Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: boshiba on January 17, 2008, 05:36:11 PM

Title: Cheltenham 2008
Post by: boshiba on January 17, 2008, 05:36:11 PM
Jus getting started as im gettin a bit annoyed no1 has brought this topic up yet? Tips, outsiders, anything....
Title: Re: Cheltenham 2008
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 17, 2008, 06:52:22 PM
Forpadydeplasterer - Ballymore Novice Hurdle

Had 100 on him at 33/1 - now into 16's
Post by: boshiba on January 17, 2008, 09:37:02 PM
Yaeh I see hes into 14s with some firms now. Backed Breedsbreeze in the ballymore myself. What about Kauto? Surely too much of an ask for Kicking King.... Anyone know if Leg Spinner is being entered in anyting?
Post by: SDarbs on January 17, 2008, 10:48:29 PM
Captain Cee Bee for the Supreme Novices Hurdle roughly 16-1, should run before Cheltenham and expect his odd to fall then. At the minute its good value.
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on January 17, 2008, 10:58:45 PM
Boys this is the week that the Bookies look forward to. They always win. Keep your money in your pocket and stop making Paddy Power rich!!
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on January 17, 2008, 11:30:58 PM
Do you have any way of enjoying yourself.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 18, 2008, 03:33:48 AM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on January 17, 2008, 11:30:58 PM
Do you have any way of enjoying yourself.

moaning on this message board seems to be his kick
Post by: bcarrier on January 18, 2008, 07:25:58 AM
The trouble with novice hurdlers is working out which race they go for. Isl paddydeplaster also in supreme novice hurdle ?

Totesport Gc market without Kauto, Denman and Exotic dancer is interesting.

Race will probably cut up to less than ten runners so just identifying something that will run gives you good ew chance. Took a bit of turpin green and monkerhostin ew yesterday.
Post by: maddog on January 18, 2008, 09:03:33 AM
Quote from: bcarrier on January 18, 2008, 07:25:58 AM
The trouble with novice hurdlers is working out which race they go for. Isl paddydeplaster also in supreme novice hurdle ?

Totesport Gc market without Kauto, Denman and Exotic dancer is interesting.

Race will probably cut up to less than ten runners so just identifying something that will run gives you good ew chance. Took a bit of turpin green and monkerhostin ew yesterday.

Exotic Dancer EW, proven to be the 2nd best chaser in the country and 4 times the price of denman.
Post by: cavan4ever on January 18, 2008, 10:13:06 AM
I'm going to wait to see what Homer's doing before i do anything.  :)
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 18, 2008, 10:15:30 AM
Quote from: cavan4ever on January 18, 2008, 10:13:06 AM

:D :D Aren't we all canvan4ever  ;)
Post by: cavan4ever on January 18, 2008, 10:20:58 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on January 18, 2008, 10:15:30 AM

:D :D Aren't we all candyman  ;)

Who is candyman??
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 18, 2008, 10:23:21 AM
Quote from: cavan4ever on January 18, 2008, 10:20:58 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on January 18, 2008, 10:15:30 AM

:D :D Aren't we all candyman  ;)

Who is candyman??

Don't know canan4ever :) ;)
Post by: cavan4ever on January 18, 2008, 10:29:10 AM
 ::) :D :D
Post by: girt_giggler on January 18, 2008, 10:31:53 AM
I had an excellent christmas betting wise, so all my winnings + a little bit more have went on a major bet on Kauto @ 11/8.  The rest of the festival I will just be having small/normal stakes & just enjoy a few days & beers!
Post by: Mickey Linden on January 18, 2008, 10:54:54 AM
Glencove Marina is the most exciting prospect i have seen this year. Would strongly fancy him for the Arkle if he is still going to it. For me Sublimity and Kauto are still the horses to beat and would reckon them to be the festival bankers
Post by: Guillem2 on January 18, 2008, 11:04:27 AM
What are the dates for the Festival this year? Is it 11th March to 14th?
Post by: Hardy on January 18, 2008, 11:07:36 AM
I see Kicking King's return has been stymied by the abandonment of Fairyhouse. I don't know if he's entered in anything else pre-Cheltenham, but it will be hard for him to mount a serious challenge without a few races under his belt. I know Kauto and Denman look to be out on their own, but you'd never be sure until horses meet head to head and I was as impressed by Kicking King's gold cup as any in recent years. It would have been great to see a reminder of Arkle v. Mill House, Ireland v. England.

Guillem - those are the dates. Unusual to have a Cheltenham without St. Patrick's Day.
Post by: bcarrier on January 18, 2008, 11:17:50 AM
Fairyhouse rescheduled for Wednesday so subject to weather KK back then. Much as I would love to see him back at his best ...they dont come back . Would be Taaffes greatest ever achievement to get horse back and competitive.

Agree with Mickey about Glencove ( but will wait to see which race first) and sublimity (will back nearer the day - cant see him winning AIG on heavy ground so expect a drift).
Post by: Mickey Linden on January 18, 2008, 11:21:41 AM
Any thoughts on the chapion bumper? Time electric looked impressive at the christmas festival at lepordstown. Interesting to see Paul Nicolls talking about one of his horses for it. He is having a great season and I wouldnt rule out. Would be surprising to see an English trained winner tho
Post by: Homer on January 18, 2008, 11:22:29 AM
I'm not a huge fan of Ante Post betting but my early analysis would be...

I'll probably be backing Cork All Star if he runs in the Supreme or Ballymore Novices Hurdle

I fancy Sizing Europe (10/1) in the Champion Hurdle but despite his poor run last time out Sublimity (4/1) will be right come March and will take some over-turning. When Harchibald (8/1) beat Al Eile it looked like he was a new horse that responded under pressure, but his run against Straw Bear was very poor. A mate close to the stable told me to back Al Eile (25/1) when he last ran in Leopardstown, I decided to leave it and was left to rue the chance when he hacked up, so I'll probably have him EW.

Nickname (20/1) ran well on it's debut this season given the ground was against him. It looks like he will head for the Queen Mother and has very good EW chance. Twist Magic (7/4) goes in as favorite and rightfully so, but I've been impressed with Mansony (14/1) this year and will have an EW on him. I expect this price to shorthen once he has put Twist magic in his place tomorrow.

Mossbank (6/1) is a solid contender for the Ryanair, and has been improving with every run this season. I'm almost positive he will take on this race rather than get involved in Gold Cup yet finished the stronger of Denman and The Listener last time out.

An old favourite Hardy Eustace (12/1) is going for the World Hurdle, he owes me nothing so I'll have another EW on him.

I'm a big fan of Franchoek (11/2) and at the moment I can't see past him in the Triumph.

It's between Glencove Marina (10/1) and Thyne Again (20/1) in the Sun Alliance for me but both may yet opt to run in the Arkle in whisch case the same would apply.

Looks like we could be in for a cracking Gold Cup this year, Kauto Star (5/4), Denman (9/4), Exotic Dancer (11/1), Kicking King (33/1). I'm a big fan of Denman but I don't hold much hope of him over turning his stable mate. Exotic Dancer is way over priced and despite the fact that he is sick of the sight of Kauto's arse he is still a good EW shout. I won't be backing Kicking King but I would absolutley delighted to see him up among the reckoning. He has 2 entries this weekend Naas tomorrow and Fairyhouse on Sunday.

Backing Chocolate Thorton when I rides for King at Cheltenham served me very well last year so I'll probably be keeping it up.

So as regards AP, I'm backing the following now with a view to trade some of it off closer to the date for a few free bets.

Sizing Europe @ 10/1 EW
Al Eile @ 25/1 EW
Mansony @ 14/1 EW
Mossbank @ 6/1 EW
Francheok @ 11/2 EW
Kauto Star @ 5/4
Exotic Dancer @ 11/1 EW

So there you go lads empty the bank accounts and start laying every single horse you see in bold there  :)
Post by: Hardy on January 18, 2008, 11:26:41 AM
I must have misheard that report bcarrier - Fairyhouse only postponed, not abandoned. I suppose I am being unrealistic to expect KK to come back. Though I read an article/interview with Taaffe over Christmas and he seemed very bullish. We can always hope.

Naas is off as well.
Post by: Hardy on January 18, 2008, 11:29:39 AM
A lot of people seem to be backing Exotic Dancer for the place. He's only 2.82 for the place on Betfair - less than one-sixth the win odds of 12.5.
Post by: boshiba on January 18, 2008, 01:18:15 PM
Have to agree with Homers assessment of Mansony, think i'll be taking that 14/1 before tomorrow evening. Glencove Marina looks great value too...at the minute. Anyone heading over to the festival?
Post by: Louth Exile on January 21, 2008, 05:53:10 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on January 18, 2008, 11:17:50 AM
Fairyhouse rescheduled for Wednesday so subject to weather KK back then. Much as I would love to see him back at his best ...they dont come back . Would be Taaffes greatest ever achievement to get horse back and competitive.

Would also love to see Taaffe work the oracle, but can't see it either (Looks Like Trouble was one that comes to mind)

http://www.irish-racing.com/v3horseinfo?prv=4&prt=202257&prw=D
He holds declarations for both Fairyhouse on Wednesday and Cheltenham on Firday. Just heard that Fairyhouse won't go ahead on Wednesday but that they are moving KK's race to Gowran on Thursday and that if it goes ahead that Taaffe will run him
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 21, 2008, 08:40:17 PM
Right I am bored shitless in work here so I am gonna throw in my opinions on the Godl Cup and the Ryanair, since there's a lot of hmmming and haing about who's gonna go where.

I am nibbling away at Kauto (5-4 generally) week by week, can't see past him for the Gold Cup. Exotic Dancer looked poor in the King George though to be fair they were trying new tactics with him that obviously didn't work. Denman is an obvious danger but laboured along in a poor enough Lexus at Leopardstown over xmas, nowhere near the master class Kauto put on at kempton. Had high hopes for The Listener at one stage but not impressed after his Lexus run, plus he won't get the ground he would need to get amongst the big boys at Cheltenham.

Would love to see Kicking King or Star de Mohaison get back to their best but unfortunately don't think either can get back to full fitness in time for March and wouldn't able to challenge Kauto effectively. Would love to see a Gold Cup with Kauto, Denman, Kicking King, Star de Mohaison and War of Attrition all up for it. Maybe next year!

The Listener will probably go for the Ryanair Chase though as will a lot of the each way fancies for the Gold Cup, it seems they are all running scared of Nicholls and fancy a crack at a more competitive race, especially after the Ryanair has been boosted to Grade 1 status. This will be some race, Our Vic (5-1) will take some beating if his King George run is anything to go by finishing behind Kauto and beating Exotic Dancer. Plus Pipe is in some form lately, just look at recent Saturdays results. But I am going for Mossbank (5/1 also), Michael Hourigan's horse. Hopefully it'll travel better than Beef or Salmon ever did! Was really really impressed with it in the Lexus finishing behind Denman and think it is definitely gonna improve. Beat another horse I have been impressed with this season Knight Legend at Clonmel in Nov.

So far in those races I have a tidy amount on auto, have some each way on The Listener for the GC (was before the Lexus in case anyone asks, dunno what I was thinking) and am gonna start sticking some on Mossbank.

Then I'll just see about each way fancies once the trainers start to clear up their targets...

Right better do some work....
Post by: jaykay on January 22, 2008, 10:43:43 AM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on January 18, 2008, 11:21:41 AM
Any thoughts on the chapion bumper? Time electric looked impressive at the christmas festival at lepordstown. Interesting to see Paul Nicolls talking about one of his horses for it. He is having a great season and I wouldnt rule out. Would be surprising to see an English trained winner tho

I like the look of Corskeagh Royale, 16/1 with Paddy Power at the moment.  He destroyed the fields in his last 2 bumpers, 1 on soft and the other on good ground so no worries there.  Capel Lad, who has gone on to win a weak enough Maiden Hurdle was 4th some 20 odd lengths behind in Punchestown.
Post by: T O Hare on January 22, 2008, 03:40:54 PM
lads my father was given two tips at the weeknd from a good source. amn told him to do hits only jude at southwell today.. it won at 4/1
his other tip was binocolur in the truimph hurdle.. the man has backed it from 50's right down.. its 8/1 with paddy power at the minute...
by the way we forgot to f******** do the horse today!!!!
Post by: Onlooker on January 22, 2008, 03:46:24 PM
It is easy to tip the winner of the 1 o'clock race at 3.40!!!.
Post by: Mickey Linden on January 22, 2008, 04:24:59 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on January 22, 2008, 03:40:54 PM
lads my father was given two tips at the weeknd from a good source. amn told him to do hits only jude at southwell today.. it won at 4/1
his other tip was binocolur in the truimph hurdle.. the man has backed it from 50's right down.. its 8/1 with paddy power at the minute...
by the way we forgot to f******** do the horse today!!!!

who trains Binocular Tommy? Are u backing it ante-post? Another yankee would be nice again this year!
Post by: T O Hare on January 22, 2008, 04:29:36 PM
not sure.. jp owns it.. it won at the weekend....you should nt be using that great mans name

honest to god.. da told a few boys in the bridge and they all back it!
Post by: Mickey Linden on January 22, 2008, 04:37:40 PM
U should not be using that great mans name either!
Post by: jaykay on January 22, 2008, 04:39:49 PM
Nickey Henderson trains it, it's declared in 2 races in the next few days.  1.10 Warick on Thursday and the 3.05 in Doncaster on Friday.
Post by: Mickey Linden on January 22, 2008, 04:43:14 PM
His price will change a fair bit then in the next few days according to what race he goes for and how well he goes. Will keep a look out anyhow. 8/1 for the trimuph hurdle is short enough to be honest!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 22, 2008, 05:30:43 PM
Will take a lot to win the Triumph, some very good horses in it this year. I especially like Celestial Halo, saw Ruby getting interviewed about it a while back and he got very excited about it. Though its a tough race, in work here looks like its gonna be a quiet night since there's no racing on so might have a look at the Triumph and post my thoughts here later...
Post by: Louth Exile on January 23, 2008, 04:30:09 PM
Well if Leopardstown goes ahead on Sunday (and it must be looking dodgy with the current weather) the ground could only be bottomless and he swore he wouldn't run him in that type of ground again.

Gowran I see is due an inspection in the morning, with Kicking King due for a run in the race before the Thystes
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 23, 2008, 05:20:35 PM
Had soarta assumed Carr wouldn't run him at the weekend for a while now just going by his comments about the ground.

Pity as it would have been a good pointer towards the Champ Hurdle, thought Sublimity ran ok last time out, but wanted to see him with a bit more fitness before weighing him up for the CH.

Post by: thewobbler on January 24, 2008, 01:42:40 PM
I was kind of thinking something must be up with Glencove Marina. Was generally 6s or 7s on oddschecker yesterday apart from one bookie who had him at 14s (BetDirect i think).
Post by: Mickey Linden on January 24, 2008, 02:13:50 PM
Thats terrible news about Glencove Marina. i was really expecting him to go well at cheltenham. Good job I didnt back him ante-post
Post by: Louth Exile on January 24, 2008, 03:53:34 PM
I'd echo the sentiments about glencove, looked like a good one for the festival alright  :(
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 24, 2008, 07:08:38 PM
Pity about Glencove, can't really pretend to be that sad though as I have backed Joe Lively antepost for the RSA
Post by: bcarrier on January 25, 2008, 11:03:19 AM
A very impressive return by Kicking King. Next few days are vital but definite gliimer of hope for connections now.

Does Home of hurling ever post on here now ? He used to have good info from Nicky Richards and EJ O Grady yards .
Post by: Louth Exile on January 25, 2008, 11:04:06 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on January 24, 2008, 07:08:38 PM
Pity about Glencove, can't really pretend to be that sad though as I have backed Joe Lively antepost for the RSA
I think it was the Arkle was his likely target, not the RSA
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 25, 2008, 11:36:15 AM
It was antepost favourite/joint favourite for both markets as hadn't been stated which it was going for as yet

I am just happy one less serious contender for joe Lively, have been very impressed with him this year has come on lepas and bounds, I have him at 12/1 now into 8/1
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 25, 2008, 12:25:10 PM
Just to show I wasn't talking shite about it being head of the rsa market

QuoteGLENCOVE MARINA, at the head of the ante-post betting for both the Arkle and the Royal & SunAlliance Chase, has been ruled out for the season.

Trained by Willie Mullins, the six-year-old sprang to prominence for the Cheltenham Festival events by effortlessly winning a Grade 2 novice chase at Leopardstown earlier in the month.

His big-race target had not been finalised and he was earlier handed entries in both championship events before disaster struck.

"He's got a tendon injury and he's definitely out for the season," Mullins told At The Races.

Mullins went on: "We are not sure how long the injury will take, I haven't spoken to our vet who scanned him but he is definitely out for all this season and maybe we'll decide to give next season a miss too. 

"He appeared to be fine after Leopardstown because we were checking him every morning.

"He'd had a week off and he was back riding and doing small canters, but we just noticed a little bit of heat on the backside of his leg and was hoping against hope it might have been something else, but it wasn't.

"So we sent him off to get scanned and the vet told us the bad news this morning.

"He was the most exciting horse I've had foryears, the potential that he had, he has come out and shown that this year over fences.

"I was really looking forward to him so it is very disappointing."
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 25, 2008, 12:27:41 PM
Pedrobob out for the season as well, was going for the Arkle.

f**king cat the amount of injuries/horses being put down this year
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 25, 2008, 02:35:19 PM
Just pointing out tomorrows card at Cheltenham-great jumps card, should be some very good pointers for the Festival with the likes of Wichita Lineman, Exotic Dancer, Katchit, Blazing Bailey and Ashely Brook all winning on the corresponding card last year.

Very good novice hurdle to start off with, Wichita won last year and went on to win the Brit Insurance Novices Hurldle on Gold Cup day. Another horse that Wichita beat last year was Massini's Maguire who went on to the Ballymore Properties Hurdle, and Tidal Bay who is currently top of the markets for the Arkle and RSA Chase (5s and 8s respectively). I like the look of Ecelith Echo in the first, did well in bumpers before switching to hurdles, looks useful enough and can go any ground and has been looking for more than 2miles.

The 2.10 sees a winner form last years festival, Burntoakboy which won the Coral Cup. Am ruling out New Little Bric after such a disappointing run in the Boylesports Gold Cup which it went off favourite (won by Tamarinbleu which is now up there for the Champ Chase after beating Twist Magic last week). My pick would be Patman Du Charmil, a creditbale third behind Tamarinbleu in the Boylesports GC and 2nd to Vodka Bleu in good race New Years Day at Cheltenham, clearly enjoys the course.

The Letheby (2.40) won by Exotic Dancer last year who went on to finish second in Gold Cup, See more Business another winner of this race and the Gold Cup. Pity Exotic Dancer has been took out of the race would have liked to see him after the King George which was a little disappointing. Leaves the racewide open though. Horses such as Our vic, Neptune Collonges, Madison du Berlais and State of Play all etered for the Gold Cup. Our Vic is also entered for the Ryanair Case for which it is prominent in the betting. I can't see past Our Vic here. Ran a cracker on St Stephens Day to finish second in the King george, a rac which Kauto totally dominated and showed his class. Pipes horses have been in great form this season as well, especially in the bigger races.

The Juvenile Novice Hurdle will give god pointers for the Triumph Hurdle at the festival. Last years winner was Katchit who went no to romp home up the hill in the triumph. Another previous winner was Hors La Loi who went no to Champion Hurdle glory. I see this race as a battle between Franchoek (5/1 triumph) and Tatenen (16/1 triumph). King versus Nicholls. I would go for Franchoek because I like the King/Thornton combo, been very good for me over the last couple years and has proved can go over the soft ground and won over the distance on three occasions.

The race I am looking forward to the most is probbly the Cleeve Hurdle (3.50) since Exotic dropped out of the Letheby. Bad memories of this race after Black Jack in it last year but sure no matter. Last years World Hurdle hero Inglis Drever out for the second time this season, will be very hard to beat given that it s a two time WH winner. Won't get it easy though as Blazing Bailey ahs looked back to his best this winnning by a good margin New Years Day from horses such as Wichita, Afsoun, Black Jack and Gaspara. Chief Dan George is niteresting, was beaten by Wichita at last years festival but the reversed the result at Aintree a few weeks later. I would go each wayn though on te ever improving Lough Derg, couldnt believe the price last week when it won at 6/1!! When you think its beat the likes of Hardy Eustace, Black Jack, Special Envoy etc...

Well theres my thoughts, as you can tell its been a pretty slow day!!!!
Post by: Captain Black on January 25, 2008, 03:24:04 PM
the bookies love boys like yous why dont yous be honest and tell how much money yous waste watcin a dumb animal jumpin over a fence

[Edited by Mod3]
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on January 25, 2008, 03:27:58 PM
Quote from: Captain Black on January 25, 2008, 03:24:04 PM
the bookies love boys like yous why dont yous be honest and tell how much money yous waste watcin a dumb animal jumpin over a fence

[Edited by Mod3]

Hi Captain Black, and welcome to the forum. However posts like the above will not go down too well here, or lead to a long membership of the board. Please refrain from personal abuse, and if you are not interested in a thread, or have nothing constructive/interesting to say then don't say anything.

Cheers.
Post by: jaykay on January 25, 2008, 03:45:55 PM
Quote from: Captain Black on January 25, 2008, 03:24:04 PM

[Edited by Mod3]

More of a Flat racing man yourself are you Captain.  I have to say I prefere National Hunt myself.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 25, 2008, 04:05:47 PM
Well cpatain black, a big welcome to you! I work in a bookies part time and I suppose I love myself a wee bit, I mean who doesn't?? So yeah you're right. You are now the smartest person on here!!

Ps I lose a bit but I also win a bit, what's the harm in that? I don't lose more than I can afford. And I love watching horse racing. I f you don't like ti don't read the thread son.

Peace out
Post by: Mickey Linden on February 12, 2008, 10:12:37 AM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on January 17, 2008, 06:52:22 PM

Looks like a good call! Whats everyones latest opinion on Cheltenham. Denman was very impressive on saturday. The gold cup is going to be a cracker. Master minded was also mightly impressive. Fancied Twist MAgic for the champion chase but am not so sure now. Either way its going to be a great festival for Nicolls with leading fancies in big races
Post by: Red Sky on February 12, 2008, 10:14:04 AM
What race is The Listener running in?
Post by: girt_giggler on February 12, 2008, 11:04:52 AM
Has an entry in the gold cup & ryanair chase
Post by: Red Sky on February 12, 2008, 11:09:41 AM
Surely he isnt going run in both?
Post by: Homer on February 12, 2008, 11:18:45 AM
Quote from: Red Sky on February 12, 2008, 11:09:41 AM
Surely he isnt going run in both?

He can (Baron De Feypo ran in two different races at Cheltenham last year) I'd imagine the Listener will go for the Ryanair.

Think I'm gonna have a pop at Aux Le Bahnn @ 66s for the Ballymore before he runs today.
Post by: winsamsoon on February 12, 2008, 11:46:22 AM
I know that shift in the market for paddytheplaster would look very significant but really it wouldn't take a lot of money for a horse to go from 33/1 to 14's maybe something in the range of 5to 6 hundred. People can be confused by this and think such a shift means the horse is getting thousands thrown at it. My fancies for cheltenham would be Franchoek, The listener, (Kauto Star Denman) Forecast and Sizing Europe (nap) Think sizing Europe has the ability certainly on the last outing to hack up.Then again Cheltenham is a different story and it is a mad week that just sets you up for St Paddys ( but it can make or break St Paddys  :D :D ) Anyway i am sure we will all be looking forward to the festival as the gossip sweals around the towns and bookies shops. I especially like to hear people who know absolutely nothing about horses( not that i am a pro) running round throwing money at absolutely anything that has a pulse, Classic. Hope the lot of you's get the winners you want. The last good year i had was when the Baracouda and moscow flyer done the business for me although i had War of Attrition scalped too a couple years backs
Post by: AZOffaly on February 12, 2008, 11:49:49 AM
I'm hearing a few whispers for lilywhitedancer in the Champion Bumper.
Post by: Mickey Linden on February 12, 2008, 11:54:24 AM
I still fancy Sublimity for the champion hurdle. I know Sizing Europe was impressive last time out but I dont think he beat much to be honest. I think Sublimity is being primed for cheltenham and think he will come right. My other festival bankers would be Franchook, Inglis Drever and Kauto Star. Would anyone be able to post latest odds for these horses as I cant access bookmakers sites in work! cheers
Post by: Louth Exile on February 12, 2008, 11:59:56 AM
Forpaddytheplaster looks good alright, I was a lot morr impressed with Denman than I was at Christmas, I'd still be sticking with Twist magic for the 2M. Its amazing, I haven't worked out the odds, but Nicholls must be odds on to win the two big chases!! Thats fair going.

I think the champion hurdle is a very hard one to call at the moment
Post by: maddog on February 12, 2008, 12:01:19 PM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on February 12, 2008, 11:54:24 AM
I still fancy Sublimity for the champion hurdle. I know Sizing Europe was impressive last time out but I dont think he beat much to be honest. I think Sublimity is being primed for cheltenham and think he will come right. My other festival bankers would be Franchook, Inglis Drever and Kauto Star. Would anyone be able to post latest odds for these horses as I cant access bookmakers sites in work! cheers

10/1 Franchoek for novice hurdle
6/5 Inglis
5/4 Kauto
Post by: jaykay on February 12, 2008, 12:01:50 PM
http://www.racingpost.co.uk/c4/

You could try this site Mickey, it's not blocked here which is a bloody big surprise.
Post by: Bensars on February 12, 2008, 12:02:42 PM
Betfair

Gold Cup

Kato Star 5/4
Denham  15/8
Kicking King  18/1
Exotic dancer    18/1

Triumph Hurdle

Franchook  11/4
Celestial Halo  9/1
Binocular 9.5/1

Post by: Homer on February 12, 2008, 12:05:11 PM
Quote from: jaykay on February 12, 2008, 12:01:50 PM
http://www.racingpost.co.uk/c4/

You could try this site Mickey, it's not blocked here which is a bloody big surprise.

If anyone isn't registered with the RP.

username: slickman
password: junglecat
Post by: AZOffaly on February 12, 2008, 12:09:56 PM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on February 12, 2008, 11:54:24 AM

Sublimity    PP - 9/2 Lads 5/1 Champion Hurdle
Sizing Europe PP - 9/4 Lads 2/1 Champion Hurdle
Franchoek PP - 11/4 Lads 9/4Triumph Hurdle
Inglis Drever PP - Evens Lads Evens World Hurdle
Kauto Star PP - Evens Lads 11/10 Gold Cup
Post by: Louth Exile on February 12, 2008, 02:03:47 PM
Kicking King continues on the comeback trail at Gowran this Saturday. It would be great if he could even put it up to the Nicholls pair, too big an ask for even a great horse such as him to win it though
Post by: boshiba on February 17, 2008, 12:06:16 AM
Yeah, sprained fetlock but no confirmation until the morn. Not looking good tho..... Absolutely raging!!!!!!!
Post by: Louth Exile on February 17, 2008, 12:11:01 PM
Taken from the racing post website this morning............

A HUGELY relieved Paul Nicholls this morning said that the scare over Kauto Star's fitness was all but over.

After impressively winning the Grade 1 Ascot Chase on Saturday the Gold Cup winner was found to be lame behind.

On returning home Nicholls and head lad Clifford Baker took the shoe off the hind leg to relieve any pressure and poulticed the foot over night. It was at this point they were confident the problem was not serious.

Nicholls said this morning: "I've had a very sleepless night but fortunately this morning puss came out of the foot and when we trotted him up he was virtually sound.

"There will be no setback with his training for the Gold Cup."

"He would have had a couple of days off after running anyway and this should clear up within 48 hours, so it shouldn't make too much difference.

A number of bookmakers suspended their markets on the Gold Cup after rumours about the wellbeing of Kauto Star began to surface.

"We were fairly confident it was something simple like that but it's a huge relief," Nicholls added.

"I was almost afraid to go in this morning to find out what was wrong!

"I'm absolutely chuffed though, and it's all systems go for the Gold Cup now."

Kauto Star and stablemate Denman have long dominated the Gold Cup market and the pair are set to clash for the first time in the March 14 event.

VC Bet make Kauto Star their even-money favourite following Nicholls' upbeat bulletinwith Denman a 13-8 chance.

Exotic Dancer is next best at 10-1 with Star De Mohaison, another Nicholls' inmate, a 25-1 shot.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Great to hear it, opened the Tribune this morning and saw the scary news. I'm unlikely to have a bet on the gold cup myself, but like any racing person, really looking forward to the clash of the big two.

What about Kicking King??? Very disappointing run, I was flicking between ATR, C4 and BBC after the race to guage the different reactions and pundits on two of the three stations thought Taafe would now not send him to Cheltenham!! There goes the small glimmer of hope we had of an Irish winner of the GC
Post by: Hardy on February 17, 2008, 01:50:58 PM
Very sad to see what appears to be the demise of Kicking King. Very surprising too, after what
appeared to be a great run on his return. There doesn't appear to be any indication that anything
was wrong with him. However, I read somewhere that Taaffe still intends to send him to the Gold Cup.

Like every NH fan, though, I can't wait for Kauto Star v. Denman.
Post by: Louth Exile on February 17, 2008, 06:10:28 PM
That "bounce factor" could be to blame, although even the top horsemen can't explain why it happens
Post by: Homer on February 19, 2008, 02:49:15 PM
Only three weeks today til it all kicks off so it's probably a good time to bring this back up and review the ante-posts.

Quote from: Homer on January 18, 2008, 11:22:29 AM
I'm not a huge fan of Ante Post betting but my early analysis would be...

I'll probably be backing Cork All Star if he runs in the Supreme or Ballymore Novices Hurdle

I fancy Sizing Europe (10/1) in the Champion Hurdle but despite his poor run last time out Sublimity (4/1) will be right come March and will take some over-turning. When Harchibald (8/1) beat Al Eile it looked like he was a new horse that responded under pressure, but his run against Straw Bear was very poor. A mate close to the stable told me to back Al Eile (25/1) when he last ran in Leopardstown, I decided to leave it and was left to rue the chance when he hacked up, so I'll probably have him EW.

Nickname (20/1) ran well on it's debut this season given the ground was against him. It looks like he will head for the Queen Mother and has very good EW chance. Twist Magic (7/4) goes in as favorite and rightfully so, but I've been impressed with Mansony (14/1) this year and will have an EW on him. I expect this price to shorthen once he has put Twist magic in his place tomorrow.

Mossbank (6/1) is a solid contender for the Ryanair, and has been improving with every run this season. I'm almost positive he will take on this race rather than get involved in Gold Cup yet finished the stronger of Denman and The Listener last time out.

An old favourite Hardy Eustace (12/1) is going for the World Hurdle, he owes me nothing so I'll have another EW on him.

I'm a big fan of Franchoek (11/2) and at the moment I can't see past him in the Triumph.

It's between Glencove Marina (10/1) and Thyne Again (20/1) in the Sun Alliance for me but both may yet opt to run in the Arkle in whisch case the same would apply.

Looks like we could be in for a cracking Gold Cup this year, Kauto Star (5/4), Denman (9/4), Exotic Dancer (11/1), Kicking King (33/1). I'm a big fan of Denman but I don't hold much hope of him over turning his stable mate. Exotic Dancer is way over priced and despite the fact that he is sick of the sight of Kauto's arse he is still a good EW shout. I won't be backing Kicking King but I would absolutley delighted to see him up among the reckoning. He has 2 entries this weekend Naas tomorrow and Fairyhouse on Sunday.

Backing Chocolate Thorton when I rides for King at Cheltenham served me very well last year so I'll probably be keeping it up.

So as regards AP, I'm backing the following now with a view to trade some of it off closer to the date for a few free bets.

Sizing Europe @ 10/1 EW
Al Eile @ 25/1 EW
Mansony @ 14/1 EW
Mossbank @ 6/1 EW
Francheok @ 11/2 EW
Kauto Star @ 5/4
Exotic Dancer @ 11/1 EW

So there you go lads empty the bank accounts and start laying every single horse you see in bold there  :)

Well its a mixed bag really but despite the dead money on Al Eile and the disappointing drift on Mansony, I'm quite content so far, with Sizing Europe and Francheok now looking good value.

Sizing Europe @ 10/1 EW - now 9/4    ;D
Al Eile @ 25/1 EW - (now looks set to run either in the world hurdle or not at all)  :'(
Mansony @ 14/1 EW - now 25/1  :'(
Mossbank @ 6/1 EW - now 5/1   :)
Francheok @ 11/2 EW - now 5/2   ;D
Kauto Star @ 5/4 - now 5/4    :-\
Exotic Dancer @ 11/1 EW - now layed @ 11/2   :)

A big scare with Kauto Star on Saturday night (drifted as far as 9s on Betfair after hitting EVENS earlier that day). Thankfully the worries in the Nicholls camp turned out to be minimal and he had resumed the favourites' tag by Sunday morning. I did manage to take some advantage of the market swing by hedging my bet on Exotic Dancer for a small profit (I layed him near 11/2 but he even went as low as 5s).

Fortunately for me the ambiguity surrounding which race Glencove Marina and Thyne Again would take part in, seems to have saved me a few shillings with Glencove now out for the season and Thyne Again not showing much, when up against better opposition.

I had a small bet for the Ballymore Properties on Aux Le Bahnn before he raced on Monday last, he's a fine horse but after seeing the run he obviously doesn't stay the 2m 5f so I have layed it off again at a small loss. I'm now going to go with Hold Em (25/1) for the Ballymore instead simply because I think he is great value especially considering he finished a close 2nd to the ante post favourite Aigle DOr (5/1) over C&D last time out and it was also only his second outing over hurdles. If he can continue to improve I think he'll have a huge chance of victory.

I'm also adding a small bet on Numide (12/1) for the Supreme Novices. Has won both starts over hurdles in convincing fashion. Showed excellent flat form in France, was only beaten 2 lengths in the French Derby with plenty of good horses behind him, prior to that he beat a horse called Gentlewave who went on to finish 2nd to Dylan Thomas in the Irish Derby. Also beat the one time Epsom derby favourite Visindar. This horse really has the ability to be something special.

Finally I'm gonna have another small touch EW on Zaarito (6/1) in the Champion Bumper, very impressed with his last run and if he can produce something similar he'll go very close.

So here's what the betslip looks like now.

Supreme Nov. Hurdle - Numide @ 12/1 EW
Champion Hurdle - Sizing Europe @ 10/1 EW
Ballymore Novices - Hold Em @ 25/1 EW
Champion Chase - Mansony @ 14/1 EW
Champion Bumper - Zaarito @ 6/1 EW
Ryanair Chase - Mossbank @ 6/1 EW
Triumph Hurdle - Francheok @ 11/2 EW
Chelt Gold Cup - Kauto Star @ 5/4

Gold Cup - Exotic Dancer @ 11/1 EW  Hedged
Champion Hurdle - Al Eile @ 25/1 EW  Non Runner
Post by: Homer on February 21, 2008, 02:27:15 PM
Quote from: Homer on February 19, 2008, 02:49:15 PM
I'm now going to go with Hold Em (25/1) for the Ballymore instead simply because I think he is great value especially considering he finished a close 2nd to the ante post favourite Aigle DOr (5/1) over C&D last time out and it was also only his second outing over hurdles. If he can continue to improve I think he'll have a huge chance of victory.

Runs today (3.25 Huntingdon) he's fairly skinny at only 6/4 but fingers crossed he can produce an impressive performance and the win of course.
Post by: Homer on February 21, 2008, 03:47:42 PM
Quote from: Homer on February 21, 2008, 02:27:15 PM
I'm now going to go with Hold Em (25/1) for the Ballymore instead simply because I think he is great value especially considering he finished a close 2nd to the ante post favourite Aigle DOr (5/1) over C&D last time out and it was also only his second outing over hurdles. If he can continue to improve I think he'll have a huge chance of victory.

Runs today (3.25 Huntingdon) he's fairly skinny at only 6/4 but fingers crossed he can produce an impressive performance and the win of course.

Left himself a lot to do (drifting to 9/1 in-running) and battled really well to win it in the end.

Still not just as impressive a performance as I'd hoped, and I wouldn't expect him to shorten too much for Cheltenham on that run. Won't be tearing up the docket just yet though.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 21, 2008, 04:17:12 PM
I might have a cheeky wee each-way punt on him nonetheless
Post by: Homer on February 21, 2008, 04:20:31 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on February 21, 2008, 04:17:12 PM
I might have a cheeky wee each-way punt on him nonetheless

If you do Hurl make sure you do it with Paddy Power, Boylesports or William Hill as they're still offering 25/1 while most the others have moved into 16s.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 21, 2008, 04:22:02 PM
duly noted (http://i31.tinypic.com/2hrisk5.gif)
Post by: Mayo4Sam on February 21, 2008, 09:52:03 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on January 17, 2008, 06:52:22 PM

Hurl picked him up at 21 on betfair, have laid him at 8s, fair play
Post by: Louth Exile on February 21, 2008, 11:15:01 PM
Heard some good news about Cork all star and sublimity today, keeping them on the short list anyway
Post by: Hardy on February 22, 2008, 04:26:33 PM
Tom Taaffe was interviewed on At The Races yesterday - still upbeat about Kicking King. He says he wouldn't read anything into his poor run last Saturday and put it down to the famous bounce effect, etc. It was to be expected, he said, in the second run after a long layoff.

More significantly, he said they discovered a trapped nerve in his back on Tuesday and sorted it out. He wasn't saying that accounted for his bad run, but it has to be taken into consideration.

"It's all systems go for the Gold Cup", he said.
Post by: Homer on February 23, 2008, 12:33:20 PM
I'm also adding a small bet on Numide (12/1) for the Supreme Novices. Has won both starts over hurdles in convincing fashion. Showed excellent flat form in France, was only beaten 2 lengths in the French Derby with plenty of good horses behind him, prior to that he beat a horse called Gentlewave who went on to finish 2nd to Dylan Thomas in the Irish Derby. Also beat the one time Epsom derby favourite Visindar. This horse really has the ability to be something special.

Runs today (Kempton 2.05). Has moved into 10/1 since I posted the above and hopefully he will keep going that direction with a win today.

Bonus is also running today (Lingfield 3.45).
Post by: Louth Exile on February 25, 2008, 04:54:14 PM
I'm sure there are preview nights up and down the country this week, the line up for this one in The Helix is a good one

http://www.thehelix.ie/2008_Q1/CheltenhamNight.htm

Be interesting to hear what the legend Barney Curley has to say anyway
Post by: maddog on February 25, 2008, 04:57:24 PM
Weather has been exceptional here for the last couple of weeks, some good tight frosts and clear days. Think they will actually have to water it. Expect the going to be good , mudlarks wont feature.
Post by: Louth Exile on February 25, 2008, 04:59:01 PM
They have started to water it this week
Post by: Homer on February 25, 2008, 05:29:40 PM
Quote from: Homer on February 23, 2008, 12:33:20 PM

Runs today (Kempton 2.05). Has moved into 10/1 since I posted the above and hopefully he will keep going that direction with a win today.

Very disappointing run from Numide on Saturday. He looked to be well poised coming to last couple of furlongs but found nothing when he was asked of. Having re-watched his past hurdle runs I'm a bit of a loss as to why he was so bad and even more so since Moore has now claimed there was nothing wrong with him. He's still going for the festival anyway so at least I'll get a run for my moneys worth.
Post by: Mickey Linden on February 27, 2008, 12:22:04 PM
Well not long till the festival now. This is my first year working over the festival. I was just wondering what do people do in that situation. I have no access to a radio or anything. Its going to be a nightmare. Internet bookmakers are banned. I have Gold Cup day booked off so not all bad I suppose!
Post by: girt_giggler on February 27, 2008, 01:01:13 PM
all bookmaker/horse racing sites are barred in my place too. although i can access www.sportinglife.com & there is a live commentray link there also which work for me
Post by: Louth Exile on February 27, 2008, 01:30:15 PM
I'm going to do the same as last year, sign up for the racinguk online access. Work the first two days and watch the races on the internet in the office (and do a bit of work in between). Half day on the Thursday and all day off on the Friday.
Post by: Homer on February 27, 2008, 02:08:59 PM
I'm off for the week myself, I book it off every year as soon as Cheltenham has finished. I just couldn't work through it.

When I am working I usually use Boylesports who let you watch races when you have a bet on them. Although occasionally I have to resort to watching the in-running market on Betfair while listening to betfair radio to see how a race is going, it can be a bit of mayhem but its actually quite educational and I often watch the market while there's a race on tv.

I see most the bookies have now gone No Runner No Bet now so slightly less risk from here on in.

Finally I'm gonna have another small touch EW on Zaarito (6/1) in the Champion Bumper, very impressed with his last run and if he can produce something similar he'll go very close.

Has moved into 7/2 fav after Time Electric decided to head for Punchestown instead. Think he is probably over priced now so I've laid most of the bet off for a free bet @6/1.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 27, 2008, 02:23:58 PM
I think I'm on a training course. What a pile of ballix. Who fixes a training course for Cheltenham week?

There might be a lot of 'phone calls' to be taken.
Post by: Louth Exile on February 27, 2008, 04:14:29 PM
Quote from: Homer on February 27, 2008, 02:08:59 PM
I see most the bookies have now gone No Runner No Bet now so slightly less risk from here on in.

Of the top of your head Homer, who has now introduced this??
Post by: jaykay on February 27, 2008, 04:27:21 PM
Paddy Power were NRNB yesterday so I'd imagine the rest will be that way today or tomorrow.
Post by: Homer on February 27, 2008, 04:40:24 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on February 27, 2008, 04:14:29 PM
Of the top of your head Homer, who has now introduced this??

Bet365, Betfred, Betdirect, Better, Boylesports and Paddy Power according to this article http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/racing/article3441282.ece (http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/racing/article3441282.ece)
Post by: Louth Exile on February 27, 2008, 04:59:35 PM
Cheers
Post by: Homer on February 27, 2008, 05:08:47 PM
No bother. I see the bookies are sending out for more cash after the last winner in Southwell

4.50 southwell.

The Bonus Ball
A P Stringer Paul Moloney 25/1 14/1 8/1 5/1 7/2 2/1

Barney had his money down!
Post by: Louth Exile on February 27, 2008, 05:51:27 PM
He is some boy!!! He is the main reason I'm heading off to the helix now, fascinating character
Post by: Homer on February 28, 2008, 03:00:05 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on February 27, 2008, 05:51:27 PM
He is some boy!!! He is the main reason I'm heading off to the helix now, fascinating character

How'd it go LE?
Post by: Louth Exile on February 28, 2008, 03:14:11 PM
Quote from: Homer on February 28, 2008, 03:00:05 PM

How'd it go LE?

Very enjoyable, I got chatting to BC afterwards while we were both outside having a smoke, a gentleman. I have the notes at home and shouldn't even be near this board toady, as I am up to my eyeballs. Will hopefully have a chance to post some of the different views this evening.
Post by: Mickey Linden on February 29, 2008, 09:39:27 AM
Quote from: Louth Exile on February 28, 2008, 03:14:11 PM
Quote from: Homer on February 28, 2008, 03:00:05 PM

How'd it go LE?

Very enjoyable, I got chatting to BC afterwards while we were both outside having a smoke, a gentleman. I have the notes at home and shouldn't even be near this board toady, as I am up to my eyeballs. Will hopefully have a chance to post some of the different views this evening.

Any update Louth Exile? I would be interested to hear what was said at these preview nights. Thinking of going to one in Belfast myself
Post by: Louth Exile on February 29, 2008, 09:49:53 AM
Direct Aid For Africa Cheltenham preview night at the Helix:

Panel:
> Barney Curley - Racing legend
> Mick Fitzgerald - Leading UK based jockey
> John Carr - Trainer of Champion Hurdler Sublimity
> Nina Carberry - Leading Irish amateur jockey
> Andrew McNamara - Jockey of Sizing Europe
> Don McClean - Journalist Sunday Times / TV Pundit
> Noel O Brien - The Irish Handicapper
> Turlogh Lally - Bookmaker with Victor Chandler
> Tony Mullins - Trainer

For what is worth, my notes from it were as follows:

Supreme Novices Hurdle:
Don Mc Clean - Go for a five or six year old and he believes it will be an english winner
Take note of Mick Fitzs mount, will have a very good chance!
Cork All Star was a negative with the panel
Noel O'Brien - Muirhead
Barney - Deep Purple e/w "he is as tough as boots"

Arkle:
A very poor race this year
Tony Mullins - Noland (Banker) most of the rest of the panel thought he was terrible value!
Mick & Barney - Tidal Bay
Andy Mac - Scotsirish e/w

Champion Hurdle:
Mick Fitz - "when sublimity passed me in the race last year, he went by me like I was standing in a lay by and he was pulling double"
John Carr - "his preparation is on a par to where he was this time last year, it hasn't been a perfect run in, but neither was last year"
Don McClean - ebaziyan e/w @ 33/1

Ballymore Novices Hurdle:
Mick & Barney: Aigle D'Or "he kicked the last out of the ground at cheltenham and still battled up the hill to win by 4" Mick
Noel & Nina: Trafford Lad
Don: Venalmar big e/w chance

RSA Novice Chase:
Widespread feeling that this was not a race to have a bet in!! one to go to bar for!!
Mick Bismarked Air Force One, said that oscar park had a decent e/w chance
Tony said that pomme tiepy is unlikely to run

Champion Chase:
Andy Mac: "no chance of an irish winner" he wouldn't back newmill with your money! not the horse he was
Tony, Mick, Andrew, Noel & Barney all went for Voy Pur Ustedes!! (for what is worth so do I)
He is generally 7/2 with only ladbrokes currently going 4/1 if you are having a bet now with no runner no bet(not sure if they are offering NRNB though). Although Barney thought that he would be bigger on the day I think I'm going to take the 4's with Ladbrokes now.

Bumper:
Tony - got the feeling that Willie wasn't as confident as previous years
Nina - a short list! cousin vinny, zaarito, corkskeagh royale
Andrew - cousin vinny
Barney - Apt approach

Ryanair Chase:
Mossbank - Mick, Nina & Noel, Andrew said he will love good ground, although Noel believed he thinks he is a 3 mile horse?
Listener - has to have it soft
L'Antartique - Don's banker, he is twice course and distance winner, including the Paddy Power chase, which is a great guide to this race!

World Hurdle:
Another one to go to bar for!! Inglis Drever is a stone a better horse than any of them, but with 16 horses with viruses in the yard and an odds on price not one to be backing.
Barney - Wichita lineman!
Don - trends are against 9 year olds
This was a race where the panel had a lot more negatives to say about horses than positives! Personally I believe its one to try and pick an e/w shot at a big price

Gold Cup:
What can you say, its a match race with a fairly even divide of those going for Kauto & Denman
If you are having a bet see if you can find a market betting without the two favourites.

Bankers:
Nina - Jered in the County Hurdle
(she also fancies WonderKid in Cross Country, he is currently a very short best price of 7/2!!)
Andrew - Sweet Kiln in the Mares Hurdle
Mick - Aigle D'Or in the Ballymore Properties
Don - Lantartique in the Ryanair Chase
Barney - Apt Approach in the Bumper
Tony - Noland in the Arkle

Also note that Tony Martin's horse Psycho is thrown in at the weights for one of the handicap hurdles, set to carry less than 10 stone!

I am paraphrasing here and as you can see as the night went on they coverage of each day became more sparse, but hopefully there is some food for thought in their.

Was outside afterwards having a smoke when Barney landed out and Mick after him. Had a great chat with him, a gentleman. Was asking him about his earlier win at southwell and did the exchanges help him to now get a bet on? A bit, although the vast majority was with a bookies (he got on at 16) as he said there will be a number of accounts in different names closed down by bookies this morning.
Post by: bennydorano on February 29, 2008, 12:05:23 PM
Yer man Don McClean is normally fairly good. Napped Thyne and Again on sunday past - won at 11/4

The only real bet I have at the minute is Millenium Royal Ew in the World Hurdle, got him at 25's, was into 20's last time I noticed.  I just happened to notice him running very well in his last race (think it was Chelts too) and he was pulling the head of him, finished well down the field.  Looked a bit suspect to me - keeping the powder dry(hopefully).
Post by: Homer on February 29, 2008, 02:48:59 PM
Cheers for the write-up Louth Exile.

Quote from: bennydorano on February 29, 2008, 12:05:23 PM
Yer man Don McClean is normally fairly good.

And fair play to him fitting in the music career with everything else. I dunno how he finds the time.
Post by: Mickey Linden on February 29, 2008, 03:09:52 PM
Thatns for the feedback Loth Exile! Only problem with these things is that I often end up more confused than I already am. Not long til the festival now. Looking forward to it big time but reckon it will be very hard to make money!
Post by: maddog on February 29, 2008, 03:10:39 PM
Louth Exile,
is that one for the county hurdle Jered ?
Post by: Homer on February 29, 2008, 03:33:23 PM
Heres another write-up from more of an English point of view. If ye haven't got sick of reading about Cheltenham yet (I haven't).

EXETER RACECOURSE PREVIEW EVENING
Tuesday, February 27th

A heavyweight panel of trainers comprised of Paul Nicholls (PN:), David Pipe (DP:), Philip Hobbs' assistant Johnson White (JW:) and the Racing Post's West Country correspondent Andrew King (AK:) with Alice Plunkett acting as the M.C.

A different format from the scores of preview evenings I've attended down the years (a brief discussion of the Grade 1 races before the break and a Q & A session in part 2) and also the shortest preview night I've ever attended as they rattled through each race in triple-quick time which, being a panel of trainers in the main is not surprising as they basically just talked about their own horses (mention of just one Irish horse all night) which is why some of the quotes are quite short.

SUPREME NOVICES' HURDLE

They actually missed out this race until the Q & A session from the audience got a response. Alice was half an hour late and rather flustered!

PN: We run Rippling Ring and he did a very smart piece of work with Celestial Halo yesterday and Ruby Walsh will ride him. He won very nicely at Doncaster on his only start over hurdles and had the class to be third in the South African Derby on the Flat. He has got to overcome inexperience but we think plenty of him.

DP: (no mention of anything as wasn't asked a direct question and he wasn't exactly champing at the bit to reveal all so watch out for his entries!!!!!!!!)

JW: We don't have any strong fancies for the Festival this year but we run Snap Tie and he is one of many at the meeting we think can go well at big odds.

ARKLE TROPHY

PN: Noland had a few problems after his chase debut win and was sick for a fortnight. We needed to get another run into him for experience which we did at Sandown where he jumped brilliantly and he will improve enormously for that run. I think it's an open Arkle but Ruby said he wasn't impressed with Tidal Bay 's jumping when he rode him at Doncaster and I'm convinced he needs further. Ring The Boss is a horse I would look at of the bigger priced horses.

DP: We don't have anything for the race and Noland will take all the beating.

JW: We couldn't have been more delighted with Ring The Boss' chase debut when second in the Kingmaker. He did an amazing piece of work yesterday with our fastest three-year-old and has a great each-way chance.

AK: It's not the greatest of races. Noland has all the right credentials and looks a solid 3/1 favourite.

CHAMPION HURDLE

PN: We have nothing this year. If Sublimity was fit and well I would go for him but the rumours are that this is not the case. Therefore I think it's between Sizing Europe and Osana. If I trained Harchibald I would put a pair of blinkers on him.

DP: We decided to miss the Kingwell with Osana as we felt it was just a little too close to the Festival. He received weight and we got a head start in the boylesports but Katchit came to us at the last flight and we went right away from him again. We were very impressed by Sizing Europe at Leopardstown but they didn't go that quick and we know we can jump fast and fluent at Champion Hurdle pace. We handle the track and we know we go very well at two-mile speed. (the impression given was that he felt that may not be the case for Sizing Europe and they would look to try and exploit it).

JW: I think Katchit can go very well off a very strong pace and can come late and go very close.

AK: This seems to hinge around the Greatwood Hurdle form. Sublimity won well on decent ground last year but I think it will be softer this year as they are already watering and will continue to do so if it doesn't rain. If it is not soft then Sublimity comes right back into it but I don't think Katchit is good enough. Sizing Europe would be my pick but 2/1 is very short.

WILLIAM HILL TROPHY

PN: We will run Ofarel D'Airy and Le Volfoni and if Mister Pointment misses Doncaster this weekend due to fast ground, it is likely he will also run and he'll go well wherever he runs.

DP: An Accordion is very talented. He is still a big baby and lightly raced so has lots of potential. The blinkers helped him concentrate with his jumping when he won at Doncaster last time out and we purposely missed the Racing Post Chase for this. Over the Creek probably wouldn't be quick enough and if he goes anywhere it will probably be the 4m National Hunt Chase. Abragante disappointed on his last two starts but he is showing signs of coming back to his old self at home.

JW: Monkerhostin would be the best hope of our entries. He is also in the Gold Cup but we will probably give Paul Nicholls a chance and run him here instead! We are also likely to run Boychuk who is a real satyer than would prefer decent ground.

CROSS COUNTRY HANDICAP CHASE

PN: We plan to run Royal Auclair who may run again before the Festival and Le Duc but this will go to the Irish, most likely a J P McManus-owned horse.

FRED WINTER JUVENILE NOVICES' HANDICAP HURDLE

PN: We may run Pierre Lunaire here as he wouldn't be good enough for the Triumph Hurdle.

DP: We have six horses in mind for the Imperial Cup-Festival race bonus (not necessarily the Fred Winter although Gaspara completed the double for the stable in this race last year – when pressed which he was unsurprisingly rather shy!)

BALLYMORE PROPERTIES NOVICES' HURDLE

PN: Breedsbreeze is our number one hope and Ruby is very sweet on him (he was short and sweet!)

DP: We have no runners for this race.

JW: We'll probably run County Zen who was third in the totesport Trophy last time out and Pigeon Island has franked that form. He's a tough horse that worked well yesterday and looks very good each-way value at a big price.

AK: Group Captain's win at this course last time out was very impressive over a trip probably short of his best when beating a Henderson horse that the yard think a lot of so I think he has a massive chance.

ROYAL & SUNALLIANCE CHASE

PN: We run Silverburn and Ornais. The handicapper has given Ornais 156 for his last win and has Silverburn on 142 but we know Silverhand is in a different class to Ornais. He looks as well as we've ever had him and has a great chance, in fact, I think he is one of our best chances of the whole meeting.

DP: Speaking to Denis O'Regan last week I think there is a good chance they might step Tidal Bay up in trip and run him here but Howard Johnson's horses are not going well right now.

JW: I'm not sure we'll have anything this year as Gold Medallist is more likely to go for the Jewson and Pancake will only run if we get soft ground.

AK: I really like Albertas Run who looks just the ideal sort for this race as he had a touch of class over hurdles, stays very well and his last run was very impressive.

QUEEN MOTHER CHAMPION CHASE

PN: Don't read anything into jockey bookings as it will be up to me and I would say it is very likely Ruby will ride Master Minded and Sam will ride Twist Magic as they are the horses they have won on this season at Newbury and Sandown so it makes sense it stays that way. I worked both of them together yesterday over 5f and they both went brilliantly. Master Minded has really impressed me with his improvement but I admit his jumping is a concern. As for Twist Magic, forget his Ascot run on that ground plus that is more of a stayers track than Cheltenham , and he'll love Cheltenham . Fair play to Tamarinbleu for winning at Ascot on soft ground but I think it will be a different ball game on decent ground.

DP: We haven't decided whether Tamarinbleu runs here or the Ryanair and won't until much nearer the day when we know the likely conditions plus what is turning up for each race as you can get late non-runners. I know Paul thinks Ascot was too soft for Twist Magic but I also think it was softer than Tamarinbleu appreciates. He's still filling out so is still improving and has been a revelation since blinkers were fitted.

JW: We run Fair Along for whom nothing went right when he was Arkle favourite last year. He wants all of two miles but gets no further and we think he has an each-way chance at a decent price.

AK: I think Voy Por Ustedes has an impossible task and now wants 2m4f if not even 3m. On decent ground I would go for Twist Magic and on softish ground it would have to be Master Minded.

NATIONAL HUNT CHASE

DP: (In the Q & A session I asked if Over the Creek goes here for a handicap or the SunAlliance) If Over The Creek goes anywhere it will be here. (he then looked me dead in the eye and said) And he would have a very, very, good chance.

WEATHERBYS CHAMPION BUMPER

PN: The Irish will win it!

DP: We're not sure Big Eared Fran goes here yet (there have been rumours he has had problems).

JW: Keki Buku would probably be our best chance of a winner at this year's Festival. He has not run since easily winning at Uttoxeter in October beating Henrietta Knight's good novice Calgary Bay .

WORLD HURDLE

PN: We have nothing in the race but Howard Johnson's string are not right at the moment which would be a concern for Inglis Drever. I saw My Way De Solzen in the paddock on Sunday at Fontwell and thought he looked big and well so wouldn't be at all surprised if he ran a big race.

DP: Lough Derg is an absolute superstar and even after a very hard race winning on Sunday he was kicking and bucking and as a fresh as a daisy the next day. The World Hurdle is a different story and although he should run a sound race, he has it to do. I was impressed with Kasbah Bliss at Haydock and A P being back on Wichita Lineman will help his chances.

JW: We have nothing – it has to be Inglis Drever

AK: I am not sure anything can beat Inglis Drever apart from himself, I'm sure he's a monkey. I'm sure Wichita Lineman has purely been trained for his race and I hear rumours they may put headgear on him for the first time. I couldn't rule out Lough Derg as he is game as the day is long. Wichita Lineman each-way for me.

RYANAIR CHASE

Again, this race was missed out until the Q & A session was there were limited quotes

PN: I don't think it actually looks that competitive which is why David should run Tamarinbleu here and not the Champion Chase! We run Turko who drops back in trip from 3m from when second in the Irish Hennessy and we think that will suit him.

DP: Our Vic has a favourite's chance but I do think 2m5f is a bit sharp for him around Cheltenham . Ideally 3m is his trip around here.

AK: Our Vic is the one to beat

RACING POST PLATE

PN: Gwanako would be our main hope. He had a nice run round the other day on his first look at British fences. (the impression was left there was plenty of improvement to come)

TRIUMPH HURDLE

PN: Celestial Halo would be our main hope but Franchoek will be very hard to pass. We probably left him a bit underdone when beaten by Sentry Duty who is also probably very decent himself and he worked nicely with Rippling Ring yesterday. Five Dream would prefer it soft. I think Askkazar wants further.

DP: Ashkazar was very impressive for us at Wincanton on his hurdling debut but the ground was too soft at Chepstow next time and he did it nicely at Sandown afterwards. He will be a lovely horse for the future and he is very well built for a 4yo with a real engine. Wherever he goes he will run well (suggesting the Supreme with an age allowance or the Fred Winter could yet be an option).

JW: We have two possibles but Hibiki will have to win well at Ludlow to take his chance and it is more likely than not that The Grey Berry will bypass Cheltenham .

AK: Franchoeck keeps improving, has got the form in the book, does not stop in front and has Cheltenham form so has everything you look for in a Triumph Hurdle horse.

GOLD CUP

PN: Both Kauto Star and Denman are outstanding horses. Kauto Star has not missed any work since his scare after Ascot and will be very, very hard to beat but Denman worked well this morning and has done nothing wrong. Neptune Collonges put up his career best effort at Wincanton last time and Star De Mohaison could also run if Exotic Dancer doesn't show up as his owner would be keen to have a runner.

DP: I'd be a Kauto Star man. He's won a Tingle Creek and Gold Cup and I would only switch to Denman if it came up bottomless.

JW: Kauto Star.

AK: On paper it is a match but Kauto Star is just unbelievable as he gallops, stays and has speed. I would prefer Kauto Star to Denman if it is not soft ground. I think Neptune Collonges is a flat track horse so the each-way value lies with Halcon Genelardais at 40/1 especially if it is softish ground.

FOXHUNTERS'

PN: We will run two, Thisthatandtother and Lou Dun Moulin Mas. Thisthatandtother was beaten at odds of 1/8 last time out but he returned home with loads of problems and was lame. The big doubt is whether he will stay as he has never won beyond 2m5f and it is touch and go whether he will run.

GRAND ANNUAL

PN: Andreas will almost certainly try and win this race for a second year running rather than take up his Champion Chase entry.

DAVID NICHOLSON MARES ONLY HURDLE

DP: We run Gaspara who won at the Festival last year and all is going well with her preparation.
Post by: Louth Exile on February 29, 2008, 04:40:34 PM
Quote from: maddog on February 29, 2008, 03:10:39 PM
Louth Exile,
is that one for the county hurdle Jered ?

:D You must be right, I have corrected now, was thinking at the time, never heard of that horse and I never checked the lineup.
Its Ninas auld Meath accent, sure I wouldn't be used to it

Quote from: Mickey Linden on February 29, 2008, 03:09:52 PM
Thatns for the feedback Loth Exile! Only problem with these things is that I often end up more confused than I already am. Not long til the festival now. Looking forward to it big time but reckon it will be very hard to make money!

I took a few out of it, and I think that is as many as you are going to get, it was very helpfull for advising what races to avoid though!

Quote from: Homer on February 29, 2008, 02:48:59 PM
Cheers for the write-up Louth Exile.

No bother Homer, it is looking like there are going to be a few of us in Cavan town on Gold Cup afternoon, would you be able to offer a recommendation for a suitable venue to watch the clash of the titans?? The type of place that has good stout, a few in who would appreciate whats going on and a bookies near by (I don't ask for much, do I!)
Post by: Homer on February 29, 2008, 05:52:26 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on February 29, 2008, 04:40:34 PM
No bother Homer, it is looking like there are going to be a few of us in Cavan town on Gold Cup afternoon, would you be able to offer a recommendation for a suitable venue to watch the clash of the titans?? The type of place that has good stout, a few in who would appreciate whats going on and a bookies near by (I don't ask for much, do I!)

I suppose either the Cruiscin Lan or The Imperial would be your best bet (pardon the pun).

The Imperial is probably the nicer of the two and has a Ladbrokes next door whereas the Cruiscin offers a Boylesports and a Paddy's on either side.

They're only a minute's walk apart so you won't be too pushed if you decide to say head from The Imperial down to Paddys instead.
Post by: Louth Exile on February 29, 2008, 06:01:38 PM
Great stuff, thanks Homer
Post by: Louth Exile on February 29, 2008, 10:37:39 PM
Harchibald did nothing wrong in Dundalk tonight. Boylesports must have been impressed/are taking no chances, moved him in to 11/2
Some 8/1 out there, wonder will there be much of it there in the morning.

Watched it in Ladbrokes, they have a lot of good prices, but still have not gone no runner no bet. As someone who doesn't like to ante post bet I am torn between having a punt now at what look good prices  or waiting to see if they go NRNB, but shave the prices to compensate!  :-\ Any advice??

Bets I am considering are
Scotsirish @ 25/1 e/w (€5 e/w with PP @ 20/1 - NRNB - Arkle)
Harchibald @ 8/1 e/w (€10 e/w with VC @ 6/1 - NRNB - Champion Hurdle)
Aigle D'Or @ 5/1 (€30 with Boyles - NRNB - Ballymore Novice Hurdle)
Voy Pur Ustedes @ 4/1 (€50 win with PP @ 7/2 - NRNB - Champion Chase)
Lantartique @ 8/1 (€20 e/w with VC - NRNB - Ryanair Chase)
Maralan @ 14/1
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 29, 2008, 10:38:37 PM
I see Kauto is only joint favourite at 11/10 with Corals now. Is there any lingering doubt about the injury? Wouldn't be as big into the horses as yourselves lads but been following Kauto and Denman this year and was gonna have a punt on Kauto for interests sake.
Post by: maddog on March 01, 2008, 09:54:16 AM
Ive gone for aul EW ante post canadian for the craic

Jered - County Hurdle 14/1
Corkskeagh royale - Bumper 10/1
Deep purple - Supreme novices 14/1
L'antartique - Ryanair 8/1
Leslingtaylor - Arkle 12/1

They will probably all be bigger prices on the day. ::)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 03, 2008, 05:04:32 PM
Adding Fiveforthree in the Supreme Novice Hurdle at 10's
Post by: Doogie Browser on March 03, 2008, 05:28:22 PM
Have heard good reports about Cousin Vinny for the Champion Hurdle into 12's now, would still be a good each way option.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 03, 2008, 07:43:35 PM
There's a horse entered for the Champion Hurdle that has beat Sizing Europe 3 times before! Could be good each way value.
Post by: doire na raithe on March 03, 2008, 08:05:46 PM
Whats the name of the horse our nail? Any bets come through on the sig for ya?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 03, 2008, 08:48:41 PM
The horse is De Valira.

http://horses.sportinglife.com/Horse_Profile/0,12491,249015,00.html

Is around 25/1 (same price as Sublimity last year!)

Aye I backed the first fifty for Queens, though lost my first point scorer bet. Also had backed QUB to win the whole competition outright, but still have a saver on Cork IT at 25s from before the tournament.
Post by: doire na raithe on March 03, 2008, 09:32:59 PM
what sort of bookie takes odds on the first fifty? the same bookies that would take odds on you pissin ursel?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 03, 2008, 09:45:00 PM
QuoteThe horse is De Valira.

http://horses.sportinglife.com/Horse_Profile/0,12491,249015,00.html

Is around 25/1 (same price as Sublimity last year!)

40s with Corals
Post by: boshiba on March 04, 2008, 09:27:19 AM
Any of yas at the Europa last night lads?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 04, 2008, 12:45:56 PM
Quotewhat sort of bookie takes odds on the first fifty?

Independent bookies from Saval called McCarthy's. Worst bookies in ireland though it does give some range of betting.
Post by: Louth Exile on March 05, 2008, 11:23:41 AM
Ladbrokes & VC are now also No runner No Bet.

I missed the boat on the 8/1 on Harchibald  :'( Of the bookies I have accounts with or have an office near me the best I can get is 6/1, he is 7's with Bet 365 and Coral.

Post by: Mickey Linden on March 05, 2008, 11:53:18 AM
Im really looking forward to this years festival. I have done the following bets so far -
Sublimity 5/1
Inglis Drever 5/4
Kauto 11/8
Francheok 3/1
£5 Yankee

Voy Por ustedes 4/1
Harchibald 8/1
Dont Push It 6/1
Lillywhitedancer 7/1
£1 e/w Yankee

I have also stuck a tenner on Tom Scudamore to be top jockey @25/1.
Im hopeful that ill have a few winners before Gold Cup day when ill be going out all day
Post by: Hoof Hearted on March 05, 2008, 01:48:33 PM
not much of a clue about horse racing betting but i have been asked to do a £10 reverse forecast for someone this evening who cant make the bookies and i havent a clue what it means . There are only 4 horses in the race
Post by: Hardy on March 05, 2008, 02:24:48 PM
Conor Clarkson, Kicking King's owner is being interviewed on Attheraces - they are scratching KK from the Gold Cup. While he worked "well" this morning, his work wasn't of the standard  required to be competitive in the Gold Cup. He'll have a rest and go to Punchestown if he returns to form.
Post by: cavan4ever on March 05, 2008, 03:41:53 PM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on March 05, 2008, 11:53:18 AM
Im really looking forward to this years festival. I have done the following bets so far -
Sublimity 5/1
Inglis Drever 5/4
Kauto 11/8
Francheok 3/1
£5 Yankee

Voy Por ustedes 4/1
Harchibald 8/1
Dont Push It 6/1
Lillywhitedancer 7/1
£1 e/w Yankee

I have also stuck a tenner on Tom Scudamore to be top jockey @25/1.
Im hopeful that ill have a few winners before Gold Cup day when ill be going out all day

What sort of bucks would the £5 yankee pay out?
Post by: Louth Exile on March 05, 2008, 03:46:26 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 05, 2008, 02:24:48 PM
Conor Clarkson, Kicking King's owner is being interviewed on Attheraces - they are scratching KK from the Gold Cup. While he worked "well" this morning, his work wasn't of the standard  required to be competitive in the Gold Cup. He'll have a rest and go to Punchestown if he returns to form.

Sounds like the wise move
Post by: Louth Exile on March 05, 2008, 04:13:33 PM
Came across this today, always like listening to or reading Alastair Down, worth having a look at

http://video.abelsoninfo.com/victorchandler/pl.html?video=videoschelt08

Another few links that are handy to have for the coming week

http://www.attheraces.com/cheltenham/

http://www.oddschecker.com/horse-racing/ante-post-racing/cheltenham-festival
Title: Re: Scéal
Post by: Louth Exile on March 07, 2008, 10:08:47 AM
Quote from: drici on March 07, 2008, 09:50:10 AM
Anton McCoy is back from the marra.

Ruby will be on De Valira.

I was wondering why his price plumetted!! Now into 16's and was out at 40's and 50's after Christmas. The fact that he plummed for De Valira isn't exactly an endorsement of Ebaziyan.

He also has gone for Masterminded in the Champion chase, it is in to 5/2, but Voy Pur Ustedes is also in to 11/4 :)
Post by: Hardy on March 07, 2008, 10:54:06 AM
I'm not advocating it as a policy and certainly not saying you should do it blindly, but you can make money laying the Ruby effect. His presence in the saddle often affects the price, presumably because of the "back Ruby whatever" brigade. E.g. Rosy Cyborg 2/7 yesterday.
Post by: maddog on March 07, 2008, 11:38:10 AM
Does anyone give Hardy Eustace a chance in the world hurdle? He'll get decent ground and should get 3 miles. It would be some achievement to win it after his 2 champion hurdle wins
Post by: Louth Exile on March 07, 2008, 12:07:59 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 07, 2008, 10:54:06 AM
I'm not advocating it as a policy and certainly not saying you should do it blindly, but you can make money laying the Ruby effect. His presence in the saddle often affects the price, presumably because of the "back Ruby whatever" brigade. E.g. Rosy Cyborg 2/7 yesterday.

I was always a bit critical of the blind backing of Mc Coy (apart from the day he had five winners at Ascot  ;D) but IMHO Ruby is the best there is going and have been a touch guilty of backing because Ruby is on board myself!

Quote from: maddog on March 07, 2008, 11:38:10 AM
Does anyone give Hardy Eustace a chance in the world hurdle? He'll get decent ground and should get 3 miles. It would be some achievement to win it after his 2 champion hurdle wins

I think personally that he is not guaranteed to get the trip, he will get his ground and loves the track, but the other big negative (if you are a stats man) is his age. He might just be too old. A great old servant and it would be great if he could do it, but I personally can't see it
Post by: maddog on March 07, 2008, 12:13:30 PM
re :the ground

Weather forecast for south west isnt good for the next 5 days. It could turn saft
Post by: Hardy on March 07, 2008, 12:14:09 PM
I agree that Ruby is the best, LE. I also agree about my near namesake. He's a bit of an unknown at the trip and Inglis Drever is unopposable in my opinion. But everything else is in Hardy's favour and I'm tempted to place him. 3.75 on Betfair (but the market is suspended at present - don't know why).
Post by: Homer on March 07, 2008, 12:23:27 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 07, 2008, 12:14:09 PM
I agree that Ruby is the best, LE. I also agree about my near namesake. He's a bit of an unknown at the trip and Inglis Drever is unopposable in my opinion. But everything else is in Hardy's favour and I'm tempted to place him. 3.75 on Betfair (but the market is suspended at present - don't know why).

Fair few firms suspending it now too, looks suspicious.
Post by: bombidal on March 07, 2008, 01:29:20 PM

Hardy is a shocking price, hardly staying on this season. Just too old. Im heading over myself for the week. Wish me luck.
Post by: Homer on March 07, 2008, 02:10:50 PM
Quote from: Homer on March 07, 2008, 12:23:27 PM

Fair few firms suspending it now too, looks suspicious.

Looks like this is just down to the 5 day declarations and nothing to worry about.

Right lads, Kicking King can't do it, Denman might, but can you Stop Kauto? (http://www.stopkauto.com)
Post by: blasmere on March 08, 2008, 07:53:35 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/other_sports/horse_racing/7178966.stm

Would anyone know if this horse, Afistfullofdollars, would be worth an e-w bet in the Gold Cup?

Form seems ok, I'm sure he's a long way short of Kauto Star and Denman but at 50/1 with a few bookies it's a good price, but is this reflective of his true status? I just thought with the horse being supplemented, connections must have some sort of confidence.
Post by: Mac hinery on March 08, 2008, 09:38:05 PM
drici, what's the story on De Valira?
Post by: Louth Exile on March 08, 2008, 09:49:17 PM

Last Thursday in Thurles would have been a good day to blindly follow Ruby, even if fancied runners got turned over (and he really likes Candy girl, evens fav, 2nd in the 1st race) he still rode three winners, if you had done a €10 win bet on Ruby in every race you would have finished up with a €70 profit at the end of racing (might even have been more, I doubt if he had a mount in every single race).

Those who know a lot more than I say that Inglis Drever is a good stone a better horse than anything else in the race. There is no doubt he is the best horse in the race by some way, but I couldn't back a horse coming from a stable with as many runny noses as that!! He wanted to bring a few of them for a race course gallop during the week and other trainers objected! I have to admit the 11/1 about Hardy with VC is a bit tempting for a small e/1 bet, Sonnyanjoe owes me nothing so I am also tempted to have a small place bet on him with tote.

The Star on Sunday is doing their now annual preview DVD, it is a bit of a hit and miss job, but sure I'll buy it anyway! Hope Gearoid Moynihan is not doing it this year with PP himself!! They are just gas (not). Watched the TV3 preview last night, it was very well done and far better than any RTE preview programme I ever remember, which surprised me a bit. Having seen Donn Mc Clean at a preview night, listened to him for an hour the newstalk preview during the week and watched him on the TV3 preview last night, I could tell you exactly what he is going to say.

Moss bank is definitely going for the Ryanair and not the Gold cup, which make the 2.5 mile race a very hot contest and lessens the chances for Lantartique.
Post by: gaa.boy on March 09, 2008, 12:00:29 PM
Does anyone know when we will get confirmation for which race forpaddydeplasterer will be entered?
Post by: Hardy on March 09, 2008, 02:10:24 PM
Louth Exile - that's the glory of Cheltenham - runny noses, rumours, horses flyin in training, nursing your own favourite hunch. And then losing a packet to the bookies!

On Ruby - I know it's unacceptable to crow about winning after the event, but I'm going to indulge myself, so sorry about this: I laid both Candy Girl and Rosy Cyborg  on Thursday, on the basis of their prices being due to the Ruby effect and [Edit - it contributed to] my biggest score of the year to date. The thing is, you're right too. You would have won money on Thursday had you either backed or laid to the same level at SP (if you could) everything Ruby rode.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 09, 2008, 06:35:53 PM
QuoteHardy is a shocking price, hardly staying on this season. Just too old. Im heading over myself for the week. Wish me luck.

Backed him over 3 miles or so before Christmas there - didn't stay at all so he'd need to really have improved his staying to win I'd have thought.

FIrst Cheltenham I've really looked forward to rather than had a casual interest in. Could see myself getting more and more into the horse racing.
Post by: Mickey Linden on March 10, 2008, 10:39:40 AM
Well roll on tomorrow. Bad weather forecast for all 4 days. This could play a huge part in the results!
Post by: AZOffaly on March 10, 2008, 10:50:34 AM
Any horses we should be looking at now the ground is more likely to be good-soft, or even soft? Very unusual for the festival.
Post by: Louth Exile on March 10, 2008, 11:05:31 AM
Quote from: gaa.boy on March 09, 2008, 12:00:29 PM
Does anyone know when we will get confirmation for which race forpaddydeplasterer will be entered?

You can take it that it will be the Ballymore, if you were having a bet at this stage all the big firms are non runner no bet now anyway.

Quote from: Hardy on March 09, 2008, 02:10:24 PM
On Ruby - I know it's unacceptable to crow about winning after the event, but I'm going to indulge myself, so sorry about this: I laid both Candy Girl and Rosy Cyborg  on Thursday, on the basis of their prices being due to the Ruby effect and [Edit - it contributed to] my biggest score of the year to date. The thing is, you're right too. You would have won money on Thursday had you either backed or laid to the same level at SP (if you could) everything Ruby rode.

No harm in bragging, well done, nice to get a head start for the week

Quote from: Mickey Linden on March 10, 2008, 10:39:40 AM
Well roll on tomorrow. Bad weather forecast for all 4 days. This could play a huge part in the results!

Cheltenham braced for battering
09 Mar 2008

Officials at Cheltenham are currently experiencing the calm before the storm - literally.

The course would normally be a hive of activity this weekend on the eve of the four-day Festival anyway but with gale-force winds predicted to batter the country until Tuesday, extra precautions have had to be taken.

Clerk of the course Simon Claisse told At The Races: "There are Met Office warnings out for a gale lasting through to early on Tuesday, with wind speeds up to maybe 50 or 60 mph and possibly somewhere between half an inch and an inch of rain."

He added: "We are making sure that anything that doesn't need to be set up and might blow away gets left until Tuesday.

"With temporary structures for 15,000 people we just want to make sure those are all safe.

"I don't think it's easy for the forecasters to be precise about how much rain will fall with such a strong gale coming.

"Some of the Irish horses have precautions in place and whereas in normal years we would have only 30 or 40 horses on the Sunday we already have 100 here."

What everybody wants to know however, is what the going is likely to be.

"We are currently good on the Old Course, the cross-country has good to firm places and the New Course is good to soft, good in places," Claisse added.

"I'm told the certainty of what is coming is very high and it would be a big surprise to everybody if we had no rain between now and Tuesday."

http://www.attheraces.com/cheltenham/article.asp?hlid=488692&title=Cheltenham+braced+for+battering&lid=cheltenham+-+news&ref=Cheltenham+-+News&nav=cheltenham+-+news&sub=Cheltenham+braced+for+battering&day=Mon

Quote from: AZOffaly on March 10, 2008, 10:50:34 AM
Any horses we should be looking at now the ground is more likely to be good-soft, or even soft? Very unusual for the festival.

For the bets that I have had already I don't want to be hearing talk of soft ground  :(
Noel Meade has said that he doesn't want it soft for Harchibald and even hinted at him not running if it was very soft, although there is no drift in the price yet, I am holding off putting any more on him until tommorow
If the ground was still on the soft side on Thursday it would really bring the Listener into the Ryanair (more bad news for my bet on Lantartique)
And in the big one, it is possible that Denman could go off favourite if there was "a bit of give in the ground"

I hope those winds are strong, good drying weather as the mammy would say! Given that we missed the brunt of the overnight storm here I am hoping that the same is the case for Cheltenham
Post by: AZOffaly on March 10, 2008, 11:09:26 AM
QuoteI hope those winds are strong, good drying weather as the mammy would say! Given that we missed the brunt of the overnight storm here I am hoping that the same is the case for Cheltenham

Speak for yourself, I spent an hour at 7 o'clock this morning picking up fences, plants, swingsets, wheelbarrows and bins. It's no fun sorting recyclables all over again out in the back garden with the rain pissing down :)
Post by: AZOffaly on March 10, 2008, 11:48:57 AM
Just a thought lads, do ye know of any easy to run 'fantasy' type things for Cheltenham week, to get a bit of craic going in the office? Is there a standard type of thing for say, picking a horse in every race, or  something like that. I don't want one like 'Winningest jockey (everyone will pick Ruby) or stable.
Post by: High Catch on March 10, 2008, 11:57:49 AM
You could just give each person say £100 per day to bet with and see who ends up with the most winnings come Friday at 6pm.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 10, 2008, 12:05:24 PM
That would take work. I'd have to calculate returns etc.

How about everyone picks one horse in a race. If they pick a favourite they get 5 points for a win, 2 points for second, and 1 for third. A non-favourite would be 8 points for a win, 4 for second and 2 for third?
Post by: High Catch on March 10, 2008, 12:07:37 PM
There seems to be little reward for someone who may pick a 50/1 winner / placed compared to someone who picks a 2/1 2nd fav.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 10, 2008, 12:11:25 PM
True enough. I suppose your way would be better, but a lot of people would be confused I think, especially those that don't like betting.

We'll probably run a sweepstakes on the Gold Cup anyway, maybe I'll run a sweep on the big race every day.
Post by: Treasurer on March 10, 2008, 12:12:20 PM
how about something like the Racing Post's Stable Competition? 
Post by: AZOffaly on March 10, 2008, 12:16:38 PM
How does that work? I have the RP today, but I haven't looked at it yet. Was planning to have a gander tonight.
Post by: Treasurer on March 10, 2008, 12:20:09 PM
Look at it online  http://www.selectastable.co.uk/CleverTV/en/tmg/rp990/15730/selectteams.do (http://www.selectastable.co.uk/CleverTV/en/tmg/rp990/15730/selectteams.do)

Basically ten horses in (one each in ten of the big races), two selected as bankers, could just borrow their scoring system..
Post by: Louth Exile on March 10, 2008, 12:33:05 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 10, 2008, 12:11:25 PM
True enough. I suppose your way would be better, but a lot of people would be confused I think, especially those that don't like betting.

We'll probably run a sweepstakes on the Gold Cup anyway, maybe I'll run a sweep on the big race every day.

Gold cup is not a great one for a sweep this year with the top two so far ahead of everyone else, there are 7 of us in the office so I am going to pick the top 7 in the betting in a race each day. €5 a man, winner gets the €35 and there are no long shots  :) In the event of the winner coming from outside the top 7 the pool fund rolls over until the next day
Title: Re: LATEST GOING REPORT
Post by: Louth Exile on March 10, 2008, 12:37:03 PM
Cheltenham escapes worst of storms

Cheltenham racecourse has survived the forecast storms so far, with clerk of the course Simon Claisse expecting only a little more rain before the start of the Festival.

Strong wind and heavy rain were forecast over the weekend but Prestbury Park has avoided the worst of the weather and it´s all systems go for the four-day racing bonanza.

"It hasn´t been so bad here," said Claisse. "We had wins up to 50mph last night and they could have been 60 or 70mph so I think we got away quite lightly.

"We´ve had 10mm of rain, most of it came in the early hours of this morning. I´ve just changed the going on the Old Course which will be used on Tuesday and Wednesday to Good-Good to Soft in places, the Cross Country course remains Good and the New Course for Thursday and Friday is Good to Soft-Good in places.

"We expect to get a little more rain later today and a little more tomorrow morning."

http://www.irish-racing.com/v4news2.htm
Post by: AZOffaly on March 10, 2008, 01:31:41 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on March 10, 2008, 12:33:05 PM

Gold cup is not a great one for a sweep this year with the top two so far ahead of everyone else, there are 7 of us in the office so I am going to pick the top 7 in the betting in a race each day. €5 a man, winner gets the €35 and there are no long shots  :) In the event of the winner coming from outside the top 7 the pool fund rolls over until the next day

That sounds good.
Post by: Louth Exile on March 10, 2008, 01:42:33 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 10, 2008, 01:31:41 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on March 10, 2008, 12:33:05 PM

That sounds good.

I thought so too, I forgot I was dealing with women though!! They first of all couldn't understand the simple concept, then decided that they were going to be the next generation of JP's and want to bust the bookies with their €5 instead as "we'll make more money that way" latent greed is what I think, anyways was a nice simple idea until I remembered that I work with women  ::)
Post by: AZOffaly on March 10, 2008, 01:49:49 PM
God forbid they might spend a tenner. €5 with you and €5 breaking Paddy Power. I will face the same hurdles, no pun intended.

Just floated the idea. Lukewarm so far. How about instead of rolling over to the next day, the winner is the best placed of the horses ye picked?
Post by: Louth Exile on March 10, 2008, 01:59:35 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 10, 2008, 01:49:49 PM
God forbid they might spend a tenner. €5 with you and €5 breaking Paddy Power. I will face the same hurdles, no pun intended.

Just floated the idea. Lukewarm so far. How about instead of rolling over to the next day, the winner is the best placed of the horses ye picked?

Absolutely, why not, whichever receives the best repsonse from the ladies, definitley the way to go on the friday anyway (unless it rools over to the midlands national in uttoxeter or something like that  :D)
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 10, 2008, 02:12:28 PM
Who's everyone backing tomorrow?

Pints thinks he'll go with Deep purple in the 2.00
Kruguyrova in the 2.35
Katchit in the 3.15
Post by: Nimbus on March 10, 2008, 02:33:28 PM
Harchibald is a bit of a drifter this past few hours.

Post by: Homer on March 10, 2008, 03:03:08 PM
Quote from: Nimbus on March 10, 2008, 02:33:28 PM
Harchibald is a bit of a drifter this past few hours.

Needs good ground and won't get it.
Post by: Hardy on March 10, 2008, 07:34:06 PM
I'm poorly prepared for Cheltenham and haven't made up my mind about much, but I'm going strongly for Sublimity tomorrow, especially with  the ground going against Harchibald. You'd be worried by how lightly he's been raced, but it did him no harm last year. I'd ignore his run in December - he was nowhere near fit (Mick Fitz was saying he couldn't believe how fat he was walking around behind him at the start). He has been tuned specifically for this race. I know you could say that about every horse in it, but this team have got it spot on before and know what they're doing.

Sizing Europe is not good value based on his form. He may turn out to be super, but I don't think we know that yet and in retrospect he didn't beat an awful lot in the AIG and his other main claim to favouritism is a win in a handicap (albeit over course and distance) last November. November handicap form means nothing now and there's nothing there in my opinion to justify investing at 5/2 at best and certainly nothing on his form sheet to match the horses Sublimity left behind him in last year's race. And I don't see anything else in the race that's better than what Sublimity beat last year.
Post by: Louth Exile on March 10, 2008, 09:52:42 PM
The ground will probably inconvenience harchibald more, but sublimity likes good ground too! Fitz also came out with a great one about him at the preview night that I was (referring to last years race) "He went by me like we were standing in a lay by and Carberry pulling double"

I agree that sizing europe is no price, was listening to them on the radio on the way home and thought to myself that horse should be about 4's and would have considered him at that, but 9/4 or 5/2 is crazy stuff. I wouldn't say he beat nothing in the AIG though!! Conor O'Dwyer said that he went as fast as he ever went on Hardy that day and Donn Mc Clean keeps banging on about the time of the race compared to the maiden hurdle and the bumper that day. It is good form in my book, my concern about him is that is the only real top class form he has. To use that old racing phrase, he could be anything! And maybe by this time tommow he will be, but at that price I would have no interest in punting on him.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 10, 2008, 09:55:42 PM
Doing an e/w double on Captain Ceebee and Subliminity.

I think I got this @ 40/1 - and shure why not?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 10, 2008, 11:00:39 PM
Heard harchibald's trainer last weekend basically counting him out if the ground was soft so don't think its too wise to go against the trainer.  Not sure whether to go for Sizing Europe or Sublimity but the general opinion seems to be that Sizing Europe is poor value. 5/1 is a decent price for the defending champ.
Post by: Hardy on March 11, 2008, 09:36:35 AM
I did much the same meself.
Post by: Mickey Linden on March 11, 2008, 09:48:38 AM
Someone in work after telling me all is not well with Sizing Europe and could be pulled out. Not sure how true these rumours are tho he showed me a few text messages from mates who are over there. Anyone else here anything of this?
Post by: Nimbus on March 11, 2008, 10:33:54 AM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on March 11, 2008, 09:48:38 AM
Someone in work after telling me all is not well with Sizing Europe and could be pulled out. Not sure how true these rumours are tho he showed me a few text messages from mates who are over there. Anyone else here anything of this?

His price has drifted a small bit but nothing major.

There has been money for Harchibald this past hour, especially with Hills who have cut him from 8's to 13/2.
Post by: Hardy on March 11, 2008, 10:37:08 AM
Mick Fitzgerald on criticism of Paul Carberry's riding of Harchibald: "He's a jockey, not a bloody psychiatrist".
Post by: Brick Tamlin on March 11, 2008, 10:54:42 AM
My choices for today for what its worth, and i wouldnt know a horse from a Donkey

£5 Banker Choice -

3:15 Osana

Lucky 15 Choice
2:00 Captain Cee Bee
2:35 Noland
3:15 Katchit
4:40 Wonderkid
Post by: Doogie Browser on March 11, 2008, 11:00:57 AM
My Lucky 15:
2.00 - Muirhead
2.35 - Tidal Bay
3.15 - Catch Me
4.00 - King Harald

Pinsticker choices really
Post by: Bud Wiser on March 11, 2008, 11:34:23 AM
An Accordian in the Bill Hill at 6/1 is my bet for the day. Hard to bet against Ruby and Carberry But that is the news so far anyway.
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 11, 2008, 11:59:50 AM
What's wrong with King harald?

Ive backed him.
Post by: illdecide on March 11, 2008, 12:01:45 PM
Lads is there any way of watching the races from the internet (in work) and if so would any of you be kind enough to send the link on or tell how i go about it...
Post by: Treasurer on March 11, 2008, 12:10:09 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on March 11, 2008, 11:59:50 AM
What's wrong with King harald?

Ive backed him.

Hamstring apparently.
Post by: ildanach on March 11, 2008, 12:20:38 PM
2.35 Noland
3.15 Sublimity
4.00 Patsy Hall
4.40 Wonderkid
5.20 River Liane

but regretting that patsy hall at the minute!
Post by: Candyman on March 11, 2008, 12:29:46 PM
Updated....

2.00   Muirhead
2.35   Noland
3.15   Osana
4.40   Wonderkid
5.20   River Liane

Post by: Homer on March 11, 2008, 12:35:35 PM
Todays picks

2.00 - Sentry Duty EW,  Numide (done AP) EW
2.35 - Noland, Thyne Again EW
3.15 - Sizing Europe (done AP) EW
4.00 - L'ami
4.40 - Wonderkid
5.20 - River Liane

Good luck all, happy punting  :)
Post by: tieroan on March 11, 2008, 12:37:46 PM
Lads, why do none of you like Sizing Europe? Have also heard that story about Patsy Hall aiming for this race from last January. There is money on him this morning big time.
Post by: Hardy on March 11, 2008, 12:41:22 PM
This is the start of it now, with mad tips flying, but I've had a call about Striking Article in the first. He's available at 66/1 to 100/1 with the regular bookies and 160 (40 to place) on Betfair. What I was told was that he's better than a 66/1 chance anyway and the connections are very positive about him. It seems he's beating good horses on the Johnson gallops. Denis O'Regan rides.

No responsibility accepted, etc.
Post by: T O Hare on March 11, 2008, 01:13:07 PM
my yankee
binocular, tidal bay, sizling europe, wonkerkid
Post by: girt_giggler on March 11, 2008, 01:18:24 PM
my lucky 31

2.00 Captain Cee Bee
2.35 Clopf
3.15 Sublimity
4.40 Wonderkid
5.20 Ashkazar
Post by: full back on March 11, 2008, 01:48:17 PM
Lucky 15

2.00 Pigeon Island
2.35 Clopf
3.15 Harchibald
4.40 Kilbeggan Blade
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 11, 2008, 01:51:29 PM
Channel 4 team getting very excited. They have about 10 presenters/course reporters.
Post by: Davitt Man on March 11, 2008, 02:13:28 PM
1400 Anglo Irish Bank Supreme Novices' Hurdle (2m 110y)
1. Captain Cee Bee (R Thornton) 17-2
2. Binocular (AP McCoy) 8-1 cf
3. Snap Tie (Richard Johnson) 20-1
22 ran

Post by: AZOffaly on March 11, 2008, 02:16:24 PM
Cee Bee came up the hill very well. Sickener for AP, but JP will be delighted I'd say. 1-2 for him.
Post by: girt_giggler on March 11, 2008, 02:22:08 PM
great start for me.  ;D had it in my lucky 31 & had 10 e/w at 12/1! money came for it very late
Post by: amigo on March 11, 2008, 02:24:26 PM
NIce start to Brick Tamlins lucky 15 and girt gigglers lucky 31!!!!
Post by: AZOffaly on March 11, 2008, 02:26:12 PM
Had Snap Tie e/w at 16s.
Post by: T O Hare on March 11, 2008, 02:43:46 PM
had five each way on binocular and tidal so far.. good start for me.. red hand napped it in irish news..
sizing europe... how much is the question?????
Post by: Davitt Man on March 11, 2008, 02:44:25 PM
1435 Irish Independent Arkle Challenge Trophy Chase (2m)
1. Tidal Bay (Denis O'Regan) 6-1
2. Kruguyrova (AP McCoy) 9-1
3. Noland 7\4f
14 ran

Post by: Candyman on March 11, 2008, 02:45:28 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on March 11, 2008, 01:13:07 PM
my yankee
binocular, tidal bay, sizling europe, wonkerkid
not far off the mark so far...
Post by: spiritof91and94 on March 11, 2008, 02:53:42 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on March 11, 2008, 02:43:46 PM
had five each way on binocular and tidal so far.. good start for me.. red hand napped it in irish news..

Each way double?
Post by: Apple Top on March 11, 2008, 02:53:53 PM
In paddy power whad is difference between taking a price and saying SP?
Post by: girt_giggler on March 11, 2008, 02:54:44 PM

i say none
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 11, 2008, 02:56:56 PM
Quote from: Apple Top on March 11, 2008, 02:53:53 PM

With SP you take the odds that are available when the race starts so it can go up or down.
Post by: girt_giggler on March 11, 2008, 02:57:09 PM
Quote from: Apple Top on March 11, 2008, 02:53:53 PM

taking the price is when u go to make a bet u take the price currently shown.
SP = starting price i.e. the price which the horse will be should it win.

Post by: pintsofguinness on March 11, 2008, 03:00:59 PM
RTE coverage is pure shit!
Would they f**king go back to the track rather then showing some oul interviews!

They went to a commercial break before the last race and missed the start - what a pack of stupid bollocks!
Title: Re: Non Runner
Post by: The Claw on March 11, 2008, 03:12:31 PM
Quote from: drici on March 11, 2008, 03:06:40 PM
Cheltenham 5-20

Callisto Moon
??? Non runner?!
Post by: Louth Exile on March 11, 2008, 03:16:03 PM
racing uk is your only man pints  ;) No adverts at all on the internet, good coverage the whole day through here in the office.

I can't believe how big Sublimity is, I think 7/1 is a big price. Harchibalds owners talking to racing uk are very despondent about the ground  :( Hopefully he can overcome, come on Paul

Post by: Davitt Man on March 11, 2008, 03:24:03 PM
1515 Smurfit Kappa Champion Hurdle Challenge Trophy (2m 110y)
1. Katchit
2. Osana
3. Punjabi
15 ran

Post by: T O Hare on March 11, 2008, 03:24:18 PM
Choc Thorton loves this course
Post by: Candyman on March 11, 2008, 03:24:49 PM

1st   Katchit  10/1
2nd  Osana    9/2
3rd   Punjabi  25/1

Sizing Europe pulled up????????  :o
Post by: Brick Tamlin on March 11, 2008, 03:25:06 PM
so does Brick Tamlin too....thus far
Post by: Treasurer on March 11, 2008, 03:27:00 PM
Punjabi ew at 28-1 softens Harchi's loss :(
Post by: girt_giggler on March 11, 2008, 03:28:13 PM
Quote from: girt_giggler on March 11, 2008, 02:54:44 PM

i say none

told ya! although i had sublimity. Katchit was a good winner.
Post by: Louth Exile on March 11, 2008, 03:29:32 PM
Wow, an english 1,2,3!!!

Coming around the bend I was hoping Sublimity could do it, but he emptied, hope there is nothing seriously wrong with Sizing Europe
Post by: Uladh on March 11, 2008, 03:32:16 PM

Any particular reason why noone is tipping favourite "an accordian" for the next?
Post by: AZOffaly on March 11, 2008, 03:34:47 PM
I have him backed, but I need to take a deep breath. I'm chasing already. Each way @16/1 in the first. Nothing since, including Sublimity in the last one.
Post by: amigo on March 11, 2008, 03:34:58 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on March 11, 2008, 03:25:06 PM
so does Brick Tamlin too....thus far
Thats two good winners in the lucky 15 Brick. Hope you get a third, it will get you a few quid!!
Post by: T O Hare on March 11, 2008, 04:01:09 PM
going on ap in 4.00
Post by: Brick Tamlin on March 11, 2008, 04:09:30 PM
likewise here, he been close so this one should be the one i figure
Post by: AZOffaly on March 11, 2008, 04:09:57 PM
Get up ya good thing ! :D
Post by: Louth Exile on March 11, 2008, 04:16:07 PM
Well done AZ, good win.

Was cheering for Lami, and although definitely beaten by the better horse IMHO I thought that AP gave him a great ride and gave him every chance
Post by: Uladh on March 11, 2008, 04:23:34 PM

Got few each wayers in so far. looking to put the tin hat on my day with wonderkid on the nose. he can't lose... can he?
Post by: bridgegael on March 11, 2008, 04:31:34 PM
i see thornton has incurred a four day ban for ecessive use of the whip on katchit
Post by: AZOffaly on March 11, 2008, 04:34:04 PM
I have Grande Champetre in this one.
Post by: bridgegael on March 11, 2008, 04:36:53 PM
i've gone for royal auclair
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 11, 2008, 04:37:44 PM
Ive heads on the Ground and small ew bet on Kilbeggan Blade.
Post by: Uladh on March 11, 2008, 04:44:26 PM

coverd myself with Kilbeggan Blade each way too
Post by: AZOffaly on March 11, 2008, 04:45:29 PM
So did I :D I have to stop reading these boards :D. Actually the only reason I did it was so that if those Westmeath b*stards win anything, at least I'll make money out of it :D
Post by: AZOffaly on March 11, 2008, 04:58:53 PM
Good girl Nina.
Post by: Candyman on March 11, 2008, 04:59:13 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 11, 2008, 04:34:04 PM
I have Grande Champetre in this one.
well done... ;D
Post by: Uladh on March 11, 2008, 05:00:01 PM

Result?
Post by: Treasurer on March 11, 2008, 05:00:57 PM
Fair play to Nina!! Saves the day yet again!
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 11, 2008, 05:01:17 PM
Shite
Post by: amigo on March 11, 2008, 05:01:42 PM
How did wonderkid go ??
Post by: Uladh on March 11, 2008, 05:03:50 PM
Could someone bring themselves to post the result so us less informed morsels can be put out of our misery?
Post by: Treasurer on March 11, 2008, 05:06:18 PM
1st 4/1 7. Garde Champetre (FR) £5.00 £1.80
2nd 40/1 9. Native Jack (IRE)   £6.90
3rd 20/1 13. A New Story (IRE)   £4.20
4th 25/1 10. Freneys Well (GB)
Post by: AZOffaly on March 11, 2008, 05:10:14 PM
Going for River Liane in the last, with an each way punt on Metaphoric as well.

The last 2 races have made it a good day. It started badly.
Post by: Treasurer on March 11, 2008, 05:16:04 PM
Gonig small e/w on Siege of Ennis, probably need my head examined!
Post by: maxpower on March 11, 2008, 05:29:44 PM
small ew on siege of ennis myself
Post by: Louth Exile on March 11, 2008, 05:37:03 PM
Quote from: maxpower on March 11, 2008, 05:29:44 PM
small ew on siege of ennis myself

was the same as that myself. What a day for the Carberry's Paul and Nina back to back, if Sublimity had of done it, it would have been amazing
Post by: Treasurer on March 11, 2008, 05:47:24 PM
1st  Crack Away JAck
2nd 2 ½L Ashkazar 3rd 5L Grand Schlem ]
4th 14L Indian Spring
5th 4L Metaphoric
6th ¾L Siege Of Ennis
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 11, 2008, 05:49:16 PM
Quote1st  Crack Away JAck

Good on ya!

Post by: The Watcher Pat on March 11, 2008, 05:56:04 PM
One winner in a lucky 15...Captain Cee Bee.....Great start...At least with 3 times odds will get...25 quid..Free bet 2moro....
Post by: Bud Wiser on March 11, 2008, 06:21:35 PM
QuoteAn Accordian in the Bill Hill at 6/1 is my bet for the day. Hard to bet against Ruby and Carberry But that is the news so far anyway.

Anyone back it?  I had a double with Katchit and lost the ticket but Tom Flood honoured the bet   ;)
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 11, 2008, 06:29:42 PM
Id An accordian, katchit, Crack Away Jack and Tidal bay!
Id two places as well!

I didn't win very much as I would only bet a couple of quid but what a day! I can't believe it! Pure, unbelievable luck!  :D
Post by: Bud Wiser on March 11, 2008, 06:35:00 PM
Pints of Guinness and Pints of Bud tonight then.  I only had a tenner on meself but I had it on their snouts.
With the weather and the ground the way it will be tomorrow the Lotto at 12Million is a good bet !
Post by: never kickt a ball on March 11, 2008, 10:56:26 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on March 11, 2008, 06:29:42 PM
Id An accordian, katchit, Crack Away Jack and Tidal bay!
Id two places as well!

I didn't win very much as I would only bet a couple of quid but what a day! I can't believe it! Pure, unbelievable luck!  :D

Well done pints a 50p yankee on those horses paid: £6891 for £5.50

While a £5 yankee paid: £68,910
Post by: Louth Exile on March 12, 2008, 08:34:48 AM
EDWARD GILLESPIE MD OF CHELTENHAM RACECOURSE ON THE CHANNEL 4 MORNING LINE

RACING ABANDONED TODAY ON HEALTH AND SAFETY GROUNDS, DUE TO GALE FORCE WINDS!!!

ALL RACES WILL BE MOVED TO THURSDAY AND FRIDAY

Gutted  :'(
Post by: maddog on March 12, 2008, 08:40:24 AM
Quote from: Louth Exile on March 12, 2008, 08:34:48 AM

So a 9 race card then each day. :o
Post by: AZOffaly on March 12, 2008, 08:53:05 AM
No harm. Might get a bit of work done this afternoon. Mind you Thursday and Friday are a complete write off now :D
Post by: girt_giggler on March 12, 2008, 09:02:42 AM
disappointed but at same time Ive booked tomorrow & friday off work so will work out for the better! 12.30 start tomorrow!
Post by: AZOffaly on March 12, 2008, 09:03:32 AM
12.30 tomorrow? Jaysus.
Post by: Hank Everlast on March 12, 2008, 09:34:03 AM
I got an accordian on the nose and Kruguyrova e/w yesterday and just about broke evens.....

Any word wat was wrong with sizing europe?
Post by: Mickey Linden on March 12, 2008, 09:38:58 AM
Whats the story with the racing now then? Are they going to run all the races over tomorrow and Friday? Im happy enough as Im off Friday. Going to be one long day tho
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on March 12, 2008, 10:02:57 AM
Quote from: Louth Exile on March 12, 2008, 08:34:48 AM

Dont mean to be mean spirited but thats super news.  Stuck in Lyon on business these past 3 days but back tonight.  Might as well be on the moon over here when it comes to Cheltenham!  Commentary via Paddy Power website was a god send yesterday afternoon. There will be feck all work tomorrow and Thurs  ;D.  Fair play to Nina yesterday, saved the day as usual!
Post by: Mickey Linden on March 12, 2008, 10:25:03 AM
NEW RACE CARDS FOR THURSDAY AND FRIDAY

THURSDAY 13 MARCH

1230 Peter O'Sullevan National Hunt Chase Challenge Cup (4m)
1305 Royal & SunAlliance Chase (3m 110y)*
1340 Jewson Novices' Handicap Chase (2m 5f)*
1420 Seasons Holidays Queen Mother Champion Chase (2m)*
1455 Ryanair Chase (2m 5f)*
1530 Ladbrokes World Hurdle (3m)*
1605 Racing Post Plate Handicap Chase (2m 5f)*
1640 Pertemps Final (Handicap Hurdle) (3m)
1715 Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Challenge Cup Handicap Chase (3m 1f 110y)
1750 Weatherbys Champion Bumper (2m 110y)

FRIDAY 14 MARCH

1230 David Nicholson Mares Only Hurdle (2m 4f 110y)
1305 Ballymore Properties Novices' Hurdle (2m 5f)
1340 Coral Cup (Handicap Hurdle) (2m 5f)*
1415 JCB Triumph Hurdle (2m 1f)*
1450 Albert Bartlett Novices' Hurdle (3m)*
1530 totesport Cheltenham Gold Cup (3m 2f 110y)*
1605 Christie's Foxhunter Chase (3m 2f 110y)
1640 Johnny Henderson Grand Annual Chase (2m 110y)
1720 Vincent O'Brien County Handicap Hurdle (2m 1f)

Absolue Carnage  ;)
Post by: thebandit on March 12, 2008, 10:33:42 AM
At least I can get a bit of work done today
Post by: girt_giggler on March 12, 2008, 11:21:54 AM
good england!
Title: Re: Comhghairdeas
Post by: Louth Exile on March 12, 2008, 11:29:30 AM
Quote from: drici on March 12, 2008, 10:34:53 AM
Well done to the Bumper on still being the last race of the day that the Bumper is on.

And the County hurdle is still the last race on the last day!

After the initial disappointment I have also seen the personal benefits, going to buckle down and get the work done today, was finishing up early tommorow anyway for the weekend. Now I get to watch 19 races enjoying a pint  ;D

The first race tommorow is not one worth bothering with, but after that it is now some card of racing.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 12, 2008, 12:09:00 PM
QuoteThursday
Cheltenham

1-05 Tidal Bay

Thats interesting an extra days rest could mean Tidal Bay is an possible selection! Wonder if i can change my lucky 15 for todays races!!
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on March 12, 2008, 12:09:22 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on March 12, 2008, 11:29:30 AM
Well done to the Bumper on still being the last race of the day that the Bumper is on.

And the County hurdle is still the last race on the last day!

After the initial disappointment I have also seen the personal benefits, going to buckle down and get the work done today, was finishing up early tommorow anyway for the weekend. Now I get to watch 19 races enjoying a pint  ;D

The first race tommorow is not one worth bothering with, but after that it is now some card of racing.
Thrilling Thursday & Fantastic Friday!!!  Cant wait....................
Post by: BennyHarp on March 12, 2008, 12:16:23 PM
Has any horse won 2 races at the same festival meeting before??
Post by: T O Hare on March 12, 2008, 12:19:13 PM
any word about channel fours schedule. good be a chance with each way accums to mae money.. will be crazy though!!!
Post by: AZOffaly on March 12, 2008, 01:57:49 PM
Lads, I heard on Newstalk, Lisa Fallon is over there, that the races tomorrow will all be on the Old Course, and the races on Friday will all be on the new course. Surely that will make a huge difference to the races? The run up the hill is way shorter on the old course, so the staying horses for tomorrow's scheduled races will be at a disadvantage compared to the more speedy finishers, while the races from today which will go on Friday will be on the new course.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 12, 2008, 02:21:20 PM
QuoteLads, I heard on Newstalk, Lisa Fallon is over there, that the races tomorrow will all be on the Old Course, and the races on Friday will all be on the new course. Surely that will make a huge difference to the races? The run up the hill is way shorter on the old course, so the staying horses for tomorrow's scheduled races will be at a disadvantage compared to the more speedy finishers, while the races from today which will go on Friday will be on the new course.

Are all races tomorrow on the old course - or just the postponed races from today?
Post by: AZOffaly on March 12, 2008, 02:23:22 PM
All races according to Newstalk. Can they not run both courses on the same day? Seems odd.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 12, 2008, 02:30:46 PM
QuoteAll races according to Newstalk. Can they not run both courses on the same day? Seems odd.

Seems a bit odd to me too! Makes the last race tomorrow and friday a bit of a lottery as the course will be in a fair mess!
Post by: glens73 on March 12, 2008, 09:17:54 PM
Paddy Power was on century fm tonight on the legends football show in the n west of england, and he said that any punters who had bought tickets for the meeting at cheltenham today could send their ticket to him and they would get a free £50 bet, not a bad deal/
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 12, 2008, 10:58:44 PM
Tomorrow I've gone for;

12 30
Osanis

13 05
Alberta's Run

15 30
Lough Derg to be placed

17 50
Zaarito
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 12, 2008, 11:44:31 PM

I think bumpers are always last on the card as they have to remove the hurdles.
Post by: Lecale2 on March 13, 2008, 08:14:39 AM
Is it definitely on today?
Post by: Candyman on March 13, 2008, 09:32:15 AM
The morning line on C4 says its all go today, although all the races are on the old course.....
Post by: BennyHarp on March 13, 2008, 10:31:57 AM
All systems go - what a day ahead!!!

My £1 ew lucky 15 to pay over £9k if they all win,

1.05 - Pomme Tiepy
1.40 - Mr Strachan
2.20 - Fair Along
3.30 - My way de solzen

Still got a lucky 15 from yesterdays races too on the go!! Not much work done today!!!
Post by: Candyman on March 13, 2008, 11:10:19 AM
My bets for today...

1.05   Starzaan
2.20   Voy Por Ustedes
2.55   Mossbank
3.30   My Way DeSolzen (e/w)
4.05   Don't Push it
5.15   Joe's Edge (e/w for lo migley & Nina)  ;)
5.50   Lilywhitedancer

Post by: BennyHarp on March 13, 2008, 11:53:42 AM
A mate of mine whose tips are usually quite reliable reckons he has heard theres a strong word for Ted Walsh's horse in the Bumper - Genuine Pearl - available in some places at 33/1 - may be worth an each way rattle!
Post by: Candyman on March 13, 2008, 12:15:25 PM
in around 25/1 with BJ Geraghty on board....
Post by: the Deel Rover on March 13, 2008, 12:26:15 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on March 13, 2008, 11:53:42 AM
A mate of mine whose tips are usually quite reliable reckons he has heard theres a strong word for Ted Walsh's horse in the Bumper - Genuine Pearl - available in some places at 33/1 - may be worth an each way rattle!
threw a fiver each way on him at 33's guaranteed, fingers crossed Benny
Post by: ildanach on March 13, 2008, 12:30:20 PM
1:40 Mr Strachan

2:20  Voy Por Ustedes

2:55 Lantartique 

3:30 Kazal

4:05 Dont Push It

lucky 31 . Couldn't do as bad as tuesday. Hopefully the big wind blew all my bad luck away  ;D
Post by: milltown row on March 13, 2008, 12:31:44 PM
i've went for
Master Minded
Mr Strachan
Dont push it
the listener

1 yankee
Post by: Brick Tamlin on March 13, 2008, 12:32:14 PM
here we go..

Lucky 15 e/w

12.30  -Oulart
1.05 - Albertas Run
1.40 - Barbers Shop
5.15 - Joes Edge

Lucky 15 e/w

2.20  -Tamarinbleu
2.55 - Mossbank
3.30 - My way de Solzen
5.50 - Adamant  Approach

5.50 - Genuine Pearl e/w (Cheers for tip)
Post by: Treasurer on March 13, 2008, 12:47:23 PM
Had Dreux e/w, talk about heart attacks!
Post by: AZOffaly on March 13, 2008, 12:51:07 PM
I had Over The Creek each way. Thought he was going to piss it, but Old Benny had far more when they came off the bridle.
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 13, 2008, 12:54:15 PM
Had backonlline ew.

Pomme tiepy and Roll along in the next one.
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 13, 2008, 01:14:19 PM
Pomme Tiepy falls - pintsofguinness curse strikes again.
Post by: the green man on March 13, 2008, 01:43:34 PM
CHELTENHAM, 1:05 ROYAL & SUNALLIANCE CHASE

1st  Albertas Run (F) (2) A P Mccoy 4/1 
2nd  Roll Along (7) T J Murphy 20/1 
3rd  Battlecry (4) P J Brennan 25/1 
Post by: the green man on March 13, 2008, 01:48:58 PM
1st 9 Finger Onthe Pulse 9/1 3F
2nd 3 Barbers Shop 12/1
3rd 17 Possol 25/1
4th 10 Fleet Street 66/1
Post by: AZOffaly on March 13, 2008, 01:50:39 PM
Great Finish there, and the Irish horse beat the aul' Queen into second place.
Post by: Candyman on March 13, 2008, 02:25:23 PM
Masterminded won easy... >:(
Post by: Fíor Gael on March 13, 2008, 02:44:07 PM
I'm getting raped today again, Mr Strachan and twist magic doing the damage so far.
Post by: Minder on March 13, 2008, 02:46:59 PM
Quote from: Fíor Gael on March 13, 2008, 02:44:07 PM
I'm getting raped today again, Mr Strachan and twist magic doing the damage so far.

Report it immediately. I hope you are not pregnant due to it.
Post by: small white mayoman on March 13, 2008, 02:47:16 PM
Quote from: Fíor Gael on March 13, 2008, 02:44:07 PM

:o :o :o would someone call the guards quickly
Post by: Candyman on March 13, 2008, 03:01:45 PM
f*cking 2nd AGAIN!!!!  >:(
Post by: Fíor Gael on March 13, 2008, 03:02:25 PM
Too late fot the guards moss bank just finished me off :'( :'( :'( :'(
Post by: Apple Top on March 13, 2008, 03:03:14 PM
2.55 result anyone?
Post by: T O Hare on March 13, 2008, 03:03:28 PM
had our vic.. my banker in the fantasy league as well
Post by: Candyman on March 13, 2008, 03:04:09 PM

1st  7 Our Vic (IRE)  4-1 
2nd  5 Mossbank (IRE)  4-1 
3rd  11 Turko (FR)  7-1 
Post by: bennydorano on March 13, 2008, 03:11:58 PM
Happy to report I backed Albertas Run, Finger on the pulse & Master Minded (all singles), was about to ring up and back Mossbank when I got a phonecall and couldn't get on ;D.  Must be my lucky day!

Hard to see the Drever getting beaten but I've been following Kasbah Bliss for a year or more (except for the day when he won at 17/2 off course)so I'll have to follow up.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 13, 2008, 03:25:43 PM
It's carnage for me today. Air Force One, mr. Strachan and Twist Magic all beaten badly or fell. Only 'scores' so far were each ways on Over the Creek and Turko. Hope My Way De Solzen can rescue me.
Post by: Candyman on March 13, 2008, 03:38:46 PM
Cheltenham 3.30   

1st  7 Inglis Drever  11-8 F 
2nd  8 Kasbah Bliss (FR)  9-1 
3rd  9 Kazal (FR)  12-1 

My Way De Solzen possibly 4th....
Post by: bennydorano on March 13, 2008, 03:56:48 PM
 :-[Kasbah went through the last one a bit which cost him, but Drever is some beast.
Post by: Candyman on March 13, 2008, 04:13:06 PM
Cheltenham 4.05   

1st  5 Mister McGoldrick  66-1 
2nd  13 Gwanako (FR)  9-1 
3rd  4 Fundamentalist (IRE)  28-1 
4th  14 Bible Lord (IRE)  6-1 
:o :o :o
Post by: Uladh on March 13, 2008, 04:13:38 PM
66-1!

where were all he tips for that?
Post by: AZOffaly on March 13, 2008, 04:27:30 PM
I obviously didn't have it. They way I'm going today, if I backed the field they'd all fall.

The wife on the other hand!!! She mis-heard Don on Newstalk tipping Mr. Strachan, and had 2.50 e/w on Mr. McGoldrick @ 66. It'd make you sick :D
Post by: ildanach on March 13, 2008, 04:30:33 PM
anyone think nina carberry in the kim muir ???
Post by: Treasurer on March 13, 2008, 04:48:49 PM
Quote from: ildanach on March 13, 2008, 04:30:33 PM

Noel Meade was raving about Corskeagh a while back, but given his record in Cheltenham u'd have to doubt it.  Have her backed myself anyway, along wiht Apt Approach

Oh jeez, just put me down today, I see you mean Joe's Edge!
Post by: the green man on March 13, 2008, 04:51:25 PM
Quote from: ildanach on March 13, 2008, 04:30:33 PM

i threw a few shekals on her
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 13, 2008, 04:53:32 PM
Ive had 6 places so far - GIVE ME A f**king WINNER!!!
Post by: Candyman on March 13, 2008, 04:57:42 PM
I've Joe's edge and Lilywhitedancer in the last 2.... come on just 1!!!   :-\
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on March 13, 2008, 05:05:38 PM
I got a lovely wee double up today with matermind and Inglis drever ;D
Title: Re: Geall
Post by: ExiledGael on March 13, 2008, 05:16:13 PM
Quote from: drici on March 13, 2008, 05:07:09 PM
Fella had a ten bob each way accumulator in Grahams in Belfast.

Finger Onthe Pulse 9/1
Master Minded       3/1
Our Vic                 4/1
Inglis Drever          11/8
Mister McGoldrick    66/1

What did that net him?
Lucky bastard, not a pick today at all. Still slightly up for the week after a great opening hat-trick on day one.
Looking like Denman could start favourite tomorrow after the rain.
Post by: the Deel Rover on March 13, 2008, 05:18:51 PM

what time is the race at lads ?
Post by: Nimbus on March 13, 2008, 05:20:16 PM

Finger Onthe Pulse 9/1
Master Minded       3/1

Are you serious?

That is monstrous
Post by: Davitt Man on March 13, 2008, 05:20:41 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on March 13, 2008, 05:18:51 PM

what time is the race at lads ?

5.50 deel rover
Post by: the Deel Rover on March 13, 2008, 05:24:45 PM
Thanks Dm, what would the payout be for that punter?
Post by: ildanach on March 13, 2008, 05:31:09 PM
must be over 250k?
Post by: behind the wire on March 13, 2008, 05:35:47 PM

Finger Onthe Pulse 9/1
Master Minded       3/1

right AZ offally, count that one up!!

how does an each way accumulator work?

if one horse isnt placed does that mean the bet is scuppered?
Post by: the Deel Rover on March 13, 2008, 05:46:26 PM
Quote from: ildanach on March 13, 2008, 05:31:09 PM
must be over 250k?

:o :o :o holy fcuk
Post by: Square Ball on March 13, 2008, 05:52:01 PM
for just the 50 5 timer £15912.50

In tot £16046.25

well thats if i put it in right

http://www.bettingzone.co.uk/calculator/ (http://www.bettingzone.co.uk/calculator/)
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 13, 2008, 06:05:42 PM
and Cousin vinney and Corskeagh Royale saves my day!
Post by: Square Ball on March 13, 2008, 06:05:59 PM
(http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t114/gizzmodev/book.jpg)
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 13, 2008, 06:42:48 PM
Denman's out to nearly 2/1 on Betfair. Jeez I'm absolutely torn - have been intending to back Kauto for months but with the rain and that......................

Update - On second thoughts, stick with the gut.

I know I'm catching onto this years after the rest but betfair really is brilliant - a market of 100.4%!
Post by: ExiledGael on March 13, 2008, 08:41:57 PM
Can you still get Kauto/Denman in reverse forecast for 6/5??
Post by: Candyman on March 14, 2008, 10:25:11 AM
Bets for today.... havent won a bean all week so here goes:

1.05   Forpaddydeplasterer         5/1
         Hold Em (e/w)                28/1
2.15   Francheok                       6/4
2.50   Gem Daly (e/w)              25/1
3.30   Exotic Dancer (e/w)        10/1
4.40   Maralan (e/w)                 11/1
5.20   Physco                           5/1

Post by: illdecide on March 14, 2008, 10:52:21 AM
Well lads today is the day "Shite or get of the toilet" last day and i need some serious winners as i have been cleaned all week. Fecking thought that favourite in the last race last night was a cert but cousin vinny rid me ::)

Think Kato will win easy today but the odds are rank ::)
Post by: AZOffaly on March 14, 2008, 11:03:50 AM
My bets for the day, for what they are worth, which is the square root of f8ck all.

12.30 Refinement ew
1.05 Trafford Lad win
        Whatuthink e/w
140  Mendo e/w
2.15 Beau Michel win
2.50 Uncle Junior e/w
       Liskennet e/w
3.30 Halcon Genelardis  e/w
4.05 Drombeag e/w
4.40 Tiger Cry win
5.20 Missis Potts e/w

Mad stuff, but sure a bit of craic on day 3.5 :D
Post by: the green man on March 14, 2008, 11:12:32 AM
Again haven't won anything yet, so the luck might turn. Heres mine

Lucky 15

Fiveforthree
Junior
Franchoek
Uncle Junior

Also a wee three'sy

Sweet Kiln
Venalmar
Hasty Prince
Post by: bennydorano on March 14, 2008, 11:19:12 AM
Have come to the conclusion that multiple bets are a waste of time where I'm concerned.  Take each race as it comes as I change my mind aoubt 5 times before each race.  Theatre Girl inthe first anyway.

Expect a big run out of Neptune Collonges.  I take it a Nicholls 1,2,3 is sh1t odds?
Post by: Candyman on March 14, 2008, 12:05:48 PM
Update...

1.05   Forpaddydeplasterer         5/1
         Hold Em (e/w)                28/1
2.15   Francheok                       6/4
2.50   Gem Daly (e/w)              25/1
3.30   Exotic Dancer (e/w)        10/1
4.40   Maralan (e/w)                 11/1
         Hasty prince                    8/1
5.20   Physco                           5/1

Post by: Davitt Man on March 14, 2008, 12:25:51 PM
Does anyone know if you can watch the racing online??
Post by: gerrykeegan on March 14, 2008, 12:28:27 PM
You can on Paddy power if you have placed a bet of 5 euros on that race
Post by: Candyman on March 14, 2008, 12:33:27 PM
on www.sporting-life.com/racing you can watch the racing if you have made a bet with them (think the minimum bet is really small also) or try this like i do and listen to the live commentary...

http://www.teamtalk.com/Skybet/Radio/Skybet_Radio_Frameset/0,10130,,00.html
Post by: T O Hare on March 14, 2008, 12:37:47 PM
refinement or whiteoak
Post by: AZOffaly on March 14, 2008, 12:39:15 PM
Ahhhhh. On the bob.
Post by: T O Hare on March 14, 2008, 12:41:17 PM
paddy power does a great audio commentary
Post by: Candyman on March 14, 2008, 02:26:32 PM
Cheltenham 2.15   

1st  3 Celestial Halo (IRE)  5-1 
2nd  6 Franchoek (IRE)  evens F 
3rd  15 Won In The Dark (IRE)  16-1 

f**k!!!! >:(
Post by: Nimbus on March 14, 2008, 02:30:33 PM
Big blow for the punters. ::)
Post by: buglebhoy on March 14, 2008, 02:37:09 PM
anywhere on the net where you can get watching the races?
Post by: Candyman on March 14, 2008, 02:57:53 PM
Cheltenham 2.50   

1st  11 Nenuphar Collonges (FR)  9-1 
2nd  18 Liskennett (IRE)  16-1 
3rd  15 The Tother One (IRE)  9-2 JF 
Post by: The Gs Man on March 14, 2008, 03:20:45 PM
£5 E/W on Exotic Dancer........because I, myself, am an exotic dancer.  Go on ye mare!!!
Post by: Candyman on March 14, 2008, 03:42:06 PM
Cheltenham 3.30   

1st  5 Denman (IRE)  9-4 
2nd  10 Kauto Star (FR)  10-11 F 
3rd  12 Neptune Collonges (FR)  25-1 
Post by: AZOffaly on March 14, 2008, 03:49:57 PM
Brilliant performance by Denman. Kauto's jumping let him down, never really got comfortable when Denman started to pour it on in the second circuit, and Ruby was working like a demon from about 4 out.

Even if he jumped well though, I think Denman ran the finish out of him, and probably would have out-stayed him in the end.

Fair play to him.
Post by: Nimbus on March 14, 2008, 03:53:10 PM
I followed the money, what a mistake.
Post by: Treasurer on March 14, 2008, 03:56:30 PM
What a horse! Fair play!
Post by: bennydorano on March 15, 2008, 01:55:28 PM
Best Cheltenham I ever had, had Fiveforthree and AMecilli (33/1 ;D), Neptune Collanges EW (instead of the Philips 1,2,3 @ 5/1). punted all evening backing winners at Kempton, Dundalk and that shite American racing too.  Sore head today.
Post by: corn02 on March 15, 2008, 01:58:41 PM
Celestial Hlao means I am up for the meet, even if only aq couple of quid.