GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: SamFever on June 10, 2019, 10:20:05 PM

Title: Down versus Mayo
Post by: SamFever on June 10, 2019, 10:20:05 PM
Looking forward to this.
Title: Re: Down versus Mayo
Post by: From the Bunker on June 10, 2019, 11:02:51 PM
Don't really care about this.
Post by: OgraAnDun on June 10, 2019, 11:04:15 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 10, 2019, 11:02:51 PM

You're always in with a shout, Down's home form is nothing to write home about  ;D
Post by: From the Bunker on June 10, 2019, 11:25:30 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on June 10, 2019, 11:04:15 PM

You're always in with a shout, Down's home form is nothing to write home about  ;D

We could both pretend this is a turning point in our season and who ever wins will be serious All Ireland contenders.
Post by: fearsiuil on June 11, 2019, 10:42:18 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 10, 2019, 11:25:30 PM

We could both pretend this is a turning point in our season and who ever wins will be serious All Ireland contenders.
You are the single most joyless individualon on this board.

Personally looking forward to how the team takes shape and responds to the Ross loss. Will enjoy the journey for what it is and where it takes us however short or long.
Post by: Hound on June 11, 2019, 11:55:35 AM
What's the news on Cillian? Has he been playing club football?
Post by: charlieTully on June 11, 2019, 01:35:09 PM
When is this?
Post by: Halfquarter on June 11, 2019, 01:49:02 PM
Quote from: Hound on June 11, 2019, 11:55:35 AM
What's the news on Cillian? Has he been playing club football?

Hopefully ,we won't go into this match without a free taker.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 11, 2019, 01:58:55 PM
7pm Sat evening... >:(
Post by: MayoBuck on June 11, 2019, 02:16:19 PM
FFS who decided on that throw in time?
Post by: From the Bunker on June 11, 2019, 02:29:17 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 11, 2019, 01:58:55 PM

Some craic if the game went to extra time and penalties.  Could be 10:30 before anyone was on the road for a four hour trip home.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 11, 2019, 02:36:36 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 11, 2019, 02:29:17 PM

Some craic if the game went to extra time and penalties.  Could be 10:30 before anyone was on the road for a four hour trip home.

Are you finally starting to care about this game?
Post by: Aristo 60 on June 11, 2019, 02:48:41 PM
New York doesn't seem that far away now boys.
Post by: tml73 on June 11, 2019, 03:35:41 PM
We had 5 years and a bank holiday weekend to plan that one ;)
Post by: snoopdog on June 11, 2019, 03:51:24 PM
That's a crazy time considering the distance mayo have to travel. Must be to accomodate sky tv.
Post by: lurganblue on June 11, 2019, 04:00:15 PM
Ya may get booked into the Canal Court
Post by: Aristo 60 on June 11, 2019, 04:25:04 PM
Jeez it would be great to give yiz a welcome and a night like tyrone got in 2008    ;D
Post by: From the Bunker on June 11, 2019, 05:38:39 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on June 11, 2019, 02:36:36 PM

Are you finally starting to care about this game?

Sadly, no.
Post by: BennyCake on June 11, 2019, 06:08:47 PM

Penalties?! Wtf? No replay???
Post by: rodney trotter on June 11, 2019, 06:13:47 PM
Kildare v Antrim at 3.Longford v Tyrone at 5.. They must have this on Sky
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 11, 2019, 06:31:33 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on June 11, 2019, 06:08:47 PM

No. Winner on the day for all backdoor games.
Post by: rosnarun on June 11, 2019, 07:36:49 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 11, 2019, 06:31:33 PM

No. Winner on the day for all backdoor games.
that's how it rolls in the basement
Post by: Blowitupref on June 11, 2019, 07:40:05 PM

You haven't been paying attention to this thread have you?  http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=29215.0
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 11, 2019, 07:45:02 PM
Munster final on June 22nd also. Throw in time not confirmed yet for that game and will be live on RTE. Could be 5pm then one of the 7pm round 2 ties will be live on SKY, this game or the Monaghan v Armagh one.
Post by: Ball Hopper on June 11, 2019, 08:38:03 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on June 11, 2019, 07:45:02 PM
Munster final on June 22nd also. Throw in time not confirmed yet for that game and will be live on RTE. Could be 5pm then one of the 7pm round 2 ties will be live on SKY, this game or the Monaghan v Armagh one.

Munster Final 22 June in Páirc Uí Chaoimh:  Minor final 4:30pm, Senior final 7pm...both games Cork v Kerry

Post by: Rossfan on June 11, 2019, 08:43:24 PM
Sky will hardly put a game on at 7 so?

I'm nearly feeling sorry for the Rhubarbs being on at 7pm.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 11, 2019, 08:49:29 PM
Not on the listings. Wexford Kilkenny on one channel and nothing the other unless that changes.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 11, 2019, 08:54:17 PM
It's not on Sky from a tweet I saw
Post by: imtommygunn on June 11, 2019, 09:00:47 PM
I don't see any qualifiers on at all. Just the hurling.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 11, 2019, 09:01:30 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on June 11, 2019, 08:38:03 PM

Munster Final 22 June in Páirc Uí Chaoimh:  Minor final 4:30pm, Senior final 7pm...both games Cork v Kerry

GAA.ie need to update their website so.
(https://i.imgur.com/ffu86YH.png)
Post by: Ball Hopper on June 11, 2019, 09:30:32 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on June 11, 2019, 09:01:30 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on June 11, 2019, 08:38:03 PM

GAA.ie need to update their website so.
(https://i.imgur.com/ffu86YH.png)

Munster GAA run the fixtures, not Croke Park.

Take a look here for the fixture:

https://munster.gaa.ie/fixtures/senior/
Post by: kerryforsam19 on June 11, 2019, 10:10:27 PM
Quote from: fearsiuil on June 11, 2019, 10:42:18 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 10, 2019, 11:25:30 PM

You are the single most joyless individualon on this board.

Personally looking forward to how the team takes shape and responds to the Ross loss. Will enjoy the journey for what it is and where it takes us however short or long.

Another "divisive and mean spirited" comment!
Post by: highorlow on June 12, 2019, 11:53:13 AM
I see Newry train station is a handy 50 minute walk from the field. WTF?  - are there shuttle buses into the City Centre?
Post by: OgraAnDun on June 12, 2019, 12:12:10 PM
Quote from: highorlow on June 12, 2019, 11:53:13 AM
I see Newry train station is a handy 50 minute walk from the field. WTF?  - are there shuttle buses into the City Centre?

Thanks to the Brits building train stations on the outside of towns so their troops could organise at the train station without being ambushed in a town centre.

There's a shuttle bus to the bus depot. You can walk (10-15 mins) from there or get another bus.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 12, 2019, 12:56:35 PM
Is the canal court hotel near the ground?
Post by: under the bar on June 12, 2019, 12:58:19 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 12, 2019, 12:56:35 PM

Yes. Just a 40 min walk!
Post by: johnnycool on June 12, 2019, 01:17:15 PM
Quote from: under the bar on June 12, 2019, 12:58:19 PM

Yes. Just a 40 min walk!

40 minutes?

I'd have thought it was much shorter than that unless you've a feed of drink in you.
Post by: Rossfan on June 12, 2019, 01:21:37 PM
The Rhubarbs will lose some flab getting to this match :D ;D
Post by: whitey on June 12, 2019, 02:05:12 PM
LOL-like the time in Limerick the "shuttle busses" dropping people off a mile from the stadium and then nowhere to be found after the game
Post by: Redhand Santa on June 12, 2019, 02:16:52 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on June 12, 2019, 01:17:15 PM

Yes. Just a 40 min walk!

40 minutes?

I'd have thought it was much shorter than that unless you've a feed of drink in you.

I've done it a few times before and would have thought from memory it was more like 15/20 minutes.
Post by: highorlow on June 12, 2019, 02:29:05 PM
QuoteThere's a shuttle bus to the bus depot. You can walk (10-15 mins) from there or get another bus.

Thanks, just in case, is there by any chance a Newry Bikes scheme?
Post by: Lazer on June 12, 2019, 03:13:33 PM
Quote from: highorlow on June 12, 2019, 02:29:05 PM
QuoteThere's a shuttle bus to the bus depot. You can walk (10-15 mins) from there or get another bus.

Thanks, just in case, is there by any chance a Newry Bikes scheme?

It's 1.2miles - so about 20 min walk

Down are in the final of the Christy Ring cup at 2pm in Croke Park - could be the reason for the 7pm game in Newry?
Post by: meatsy86 on June 12, 2019, 03:36:48 PM
For then Armagh match in the Ulster Championship at Pairc Esler there were shuttle buses running from the train station to the ground and also from the Quays/Buttercrane car parks to the match. I'm sure with the crowd expected they will be running something similar.
Post by: armaghniac on June 12, 2019, 03:38:21 PM

This used to be called Bessbrook station, a touch of the Ryanair there.
The real Newry station closed in 1965.
In any case the walk would be downhill on the way in, it is coming back you need the bus.
Post by: larryin89 on June 12, 2019, 03:46:50 PM
Anyone travelling by public transport from Dublin is as well get the coach as far as I can make out unless you're staying the night .
Post by: OgraAnDun on June 12, 2019, 06:06:23 PM
Quote from: meatsy86 on June 12, 2019, 03:36:48 PM
For then Armagh match in the Ulster Championship at Pairc Esler there were shuttle buses running from the train station to the ground and also from the Quays/Buttercrane car parks to the match. I'm sure with the crowd expected they will be running something similar.

That's a partnership between Ulster GAA and Ulsterbus, I don't know if it'll be extended to AI series.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 14, 2019, 07:44:27 AM
Another Friday, another rumour in rumourville.
Post by: BennyCake on June 14, 2019, 09:53:18 AM

The shuttle bus is waiting outside the station and leaves a few minutes after the Enterprise train arrives from Dublin or Belfast. Just head out the main door, bus waiting on the right.

Similarly, the bus leaves the bus station along the canal (opposite Canal Court hotel), and gets you there for the corresponding train to Belfast or Dublin.
Post by: giveballaghback on June 14, 2019, 02:35:26 PM
Jaysus lads, life in the basement is hard.  ;D
Post by: dec on June 14, 2019, 02:41:50 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on June 12, 2019, 01:17:15 PM

Yes. Just a 40 min walk!

40 minutes?

It is about a mile
Post by: highorlow on June 14, 2019, 02:54:14 PM
QuoteJaysus lads, life in the basement is hard.  ;D

spoken by a man with years and years of experience of it, hit back to the Connacht Final thread
Post by: Chicago Hurling on June 15, 2019, 12:37:14 PM
Is the match on TV?
Post by: MayoBuck on June 15, 2019, 12:41:46 PM
Not on TV.

Another rumour doing the rounds this morning unfortunately...  :-[
Post by: Tubberman on June 15, 2019, 01:00:22 PM
confirmed by indo. Ruane broke his collar bone in training

https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/blow-for-mayo-as-new-midfield-star-matthew-ruane-sidelined-with-broken-collar-bone-38221636.html (https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/blow-for-mayo-as-new-midfield-star-matthew-ruane-sidelined-with-broken-collar-bone-38221636.html)
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 15, 2019, 01:38:29 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on June 15, 2019, 01:00:22 PM

https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/blow-for-mayo-as-new-midfield-star-matthew-ruane-sidelined-with-broken-collar-bone-38221636.html (https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/blow-for-mayo-as-new-midfield-star-matthew-ruane-sidelined-with-broken-collar-bone-38221636.html)

It's not as if we're blessed with midfielders either. Best wishes to young Matthew. A true gent off the pitch as well.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 15, 2019, 01:46:04 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 15, 2019, 01:38:29 PM

It's not as if we're blessed with midfielders either. Best wishes to young Matthew. A true gent off the pitch as well.

Tough break for the lad! Seamie is only a 50 minute man at best anymore and Donie has lost a lot of guile since recent injuries. Parson's  is still a long journey back.

The feel good factor from from winning the League in March and to the New York game is slowly sliding.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 15, 2019, 01:54:09 PM

So unlucky at a time that Ruane was in fine form. Will S O'Shea take his spot or Diarmuid O'Connor move back into midfield as he did v Kildare last year?
Post by: larryin89 on June 15, 2019, 02:13:50 PM
Disaster for Mattie ruane, the team and us lot too. Wish him all the best in his recovery , should still make it back for Breaffy who might fancy their chances this year.

Cillian is also rumored to not be near 100%, I think we are as well off out of 2019 championship at this stage , nobody is really up for it , ya can feel it , there is an air of acceptance now the good run has ended.

I sincerely hope when commentators on both social media and mainstream start writing the aul obituaries that they do take a moment and give a little credit to this band of absolute warriors who have given everything they could the last six/seven years and just came up a little shy of winning it out. There is no need for the nastiness at all , the battle is lost now , when a team leaves the stage like this a bit of respect should be shown.
Post by: giveballaghback on June 15, 2019, 02:40:55 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on June 15, 2019, 02:13:50 PM
Disaster for Mattie ruane, the team and us lot too. Wish him all the best in his recovery , should still make it back for Breaffy who might fancy their chances this year.

Cillian is also rumored to not be near 100%, I think we are as well off out of 2019 championship at this stage , nobody is really up for it , ya can feel it , there is an air of acceptance now the good run has ended.

I sincerely hope when commentators on both social media and mainstream start writing the aul obituaries that they do take a moment and give a little credit to this band of absolute warriors who have given everything they could the last six/seven years and just came up a little shy of winning it out. There is no need for the nastiness at all , the battle is lost now , when a team leaves the stage like this a bit of respect should be shown.
No problem larryin, i will play the last post for ye.
Post by: Rossfan on June 15, 2019, 02:59:38 PM
He'd nearly bring a tear to th'oul eye :'(
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 15, 2019, 05:05:47 PM

Musha larry, the likes of the last two posts after yours show the 'esteem' they were held countrywide, so I wouldn't hold my breath. First is first and second is nowhere and all that, though.

I think Down will win next weekend.
Post by: dublin7 on June 15, 2019, 05:24:06 PM

Do you think we should organise a minutes applause for a specific time so people wherever they are can show their appreciation. I mean, it's not like Mayo have got much coverage in the media down the years
Post by: highorlow on June 15, 2019, 06:10:46 PM
I didn't think gaels would stoop to the soccer lads level on this board, obviously I'm wrong.
Post by: Rossfan on June 15, 2019, 06:16:33 PM
"gaels" ::)
Are you Joe Brolly?
Post by: macdanger2 on June 15, 2019, 07:59:44 PM

Disappointing for him and probably a killer blow for our chances this season although I still think we'll win next weekend. On the plus side, it's an injury that shouldn't affect him too much in the future
Post by: yellowcard on June 15, 2019, 08:12:30 PM
I think Down could spring a surprise in this one, Mayo are on a sharp decline, a lot of old and tired legs in that side. Away from home on a Saturday night it's perfectly set up for an ambush and I think Down quietly fancy their chances.
Post by: snoopdog on June 15, 2019, 09:40:46 PM
While Down will give this game all they have and will believe in their chances. Down are still a Div 3 side.
Post by: Hound on June 15, 2019, 09:59:45 PM
It's utterly bizarre the reaction people have for Mayo losing a game by a SINGLE point after hitting a sea of wides and missing a relatively easy free with the last kick.

Mayo with a full deck are still the second best team in the country and the team the Dubs most fear playing.

Down are 11/2 to beat Mayo. All the geniuses who write off Mayo can fill their boots. Massive odds for a 2 horse race.

That means if you bet 20 on Down,
You lose 20
Post by: thewobbler on June 15, 2019, 10:39:24 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 15, 2019, 08:12:30 PM
I think Down could spring a surprise in this one, Mayo are on a sharp decline, a lot of old and tired legs in that side. Away from home on a Saturday night it's perfectly set up for an ambush and I think Down quietly fancy their chances.

Mayo won D1 of the league 6 weeks ago, without their key forward.

Since then they've lost one match, against another D1 team, when they kicked two dozen wides.

I'm not sure you actually understand what a sharp decline is.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 15, 2019, 10:48:04 PM
Mayo's record in the qualifiers the last few years.

Kildare 0-21 Mayo 0-19
Tipperary 1-11 Mayo 1-19
Limerick 3-7 Mayo 5-19

Mayo 2-21 Derry 1-13 After Extra-Time
Clare 0-13 Mayo 2-14
Mayo 0-27 Cork 2-20 After Extra-Time

Mayo 3-15 Westmeath 1-14
Mayo 2-17 Kildare 0-14
Mayo 2-14 Fermanagh 1-12

Looking at these results, it's mind-boggling how close they got in 2016 and 2017.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 15, 2019, 11:09:34 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on June 15, 2019, 10:48:04 PM
Mayo's record in the qualifiers the last few years.

Kildare 0-21 Mayo 0-19
Tipperary 1-11 Mayo 1-19
Limerick 3-7 Mayo 5-19

Mayo 2-21 Derry 1-13 After Extra-Time
Clare 0-13 Mayo 2-14
Mayo 0-27 Cork 2-20 After Extra-Time

Mayo 3-15 Westmeath 1-14
Mayo 2-17 Kildare 0-14
Mayo 2-14 Fermanagh 1-12

Looking at these results, it's mind-boggling how close they got in 2016 and 2017.

It sure is! All the focus of this group has been to peak toward August!
Post by: From the Bunker on June 15, 2019, 11:56:34 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on June 15, 2019, 05:24:06 PM

Do you think we should organise a minutes applause for a specific time so people wherever they are can show their appreciation. I mean, it's not like Mayo have got much coverage in the media down the years

At least we made it worth your while going to home championship games when you played us. Ye were always far far better than us, but some how we always managed to stay close to ye. The boredom must be a killer for Dublin fans anymore?
Post by: moysider on June 16, 2019, 12:04:54 AM

The thing is it wouldn't be a surprise at all if Down win. Same as losing to Roscommon wasn't a surprise let alone a shock. These results are normal fare for us.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 16, 2019, 12:44:05 AM
Quote from: moysider on June 16, 2019, 12:04:54 AM
I think Down could spring a surprise in this one, Mayo are on a sharp decline, a lot of old and tired legs in that side. Away from home on a Saturday night it’s perfectly set up for an ambush and I think Down quietly fancy their chances.

The thing is it wouldn’t be a surprise at all if Down win. Same as losing to Roscommon wasn’t a surprise let alone a shock. These results are normal fare for us.

Roscommon played their league football this spring in Div 1 likewise Kildare in 2018. You have to go back to 2010 since Mayo lost a championship game to a team that didn't play in Div 1 and the current Mayo side losing to Div 3 Down would be a much bigger surprise than what happened in 2010 as they are far more seasoned and experienced outfit than John O'Mahony team was back then.

Post by: larryin89 on June 16, 2019, 07:22:19 PM

Obviously I don't want that nor does anyone associated with mayo player nor supporter . We just want to go away quietly and try build again for the years ahead . I'm not trying to hide any disappointment, it's honestly heartbreaking and I'm no shrinking violet either but such is life . My point is I believe the team should be given the respect it deserves and not to be mocked continuously like it's all some big joke.
Post by: Tubberman on June 16, 2019, 07:47:14 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on June 16, 2019, 07:22:19 PM

Obviously I don't want that nor does anyone associated with mayo player nor supporter . We just want to go away quietly and try build again for the years ahead . I'm not trying to hide any disappointment, it's honestly heartbreaking and I'm no shrinking violet either but such is life . My point is I believe the team should be given the respect it deserves and not to be mocked continuously like it's all some big joke.

Will you stop ffs - nobody has died, we are not in mourning. We're not even out of the championship
Post by: Lar Naparka on June 16, 2019, 09:17:10 PM
I dunno why anyone want to write Mayo off out of hand after losing their last game. Roscommon showed today that they are far better than anyone expected and Mayo didn't take them seriously enough. That doesn't mean Mayo have lost their bottle- a lot of old defects showed up that day but those were of the team's own making.
I can't see them hitting 18 wides next Saturday and surely to God, Horan will have sorted out some free taking system by them. Matty Ruane will be a big loss but there are more promising young players this year than any other as far back as I can remember and the team has had a long layoff to sort themselves out. If the lot of them aren't rearin' to go next Saturday, I'll eat me hat cap! ;D
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 16, 2019, 09:20:05 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 14, 2019, 07:44:27 AM

Heard the same rumour from a more reliable source this eve.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 16, 2019, 09:26:08 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 16, 2019, 09:20:05 PM

An shite, i presumed this rumour was just about Ruane getting injured
Post by: Tubberman on June 16, 2019, 09:28:43 PM

Clarke?
Post by: dublin7 on June 16, 2019, 09:29:03 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 15, 2019, 11:56:34 PM

At least we made it worth your while going to home championship games when you played us. Ye were always far far better than us, but some how we always managed to stay close to ye. The boredom must be a killer for Dublin fans anymore?

As a Mayo fan you must know it's all about the journey as well!!! We just have happy endings. It's the days out in Croker in the sunshine, trips to Omagh to play on pitches specifically set up for Dublin. That was quite an honor whether it was SKY television company or Mickey Harte. I suspect  it was Mickey but being the kind of guy he is, he refused to take credit for it..

I was hopinv for trip to Galway for the weekend in the Super8s but is not looking promising now.
Post by: Lar Naparka on June 16, 2019, 09:38:24 PM

What rumour are you talking about?
Post by: Duine Eile on June 16, 2019, 09:45:14 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 16, 2019, 09:38:24 PM

Clarke walking? I heard this rumour also!
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 16, 2019, 09:50:11 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on June 16, 2019, 09:45:14 PM

Until WJ and his blog allows it, then it's not allowed. But yes.
Post by: moysider on June 16, 2019, 10:44:19 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 16, 2019, 09:50:11 PM

Just a rumour.
Post by: Lar Naparka on June 16, 2019, 10:49:06 PM
Quote from: moysider on June 16, 2019, 10:44:19 PM

Just a rumour.
Let's hope so.
Post by: moysider on June 16, 2019, 11:07:26 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 16, 2019, 10:49:06 PM
Quote from: moysider on June 16, 2019, 10:44:19 PM

Just a rumour.
Let's hope so.

On the other hand there is another rumour that Aido wasn't been able to train last week.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 16, 2019, 11:07:48 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on June 16, 2019, 09:29:03 PM

As a Mayo fan you must know it's all about the journey as well!!! We just have happy endings. It's the days out in Croker in the sunshine, trips to Omagh to play on pitches specifically set up for Dublin. That was quite an honor whether it was SKY television company or Mickey Harte. I suspect  it was Mickey but being the kind of guy he is, he refused to take credit for it..

I was hopinv for trip to Galway for the weekend in the Super8s but is not looking promising now.

As a Dublin fan you know sweet F**k all about Journeys, unless you think a trip on Dublin Bus, the Luas or Dart is a Journey. And most of you can't be bothered doing that anymore.
Post by: dublin7 on June 17, 2019, 12:06:38 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 16, 2019, 11:07:48 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on June 16, 2019, 09:29:03 PM

As a Dublin fan you know sweet F**k all about Journeys, unless you think a trip on Dublin Bus, the Luas or Dart is a Journey. And most of you can't be bothered doing that anymore.

Ah don't be like that.. Travelling by public transport is a journey. true its not a long one, but the last 5 years have been the real symbolic journey in league and championship. Travelling to grounds around the country knowing Dubs are the team everyone wants to beat, but still this amazing team finds ways to win. This is going to be a historic year regardless of whether Dublin win or lose the All Ireland. If it's not Cluxton then someone else will join Seamus Darby in GAA history. Surely you can see that?
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 17, 2019, 08:31:40 AM
Strewth, this thread is supposed to be about the upcoming match between Mayo and Down, not Dublin bus rides. Or anything about Dublin.

What's the feeling like in Down about this one?
Post by: From the Bunker on June 17, 2019, 10:36:03 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 17, 2019, 08:31:40 AM
Strewth, this thread is supposed to be about the upcoming match between Mayo and Down, not Dublin bus rides. Or anything about Dublin.

What's the feeling like in Down about this one?

Nobody really cares anymore Farr! The Dubs are bored winning and the likes of us are bored losing. And while you have a County that has a Monopoly on Funding, sponsorship and home advantage -  the boredom will only get worse.
Post by: yellowcard on June 17, 2019, 10:58:18 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on June 15, 2019, 10:39:24 PM

Mayo won D1 of the league 6 weeks ago, without their key forward.

Since then they've lost one match, against another D1 team, when they kicked two dozen wides.

I'm not sure you actually understand what a sharp decline is.

Thanks for the reminder but I can make my own mind up on these things. You forgot to exclude the fact that Mayo have lost to Roscommon and Kildare in their last 2 championship fixtures which I imagine would be more of a priority than a national league. By any reasoning most people would agree that Mayo are certainly not on an upward curve so to argue that they are not in decline is to simply just ignore the evidence in front of you.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 17, 2019, 11:09:57 AM
I presume Cillian won't be back for this?
Post by: Mayo4Sam on June 17, 2019, 04:53:04 PM
Rumour going round that Clarke has left the panel, presume its BS

Ruane is a big loss, although with the collar bone he could be back in six weeks
Post by: Crete Boom on June 17, 2019, 05:20:40 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 17, 2019, 11:09:57 AM
I presume Cillian won't be back for this?

He is supposed to have played a challenge match last weekend so he could be back.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 19, 2019, 03:52:53 PM
Is there tickets on sale form this game anywhere?
Does O'Neills in Newry sell them or Supervalu on Dublin Rd?
whats the dealio
Post by: guy crouchback on June 20, 2019, 10:09:29 AM
you should be able to get them in supervalu and i assume they will be on sale at the ground. if not just go up early and shout ''ill scan a season ticket'' there will be hundreds ( if not thousands) spare season tickets with people  looking to have them scanned.
Post by: fearsiuil on June 20, 2019, 10:34:31 AM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 19, 2019, 03:52:53 PM
Is there tickets on sale form this game anywhere?
Does O'Neills in Newry sell them or Supervalu on Dublin Rd?
whats the dealio
Centra has tickets available to buy anyway.
Post by: ck on June 20, 2019, 01:11:29 PM
Heard the Carlow coach Poacher on Newstalk speaking up Down saying there was a buzz in the county and they'll run Mayo close. I think the buzz will soon end on Saturday as Mayo will hammer them out of sight!
I predict that Mayo will mark their All-Ireland intentions this weekend and show that they haven't gone away.
Post by: Rossfan on June 20, 2019, 01:16:02 PM
With all the ticket talk you'd think this was an AI Final.
Post by: Lar Naparka on June 20, 2019, 03:36:23 PM
Quote from: ck on June 20, 2019, 01:11:29 PM
Heard the Carlow coach Poacher on Newstalk speaking up Down saying there was a buzz in the county and they'll run Mayo close. I think the buzz will soon end on Saturday as Mayo will hammer them out of sight!
I predict that Mayo will mark their All-Ireland intentions this weekend and show that they haven't gone away.
I have a niggly doubt about this game. Maybe Down might do better than run Mayo close. I've felt something is not quite right with team Mayo since the start of the year.
I wasn't bothered about the FDB- it was a case of the usual form.
The opening games of the league were inconsistent to say the least but I wasn't too worried as it was clear Horan  was experimenting with the inclusion of so many newcomers. I felt we were lucky to stay up and I thought the Kerry game in Tralee might banjax our chances of managing to do so.
However, there was a mighty improvement in all aspects of the team's display that day - except on the most important of all,  the scoreboard.
The same again for the final where it took a great save from Hennelly to prevent Kerry getting back into the game in the dying minutes.
I felt any other team with serious hopes of winning the AI, if they were on top in both games like Mayo were, would have closed both of them out long before the end.
Then off to New York where they managed to kick 18 frigging wides!
Against Roscommon, they paid the price. 15 wides here and some serious tactical mistakes and a game they should have won on form went down the game.
I dunno why the team is misfiring but t is obvious James and his players are not happy bunnies this year.
There could be another early exit this year unless whatever is wrong gets sorted out, fast.
Post by: Maroon Manc on June 20, 2019, 04:04:41 PM

It seems to be one a day this week.
Post by: rosnarun on June 20, 2019, 04:35:22 PM
not quite right with team Mayo since the start of the year.
Are you having a laugh or jus playing the poor mouth

they have won the only National title available this year  and then unluckily lost by a point to an ubder rated Ross team that won pulling up against a highly rated Galway team

I would expect mayo will beat down by a minimum of 6 points ,
Bad enough the rest of the country  having a good but the 'best fans in the world'(C) seem to be falling apart after one loss . Im glad our player are made of sterner stuff..
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 20, 2019, 04:43:43 PM

Against this current Down team who in the last two years alone have lost to Armagh,Louth,Laois,Clare,Cork in Newry? I think most can't see past a Mayo win here a likely comfortable one at that and doing what is expected will hardly mark their All Ireland intentions.
Post by: Angelo on June 20, 2019, 05:47:23 PM
Down are capable, they will have Mooney back and seem to be quite well organised under Tally and in O'Hare and Harrison they have a nice blend of scoring threat inside.

Ultimately it will depend what Mayo turns up, it could be routine for them or they could get a hell of a land. It just seems impossible to get a proper read on Mayo these days. I fancy them to get over the line but I think Down will offer them another qualifier scare.
Post by: giveballaghback on June 20, 2019, 06:43:08 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 20, 2019, 01:16:02 PM
With all the ticket talk you'd think this was an AI Final.
Or a game in New York ::)
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on June 20, 2019, 08:41:00 PM

Poacher always strikes me as a man with a PhD from the Cian O'Neill School of Bullsh!t. Maybe I'm being unfair to the man.
Post by: snoopdog on June 20, 2019, 08:46:27 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on June 20, 2019, 08:41:00 PM

Poacher always strikes me as a man with a PhD from the Cian O'Neill School of Bullsh!t. Maybe I'm being unfair to the man.
Most Down men would say your bang on the money
Post by: snoopdog on June 20, 2019, 08:49:13 PM
On ticket talk. 20 euro admission is a bit steep for a qualifier. And it's general admission . So terrace same price as stand
Post by: Targetman on June 20, 2019, 09:54:36 PM
Yep far too expensive for a qualifier, a big crowd expected in Newry on Saturday evening and if Down are still in touch going into the final 10 minutes you just never know!!
Post by: Rossfan on June 20, 2019, 10:19:34 PM
It was €20 last year too ;)
Post by: Lotto on June 20, 2019, 10:29:24 PM

Why does anyone give this idiot any airplay at all? Don't get me started about that knob and as for his view that the county is buzzing, well I don't know where he lives but there is far from a buzz in any place I have been in Down lately. The supporters are so flat about this Down style of play, it's just not us. I fear for Saturday night and feel we could get a trimming, we've rode our luck all year in so many games but this could be the end of the road. I hope Poacher stays in Carlow, to keep him the hell away from us and I'm a Down man.
Post by: moysider on June 20, 2019, 10:33:06 PM
Quote from: Lotto on June 20, 2019, 10:29:24 PM

Why does anyone give this idiot any airplay at all? Don't get me started about that knob and as for his view that the county is buzzing, well I don't know where he lives but there is far from a buzz in any place I have been in Down lately. The supporters are so flat about this Down style of play, it's just not us. I fear for Saturday night and feel we could get a trimming, we've rode our luck all year in so many games but this could be the end of the road. I hope Poacher stays in Carlow, to keep him the hell away from us and I'm a Down man.

Lol. That's brilliant.
Post by: Duine Eile on June 20, 2019, 10:49:29 PM
I'd expect Mayo to win this one but Paddy Tally has a serious amount of experience playing against and studying Mayo from his couple of years in Galway so you never know. Mayo should have too much for them but it might not be as easy as some predict.
Post by: moysider on June 20, 2019, 11:03:52 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 20, 2019, 03:36:23 PM
I have a niggly doubt about this game. Maybe Down might do better than run Mayo close. I've felt something is not quite right with team Mayo since the start of the year.
The opening games of the league were inconsistent to say the least but I wasn't too worried as it was clear Horan  was experimenting with the inclusion of so many newcomers. I felt we were lucky to stay up and I thought the Kerry game in Tralee might banjax our chances of managing to do so.
However, there was a mighty improvement in all aspects of the team's display that day - except on the most important of all,  the scoreboard.
The same again for the final where it took a great save from Hennelly to prevent Kerry getting back into the game in the dying minutes.
I felt any other team with serious hopes of winning the AI, if they were on top in both games like Mayo were, would have closed both of them out long before the end.
Against Roscommon, they paid the price. 15 wides here and some serious tactical mistakes and a game they should have won on form went down the game.
I dunno why the team is misfiring but t is obvious James and his players are not happy bunnies this year.
There could be another early exit this year unless whatever is wrong gets sorted out, fast.

I see rosnarun had a cut at you earlier and can't blame him. The league was mostly positive and wining it was brilliant for everybody.
The bit in bold: the wides and the tactical deficiencies go hand in hand, like they did back in the 90's and earlier when we became a laughing stock of football because of our wides count.
Galway didn't kick as many wides v Roscommon but guess what? They didn't kick many scores either. Yet nobody will question the worth of the Galway forwards after that meltdown. They will still be regarded as blue chip forwards, because - well they are Galway and as Padraic Joyce reiterated during the week Galway always produce forwards. So that's that isn't it?
Of course, it's a load of bollocks. Galway managed to kick f**k all wides and lose and Mayo kicked loads and lost as well.
  Mayo and Galway were set up tactically different but got the same result. Both sides were not slick enough tactically to manage the game properly.
There is a simple enough maxim in football imo. When a team is functioning well and in control, the ball goes over the bar.
Post by: moysider on June 20, 2019, 11:06:36 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on June 20, 2019, 10:49:29 PM
I'd expect Mayo to win this one but Paddy Tally has a serious amount of experience playing against and studying Mayo from his couple of years in Galway so you never know. Mayo should have too much for them but it might not be as easy as some predict.

Who exactly is predicting easy?
Post by: highorlow on June 20, 2019, 11:39:54 PM
So far we have

An easy win for Mayo ..

Mayo to get through but won't make it easy for themselves . .

Or

Down to sneak it

I expect us to win by 5/6 points. We should be getting a few goals, dry ball forecast.
Post by: Godsown on June 21, 2019, 01:35:04 AM
Quote from: snoopdog on June 20, 2019, 08:46:27 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on June 20, 2019, 08:41:00 PM

Most Down men would say your bang on the money
Very unfair on Cian O'Neill. Poacher is a self obsessed chocolate fireguad
Post by: Lar Naparka on June 21, 2019, 09:10:23 AM
Quote from: moysider on June 20, 2019, 11:03:52 PM

I see rosnarun had a cut at you earlier and can't blame him. The league was mostly positive and wining it was brilliant for everybody.
The bit in bold: the wides and the tactical deficiencies go hand in hand, like they did back in the 90's and earlier when we became a laughing stock of football because of our wides count.
Galway didn't kick as many wides v Roscommon but guess what? They didn't kick many scores either. Yet nobody will question the worth of the Galway forwards after that meltdown. They will still be regarded as blue chip forwards, because - well they are Galway and as Padraic Joyce reiterated during the week Galway always produce forwards. So that's that isn't it?
Of course, it's a load of bollocks. Galway managed to kick f**k all wides and lose and Mayo kicked loads and lost as well.
  Mayo and Galway were set up tactically different but got the same result. Both sides were not slick enough tactically to manage the game properly.
There is a simple enough maxim in football imo. When a team is functioning well and in control, the ball goes over the bar.
Sorry moy but I'm a bit lost here. I think you have just highlighted my worries so I  can't see why you are complaining about me pointing out a few unpleasant truths. Facts are, well, facts. You can spin them whatever way suits your purpose but the bottom line is realities can't change.
Your last sentence reinforces what I've been trying to say.
This team, the most experienced and battle-hardened side in the land is not functioning well and the wides tallies are beginning to match the results of the 70s and 80s. The "wide scoring forwards" from the county Mayo asre gone forever or so I would hope.
I've no problem with the team's commitment or desire to win- nobody can fault those lads on that score but they are massively underperforming.
For starters, I see no reason to bring Galway into this. Mayo's display against Roscommon must be judged on its merits and say what you may, it can't be justified in any way by what happened in Salthill later on. Fifteen wides and total control at midfield don't go hand in hand. Harrison and Higins were left isolated throughout the game and when the Rossies got a gift off a goal against the run of play, Mayo got the jitters and lost any semblance of discipline. Leeroy dropping the ball short when he was only 30 metres out is a prime example of this and he is one of the best I have ever seen when he's on form.
The messing about at the end over the freetakiing isn't the hallmark of a side with serious ambitions to go all the way.
Now Mayo have to head north against a side that knows what to expect and with a manager who should know them very well. Down has no reason to fear Mayo; another display like we saw in Castlebar will leave them with a very good chance of winning. Mayo support will be down also because of the later starting time and it's obvious the problems are beginning to mount.

To finish, Mayo should have beaten Roscommon off the pitch if they really were focusing on the third Sunday of September- Dublin wouldn't have "scored" 15 wides and certainly wouldn't have somehow managed to hit 18 against New York either!
I wish to hell things were different but there's nothing to be gained by ignoring the obvious.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 21, 2019, 01:18:24 PM
The Mayo team according to the Connacht telegraph.

David Clarke
Chris Barrett, Brendan Harrison, Keith Higgins
Lee Keegan, Colm Boyle, Patrick Durcan
Aidan O'Shea, Diarmuid O'Connor,
Fionn McDonagh Jason Doherty, Conor Loftus,
Kevin McLoughlin, Darren Coen and Andy Moran.

Four changes to their starting 15 from the team that started against Roscommon. Hennelly,Ruane,Boland and Regan out and in are Clarke,Boyle,Moran and McDonagh,
Post by: macdanger2 on June 21, 2019, 01:25:06 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on June 21, 2019, 01:18:24 PM

David Clarke

Four changes to their starting 15 from the team that started against Roscommon. Hennelly,Ruane,Boland and Regan out and in are Clarke,Boyle,Moran and McDonagh,

Plunkett dropped also i think.

Harsh on Boland imo, he had a decent 2nd half against Roscommon. Doc, DOC and McLoughlin all played worse than him
Post by: MayoBuck on June 21, 2019, 01:30:02 PM

David Clarke

Plunkett out and Loftus in as well. Thought Regan and Boland did quite well the last day but i suppose a lot can change in 4 weeks.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 21, 2019, 01:33:02 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 21, 2019, 01:25:06 PM

David Clarke

Plunkett dropped also i think.

Harsh on Boland imo, he had a decent 2nd half against Roscommon. Doc, DOC and McLoughlin all played worse than him

That would be correct and of course Loftus didn't start the last day so 5 changes.
Post by: UpMeeyo on June 21, 2019, 01:47:40 PM
Any chance the telegraph is wrong?

any team named that doesnt have coc starting is worrying.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 21, 2019, 01:52:34 PM
Quote from: UpMeeyo on June 21, 2019, 01:47:40 PM

Not at all. Any team that starts Andy and Boyler cannot go wrong.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 21, 2019, 01:53:48 PM

Would hardly throw COC in from the start with little football played. He apparently came off the bench in a recent challenge v Clare with 20 minutes to go and something similar will likely happen here.

Anyway i'm expecting no shock in this game. A fairly routine victory for Mayo probably something like 1-16 to 0-13.
Post by: joemamas on June 21, 2019, 01:57:48 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 21, 2019, 01:52:34 PM

Surely you jest, at least with the former.
if so, 60% of all attacks will end up at the corner flag. Game will stop, ball recycled out, and lets start all over again.
Dont mean to be overly critical, but if that is forward line out, Down manager will be fairly happy.
Post by: rosnarun on June 21, 2019, 02:31:16 PM
any word on ger Caff ?
also under what set of circumstance do either Crowe and drake start or or they only still there because it cause Horan to have a little chuckle
Post by: spoofer on June 21, 2019, 02:43:08 PM
Was wondering about Ger Caff as well? Also is Cian Hanley still involved or is he injured? He never seems to get mentioned much anymore and certainly has hugh potential.
Post by: yellowcard on June 21, 2019, 03:33:48 PM
Quote from: Lotto on June 20, 2019, 10:29:24 PM

He isn't on his own though, there are a select group of new age coaches from all over the country who think they have reinvented the wheel by trying to over-complicate the game. They build their careers on this gobbledygook and most of them massage each others ego to protect this particular form of bullshit. Build up a profile, write a newspaper column and you can do well for yourself out of it.   
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 21, 2019, 03:44:45 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 21, 2019, 01:57:48 PM

Surely you jest, at least with the former.
if so, 60% of all attacks will end up at the corner flag. Game will stop, ball recycled out, and lets start all over again.
Dont mean to be overly critical, but if that is forward line out, Down manager will be fairly happy.

Yes. With both. Boyle has been a good servant but I feel he should be used as a sub these days.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 21, 2019, 03:48:37 PM

Yes, if the year was 2017! It's now 2019, and these lads are auld bucks!
Post by: Hound on June 21, 2019, 09:53:53 PM
Feck sake, not good starting Boyle and Moran. Might Plunkett be injured I wonder?
Otherwise, a smell of reactionary desperation to that selection, which I wouldn't have expected from Horan. Of course, could all be smokescreen.

Hup Maigh Eo
Post by: larryin89 on June 21, 2019, 10:47:27 PM
Carr, Reape and diskin all played club tonight, something amiss , wasn't all bull
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 21, 2019, 11:14:19 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on June 21, 2019, 10:47:27 PM
Carr, Reape and diskin all played club tonight, something amiss , wasn't all bull

Moy Davitts weren't playing tonight. Unless it was a challenge match.
Post by: larryin89 on June 21, 2019, 11:27:18 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 21, 2019, 11:14:19 PM

Are you sure Farr ?  Aradgh mustof ,Carr definitely played seen a report on his free kicks , do you find that ridiculous, the forward that stood out a mile in the league final . I knew there was something up the last day , Horan never namecheked him as an injury concern right up to the game , wasn't in the programme and then he was all of a sudden injured the day before ros game in post match interviews. Rumours flying about all week , some of them were true . 
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 21, 2019, 11:31:23 PM
The leaked Mayo team is now the same team tweeted by Mayo GAA

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D9nhv2jW4AIUJSQ.jpg)
Post by: Lar Naparka on June 21, 2019, 11:43:56 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on June 21, 2019, 11:27:18 PM

Are you sure Farr ?  Aradgh mustof ,Carr definitely played seen a report on his free kicks , do you find that ridiculous, the forward that stood out a mile in the league final . I knew there was something up the last day , Horan never namecheked him as an injury concern right up to the game , wasn't in the programme and then he was all of a sudden injured the day before ros game in post match interviews. Rumours flying about all week , some of them were true .
larry, I'm certain all isn't right in the camp right now and hasn't been for some time. I don't have any inside information and since I am based in Dublin I hear next to nothing of what's been passed around. But this team is playing way below its potential and it's as clear as day the players aren't enjoying their football.
Now, I wish I will be proved wrong and that the entire team get serious about their work and bate the hell out of the opposition on the day, tomorrow or any other day they may encounter along the way. That way could well be cut short tomorrow. I expect Mayo should have enough to win but if they play like they did against Roscommon, I'll be leaving Newry as sick as I ever was whenever Mayo went bellyup and managed to lose another game they should have won with a bit to spare.
Post by: moysider on June 22, 2019, 12:29:30 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 21, 2019, 09:10:23 AM

Sorry moy but I'm a bit lost here. I think you have just highlighted my worries so I  can't see why you are complaining about me pointing out a few unpleasant truths. Facts are, well, facts. You can spin them whatever way suits your purpose but the bottom line is realities can't change.
This team, the most experienced and battle-hardened side in the land is not functioning well and the wides tallies are beginning to match the results of the 70s and 80s. The "wide scoring forwards" from the county Mayo asre gone forever or so I would hope.
I've no problem with the team's commitment or desire to win- nobody can fault those lads on that score but they are massively underperforming.
For starters, I see no reason to bring Galway into this. Mayo's display against Roscommon must be judged on its merits and say what you may, it can't be justified in any way by what happened in Salthill later on. Fifteen wides and total control at midfield don't go hand in hand. Harrison and Higins were left isolated throughout the game and when the Rossies got a gift off a goal against the run of play, Mayo got the jitters and lost any semblance of discipline. Leeroy dropping the ball short when he was only 30 metres out is a prime example of this and he is one of the best I have ever seen when he's on form.
The messing about at the end over the freetakiing isn't the hallmark of a side with serious ambitions to go all the way.
Now Mayo have to head north against a side that knows what to expect and with a manager who should know them very well. Down has no reason to fear Mayo; another display like we saw in Castlebar will leave them with a very good chance of winning. Mayo support will be down also because of the later starting time and it's obvious the problems are beginning to mount.

To finish, Mayo should have beaten Roscommon off the pitch if they really were focusing on the third Sunday of September- Dublin wouldn't have "scored" 15 wides and certainly wouldn't have somehow managed to hit 18 against New York either!
I wish to hell things were different but there's nothing to be gained by ignoring the obvious.

After the Roscommon game I posted on here about how we went about the game tactically and you have agreed about the daftness of our defence. We were rope -a -doped. Won loads of possession, tried to knock down a brick wall defence and 'forced' into poor shot selection and left a couple of markers exposed at the back when Roscommon turned us over and counter- attacked. We actually scored enough on the night to win the game if we had been more realistic about housekeeping defensive duties at the back. Easy stuff at that level.
The bits in bold. Of course Galway is relevant. We both played Roscommon and lost in different ways. My point is that we got actually created more than Galway did. They didn't even get wides.
I'm not going to have a cut at Lee Keegan but if you remember back or have the stomach to look at the old videos( I dont), Keegan shanked a few even when we flying on all cylinders in August and September. That miss v Ros. was nothing new - although at the time v Ros. it struck me as a game-defining miss -and  it has happened before and in itself is no evidence of a dysfunctional team now. It is normal fare.

The free-taking was abysmal on a few fronts.

First the Ros. keeper nailed 3/4 ? of his. Hennelly couldn't. Why? One of the reasons he is there and he blew it. Why was he so poorly at it? He missed stuff he should be getting. He would agree with me. What was going on there? He was expected, and would expect himself to get those. They should have been bread and jam for him.

Regan was going well in general play and hitting the sweet spot on frees yet taken off. Why?

A few later long range frees went short when Hennelly should have been called up. Even if he was off it was still a better option than what they did - which was nothing at all.

I can only imagine that Loftus was sent in with at least part of his instruction to kick frees ( possibly the reason he is selected to start this evening) but Diarmuid said no and gave the task to a player that can do most things brilliantly except frees. How does that happen? When that free was given I actually looked at McLoughlin and his body language was 'get me outa here'.

I don't need to point out the common thread in all this.

The bit of my previous point that you concentrated on about teams functioning well and scoring was a general remark and not inclusive or exclusive to any team and I stand over it. Like a Jim McGuinness ' Donegal team  could control a game by not scoring that much but maxing their scoring chances, while making sure the opposition had fewer opportunities to hurt them.

As for the Down game I dunno. Normally after a loss a few changes might focus minds but we've gone and dropped 3 players that were some of our best performers v Roscommon. I'm sure there is good reason for it- and I mean that. Good to see Fionn McDonagh back. Hon Mayo and regrets I cant make it.
Post by: joemamas on June 22, 2019, 03:02:21 AM
Quote from: moysider on June 22, 2019, 12:29:30 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 21, 2019, 09:10:23 AM

After the Roscommon game I posted on here about how we went about the game tactically and you have agreed about the daftness of our defence. We were rope -a -doped. Won loads of possession, tried to knock down a brick wall defence and 'forced' into poor shot selection and left a couple of markers exposed at the back when Roscommon turned us over and counter- attacked. We actually scored enough on the night to win the game if we had been more realistic about housekeeping defensive duties at the back. Easy stuff at that level.
The bits in bold. Of course Galway is relevant. We both played Roscommon and lost in different ways. My point is that we got actually created more than Galway did. They didn't even get wides.
I'm not going to have a cut at Lee Keegan but if you remember back or have the stomach to look at the old videos( I dont), Keegan shanked a few even when we flying on all cylinders in August and September. That miss v Ros. was nothing new - although at the time v Ros. it struck me as a game-defining miss -and  it has happened before and in itself is no evidence of a dysfunctional team now. It is normal fare.

The free-taking was abysmal on a few fronts.

First the Ros. keeper nailed 3/4 ? of his. Hennelly couldn't. Why? One of the reasons he is there and he blew it. Why was he so poorly at it? He missed stuff he should be getting. He would agree with me. What was going on there? He was expected, and would expect himself to get those. They should have been bread and jam for him.

Regan was going well in general play and hitting the sweet spot on frees yet taken off. Why?

A few later long range frees went short when Hennelly should have been called up. Even if he was off it was still a better option than what they did - which was nothing at all.

I can only imagine that Loftus was sent in with at least part of his instruction to kick frees ( possibly the reason he is selected to start this evening) but Diarmuid said no and gave the task to a player that can do most things brilliantly except frees. How does that happen? When that free was given I actually looked at McLoughlin and his body language was 'get me outa here'.

I don't need to point out the common thread in all this.

The bit of my previous point that you concentrated on about teams functioning well and scoring was a general remark and not inclusive or exclusive to any team and I stand over it. Like a Jim McGuinness ' Donegal team  could control a game by not scoring that much but maxing their scoring chances, while making sure the opposition had fewer opportunities to hurt them.

As for the Down game I dunno. Normally after a loss a few changes might focus minds but we've gone and dropped 3 players that were some of our best performers v Roscommon. I'm sure there is good reason for it- and I mean that. Good to see Fionn McDonagh back. Hon Mayo and regrets I cant make it.

Great post, saying what most are thinking or feeling.
Hope to God we win tomorrow, and these guys and management can get it together
Post by: Mayo4Sam on June 22, 2019, 06:37:25 AM
Anyone want a free ticket for tonite? PM me
Post by: Blowitupref on June 22, 2019, 12:28:46 PM
Mayo bench according to the program.

Robbie Hennelly
David Drake
Eoin O Donogue
Michael Plunkett
James Mccormack
Stephen Coen
Mikey Murray
Ciaran Treacy
Fergal Boland
Evan Regan
James Durcan

Did C O Connor get another injury setback?
Post by: Dubh driocht on June 22, 2019, 12:29:00 PM
The absence of comments from Down supporters is a reflection of the fact that we are a mid ranking Division 3 team playing the National League champions and Ireland's favourite team over the last five years.  While Poacher is a marmite figure he is right that there's a wee bit of a buzz about but more to do with the visit of a class team to Pairc Esler.  Mayo have been hit by injuries but that is a serious team and the Down forwards will have sore ribs tonight.  Realistically if we are still in touch by the last quarter,  it's been a good night for Tally.  Some supporters might not like his style but we all love his passion, allied to methodical preparation. We have four class players,  all involving the letter H, but it's the one you won't have heard of that could do some damage.  I can safely say that tonight's winners will have my full support for the rest of the campaign.
Post by: bucko on June 22, 2019, 03:24:49 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on June 21, 2019, 11:27:18 PM

Nothing dodgy or sinister Larry, just Horan slowly reverting back to type, despite the progress and promise he seemed to show during the league. An unwillingness or inability to show faith in anyone outside of a set group of players and in anything outside of set team selections or tactics. The Roscommon game showed up his old failings again, no protection of our backline, overemphasis on pushing up numbers leaving us highly vulnerable to the counter attack especially with the long ball in, reluctance to make substitutions or making the wrong ones. Same flaws that tripped us up in 2012, 13 and 14. That performance and tonight's selection makes it appear that way. I hope I'm wrong.
Post by: Aristo 60 on June 22, 2019, 05:30:55 PM
Harrison, Havern, O'Hagan & ?
Post by: Aristo 60 on June 22, 2019, 05:32:46 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on June 22, 2019, 05:30:55 PM
Harrison, Havern, O'Hagan & ?

O'Hare
Post by: kerryforsam19 on June 22, 2019, 06:51:38 PM
Mayo to lay a marker tonight .I predict Mayo to win 1-22 to Down 2-9
Post by: Blowitupref on June 22, 2019, 06:59:31 PM
Mayo playing as selected. 4 changes for Down Ruarri Wells replaced by Benny McCardle Owen McCabe replaces Johnny Flynn Caolan Mooney replaces Jerome Johnston Pierce Laverty replaces Conor Maginn
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 22, 2019, 07:10:27 PM
Down 1-1 to 0-2 ahead after ten minutes
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 22, 2019, 07:20:56 PM
Level after 20 minutes.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 22, 2019, 07:41:04 PM
Half time Down 1-4 Mayo 0-10
Post by: Aristo 60 on June 22, 2019, 07:50:17 PM
Down doing some good direct running. Few bad sides the difference between the teams and Mayo's years of experience and cute hoorishness
Post by: macdanger2 on June 22, 2019, 08:06:54 PM
Goal for Loftus, 1-11 to 1-5
Post by: Blowitupref on June 22, 2019, 08:07:34 PM
42 minutes gone a Conor Loftus goal. Mayo should have the experience to close out this game now. 1-11 to 1-5
Post by: macdanger2 on June 22, 2019, 08:23:36 PM
Sounds like mayo are coughing up no end of goal chances. Still 6 up though
Post by: maigheo on June 22, 2019, 08:25:11 PM
Mayo ahead by 1.13 to 1.07. Down missing a lot of goal chances
Post by: Halfquarter on June 22, 2019, 08:25:59 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 22, 2019, 08:23:36 PM

Mayo backs are being badly exposed for pace, lucky not to have given away a few goals.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 22, 2019, 08:35:24 PM
Quote from: Halfquarter on June 22, 2019, 08:25:59 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 22, 2019, 08:23:36 PM

Mayo backs are being badly exposed for pace, lucky not to have given away a few goals.

You'd have to wonder when EOD isn't getting a look in.

3 points in it, 6 mins of added time

Edit: wrongly reported as 3 points when it was 4.
Post by: maigheo on June 22, 2019, 08:39:01 PM
Mayo ahead by 6  2 min to go
Post by: macdanger2 on June 22, 2019, 08:41:20 PM
All over but sounded unconvincing
Post by: Blowitupref on June 22, 2019, 08:42:25 PM
Full time Down 1-11 Mayo 1-16
Post by: Halfquarter on June 22, 2019, 08:46:54 PM
Forwards played well, Loftus had his best game ever in a Mayo jersey.
Post by: Chimley on June 22, 2019, 09:08:21 PM
Quote from: Halfquarter on June 22, 2019, 08:46:54 PM
Forwards played well, Loftus had his best game ever in a Mayo jersey.

I still think back to Derry 2017 for his best game even though it was a cameo.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 22, 2019, 11:06:19 PM
Job done. A lot to work on. Will give my analysis tomorrow.
Post by: Tubberman on June 22, 2019, 11:19:45 PM
Defensive structure is not working and will not work. We give away so many goal chances when teams break our high defensive line or when they send in high balls. It will be our undoing.
Post by: Mourne Rover on June 22, 2019, 11:37:12 PM
A very frustrating night for Down supporters as Mayo were clearly vunerable but we managed to miss four great goal chances in the second half as well as a string of straightforward frees. While Mayo always kept three or four in front, and may have had a little in hand, a second goal would have changed everything. Mooney shot just over the bar when it looked easier to hit the net, Francis and Quinn went very close and O'Hare's effort was stopped at full stretch by Clarke. Luck was not on our side but getting nothing from six or seven kickable frees and 45s finished us off.

Burns was confident with the ball in his hands but his kick outs were a huge problem and ultimately cost us a killer goal.We had good defensive displays from O'Hagan, McAleenan and particularly Collins but McKernan sadly looked like his time was up. McCabe will be a great prospect at midfield in a year or two and Mooney was a regular threat. Our forwards were patchy, although Harrison frequently made an impact before he tired. The big plus is that our younger players have pace and potential, and, if we can get a fully fit Donnelly back at midfield, we may have better days ahead.

Good luck to Mayo who brought a massive support and deserved their win but, on the evidence of tonight, they are some distance away from the team they used to be. While they have deserved at least two All Irelands, even the eventual return of O'Connor and Ruane is pretty unlikely to get them anywhere close to Dublin.
Post by: highorlow on June 22, 2019, 11:49:22 PM
"Bap" McCabe is some player alright, he went off injured so hope it's nothing serious.

Burns looks like he would be better deployed at half back rather than goals.

It was a strange second half, apart from the early goal we defended ok in the 1st half but in the 2nd half Down should've got a goal, particularly the one v one chance that was ballooned over. Down also had 3 other decent goal chances, I don't know if it was a case of the game been more open in the second half or is it just we don't have a domineering full back. Probably the latter.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 23, 2019, 12:50:42 AM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on June 22, 2019, 11:37:12 PM
A very frustrating night for Down supporters as Mayo were clearly vunerable but we managed to miss four great goal chances in the second half as well as a string of straightforward frees. While Mayo always kept three or four in front, and may have had a little in hand, a second goal would have changed everything. Mooney shot just over the bar when it looked easier to hit the net, Francis and Quinn went very close and O'Hare's effort was stopped at full stretch by Clarke. Luck was not on our side but getting nothing from six or seven kickable frees and 45s finished us off.

Burns was confident with the ball in his hands but his kick outs were a huge problem and ultimately cost us a killer goal.We had good defensive displays from O'Hagan, McAleenan and particularly Collins but McKernan sadly looked like his time was up. McCabe will be a great prospect at midfield in a year or two and Mooney was a regular threat. Our forwards were patchy, although Harrison frequently made an impact before he tired. The big plus is that our younger players have pace and potential, and, if we can get a fully fit Donnelly back at midfield, we may have better days ahead.

Good luck to Mayo who brought a massive support and deserved their win but, on the evidence of tonight, they are some distance away from the team they used to be. While they have deserved at least two All Irelands, even the eventual return of O'Connor and Ruane is pretty unlikely to get them anywhere close to Dublin.

12 wides and another 3 or 4 shots kicked short or into the keeper hands for Down tonight I hear. Vulnerable is nothing new for Mayo in these qualifiers. Fermanagh,Derry,Cork to name but a few had the opportunity to beat Mayo in recent years and like Down tonight were left frustrated.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 23, 2019, 08:04:56 AM
Mayo keep going, Mourne Rover is probably correct on how Down supporters feel today. A cudda, shudda type night for them.

As for ourselves, if it was another night or another team it'd be curtains for us. It's frightening how the pace has gone from our defence. Down's direct running as I mentioned could've been a lot different for us. Finished the first half well despite going down early on to a goal, that was well taken. Harrison, as good and all as he is has struggled twice in a row. Barrett and Higgins both have lost a good bit of pace. I thought Keegan was quiet by his own standards. Durcan did well going forward and had a reasonably good defensive shift too. Boyle should concentrate on playing football and not acting the hard man because when he does, he's good at it. Too much niggling with his opposite number all through the game for my liking.

Aiden O'Shea was good, but we expect nothing less from him. Diarmuid O'Connor not so. If anything happens O'Shea we're rightly frigged in midfield. Seamie, while good hasn't got a full 70 mins in him. Vaughan might be able to give some pace even though he can have nightmares at centre field too.

Loftus had his best game in a while. Scored the goal and kicked a few points too. Fionn McDonagh started well but faded as the game went on. Another frustrating night for Jason Doherty who should be fearful of his place next weekend. McLoughlin should be in the half forwards or nowhere at all imo. Gave some nice passes when he moved out. Regan kept slowing the game down too often for my liking. Andy gave a lot of nice passes and linked well too.

A good team will beat us whenever we face them.
Post by: highorlow on June 23, 2019, 11:02:10 AM
QuoteLoftus had his best game in a while. Scored the goal and kicked a few points too. Fionn McDonagh started well but faded as the game went on. Another frustrating night for Jason Doherty who should be fearful of his place next weekend. McLoughlin should be in the half forwards or nowhere at all imo. Gave some nice passes when he moved out. Regan kept slowing the game down too often for my liking. Andy gave a lot of nice passes and linked well too.

A good team will beat us whenever we face them.

McDonagh got a fair deal of battering in the match and with 20 minutes left was knackered and limping a bit. After last night he has to be a starter. We are playing McLoughlin inside and Doherty further outfield, both players look lost. McLoughlins best strength is dispossession of opponents and winning dirty breaking ball in the middle, why have him in the corner?

Regan is a great trier and gives 100% every time.

No sign of David Drake coming on as s sub,  based on his club form at the backend of the year I'd have thought he would get a try in the FB line at some stage, anyhow I'm sure Horan knows best.

In relation to a "good team" beating us, I'm not sure if there are any and the football standards have dropped again this year. Have Cork improved so much this year to push Kerry so close or are Kerry gone backwards?
Post by: MayoBuck on June 23, 2019, 01:45:41 PM
Good to get over the line yesterday, Pairc Esler is a great place to watch a game. Horan has got a lot of stick the last month, a lot of it deserved, but the 5 changes he made to the team were justified as they all did well.

McDonagh was very good in the 1st half and it's great to see him back. Loftus did well too. None of the frees were straight forward as they all seemed to be on his wrong side. Aidan was solid in midfield though maybe not as spectacular as recent games. Keegan had a brilliant 2nd half and we finally got a bit of a handle on Mooney when Lee switched on to him.

Paddy Durcan made a few good interceptions and breaks upfield but he had a mare with the shooting. Think he had 4 shots - 2 wides, 1 blocked down and 1 dropped short. Overall our shooting return was miles better however. I thought Higgins was all over the place at times and he was probably marking the weakest member of the Down full forward line. Doherty and McLoughlin weren't great either. I'd consider dropping Doherty and moving McLoughlin back to to the half forward line.

Caolan Mooney was class for Down. He's as quick as any player I've seen the last few years. A brilliant finish for his goal as well. Reminded me of Con O'Callaghan's against us in the 2017 final.

We've a lot to work on so hopefully a favourable draw on Monday morning.
Post by: SHEEDY on June 23, 2019, 04:53:16 PM
It was one of those what could've been nights for down. If we had a reliable free taker and a decent kick out strategy we could've been a lot closer to mayo in the final moments. Added to that we had numerous goal chances and balls dropped short into the keepers hands.
But in saying all that mayo were the better team with better individual footballers who are more street wise and physically stronger than down.
Mayo I feel will need to tighten up at the back if they are to progress because donegal, kerry or the dubs wont miss the chances down missed.
Great to see a big crowd in pairc esler and met some great mayo supporters before and during the game who had travelled big distances to be there. Good luck to mayo for the rest of the year.
Post by: Square Ball on June 23, 2019, 06:20:31 PM
McCabe has a broken jaw, broken in three places I understand, and underwent surgery this afternoon, a totally accidental collision with a team mate.
Post by: Targetman on June 23, 2019, 07:40:39 PM
That's very unfortunate for the lad, played well yesterday and definitely one for the future
Post by: larryin89 on June 23, 2019, 07:44:42 PM
Before anything about the match have to say it was one of the most enjoyable away trips I was ever on , absolutely fantastic bunch the down supporters , we ended up staying after a long session of drink , put up in a house of a down player , all Ireland winning medal in the house too , can't praise their hospitality enough , classy bunch .

Thought we just did enough to win and didn't seem to have any interest as usual in doing any more than was required. Our defensive frailties showed again , just have to hope they are going to be working on it . Even when we deployed a sweeper sometimes it was poorly done ie Barrett running to the ball leaving the space he was supposed to be covering open and ff line was then man to man .
Post by: joemamas on June 24, 2019, 12:40:05 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on June 23, 2019, 07:44:42 PM
Before anything about the match have to say it was one of the most enjoyable away trips I was ever on , absolutely fantastic bunch the down supporters , we ended up staying after a long session of drink , put up in a house of a down player , all Ireland winning medal in the house too , can't praise their hospitality enough , classy bunch .

Thought we just did enough to win and didn't seem to have any interest as usual in doing any more than was required. Our defensive frailties showed again , just have to hope they are going to be working on it . Even when we deployed a sweeper sometimes it was poorly done ie Barrett running to the ball leaving the space he was supposed to be covering open and ff line was then man to man .

Just to give a shoutout to Mayogaablog , an excellent podcast on review of game.
I think Billie joe Padden is an excellent analyst.
Post by: guy crouchback on June 24, 2019, 09:16:29 AM

i came on to same the exact same thing. without a doubt the the nicest bunch of supporters and people i have  ever met at football game in Ireland in 30 years of going to games, and out from a club game against a Clare outfit years ago i have never had a bad word with anyone at a football game.
lovely ground, well organized, everyone so friendly, chatty and nice and really knowledgeable football people.
Post by: stephenite on June 24, 2019, 09:32:50 AM
Quote from: guy crouchback on June 24, 2019, 09:16:29 AM

i came on to same the exact same thing. without a doubt the the nicest bunch of supporters and people i have  ever met at football game in Ireland in 30 years of going to games, and out from a club game against a Clare outfit years ago i have never had a bad word with anyone at a football game.
lovely ground, well organized, everyone so friendly, chatty and nice and really knowledgeable football people.

They were a bunch of animals that day alright
Post by: rosnarun on June 24, 2019, 09:39:10 AM
Quote from: guy crouchback on June 24, 2019, 09:16:29 AM
Before anything about the match have to say it was one of the most enjoyable away trips I was ever on , absolutely fantastic bunch the down supporters , we ended up staying after a long session of drink , put up in a house of a down player , all Ireland winning medal in the house too , can’t praise their hospitality enough , classy bunch .

Thought we just did enough to win and didn’t seem to have any interest as usual in doing any more than was required. Our defensive frailties showed again , just have to hope they are going to be working on it . Even when we deployed a sweeper sometimes it was poorly done ie Barrett running to the ball leaving the space he was supposed to be covering open and ff line was then man to man .

Post by: highorlow on June 24, 2019, 09:47:23 AM
QuoteMcCabe has a broken jaw, broken in three places I understand, and underwent surgery this afternoon, a totally accidental collision with a team mate.

Not good, hopefully his recovery is quick and the injury won't effect his play going forward.

p.s. Have to add to the other Mayo posters in relation to the Down supporters and Newry in general, great supporters and lovely venue.
Post by: kerryforsam19 on June 24, 2019, 09:56:54 AM
Quote from: joemamas on June 24, 2019, 12:40:05 AM

Just to give a shoutout to Mayogaablog , an excellent podcast on review of game.
I think Billie joe Padden is an excellent analyst.

+1 Padden is very good pundit.
Post by: galwayman on June 24, 2019, 10:07:27 AM
Padden is balanced unlike a lot of other pundits so he comes across well.
Post by: Aristo 60 on June 24, 2019, 11:10:37 AM
Good luck to Mayo. A charming set of fans who, from where I was sitting, not once attempted to ram their team's superiority down our throats.

Hope you go on to get Sam this year finally .... and step on Armagh's throats the next day out too  ;D ;D