Hamas attack Israel & subsequent genocide

Started by bennydorano, October 07, 2023, 09:39:18 AM

Quote from: whitey on October 21, 2023, 08:38:48 PM
Quote from: Itchy on October 21, 2023, 06:30:19 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on October 21, 2023, 06:07:33 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on October 21, 2023, 05:50:12 PMSo Paddy Cosgrave has resigned as CEO of Websubmit following multiple multi-nationals pulling out of the his event in Lisbon ... just because Paddy had the cheek to criticise western support for Israeli war crimes ...

https://www.rte.ie/news/business/2023/1021/1412190-web-summit-cosgrave/
Always seemed a decent skin Paddy

The shocking thing is if you read what he said and subsequently apologised for. You either support Israel's murderous rampage or your toast.

He only has himself to blame

His initial "apology" wasn't an apology and he actually doubled down in his initial comments

You for real?  So to call out a war crime is wrong?  wise up FFS, you should try growing a backbone.

Quote from: balladmaker on October 22, 2023, 02:36:58 AM
Quote from: balladmaker on October 21, 2023, 05:50:12 PMSo Paddy Cosgrave has resigned as CEO of Websubmit following multiple multi-nationals pulling out of the his event in Lisbon ... just because Paddy had the cheek to criticise western support for Israeli war crimes ...

The shocking thing is if you read what he said and subsequently apologised for. You either support Israel's murderous rampage or your toast.

His initial "apology" wasn't an apology and he actually doubled down in his initial comments

You for real?  So to call out a war crime is wrong?  wise up FFS, you should try growing a backbone.

Well that's not why he was cancelled.....it was a combination of misteps

https://www.npr.org/2023/10/21/1207795093/ceo-of-web-summit-tech-conference-resigns-over-israel-comments

"Last week, he wrote on X that he was shocked at the rhetoric of so many Western leaders and governments in response to Israel's bombardment of Gaza following the Hamas terrorist attack that killed more than 1,300 people.

"War crimes are war crimes even when committed by allies, and should be called out for what they are," Cosgrave wrote, referring to Israel's wave of attacks on Gaza after the violence committed by Hamas."

As a boycott movement gained momentum, Cosgrave attempted to walk back his comments with a post on X: "We are devastated to see the terrible killings and the level of innocent civilian casualties in Israel and Gaza. We condemn the attacks by Hamas and extend our deepest sympathies to everyone who has lost loved ones. We hope for peaceful reconciliation."

But he then doubled down on his previous remark, saying: "To repeat: War crimes are war crimes even when committed by allies & should be called out for what they are."

As more backed out of the event, Cosgrave issued an apology in hopes of containing the fallout. He wrote that: "I understand that what I said, the timing of what I said, and the way it has been presented has caused profound hurt to many."

And to add insult to injury, the day after the attack he shared a CNN interview with a Hamas apologist who blamed Israel for the attack. 

1400 people murdered in cold blood by terrorists.....hundreds more kidnapped including elderly people and babies.

And this is what he decided to share-LOL

WTF did he think was going to happen?

Should have stuck to his guns. He was 100% right

Snapchap

Quote from: whitey on October 22, 2023, 02:51:15 AM
Quote from: balladmaker on October 22, 2023, 02:36:58 AM

Well that's not why he was cancelled.....it was a combination of misteps

https://www.npr.org/2023/10/21/1207795093/ceo-of-web-summit-tech-conference-resigns-over-israel-comments

"Last week, he wrote on X that he was shocked at the rhetoric of so many Western leaders and governments in response to Israel's bombardment of Gaza following the Hamas terrorist attack that killed more than 1,300 people.

"War crimes are war crimes even when committed by allies, and should be called out for what they are," Cosgrave wrote, referring to Israel's wave of attacks on Gaza after the violence committed by Hamas."

As a boycott movement gained momentum, Cosgrave attempted to walk back his comments with a post on X: "We are devastated to see the terrible killings and the level of innocent civilian casualties in Israel and Gaza. We condemn the attacks by Hamas and extend our deepest sympathies to everyone who has lost loved ones. We hope for peaceful reconciliation."

But he then doubled down on his previous remark, saying: "To repeat: War crimes are war crimes even when committed by allies & should be called out for what they are."

As more backed out of the event, Cosgrave issued an apology in hopes of containing the fallout. He wrote that: "I understand that what I said, the timing of what I said, and the way it has been presented has caused profound hurt to many."

And to add insult to injury, the day after the attack he shared a CNN interview with a Hamas apologist who blamed Israel for the attack. 

1400 people murdered in cold blood by terrorists.....hundreds more kidnapped including elderly people and babies.

And this is what he decided to share-LOL

WTF did he think was going to happen?

That was a long winded way of not answering the question, whitey.

Try again. What part of the following quote is wrong or offensive?

"War crimes are war crimes even when committed by allies & should be called out for what they are."

Are you saying war crimes are not war crimes when committed by "allies"? Or as you suggesting that war crimes committed by allies should actually NOT be called out? Which is it?

Quote from: Armagh18 on October 22, 2023, 05:10:24 AMShould have stuck to his guns. He was 100% right
Of course he was but he should have been more aware of what he was doing. Cosgrave is Irish but he is plugged into international business circles. When it comes to Israel/Palestine those 2 parts of him do not agree. It's fine to ring Joe Duffy and say allies don't carpet bomb civilians Joe but it's not ok to broadcast it to the titans of US tech. Everyone is afraid of the Jewish lobby so everyone agrees with Israel.
There was a very funny article from the Onion about this.

https://www.theonion.com/the-onion-stands-with-israel-because-it-seems-like-yo-1850922505

Google's board may well think that Israel is f**king nuts but they aren't going to make a song and dance about it because it has nothing to do with their business.

Quote from: seafoid on October 22, 2023, 08:08:53 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on October 22, 2023, 05:10:24 AMShould have stuck to his guns. He was 100% right
Of course he was but he should have been more aware of what he was doing. Cosgrave is Irish but he is plugged into international business circles. When it comes to Israel/Palestine those 2 parts of him do not agree. It's fine to ring Joe Duffy and say allies don't carpet bomb civilians Joe but it's not ok to broadcast it to the titans of US tech. Everyone is afraid of the Jewish lobby so everyone agrees with Israel.

https://www.theonion.com/the-onion-stands-with-israel-because-it-seems-like-yo-1850922505

Google's board may well think that Israel is f**king nuts but they aren't going to make a song and dance about it because it has nothing to do with their business.
Thats why people need to have the balls to speak out and stick to their guns

I'm sure whitey will tell us what part of this he doesn't agree with ...

"War crimes are war crimes even when committed by allies, and should be called out for what they are,"

Quote from: Armagh18 on October 22, 2023, 08:13:36 AM

You sit behind a computer and spout stuff that will have no affect on your livelihood, so it's easy for you as it has no consequences.

If you worked for a company that has Israel backers and you didn't hid behind Armagh18, would you risk posting stuff?

It's ok in private to express your views, to verbally say it but bring a CEO and doing it on Twitter! Well that's going to have consequences

I suppose he can afford to lose his job and stick to his principles and fair play, but it wouldn't be the smartest thing to do, as he's found out

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 22, 2023, 09:32:01 AM

You sit behind a computer and spout stuff that will have no affect on your livelihood, so it's easy for you as it has no consequences.

If you worked for a company that has Israel backers and you didn't hid behind Armagh18, would you risk posting stuff?

It's ok in private to express your views, to verbally say it but bring a CEO and doing it on Twitter! Well that's going to have consequences

I suppose he can afford to lose his job and stick to his principles and fair play, but it wouldn't be the smartest thing to do, as he's found out
I agree. People don't realise how powerful social media amplification is. He could have supported the Palestinians in other ways and kept his job.

PadraicHenryPearse

He apologised when he had nothing to apologise for. He should have called out these companies for the supporters of war crimes they are and the absolute lunacy of being punished financially for calling out war crimes and breaches of int. Law.

Corybn did the same, he didn't call out the attacks on him for what they were, lies. He took too soft an approach and ultimately left the lies  fill the vacuum left by his silence.

Quote from: seafoid on October 22, 2023, 09:43:40 AM

I agree. People don't realise how powerful social media amplification is. He could have supported the Palestinians in other ways and kept his job.

Yes. This

IIRC his first condemnation was not of the attack itself, but of the reaction by world leaders to the attack.

An attack where (hundreds of?) children and babies were murdered and some had their throats slit......and this was his first reaction?????

WTF was he thinking!!!!!

Then he retweeted an interview of an Hamas apologist blaming Israel for the attack

And when called out (and rightly so) his response was to accuse Israel of war crimes.

And do so again-in his attempted "apology"

How exactly did he think his clients would react

Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on October 22, 2023, 10:54:38 AMHe apologised when he had nothing to apologise for. He should have called out these companies for the supporters of war crimes they are and the absolute lunacy of being punished financially for calling out war crimes and breaches of int. Law.

Corybn did the same, he didn't call out the attacks on him for what they were, lies. He took too soft an approach and ultimately left the lies  fill the vacuum left by his silence.

We are not talking about whether or not the earth is flat. When US companies or politics are involved, there is hardly a more controversial or sensitive issue you could start spouting off on than Israel and the Palestinians. You cannot win, no matter what position you take, but especially if you criticize Israel days after what Hamas did. If you are going to stick your neck out, you better be prepared for the consequences. It's much easier for a corporation just to cut ties than to risk the bad publicity. At the end of the day, they care about the bottom line and shareholders and their own respective jobs.

MR2 made a great point that it's easy to argue and pontificate under our pseudonyms here on the board or in safe private spaces. I wouldn't open my mouth about any of this at my work place in NYC, or even somewhere like Facebook. Part of that is because there are no easy answers and I'm far from an expert, but also because the person I'm talking to or who sees my blathering might be a diehard lover of Israel and why invite the discord?

I've a guy who reports to me who is a major MAGA supporter who worships Trump. He used to try to get conversations going but I told him I wasn't going to engage as I don't want politics causing problems in a work relationship. If you're going to work successfully with someone, there has to be mutual respect; why risk that just to try to "win" an argument you cannot win?

Paddy Cosgrave is the biggest grifter you will ever meet plus an absolute knob jockey too. The irony is he basically had to resign and fcuked Web Summit for one of the least false things he has probably ever said.

He is absolutely despised in the tech industry and I wouldn't be shedding any tears for him. Used web summit resources for his personal vendettas with history of not paying people. Unfortunately the people who work for Web Summit will bear the the brunt of this if this it all collapses but he'll continue to grift with the other tech bros.

The Web Summit was no big loss to Ireland despite what you are told and Government were right to tell him to fcuk off. It's a joke of a conference anyway at this point.

Quote from: Itchy on October 22, 2023, 11:42:39 AM

Evil prospers when good people say nothing Miltown. I guess we know how far your principles will go anyway.

I'm still waiting for our resident yank racist Whitey to tell me what was in Cosgraves twitter post that he disagrees with.

Wouldn't take a brain surgeon to work out who I am here.. whereas you're completely anonymous and talk the talk but until I know differently you could be full of shite and buckle when actually pulled in the real world. Until then I'll take your personal insults with a pinch of salt

Quote from: J70 on October 22, 2023, 11:31:03 AM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on October 22, 2023, 10:54:38 AMHe apologised when he had nothing to apologise for. He should have called out these companies for the supporters of war crimes they are and the absolute lunacy of being punished financially for calling out war crimes and breaches of int. Law.

MR2 made a great point that it's easy to argue and pontificate under our pseudonyms here on the board or in safe private spaces. I wouldn't open my mouth about any of this at my work place in NYC, or even somewhere like Facebook. Part of that is because there are no easy answers and I'm far from an expert, but also because the person I'm talking to or who sees my blathering might be a diehard lover of Israel and why invite the discord?

Points taken.  But there are ways to bring this stuff up on Facebook (etc) without sticking your neck out too much.  You can post up links by moderate Israeli Jews who are opposed to the Israeli military (e.g. Peter Beinart or Rabbi Danya Ruttenberg). There are also videos of family members of hostages or those murdered by Hamas calling for peace.  I think one can reasonably put those up as a counterbalance to the blind support for Israel in some parts of the media without having to engage in a flame war.

Those of us Stateside should also write to our representatives/congresspeople to ask the US Government to urge restraint.

I'm under no illusions about the likelihood of any of these actions being efficacious in terms of altering the present course of events.  But I do think in some sense it is important to register opposition.