FAI...New Manager Hunt continues

Started by CĂșig huaire, November 19, 2009, 01:34:00 PM

Hopefully the tiki-taka can yield a 2nd half goal.

JPGJOHNNYG

Can't score to save their lives. Awful shite. Finland got spanked 5-1 by poland

If they'd have made correct pass in a couple of attacks they'd have been 2 up before Finland scored from terrible defensive pass

Shades of Steve Staunton era this is turning out to be.

90% of what they are doing is good but snatching at every chance. Shame, should've won that with a goal or two to spare.

Didn't deserve to lose but with Europe  having 13 slots in next World Cup, will take a near miracle to qualify when that competition starts up.

JPGJOHNNYG

Quote from: Captain Obvious on October 14, 2020, 06:53:56 PM

Yep but the lads on the coybig forum can't see it. Everything will be great in 2050 ffs. Kenny is a disaster. The possession football only works if you fecking score

dublin7

Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on October 14, 2020, 07:00:00 PM

Yep but the lads on the coybig forum can't see it. Everything will be great in 2050 ffs. Kenny is a disaster. The possession football only works if you fecking score

Who exactly do you think he should pick that will score all these goals? Under Mccarthy Ireland only scored 3 goals against the mighty Gibraltar over 2 games and 1 of them was an OG.

Only caught the second half, probably unlucky not to score, two very good chances, one a bit of a fluke and the other denied by a match winning save. Conceded a stupid goal from an individual error. A draw would have been a fair result, didn't deserve to lose based on what I saw

Only few games in, give him a f**king chance for God sake. If you didn't see substantial improvements from his 1st two games then I'm afraid you don't have a clue about the sport.

shark

Quote from: weareros on October 14, 2020, 06:55:33 PM
Didn't deserve to lose but with Europe  having 13 slots in next World Cup, will take a near miracle to qualify when that competition starts up.

It's utter madness. 13 out of 32, and 9 or 10 of those will be in the last 16. Europe should have 16-18 of the teams. Not that we'd likely qualify in 2022 anyway. 2026 will have a larger tournament with UEFA allocation going to 16. Which is less than Africa and Asia combined. Mental stuff.

JPGJOHNNYG

Quote from: Itchy on October 14, 2020, 07:19:09 PM

Only few games in, give him a f**king chance for God sake. If you didn't see substantial improvements from his 1st two games then I'm afraid you don't have a clue about the sport.

They are passing more and retaining possession better but they are losing. Unfortunately these are not friendlies, our rankings will fall off a cliff making further qualification even more difficult. These teams he has played are poor it's not like we are playing Spain and Germany. Finland got spanked sure even the dinosaur McCarthy best Bulgaria 3-0

Ed Ricketts

Comparisons with the Staunton era are a bit silly. That period was mark by a complete absence of organisation and direction. Kenny has a pretty clear vision with what he wants to do, and the team seem to have bought into it. But it just isn't working yet.

Enough chances to win that game today. But not enough quality up front. Very comfortable defensively, which makes the goal coughed up more frustrating. Finland never looked like creating anything by themselves.

The long ball shite some seem to advocate going back to wasn't producing goals either. Ignoring the minnows Gibraltar and Moldova, we managed 13 goals in the 20 competitive games prior to Kenny taking charge. A new approach was entirely justified.

On a side note, it's poor enough form by Mick McCarthy to take the gig on Sky critiquing his successor. There have been more than a few petty and snide remarks over the last couple of matches. He seems very defensive of his brand of dinosaur football.
Doc would listen to any kind of nonsense and change it for you to a kind of wisdom.

An Watcher

The same people giving off are the same ones who were complaining about long ball football. You can't just flick a switch and go from one to the other. It is a ropey enough start but give the man a chance. The signs are good, just need a wee bit if luck now and one world class player to gel it all together

SHEEDY

Quote from: Itchy on October 14, 2020, 07:19:09 PM

we're heading for section c in the next nations league, bottom of a supposedly favourable group with 5 games 1 goal in the Stephen Kenny era.  yes we've strung a few passes together but overall is there much to be positive about. I'm sure when we string 10 or 15 passes together in the next nations league games against North Macedonia, Kosovo or Kazakhstan, the doubters will be won over.
nil satis nisi optimum