GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Lar Naparka on July 10, 2017, 03:23:15 PM

Title: Saturday July 22 Cork v Mayo, Gaelic Grounds, 5PM
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 10, 2017, 03:23:15 PM
I'm very surprised than none of the usual suspects has started a thread about this fixture yet so I decided to thrown in the ball...
Title: Re: Saturday July 22 Cork v Mayo, Gaelic Grounds, TBC
Post by: The Trap on July 10, 2017, 03:33:32 PM
No point in a thread.......12000 Mayo people will turn up in a 12100 crowd and Mayo will win by 10 points.
Post by: mayo.mick on July 10, 2017, 03:39:01 PM
Will there be a minor game on before?
Post by: johnneycool on July 10, 2017, 03:41:59 PM
Quote from: The Trap on July 10, 2017, 03:33:32 PM
No point in a thread.......12000 Mayo people will turn up in a 12100 crowd and Mayo will win by 10 points.

Over 8K turned up at a recent Cork minor hurling replay with Tipp on a Monday night and most of the sell out on Sunday in Thurles were Cork supporters. They'll be saving their money up for a trip to Croke Park in August now!

Cork footballers just don't seem to enthrall the masses like their hurlers.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 10, 2017, 03:47:46 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on July 10, 2017, 03:41:59 PM

Over 8K turned up at a recent Cork minor hurling replay with Tipp on a Monday night and most of the sell out on Sunday in Thurles were Cork supporters. They'll be saving their money up for a trip to Croke Park in August now!

1 point win over Waterford
1 point win over Tipp
11 point loss to Kerry (and it didn't exactly look to me like Kerry hit top gear either)

Currently 100/1 to pick up Sam (only Carlow at 500/1 are longer odds)

I wouldn't be surprised if the crowd was 90% plus Mayo supporters.

Post by: rosnarun on July 10, 2017, 03:48:35 PM
look if Rocommon can win a game ,any game, the were in a new anything can happen world  .
mayo need to take this very seriously .
Cork to me look like a team waiting to explode though may well implode before they do that  but there is huge talent on the panel and in the county
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 10, 2017, 03:50:27 PM
Should be routine win for Mayo. Clare would beat Cork if they played them they are in a bad place right now and so poorly coached.
Post by: Owenmoresider on July 10, 2017, 03:55:07 PM

We've played them three times over the last 10-12 years and always outnumbered them even with our small base, the first meeting in Portlaoise had three Cork teams on the one bill but still their support was derisory. Only when it's Kerry or an All Ireland will they make the effort.

Didn't see Mayo on Saturday but I should think they're going well enough now to get through this, especially if Cork can't seriously improve on the Munster final display. And if it's anything like the first half against Tipp it could get ugly for them.
Post by: joemamas on July 10, 2017, 03:58:54 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 10, 2017, 03:47:46 PM

1 point win over Tipp
11 point loss to Kerry (and it didn't exactly look to me like Kerry hit top gear either)

I have a feeling the powers to be in Croke Park would really like to see Mayo winning, as it would most likely add 15k-20k to Sunday July 30th whoever we play.

I think Mayo will win, as I am not sure Cork will have any desire to even potentially meet Kerry in Croke in August.

Mayo are getting better , but after yesterdays Connacht final performance by Galway, adding to our already poor performace V Derry for 65 minutes and an absolutely brutal first half V Clare, I truly don't know how good or bad or tired or fresh we are.
Post by: mayo.mick on July 10, 2017, 04:18:28 PM
Match confirmed for 5pm
Post by: twohands!!! on July 10, 2017, 06:02:55 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 10, 2017, 03:58:54 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 10, 2017, 03:47:46 PM

1 point win over Tipp

I have a feeling the powers to be in Croke Park would really like to see Mayo winning, as it would most likely add 15k-20k to Sunday July 30th whoever we play.

I think Mayo will win, as I am not sure Cork will have any desire to even potentially meet Kerry in Croke in August.

Mayo are getting better , but after yesterdays Connacht final performance by Galway, adding to our already poor performace V Derry for 65 minutes and an absolutely brutal first half V Clare, I truly don't know how good or bad or tired or fresh we are.

Yeah good point on potentially meeting Kerry again - once Kerry had their scoring burst at the start of the 2nd half, it looked like a lot of the Cork players had zero interest at all in even trying to make a game out of it - they have the look and feel about them of a team who are goods odds to be only going through the motions the next day.
Post by: blast05 on July 10, 2017, 10:47:21 PM
1993 All-Ireland semi-final .... Corks final score against us more like the time the train was leaving Hueston Station 5-15.
1989 .... Jimmy Browne never raised the Sam Maguire.
1999 ..... James Nallen midfield. Kenny Mortimer centre forward. Strange. All ending in a desperately disappointing 6 point defeat.
2010 ..... hammered out the gate on the NFL final

Enough of disappointment bottled up there to do 2 life times.
And so i will never take those langer bastards for granted or be arrogant and dumb enough to presume anything when it comes to playing them.
Get the neck on their throat early and squeeze hard
Post by: Syferus on July 11, 2017, 12:21:46 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 10, 2017, 03:48:35 PM
look if Rocommon can win a game ,any game, the were in a new anything can happen world  .
mayo need to take this very seriously .
Cork to me look like a team waiting to explode though may well implode before they do that  but there is huge talent on the panel and in the county

No there isn't. I'm sick of hearing of all this great talent in Cork the last 15 years yet it never showed itself, even in the year they won an AI, as much by luck as anything else. You cannot keep blaming structures.
Title: Re: Saturday July 22 Cork v Mayo, Gaelic Grounds, 5PM
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 11, 2017, 12:32:31 AM
I'm enjoying this back door craic, loads of games and lads getting good experience.

Cork seem shambolic at the moment but they were too last February and they gave us a right trimming down there

I'd imagine we'll have enough for them.
Post by: Hound on July 11, 2017, 09:06:42 AM
Quote from: blast05 on July 10, 2017, 10:47:21 PM
1993 All-Ireland semi-final .... Corks final score against us more like the time the train was leaving Hueston Station 5-15.
1999 ..... James Nallen midfield. Kenny Mortimer centre forward. Strange. All ending in a desperately disappointing 6 point defeat.

And so i will never take those langer b**tards for granted or be arrogant and dumb enough to presume anything when it comes to playing them.
Have Cork and Mayo really not met in championship since the turn of the millenium?
(or are you just reminiscing on bad memories!)
Post by: shark on July 11, 2017, 09:14:48 AM
Quote from: Hound on July 11, 2017, 09:06:42 AM

And so i will never take those langer b**tards for granted or be arrogant and dumb enough to presume anything when it comes to playing them.
Have Cork and Mayo really not met in championship since the turn of the millenium?

Mayo beat Cork in 1/4 final 2011 and 2014. He's only looking on the negatives.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 11, 2017, 05:16:15 PM
Quote13. Alan Cadogan (Cork)

Caused consternation in the Clare defence throughout the provincial showdown and contributed 1-4 to his team's winning tally.

This is one of the many problems for Cork, a top underage footballer but opting for hurling instead.
Post by: Syferus on July 11, 2017, 06:09:17 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 11, 2017, 05:16:15 PM
Quote13. Alan Cadogan (Cork)

Caused consternation in the Clare defence throughout the provincial showdown and contributed 1-4 to his team's winning tally.

This is one of the many problems for Cork, a top underage footballer but opting for hurling instead.

He was always a hurler first, there was no opting involved. You're colouring it to suit your argument.
Post by: sans pessimism on July 11, 2017, 07:18:37 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 11, 2017, 09:06:42 AM

2011 AIQF Mayo v Cork.Mayo won.
Post by: INDIANA on July 11, 2017, 10:10:17 PM
Have they installed a UFC ring for this ?
Post by: Crete Boom on July 11, 2017, 10:16:57 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 11, 2017, 10:10:17 PM

Pray tell, why would they do that Charlie?
Post by: From the Bunker on July 11, 2017, 10:27:15 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on July 11, 2017, 10:16:57 PM

He's on about this..... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aDb9nvzY9sY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aDb9nvzY9sY)
Post by: Tubberman on July 11, 2017, 10:49:38 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 11, 2017, 10:27:15 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on July 11, 2017, 10:16:57 PM

He's on about this..... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aDb9nvzY9sY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aDb9nvzY9sY)

"A heavy knock", "that'll hurt". Good man Dessie...
Post by: ballinaman on July 11, 2017, 10:55:36 PM

Are you inferring that Cork will follow Clare's modus operandi ?

https://youtu.be/sky8ojZPdKE
Post by: blast05 on July 11, 2017, 11:48:49 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 11, 2017, 10:55:36 PM

And yet the Sunday Game chose to get the Dublin GAA commercial manager to comment on the incident a few seconds after this when Cillian eventually had no choice but to try and defend himself.

Post by: Ballaghman on July 12, 2017, 12:01:54 AM
Quote from: blast05 on July 11, 2017, 11:48:49 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 11, 2017, 10:55:36 PM

And yet the Sunday Game chose to get the Dublin GAA commercial manager to comment on the incident a few seconds after this when Cillian eventually had no choice but to try and defend himself.
Lads the whole thing was so pathetic it's not even worth commenting. COC has nothing to answer for and on we go. When the dubs are throwing stones while defending McMahon, Cooper, Connolly, McCauley........., all you can do is smile at the blinkers/ignorance.
As for Cork, is there any chance there's a kick in them at all? They won't throw in the towel as easy against us as they did against Kerry but if we play anything like we did in the 2nd half against Clare we'll have too much for them in the second half. I very much doubt there'll be any complacency in the camp anyway. Cork (on paper) are a big team and will get respect which is something that makes me less nervous.
Post by: Mayo Club 51 on July 12, 2017, 12:36:22 PM
Match tickets now on sale

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DEhqwfmWAAAZVgg.jpg)
Post by: iorras on July 12, 2017, 02:24:32 PM
Yerra, Depends really, if the Mayo of the second half against Clare show up then a 4 to 5 point win for Mayo is in the offing.
If the other Mayo shows up then Cork could well win this.
Cork have a panel of reasonably good footballers, some top class, some mediocre - their management team is a bit pants and thats where their problem lies. However, if Mayo give them the space and time in the fist half they did Derry and Clare then you can expect Cork to take alot more of those chances and Mayo might well end up with a gap thats too big to overcome.
The hurling win will give the footballers a bit more of "we want that too" so I would expect them to have alot more about them then they did against Waterford and Tipp.
They wont fear Mayo, they never do. 2011 happened because Mayo hit them with stuff they werent expecting and they didnt respect Mayo, Cork could easily have won in 2014 if Cadogan had continued to play football instead of trying to box the head off everyone in a green and red jersey, and that was another day when everyone felt Mayo just needed to show up.
Will be interesting to say the least.
Tis all only a competition anyway to see who is going to lose to the all conquering Rossies or one of the two participants in the peoples All Ireland Final Kerry in the quarters.
Post by: Crete Boom on July 12, 2017, 02:59:33 PM
Kerrigan & Co could have a lot of joy running at the heart of our defense like every other team at the moment!!
Post by: Rossfan on July 12, 2017, 03:04:58 PM
"All conquering Rossies"
Aye - we bet Cyaavan, Laythrum and flaky Galway this year.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 12, 2017, 03:23:03 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 12, 2017, 03:04:58 PM
"All conquering Rossies"
What's the story Ross?
Could we wind up playing each other?
(I'd pity poor Syferus if we do; he'll be like a poodle with two lamposts and only one piss.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 12, 2017, 03:41:47 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 12, 2017, 03:23:03 PM
"All conquering Rossies"
What's the story Ross?
(I'd pity poor Syferus if we do; he'll be like a poodle with two lamposts and only one piss.

Kerry or Roscommon for Mayo if they reach the quarter final and a case could be made its better for Mayo to play Kerry in the quarter final than a semi final.
Post by: Rossfan on July 12, 2017, 05:05:52 PM
"All conquering Rossies"
What's the story Ross?
Don't know if it would be Syfīn's ultimate nightmare or wet dream.....
If Galway (or Connemara as a lot of the Herrins are now calling them) win then we have to play winners of  Langers/Rhubarbs game.
Should be some craic round Ballagh as the true Rossies try to restrain themselves when facing Traitors.
Post by: oliverkelly on July 13, 2017, 10:57:36 AM
Watched some of the hurling last night played in Limerick and the pitch didnt look in good condition at all.
Post by: PW Nally on July 13, 2017, 02:05:37 PM
Quote from: oliverkelly on July 13, 2017, 10:57:36 AM
Watched some of the hurling last night played in Limerick and the pitch didnt look in good condition at all.
Bad stadium for crowd expected as will suppress any atmosphere with attendance maybe 20% of capacity.

Why not have it in Ennis again with 80% of capacity achievable and closer to half way between both counties.

Will look bad on TV also.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 13, 2017, 04:25:21 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 12, 2017, 05:05:52 PM
"All conquering Rossies"
What's the story Ross?
Don't know if it would be Syfīn's ultimate nightmare or wet dream.....
If Galway (or Connemara as a lot of the Herrins are now calling them) win then we have to play winners of  Langers/Rhubarbs game.
Should be some craic round Ballagh as the true Rossies try to restrain themselves when facing Traitors.
True Rossies, me arse! ;D ;D
Ye have spent the last 6 generations trying to get the Gaels of Ballagh to lower their standards and lie down with ye. I'd be embarrassed t even mention Ballagh in public if I was a sheep shagger.
Post by: Rossfan on July 13, 2017, 04:34:20 PM
If some people in that West Roscommon town want to hide from the light and wallow in the darkness off with them.
Post by: Crete Boom on July 13, 2017, 04:57:25 PM
There seems to be a lot of traitors in Roscommon , Ballagh People , the lads who appointed McStay & McHale , the lads who stayed on the panel etc..

What I am wondering is , is the policing of all these traitors left up to Rossfan & Gay Sheerin or do the get some help fom time to time??

I suppose this is the price of a bit of silverware these days!!
Post by: Rossfan on July 13, 2017, 05:00:24 PM
Ye lads should be preparing for the trip to the Ennis Road and not be sticking ye're Rhubarby noses into Provincial Championship affairs :P
Post by: Crete Boom on July 13, 2017, 05:07:42 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 13, 2017, 05:00:24 PM
Ye lads should be preparing for the trip to the Enniskillen Road and not be sticking ye're Rhubarby noses into Provincial Championship affairs :P

Where would you be without the Mayo nous of McStay & McHale though Rossfan?? You are welcome by the way!! ;D
Post by: Rossfan on July 13, 2017, 05:23:53 PM
Ahhh Creteen they couldn't make a silk purse out of a pig's lug.
We produced the players in the first place ;)
Fair play to them all the same.
Post by: Crete Boom on July 13, 2017, 05:47:26 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 13, 2017, 05:23:53 PM
Ahhh Creteen they couldn't make a silk purse out of a pig's lug.
We produced the players in the first place ;)
Fair play to them all the same.

Ah come on Ross I now Syferus makes you hate all things Mayo even more ( which I can uderstand to be honest!!) but McStay & McHale have delivered an All Ireland Club Championship, a Connacht title and a first win in the championship in 16 years over one of the big two in Connacht!! Surely we deserve some love for that haul??
Post by: Rossfan on July 13, 2017, 06:29:02 PM
Ye owe us that to make up for the Tanman😈
Post by: Syferus on July 13, 2017, 08:18:52 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 13, 2017, 06:29:02 PM
Ye owe us that to make up for the Tanman😈

No more cool, clean superhero jibes? Awful quiet on that front for someone who was proven to be spectacularly wrong.

No point having good players without a good manager, indeed you were questioning if many of these players were even good enough for inter-county.. it's a wonder we have so many good players in your eyes at all.
Post by: Rossfan on July 13, 2017, 08:40:33 PM
You've been dying all week to have a go at someone who wasn't impressed by McStay's efforts earlier in the year.
Fair play to well paid manager prepares team to be mentally and physically fit for 1st big Championship game in July with 9 months notice.
One big swallow alright but next game will tell how good the Summer is.
The real work starts now. Let's hope he can do as well when he has only 6 days notice of who our next opponents are.
I was giving him 1/10 during NFL, 2/10 at end of it. Giving him 5/10 now.
The man I said wasn't an IC footballer had his best game - because he was sent out from the danger area to where he could horse and battle.
Again he needs to do as well again 30th July.
I hope he does as contrary to your perceptions I want to see every Ros player do very well and by extension the manager/ment.

Apologies to the Co.  Mayo lads for ruining their thread.

Post by: Crete Boom on July 13, 2017, 09:06:56 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 13, 2017, 08:40:33 PM
You've been dying all week to have a go at someone who wasn't impressed by McStay's efforts earlier in the year.
Fair play to well paid manager prepares team to be mentally and physically fit for 1st big Championship game in July with 9 months notice.
One big swallow alright but next game will tell how good the Summer is.
The real work starts now. Let's hope he can do as well when he has only 6 days notice of who our next opponents are.
I was giving him 1/10 during NFL, 2/10 at end of it. Giving him 5/10 now.
The man I said wasn't an IC footballer had his best game - because he was sent out from the danger area to where he could horse and battle.
Again he needs to do as well again 30th July.
I hope he does as contrary to your perceptions I want to see every Ros player do very well and by extension the manager/ment.

Apologies to the Co.  Mayo lads for ruining their thread.

No apologies needed Rossfan it's good craic and good to see you on the rise. Anyone for a Mayo Ross semifinal??
Post by: Rossfan on July 13, 2017, 09:23:28 PM
Long shot - ye have to bate the Langers and the Fishers have to bate the Herrins.
Then we have to bate the Fishers and ye'll have to bate the kutehoors.

But t'would be some craic.
Syfīn wouldn't know who to support :-[
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 14, 2017, 10:33:38 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 13, 2017, 09:23:28 PM
Long shot - ye have to bate the Langers and the Fishers have to bate the Herrins.
Then we have to bate the Fishers and ye'll have to bate the kutehoors.

But t'would be some craic.
Syfīn wouldn't know who to support :-[

That wouldn't really surprise me if ye met to be honest. One game at a time etc
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 18, 2017, 08:43:18 AM
Mayo will win this handy, draw has unfolded well for them - they've got the weakest Provincial runner up in Cork and a good chance they will get the weakest Provinical winner in Roscommon. I think they should be chomping for Kerry in the quarters though, Kerry are 3/4 weeks cold in that case and Mayo will have a bit of momentum built up. A semi-final meeting takes those advantages away from Mayo.

Post by: larryin89 on July 18, 2017, 08:52:18 AM
Cork are the value bet of the championship. Apart from our really piss poor form , there is strong rumour of a very unsettled camp, this tends to happen when a team is finished , some lads find it very hard to accept after such a trojan effort.  A nice softly does it exit is what the whole of Mayo need players and supporters.
Post by: Rossfan on July 18, 2017, 09:01:19 AM
Would be a nice way to go and kind of fitting in a way that it would be v Cork.
It was against then AI Champions Cork that this team announced its arrival as a  major force in 2011.
Despite my not being a lover of things Rhubarb it's still a pity ye didn't win Sam one if the years.
Post by: Syferus on July 18, 2017, 09:22:41 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 18, 2017, 09:01:19 AM
It was against then AI Champions Cork that this team announced its arrival as a  major force in 2011.
Despite my not being a lover of things Rhubarb it's still a pity ye didn't win Sam one if the years.

A much more fitting exit would be losing to us in Croker. Losing to this Cork team would be Longford 2010 embarrassing.
Post by: ballinaman on July 18, 2017, 09:24:15 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 18, 2017, 08:52:18 AM
Cork are the value bet of the championship. Apart from our really piss poor form , there is strong rumour of a very unsettled camp, this tends to happen when a team is finished , some lads find it very hard to accept after such a trojan effort.  A nice softly does it exit is what the whole of Mayo need players and supporters.
Bullshit. Lads are in great form. Expect them to ate the langers. Up Mayo. " We will not go quietly into the night ".  ;)
Post by: seafoid on July 18, 2017, 09:43:31 AM
It would be significant if the wheels fell off against Cork.  Mayo and Cork are similar versions of the same psychological problem except that Cork can eventually manage the odd all Ireland. They both lose a lot of finals . Could Mayo not go out in the style of the fillim gladiator ? Winning the final by point and then dying
Post by: Rossfan on July 18, 2017, 09:48:33 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 18, 2017, 09:22:41 AM

A much more fitting exit would be losing to us in Croker. Losing to this Cork team would be Longford 2010 embarrassing.

I love 2010 :D
Post by: larryin89 on July 18, 2017, 10:03:16 AM
Of course its a pity they didnt grab one but such is life . Despite all the little niggles and sneering by some neutrals , i actually believe most GAA people would of liked  to see this Mayo team win one .But they wi be remembered as a very good side with some brilliant displays from 2011-2016.

Despite all that we have to move on and build for the future now , we still are div one and have a realistic chance of getting to super 8 next year (home games v galway and ross are due in provincial 18) . Loftus looks a prospect to replace Andy. Stephen coen i think has really shown he has the quality to make an impact. Durcan and diarmuid are already established , just need to keep adding 2/3  new players in 18 and 19 to slot in for retirements but these bucks will not be easy replaced.

Look im 40 now, ill give up the smokes when we exit this year, so i still might see them lift sam if i get another 20 years .
Post by: Crete Boom on July 18, 2017, 10:13:15 AM
I'll take a flukey one point win in this one. I just can't shake the feeling that Powter, Kerrigan & Co will run all day right through the heart of our defence, combined with high ball rained down on top of Kelleher & Caff that will cause us untold problems. Ian McGuire is no mug in midfield so we have to hope we fire up front to try and keep our noses in front.
We never put away teams these days so the longer we leave Cork in the game the moe confident they will get and they have enough about the to take Mayo out!!
If we have a slow start Cork could get far enough ahead that we can't reel them in!!
I am going to wear my Farrandeelin cap for this one and say I'm worried we will be ambushed in Limerick!!
We definitely need another powerhouse performance from Aidan in this game to see us through!!
Post by: macdanger2 on July 18, 2017, 08:47:43 PM
Jaysus, there's no end of people lining up to write this team's obituary, I think they have a bit left in the tank yet though.

I'd say brehony, mcgee and others have their articles already penned for when it happens and I'd safely say there'll be several irrelevant references to the H&C saga in both
Post by: Ball Hopper on July 18, 2017, 08:52:03 PM
Curtain Raiser in Limerick sees Kerry and Leitrim in the All-Ireland semi-final of the junior football.

I read somewhere that 7/8 of the Leitrim squad that won Connacht are now ineligible as they featured in the Senior championship thereafter.  Is that true?
Post by: highorlow on July 18, 2017, 10:23:47 PM
I'd be worried if we got 7 to 8 points down after 20mins. Likely panic would set in. Hopefully the slow start the last day was tactical but it's been a habit for a while now. One thing is we don't want to give them a sniff as they could gain in confidence and we could likely erode.

I'd imagine we will be dictating this one from the start though and should be able to dominate with our running game and AOS in FF this time.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 18, 2017, 10:38:49 PM
for the second year in a row Mayo have got a nice run after a defeat in Connacht

last year they got a few handy games in McHale Park to ease them back into it.
same with this year, no team with a killer punch to beat them when they were ton the ropes in both games
are Cork capable of doing that?
doubtful.

Post by: twohands!!! on July 18, 2017, 11:08:27 PM
Cork are woeful - If Mayo can't take care of them fairly comfortably , they may as well pack it in.
Post by: rosnarun on July 19, 2017, 02:34:31 PM
Quote from: highorlow on July 18, 2017, 10:23:47 PM
I'd be worried if we got 7 to 8 points down after 20mins. Likely panic would set in. Hopefully the slow start the last day was tactical but it's been a habit for a while now. One thing is we don't want to give them a sniff as they could gain in confidence and we could likely erode.

I'd imagine we will be dictating this one from the start though and should be able to dominate with our running game and AOS in FF this time.
when will mayo fans realize that this is a magnificent team with big characters and does not run and hide and fold at 1st sign if pressure .
I always feel there is a claque of fans out there just waiting for   signs of weakness to jump on the team and players like Aidan and Clillian in particular
Post by: Syferus on July 19, 2017, 02:56:04 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 19, 2017, 02:34:31 PM

when will mayo fans realize that this is a magnificent team with big characters and does not run and hide and fold at 1st sign if pressure .
I always feel there is a claque of fans out there just waiting for   signs of weakness to jump on the team and players like Aidan and Clillian in particular

What county isn't that way?
Post by: larryin89 on July 19, 2017, 04:46:02 PM
I attend every game league and championship and converse with many mayo supporters , none think anything like that rosnarun.

Everyone is proud of this group. But they cannot go on forever , if its the realists youre meaning . Mayo will not win the all ireland this year unless they find an unbelievable kick into top form , on current form we are honestly only pricking about for the sake of it.
Post by: Crete Boom on July 19, 2017, 05:20:46 PM

Mayo have been fairly inconsistent in these types of games over the last 2 or 3 years and haven't really put a team to the sword since the 2015 Connacht final so that what makes me worry about this game.
Actually I find more common is the mayo fans waiting to jump on the mistake made by a player from a rival club just so they can write them off for example a Keenagh man only commenting on any Stephenites players when they make a mistake/have a bad game rather than when they have a good game!! ;)
Post by: rosnarun on July 20, 2017, 10:48:15 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 19, 2017, 04:46:02 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on July 19, 2017, 05:20:46 PM

Mayo have been fairly inconsistent in these types of games over the last 2 or 3 years and haven't really put a team to the sword since the 2015 Connacht final so that what makes me worry about this game.
Actually I find more common is the mayo fans waiting to jump on the mistake made by a player from a rival club just so they can write them off for example a Keenagh man only commenting on any Stephenites players when they make a mistake/have a bad game rather than when they have a good game!! ;)

I attend every game league and championship and converse with many mayo supporters , none think anything like that rosnarun.

Everyone is proud of this group. But they cannot go on forever , if its the realists youre meaning . Mayo will not win the all ireland this year unless they find an unbelievable kick into top form , on current form we are honestly only pricking about for the sake of it.
you must be going into dark history here last Stephenites  player to have a bad game for may must have been Paddy Moclair  but I think he was with castlebar at the time. all the rest were excellent esp the 25 or so that were given the chance after they won the club all-ireland
Post by: AMayoFan on July 20, 2017, 11:31:21 AM
I'm not buying that Cork are as bad as what folks here are thinking.  Reading through stats of the game against Kerry from https://dontfoul.wordpress.com/

'How Kerry ended up with an 11 point win however is purely down to the Conversion Rates'

All respect to our lads but I don't see them going 41 mins without a wide and generating 14 point attempts!  I will also guess the pattern of us picking up black cards will continue (particular when Kerrigan runs at our backs).  Who knows what impact that will have on Sat! 
Post by: highorlow on July 20, 2017, 11:55:38 AM
QuoteI will also guess the pattern of us picking up black cards will continue

Dermo's buddy Branagan is the ref.

He likes us.
Post by: AMayoFan on July 20, 2017, 12:01:25 PM
Quote from: highorlow on July 20, 2017, 11:55:38 AM
QuoteI will also guess the pattern of us picking up black cards will continue

Dermo's buddy Branagan is the ref.

He likes us.
;D - I guess they won't be sending each other XMas cards.

Post by: Crete Boom on July 20, 2017, 01:32:31 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 20, 2017, 10:48:15 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 19, 2017, 04:46:02 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on July 19, 2017, 05:20:46 PM

you must be going into dark history here last Stephenites  player to have a bad game for may must have been Paddy Moclair  but I think he was with castlebar at the time. all the rest were excellent esp the 25 or so that were given the chance after they won the club all-ireland

Ah Rosnarun, see you need to leave the bitterness behind and support your county!! ;D Running down an all time legend like Paddy Moclair just because of his association with Ballina is just sad  :'(. What hope have Caff and Clarkie on Sat with this discrimination!!! :o
Post by: mayoaremagic on July 20, 2017, 04:32:35 PM
There is something special about this Mayo team this year, how they all came back this year after their monster run last year, getting just seconds from victory. I contine to say, Mayo WILL win it all this year! Roll on September 17, the players, back room team and fans...the date 17-9-17 is OURS! Maigh Eo Abú!!!!
Post by: From the Bunker on July 20, 2017, 07:28:31 PM
Quote from: mayoaremagic on July 20, 2017, 04:32:35 PM
There is something special about this Mayo team this year, how they all came back this year after their monster run last year, getting just seconds from victory. I contine to say, Mayo WILL win it all this year! Roll on September 17, the players, back room team and fans...the date 17-9-17 is OURS! Maigh Eo Abú!!!!

The Double is on! Hollymount and Mayo! ;)
Post by: joemamas on July 20, 2017, 07:51:44 PM

I think you should start a new thread.

Mayo V Cork Saturday 22nd of July 2017 17.00hrs
Post by: twohands!!! on July 20, 2017, 08:25:38 PM
I've heard two different players have been dropped from the Cork panel due to disciplinary reasons - Tom Clancy from Clonakilty and Peter Kelleher.

There's also something seriously bizarre going on with the goalkeeping situation - The goalkeeper from last year's minor has been called up to the panel. There was 3 keepers involved with the Cork U21 squad this year and this lad wasn't even one of them. On it's own it would be a bit unusual but the Corkman I was talking to said that they would have had the keeper in question way way down the pecking order - there was a number of lads who have been used in McGrath Cup and league games who he said would have been far more likely candidates - he wasn't sure if lads higher up the pecking order has turned down the offer to be involved. Not sure who exactly has been dropped/walked in terms of the keepers - whether it was the 2nd or 3rd choice.

Cork are definitely missing Niall Coakley through injury and Michael Shields, Ruairí Deane and James Loughrey are all in the being monitored category.

Rebels to exit with a whimper and I wouldn't be surprised if Mayo handed them a right whupping.
Post by: Jinxy on July 20, 2017, 08:26:34 PM
Cork people aren't like regular people.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 20, 2017, 08:36:13 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 20, 2017, 08:26:34 PM
Cork people aren't like regular people.

Cork people aren't liked by regular people.

I kid I kid.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on July 20, 2017, 10:11:48 PM
Any sign of a team?
Post by: Blowitupref on July 21, 2017, 12:34:14 AM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on July 18, 2017, 08:52:03 PM
Curtain Raiser in Limerick sees Kerry and Leitrim in the All-Ireland semi-final of the junior football.

I read somewhere that 7/8 of the Leitrim squad that won Connacht are now ineligible as they featured in the Senior championship thereafter.  Is that true?

10 players Leitrim will be missing.  Keith Beirne, Wayne McKeon, Oisin Madden, Noel Plunkett, Dean McGovern, Keith Keegan, Niall McGovern,Gary Plunkett,Conor Cullen,Brendan Gallagher all ruled out after their Senior roles this summer.
Post by: mayoaremagic on July 21, 2017, 10:14:29 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 20, 2017, 07:28:31 PM

The Double is on! Hollymount and Mayo! ;)

if we beat Davitts anything could happen Tom
Post by: Rossfan on July 21, 2017, 10:59:23 AM
Will Cork be remotely interested in this game or are they merely fulfilling the fixture?
They have a lot of good individual players but look like a crowd who first met in the dressing room every time they play.
Post by: mrhardyannual on July 21, 2017, 12:24:51 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 21, 2017, 10:59:23 AM
Will Cork be remotely interested in this game or are they merely fulfilling the fixture?
They have a lot of good individual players but look like a crowd who first met in the dressing room every time they play.
It's hard to guess at what Cork will do. Some of their play against Kerry was very good especially when they ran at them but the rest was naive at best. Nevertheless you would imagine that pride alone will draw a strong performance as Mayo would have been their preferred opponents at this stage. Mayo need to concentrate on their own game. Selection will be interesting. 9 backs for six positions. Personally I'd leave Harrison Cafferkey and Barrett in full back line, Keegan and Durkan on the wings and Higgins at chb. Cases can be made for Vaughan, Boyle & Coen but we thrive on fast counter attacking and imo these are our best options. Seamie and Parsons to start in the centre . My preference would be for McLoughlinn and Diarmuid to flank AOS, Cillian at FF with Andy and Loftus in the corners. Loftus has good attacking instincts but I was surprised by his seeming inability to track his direct opponent v Clare. I expect a win by more than a goal and a presence at the quarter final stage where the fun really starts.
Post by: seafoid on July 21, 2017, 04:44:45 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/mayo-would-be-gone-already-if-it-wasnt-for-aidan-oshea-john-omahony-35953189.html
"When you look at Dublin in the Leinster final, Tyrone in the Ulster final, Mayo are really depending on resilience and high energy.

"In fairness, what has happened in Mayo's case is that Aidan O'Shea (below) has come back into form. He was criticised enough when he wasn't in form.

"But the team isn't changing. The one exception was Conor Loftus who saved them against Derry. But there is not an assembly line like you have in some of the other counties."

O'Mahony feels that without O'Shea's impact in the last two games there would be no conversation about Mayo and Cork this week
Post by: Crete Boom on July 21, 2017, 05:31:13 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 21, 2017, 04:44:45 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/mayo-would-be-gone-already-if-it-wasnt-for-aidan-oshea-john-omahony-35953189.html
"When you look at Dublin in the Leinster final, Tyrone in the Ulster final, Mayo are really depending on resilience and high energy.

"In fairness, what has happened in Mayo's case is that Aidan O'Shea (below) has come back into form. He was criticised enough when he wasn't in form.

"But the team isn't changing. The one exception was Conor Loftus who saved them against Derry. But there is not an assembly line like you have in some of the other counties."

O'Mahony feels that without O'Shea's impact in the last two games there would be no conversation about Mayo and Cork this week

Maybe you should take Jonno back if you fall to Donegal this weekend Seaf?? You might get another picture in Sheridans then!!
Post by: seafoid on July 21, 2017, 06:19:46 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on July 21, 2017, 05:31:13 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 21, 2017, 04:44:45 PM

Maybe you should take Jonno back if you fall to Donegal this weekend Seaf?? You might get another picture in Sheridans then!!

http://biblehub.com/luke/4-24.htm
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 21, 2017, 09:31:59 PM
Cork team.

1.Ken O'Halloran – (Bishopstown)
2. James Loughrey – (Mallow)
3. Eoin Cadogan – (Douglas)
4. Jamie O Sullivan – (Bishopstown)
5. Sean Powter – (Douglas)
6. Michael Shields – (St Finbarrs)
7. Tomas Clancy – (Fermoy)
8. Aidan Walsh – (Kanturk)
9. Ian Maguire – (St Finbarr's)
10. Colm O Driscoll – (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
11. Mark Collins – (Castlehaven)
12. John O Rourke – (Carbery Rangers)
13. Barry O Driscoll – (Nemo Rangers)
14. Donncha O Connor – (Ballydesmond)
15. Paul Kerrigan – (Nemo Rangers)

Post by: Cunny Funt on July 21, 2017, 09:37:20 PM
Mayo team.

David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)
    Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
    Ger Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites)
    Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)
    Lee Keegan (Westport)
    Chris Barrett (Belmulet)
    Colm Boyle (Davitts)
    Seamus O'Shea (Breaffy)
    Tom Parsons (Charlestown)
    Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
    Aidan O'Shea (Breaffy)
    Diarmuid O'Connor (Ballintubber)
    Conor Loftus (Crossmolina)
    Cillian O'Connor (Ballintubber, captain)
    Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)
Post by: AZOffaly on July 21, 2017, 09:54:46 PM
I have tickets for this.  Looking forward to heading into the Ennis Road to look at one of the top teams in the country. And Mayo.😀
Post by: mrhardyannual on July 21, 2017, 10:03:06 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 21, 2017, 09:54:46 PM
I have tickets for this.  Looking forward to heading into the Ennis Road to look at one of the top teams in the country. And Mayo.😀
Offaly funny. Don't give up the day job. You'll never afford tickets on your comedian earnings.
Post by: Crete Boom on July 21, 2017, 10:05:43 PM

Good man AZ, I suppose it as important as ever these days to have a sense of humour being from Offaly!! ;D
Post by: macdanger2 on July 21, 2017, 10:10:33 PM

Weak enough geography there AZ, if you wanted to see us play a top team, you should have come to the Derry game
Post by: AZOffaly on July 21, 2017, 10:15:20 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on July 21, 2017, 10:05:43 PM

Good man AZ, I suppose it as important as ever these days to have a sense of humour being from Offaly!! ;D

You can sing that!
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 21, 2017, 10:19:09 PM
Happy enough with that Mayo team. If they play from the start then a win is likely. However our form to date this year doesn't suggest that it will happen. Might eke out a 1 point win. Then again Cork will be hurting badly and will want to put in a performance too to shut their ridiculers up. I wouldn't be surprised if they got a run at us and won either. If Mayo do win, they will probably lose the quarter final, or semi if they get that far. Up Mayo.
Post by: Crete Boom on July 21, 2017, 10:21:24 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 21, 2017, 10:15:20 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on July 21, 2017, 10:05:43 PM

You can sing that!

Munster are on the rise again though and Klop has made the pool exciting to watch again so it's not all doom and gloom AZ and of course nobody can erase this, https://youtu.be/Wxgju-2xbfQ !! :D
Post by: Zulu on July 22, 2017, 12:39:31 AM
Heading to this myself and expect Mayo to win. Don't know what the situation is in Cork but they aren't as bad as their performances indicate so Mayo need to deliver a performance. However, if they do they might win handy because if Cork fall 3 or 4 behind in the second half they might be happy for the season to be over and just pack their tents. If Mayo give them a lifeline Cork have enough quality to cause a surprise. Hope Mayo win as they have the heart for the battles ahead, don't think Cork have.
Post by: Tubberman on July 22, 2017, 06:07:05 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 21, 2017, 10:19:09 PM
Happy enough with that Mayo team. If they play from the start then a win is likely. However our form to date this year doesn't suggest that it will happen. Might eke out a 1 point win. Then again Cork will be hurting badly and will want to put in a performance too to shut their ridiculers up. I wouldn't be surprised if they got a run at us and won either. If Mayo do win, they will probably lose the quarter final, or semi if they get that far. Up Mayo.

Or final if they get that far
Post by: From the Bunker on July 22, 2017, 09:19:53 AM

Thanks for the usual optimism Farr! I hope you are not involved in Career guidance in the School you work in! :P
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 22, 2017, 09:45:06 AM
This era started with a win over Cork for Mayo, will it finish with a defeat to the same side....I extremely doubt it.
Post by: larryin89 on July 22, 2017, 09:51:45 AM
on my way now and my optimism usually starts to up now but not today im afraid . Will of course roar them on but my head is saying a Cork victory .
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 22, 2017, 10:17:11 AM
Good man Farr, I was beginning to panic as I was afraid that you'd post something positive about Mayo's chances. True to form, you haven't and that's some relief. :D

BTW, What's the story about tickets at the ground. I have a few friends who will be on the next train to Limerick if they thought they could get tickets.
Tickets.ie have none on offer so picking up a few outside the gates is their only hope.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 22, 2017, 10:37:48 AM
I was writing Mayo off earlier on this year but I think the 2nd half against Clare was very impressive. Today will tell a lot about where they're at but I think they've turned a corner and should pick up a routine win today.

Mayo by 6/7.

Cork continually get hyped up but the reality is Cork are very ordinary.
Post by: PW Nally on July 22, 2017, 10:46:01 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 22, 2017, 10:17:11 AM
Good man Farr, I was beginning to panic as I was afraid that you'd post something positive about Mayo's chances. True to form, you haven't and that's some relief. :D

BTW, What's the story about tickets at the ground. I have a few friends who will be on the next train to Limerick if they thought they could get tickets.
Tickets.ie have none on offer so picking up a few outside the gates is their only hope.
50,000 sellout. Terrace tickets going for €11,000.
Post by: Rossfan on July 22, 2017, 01:14:28 PM
I'd say ye'll have plenty if room as Cork will only have the usual 3 bucks - Cyril with the sonbrero , the lad with the drum and another buck with a knitted cap.
I presume most of their Co Board will be soaking up the complements in the new Super Stadium by the Lee.
Post by: Syferus on July 22, 2017, 01:37:06 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 22, 2017, 01:14:28 PM
I'd say ye'll have plenty if room as Cork will only have the usual 3 bucks - Cyril with the sonbrero , the lad with the drum and another buck with a knitted cap.
I presume most of their Co Board will be soaking up the complements in the new Super Stadium by the Lee.

Who has actually complimented it?
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2017, 04:49:21 PM
Jason Doherty replacing Conor Loftus the one change to the Mayo team. Cork have changed their keeper.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2017, 05:15:31 PM
15 mins gone. Cork 0-4 Mayo 0-3
Post by: Aughafad on July 22, 2017, 05:20:09 PM
How many steps do you have to take before getting blown up for it?????
Andy Moran must have taken 10 there while scoring that fisted point
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 22, 2017, 05:25:40 PM
Quote from: Aughafad on July 22, 2017, 05:20:09 PM
How many steps do you have to take before getting blown up for it?????
Andy Moran must have taken 10 there while scoring that fisted point
again, they were small wee steps
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2017, 05:25:58 PM
25 mins gone Cork 0-5 Mayo 0-5
Post by: Aughafad on July 22, 2017, 05:37:41 PM
Fair play to the Ref there, that is the way to use the advantage rule and the black card
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2017, 05:39:49 PM
HT Cork 0-7 Mayo 0-10. Mayo have the wind advantage now and Cork have lost two first choice defenders, one to a black and another to injury.
Post by: mayoaremagic on July 22, 2017, 05:42:30 PM
Its game over. Cork don't have the legs and we have wind in second half. Sure win 7/8
Post by: thefont on July 22, 2017, 05:45:35 PM
Donncha O'Conner is a joy to watch in fairness, quality player.

Better performance from us so far but still a long way off what's required to challenge the likes of Kerry, may be enough to see off Cork, we'll see.

Think Ross will feel pretty confident watching this too!
Post by: Syferus on July 22, 2017, 05:50:18 PM
Quote from: thefont on July 22, 2017, 05:45:35 PM
Donncha O'Conner is a joy to watch in fairness, quality player.

Better performance from us so far but still a long way off what's required to challenge the likes of Kerry, may be enough to see off Cork, we'll see.

Think Ross will feel pretty confident watching this too!

He's looked good alright but he's not the first FF the Mayo backline has made look great..
Post by: Zulu on July 22, 2017, 05:52:03 PM
First live game in a while and it's poor fare. I know it's easier to see the space sitting in the stand but I don't understand the football I'm watching. Mayo will probably win but why these teams are playing the way they are is beyond me.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 22, 2017, 05:52:32 PM
Anyone got this on mobdro? Can't seem to find a link to sky sports arena.
Post by: ONeill on July 22, 2017, 05:55:38 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 22, 2017, 05:52:32 PM
Anyone got this on mobdro? Can't seem to find a link to sky sports arena.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MOlVriI8MOs
Post by: thefont on July 22, 2017, 05:57:16 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 22, 2017, 05:52:03 PM
First live game in a while and it's poor fare. I know it's easier to see the space sitting in the stand but I don't understand the football I'm watching. Mayo will probably win but why these teams are playing the way they are is beyond me.

Interesting Zulu, what particularly stands out to you, I assume you're comparing with Dublin's tactical approach?
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2017, 05:58:53 PM
Aidan Walsh now gone off injured, Cork aren't getting much luck in this game.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2017, 06:04:23 PM
45 mins gone Cork 0-7 Mayo 0-13. Game as good as won already it seems.
Post by: ONeill on July 22, 2017, 06:05:33 PM
Some really poor shooting from Cork.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 22, 2017, 06:09:25 PM
that should be a peno

fouled twice, second inside the 21
Post by: omagh_gael on July 22, 2017, 06:10:58 PM
Cork getting the tails up? Comeback on?
Post by: omagh_gael on July 22, 2017, 06:11:58 PM
Listening upon the wireless and you'd assume the game was being played in Castlebar such is the dominance of crowd noise.
Post by: dublin7 on July 22, 2017, 06:13:09 PM
It's like a challenge match. No intensity. Cork with some terrible wides and a poor game overall
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2017, 06:14:22 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 22, 2017, 06:10:58 PM
Cork getting the tails up? Comeback on?
Short lived. 54 mins gone. Cork 0-11 Mayo 0-16.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2017, 06:16:19 PM
Cork goal! 1-11 to 0-17 now 56 mins gone.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 22, 2017, 06:16:34 PM
Uh oh
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2017, 06:17:36 PM
Should be level a great Cork goal change not taken!
Post by: ONeill on July 22, 2017, 06:17:59 PM
Jesus what a miss
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2017, 06:21:08 PM
60 mins gone Cork 1-13 Mayo 0-17
Post by: Mikhailov on July 22, 2017, 06:22:22 PM
Who is the co commentator - is it Aaron Kernan?
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 22, 2017, 06:23:12 PM
should have been two frees for Cork there
Post by: mrdeeds on July 22, 2017, 06:26:16 PM
Quote from: Mikhailov on July 22, 2017, 06:22:22 PM
Who is the co commentator - is it Aaron Kernan?

Big Dick
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2017, 06:26:53 PM
66 mins gone Cork 1-13 Mayo 0-19
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2017, 06:31:39 PM
Cork 2nd goal! level game  :o
Post by: ONeill on July 22, 2017, 06:32:16 PM
Wow!
Post by: Aughafad on July 22, 2017, 06:33:05 PM
Where did the Mayo v Kerry thread quickly disappear to?
Post by: Mayo Border on July 22, 2017, 06:36:47 PM
Quote from: Aughafad on July 22, 2017, 06:33:05 PM
Where did the Mayo v Kerry thread quickly disappear to?
Mayoaremagic is a troll and is on nothing more than a wind up. Don't know what is his agenda. Best ignore the idiot.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 22, 2017, 06:38:10 PM
black card?
anyone?
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2017, 06:38:16 PM
Cork 2-15 Mayo 0-21. Some drama extra time.
Post by: Main Street on July 22, 2017, 06:39:35 PM
Nice that the ref brought the ball forward for Cork's last free kick, much better than a black card,
Post by: omagh_gael on July 22, 2017, 06:42:23 PM
How'd 5he ref not give Cadogan a free in, clearly pulled back when through on goal.

Mayo are wide open at the back. Cork look like they could grab a goal every time they attack!
Post by: reddgnhand on July 22, 2017, 06:44:06 PM
Aidan O'Shea is some footballer. His decision making is superb. 
Post by: Syferus on July 22, 2017, 06:44:38 PM
Mayo are just waiting for someone to land the knockout punch. That it could be Cork is honestly embarrassing for a side that has battled for so long and came so far.

Go on, Mayo. Dig deep..
Post by: Minder on July 22, 2017, 06:47:27 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 22, 2017, 06:39:35 PM
Nice that the ref brought the ball forward for Cork's last free kick, much better than a black card,

Stupid by the Mayo player lying on the Cork player after the free was awarded
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 22, 2017, 06:52:34 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 22, 2017, 06:47:27 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 22, 2017, 06:39:35 PM

Stupid by the Mayo player lying on the Cork player after the free was awarded
that's routine with teams now
Post by: seafoid on July 22, 2017, 06:56:55 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 22, 2017, 06:44:38 PM
Mayo are just waiting for someone to land the knockout punch. That it could be Cork is honestly embarrassing for a side that has battled for so long and came so far.

Go on, Mayo. Dig deep..
Can the Rossies deliver the coup de grâce ?
Post by: orangeman on July 22, 2017, 07:07:03 PM
Fair play to Cork. Written off by everyone and beaten on a few occasions but they're still fighting.

Entertaining game.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2017, 07:07:54 PM
Half time in extra time. Cork 2-19 Mayo 0-24. Four Cork players have gone off injured in this game now.
Post by: mick999 on July 22, 2017, 07:11:37 PM
any streams ?
Post by: Taylor on July 22, 2017, 07:13:12 PM
Quote from: mick999 on July 22, 2017, 07:11:37 PM
any streams ?

Type in cork v Mayo to YouTube.
Decent enough stream
Post by: heffo on July 22, 2017, 07:14:30 PM
How many of the Mayo forwards are two-footed?
/?
They seem to recycle the ball a lot when pushed onto their 'bad' side - or is that just me?
Post by: seafoid on July 22, 2017, 07:17:32 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 22, 2017, 07:14:30 PM
How many of the Mayo forwards are two-footed?
/?
They seem to recycle the ball a lot when pushed onto their 'bad' side - or is that just me?
That came up last year. It is an important detail
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2017, 07:18:53 PM
87 mins gone Cork 2-19 Mayo 0-27
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 22, 2017, 07:23:59 PM
that is shocking
Post by: heffo on July 22, 2017, 07:24:36 PM
Jesus that Cork player bottled it there - in front of the posts in space and passes it out wide to a worse position
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2017, 07:25:27 PM
FT AET Cork 2-20 Mayo 0-27. Ref blows up early! Mayo win by the skin of their teeth. Have to feel sorry for Cork put so much effort into that game and got nothing out of it.
Post by: illdecide on July 22, 2017, 07:28:13 PM
That was a tense game, Cork can feel unlucky they put in some effort. Jury is still out on that Mayo team
Post by: omagh_gael on July 22, 2017, 07:28:23 PM
Mayo will be crucified in the QF, they're in terrible form and they'll be fucked!

Some game all the same!
Post by: thefont on July 22, 2017, 07:28:58 PM
Hard luck Cork!

just didn't have the big match temperament to finish us off at the end there.

Gotta feel we are sitting ducks now for whoever play us in the quarters but fair play to the team for hanging in there.

Winning through sheer graft now, I think if there were any doubt about it before our decline is official at this stage.
Post by: seafoid on July 22, 2017, 07:29:06 PM
From what I could see Mayo didn't score in the last 6 minutes. It was the same last year.
Post by: Syferus on July 22, 2017, 07:29:39 PM
If the tv clock is right Cork have a real case for a replay. You can't blow the game up early.
Post by: maigheo on July 22, 2017, 07:30:09 PM
Think I will have to lie down for a week after that :) :)
Post by: sid waddell on July 22, 2017, 07:30:22 PM
Good old Mayo.

Never a dull moment.

Their biggest opponent is themselves.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 22, 2017, 07:31:04 PM
I hope Cork look for a replay
Post by: Mayo Border on July 22, 2017, 07:35:55 PM
This Mayo team has given so many great days out for their supporters to enjoy. Today was but another in a catalogue of displays that make Mayo people proud. There were only about 1000 Cork supporters there today. Mayo had around 15,000. Ok, improvements needed, but this game was dug out. Bet against them next weekend: good luck with that
Post by: Syferus on July 22, 2017, 07:36:40 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 22, 2017, 07:31:04 PM
I hope Cork look for a replay

If the tv clock did start when the half began they would be monumentally stupid not to appeal.
Post by: ballinaman on July 22, 2017, 07:38:56 PM
We're some craic to be fair
Post by: Mayo Border on July 22, 2017, 07:39:28 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 22, 2017, 07:29:39 PM
If the tv clock is right Cork have a real case for a replay. You can't blow the game up early.
You must surely have a few sheep to shear Syf. Can you not get on with the important stuff.
Post by: dublin7 on July 22, 2017, 07:45:07 PM
Mayo fans slaughtered the ref and one of them even tried to attack him he last time they played in Limerick. Well they won't be complaining this time. Did them a HUGE favour today. Frank will be on to croke park first thing Monday looking for a replay (and rightly so)
Post by: Syferus on July 22, 2017, 07:45:21 PM
Quote from: Mayo Border on July 22, 2017, 07:39:28 PM
You must surely have a few sheep to shear Syf. Can you not get on with the important stuff.

The ref breaking the rules and blowing up a one point game with over 20 seconds left is the most important stuff you could be talking about. Go on, say I'm a troll or something.

But if the clock is right there will be an appeal, and rightly so.
Post by: BennyCake on July 22, 2017, 07:48:24 PM

Did the Cork fans not sit down in the pitch in protest?
Post by: dublin7 on July 22, 2017, 07:51:18 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on July 22, 2017, 07:48:24 PM

Wouldn't have enough football fans to notice if they did!!!
Post by: BennyCake on July 22, 2017, 07:57:11 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on July 22, 2017, 07:51:18 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on July 22, 2017, 07:48:24 PM

Wouldn't have enough football fans to notice if they did!!!

What about all those Mexicans? Surely at least those boys were in attendance?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 22, 2017, 07:57:19 PM
It's football so nobody in Cork gives a shite.

Besides we were in discretion time so no appeal possible.

That game could well stand to Mayo. Better to win a tight one than a handy one.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 22, 2017, 08:31:31 PM
If a performance epitomised Mayo football that was it. Cruising one minute, in crisis the next, back to cruising, then in crisis - all self inflicted. O'Shea was immense today during normal time but really struggled late. It's notable the legs have definitely gone on some of their key players. Cafferkey is a huge weak link.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 22, 2017, 08:36:41 PM
Tough luck on Cork deserved at least a draw out of that game but where did they pull that performance out of?
Post by: omagh_gael on July 22, 2017, 08:37:33 PM
Jaysus Mayo are awful vulnerable when ran at through the middle. It was incredible how open they were towards the end of normal time.
Post by: Mac2 on July 22, 2017, 08:48:47 PM
Seriously how does Cafferkey keep making the team?
Post by: Denbobjoe on July 22, 2017, 08:54:13 PM
Peadar Healy resigns as Cork manager, at least he went down fighting
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 22, 2017, 09:12:22 PM
Quote from: Denbobjoe on July 22, 2017, 08:54:13 PM
Finally gets a performance out of his team and he resigns, i don't see the sense in that.
Post by: Syferus on July 22, 2017, 09:21:21 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 22, 2017, 09:12:22 PM
Quote from: Denbobjoe on July 22, 2017, 08:54:13 PM
Finally gets a performance out of his team and he resigns, i don't see the sense in that.

It's called jumping before you're pushed.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 22, 2017, 09:34:24 PM
A win is a win and Mayo are still there. Top 4 team.
Post by: dublin7 on July 22, 2017, 09:42:50 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on July 22, 2017, 09:34:24 PM

Cafferky must have some serious dirt on mayo management to keep getting in picked. He's a liability at this stage after all his injuries and you would fear for mayo against Kerry/dubs if he plays FB. Kerry with their forwards dispatched cork with ease. Mayo are clearly on the slide and don't have the forwards to put teams away so while they win games. They have to grind out the win and the opposition always have a chance.

That's twice they have gone to extra time in the qualifiers this year and with an aging team (especially in defence) you would wonder will it catch up with them
Post by: From the Bunker on July 22, 2017, 10:08:12 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on July 22, 2017, 09:42:50 PM

Cafferky must have some serious dirt on mayo management to keep getting in picked. He's a liability at this stage after all his injuries and you would fear for mayo against Kerry/dubs if he plays FB. Kerry with their forwards dispatched cork with ease. Mayo are clearly on the slide and don't have the forwards to put teams away so while they win games. They have to grind out the win and the opposition always have a chance.

That's twice they have gone to extra time in the qualifiers this year and with an aging team (especially in defence) you would wonder will it catch up with them

They are finished, they've been finished now for two to three years! God only knows what Dublin were at last year that it took them a full 140+ minutes to put this lot away last year.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 22, 2017, 10:22:13 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 22, 2017, 10:08:12 PM

They are finished, they've been finished now for two to three years! God only knows what Dublin were at last year that it took them a full 140+ minutes to put this lot away last year.

Not finished but peaked a few years ago. Dublin were running on empty when used up all of the energy to get past Kerry in the semi final. The Mayo team in the form of 2013 would have beaten Dublin last year.
Post by: heffo on July 22, 2017, 10:24:24 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 22, 2017, 10:22:13 PM

Not finished but peaked a few years ago. Dublin were running on empty when used up all of the energy to get past Kerry in the semi final. The Mayo team in the form of 2013 would have beaten Dublin last year.

Especially with the cap and his team of analysts watching the game
Post by: From the Bunker on July 22, 2017, 10:27:05 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 22, 2017, 10:24:24 PM

Especially with the cap and his team of analysts watching the game

Hey don't speak about Jim Galvin like that!
Post by: dublin7 on July 22, 2017, 10:50:25 PM

Kerry game was their All Ireland and they were shot by the time they played Mayo. Worst performances of the season still good enough to beat Mayo. Since 2012 Dublin have either beaten/drawn with Mayo in every game league or championship. I think it's about 12 games at this stage. They clearly have Mayo's number. Kerry with their forwards and maybe Tyrone are the only teams who could beat Dublin
Post by: From the Bunker on July 22, 2017, 11:00:19 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on July 22, 2017, 10:50:25 PM

Kerry game was their All Ireland and they were shot by the time they played Mayo. Worst performances of the season still good enough to beat Mayo. Since 2012 Dublin have either beaten/drawn with Mayo in every game league or championship. I think it's about 12 games at this stage. They clearly have Mayo's number. Kerry with their forwards and maybe Tyrone are the only teams who could beat Dublin

Absolutely, As I said this teams gig is up! How did Dublin not blow them away in the first game? How did they not blow them away in the first game the year before? Must have been putting so much into their quarter final that did this?
Post by: Asal Mor on July 22, 2017, 11:35:55 PM
Roscommon are great value at 11/4 next week. Just as they were in the Connacht Final.
Post by: joemamas on July 22, 2017, 11:42:32 PM

One for the conspiracy folks out there, I would be less than surprised if ref may have been told at full time, I hope there is a winner, otherwise q/final next week would be postponed, imagine the embarrassment and the PR nightmare for the GAA. Same goes for both qualifiers next Saturday in Croke park.

Crazy but true
Post by: rodney trotter on July 22, 2017, 11:43:53 PM
Big game for McStay and McHale, overlooked for the Mayo job. Mayo are there for the taking, if Roscommon are able to back up their performance against Galway.
Post by: joemamas on July 22, 2017, 11:46:19 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 22, 2017, 08:37:33 PM
Jaysus Mayo are awful vulnerable when ran at through the middle. It was incredible how open they were towards the end of normal time.

Texted a friend 20 minutes into second half, asked him who the fff is center half back for Mayo and where is he.
Post by: mrhardyannual on July 22, 2017, 11:46:44 PM
In championship football, only the result counts. Mayo won and we move on. Expect a battle with the Rossies next Sunday but provided we have no injuries we have every chance of making the semi-final.
Post by: blast05 on July 23, 2017, 01:06:26 AM
Quote from: joemamas on July 22, 2017, 11:46:19 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 22, 2017, 08:37:33 PM

Texted a friend 20 minutes into second half, asked him who the fff is center half back for Mayo and where is he.

Chris Barrett by jersey number. Colm Boyle more often than not. Both subbed off at that stage. Fair enough for Boyle. But a bad call ree Barrett
Post by: maigheo on July 23, 2017, 01:55:16 AM
Barret played the whole game including extra time.Not sure why you say he was subbed off.
Post by: MayoBuck on July 23, 2017, 01:59:40 AM
Quote from: maigheo on July 23, 2017, 01:55:16 AM
Barret played the whole game including extra time.Not sure why you say he was subbed off.

He was subbed off for Paddy Durcan in the second half but came back on for Jason Doc at the start of extra time.
Post by: maigheo on July 23, 2017, 02:12:21 AM
Yeah your right.Missed the first 20 min of the 2ind half and did not see the change with Durcan
Post by: UlsterMan2 on July 23, 2017, 02:52:13 AM
Ciaran Branagan refereed that game well end off.
Post by: ck on July 23, 2017, 08:50:27 AM
Quote from: UlsterMan2 on July 23, 2017, 02:52:13 AM

Yes wod agtee with that. Brannigan let it flow.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 23, 2017, 08:52:16 AM
Quote from: UlsterMan2 on July 23, 2017, 02:52:13 AM

As a neutral I thought the same. Obviously blowing up early was a big error, though.

Btw, thought Cillian had a very good day yesterday. Six from play and give frees/45s is some return. Big Aiden is hard to stop when he gets a head of steam. If Rossies slow these two down I think they'll win.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 23, 2017, 09:26:32 AM
What's your verdict on Rochford, lads?

They seem to be ambling along under him and while unquestionably they were unlucky against Dublin last year, they used up a fair amount of their lives against Fermanagh, Tyrone, Derry and Cork as well as two exits in Connacht against Galway.

McLoughlin seemed to have developed into a very effective sweeper last year and in the big games against Tyrone and Dublin it seemed to add them with a bit of defensive structure and security which they always seemed to lack in the big games. This year he seems to have been completely abandoned it and the ease at which Cork cut right through the middle of Mayo yesterday is very worrying from their point of view. Mayo really are the own worst enemies at times.

I remember last year in injury time against Tyrone they hit a really loose free across their own goals which was intercepted and McCurry snatched at a great chance to draw us level. Yesterday you had an experienced player like Alan Dillon doing pretty much the exact same thing again. Mayo's ability to self destruct is unrivaled in the game and more that a porous defence, management and player discord or lack of a marquee forward, it is what has cost them an All Ireland.

My problem with what the players did with Holmes and Connelly in 2015 was that there seemed to be zero introspection on their own part in why they never won an All Ireland, 2 years on and the same sort of meltdowns are still happening with Mayo footballers in pressure cooker situations. They're good enough to win but they seem determined not to address their propensity to explode.

Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 23, 2017, 09:56:48 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 23, 2017, 09:26:32 AM

They seem to be ambling along under him and while unquestionably they were unlucky against Dublin last year, they used up a fair amount of their lives against Fermanagh, Tyrone, Derry and Cork as well as two exits in Connacht against Galway.

McLoughlin seemed to have developed into a very effective sweeper last year and in the big games against Tyrone and Dublin it seemed to add them with a bit of defensive structure and security which they always seemed to lack in the big games. This year he seems to have been completely abandoned it and the ease at which Cork cut right through the middle of Mayo yesterday is very worrying from their point of view. Mayo really are the own worst enemies at times.

I remember last year in injury time against Tyrone they hit a really loose free across their own goals which was intercepted and McCurry snatched at a great chance to draw us level. Yesterday you had an experienced player like Alan Dillon doing pretty much the exact same thing again. Mayo's ability to self destruct is unrivaled in the game and more that a porous defence, management and player discord or lack of a marquee forward, it is what has cost them an All Ireland.

My problem with what the players did with Holmes and Connelly in 2015 was that there seemed to be zero introspection on their own part in why they never won an All Ireland, 2 years on and the same sort of meltdowns are still happening with Mayo footballers in pressure cooker situations. They're good enough to win but they seem determined not to address their propensity to explode.
took off Andy way too early again, and they nearly paid the price
bench isn't good enough
Post by: FL/MAYO on July 23, 2017, 11:05:35 AM

I can't get my head around abandoning the defensive structure they had last year.
Post by: Ballaghman on July 23, 2017, 11:31:35 AM
Absolutely mental game of football, all too Mayo-like unfortunately. Should have been out the gate when 7 up but we always seem to let teams back into games. The defensive problems are the biggest concern obviously. Caff has either lost a yard of pace permanently or he's working his way back to fitness, either way he's way off his own high standards. The other big issue is a lack a controlling ever-present centre back who holds the middle no matter what. If we have to bring McLoughlin back as sweeper to sort this out then so be it, something has to be done or this Mayo cat will run out of lives.
Despite losing to Galway twice and despite the own goals last year, I think Rochford is a relatively lucky general, things have definitely gone his way this year. I like him and rate him but he seems more muddled this year than last. He had a definite plan with the sweeper last year. Now he seems to think it robbed us of too much scoring power and seems willing to risk being more open at the back, that's very Horanesque and will catch us out in the end.
Higgins is actually doing quite well as a sweeper and in the first half we looked quite solid but once cork pushed a man up and we had 6 on 6 at the back, along with SOS going off, it was chaos back there and was a throwback to 2014.
Rochford has to decide what he's doing now, permanent sweeper or not, Higgins or McLoughlin. Maybe there's a master plan for Croke Park, if there is it better be a good one.
On the plus side AOS was unreal yesterday, again. Cillian and Andy were excellent inside, they're really clicking well right now. Loftus adds a lot as an impact sub and Diarmaid is starting to show signs of the footballer we know he is.
We're still in the hat, we're still alive, that's all that matters today. Ballagh will be some craic this week and I can't wait to have a rattle at the Rossies in Croke Park, could be a cracker........knowing us, it will be.
Post by: Rossfan on July 23, 2017, 12:09:10 PM
Sad to see a Roscommon man looking forward to having a 'rattle" at his own people :'(
Post by: Rudi on July 23, 2017, 12:31:09 PM
Mayo are a dirty team. Higgins is pure town. Cork got a 14 yard free when 2 players should have walked. Dangerous foot trip and a neck high challenge. Hopefully the ref will be better next day.ì
Post by: Tubberman on July 23, 2017, 12:39:30 PM
Quote from: Rudi on July 23, 2017, 12:31:09 PM
Mayo are a dirty team. Higgins is pure town. Cork got a 14 yard free when 2 players should have walked. Dangerous foot trip and a neck high challenge. Hopefully the ref will be better next day.ì

Save it for the Ros V Mayo thread - you don't want to burn yourself out too early
Post by: whitey on July 23, 2017, 01:13:21 PM
Yesterday very reminscent of the replayed AISF against Dublin in 2015.....well ahead and in control of the game when the wheels came off the wagon. That collapse led to the heave against Connolly and Holmes

Alan Dillons give away near the end with a cross field ball was criminal.....he did exactly the same against Dublin in the latter stages of the semi final against Dublin in 2012 when the game was in the pot

Mayo were very very lucky yesterday....Cork could have had 4 goals, at least one penalty, had a "point" over ruled by the linesman and had a point saved by Clarke.

Were defintely riding our luck.....but thats football......were having as much good luck this year as we have had bad luck in other years
Post by: Rudi on July 23, 2017, 01:34:45 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 23, 2017, 12:39:30 PM
Quote from: Rudi on July 23, 2017, 12:31:09 PM

Save it for the Ros V Mayo thread - you don't want to burn yourself out too early

;D ;D it hurts cause it's true. All joking a side, how did both those lads stay on the pitch?
Post by: Syferus on July 23, 2017, 01:36:03 PM
Branagan is hardly known for applying the rules correctly. In fact he's only known for doing the opposite.
Post by: joemamas on July 23, 2017, 01:46:10 PM
Quote from: whitey on July 23, 2017, 01:13:21 PM
Yesterday very reminscent of the replayed AISF against Dublin in 2015.....well ahead and in control of the game when the wheels came off the wagon. That collapse led to the heave against Connolly and Holmes

Alan Dillons give away near the end with a cross field ball was criminal.....he did exactly the same against Dublin in the latter stages of the semi final against Dublin in 2012 when the game was in the pot

Mayo were very very lucky yesterday....Cork could have had 4 goals, at least one penalty, had a "point" over ruled by the linesman and had a point saved by Clarke.

Were defintely riding our luck.....but thats football......were having as much good luck this year as we have had bad luck in other years

Good post, want to see game again before I comment
Post by: maigheo on July 23, 2017, 02:30:05 PM
In fairness to Dillion ,Loftus made a short run to receive the pass but cut back inside just as Dillion was about to kick the ball making Dillion look foolish.Have been fairly impressed with Loftus and has all the makings of a very good corner forward.On the other hand Regan has been a huge disappointment and does not seem up to inter county level
Post by: SouthDublinBro on July 23, 2017, 02:38:59 PM
Mayo struggled against a team who were blown away by Kerry. Huge gap between Dublin/Kerry and then the rest.
Post by: Gael85 on July 23, 2017, 02:40:04 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 22, 2017, 11:42:32 PM

One for the conspiracy folks out there, I would be less than surprised if ref may have been told at full time, I hope there is a winner, otherwise q/final next week would be postponed, imagine the embarrassment and the PR nightmare for the GAA. Same goes for both qualifiers next Saturday in Croke park.

Crazy but true

I have often  thought what would happen if we got another Dublin/Meath 4 in a row scenario around August what would GAA do as would mess All Ireland final schedules. If Leinster final had been a draw when/where would replay have been with concert in Croke Park last night?
Post by: Dubhaltach on July 23, 2017, 02:51:38 PM
Just when it seemed like it had been sorted, our inability to defend leads comes back to haunt us. Since this team first came on the scene, it has arguably been our biggest downfall. Both Lee and Chris not being on the field for the last 20 minutes was crucial but it doesn't excuse it. It needs to get sorted quick or we face a similar end this year.

Still, i'd prefer to focus on the positives. Cillian O Connor, 11 points, 6 from play, 3 off the left, 3 off the right. Anyone who says that he isn't among the top forwards in the country is talking shite. With himself, Aidan and Lee firing on all cylinders, we should be able to give any team a run for their money.
Post by: whitey on July 23, 2017, 03:08:18 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on July 23, 2017, 02:38:59 PM
Mayo struggled against a team who were blown away by Kerry. Huge gap between Dublin/Kerry and then the rest.

I dont think Cork were as bad as they were billed.  I listened to the Mayo podcast last week and seemingly Cork missed numerous goal chances in a he first half against Kerry.  While they still may have lost, the rhetoric regarding how bad they are would have been much more muted
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 23, 2017, 03:20:11 PM
Some contrast from the Derry game in terms of shooting, Mayo had very few wides all day. Mayo couldn't have asked much more from Moran & COC, they got a great return from play from the both of them.

I thought Cork would cause Mayo problems when they ran at them but didn't expect that in the 2nd half. Cork scored 2 goals, missed 2 other great chances and perhaps would have created 2 more great chances if it wasn't for Mayo defenders bring the Cork player down. Cafferkey was appalling, is O'Connor really 36? He gave Cafferkey the run around and he's not as quick as he used to be, looked very slow to turn last night.

You have to give Mayo credit though as it did look like Cork were going to push on in ET when they went 2 points up.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 23, 2017, 03:53:16 PM
I thought Branagan was a little bit kind to Mayo yesterday and could understand the Cork frustrating at the end of the game. Cork were allowed back into the game with some strange sub and tactical changes by Rochford he's still trying to be too clever on line or maybe influenced by too many cooks beside him.... Cork in fairness to them threw the kitchen sink at it and died with their boots on and may well have won if they didn't lose so many players to injury. Much improving for Mayo to do but they normally do in Croke Park and for the record only Dublin have beaten Mayo in HQ in the last 4 years and by the skin of teeth on a number of occasions.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on July 23, 2017, 04:06:00 PM
After losing a sizeable bet yesterday on Mayo -5,  I just think it was one of those days.  For no reason the wheels come off and momentum swings I was quite happy the way things were going and then Mayo dropped the intensity, Cork got lucky and I think it shows what a good team Mayo are to hang on.  I would not read to much into yesterdays game.
Post by: Seamus on July 23, 2017, 07:10:02 PM

John Small got Man of the Match in the drawn final last year because McLoughlin was back playing sweeper. Time and time again Small received the ball with nobody near him and set up attack after attack scoring a point to booth. I would discount the own goal as that was unfortunate but personally I love seeing McLoughlin playing sweeper against us.

Post by: criostlinn on July 23, 2017, 08:24:51 PM
Quote from: Seamus on July 23, 2017, 07:10:02 PM

John Small got Man of the Match in the drawn final last year because McLoughlin was back playing sweeper. Time and time again Small received the ball with nobody near him and set up attack after attack scoring a point to booth. I would discount the own goal as that was unfortunate but personally I love seeing McLoughlin playing sweeper against us.

Dublin scored 5 points from play in that very same game. Hardly the best example you  could have used
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 23, 2017, 08:56:52 PM

My friend, I wouldn't dream of telling you that you are spouting pure bullshit but there is a strong pong of taurine excrement off what you've written all the same.
Dublin had 20 days between the semi and the final to get fit and focussed once again and with superior resources to every other team in the land that should have been no problem to them.
Ten of the present Mayo panel work or study in Dublin and this means heading off in the late afternoon and returning about 3 or 4 in the early morning so they have little time for sleep and relaxation before getting back to whatever they do. I wonder what any of your bucks would feel if he had to do the same?
So Dublin were 'shot' going into the final. Shot me arse!
Even if your poor lads were still 'shot' after 20 days to recuperate, Mayo, being Mayo as usual, gifted them two own goals and still managed to hold the team of the present millennium, the last one and the next one to come, to a draw.
Mayo were just as effin shot as Dublin going into the replay and still lost by a single point after some diabolical reffin mistakes.
Tell you what; if Mayo had been able to swop places with Dublin last year and could have played in their own backyard with a minimum of travelling involved and a professional set up to rival, that of Man United, I don't think your tulips would be talking of a three in a row now.
Post by: Ballaghman on July 23, 2017, 09:03:31 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 23, 2017, 12:09:10 PM
Sad to see a Roscommon man looking forward to having a 'rattle" at his own people :'(
Are you from Ballagh? If you are you're most likely a blow in. I stand with my people, always. 😉
Post by: Rossfan on July 23, 2017, 09:10:33 PM
No matter how much dribble ye slabber ye're not Mayo people and never will be.
Post by: dublin7 on July 23, 2017, 09:38:56 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 23, 2017, 08:56:52 PM

My friend, I wouldn't dream of telling you that you are spouting pure bullshit but there is a strong pong of taurine excrement off what you've written all the same.
Dublin had 20 days between the semi and the final to get fit and focussed once again and with superior resources to every other team in the land that should have been no problem to them.
Ten of the present Mayo panel work or study in Dublin and this means heading off in the late afternoon and returning about 3 or 4 in the early morning so they have little time for sleep and relaxation before getting back to whatever they do. I wonder what any of your bucks would feel if he had to do the same?
So Dublin were 'shot' going into the final. Shot me arse!
Even if your poor lads were still 'shot' after 20 days to recuperate, Mayo, being Mayo as usual, gifted them two own goals and still managed to hold the team of the present millennium, the last one and the next one to come, to a draw.
Mayo were just as effin shot as Dublin going into the replay and still lost by a single point after some diabolical reffin mistakes.
Tell you what; if Mayo had been able to swop places with Dublin last year and could have played in their own backyard with a minimum of travelling involved and a professional set up to rival, that of Man United, I don't think your tulips would be talking of a three in a row now.

The Kerry game was their All Ireland. The tank was empty for a lot of the players after the effort needed to beat Kerry. Two long seasons  on the go as well. It's all irrelevant anyway. Dubs stronger this year and Mayo weaker. Dubs freshening up their team introducing youngsters and Mayo relying on the same core players as the last 6/7 years and also Mayo won't get past Kerry this year anyway so Mayo won't have to deal Dublin media bashing like last year
Post by: Seamus on July 23, 2017, 10:00:28 PM
Quote from: criostlinn on July 23, 2017, 08:24:51 PM
Quote from: Seamus on July 23, 2017, 07:10:02 PM

Dublin scored 5 points from play in that very same game. Hardly the best example you  could have used

Do you believe this was mainly down to McLouglin being sweeper?

Dublin uses Cian O'Sullivan in this role as did Kerry with Aidan O'Mahony. Mayo should do likewise and not have a wing forward back there 90% of the time.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 24, 2017, 07:56:25 AM
A few observations on Saturday's match. To score 0-27 and win by one point shows where the real concern lies. Subs made by Rochford were mad. Barrett should never have been taken off. The players who replaced them were no better thsn those taken off. Whatever anyone else thinks, in my opinion subs should strengthen the team, not put undue pressure instead. Speaking of undue pressure, Caff must be under a serious amount. He was taken to the cleaners on Saturday. Maybe his injury has taken its toll on him. Donncha O'Connor 36 years of age and Kerrigan I think afterwards destroyed him. Enough negatives, but they need to be addressed.

As I already said to score 0-27. Amazing scoreline. Forwards were simply outstanding. Cillian had his best game in ages. Magnificent. Aiden O'Shea had another massive performance too. He did however fade slightly towards the end. McLoughlin wasn't as good as he was against Clare but didn't do much wtong. Although one poor pass to a Cork player stands out. Andy was brilliant too. I know I often doubt him but he rarely has a poor game. Doherty had a good game too. Bringing on Alan Dillon nearly cost us the match. Stupid free to a Cork player who afterwards went down and kicked a wide.

Keegan needs to stop the playacting off the ball. Another card given wway carelessly by a Mayo defender. Boland must be dropped from the panel as he played with Aghamore according to MWR; might have picked that info up wrong though.

Up Mayo
Post by: magpie seanie on July 24, 2017, 08:34:47 AM
Heard a man on the radio pre game saying how Cafferkey's form was really improving. Whoops!
Post by: Hound on July 24, 2017, 08:44:26 AM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 23, 2017, 03:20:11 PM
Some contrast from the Derry game in terms of shooting, Mayo had very few wides all day. Mayo couldn't have asked much more from Moran & COC, they got a great return from play from the both of them.

Agreed. Mayo's attacking play was very good, I think the Derry shooting performance can be written off as an aberration. Moran is a super bit of stuff, always wins more than his fair share of 50/50s against corner backs. AOS seems much more aware of his teammates this year, taking the right option almost all the time.

Defence was poor, but they'll fix that. Will do enough to get over the line v the Rossies and will put up their best performance of the year v Kerry.
Post by: Tubberman on July 24, 2017, 08:59:48 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 24, 2017, 07:56:25 AM
A few observations on Saturday's match. To score 0-27 and win by one point shows where the real concern lies. Subs made by Rochford were mad. Barrett should never have been taken off. The players who replaced them were no better thsn those taken off. Whatever anyone else thinks, in my opinion subs should strengthen the team, not put undue pressure instead. Speaking of undue pressure, Caff must be under a serious amount. He was taken to the cleaners on Saturday. Maybe his injury has taken its toll on him. Donncha O'Connor 36 years of age and Kerrigan I think afterwards destroyed him. Enough negatives, but they need to be addressed.

As I already said to score 0-27. Amazing scoreline. Forwards were simply outstanding. Cillian had his best game in ages. Magnificent. Aiden O'Shea had another massive performance too. He did however fade slightly towards the end. McLoughlin wasn't as good as he was against Clare but didn't do much wtong. Although one poor pass to a Cork player stands out. Andy was brilliant too. I know I often doubt him but he rarely has a poor game. Doherty had a good game too. Bringing on Alan Dillon nearly cost us the match. Stupid free to a Cork player who afterwards went down and kicked a wide.

Keegan needs to stop the playacting off the ball. Another card given wway carelessly by a Mayo defender. Boland must be dropped from the panel as he played with Aghamore according to MWR; might have picked that info up wrong though.

Up Mayo

Agree with all that. I was thinking Caff would play himself into match fitness, but he absolutely roasted by a 36 year old O'Connor, so I really don't think we can risk him any longer.
Taking off Barrett made very little sense unless he was knackered (didn't look it), so that's another head scratcher of a substitution by Rochford, but in fairness he wouldn't have considered that Keegan would do something so stupid to get himself a black card.
In extra time I remember looking down at where our half-forward line should be, and it was Drake, Coen and DOC - we seemed to have lost all shape.
COC was at his best, scoring from play from both feet as well as frees and that pressure injury time 45 - maybe the constant naysayers might give it a rest for a while now.
I heard Boland was in Limerick with the other players who didn't make the 26.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 24, 2017, 10:39:06 AM
Thoroughly enjoyed that game on Saturday, and as a neutral I'd just have a couple of comments.

In an attacking sense, scoring 0-27 looks great, and it is a great score even if you discount Extra Time, but I still think they are not getting the most out of their attacks. It seems to me that there is a degree of confusion within the team as to what the attacking strategy is. Moran and CO'C don't seem to know whether to make a run or hold, and I think that stems from the fact that they don't know what the half forwards and midfield are doing with the ball. Several times last Sat, Moran and/or C'OC were isolated 1 v 1 inside, and Mayo just refused to kick it in. After a while the lads stopped making the runs, and then that led to more ball being recycled before shots came in. Now as I said, you couldn't fault the scoreline, but if you want to get goals, I think they could have had serious joy with a couple of earlier balls played in.

In the second half of the game, and extra time, I think this improved a bit more. Maybe lads got a bit more tired carrying out the field, but Loftus, O'Connor and even Moran before he went off, were fed a few more balls in quicker, and so they started moving again, and I think Mayo got joy out of it. I think they need to mix it up a bit, but be a bit more aware of when they have those 1 v 1s inside.

Defensively, in the second half, you could have driven a coach and four through the heart of the defense. I'm not sure why the whole half back line was replaced (apart from Keegan obviously), but as soon as the half back line started to change, you could see Cork getting heart from their runs. Mayo then were allowing runners off the shoulder, and nobody was blocking up the middle. Sean Powter was doing wreck but Mayo just looked at it, and didn't or couldn't change it up. They were blessed that Cork didn't get another couple of goals. Cork ran out of steam, particularly around the middle of the field in Extra Time, they put in a massive effort to get back into the game, and those direct runs stopped for a while until the desperation stuff near the end, and even then the last pass/run was missing. Barrett coming back in probably helped that a bit as well.

Someone above mentioned Diarmuid O'Connor coming back into form, but I couldn't see it. I thought he and McLoughlin were disappointing. Maybe O'Connor got on more ball when he was on the opposite side of the pitch to me, but anytime I saw him he was very peripheral, and all I really remember him doing is soloing a ball over the end line. He looks low on confidence to me.

All in all I thought Mayo were the far more accomplished side, but they have weaknesses, some self inflicted, and they nearly contrived to lose a game they should and could have won comfortably. But fair play to Cork too, they showed there is a bit of gumption in them still.

PS. Aidan O'Shea, and Cillian O'Connor, two lads I've been very skeptical of were real leaders for Mayo on Saturday, when at times it looked as if they hadn't got many. O'Shea's left foot point in Extra time was a pivotal score. O'Connor never stopped looking for work in fairness to him, and took some nice scores himself.

PPS. Is it Lee Keegan's lot now to be plopped on whatever opposition player Rochford deems the most dangerous/influential? I realise he is very effective at it, but I think it's frustrating for him. I'd love to see him bombing up and down the wing, supporting attacks. Instead he basically shadowed Paul Kerrigan all over the pitch. Higgins could easily have done that too. Keegan as the spare man would be very interesting I think, might be a good counter attacking platform too.
Post by: Syferus on July 24, 2017, 10:49:27 AM
A junior team could have scored 25 on that weak-willed Cork defence. It was pathetic to watch how far off their men they always were, nevermind the number of times they left men totally free inside their own 45.

The idea Cork restored any pride with that sort of performance is frankly sad because it says Cork are a very bad side.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 24, 2017, 10:54:12 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 24, 2017, 10:49:27 AM
A junior team could have scored 25 on that weak-willed Cork defence. It was pathetic to watch how far off their men they always were, nevermind the number of times they left men totally free inside their own 45.

The idea Cork restored any pride with that sort of performance is frankly sad because it says Cork are a very bad side.

I think you are being harsh on them Syf. It would have been very easy for Cork to lie down and let Mayo win by 10-15 points. They rallied twice or three times, and if nothing else, that shows a bit of heart and desire. And if you have those two, at least you can build from that.

They have a plethora of problems alright. Their important men are relatively old or injury plagued. Kerrigan, Donnacha O'Connor, COlm O'Neill, Michael Shields, Eoin Cadogan. But I saw enough in them to think they could and should be a lot better than they are.
Post by: rosnarun on July 24, 2017, 11:02:57 AM
Regarding boland I think Jason dohertys performance justified his dropping and is probably not seens as an impact player.
It was probably jasons best day in a mayo short and he must be a shoo in for sunday  ,
somebody mentioned Caff being under pressure  but from who? unless mayo decide to go with out a full back like they dis most of last year , Is Caolan Crowe up to the Job , I dont think we've seen enough of him to know
I wonder will  Rochford should  some of the bigger names for the Semi Im sure some knocks are being picked up along the way and I Saw aidan feeling his groin at one stage yesterday
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 24, 2017, 11:12:29 AM

Up Mayo

Very sound post Farr, it's as good a take on the game as I have seen.
If (and that's a big if,) we get by the Rossies with the same full backline as we had in Limerick, Kerry will absolutely destroy us.  In Limerick 2014, Donaghy was up against Cafferkey and he roasted him. To make matters worse, Jamesy was virtually unchallenged as he latched on to Donaghy's passes and scored almost at will.
According to Tomás Ó'Sé last night, Kerry got 2-07 of their scores from this pair and in spite of that, we should still have won the game. Mayo have perfected the art of blowing big leads when well on top and that along with inexplicable sideline gaffes, has cost us  a lot of games.
It's hard to know what to make of the Rossies this weekend. Are they as good as they appeared to be against Galway or as bad as they were during the league?
Ross has had some useful u21a during the past decade or so and it was a wonder how so few of them were able to make it at senior level. Maybe that is changing and the two Macs are succeeding where others failed.
Unless the backs are less porous and Leroy behaves himself, we could be left wondering about what might have been..
Post by: magpie seanie on July 24, 2017, 11:16:09 AM
Do Mayo play up or down to their opponents level?
Post by: rosnarun on July 24, 2017, 11:57:27 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 24, 2017, 11:16:09 AM
Do Mayo play up or down to their opponents level?
the fortune/unfortunate answer is Yes
Post by: mrhardyannual on July 24, 2017, 10:25:46 PM
It is hard to argue other than that the changes made in the second half were disastrous. Obviously any manager would have wanted to spring Durcan but to introduce him for Barrett was poor thinking. Moments earlier Clarke had sallied forth from goal aiming to hand pass to Boyle.Boyle was obviously out on his feet as he waved Clarke away. Barrett was obviously still strong as he came back on in extra time. Caff was struggling but the game was over before Crowe was put in. Crowe must start against Ross. Like Tubberman I thought Caff might play himself into form but unfortunately it didn't happen. Coen to midfield was another error. Surely we can see that he lacks the pace and is only ever effective at chb. He was lost at midfield and gave away the ball for the last score in normal time. Up to these changes I thought it was our best performance since last August. Backs were aggressive, midfield was dominant, wingmen, Diarmuid and Doc were at their best, Aido was leading the line and some of the play from Andy and Cillian was top drawer.
Still, nothing lost. If we keep improving we'll take beating.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 24, 2017, 10:47:05 PM
I must look at it again to see what diarmuid o Connor did. You're the second person to say he played well but I thought he was offering very little.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 24, 2017, 10:51:47 PM

Up Mayo

In fairness, the 27 points were got with an additional 20 minutes of action played. What had they scored at full time? 20 points?
Post by: Blowitupref on July 24, 2017, 11:10:42 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 24, 2017, 10:51:47 PM

Up Mayo

In fairness, the 27 points were got with an additional 20 minutes of action played. What had they scored at full time? 20 points?

21 points in 70 mins. 0-6 to 0-5 the extra time score. Of the games Mayo played this summer, Sligo for long stages defended well against Mayo,Galway defended well against Mayo which is why they won, for 60 minutes Derry defended well until they couldn't give no more, take away the 2 two goals in two minutes Clare did ok in defence against Mayo but Cork who were wide open in the Munster final didn't seem to learn much as last Saturday they were fairly poor at defending throughout the 90 plus minutes.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 25, 2017, 10:34:30 AM
AZ, you sound like me after watching a game live in that you missed a whole lot of things. I thought Petey Harte didn't have a good Ulster final but when i watched it again on TV I completely changed my mind.
It's good to be at games cos you see things that you miss on TV but you get a better all round view of the game from tv coverage I feel.

I agree with mrhardyannual and Tomás O'Se on TSG in that Rochford nearly cost Mayo that game with his crazy changes in the second half. I don't know what to make of him as a manager as in one way I thought he got his tactics right against Tyrone and Dublin last year but then he tends to make some very rash decisions. I think maybe he thought Cork will play a very open game and so they were happy enough to do the same and for the neutral it was a very entertaining game of football.

I thought CoC had an excellent game and really looks a top notch all star forward these days. He looks to already have top scorer for the season wrapped up with 2.40 after 5 games and I'd say he fancies his chances getting to an AI semifinal. Conor McManus is the next player still in the championship with 2.17.

Aidan O'Shea looks to have reacted to his criticism and has upped his game this year and is playing much better as a team player.
Mayo have got back to the quarterfinal stage again, the long way and I think they are actually benefitting from getting momentum from the qualifiers. I think Roscommon will suffer from their lack of matches as they've only really had one decent game all season going into a big game in Croker. When was the last time they won a quarterfinal in Croker?

Fair play to Connacht for getting 3 of their teams into the quarterfinals though it looks like Mayo will have to beat Roscommon and Galway again to get to the final.  ;D

Post by: AZOffaly on July 25, 2017, 10:36:55 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 25, 2017, 10:34:30 AM
AZ, you sound like me after watching a game live in that you missed a whole lot of things. I thought Petey Harte didn't have a good Ulster final but when i watched it again on TV I completely changed my mind.
It's good to be at games cos you see things that you miss on TV but you get a better all round view of the game from tv coverage I feel.

I agree with mrhardyannual and Tomás O'Se on TSG in that Rochford nearly cost Mayo that game with his crazy changes in the second half. I don't know what to make of him as a manager as in one way I thought he got his tactics right against Tyrone and Dublin last year but then he tends to make some very rash decisions. I think maybe he thought Cork will play a very open game and so they were happy enough to do the same and for the neutral it was a very entertaining game of football.

I thought CoC had an excellent game and really looks a top notch all star forward these days. He looks to already have top scorer for the season wrapped up with 2.40 after 5 games and I'd say he fancies his chances getting to an AI semifinal. Conor McManus is the next player still in the championship with 2.17.

Aidan O'Shea looks to have reacted to his criticism and has upped his game this year and is playing much better as a team player.
Mayo have got back to the quarterfinal stage again, the long way and I think they are actually benefitting from getting momentum from the qualifiers. I think Roscommon will suffer from their lack of matches as they've only really had one decent game all season going into a big game in Croker. When was the last time they won a quarterfinal in Croker?

Fair play to Connacht for getting 3 of their teams into the quarterfinals though it looks like Mayo will have to beat Roscommon and Galway again to get to the final.  ;D

To be honest I wouldn't feel I normally miss a lot of things. It's kind of important to be able to see stuff when you are coaching/managing :) I obviously have missed something with Diarmuid O'Connor though.  I much prefer watching a game live because you can see patterns and movement etc. You wouldn't see the hesitant inside line movement of Mayo if you weren't there for e.g.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 25, 2017, 10:42:55 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 25, 2017, 10:36:55 AM

To be honest I wouldn't feel I normally miss a lot of things. It's kind of important to be able to see stuff when you are coaching/managing :) I obviously have missed something with Diarmuid O'Connor though.  I much prefer watching a game live because you can see patterns and movement etc. You wouldn't see the hesitant inside line movement of Mayo if you weren't there for e.g.
fans, coaches and managers tend to focus in on stuff they did or liked doing when they played - defence, forward runs/scores
very hard to get out of that habit
Post by: AZOffaly on July 25, 2017, 10:43:44 AM
True :) I suppose that's why you have other lads with you with different eyes.
Post by: rosnarun on July 25, 2017, 11:33:34 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 25, 2017, 10:36:55 AM

you would not have see a hesitant mayo fullforward line if you were there either
they were well marked and choosing their run I don't think more than one ball was missed as it went long(ish) to the FF line
Post by: AZOffaly on July 25, 2017, 11:46:12 AM
I was there, and I saw an inside line that had several opportunities to be 1 v 1, but Mayo seem to be not so sure as to what the game plan is. As I said initially, it's hard to complain about scoring 0-21, but I genuinely think they could have taken Cork to the cleaners if the ball was slightly more direct. Cork were not really operating with a sweeper as such, so there was scope to do it, but Mayo over played the ball out the field, and so the lads inside stopped making good runs. This improved in the second half.

As you said, every ball that went in they seemed to win!
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 25, 2017, 12:17:30 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 25, 2017, 11:46:12 AM
I was there, and I saw an inside line that had several opportunities to be 1 v 1, but Mayo seem to be not so sure as to what the game plan is. As I said initially, it's hard to complain about scoring 0-21, but I genuinely think they could have taken Cork to the cleaners if the ball was slightly more direct. Cork were not really operating with a sweeper as such, so there was scope to do it, but Mayo over played the ball out the field, and so the lads inside stopped making good runs. This improved in the second half.

As you said, every ball that went in they seemed to win!
watch the game again and see how far up the field cork had their defensive line
it took mayo a lot of hand passes to get past that
Cork had no players sweeping in front of their fb line and that's why the mayo ff line had so much space and 1 v 1.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 25, 2017, 12:22:06 PM
Yes, exactly that. Cork pushed up and Mayo could have played a more direct ball and got joy out of it. It's not as if Cork sat back and choked the space. If there's a line like that up the field, and you have C'O'C and Andy Moran 1 v 1 inside, then let the ball in in front of them, and then have lads like Diarmuid O'C, Aidan O'Shea and Kevin McLoughlin coming in at pace and taking it off them. Get Cork half backs running towards their own goals.
Post by: mrhardyannual on July 25, 2017, 03:17:56 PM
One of the strong points of Diarmuid O Connor's play v Cork was that (in addition to carrying and linking well) he ghosted into goal-scoring positions, unmarked, on at least four occasions. Unfortunately AZ, you weren't the only one not to see him as Mayo forwards either didn't see him or elected to settle for a point. These type of opportunities were not even being created by Mayo a few games back. It is frustrating watching Mayo as you feel they are coming into form with more and more of them returning to top form (CoC, AoS, DoC, Doherty, Harrison etc) but then complacency sets in and we are scrambling again. In regard to Rochford, I am more positive than negative. I have grave doubts about Caff, find Coen extremely limited and have no time for Regan. But that's just me. I rate Donie Vaughan very highly but am in the minority there. As a manager you wont please everyone unless you win and in that regard his Championship record is still positive.
Anyway I lived through the 70s so these are still the best of time and this team keeps on giving. Going to a Mayo match is cheaper than going to the Galway Clinic to check a dodgy ticker ;D.
Post by: Taylor on July 25, 2017, 07:19:35 PM
Maybe I missed it but has anything official come out about the time keeping?
Post by: Rossfan on July 25, 2017, 07:27:25 PM
Frank Murphy has agreed not to make an issue out if it if the GAA agree to hold all hurling and football Semi Finals in PUìCh in future.
Post by: macdanger2 on July 25, 2017, 08:34:49 PM

I'm not sure Rochford can take all the blame on the subs, it's not like he was throwing on complete mugs. The game was as good as won so if you can't give players game time in that situation, how can you be expected to rely on them in the dying minutes against Dublin.

Post by: Syferus on July 25, 2017, 08:44:48 PM
Why was Jason Gibbons dropped but Barry Moran kept on the inside of the bubble this season? With the problems Mayo are facing with injuries there now it looks like an insane decision.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 25, 2017, 08:49:47 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 25, 2017, 08:34:49 PM

I'm not sure Rochford can take all the blame on the subs, it's not like he was throwing on complete mugs. The game was as good as won so if you can't give players game time in that situation, how can you be expected to rely on them in the dying minutes against Dublin.

You'd think he'd brought on average players with some of what I've heard in the media. Durcan & Vaughan were the first 2 subs to come on in that half back line and I don't need to tell any of the Mayo lot that both started in the AI finals last year. The rot had already set in well before Keegan received his black card.

Did Corks comeback coincide with SOS substitution? He came off after 50 minutes when I think Mayo were 7 points clear.  I heard James Horan mention on one of the podcasts about SOS coming off and how it affected the half back line. Given what we've seen this summer SOS would do well to last more than an hour and as its his 4th game in 5 weeks this will only exacerbate the issue.
Post by: Ballaghman on July 25, 2017, 09:23:14 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 25, 2017, 08:49:47 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 25, 2017, 08:34:49 PM

You'd think he'd brought on average players with some of what I've heard in the media. Durcan & Vaughan were the first 2 subs to come on in that half back line and I don't need to tell any of the Mayo lot that both started in the AI finals last year. The rot had already set in well before Keegan received his black card.

Did Corks comeback coincide with SOS substitution? He came off after 50 minutes when I think Mayo were 7 points clear.  I heard James Horan mention on one of the podcasts about SOS coming off and how it affected the half back line. Given what we've seen this summer SOS would do well to last more than an hour and as its his 4th game in 5 weeks this will only exacerbate the issue.
Have been thinking the same thing myself regards the subs. He brought on quality players who I feel let him down and didn't do their jobs. Maybe he made too many in a short space of time and this may have unsettled the rhythm of the team but some lads simply didn't track runners and do the basics.
I didn't think SOS was having a great game but maybe it's his unseen work that needs to be appreciated more when you see the collapse after he went off. Still, one man can't explain it all away and I think quite a few players need to look at their defensive performances from the last day, namely Coen and Durkin.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2017, 11:47:09 AM
P.S. Almost forgot, Billy Sheehan is two ends of a bollox. He spent more time on the pitch on Saturday than he did when he played for Laois!
Post by: Ballaghman on July 26, 2017, 04:01:45 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 26, 2017, 11:47:09 AM
P.S. Almost forgot, Billy Sheehan is two ends of a bollox. He spent more time on the pitch on Saturday than he did when he played for Laois!
Is that who he was? Unbelievable that the ref never dealt with him. He was some mouthpiece the last day