GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 06, 2018, 02:20:12 PM

Title: Limerick v Mayo, Gaelic Grounds. 9/6/18.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 06, 2018, 02:20:12 PM
An easy game or a potential banana skin?
Title: Re: Limerick v Mayo, Gaelic Grounds. 9/6/18.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 06, 2018, 02:30:52 PM
A no win situation for Mayo - apart from the match obviously. Win by a lot, it's only Limerick. Scrape by, the terminal decline has set in. Lose and the terminal decline HAS set in etc.
Post by: Rossfan on June 06, 2018, 03:05:13 PM
Pearse Park, Round 2 should see ye off ;D
Post by: Lar Naparka on June 06, 2018, 03:17:33 PM
I'll be surprised if we don't win but the manner in which we do it is all-important. Managing to get a win by a point or two, or even three would leave me worried for the future.  The last two games against Galway worried the hell outa me and that's putting it mildly.
In the league game, we had probably the most experienced set of forwards in the land and by all accounts, the Galway full back linr was there for the taking.
Yet, Mayo's forwards were tied down without  bother and to me, that meant that without the likes of Lee, Chris and Brendan driving forward, Mayo's forwards won't win many games on their own.
To cap it all , Cillian spent much of his time off the ball "exchanging pleasantries" with whoever was nearest him and he could have got the line earlier if the ref had been more observant. He certainly wasn't enjoying his football then and indeed I thought the same could be said of all the others. All the old hands grafted hard but there seemed to be little or no understanding or cooperation between them. The almost telepathic between them that we have come to expect just wasn't there.
Ah, well that's only the league, I thought but the championship games confirms my suspicions that all's not well in the camp. For many it was a case of going through the motions- not a single outstanding display from any the lads who were magnificent in the All Ireland final last year.
The running off the shoulder attacks that Mayo were famous for never materialised, not even once, if I recall correctly. Come to think of it, was there a decent attempt at a direct attack from either side? It was a truly dreadful display from both sides.
I'm not spreading rumours or making wild assumptions but none of the side seems to be enjoying his football so far.
I know no one can ever write Mayo and maybe things will begin to fall into place once again when Sunday comes around but we'll just have to wait and see.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 06, 2018, 03:37:19 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on June 06, 2018, 02:20:12 PM
An easy game or a potential banana skin?

Limerick are very poor unfortunately. Far from the very decent Limerick side of a decade ago. Should be a walk in the park for Mayo.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on June 06, 2018, 03:51:50 PM
Mayo will win this at their ease, it's nearly impossible to imagine how they could contrive to lose.
Post by: Crete Boom on June 06, 2018, 03:56:52 PM
We have been pretty poor all season so I am expecting a sluggish hard fought win with maybe extra time a bit like Derry last year although by the sounds of it Limerick are much poorer than that Derry team.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 06, 2018, 04:33:44 PM
Leitrim beat Limerick by 12 points this year scoring 2-18. The OP should be asking how much will Mayo score in this game and what will the margin of victory be?

I'll go for a Mayo 14 point win with them clearing the bench early 2nd half. Limerick 1-9 Mayo 2-20.
Post by: rosnarun on June 06, 2018, 05:10:56 PM
not saying they wont but mayo rarely blow weaker team out of the water ,
well apart from Donegal or Roscommon
Post by: tippabu on June 06, 2018, 05:28:24 PM
mayo will win and put in as much effort as they see fit in doing it.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 06, 2018, 05:36:43 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on June 06, 2018, 05:10:56 PM
not saying they wont but mayo rarely blow weaker team out of the water ,
well apart from Donegal or Roscommon
Mayo only blow teams out of the water that are poorly organized in defence. Donegal 2013 probably hung over after their All Ireland success and were all over the shop in defence that day v Mayo, Sligo in 2015 and they haven't learnt much going on last Sunday game v Galway and Roscommon last year who probably used up all of energy in the drawn game.

Limerick by all accounts have been poorly organized in defence all year so unless they can suddenly find a way to improve things they will be blown out of the water by Mayo on Saturday.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 06, 2018, 09:20:51 PM
Limerick have 1 win all year - a one-point win over Waterford in the league.

You look at what both those sides have done in the championship this year and also what has been done to the sides who beat them.

Tipperary beat Waterford by 11 and Tipperary were subsequently beaten by 11 points by Cork.
Limerick were beaten by 11 points by Clare who were subsequently beaten by 22 points by Kerry.

If Mayo don't win this and win it be a decent margin, even playing badly, they may as well shut up shop completely.

Post by: Farrandeelin on June 07, 2018, 08:50:55 AM
I hope our forwards can rack up a big score in this one, for a change. Also Brendan Harrison and Vaughan are reportedly injured for us. I wonder who will be in midfield? It's a worry from now on.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 07, 2018, 09:07:40 AM
I'd go with something like this, strong enough team and if things are going to plan, give the older lads a rest early in the second half

Clarke

EOD
Crowe
Barrett
Keegan
Coen
Durcan

SOS / AOS (a half each)
Hanley

J Durcan
Higgins
Mcloughlin
COC
Moran
Loftus

Realistically we should win this at a canter, they finished 30th in the league, we finished 6th. Ending up with no new injuries or red cards would be nice
Post by: oliverkelly on June 07, 2018, 09:56:10 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 07, 2018, 08:50:55 AM
I hope our forwards can rack up a big score in this one, for a change. Also Brendan Harrison and Vaughan are reportedly injured for us. I wonder who will be in midfield? It's a worry from now on.

Kevin McLoughlin and Danny Kirby were the midfield pairing against Roscommon for most the game last week believe it or not. Neil Douglas meant to have had a great game in the corner too
Post by: Crete Boom on June 07, 2018, 10:16:18 AM
Quote from: oliverkelly on June 07, 2018, 09:56:10 AM

Kevin McLoughlin and Danny Kirby were the midfield pairing against Roscommon for most the game last week believe it or not. Neil Douglas meant to have had a great game in the corner too

Very interesting, thanks for the info Oliver,
Post by: oliverkelly on June 07, 2018, 11:04:03 AM
SOS wasnt togged either was James Durcan i heard. Paddy Durcan caused loads of damage running from deep. Aidan was at 11 so i would be surprised if he is moved there now. Hanley scored a goal and done ok. Thats all the info i got from a Roscommon persons opinion.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 07, 2018, 11:27:47 AM
Quote from: oliverkelly on June 07, 2018, 11:04:03 AM
SOS wasnt togged either was James Durcan i heard. Paddy Durcan caused loads of damage running from deep. Aidan was at 11 so i would be surprised if he is moved there now. Hanley scored a goal and done ok. Thats all the info i got from a Roscommon persons opinion.

Cheers oliver. Hopefully we can get our mojo back and start this one with a bang.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 07, 2018, 01:24:01 PM
To say this game is low key is an understatement. I've heard more talk in the lead up to an FBD game. I think the end is near! I used to fear it ending in the past. But we need an end to start an new shake up. Problem is the fall could be catastrophic. Counties like Meath, Kildare, Galway, Down, Derry, Armagh to name a few have shown that success does not always follow success.
Post by: joemamas on June 07, 2018, 01:39:48 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 07, 2018, 11:27:47 AM
Quote from: oliverkelly on June 07, 2018, 11:04:03 AM

Cheers oliver. Hopefully we can get our mojo back and start this one with a bang.

Thanks Oliver, appreciate the update.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 07, 2018, 02:13:36 PM

Did Roscommon also have a makeshift midfield playing? going by the score Mayo got i can imagine plenty of forwards played well. Roscommon will need to do something about their loose defence before facing Galway on June 17th.
Post by: Syferus on June 07, 2018, 02:21:41 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on June 07, 2018, 02:13:36 PM

Did Roscommon also have a makeshift midfield playing? going by the score Mayo got i can imagine plenty of forwards played well. Roscommon will need to do something about their loose defence before facing Galway on June 17th.

Why would we need to worry about defending with the forwards we have?
Post by: oliverkelly on June 07, 2018, 02:29:17 PM

Not sure on our midfield pairing we had numerous lads in there. We had 2 different sides more or less for each half and both were mixtures of starters and subs as not too end up very weak by ending the game with basically our B team.Mayo were pretty similar. Yeah our defense is still a problem which will need to be a hell of a lot better Sunday week and hopefully for a few games after.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 07, 2018, 02:31:04 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 07, 2018, 02:21:41 PM

Yes Kevin Keegan.
Post by: Syferus on June 07, 2018, 02:36:00 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on June 07, 2018, 02:31:04 PM

Yes Kevin Keegan.

I will love it if we beat them.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 07, 2018, 02:38:50 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 07, 2018, 02:36:00 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on June 07, 2018, 02:31:04 PM

Yes Kevin Keegan.

I will love it if we beat them.

You've got to send Kevin Walsh a tape of this game haven' ya?
Post by: highorlow on June 08, 2018, 11:29:28 AM
QuoteI think the end is near! I used to fear it ending in the past. But we need an end to start an new shake up.

Take your dog for a walk.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 08, 2018, 12:23:10 PM
Quote from: highorlow on June 08, 2018, 11:29:28 AM
QuoteI think the end is near! I used to fear it ending in the past. But we need an end to start an new shake up.

Will do!
Post by: joemamas on June 08, 2018, 01:48:46 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 08, 2018, 12:23:10 PM

Will do!

How old is he or she
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 08, 2018, 03:08:28 PM
QuoteI think the end is near! I used to fear it ending in the past. But we need an end to start an new shake up
Who will be part of this shake up? most of the Mayo players in their 30s and late 20s are once in a generation type players that will leave huge voids to fill once gone.
Post by: straightred on June 08, 2018, 04:29:29 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 07, 2018, 01:24:01 PM
To say this game is low key is an understatement. I've heard more talk in the lead up to an FBD game. I think the end is near! I used to fear it ending in the past. But we need an end to start an new shake up. Problem is the fall could be catastrophic. Counties like Meath, Kildare, Galway, Down, Derry, Armagh to name a few have shown that success does not always follow success.

I could be wrong about this (as I was still half asleep) but I don't think they even mentioned this game on morning ireland earlier. Tomas O'Se did all his predictions but missed thsi
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 08, 2018, 04:42:58 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 08, 2018, 01:48:46 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 08, 2018, 12:23:10 PM

Will do!

How old is he or she

Hopefully not near the end.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 08, 2018, 09:58:43 PM

1. David Clarke - Ballina Stephenites
2. Eoin O'Donoghue - Belmullet
3. Ger Cafferkey - Ballina Stephenites
4. Keith Higgins - Ballyhaunis
5. Colm Boyle - Davitts
6. Chris Barrett - Belmullet
7. Patrick Durcan - Castlebar Mitchels
8. Seamus O'Shea - Breaffy
9. Stephen Coen - Hollymount/Carramore
10. Kevin McLoughlin - Knockmore
11. Aidan O'Shea - Breaffy
12. Cian Hanley - Ballaghaderreen
13. Evan Regan - Ballina Stephenites
14. Cillian O'Connor - Ballintubber(Captain)
15. Andy Moran - Ballaghaderreen
Post by: Blowitupref on June 08, 2018, 10:07:13 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 08, 2018, 09:58:43 PM

5. Colm Boyle - Davitts

As ever with Rochford which 2 or 3 of that 15 won't start?
Post by: From the Bunker on June 08, 2018, 10:10:28 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 08, 2018, 10:07:13 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 08, 2018, 09:58:43 PM

5. Colm Boyle - Davitts

As ever with Rochford which 2 or 3 of that 15 won't start?

Surely he can't be playing them tricks against opposition like Limerick?
Post by: Terry Tate on June 08, 2018, 10:12:03 PM
Hopefully he won't humiliate Caff again like he did above in castlebar the last day. Think that team will start
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 09, 2018, 07:48:36 AM
Reckon that team will start myself to be honest. Hanley must have done well in training since he came back from Oz. I've reservations about Coen at midfield. But it's 'only' Limerick, right?
Post by: highorlow on June 09, 2018, 02:37:27 PM
It should build a bit of confidence in Coen he doesn't play as good in this team as he did at underage and sigerson, must be a confidence thing.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 09, 2018, 04:51:08 PM
Down in Limerick now, Serioud crowd down from Mayo. Yet to see a single Limerick jersey
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 09, 2018, 04:54:54 PM
Quote from: highorlow on June 09, 2018, 02:37:27 PM
It should build a bit of confidence in Coen he doesn't play as good in this team as he did at underage and sigerson, must be a confidence thing.

Or maybe it's such a higher level
Post by: twohands!!! on June 09, 2018, 05:49:07 PM
James Durcan in for Andy Moran only change for Mayo
Post by: joemamas on June 09, 2018, 05:52:18 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on June 09, 2018, 04:54:54 PM

Unfortunately that is correct answer, he tries hard,but lack of speed in unforgiving at this level
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 09, 2018, 05:54:01 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 09, 2018, 05:52:18 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on June 09, 2018, 04:54:54 PM

Unfortunately that is correct answer, he tries hard,but lack of speed in unforgiving at this level

I have to agree, still haven't seen enough from him to justify his place going forward
Post by: highorlow on June 09, 2018, 06:09:10 PM
Cillian beat Conor Morts record just now

25-356 is his tally some going at his age
Post by: highorlow on June 09, 2018, 06:31:33 PM
COC goal,  All over. Barrett with another point 7 up now. All over.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 09, 2018, 06:32:57 PM
O Connor goal 1-5 for him out of Mayos 1-8. 7 ahead now and Mayo should kick on to win comfortably now.
Post by: highorlow on June 09, 2018, 06:34:23 PM
Boyle with a point now. Mayo backs getting on the scoresheet.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 09, 2018, 06:36:22 PM
Mayo finding frees far easier to get out of this ref than Limerick are....
Post by: Terry Tate on June 09, 2018, 06:54:33 PM
1-10 to 1-01 at half time. Limerick are very poor. Bright start by hanley and Durcan. Durcan kicked a nice point and put another attempt over the sideline!! Regan has missed 1-3 so far but set up 2 scores, but that's not saying much given how poor limerick are. Loftus will prob come in for him soon
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 09, 2018, 07:00:21 PM
Quote from: Terry Tate on June 09, 2018, 06:54:33 PM
1-10 to 1-01 at half time. Limerick are very poor. Bright start by hanley and Durcan. Durcan kicked a nice point and put another attempt over the sideline!! Regan has missed 1-3 so far but set up 2 scores, but that's not saying much given how poor limerick are. Loftus will prob come in for him soon

Hanley has looked poor from where I'm sitting, has he forgotten how to kick a football?
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 09, 2018, 07:02:14 PM
Referee very poor
Post by: Terry Tate on June 09, 2018, 08:11:16 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on June 09, 2018, 07:00:21 PM
Quote from: Terry Tate on June 09, 2018, 06:54:33 PM

Hanley has looked poor from where I'm sitting, has he forgotten how to kick a football?

I thought he done well in first half. Was available for a pass. Kept it simple and setup first goal. He will improve with games. Definitely football in him.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 09, 2018, 08:29:54 PM
Pity Cillian didn't manage to get to 3-10
Post by: Gael85 on June 09, 2018, 11:35:02 PM
Quote from: highorlow on June 09, 2018, 06:09:10 PM

He not far behind Gooch to be all time championship too. A great achievement. Is around 26? Will have at least 5/6 championship campaigns after this year.
Post by: Ball Hopper on June 09, 2018, 11:39:14 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on June 09, 2018, 11:35:02 PM

He not far behind Gooch to be all time championship too. A great achievement. Is around 26? Will have at least 5/6 championship campaigns after this year.

He's ahead of Gooch's championship tally of 23-283 already (assuming that figure of 25-356 is correct for championship by Cillian).

Post by: Farrandeelin on June 09, 2018, 11:47:11 PM
Few thoughts. Positives the scoring, don't care what anyone says, 5-19 is impressive. Cillian was brilliant. Caff had a good game too, can it help his confidence from now on? Hopefully, but he had a good first game of the league v Monaghan too. Finished with a stronger team than started imo. Good use of subs etc.
Negatives, some bad shooting habits, will Regan be trusted for left footed frees? Despite dominating the game we only kicked on with 20/25 mins to go. Could be down to the impact of the bench coming on though.
Job done, move on. PS, Tom Parsons' welcome was mighty. Almost as mighty as seeing the man himself!
Post by: Gael85 on June 09, 2018, 11:58:15 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on June 09, 2018, 11:39:14 PM

He's ahead of Gooch's championship tally of 23-283 already (assuming that figure of 25-356 is correct for championship by Cillian).

Might be closer to 256 than 356. As far as I know Gooch still ahead
Post by: Ball Hopper on June 10, 2018, 12:13:42 AM
Quote from: Gael85 on June 09, 2018, 11:58:15 PM

A small bit of internet searching shows Cillian has 23-261 after today's impressive haul.  Only 22 points behind Gooch.

Black card to highorlow for misleading information.
Post by: Gael85 on June 10, 2018, 12:17:47 AM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on June 10, 2018, 12:13:42 AM

A small bit of internet searching shows Cillian has 23-261 after today's impressive haul.  Only 22 points behind Gooch.

I think he was referring to Mayo all time scorer which was probably including league scores?
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 10, 2018, 01:33:41 AM
Another team that Mayo blew out of the water because they were poorly organized in defence. Strong finish to both halves for Mayo but in between improvement needed before facing better sides later on this summer.
Post by: Ball Hopper on June 10, 2018, 03:00:49 AM
Quote from: Gael85 on June 10, 2018, 12:17:47 AM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on June 10, 2018, 12:13:42 AM

I think he was referring to Mayo all time scorer which was probably including league scores?

OK...Cillian has 28-363 (447) between league and championship.

Kerry leaders are:

Mike Sheehy has 51-456 (609)

Gooch has 34-441 (543)

Maurice Fitzgerald has 23-442 (511).

Post by: tippabu on June 10, 2018, 07:58:51 AM
Id love to be able see points per game ratios rather than overall.
Post by: seafoid on June 10, 2018, 08:21:14 AM
Cillian O Connor's total scores partly reflect Mayo's paucity of decent forwards. Future GAA punters will wonder how a player who clocked up so many matches didn't win an all Ireland. Unless something happens soon.
Post by: Rossfan on June 10, 2018, 09:44:44 AM
Takes 15 (or 21) to win an AI.
Post by: larryin89 on June 10, 2018, 10:13:25 AM
Can't help get the feeling when people from outside of Mayo speak of Cillian they always like to put a negative spin on it . He's a class act who would make it on any team in the country despite what others say about his contribution from play blah blah. He's ruthless, plays on the edge admittedly , wins his ball , he's strong , he chases back , he's not shy and he's only 26. A fantastic addition to this team who are not the same without him. He will smash the fook out of coopers record 
Post by: Mayo4Sam on June 10, 2018, 12:10:44 PM
Gooch 4.14
COC 7.17
Mikey Sheehy 6.49
John Doyle 4.27
P Joyce 4.02
B Brogan J 4.47
Paddy Bradley 5.75
S McDonnell 3.75
Maurice 4.16
B Stafford 5.68

All championship, some scoring from Cillian

Post by: Ball Hopper on June 11, 2018, 02:42:15 AM
Quote from: tippabu on June 10, 2018, 07:58:51 AM
Id love to be able see points per game ratios rather than overall.

Source:  http://terracetalk.com/kerry-football/all

Mike Sheehy: 49 championship games, scored 29-205 for an average 5.96; 74 league games, scored 22-251 for an average 4.28.  Total scored 51-456 in 123 games, average 4.95.

Colm Cooper: 85 championship games, scored 23-283 for an average 4.14; 58 league games, scored 11-158 for an average 3.29.  Total scored 34-441 in 143 games, average 3.80.

Maurice Fitzgerald: 45 championship games, scored 12-205 for an average 5.36; 62 league games, scored 11-237 for an average 4.35.  Total scored 23-442 in 143 games, average 4.78.
Post by: Syferus on June 11, 2018, 03:27:13 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on June 10, 2018, 10:13:25 AM
Can't help get the feeling when people from outside of Mayo speak of Cillian they always like to put a negative spin on it . He's a class act who would make it on any team in the country despite what others say about his contribution from play blah blah. He's ruthless, plays on the edge admittedly , wins his ball , he's strong , he chases back , he's not shy and he's only 26. A fantastic addition to this team who are not the same without him. He will smash the fook out of coopers record

He's a good free-taker who is slow and very dirty.

Describes him perfectly in one line without the fluff and tears-in-the-eyes stuff.
Post by: Tubberman on June 11, 2018, 06:52:47 AM
Quote from: Syferus on June 11, 2018, 03:27:13 AM

Hes a good free-taker who is slow and very dirty.

Describes him perfectly in one line without the fluff and tears-in-the-eyes stuff.

If you weren't spouting shite on a daily basis, your attempts to be controversial and provocative would have more impact.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 11, 2018, 10:48:07 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on June 11, 2018, 06:52:47 AM

If you weren't spouting shite on a daily basis, your attempts to be controversial and provocative would have more impact.

He's not wrong though
Post by: Syferus on June 11, 2018, 04:10:03 PM

If you really think what I said is controversial you have your head in the sand.
Post by: Orchard park on June 11, 2018, 04:39:09 PM
One of Syferus most accurate musings in fairness.....

Very accurate and not controversial  unless you reared himself and the  equally slow and  not ss sly dirty brother.....
Post by: larryin89 on June 11, 2018, 04:40:59 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on June 11, 2018, 10:48:07 AM

He's not wrong though

How do you make that out  ?
Mayo top scorer of all time and only 26 . Former ypoty and all star.  Oh what's the point im thinking whilst typing , whats the sense in it, if ya think Cillian is as syferus describes above you're not worth my time.
Post by: larryin89 on June 11, 2018, 04:43:48 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=a_FOigo-ggE
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 11, 2018, 04:54:42 PM
Need to be careful when saying "only 26" when referring to C O Connor. He's playing non stop for the seniors since he was teen in a lot of high intensity and hard hitting games along the way he picked up a lot of injuries I don't expect him to play as long for Mayo as say Andy Moran has who was a late bloomer as scoring forward.
Post by: Syferus on June 11, 2018, 05:06:36 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on June 11, 2018, 04:54:42 PM
Need to be careful when saying "only 26" when referring to C O Connor. He's playing non stop for the seniors since he was teen in a lot of high intensity and hard hitting games along the way he picked up a lot of injuries I don't expect him to play as long for Mayo as say Andy Moran has who was a late bloomer as scoring forward.

It's not like age can make him much slower and his job will allow him to do this for as long as he wants so I wouldn't be so sure.
Post by: sans pessimism on June 11, 2018, 05:14:07 PM
Rot from the inside out ya gobshite
Post by: larryin89 on June 11, 2018, 05:15:26 PM

See your point but he's never been as fit as he is now
Post by: Syferus on June 11, 2018, 05:26:20 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on June 11, 2018, 05:14:07 PM
Rot from the inside out ya gobshite

Seriously? That is your response to what was said? I don't think you realise how horrendous this post is.
Post by: sans pessimism on June 11, 2018, 05:26:31 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 11, 2018, 05:06:36 PM

It's not like age can make him much slower and his job will allow him to do this for as long as he wants so I wouldn't be so sure.
14,662 posts that smell like a bucket of week old fish heads
Post by: Syferus on June 11, 2018, 05:32:24 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on June 11, 2018, 05:26:31 PM

These responses are genuinely pathetic. What's the point of being on a discussion board if this is the way you choose to articulate yourself?

Walking around so deeply angered by a simple opinion (that many agree with, no less) that you think you're entitled to post this sort of nonsense? If you want an echo chamber stick to Willie Joe's blog.
Post by: whitey on June 11, 2018, 05:38:51 PM

How fast is Andy Moran.....his pace (or lack of) didn't stop him from winning player of the year last year. You honestly know fvck all about football
Post by: sans pessimism on June 11, 2018, 05:42:08 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 11, 2018, 05:32:24 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on June 11, 2018, 05:26:31 PM

These responses are genuinely pathetic. What's the point of being on a discussion board if this is the way you choose to articulate yourself?

Walking around so deeply angered by a simple opinion (that many agree with, no less) that you think you're entitled to post this sort of nonsense? If you want an echo chamber stick to Willie Joe's blog.
Nonsense and simple in the one post...sums you up petfectly.Now unlike yourself I have a life away from the keyboard,but feel free to tap all night
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 11, 2018, 09:22:03 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on June 11, 2018, 04:40:59 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on June 11, 2018, 10:48:07 AM

He's not wrong though

How do you make that out  ?
Mayo top scorer of all time and only 26 . Former ypoty and all star.  Oh what's the point im thinking whilst typing , whats the sense in it, if ya think Cillian is as syferus describes above you're not worth my time.

Volatile temper, bit of a sly c***, lacks pace, doesn't exactly set the world alight from play most of the time. Although his frees were a bit better yesterday but haven't been as good for the last while.
Post by: larryin89 on June 11, 2018, 09:34:48 PM
And you're a Mayo person .....I doubt it somehow
Post by: MayoBuck on June 11, 2018, 09:48:50 PM
I don't understand the criticism Cillian gets. Even within the county I know a few people who think Alan Freeman is a better forward than him. So what if he's not that fast? Are Andy Moran/Gooch/Geaney/McManus that quick?

People seem to latch on to any poor game he has and hold it over him forever. McManus was scoreless from play against Fermanagh but nobody questions him. Likewise Gooch was poor against Dublin in 15 and 16. Cillian scored 3 from play in the final last year, yet the begrudgers will say he missed a free at the end so it doesn't matter. Andy and Jason Doherty didn't score in the 2nd half of that game but nobody questions their performances.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 11, 2018, 10:14:22 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on June 11, 2018, 09:34:48 PM

So does that mean I can't call it as it is? I've had a ST and been to every game for years, can't stand him
Post by: spuds on June 11, 2018, 10:18:37 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on June 11, 2018, 10:14:22 PM

So does that mean I can't call it as it is? I've had a ST and been to every game for years, can't stand him
An STD like Syferus?
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 11, 2018, 10:19:06 PM
Quote from: MayoBuck on June 11, 2018, 09:48:50 PM
I don't understand the criticism Cillian gets. Even within county I know a few people who think Alan Freeman is a better forward than him. So what if he's not that fast? Are Andy Moran/Gooch/Geaney/McManus that quick?

People seem to latch on to any poor game he has and hold it over him forever. McManus was scoreless from play against Monaghan but nobody questions him. Likewise Gooch was poor against Dublin in 15 and 16. Cillian scored 3 from play in the final last year, yet the begrudgers will say he missed a free at the end so it doesn't matter. Andy and Jason Doherty didn't score in the 2nd half of that game but nobody questions their performances.

Andy Moran is 34 years of age and Jason Doherty is great player for work rate etc isn't exactly a top class kicker. Dean Rock would've kicked it. Dean Rock is a marquee forward.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 11, 2018, 10:22:45 PM
Quote from: spuds on June 11, 2018, 10:18:37 PM

An STD like Syferus?

I think it's actually pronounced Syfelus
Post by: Tubberman on June 11, 2018, 10:32:03 PM

Is it any wonder most decent posters like moysider have abandoned this place when this is the sort of muck that gets posted.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 11, 2018, 10:34:53 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on June 11, 2018, 10:32:03 PM

Is it any wonder most decent posters like moysider have abandoned this place when this is the sort of muck that gets posted.

So we aren't allowed to question things? Cillian O'Connor isn't a marquee forward and I don't see what's so ridiculous about that statement
Post by: Westside on June 11, 2018, 10:36:46 PM
Is there a better forward than him in Connacht? Maybe Andy Moran on a good day.. Certainly nobody from Roscommon or Galway comes close. Every other county would give their right arm to have a player like O'Connor.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 11, 2018, 10:39:13 PM
Quote from: Westside on June 11, 2018, 10:36:46 PM
Is there a better forward than him in Connacht? Maybe Andy Moran on a good day.. Certainly nobody from Roscommon or Galway comes close. Every other county would give their right arm to have a player like O'Connor.

Based on overall play? I'd say Damien Comer and Shane Walsh anyway. Barry McHugh looks a reliable free taker but he'll have to prove himself in a lot more high pressure situations to be compared to O'Connor
Post by: MayoBuck on June 11, 2018, 10:46:27 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on June 11, 2018, 10:39:13 PM

Based on overall play? I'd say Damien Comer and Shane Walsh anyway. Barry McHugh looks a reliable free taker but he'll have to prove himself in a lot more high pressure situations to be compared to O'Connor

Comer and Walsh are good players but both of them were held scoreless against Kerry last summer. Cillian kicked 3 from play against that same Kerry defence a few weeks later. What makes their overall play so much better? In terms of scoring, creating scores and work rate off the ball.
Post by: Syferus on June 11, 2018, 10:49:30 PM

Not that you'd realise it, but it's this needlessly defensive posturing that holds back discussion. If you can disprove or dispute what someone says go ahead and do it but few fall for the high horse mounting routine.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 11, 2018, 10:49:45 PM
Quote from: MayoBuck on June 11, 2018, 10:46:27 PM

Comer and Walsh are good players but both of them were held scoreless against Kerry last summer. Cillian kicked 3 from play against that same Kerry defence a few weeks later. What makes their overall play so much better? In terms of scoring, creating scores and work rate off the ball.

It is to be noted that Mayo were far more in that game against Galway were. Shane Walsh is far more erratic I'll give you that although I feel he's a more skilful player. O'Connor a better finisher though. I'm open to correction but I feel Comer contributes more to open play and is more important to Galways game. But again O'Connor a better kicker.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 11, 2018, 10:50:40 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 11, 2018, 10:49:30 PM

Not that you'd realise it, but it's this needlessly defensive posturing that holds back discussion. If you can disprove or disputed what some says go ahead and do it but few fall for the high horse mounting routine.

Just responding to his doubts is all
Post by: MayoBuck on June 11, 2018, 11:05:17 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on June 11, 2018, 10:49:45 PM

It is to be noted that Mayo were far more in that game against Galway were. Shane Walsh is far more erratic I'll give you that although I feel he's a more skilful player. O'Connor a better finisher though. I'm open to correction but I feel Comer contributes more to open play and is more important to Galways game. But again O'Connor a better kicker.

Maybe the reason Mayo were far more in the game is that Cillian and others got stuck in and exploited weaknesses in the Kerry team. You believe Shane Walsh is better player but have little substance to back it up. I've yet to see Comer properly roast a top team in championship either.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 11, 2018, 11:06:58 PM
Quote from: MayoBuck on June 11, 2018, 11:05:17 PM

Maybe the reason Mayo were far more in the game is that Cillian and others got stuck in and exploited weaknesses in the Kerry team. You believe Shane Walsh is better player but have little substance to back it up. I've yet to see Comer properly roast a top team in championship either.

Fair point but you still have to consider the system, set up of the team and players around them.
Post by: MayoBuck on June 11, 2018, 11:22:45 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on June 11, 2018, 11:06:58 PM

Fair point but you still have to consider the system, set up of the team and players around them.

Ian Burke and Sean Armstrong scored well that day so you can't just give Walsh and Comer a free pass.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 11, 2018, 11:24:33 PM
Quote from: MayoBuck on June 11, 2018, 11:22:45 PM

Ian Burke and Sean Armstrong scored well that day so you can't just give Walsh and Comer a free pass.

"That day" I'm sure you could make that point about any player
Post by: MayoBuck on June 11, 2018, 11:29:28 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on June 11, 2018, 11:24:33 PM
Quote from: MayoBuck on June 11, 2018, 11:22:45 PM

"That day" I'm sure you could make that point about any player

Don't even know what your point is tbh.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 11, 2018, 11:30:56 PM
Put it this way, OConnor has definitely proven himself more often throughout the years but if I had to pick a team for the Summer I'd take Comer over him (provided we had someone to take the frees)
Post by: MayoBuck on June 11, 2018, 11:36:02 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on June 11, 2018, 11:30:56 PM
Put it this way, OConnor has definitely proven himself more often throughout the years but if I had to pick a team for the Summer I'd take Comer over him (provided we had someone to take the frees)

Sure we'll just let McLoughlin and Doherty take the frees, that always goes well...
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 11, 2018, 11:44:34 PM
Quote from: MayoBuck on June 11, 2018, 11:36:02 PM

Sure we'll just let McLoughlin and Doherty take the frees, that always goes well...

Not a criticism, just a genuine question. Why is McLoughlin even let near the frees? It's clear he doesn't want to take them and it only saps his confidence. Would it not be better let O'Connor take all the frees
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 11, 2018, 11:45:45 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on June 11, 2018, 11:44:34 PM

Not a criticism, just a genuine question. Why is McLoughlin even let near the frees? It's clear he doesn't want to take them and it only saps his confidence. Would it not be better let O'Connor take all the frees

Ask SR. He's the only man who knows.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 11, 2018, 11:47:05 PM
Comer/OConnor@ wouldnt get a spot in front of a full forward line of McBreaty; Murphy and McManus up north!!
Post by: MayoBuck on June 11, 2018, 11:48:06 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on June 11, 2018, 11:44:34 PM

That would be my thinking too.
Post by: Syferus on June 11, 2018, 11:57:39 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 11, 2018, 11:47:05 PM
Comer/OConnor@ wouldnt get a spot in front of a full forward line of McBreaty; Murphy and McManus up north!!

Murphy of a few years ago maybe re:Comer. Galway's style doesn't let him utilise his talents to their fullest extent but he is essentially a faster, stronger version of Murphy at his peak.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 12, 2018, 12:04:15 AM
He aint stronger than Murphy; likely faster though! Murphy beem assive for Donegal in the championship this yeat even though he openly man marked the entire game! Donegal starting to show serious form and i have them ahead of Kerry and Galway to rattle the dubs this year
Post by: oliverkelly on June 12, 2018, 08:52:06 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 12, 2018, 12:04:15 AM
He aint stronger than Murphy; likely faster though! Murphy beem assive for Donegal in the championship this yeat even though he openly man marked the entire game! Donegal starting to show serious form and i have them ahead of Kerry and Galway to rattle the dubs this year

Based on what? they beat three shite teams. Their league form was shite and although they seem to be playing better now they have played nothing but dirt so far and it will be the same in the Ulster final
Post by: Hound on June 12, 2018, 09:10:36 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on June 11, 2018, 10:19:06 PM
I don't understand the criticism Cillian gets. Even within county I know a few people who think Alan Freeman is a better forward than him. So what if he's not that fast? Are Andy Moran/Gooch/Geaney/McManus that quick?

People seem to latch on to any poor game he has and hold it over him forever. McManus was scoreless from play against Monaghan but nobody questions him. Likewise Gooch was poor against Dublin in 15 and 16. Cillian scored 3 from play in the final last year, yet the begrudgers will say he missed a free at the end so it doesn't matter. Andy and Jason Doherty didn't score in the 2nd half of that game but nobody questions their performances.

Andy Moran is 34 years of age and Jason Doherty is great player for work rate etc isn't exactly a top class kicker. Dean Rock would've kicked it. Dean Rock is a marquee forward.
I've a strong dislike of Cillian, but I've often defended his abilities.

I don't think you could put him behind Rock. They're around equal overall. Both usually 85%-90% on frees, the two most proven in the country in high pressure games. But they will both miss the odd one, that's not down to ability or bottle, that's just because they are not robots.

It is fair to say Rock has moved ahead in pure freetaking over the past year. Rock also used to be a complete pushover, but has added some steel to his game and is capable of getting in his retaliation first. O'Connor of course is a complete nuisance to play against! There have been big games where Cillian has carried the Mayo forward line, if he's not in the top 2 or 3 Mayo forwards, then he's had a bad game. I'm not sure Rock could do for Mayo what O'Connor has done for Mayo.

O'Connor probably does need to reign in the crankiness just a little bit, but still think Mayo are lucky to have him. A lad who never hides, who will always take on responsibility no matter what has happened beforehand. 
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 12, 2018, 09:38:24 AM
Quote from: Hound on June 12, 2018, 09:10:36 AM

I don't think you could put him behind Rock. They're around equal overall. Both usually 85%-90% on frees, the two most proven in the country in high pressure games. But they will both miss the odd one, that's not down to ability or bottle, that's just because they are not robots.

It is fair to say Rock has moved ahead in pure freetaking over the past year. Rock also used to be a complete pushover, but has added some steel to his game and is capable of getting in his retaliation first. O'Connor of course is a complete nuisance to play against! There have been big games where Cillian has carried the Mayo forward line, if he's not in the top 2 or 3 Mayo forwards, then he's had a bad game. I'm not sure Rock could do for Mayo what O'Connor has done for Mayo.

O'Connor probably does need to reign in the crankiness just a little bit, but still think Mayo are lucky to have him. A lad who never hides, who will always take on responsibility no matter what has happened beforehand.

I'm probably just being overly harsh because honestly I don't like him. Around the time we drew with Dublin in the semi-final (2015?) and he kicked 9 frees I wouldn't have dropped him for anyone, even just on free taking alone. I feel like he's dropped off a bit in the last while but that's just on memory alone so I could be wrong, I don't have stats or anything to back it up.
Post by: joemamas on June 12, 2018, 01:36:16 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on June 12, 2018, 09:38:24 AM

I'm probably just being overly harsh because honestly I don't like him. Around the time we drew with Dublin in the semi-final (2015?) and he kicked 9 frees I wouldn't have dropped him for anyone, even just on free taking alone. I feel like he's dropped off a bit in the last while but that's just on memory alone so I could be wrong, I don't have stats or anything to back it up.

Time to stop the bullsh*t, it is bad enough people outside of Mayo knocking him.
As for his contribution to Mayo, Immeasurable in my opinion.
Think all-Ireland final drawn game and equalizing point, It was the actions of a leader.
some of his points in last years final the same. Imagine, if he was on a team that had two or three natural young forwards, who would deflect some of the attention away from him.
Post by: Syferus on June 12, 2018, 01:48:12 PM

Just have the guts to call dirt what it is and don't be dressing it up in fanciful words. Same goes for COC's defenders. The unwillingness to meaningfully criticise the golden goose just because he's yours is one of the silliest parts of the GAA mentality.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 12, 2018, 02:05:50 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 12, 2018, 01:36:16 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on June 12, 2018, 09:38:24 AM

Time to stop the bullsh*t, it is bad enough people outside of Mayo knocking him.
As for his contribution to Mayo, Immeasurable in my opinion.
Think all-Ireland final drawn game and equalizing point, It was the actions of a leader.
some of his points in last years final the same. Imagine, if he was on a team that had two or three natural young forwards, who would deflect some of the attention away from him.

Well said. Not sure Mayo4Sam14 recognises Cillian's contribution to the Mayo cause.
Post by: JoG2 on June 12, 2018, 02:19:04 PM

Mr Mayo, a great footballing mind.  'provided....'  ;D
Post by: Maroon Manc on June 13, 2018, 01:01:31 PM
COC will continue to split opinion, for obvious reasons he's one of the least likeable players on the pitch. I've given him stick for his scores from play in AI semi's and finals but he had a better year last year scoring 0-7 from play in the 3 games against Kerry & Dublin.

It looks like his freetaking isn't as accurate as it was 3 years ago either and he's hardly the most dynamic forward but his record is very impressive.

If you were picking the best 5 or 6 forwards in the country would he be included?
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 13, 2018, 02:49:03 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on June 13, 2018, 01:01:31 PM
COC will continue to split opinion, for obvious reasons he's one of the least likeable players on the pitch. I've given him stick for his scores from play in AI semi's and finals but he had a better year last year scoring 0-7 from play in the 3 games against Kerry & Dublin.

It looks like his freetaking isn't as accurate as it was 3 years ago either and he's hardly the most dynamic forward but his record is very impressive.

If you were picking the best 5 or 6 forwards in the country would he be included?

That's what I was getting at, and no he wouldn't be for me.

Kilkenny O'Callaghan Connolly
Rock         Comer       Geaney

Those 6 for me. Special mention also McBrearty, McManus.
Post by: Mayo Border on June 13, 2018, 03:47:05 PM
Good man mayoforsam. 4 dubs in your team. How are things in the Reservoir?
Post by: Hound on June 13, 2018, 05:06:14 PM
What did Mannion and Andrews do wrong??

I presume O'Gara is impact sub
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 13, 2018, 05:08:07 PM
Quote from: Mayo Border on June 13, 2018, 03:47:05 PM

He asked for the best forwards in the country, Dublin have the best forwards- tends to happen if you've won three in a row
Post by: MayoBuck on June 13, 2018, 07:29:35 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on June 13, 2018, 02:49:03 PM

Kilkenny has never scored in an All Ireland final, despite playing in the same number as Cillian...

In all seriousness, I'd have Mannion in there somewhere.
Post by: Maroon Manc on June 14, 2018, 10:36:08 AM
Quote from: MayoBuck on June 13, 2018, 07:29:35 PM

Kilkenny has never scored in an All Ireland final, despite playing in the same number as Cillian...

That definitely true? He does play a different role to COC though and Dublin certainly aren't reliant on him for scores but its an oddity he's not scored in 5 finals including replays.

Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 14, 2018, 10:43:03 AM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on June 14, 2018, 10:36:08 AM
Quote from: MayoBuck on June 13, 2018, 07:29:35 PM

That definitely true? He does play a different role to COC though and Dublin certainly aren't reliant on him for scores but its an oddity he's not scored in 5 finals including replays.

Keegan did have him in his pocket last year to be fair
Post by: rosnarun on June 14, 2018, 12:43:41 PM
the mind boggles at the tripe coming put of some of the mayo posters here.
we probably have the best  forward in the country or statistically ever and you not happy.
im not going to slag off any of ther other players mention to make my point but they all have some weakness or other mainly being human and blowing hot and cold where as Killian is always at the top of his game and that's why he stats are so good
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 14, 2018, 12:53:55 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on June 13, 2018, 05:08:07 PM

He asked for the best forwards in the country, Dublin have the best forwards- tends to happen if you've won three in a row
Connolly no longer one of Dublins best forwards. Out of favour and he knows this and has decided to fly off to America instead of sitting on the bench.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 14, 2018, 04:44:09 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 14, 2018, 12:53:55 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on June 13, 2018, 05:08:07 PM

Connolly no longer one of Dublins best forwards. Out of favour and he knows this and has decided to fly off to America instead of sitting on the bench.

There's a lot more to it than that and you know it, he'd walk into any team in the country. Arguably one of the most naturally gifted players to play the game.
Post by: mayoman dan on June 14, 2018, 08:16:01 PM

There's a lot more to it than that and you know it, he'd walk into any team in the country. Arguably one of the most naturally gifted players to play the game.

We all know it but no one can bloody say it ;D ;D ;D
Post by: MayoBuck on June 14, 2018, 09:44:20 PM
https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/alan-brogan-dublin-and-mayo-built-around-two-men-with-striking-similarities-37011796.html (https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/alan-brogan-dublin-and-mayo-built-around-two-men-with-striking-similarities-37011796.html)

Alan Brogan knows a quality forward when he sees one.
Post by: Tubberman on June 15, 2018, 07:49:54 PM
Quote from: MayoBuck on June 14, 2018, 09:44:20 PM
https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/alan-brogan-dublin-and-mayo-built-around-two-men-with-striking-similarities-37011796.html (https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/alan-brogan-dublin-and-mayo-built-around-two-men-with-striking-similarities-37011796.html)

Alan Brogan knows a quality forward when he sees one.

Yeah but as Mayo4Sam so rightly said, if we had another player who could do with Cillian does, then we wouldn't need Cillian, therefore he's not that good.
Post by: JoG2 on June 15, 2018, 09:04:00 PM
C O'C is a huge player for Mayo, the man is vital for them. Put it this way, IF Mayo reached the AI semi or final and faced Dublin, with O'connor they'd have a great chance (1 point victories in the last 2 finals was it?), but without him they'd have zero chance imo. Is there a more important player for any other county in the country? McManus maybe, Murphy? E Donnelly? Can't think of too many others. A fantastic footballer, and to think what he's scored and him still mid twenties, If he keeps on trucking til he's 30+, his final tally will take some beating. Wish we'd a player like him