FAI...June 2024 Friendlies v Hungary and Portugal

Started by CĂșig huaire, November 19, 2009, 01:34:00 PM

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 07, 2015, 10:46:53 PM
Sadly, I remembered most of those ads in their original state
It was only a couple of weeks ago, I was watching them on youtube recently in their original state. Great memories.
On one of them you'll see Enda Colleran won the monthly draw for a car. I think it was with Lyons tea.

Quote from: laoislad on September 07, 2015, 08:32:09 PM
Whats the official attendance tonight? 30-35k?  Most Premier League clubs outside the top 4 would only get that so its not really that small of a crowd.
It's a Monday night also and a huge amount from outside Dublin go to Ireland matches so its understandable many haven't travelled tonight it being a Monday.

Fair shite match alright though in fairness.
In the Charlton days, qualifiers were played on a Wednesday afternoon where the employed would have to take a half day from work. They were frequently 50k sellouts with lots of fans locked out.

Pub Bore

Quote from: An Watcher on September 07, 2015, 11:03:50 PM
Thought that apres match stuff was poor lads. Usually love watching it too

Aye it was shite

They might scrape 3rd place for the play offs but even then it will be hard to Qualify.

Turkey, Israel, Ukraine, Sweden, Croatia, some of the sides in 3rd position as it stands.

Quote from: rodney trotter on September 08, 2015, 10:46:38 PM
They might scrape 3rd place for the play offs but even then it will be hard to Qualify.

Turkey, Israel, Ukraine, Sweden, Croatia, some of the sides in 3rd position as it stands.
I don't think Ireland should be worried about any of the above teams.
If they were that good they wouldn't be in 3rd. Iceland are topping Turkeys group ffs.

An Watcher

Maybe I/We are getting ahead of myself/ourselves but I had a look at some of the potential opponents that Ireland may face.  As this draw is seeded I was hoping we might sneak into top seeds but can't see it.  Thus we are looking at the likes of Sweden, Hungary, Ukraine and possibly Turkey/Holland.  Tricky ties

Are Albania not third in a group too though? That would be the one you would want if so.

Albania are another team yeah. Good side but I'd rather them then croatia, who have the experience of playing in big tournaments.

It might not even come to that scotland were good at home against Germany they are capable of beating poland in hamden and then a easy game against Gibralter to seal 3rd spot. If they are level kn points with Ireland it goes on head to head

Agreed. We could really do with something against Poland.

Croatia have much better players so preferrably wouldn't play them.

mrdeeds

We're seeded at moment. Ukraine will be best 3rd place. Seedings will be finalised after last two games.

An Watcher

No I don't thin we are seeded as we are close to being the lowest ranked team of all the third place teams
Norway are possibly the only team ranked below us and they look like they might qualify automatically
We do have a similar ranking to Turkey and Israel though but we would need a lot of results to go our way to climb above them all and into the 4th seed spot of the final eight

mrdeeds

An Watcher

Yes, I think we are 51st which isn't great in the grand scheme of things
It can be misleading though as many teams seem determined to boost their co-efficient by playing friendlies against lesser teams
I don't think O'Neill has gone down this route though

oakleaflad

Quote from: An Watcher on September 09, 2015, 03:14:06 PM
Yes, I think we are 51st which isn't great in the grand scheme of things
It can be misleading though as many teams seem determined to boost their co-efficient by playing friendlies against lesser teams
I don't think O'Neill has gone down this route though
You are talking about the Fifa rankings. This isn't linked to seedings for the Euro's. The Uefa Coefficient is - this is completely unrelated to the Fifa rankings. Ireland are 23rd in the latest Uefa Coefficient I could find.

An Watcher

Sorry lads I see that now. So we're above the likes of Israel, hungary and all. Potentially could be top seeds then. Great :)