Club transfers

Started by SCFC, March 21, 2015, 03:15:47 PM

Don Draper

Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on February 16, 2019, 02:21:47 AM
Killeshin at this time have a bigger pick of players than they have ever had in their history and yet they go poaching from their neighbours and fellow parishioners. They have always been a very proud club and have never stooped to this level even when they were struggling so whoever is behind this should hang their heads in shame.

A lot of Killeshin people are disgusted with this carry on and want nothing to do with it. They want their own sons and daughters to play with that club, not some people who have been fooled into joining them now and will have to live with it for the rest of their lives when they are old enough to realise what they have done. They have a great setup now in the club and have won the admiration of a lot of Laois people but one thing that is not acceptable in Laois is the poaching of players, especially when its done so publicly. Just ask Killeen about that.....

Sadly poaching is very acceptable in this county, you can ask Killeen and many other clubs about that.

Junior Ex Laoistalk

No it's not acceptable, it happens but clubs that do it get a very bad name for themselves and are despised by every real GAA person in Laois and everyother club in the County. Killeshin are in danger of heading that way if they don't cop on, a few people in that club seem destined to destroy everything they have achieved up till now.
Winners are not those who never fail, but those who never quit!

Don Draper

Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on February 16, 2019, 02:37:18 PM
No it's not acceptable, it happens but clubs that do it get a very bad name for themselves and are despised by every real GAA person in Laois and everyother club in the County. Killeshin are in danger of heading that way if they don't cop on, a few people in that club seem destined to destroy everything they have achieved up till now.
Come down off your cross. It's accepted. What did the real GAA men you speak of do when the Kingston's were taken? What did they do when Daly was taken? What did they do when Bowe and Ramsbottom were taken? Jesus I could go on and on.

You and the rest of your real GAA men can go and shite.

High Fielder

What is the current ruling anyway? Is it still the case that an address can seal a transfer, even though you don't actually live in the area?

steven seagal

How do Graiguecullen people feel about Clonad, Ratheniska or The Heath recruiting juvenile players from Portlaoise town, or The Rock doing likewise in Mountmellick? Because as far as I can see, this is the exact same scenario. Killeshin, as a rural club on the edge of a large urban area, did a flyer drop and put up a few posters advertising a registration night. They are 100% entitled to do that and fair play to them, we give out about clubs fading away to obscurity. They're trying to grow.

Helix.

Quote from: steven seagal on February 16, 2019, 06:40:39 PM
How do Graiguecullen people feel about Clonad, Ratheniska or The Heath recruiting juvenile players from Portlaoise town, or The Rock doing likewise in Mountmellick? Because as far as I can see, this is the exact same scenario. Killeshin, as a rural club on the edge of a large urban area, did a flyer drop and put up a few posters advertising a registration night. They are 100% entitled to do that and fair play to them, we give out about clubs fading away to obscurity. They're trying to grow.

There's no gun put to their heads at the end of the day. Only promoting another option. There's enough children at home engaging in next to no activity and getting kids out to be involved in some activity is the main thing. Evolve or become extinct.

Junior Ex Laoistalk

And that's all Killeen were doing too so that's OK then is it? People have been criticising Killeen since they started doing it but now suddenly it's all OK... Fair enough....

SCFC

Clonad have always got players from the town and are entitled to. Heath and Ratheniska wouldn't have many players from the town, would they? Friend of mine lives on Dublin Road side of town, has two kids in The Heath school but they play football with Portlaoise.

6th sam

Quote from: Helix. on February 16, 2019, 06:57:50 PM

There's no gun put to their heads at the end of the day. Only promoting another option. There's enough children at home engaging in next to no activity and getting kids out to be involved in some activity is the main thing. Evolve or become extinct.

It'll be interesting to see Croke park's response to this.
The whole essence of the gaa is a sense of place, if this is diluted , we're in trouble

High Fielder

When our CB tried to shut the gate, they forgot that it was they who had opened it. Or maybe they didn't forget, but just tried to shut the gate because it no longer suited them to leave it open. Either way, how we carry on is at times crazy. I would say that our underage structures are a jumbled up mess of clubs aligning themselves with what looks like the next best available option. This pays no regard to tradition or history and sometimes completely opposes the situation at adult level. In the middle of all this, you have lads being poached. f**king mental.

Laoiseabu

Who are underage players in Crettyard gonna play with now?

Junior Ex Laoistalk

Not with Killeshin anyway, seems they have enough and don't really care what happens Crettyard.

High Fielder

Our CB need to get involved here. You can't just throw out or disregard a Club's youngsters because you had one bumper harvest. This is the problem with our set up in a nutshell. Clubs who are rivals first and foremost will engage in this sort of bullshit where they perceive there to be an advantage in the long term. It is a very narrow view of the world, and set against the broader discussions that we have on here about improving quality, I'm afraid this does the opposite. Crettyard"s youngsters are in limbo and Killeshin, as a small country club, suddenly needs Carlow to turn into a city. It would be comical if there weren't kids involved and we weren't interested in their future participation. Nothing surprises me in Laois anymore. We're a soap opera

clonadmad

Quote from: Laoiseabu on February 16, 2019, 11:41:32 PM
Who are underage players in Crettyard gonna play with now?

Na Fianna Og,now a 4 club Juvenile amalgamation

Seemingly Crettyard are low in numbers but high in quality,I have no connection with either Killeshin or Crettyard,but what Killeshin did was shortsighted and plain wrong

Interesting times ahead too for Castletown, Slieve Bloom and the other na Fianna

High Fielder

So Crettyard are going in with Na Fianna Og? Is that confirmed clonadmad? This just gets more and more ridiculous. Welcome to Na Fianna Og. Home of the Robbed and Abandoned. Should be easy enough to make a club badge anyway. What a mess. Embarrassing