minutes

Derry have narrowed it, sounds like Kildare getting a bit of white line fever, making silly mistakes and giving away silly frees.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 09, 2018, 04:20:27 PM
Sounds like Tommy Moolick very lucky there - Kildare FM calling it as a blatant black and Moolick only gets a yellow.

Post by: twohands!!! on June 09, 2018, 04:21:59 PM
Derry 2-12 Kildare 2-17 61 minutes

Flynn with one that Kildare badly needed to steady things down.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 09, 2018, 04:22:53 PM
Derry 2-12 Kildare 2-18 62 minutes

Back out to 6 points for Kildare.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 09, 2018, 04:26:27 PM
David Hyland black card to stop a goal-scoring chance, replaced by his brother.

Mark Lynch straight red card in the afters.

Derry 2-13 Kildare 2-18  66 minutes.

Post by: twohands!!! on June 09, 2018, 04:43:28 PM
Derry 2-14 Kildare 2-22 FT

The losing streak is over (for Kildare)

The big worry for Kildare going forward  is that Derry managed to score 2-14 relatively easily and missed a couple more goal chances. 

Also Brophy apparently has a broken thumb (picked up in the warm up) and Feeley did his hamstring, so both those sound like they will be out for a bit.

Post by: screenexile on June 09, 2018, 05:01:47 PM
Missed goal chance at the start of the first half was crucial then we never got back in touch.

Going forward we caused them lots of problems but our defence was brutal they got scores far too easily. Lots of encouraging things though to build on. Sean Leo, Emmett Bradley, Paudie Cassidy were excellent. There's the nucleus of a decent team there it will be interesting to see how we go in the league next year. McErlain has a job trying to keep the lads together hopefully he can.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 09, 2018, 05:04:26 PM
(https://livingitoutdaily.files.wordpress.com/2013/04/every-knee-will-bow-bulletin-cover.jpg)
Post by: RedandBlacks on June 09, 2018, 06:09:42 PM
Kildare the "cuter" of the two teams. Coldrick was a disgrace. Good luck to ye s for the year.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 09, 2018, 06:25:27 PM
Quote from: RedandBlacks on June 09, 2018, 06:09:42 PM
Kildare the "cuter" of the two teams. Coldrick was a disgrace. Good luck to ye s for the year.

Best referee in the country supposedly, I listened on the radio and they were amazed Kildare didn't pick up a couple of more black cards. Doyle's one was very harsh in comparison. At least they came out of there without any further embarrassment, back in the 00's there were some really low moments where Kildare were bullied out of it up there. Worrying about the goal chances that were given up, a top team might replicate what Kerry did in the Jason Ryan era.
Post by: currychip on June 09, 2018, 07:47:11 PM
Kildare very cynical.  Ref completely let them be cynical.  A disgrace.  Derry very naive in defence.
Post by: RedandBlacks on June 09, 2018, 08:03:19 PM
Quote from: currychip on June 09, 2018, 07:47:11 PM
Kildare very cynical.  Ref completely let them be cynical.  A disgrace.  Derry very naive in defence.

No player protection from him at all
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 09, 2018, 08:38:03 PM
That Carlow game needs to be a watershed moment and hopefully today is the first step on the road back. We still have huge shortcomings as a team, particularly in our defending, but the attitude and mindset was unrecognisable from the last day. I just don't know why it takes being the laughing stock of the country for the last fortnight to light a fire under these lads. We need to see that physicality and crankiness from Kildare everyday.
Post by: Jinxy on June 09, 2018, 11:05:14 PM
Referee appointment was 'dodgy' - McErlain

Derry manager Damian McErlain was left frustrated with the appointment of Dublin-based referee David Coldrick after his side's defeat to Kildare.

The Oak County fell to a 2-22 to 2-14 defeat and had Mark Lynch sent off late in the game.

McErlain criticised the decision to appoint Coldrick after a series of decision went against his team.

https://www.bbc.com/sport/northern-ireland/44427439?ns_linkname=northern_ireland&ns_campaign=the_bbc_championship&ns_mchannel=social&ns_source=facebook (https://www.bbc.com/sport/northern-ireland/44427439?ns_linkname=northern_ireland&ns_campaign=the_bbc_championship&ns_mchannel=social&ns_source=facebook)

???

Post by: JoG2 on June 09, 2018, 11:43:43 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 09, 2018, 11:05:14 PM

Derry manager Damian McErlain was left frustrated with the appointment of Dublin-based referee David Coldrick after his side's defeat to Kildare.

The Oak County fell to a 2-22 to 2-14 defeat and had Mark Lynch sent off late in the game.

McErlain criticised the decision to appoint Coldrick after a series of decision went against his team.

https://www.bbc.com/sport/northern-ireland/44427439?ns_linkname=northern_ireland&ns_campaign=the_bbc_championship&ns_mchannel=social&ns_source=facebook (https://www.bbc.com/sport/northern-ireland/44427439?ns_linkname=northern_ireland&ns_campaign=the_bbc_championship&ns_mchannel=social&ns_source=facebook)

???

Coldrick has had much better days, but the game from a Derry pov was lost with our very porous defence. Teams lose players to injury / suspension etc all the time, but if 1 team didn't need the likes of 2 of our big guns in defence out today, it was Derry. You need a settled back 6 and cover to be playing competitively for a sustained period of time. Best of luck to Kildare in Rd 2,had a good chat to a few today and, well, like ourselves they're punch drunk at this stage, but a serious run in the qualifiers will reignite the flame
Post by: RedHand88 on June 10, 2018, 07:15:47 AM

???

Would he have complained about the referee appointment if decision had have went his way?
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 10, 2018, 09:34:32 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on June 10, 2018, 07:15:47 AM

???

Would he have complained about the referee appointment if decision had have went his way?

I don't think he realises the absolute contempt Meath referees are held in around Kildare. Good management though, deflecting from the fact that Derry are the first team to lose to Kildare in 12 months.

Anyway all reports are positive about Kildare hard not to be after 12 months without a win and 2 weeks of torture. Still too porous in defence but attitude is everything and Kildare found theirs today.

Just need to follow it up now.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 10, 2018, 11:04:59 AM

???

If Kildare is "an extension of Dublin" then should we not be getting all those juicy Games Development grants and Sports Council funding?

I expect the Dubs favourite Brazilian resident will be on the case shortly.
Post by: Rossfan on June 10, 2018, 11:15:27 AM
Those 6Cos. lads don't understand the non Clannish nature of Leinster (and Connacht) people.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 10, 2018, 01:54:29 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 10, 2018, 09:34:32 AM
I don't think he realises the absolute contempt Meath referees are held in around Kildare. Good management though, deflecting from the fact that Derry are the first team to lose to Kildare in 12 months.

Anyway all reports are positive about Kildare hard not to be after 12 months without a win and 2 weeks of torture. Still too porous in defence but attitude is everything and Kildare found theirs today.

Just need to follow it up now.

It would only be fair if no more Meath referees are allowed referee Kildare games in future I reckon.
Post by: Jinxy on June 10, 2018, 01:58:11 PM
At least we produce refs.
The last one ye had was Seamus Aldridge.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 10, 2018, 02:19:32 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 10, 2018, 01:58:11 PM

It looked like the great tanned one might have made the breakthrough a few years ago, he would have put Gough to shame.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 10, 2018, 05:18:55 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 10, 2018, 02:19:32 PM

It looked like the great tanned one might have made the breakthrough a few years ago, he would have put Gough to shame.

One of my in-laws. Young family scuppered his dreams  :) . Grand lad off the pitch.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 10, 2018, 08:53:11 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 10, 2018, 05:18:55 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 10, 2018, 02:19:32 PM

One of my in-laws. Young family scuppered his dreams  :) . Grand lad off the pitch.

I tried to argue with a Monasterevin man before that he was a referee who courted controversy, he was having none of it.
Post by: del_carroll on June 11, 2018, 08:41:18 AM
Are there highlights of this game available anywhere...apparently there were extended highlights on yesterday afternoon's TSG, but they're not on the rteplayer for some reason
Post by: Captain Scarlet on June 11, 2018, 10:30:06 AM
Extended highlights of around three minutes.
Post by: oakleaflad on June 11, 2018, 10:45:01 AM
Was at it. Kildare fully deserving of their victory despite the documented failings of the ref. I was impressed with Kildare's reaction following the Carlow game. Before the whistle was thrown up there was boys going at it all over the pitch and their intensity never dropped. Kildare were very physically imposing around the middle third and athletic, really impressed with the speed of their transition and in truth your half forwards had a bit of a field day. Your coach running on the field during our kickouts was an obvious tactic and you were cynical when you had the lead but sure what half-decent team wouldn't be? Neil Flynn looked very sharp when introduced.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 11, 2018, 10:56:19 AM
Quote from: oakleaflad on June 11, 2018, 10:45:01 AM
Was at it. Kildare fully deserving of their victory despite the documented failings of the ref. I was impressed with Kildare's reaction following the Carlow game. Before the whistle was thrown up there was boys going at it all over the pitch and their intensity never dropped. Kildare were very physically imposing around the middle third and athletic, really impressed with the speed of their transition and in truth your half forwards had a bit of a field day. Your coach running on the field during our kickouts was an obvious tactic and you were cynical when you had the lead but sure what half-decent team wouldn't be? Neil Flynn looked very sharp when introduced.

Has an horrific run of luck with injuries over the last 18 months. Excellent free taker and well able to take a score of either foot. Great to see him back.