Hamas attack Israel & subsequent genocide

Started by bennydorano, October 07, 2023, 09:39:18 AM

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 26, 2023, 01:47:58 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on November 26, 2023, 12:58:36 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on November 26, 2023, 12:40:15 PMWell, 118 pages in. Has anyone's lives been enriched or improved by posting or reading anything in this thread?

is that the purpose of this board to enrich and improve people lives?

I read the board for years, basically it a source of info. you might not otherwise find else or opinions of others you might not find elsewhere.

It's always been for some a soapbox, help with problems, a source of information, a bitta craic, insightful, the odd friendship, inside info on all things GAA, and of course the bitter battles on all thing's political.

You won't say certain things here to someone's face or have that conversation with a work colleague, so it escalates.. a time out now and then can help

There are lads on here I'd say from before they were married to being in the house on their own while their kids have flown the nest.
Most probably the kids along with the mother :D

Quote from: Main Street on November 27, 2023, 12:19:36 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 26, 2023, 01:47:58 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on November 26, 2023, 12:58:36 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on November 26, 2023, 12:40:15 PMWell, 118 pages in. Has anyone's lives been enriched or improved by posting or reading anything in this thread?

is that the purpose of this board to enrich and improve people lives?

I read the board for years, basically it a source of info. you might not otherwise find else or opinions of others you might not find elsewhere.

It's always been for some a soapbox, help with problems, a source of information, a bitta craic, insightful, the odd friendship, inside info on all things GAA, and of course the bitter battles on all thing's political.

You won't say certain things here to someone's face or have that conversation with a work colleague, so it escalates.. a time out now and then can help

There are lads on here I'd say from before they were married to being in the house on their own while their kids have flown the nest.
Most probably the kids along with the mother :D

No such luck lol

Dunphy has had some good interviews on his The Stand podcast.

A few with Peter Oborne, who is excellent. He was in the West Bank for about 5 weeks post October 7, so could witness the goings on there which gets very little media attention.

He had one with a military strategist, which was pretty much ignoring right/wrong, but discussing tactics, etc. One interesting assertion he made was that the cell system used (i.e. an agreed overall objective but individual cells have the authority to go about things pretty much anyway they decide, and no interaction between cells, etc). Apparently the first recorded use in military history of the cell system was by Michael Collins.
They also talked about the Why now? (as opposed to why?) re Hamas and he believed it was because of the Israel-Saudi deal that was about to be signed, with others going to follow with similar deals.

Finally, well worth a listen is Episode 1836 with Avi Shlaim. An Arab Jew who served in the Israeli Defence Forces in the 1960s, and according to Oborne has the best books on the history of the Palestine/Israel issue.
40 mins is too short for the full history of course, but it touched on key events in 1917, 1948, the late 60s, 1995 and present day.

Quote from: weareros on November 26, 2023, 08:45:32 PMThey (Israel) are fairly going after Ireland. Over the top reaction to Leo's tweet, calling in the ambassador to give a dressing down (she should refuse), and claims the Hands were refused a hotel in Dublin without any proof. Accusing the Taoiseach of no moral compass after all the civilians they've slaughtered. You couldn't make it up.

Our ambassador bring summonsed for a dressing down over the comments. Their ambassador hasn't had one yet.

Quote from: Hound on November 27, 2023, 11:19:45 AMHe had one with a military strategist, which was pretty much ignoring right/wrong, but discussing tactics, etc. One interesting assertion he made was that the cell system used (i.e. an agreed overall objective but individual cells have the authority to go about things pretty much anyway they decide, and no interaction between cells, etc). Apparently the first recorded use in military history of the cell system was by Michael Collins.

Didn't the IRB use a cell system in the 19th century?

There is a museum in Berlin based in a WW2 bunker that aims to show how ideoligies such as Nazism end.
Zionism is such an ideology. 

Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on November 26, 2023, 10:13:16 PMHas Israel declared war on metaphor too?

The Israeli outrage machine is well oiled. Anything that even slightly questions the official narrative is seized upon with rampant allegations of "antisemitism." Anything that can be misrepresented is misrepresented, even when it's a harmless statement by the Taoiseach. The purpose is to scare people into silence with attacks on word choices that deviate by as little as one degree from the official line of Hamas=bad, Israel=good. And it's working. I'm finding myself afraid to speak out on social media in case I lose my job or something. This is Orwellian sh*t.

Jim Shannon says grey squirrels are the Hamas of the squirrel world.

Quote from: Armagh18 on November 29, 2023, 05:39:52 PMJim Shannon says grey squirrels are the Hamas of the squirrel world.

FĂșckin moron...

If anything the Grey squirrel with their origins in North America and taking over the indigenous red squirrels habitat are more like the Zionists than Hamas.

But as I say he's a blowpipe stealing moron.

north_antrim_hound

Quote from: Armagh18 on November 29, 2023, 05:39:52 PMJim Shannon says grey squirrels are the Hamas of the squirrel world.

If only Jim could look at history with a well balanced impartial perspective, then he could find the grey squirrel isn't the first unsavoury species to come here and try to oust the indigenous one.   
There's a man with a mullet going mad with a mallet in Millets

winsamsoon

I saw that, what a clampet. I would say he would know a lot about the whole thing, I would also say the back of a stamp would be sufficient to escapstulate his greater thoughts on the matter.
I never forget a face but in your case I will make an exception.

Quote from: winsamsoon on November 30, 2023, 10:47:34 AM
I saw that, what a clampet. I would say he would know a lot about the whole thing, I would also say the back of a stamp would be sufficient to escapstulate his greater thoughts on the matter.

this was actually serious?

Quote from: tonto1888 on November 30, 2023, 10:59:17 AM
Quote from: winsamsoon on November 30, 2023, 10:47:34 AM

this was actually serious?
Said it in parliament.

Just think, people actually vote for him. If they were Turkeys, they vote for Christmas