GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Shamrock Shore on November 02, 2017, 01:43:05 PM

Title: O'Byrne Cup 2018
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 02, 2017, 01:43:05 PM
While the fixtures list will be out soon it has emerged that there will be no Colleges/Uni sides in the mix from 2018 onwards.

I welcome this return to the traditional format. None of your fancy dan United Nations 'students' diluting what is the greatest GAA competition of them all.

Wonder will the 'Bihatimber' competition be resurrected as well now?
Title: Re: O'Byrne Cup 2018
Post by: Rossfan on November 02, 2017, 03:33:23 PM
I'd say ye'll have a Shield and a Plate as well :D
Post by: stevecw on November 02, 2017, 06:07:17 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on November 02, 2017, 01:43:05 PM
While the fixtures list will be out soon it has emerged that there will be no Colleges/Uni sides in the mix from 2018 onwards.

I welcome this return to the traditional format. None of your fancy dan United Nations 'students' diluting what is the greatest GAA competition of them all.

Wonder will the 'Bihatimber' competition be resurrected as well now?

Good that the colleges won't be in it. Hate the games v them, never seemed like proper matches.
I'd say that they'll stick to the groups, probably 2 groups of 4, and 1 with 3.

The Bihatimber is sadly a thing of the past now, was a glorious 7 years though!
Post by: Rossfan on November 02, 2017, 06:51:14 PM
By the way Shamrock did you see where Longford is the unhealthiest town in Ireland  :o
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 02, 2017, 09:13:57 PM
I did.

Biggest number of hypercondriacs in the country more like.
Post by: thejuice on November 06, 2017, 03:27:08 PM
The way we're losing lads at the minute we might be fielding our strongest team in the O'Byrne Cup.

Harry Rooney isn't returning
Conor Nash is off to AFL
Ronan Jones is gone to USA
Ruairí Ó Coileann gone to USA
Paddy O'Rourke retired.

We didn't have Harry last year but there are 4 first team players from 2016 and 2017 that won't have going forward while Nash was a great talent but a long shot for us to keep him from AFL or pro rugby.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 16, 2017, 09:17:24 AM
Tables are out....Blow it Up may post them here.
Post by: Hardy on November 16, 2017, 09:21:42 AM
I see we're already joint leaders in The Group Of Death. This could be our year.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 16, 2017, 09:28:36 AM
Laois home and away, wtf is that all about?
Post by: Syferus on November 16, 2017, 10:00:06 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 02, 2017, 06:51:14 PM
By the way Shamrock did you see where Longford is the unhealthiest town in Ireland  :o

I assume it's because of all the roundabouts.
Post by: Avondhu star on November 16, 2017, 02:06:25 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 02, 2017, 06:51:14 PM

Listening too much about The marquee in Drumlish can cause health problems
Post by: laoislad on November 16, 2017, 05:34:41 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on November 16, 2017, 09:28:36 AM
Do away goals count double?
Post by: Rossfan on November 16, 2017, 05:44:16 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on November 16, 2017, 09:28:36 AM
First step in the amalgamation. ....
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 17, 2017, 12:42:57 PM
The groups for the 2018 Bord na Móna Leinster GAA Series have been announced

Bord na Móna O'Byrne Cup SF

Group 1: Dublin, Offaly, Wexford

Group 2: Kildare, Louth, Longford

Group 3: Meath, Carlow, Wicklow

Group 4: Westmeath, Laois

Format: Round robin with first placed team advancing to semi-finals. Westmeath and Laois play each other home and away with aggregate score deciding who tops Group 4.

Dates: Dec 30, Jan 3, Jan 7. Semi-finals Jan 13/14. Final Jan 20/21

Opening Fixtures: Dec 30: Offaly v Wexford, Louth v Longford, Wicklow v Carlow, Westmeath v Laois
Post by: SCFC on November 23, 2017, 12:05:38 PM
With us away to the websites in the first leg I fancy us to keep it tight and demolish them in the cauldron of Portarlington in the return game.
Post by: Cunny Funt on December 30, 2017, 03:54:27 PM
Offaly 3-16 Wexford 0-09
Louth 1-10 Longford 2-13
Wicklow 0-06 Carlow 3-08
Westmeath 1-13 Laois 1-12
Post by: Shamrock Shore on December 30, 2017, 04:18:28 PM
Looked bad for Longford with 10 to go. Had nearly always been ahead but Louth had the breeze and the tails were up when sides got to 1-10 each. However a 29th min goal from Longford's Andrew Farrell (only Longford's second score in the half) gave us new impetus and seemed to suck life out of Louth. 3 more unanswered points gave Longford a slightly flattering 6 point win
Post by: mrdeeds on December 30, 2017, 08:30:56 PM
How did the subs work? Were they rolling?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 01, 2018, 10:54:30 AM
Not aware of 'rolling subs' being trialed.

Did I miss something?
Post by: seafoid on January 01, 2018, 11:16:07 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 01, 2018, 10:54:30 AM

Did I miss something?

https://youtu.be/2KPplYp7K7M

Rollin rollin rollin
All the subs are swollen
Keep them feckers rollin
Shannon side
Rain and wind and leather
Ó Byrne cup weather
Wishing the sensation would return to me fingers
Shannonside
Post by: tippabu on January 01, 2018, 11:26:18 AM
Quote from: mrdeeds on December 30, 2017, 08:30:56 PM
How did the subs work? Were they rolling?

is it not just that you can use all 26 players or is it a case you could put a lad in for 10 mins take him out ad back in again?
Post by: Beffs on January 01, 2018, 09:54:45 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 01, 2018, 11:16:07 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 01, 2018, 10:54:30 AM

Did I miss something?

https://youtu.be/2KPplYp7K7M

Rollin rollin rollin
All the subs are swollen
Keep them feckers rollin
Shannon side
Rain and wind and leather
Ó Byrne cup weather
Wishing the sensation would return to me fingers
Shannonside

Very good.  ;D
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on January 02, 2018, 12:38:33 AM
Kildare are playing u20 players in this, does that have any consequence on their availability for the u20 championship. Aaron O'Neill in goals has not even played senior for his club yet but looked a serious prospect when playing for the minors last year.
Post by: Blowitupref on January 02, 2018, 01:27:19 AM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on January 02, 2018, 12:38:33 AM
Kildare are playing u20 players in this, does that have any consequence on their availability for the u20 championship. Aaron O'Neill in goals has not even played senior for his club yet but looked a serious prospect when playing for the minors last year.
U20s can play now for their seniors but after the NFL the decision has to made which panel U20 players is on as they can't play for both the U20s and senior teams this summer.

Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on January 02, 2018, 09:06:35 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on January 02, 2018, 01:27:19 AM
U20s can play now for their seniors but after the NFL the decision has to made which panel U20 players is on as they can't play for both the U20s and senior teams this summer.

Thanks, that is sensible enough.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 02, 2018, 09:43:39 PM
Hmmmmm. Clever move by Kildare. They want to avoid peaking, as they usually do, in January.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 03, 2018, 10:00:41 AM
Kildare are 9/4, free money. We are the Kings of January.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 03, 2018, 09:43:03 PM
Kildare have decided not to climax too soon.

Kildare 0-09
Louth 2-11
Post by: tippabu on January 03, 2018, 09:49:28 PM
So do Dublin now need a 16 point win over Wexford to stay in the o Byrne cup?
Post by: Jinxy on January 04, 2018, 12:44:56 AM
Hard fought win against Carlow in Dr Netwatch Park this evening.
0-09
0-07
Quality, not quantity.
Wickla next on Sunday.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 04, 2018, 09:47:56 AM
Longford can 'afford' to lose by 3 points or less against Kildare in Longford on Sun and still go through to the semi finals.

Dubs have to beat Wexford by at least 16 points.

Let the good times roll.....power shifting in Leinster????  :D

Post by: Dinny Breen on January 04, 2018, 11:01:09 AM
Kildare's whole season as just been written off. Don't think any county has more bi-polar supporters than Kildare.
Post by: Avondhu star on January 04, 2018, 07:06:37 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 04, 2018, 09:47:56 AM
Longford can 'afford' to lose by 3 points or less against Kildare in Longford on Sun and still go through to the semi finals.

Dubs have to beat Wexford by at least 16 points.

Let the good times roll.....power shifting in Leinster????  :D
Not too many All Ireland medals on the Dublin teams last night but plenty of handy lads trying to make the breakthrough. 16 points against the main Wexford team might be a bit much though
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 07, 2018, 10:55:09 AM
Kildare make 10 changes to the team that lost to Louth for today's encounter in Longford.

Lilywhites getting serious or are they trialling the Batch B?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 07, 2018, 10:58:11 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 07, 2018, 10:55:09 AM
Kildare make 10 changes to the team that lost to Louth for today's encounter in Longford.

Lilywhites getting serious or are they trialling the Batch B?

I make it 13 changes.

Unlucky for who?
Post by: laoislad on January 07, 2018, 12:39:03 PM
If Laois win by a point today, the sides will finish level on aggregate so extra time will be needed. Two ten-minute spells will be played and if they're still level after that we'll witness a 'free-taking shootout'.

And according to the Leinster Council, this is how it will play out.

Each team will nominate five players.

Frees will be taken by each of the five players from a position of their choosing on the 45 metre line in football.

Frees in football may be taken from the hands or off the ground.

Frees will be taken for points only with no goalkeeper/defenders facing the free takers.

The game is awarded to whichever team scores more of their five frees

If still level then sudden death frees will be taken using the same five players in order

The sudden death element will continue until such time as there is definite outcome.
Post by: thejuice on January 07, 2018, 02:44:50 PM
O'Byrne Cup
Wexford 1-09 Dublin 0-06, Enniscorthy 2pm - HT
Longford 0-08 Kildare 0-09, Pearse Park, 2pm - HT
Meath 2-10 Wicklow 0-05, Pairc Tailteann, 2pm - HT
Laois 0-06 Westmeath 1-09, Stradbally, 2pm - HT
Post by: thejuice on January 07, 2018, 03:41:00 PM
O'Byrne Cup
Wexford 1-12 Dublin 0-14, Enniscorthy 2pm - FT
Longford 1-14 Kildare 0-13, Pearse Park, 2pm
Meath 4-19 Wicklow 0-13, Pairc Tailteann, 2pm - FT
Laois 1-13 Westmeath 3-16, Stradbally, 2pm - FT

Semi finals next Sunday
Meath vs Longford
Westmeath vs Wexford
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 07, 2018, 03:42:17 PM
Good win over Kildare.

See Ye Meath boys in Navan next Sun
Post by: Rossfan on January 07, 2018, 03:44:51 PM
Double header in Páirc Uí Chaoimh surely? !
Post by: seafoid on January 07, 2018, 03:47:27 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 07, 2018, 03:42:17 PM
Good win over Kildare.

Great win for the Larries over the gentry
Post by: Jinxy on January 07, 2018, 04:31:47 PM
(http://static.tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pub/images/anti-calvalry_6.png)

Up Longford.
Post by: seafoid on January 07, 2018, 06:29:29 PM
Meath have self esteem issues that the Longford juggernaut may  be able to take advantage of.
Post by: The PRO on January 07, 2018, 06:58:36 PM
Quote from: thejuice on January 07, 2018, 03:41:00 PM
O'Byrne Cup

Semi finals next Sunday
Meath vs Longford
Westmeath vs Wexford
Westmeath v Offaly I thought?
Post by: Syferus on January 07, 2018, 07:08:07 PM
Good win over Kildare.

I see Longford have stolen Mark Nally from Ros Gaels.

If it's good enough for Mayo..
Post by: LooseCannon on January 07, 2018, 07:20:45 PM
Quote from: The PRO on January 07, 2018, 06:58:36 PM
Quote from: thejuice on January 07, 2018, 03:41:00 PM
O'Byrne Cup

Semi finals next Sunday
Meath vs Longford
Westmeath vs Wexford
Westmeath v Offaly I thought?
You thought correctly. We're not here to take part, if ya know what I mean.  ;)
Post by: Syferus on January 07, 2018, 08:34:18 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 04, 2018, 11:01:09 AM
Kildare's whole season as just been written off. Don't think any county has more bi-polar supporters than Kildare.

We do.
Post by: LooseCannon on January 07, 2018, 08:54:59 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 07, 2018, 08:34:18 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 07, 2018, 07:08:07 PM
Good win over Kildare.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 04, 2018, 11:01:09 AM

We do.

But have ye ever sat down in Croke Park!!  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 08, 2018, 09:16:24 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 07, 2018, 04:31:47 PM
(http://static.tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pub/images/anti-calvalry_6.png)

Up Longford.

Jinxy - when Longford face Meath this is what I see in my head:

(https://static.vecteezy.com/system/resources/previews/000/150/937/non_2x/free-david-and-goliath-illustration-vector.jpg)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 08, 2018, 11:26:09 PM
Good win over Kildare.

Syf. This went under my radar. Is this true? I've heard nothing either official or unofficial.

Post by: Syferus on January 09, 2018, 12:30:56 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 08, 2018, 11:26:09 PM
Good win over Kildare.

Syf. This went under my radar. Is this true? I've heard nothing either official or unofficial.

His father was from Ballymahon apparently. He'a a former underage county FF/MF and was on the senior panel under Evans for a few years.
Post by: Rossfan on January 09, 2018, 11:42:55 AM
Poor lad was out of his depth then.
Post by: Blowitupref on January 12, 2018, 07:41:29 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 08, 2018, 11:26:09 PM
Good win over Kildare.

Former Roscommon forward Mark Nally has joined up with the Longford football squad for 2018.

The Roscommon Gaels clubman could feature for the Midlanders in their O'Byrne Cup semi-final against Meath this weekend after having declared for his parents' home county.

Nally played U21 for the Rossies and made three championship appearances at senior level in 2014. The 24-year-old is set to continue playing with his native club.

Longford manager Denis Connerton told The Irish Times: "We've been looking at Mark's performances for quite a while now, and we knew about his connections and that he hasn't been involved with Roscommon.

"So we asked him in, and he obliged. He's a big lad, and he'll be with the team on Sunday."

Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 14, 2018, 02:48:05 PM
It's cauld here in Navan.

HT

Meath 0-04
Longford 1-05
Post by: Jinxy on January 14, 2018, 02:51:15 PM
We're playing down the hill, with the wind, in the 2nd half.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 14, 2018, 02:57:11 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 14, 2018, 02:51:15 PM
We're playing down the hill, with the wind, in the 2nd half.

15 Meath men behind the ball Jinxy.

Disgrace  ::)
Post by: Jinxy on January 14, 2018, 03:07:39 PM
Romantic Meath's dead and gone...
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 14, 2018, 03:39:32 PM
Extra time.

1-12 each
Post by: Jinxy on January 14, 2018, 04:14:40 PM
Level after ET.
Free-kick shoot out.
History in the making...
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 14, 2018, 04:18:03 PM
This is great fun  ;D
Post by: Jinxy on January 14, 2018, 04:22:10 PM
The nation holds it breath....
Post by: Jinxy on January 14, 2018, 04:26:42 PM
YES!!!
Post by: Syferus on January 14, 2018, 04:32:02 PM
The more football those hoors play before they get to the Hyde the better.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 14, 2018, 05:34:54 PM
Well done Meath but we gave Ye at least 1-04.

As I said it was good fun to be there for the frees but ours were v poor.
Post by: tippabu on January 14, 2018, 06:01:57 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 14, 2018, 05:34:54 PM

how were most of them taken? out of hands?
Post by: Jinxy on January 14, 2018, 06:04:19 PM
Mickey Burke was just wide with a fisted effort.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 14, 2018, 06:29:39 PM
Quote from: tippabu on January 14, 2018, 06:01:57 PM

All out of hands bar one. Our goalie who shanked it.
Post by: Cunny Funt on January 14, 2018, 08:11:19 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 14, 2018, 04:14:40 PM
Level after ET.
Free-kick shoot out.
History in the making...

Bringing that in for the summer and whatever about today it will be awful way to lose a championship match.
Post by: tippabu on January 14, 2018, 08:30:34 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 14, 2018, 06:29:39 PM
Quote from: tippabu on January 14, 2018, 06:01:57 PM

All out of hands bar one. Our goalie who shanked it.

I take it he takes the 45s for ye so? Going through it if it was ourselves 4 of the 5 would be taken from the ground, now striking from the ground this time of year isnt easy tbf
Post by: mrdeeds on January 14, 2018, 09:40:08 PM
Why not a penalty shoot out?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 15, 2018, 12:49:25 PM
Deserved win for Westmeath yesterday in Mullingar. Despite poor Offaly shooting and us loosing possession through needless errors when transitioning in the second half we still kept our noses in front from a decent half time lead. Would have been more except for an unfortunate break that let Offaly in behind. Encouraging to see a couple of new hands going up early for starting positions. Hopefully the experienced lads are ready to come back in for the start of the league. Great to see Frankie come on yesterday.
Post by: slippery dodger on January 15, 2018, 03:31:58 PM
Footage of the historical first 45 metre shootout used to decide an intercounty game. Meath beat Longford 2-1.
https://youtu.be/8NV7YE9KiLk
Post by: laoislad on January 15, 2018, 03:37:50 PM
Quote from: slippery dodger on January 15, 2018, 03:31:58 PM
Footage of the historical first 45 metre shootout used to decide an intercounty game. Meath beat Longford 2-1.
Have they no floodlights in Navan?
Post by: LooseCannon on January 15, 2018, 03:54:11 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 15, 2018, 03:37:50 PM

Used to, not anymore I think.
Post by: mrdeeds on January 15, 2018, 04:59:09 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on January 15, 2018, 03:54:11 PM

Put them up without planning.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 15, 2018, 05:27:47 PM
It wasn't as dark there that the video would lead you to believe.

Video will always give a poor impression.

There was enough light for the lads on the pitch to see the posts.......well, enough for 4 of our lads to miss them entirely  :-\

Post by: Rossfan on January 15, 2018, 05:56:12 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on January 15, 2018, 03:54:11 PM

They didn't go with the green grassy slopes.......
Post by: armaghniac on January 15, 2018, 06:25:43 PM

I think Cavan took them.
Post by: Cunny Funt on January 15, 2018, 08:58:58 PM
Like the headline https://www.longfordleader.ie/news/gaelic-games/291572/meath-dancing-in-the-dark-after-they-deny-brave-longford-in-historic-free-taking-shootout.html
Post by: thejuice on January 15, 2018, 10:11:37 PM
Foundations for the floodlights were found to be sub standard and had to be taken down after cracks appeared.

I have no idea how much it cost or how much it would cost to put them back up again but hopefully a better integrated solution will be included in the rebuilding of PT but I wouldn't be surprised if they don't.

Anyway, we've won three games in a row and some people are getting giddy particularly on hoganstand but we'll have to see. Andy is trying out as many lads as he can and doesn't seem too fussed about the result so we'll probably see a very different 15 on Sunday. He has set his sights on promotion in the league so I think it will be fair to judge him on that.
Post by: Syferus on January 15, 2018, 10:26:53 PM
Quote from: thejuice on January 15, 2018, 10:11:37 PM
Foundations for the floodlights were found to be sub standard and had to be taken down after cracks appeared.

I have no idea how much it cost or how much it would cost to put them back up again but hopefully a better integrated solution will be included in the rebuilding of PT but I wouldn't be surprised if they don't.

Anyway, we've won three games in a row and some people are getting giddy particularly on hoganstand but we'll have to see. Andy is trying out as many lads as he can and doesn't seem too fussed about the result so we'll probably see a very different 15 on Sunday. He has set his sights on promotion in the league so I think it will be fair to judge him on that.

A loss one day one is going to make promotion a lot harder for either team as it has the potential to be a tie breaker when all is said and done. I'd be disappointed if we don't beat Meath at home.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 15, 2018, 10:46:45 PM
"Foundations for the floodlights were found to be sub standard and had to be taken down after cracks appeared"

Kinda like our stands!

I heard that Pairc Tailteann is to be completely renovated with the pitch turned sideways, and a complete new stand to be built. A big job.

Aim big.

Hope there's a good crowd in Portlaoise on Sunday. Final is live on TG4.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 16, 2018, 09:24:55 AM

Weren't deep enough apparently.
Post by: Declan on January 16, 2018, 02:58:50 PM
QuoteWeren't deep enough apparently.

The ould pyrite it was
Post by: slippery dodger on January 16, 2018, 07:00:37 PM
The final between Meath and Westmeath being on in Portlaois is a bit of a joke.
Post by: Cunny Funt on January 16, 2018, 07:22:39 PM
Quote from: slippery dodger on January 16, 2018, 07:00:37 PM
Where do you reckon it should have been played?
Post by: tippabu on January 16, 2018, 08:20:53 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on January 16, 2018, 07:22:39 PM

toss for home advantage? dublin and kildare played in newbridge last year
Post by: thejuice on January 16, 2018, 08:31:16 PM
I won't be going as I live abroad but I do find the fuss being made over the venue a bit bemusing. I'm sure the venue was fixed well in advance and it's not that far away compared to some league venues we'll be playing in shortly. We're in a final, we should be glad if the fact not whinging because it's not being played on your doorstep.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 17, 2018, 09:50:47 AM
Quote from: tippabu on January 16, 2018, 08:20:53 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on January 16, 2018, 07:22:39 PM

toss for home advantage? dublin and kildare played in newbridge last year

Páirc Tailteann is already in action that day so both teams have agreed that they want to play it in Cusack Park. Would be much preferable to both sets of supporters too. Having it on TV not a bad idea but the stands will be deserted in Portlaoise, would be a good atmosphere in Mullingar, if not quite in the realms of the madness of the O'Byrne Cup final in 2004. Cusack Park was dangerously packed that day, championship matches before or since haven't come close to the crowd that day.
Post by: The Insider on January 17, 2018, 02:32:22 PM
Venue set months ago , agreement with TG4 to show game as part of a double header with the All Ireland Intermediate club semi final between An Gealteacht and Moy from Tyrone . The Cavanagh's v The O Se family . Real box office game with the history between the 2 counties . Redevelopment of Pairc Tailteann on the long finger as opinion split , without doubt the stand and lights need replacing . Haven't been on main terrace for years but it looks in good condition , development probably should be done with maybe a 20,000 capacity max with 6000/7000 seating . Would allow for a home and away agreement with the Dubs in championship
Post by: Rossfan on January 17, 2018, 03:33:22 PM
Sure Dublin's games are all at Neutral venues?
Will Portlaoise pitch be able for 2 games in January?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 17, 2018, 05:06:35 PM
Quotemadness of the O'Byrne Cup final in 2004

It was pretty mad in 2000 as well!

I think there was 14,000 there that day.
Post by: Jinxy on January 19, 2018, 10:26:07 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 15, 2018, 10:26:53 PM

A loss one day one is going to make promotion a lot harder for either team as it has the potential to be a tie breaker when all is said and done. I'd be disappointed if we don't beat Meath at home.

a) This is the O'Byrne Cup thread.
b) Sickening arrogance.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on January 21, 2018, 09:41:17 AM
No final

Complete shambles
Post by: Hardy on January 21, 2018, 11:27:23 AM
The restless sleep, the getting out of bed at 6 to check the weather, the knot in the gut, the feeling that it's great to be alive.

It's O'Byrne Cup Final Day.

Wait! What?!?
Post by: Cunny Funt on January 21, 2018, 12:20:30 PM
Water polo anyone?

(https://scontent.fdub5-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/26903702_10215868570011024_483679540483111853_n.jpg?oh=1344f30e0735020c3071c32ea5f53daa&oe=5AE09E9C)
Post by: LooseCannon on January 21, 2018, 12:48:18 PM
Ya wouldn't see that in Tullamore!!!!
Post by: Blowitupref on January 21, 2018, 12:57:48 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on January 21, 2018, 12:48:18 PM

The intermediate All Ireland semi final that was to played in Tullamore was also called off.
Post by: Jinxy on January 21, 2018, 12:59:09 PM
Just play it next weekend.
This is an O'Byrne Cup final we're talking about, the league can wait.
Post by: LooseCannon on January 21, 2018, 08:30:49 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on January 21, 2018, 12:57:48 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on January 21, 2018, 12:48:18 PM

The intermediate All Ireland semi final that was to played in Tullamore was also called off.

I know, was just saying it wasn't as bad.
It was sarcasm, I'm well aware of the Glaveys match being called off. Was going to go to it.
Post by: Cunny Funt on March 01, 2018, 02:12:44 PM
Any free weekend left for the O'Byrne Cup final?
Post by: Rossfan on May 04, 2018, 12:32:38 PM
Jinxy can get him/herself to Mullingar 3 pm Sunday 13th for this momentous clash of 2 of Leinster's top Intermediate Teams.
Post by: Jinxy on May 04, 2018, 12:36:45 PM
RTE should be showing this live, with deferred coverage of Mayo v Galway.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 04, 2018, 01:02:57 PM
Longford spies mobilised.

Will WH be playing any hatchet men?
Post by: Jinxy on May 13, 2018, 04:06:38 PM
7 points up in the game of the day.
20 odd minutes to go.
Post by: Jinxy on May 13, 2018, 04:49:24 PM
O'Byrne Cup World Series Champions 2018!
Meath 4-13
Westmeath 1-13
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 13, 2018, 04:58:00 PM
Any straight reds for Meath?
Post by: Jinxy on May 13, 2018, 08:25:23 PM
Thanks for all the private messages, lads.
Great day.
Post by: thejuice on May 13, 2018, 11:54:43 PM
Poor Paddy O'Rourke said we'd win nothing, well he must be sick now we've won this trophy and the Division 2 relegation championship so far. I think we're a good bet for the Leinster best runners up award now as well.
Post by: Laoiseabu on May 14, 2018, 12:21:20 AM
Why wasn't Heslin playing?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 14, 2018, 08:38:39 AM
Heard Meath plan to go on the piss for the next 2 weeks so that by the time they rock up to Longford they will be easy pickings.

That said, well done on winning for the second time in three years.
Post by: Jinxy on May 14, 2018, 09:10:46 AM
Andy McEntee is taking the boys over to Scotland for a marathon drinking session followed by a marathon running session.
Post by: thejuice on May 14, 2018, 11:46:24 AM
On the same day I'm told.

06:00-18:00 - drinking
18:00-03:00 running

No toilet breaks allowed during either session.
Post by: Jinxy on May 14, 2018, 11:54:11 AM
No fancy energy drinks allowed either, just 'Uncle Seán's Revitalising Tonic'.
Plenty of Milk Thistle for the gut.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 16, 2018, 09:16:05 AM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on May 14, 2018, 12:21:20 AM
Why wasn't Heslin playing?

Injured. Westmeath at nothing this year, players walking off ignoring managers outstretched hand tells you all you need to know.
Post by: Jinxy on May 16, 2018, 09:44:40 AM
First Offaly, now Westmeath.
What's going on in the Midlands?
Post by: shark on May 16, 2018, 09:52:06 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 16, 2018, 09:44:40 AM

Apathy.
Post by: Rossfan on May 16, 2018, 10:06:53 AM
Their working towards amalgamation.
Post by: thejuice on May 16, 2018, 01:49:54 PM
Louth are in free fall as well. Carlow rising, Laois getting a bit of a bounce out of Div 4 but not up to much.

Likewise I don't think we're within 10 points of Dublin and may not even be that close to Kildare either. The team that lined out against Westmeath was our strongest hand I would say.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 16, 2018, 02:57:42 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 16, 2018, 01:49:54 PM
Likewise I don't think we're within 10 points of Dublin and may not even be that close to Kildare either. The team that lined out against Westmeath was our strongest hand I would say.

(https://i0.wp.com/elizabethtpeters.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/img_7707.jpg?fit=584%2C303&ssl=1)
Post by: LooseCannon on May 16, 2018, 05:45:30 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 16, 2018, 10:06:53 AM
We'd have half of South Roscommon with the land grab so...,
Seriously f**k off, I'd sooner join with ye than them, or Leix, or Tipp, or Meath, or Kildare, or Galway.
Post by: Jinxy on May 16, 2018, 09:23:43 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 16, 2018, 02:57:42 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 16, 2018, 01:49:54 PM

(https://i0.wp.com/elizabethtpeters.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/img_7707.jpg?fit=584%2C303&ssl=1)

I know, we'd easily get within 6 points of Kildare!
Post by: thejuice on May 16, 2018, 09:57:19 PM
Kildare beat us by 10 in the league and 9 in Leinster last year. Have we got any better. No. Have Kildare gotten any worse. Maybe. So on that basis I'm not sure we'd get within ten points of them however I'm pretty certain we are not within 10 points of Dublin if we played them.

. Comprende?

Post by: Rossfan on May 17, 2018, 12:03:42 AM
Worry about the Super Larries first.
Post by: thejuice on May 17, 2018, 01:34:51 AM
Obviously but the basis of the discussion was about teams improving or otherwise  and the general state of football in Leinster and nothing about who will beat what team and when.

Anyway if I'm so confident in my team that I'm not even sure if we're within ten points of arguably the second best team in the province I'm hardly of the state of mind that I'm dismissing Longford or any other team in Leinster.
Post by: Rossfan on May 17, 2018, 08:55:13 AM
Time Leinster took a leaf out of Kerry's book with combined teams.
The new set up would be
Dublin
Longford*
North Leinster (Louth/Meath/Westmeath)
East Leinster (Kildare/Wicklow/Wexford)
West Leinster (Laois/Offaly/Carlow/Kilkenny).

*Larries always punch above their weight and are always enthusiastic unlike the apathy of the other 10.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 17, 2018, 09:45:45 AM
Quote from: LooseCannon on May 16, 2018, 05:45:30 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 16, 2018, 10:06:53 AM
We'd have half of South Roscommon with the land grab so...,
Seriously f**k off, I'd sooner join with ye than them, or Leix, or Tipp, or Meath, or Kildare, or Galway.

I suggest you consider joining with yourselves. https://www.offalyexpress.ie/news/sport/313534/offaly-selector-perplexed-by-football-fallout-amid-brian-gavin-criticism.html (https://www.offalyexpress.ie/news/sport/313534/offaly-selector-perplexed-by-football-fallout-amid-brian-gavin-criticism.html)
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 17, 2018, 10:47:39 AM
If Leinster was a family and the GAA were the parents we would be talking about favoured child syndrome and it's negative affects on the rest of the family.

If Leinster Football was a person, they would be seeking mental help. The people who tell Leinster counties that you are a disgrace, rubbish etc, stop blaming Dublin etc are the same people who faced with a friend or family member with metal health issues, tell them to "man up" and stop felling sorry for yourselves. No acknowledgment or solutions.

When you have the GAA doing everything in their power to ensure one county's success above all others it is only natural that players will feel apathy towards those competitions. The financial doping of Dublin has cause and effect. The only thing keeping GAA alive at inter-county level is the National League, the Ulster & Connacht Championships. Super8 will give a fillip for may 3 years after that the All-Ireland series will fall away. The damage done in Leinster is going to be very hard to repair if ever.
Post by: Rossfan on May 17, 2018, 10:51:47 AM
Sad but mostly true Dinny.
However with the Qualifiers freeing Teams from the Provincials stratjacket  I have to ask why can't Meath or Kildare  be as good as Roscommon, Cavan or Monaghan whose populations are no more than one third of the 2 Leinster Counties.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 17, 2018, 11:06:06 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 17, 2018, 10:51:47 AM
However with the Qualifiers freeing Teams from the Provincials stratjacket  I have to ask why can't Meath or Kildare  be as good as Roscommon, Cavan or Monaghan whose populations are no more than one third of the 2 Leinster Counties.

Kildare have a decent qualifier record, most wins I believe.
Post by: thejuice on May 17, 2018, 11:54:19 AM
For us it's general apathy and lads choosing rugby, Aussie rules or a life in New York or just a life without county football.

That and serious neglect of underage which was only put right under Mick O'Dowds tenure and will bear fruit in the next three years hopefully. Takes a long time to turn this juggernaut around before it goes off a cliff.
Post by: Hound on May 18, 2018, 10:20:45 AM

It's not really mostly true. The "financial doping" is pure crybaby nonsense that Dinny loves to throw out.

The massive advantage the Dubs have is population. More kids and more volunteer coaches and administrators than everyone else by a big factor. Our County Board is the best run in Leinster by a mile. Our clubs have really upped their game in the last decade too. Geography is massive too, not having to travel any distance to get to Croke Park, not having to travel any distance to get to training. Finding a reliable freetaker has been absolutely huge too! And we've got a top top manager.

Agree totally that Kildare and Meath in particular are punching well below their weight. I don't think Kildare are as far away as the NFL suggested. Rarely more than a kick of the ball away from the Dubs at underage. And I'm sure they feel themselves that they're not far away from Galway level. Although having an easier provincial title to fight for in the first instance, is certainly an advantage Galway has over Kildare, from an "in the head" point of view anyway.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 18, 2018, 10:37:39 AM
Quote from: Hound on May 18, 2018, 10:20:45 AM

It's not really mostly true. The "financial doping" is pure crybaby nonsense that Dinny loves to throw out.

The massive advantage the Dubs have is population. More kids and more volunteer coaches and administrators than everyone else by a big factor. Our County Board is the best run in Leinster by a mile. Our clubs have really upped their game in the last decade too. Geography is massive too, not having to travel any distance to get to Croke Park, not having to travel any distance to get to training. Finding a reliable freetaker has been absolutely huge too! And we've got a top top manager.

Agree totally that Kildare and Meath in particular are punching well below their weight. I don't think Kildare are as far away as the NFL suggested. Rarely more than a kick of the ball away from the Dubs at underage. And I'm sure they feel themselves that they're not far away from Galway level. Although having an easier provincial title to fight for in the first instance, is certainly an advantage Galway has over Kildare, from an "in the head" point of view anyway.

More head in the sand from Dublin supporters. Are they all that dumb that they just deny it over and over? Dublin are financially doped organically through their own commercial operations and inorganically via the GAA and the Government, that is a factual reality that no Dublin supporter can refute.
Post by: Hound on May 21, 2018, 03:03:48 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 18, 2018, 10:37:39 AM
Quote from: Hound on May 18, 2018, 10:20:45 AM

More head in the sand from Dublin supporters. Are they all that dumb that they just deny it over and over? Dublin are financially doped organically through their own commercial operations and inorganically via the GAA and the Government, that is a factual reality that no Dublin supporter can refute.
I refute it, but maybe it's because I don't understand.

For me, we look after our intercounty players really well, but no better than, for example, Mayo or Kerry look after their players.

Is Subaru giving the lads cars financial doping? Do any Kildare lads get cars? Is that the difference?

As mentioned numerous times most of the funds that go into coaching is at grassroots and focused on getting more people playing. The Dublin players will have received next to no coaching from paid coaches in their youth.

Maybe here's a way you can explain it to me. Take the potential Dublin v Kildare game this year. Game will be played in Croke Park, that's a benefit to Dublin. Dublin lads will all have short trips to training all year because they are all working or studying in Dublin. That's another advantage to Dublin (although Kildare lads probably better off than most teams in terms of distance to training). Dublin have a bigger population, thus a bigger pick, that's another advantage. But the "financial doping" advantage is the one I can't see. Dublin lads have been trained all their lives by volunteers, and they're not getting paid for playing. 
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 22, 2018, 07:24:19 AM
Kildare spent €756,083 on inter-county spend.

12 Inter-county league and championship football games. 8 inter-county league and championship hurling games.

37804.15 per game.

Dublin spent €1,604,353 on inter-county spend.

14 Inter-county league and championship football games. 8 inter-county league and championship hurling games.

72925.13 per game.

Kildare and Dublin are a good comparison because they don't have the same travel expenses as the other counties. So if there is no tangible benefit to spending twice as much as your neighbour on team preparation, then why spend it? No other county spends as much on their teams, no other county has the same backroom and support structures.

Giving Dublin GAA millions to invest in grass roots coaching only benefits Dublin GAA, it increases participation, it increases the quality of coaching, it helps define clear pathways from underage through to senior, it's a long-term benefit for Dublin GAA paid for by everybody else. We are financially doping Dublin, period.

Btw as for the Saburus I couldn't give a sh*t about them, fair play to the players for getting a reward for their commitment but no other squad is so well rewarded but that has nothing to do with financial doping.

Post by: Jinxy on May 22, 2018, 09:49:58 AM
No self-respecting Kildare man would lower himself to drive a subaru anyway.
Post by: twohands!!! on May 23, 2018, 05:47:04 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 22, 2018, 09:49:58 AM
No self-respecting Kildare man would lower himself to drive a subaru anyway.

Woeful at pulling a horse-box apparently.