FAI...New Manager Hunt continues

Started by Cúig huaire, November 19, 2009, 01:34:00 PM

Awful defending on that 2nd Greece goal. 2-0 down at half time.

Quote from: From the Bunker on October 13, 2023, 08:01:02 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on October 13, 2023, 07:42:18 PMIn the last year Greece have only beaten Gibraltar away. Have lost and didn't score against Cyprus and drew with the might of Malta. Tonight Greece are without two of their first choice defenders.

Shouldn't be too much to ask for Irish win tonight?

Meanwhile Ireland in the last year.........

For some bizarre reason still managed by Stephen Kenny. 

The only reason we got a bit possession there for a bit was Greece dropped off from their press. If they continued with it I'm not sure we'd get out of our own half. 3/4 players not interested. Matt Doherty is gone so bad he should join McClean in league 2.

Pub Bore

Hamann not holding back on TV. He's right. Players just not good enough and Kenny totally out of his depth. Ferguson is obviously useful with good players around him at Brighton.

Quote from: Itchy on October 13, 2023, 08:47:26 PMThe only reason we got a bit possession there for a bit was Greece dropped off from their press. If they continued with it I'm not sure we'd get out of our own half. 3/4 players not interested. Matt Doherty is gone so bad he should join McClean in league 2.

Doherty has been crap for a few years now.

Quote from: Pub Bore on October 13, 2023, 08:54:57 PMHamann not holding back on TV. He's right. Players just not good enough and Kenny totally out of his depth. Ferguson is obviously useful with good players around him at Brighton.

His main point was that teams in the past had to work hard to come away from Dublin with any type of result. Greece barely broke sweat and found themselves with a two goal cushion at half time and claimed a very comfortable win in the end. 

JPGJOHNNYG

Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on October 13, 2023, 10:23:29 PMHow much longer will this farce go on for

At least they'll be guaranteed a place in euro 28.... I think

There is no point in continuing with Kenny. It doesn't work at all

Quote from: imtommygunn on October 14, 2023, 01:28:35 AMThere is no point in continuing with Kenny. It doesn't work at all
2 years ago the FAI gave him an extension up until Euro 2024. The FAI decided not to remove him over the summer. We don't even qualify for the playoffs now.   So he will go when the final group match has been played. 

Yep. I've been a big supporter of his and trying to play the right way but it just isn't happening. For years we mightn't have been brilliant but opponents got nothing easy and knew they'd been in a game. As someone said above they barely need to break sweat now, even shite teams like Greece. In Ferguson we have a lad who is gonna be a top top player and probably go for £100m~, we also have 2 very good young goalkeepers. Get someone in who can build a team around Ferguson and play to our strengths.

Just because Kenny has failed doesn't mean we need to play hoof ball. However we need a new manager who 1) puts a team on the pitch who are ready to die for the jersey, have energy and passion. This was not present in vast majority last night 2) we've got to find an "Irish" game style and stop trying to ape everyone else. Look to GAA for new kick out strategy, mix things up and stop being so predictable and robotic.

What I witnessed last night was shockingly poor. In fact in recent times I've brought kids to 3 Ireland games in Aviva. 2 draws, one loss and they've scored a sum of 1 goal in those games. It's brutal. I would get rid of Kenny now in hope new man might get a handy win or two against Gibraltar and new Zealand and build some momentum

Ireland don't have the players. Ferguson still only 18.  Still a teenager and serious pressure on him to carry this team.

No quality in defence or mid-field.

We were spoilt years ago with all the lads playing in the Premiership.

Kenny will be there until the end of the year. They can't afford to pay him off.
Season tickets gone up by 100e for 2024

Quote from: rodney trotter on October 14, 2023, 09:48:23 AMKenny will be there until the end of the year. They can't afford to pay him off.
Season tickets gone up by 100e for 2024
The fecking cheek of them. You'd want to be paying people to watch that shite lately!