GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: redsetanta on July 07, 2017, 12:14:25 PM

Title: Strategic Review of Gaelic Games in Laois 2017
Post by: redsetanta on July 07, 2017, 12:14:25 PM
This will be very important for the county going forward. The last review covered 2009 to 2015 however we are in a very different place now than we were in 2009.

Now is the time to speak with the people involved so voices are heard and subjects debated.

http://www.leinsterexpress.ie/news/sport/258687/breaking-laois-gaa-announce-plans-for-strategic-review-of-gaelic-games-in-the-county.html (http://www.leinsterexpress.ie/news/sport/258687/breaking-laois-gaa-announce-plans-for-strategic-review-of-gaelic-games-in-the-county.html)
Title: Re: Strategic Review of Gaelic Games in Laois 2017
Post by: steven seagal on July 07, 2017, 12:24:02 PM
A positive step, and I like the look of the committee. No one from the county board on it, which is a start. I'd like to see some current club players and/or managers added, I think their input would be important. Be interesting to see what the review comes up with.
Post by: town1980 on July 07, 2017, 12:26:58 PM
i have just looked at the list of names on that commitee and how the hell is higgins, malachy, clancy,not even mentioned when there the ones who are seeing these teams week in week out no offence niall collins and ross past players good jaysus the root of the problem is that,niall doesnt live in fekn laois ross lives in dublin like holy god this is what riles the whole situation,take opinions from lads who are in the training side and are past payers who soldiered at a high level of playing,that commitee is an absolute joke
Post by: clonadmad on July 07, 2017, 12:39:53 PM
Quote from: town1980 on July 07, 2017, 12:26:58 PM
i have just looked at the list of names on that commitee and how the hell is higgins, malachy, clancy,not even mentioned when there the ones who are seeing these teams week in week out no offence niall collins and ross past players good jaysus the root of the problem is that,niall doesnt live in fekn laois ross lives in dublin like holy god this is what riles the whole situation,take opinions from lads who are in the training side and are past payers who soldiered at a high level of playing,that commitee is an absolute joke

You do realize it's a Strategic overview,not a tactical,day to day overview

Some good people such as David O'Brien and Eamonn Jackman on board,who are passionate hurling people and would have an insight and experience of the juvenile issues in the county.

I would also have no isssue adding to the committee,a few experienced non laois people who may or may not be residing in the county,who would bring aspects of best practice of their home county to the table as well.

For example someone at a high level,involved with the Cork underage hurling pipeline  which has undergone a complete systems overhaul from u12 to minor in the last 4/5 years.

One final caveat,you can have the best review and plans presented to the CB,but what use will it be if the recommendations aren't  implemented.

Does anyone have a copy of the last review 2009-15 to see what recommendations were implemented?

Post by: Unison on July 07, 2017, 12:47:22 PM
Good, but I hope the report will not be allowed to gather dust when it does emerge from this exercise.
Post by: redsetanta on July 07, 2017, 12:50:33 PM
FOr those who have the time to read it here is the last review for 2009 to 2015. I haven't time to go through it right now but it will be interesting to see what was acted upon.

http://sportlomo-userupload.s3.amazonaws.com/uploaded/7069/strgicplan.pdf (http://sportlomo-userupload.s3.amazonaws.com/uploaded/7069/strgicplan.pdf)
Post by: merman on July 07, 2017, 01:58:21 PM
Wouldn't know a few of the names on that committee but best of luck to them. Not an easy task and quite a short timeframe between now and Convention. Id imagine club managers wouldn't be able to give the time needed to drive this, I'd be disappointed if their opinions and ideas were not sought.

I suppose the committee will really just compile and put together the report; the real success of any such plan will rely on the quality of input from club/county coaches, players and officials. I would hope all clubs will be contacted; there are plenty of voices here, hopefully they will bring their opinions and ideas forward.
Post by: clonadmad on July 07, 2017, 02:45:49 PM
Committee Backgrounds

http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/07/07/former-gaa-president-heading-laois-review/
Post by: BallyroanAbu on July 07, 2017, 03:40:25 PM
Paper never refuses ink,  I am sure they will have great meetings but where exactly are we going to find money to implement this strategy.  We have had a few of these down the years and all I have seen is things getting progressively worse.  it's a PR exercise end of.  I am sure we will follow the Offaly County Board on this, their one is still in it's dust jacket.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 07, 2017, 03:47:25 PM
most of these plans will be put into place by volunteers

you need serious training, upskilling and support for those volunteers
Post by: OTF on July 07, 2017, 08:10:36 PM
The 2009 review was indeed a mighty document I have no doubt a small fortune was paid to a PR company to present it.

Anyone know was there any of it implemented.
Post by: Don Draper on July 09, 2017, 08:01:57 PM
Quote from: town1980 on July 07, 2017, 12:26:58 PM
You're a fucktard
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 10, 2017, 01:09:47 AM
Don, do you not notice that everyone else is ignoring this poster because they now realise he is not worth a comment.
Please do the same and let's all get back to some decent dialogue here.

Comments like you've just given is just schoolyard stuff, you should have more pride in yourself...
Post by: Don Draper on July 10, 2017, 09:26:38 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 10, 2017, 01:09:47 AM
Don, do you not notice that everyone else is ignoring this poster because they now realise he is not worth a comment.

Comments like you've just given is just schoolyard stuff, you should have more pride in yourself...
He's still a fucktard
Post by: clonadmad on July 10, 2017, 10:49:46 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 10, 2017, 01:09:47 AM

Well said
Post by: Clubber Lang on July 10, 2017, 03:51:10 PM
I'm just hoping this is not a PR exercise for county board to take the heat off them. Whatever does emerge from this review lets hope it is implemented. Change is badly needed to restore optimism and hope within the county. With the current structures in place in Kildare and Dublin at the moment it could take the guts of a decade of hard work to produce a competitive senior team. Kildare and Dublin are unearthing 2/3 serious underage footballers every year that are feeding into the senior team set-up and providing competition for those already there. 

Looking at the starting teams at the weekend for the connaught football and munster hurling final all the teams are pretty much aged 25 and under with a sprinkling of older players to add the necessary experience. It's frightening to think how far off the pace Laois are going to be in 2/3 years time. At moment our starting team has 3/4 players in that age bracket-O'Carroll, Buggie, P Kingston, Attrite- Of these only Attrite is a guaranteed starter. Whoever is managing Laois next year will need to identify the best 9/10 young footballers in the county and give them plenty of game time next year in division 4 and begin the rebuilding process.
Post by: OTF on July 10, 2017, 05:23:08 PM
Quote from: Clubber Lang on July 10, 2017, 03:51:10 PM
I'm just hoping this is not a PR exercise for county board to take the heat off them. Whatever does emerge from this review lets hope it is implemented. Change is badly needed to restore optimism and hope within the county. With the current structures in place in Kildare and Dublin at the moment it could take the guts of a decade of hard work to produce a competitive senior team. Kildare and Dublin are unearthing 2/3 serious underage footballers every year that are feeding into the senior team set-up and providing competition for those already there. 

Looking at the starting teams at the weekend for the connaught football and munster hurling final all the teams are pretty much aged 25 and under with a sprinkling of older players to add the necessary experience. It's frightening to think how far off the pace Laois are going to be in 2/3 years time. At moment our starting team has 3/4 players in that age bracket-O'Carroll, Buggie, P Kingston, Attrite- Of these only Attrite is a guaranteed starter. Whoever is managing Laois next year will need to identify the best 9/10 young footballers in the county and give them plenty of game time next year in division 4 and begin the rebuilding process.

I had a look through the 2009 document and as far as I'm aware  ( I'm open to correction and I hope I'm wrong) very little if any of that plan was implemented.
IMO a PR exercise is exactly what it is.
Post by: Don Draper on October 03, 2017, 08:04:08 AM
The nominations for Chair and Vice Chair for this years convention shows why we are where we are.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 03, 2017, 10:17:08 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on October 03, 2017, 08:04:08 AM
The nominations for Chair and Vice Chair for this years convention shows why we are where we are.
http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/10/03/three-candidates-running-become-laois-county-board-chairman/0
Post by: clonadmad on October 03, 2017, 11:12:07 AM

Always easy to slate people who put their names forward on an internet forum,Who would you put forward ?.

Post by: Don Draper on October 03, 2017, 11:33:17 AM
Quote from: clonadmad on October 03, 2017, 11:12:07 AM

Always easy to slate people who put their names forward on an internet forum,Who would you put forward ?.
I'll answer your question, with a question. What have these nominees done to progress Laois GAA in their current or previous roles? I'll happily hold my hands up when you come up with a strong case.
Post by: clonadmad on October 03, 2017, 11:50:40 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on October 03, 2017, 11:33:17 AM
Quote from: clonadmad on October 03, 2017, 11:12:07 AM

I'll answer your question, with a question. What have these nominees done to progress Laois GAA in their current or previous roles? I'll happily hold my hands up when you come up with a strong case.

thats all you ever do
Post by: Don Draper on October 03, 2017, 11:54:09 AM

I rest my case.
Post by: clonadmad on October 03, 2017, 12:11:04 PM
Noting of note to contribute bar the odd smart Alec comment,you should put yourself forward Don,all sheen and no substance
Post by: Keyser Söze on October 03, 2017, 08:29:22 PM
Look nobody is here with an intent to personally attack anyone, especially anyone who puts time and effort into Laois GAA.

BUT,

There are people mentioned here who seem incredibly desperate to hang onto any role within Laois GAA. I can guarantee that some of those mentioned will be nominated for so many positions that they will eventually get one, no matter what the title or brief is. That is not good. Being Chairman of a county board should be very hard work, and a job that not many are capable of doing. To do this job for 5 years and then come back looking to do it again as soon as is feasibly possible after your term is up is "interesting" to say the least.
The depths that Laois hurling descended to during the previous reign of Brian Allen would worry me. It is not just what happened on the field. His quotes and interviews were extremely worrying. Accepting that we should just drop down a level to Christy Ring. Within a year we were competing with Galway in the Leinster Championship.
People here regularly criticise Gerry Kavanagh regarding the football managerial appointments made during his reign. They don't hold a candle to the hurling ones made under Allen.

I don't know Brian Allen. I am sure he is a nice man. I have seen him busy at work around O' Moore Park. He was previously Chairman and, as far as hurling goes anyway, it was far from successful. He should not be in the running to do the job again. That is not personal, just basic common sense.
Post by: Keyser Söze on October 03, 2017, 08:37:21 PM
On the vote itself, the closeness of the vote between O' Neill and Mortimer for Vice Chairman this year is an indicator. Allen is a non runner in my eyes.
I think O' Neill wins for two reasons.

1) Allen's bid will hurt Mortimer- Geography and code.
2) The football clubs will be loathe to see a hurling orientated chairman in place of the man who has effectively been "Football Chairman" for 5 years now.

If Mortimer ends up in  a battle with Tom Clear to hold onto the Vice Chair I could see another candidate slipping in to take it. Again Clear and Mortimer are close as clubs go, and the hurling support gets split.
Post by: clonadmad on October 03, 2017, 09:07:43 PM
Excellent summation Keyser
Post by: oneflewoverthecuckoonest on October 03, 2017, 10:19:57 PM
with 3 candidates declaring their hand at an early stage, they are asking for exposure on one hand and scrutiny on the other.

don draper asks what have they done to deserve the job..........a fair question, however a more pertinent question would be to describe what the ideal candidate for this post would be in your opinion.......a straight as a dye individual with an impeccable CV for instance..or would you prefer a cowboy rogue who might through his various mechanisms make the county more successful?

As of now, the professional position of Secretary, is really the main key holder within this county, I have no idea what the terms and conditions are for that position(full time secure position until retirement perhaps?)....all the other executive positions are volunteers and we have the musical chair effect. I have no difficulty with the incumbent secretary, and assume he works to a prescribed job spec, my only question concerning the proliferation of full time positions within many counties, is who is responsible for the inevitable pension contributions....to date, few counties had this problem......are counties facing this pension bill or will Croke Park and the provincial councils be picking up the tab?(I ask this question as an aside).

In this day and age, truthfully, the Chairman of each county is a figurehead and probably the ideal candidate would be an individual with the capacity to unearth significant amounts of covert sponsorship to finance the best possible inter county teams and management set ups.....because those inter county teams are the flagships.

In a perfect world, we would love a successful Laois businessman with global contacts at the helm to help our quest for some level of intercounty success. Alas such candidates are unlikely to surface too often, I think Tom O Loughlin may have been the last businessman to throw his hat into the ring.

Back to reality and whilst some may bemoan the slate of 3 candidates on the ballot, the unattractive nature of the job in a weak county may contribute to the state of the affairs.

I suspect, no other candidate will surface and I think it will be a 2 runner race on the day of the convention.

I note none of the 3 candidates have any education outside of 2nd level, and 2 are employees, and I struggle to think what their personal area of expertise in life may be..............in a nutshell if any of the 3 candidates were applying for say the job of Laois County Council Manager(or for most managerial positions)....their CVs would render them unqualified and none would even get an interview....this assessment may sound cruel, but it puts things into perspective.

Brian and Peter are "nice harmless" gents, Sean more a "wheeler dealer".   Brian ought to be reaching pipe and slipper time in the GAA, he had his turn and he has zero chance of winning a second term. The only reason why I would imagine he has said he is running is because he may fear he will lose his central council post to the outgoing chairman(if he runs for that post). If Brian remains in the field it will be very poor judgement on his part and he will place a poor 3rd.

The real tussle is O Neill v Mortimer. The 2016 vice chairman vote off between them was tight, Mortimer winning by a few votes......the fact that he won that vote is critical as he unseated O Neill(the previous incumbent).

It is now or never for Mortimer, I don't see him lingering around the county executive should he lose.

My guess whether it is a 2 or 3 runner field, Mortimer will win comfortably on the first count.  Will he be the first ever Camross man to hold the position?

Post by: Keyser Söze on October 03, 2017, 10:40:49 PM
Interesting summation.

I don't like your references to the education and employment records of the candidates. Personal opinion.

I wouldn't dismiss O' Neill as "harmless" and I can see him putting up a serious fight. I'd be backing him to win at this point.
Mortimer is a "wheeler dealer" as you say, but I don't think he is as popular as the victory in the Vice Chairman contest might suggest!
Post by: merman on October 03, 2017, 11:31:27 PM
I'd expect O' Neill to edge out Mortimer to be honest. Doubt he'll be anyway complacent and he'll have his ducks in a row well before it comes to the vote.
Allen will certainly pull votes from the hurling areas and he mightn't be as big an outsider as some think.

The Coaching and Games Development position is also up for election and this, above any other, certainly requires a fresh face, not someone parachuted in after losing out on a loftier position.

The Strategic Review committee are currently meeting clubs; I believe the response from clubs has been somewhere between mixed and poor. Hard to blame individuals as there will be an element of fatigue at this time of the year. The club meetings are a necessary box-ticking exercise but realistically, a lot of the problems/concerns raised will be self-evident and these meetings should just give the committee a greater mandate to try impact some change.
Post by: Don Draper on October 04, 2017, 08:13:39 AM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on October 03, 2017, 10:40:49 PM
Interesting summation.

I don't like your references to the education and employment records of the candidates. Personal opinion.

I wouldn't dismiss O' Neill as "harmless" and I can see him putting up a serious fight. I'd be backing him to win at this point.
Mortimer is a "wheeler dealer" as you say, but I don't think he is as popular as the victory in the Vice Chairman contest might suggest!
Delighted to see the debate start, while it may only be a shower of cranks on the internet, it is no harm for it to be voiced somewhere. I would agree re the education and employment aspect, one of the best we've had in recent years, was a dairy farmer with little of the above. Perhaps the game has changed recently, but there's a lot to be said for street smarts over book smarts on occasion. Brian Allen is a nice man, he's done his time, and is a great volunteer, but he shouldn't be in this race.
Post by: clonadmad on October 04, 2017, 11:53:15 AM
Quote from: merman on October 03, 2017, 11:31:27 PM
I'd expect O' Neill to edge out Mortimer to be honest. Doubt he'll be anyway complacent and he'll have his ducks in a row well before it comes to the vote.
Allen will certainly pull votes from the hurling areas and he mightn't be as big an outsider as some think.

The Coaching and Games Development position is also up for election and this, above any other, certainly requires a fresh face, not someone parachuted in after losing out on a loftier position.

The Strategic Review committee are currently meeting clubs; I believe the response from clubs has been somewhere between mixed and poor. Hard to blame individuals as there will be an element of fatigue at this time of the year. The club meetings are a necessary box-ticking exercise but realistically, a lot of the problems/concerns raised will be self-evident and these meetings should just give the committee a greater mandate to try impact some change.

A certain amount of apathy given that similar took place in 2009 and the report is gathering dust somewhere in Parkside.
Post by: merman on October 04, 2017, 12:48:12 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on October 04, 2017, 11:53:15 AM
A certain amount of apathy given that similar took place in 2009 and the report is gathering dust somewhere in Parkside.

I'm sure you're right but its still a frustrating excuse. An easy one for a lot of people who are happy to criticize but unwilling to offer anything constructive.

And my own club will be complicit too; plenty of strong opinions but I doubt we'll have even 10 at our meeting next week.
Post by: clonadmad on October 04, 2017, 12:59:41 PM
Quote from: merman on October 04, 2017, 12:48:12 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on October 04, 2017, 11:53:15 AM

I'm sure you're right but its still a frustrating excuse. An easy one for a lot of people who are happy to criticize but unwilling to offer anything constructive.

And my own club will be complicit too; plenty of strong opinions but I doubt we'll have even 10 at our meeting next week.

I know,bit like the lad that complains about the state of the country and doesn't get off his arse to vote.

i know of one meeting in a neighboring club where they had to come up with 5 area's where "we" were doing well and then 5 area's where "we" weren't,kinda limited the scope of the meeting

some clubs and this is only hearsay have kept it very much at the top table and have excluded club committee and the juvenile section from taking part.

("We" being us as a county)
Post by: merman on October 04, 2017, 01:17:12 PM
I'd hope they wouldn't limit themselves to 5 areas?
Especially as there are 7 overall headings they're supposed to be focussing on.

Jesus Christ, if people give their time and attend the meetings then everything should be considered.
Post by: clonadmad on October 04, 2017, 01:45:56 PM
Quote from: merman on October 04, 2017, 01:17:12 PM
I'd hope they wouldn't limit themselves to 5 areas?
Especially as there are 7 overall headings they're supposed to be focussing on.

Jesus Christ, if people give their time and attend the meetings then everything should be considered.

The meeting was chaired by one of our inter county referees,the person who I spoke to would be very reliable and he thought it was laughable that what we were doing "well" was given nearly as much emphasis as what we weren't doing well.

This guy has a successful company and was wondering had they ever come across the concept of brainstorming,where there is no such thing as a bad idea,everyone has their say and you weren't limited to 5 things you were doing "badly" in order to match up and balance the 5 things you were doing well.

Post by: clonadmad on October 04, 2017, 01:50:39 PM
The 7 topics that should be discussed are as follows

Games Development

Games Scheduling and Competition Formats

Volunteers and Officers Support

Infrastructure and Planning

Communications

Funding,Sponsorship and Financial Excellence

Urbanisation,Rural Depopulation and Integration
Post by: clonadmad on October 08, 2017, 08:52:51 PM
I'm hearing a lot of clubs out there very unhappy with the performance of our GDA's,it's being brought up in nearly every one of the strategic review fact finding meetings.
Post by: Toomanygaels on October 09, 2017, 12:32:36 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on October 08, 2017, 08:52:51 PM
I'm hearing a lot of clubs out there very unhappy with the performance of our GDA's,it's being brought up in nearly every one of the strategic review fact finding meetings.

Yes I also heard a lot of club are not happy with most of the GDA's. I would be in 100% agreement with the clubs. The GDA performance should be Review every year and if they are under performing they should be replaced. To me some of them seem to have a job for life without very little accountability.
Post by: clonadmad on October 09, 2017, 01:59:26 PM
I believe some of the feedback coming through is why are we as a county spending over €200k on GDA's every year,given the level of service/support clubs are receiving.

Some wondering aloud would they be better off being scrapped altogether and the money spent better somewhere else.
Post by: Zooming around on October 09, 2017, 02:38:36 PM
€200k seems like a huge sum. Are you sure that's correct? Somebody mentioned on a previous thread that they are on €28k and that their wages are half funded by Leinster Council. How many GDAs are there?, 4? If so the figure is about €56k a year. €28k is not a huge salary by any means. There are far bigger problems for clubs right now, like recruiting volunteers and the cost of everything from insurance, hurling balls, training equipment and facilities etc. In our club it's impossible to get anyone involved. Nobody has time. The same few of us are left to do everything. And we're not so bad, we've been very successful underage in recent years. They simply drop them at the gate and let you babysit them. I would like to see the Strategic Review give clubs some really good advice on how to recruit volunteers and on finance. Also, the games program needs to be a lot better. With soccer and rugby the children (and more importantly the parents) know they have a consistent program of game and exactly when the games are on. The county board needs to copy that, not make it up as they go along.
Post by: clonadmad on October 09, 2017, 02:57:18 PM
Quote from: Zooming around on October 09, 2017, 02:38:36 PM
€200k seems like a huge sum. Are you sure that's correct? Somebody mentioned on a previous thread that they are on €28k and that their wages are half funded by Leinster Council. How many GDAs are there?, 4? If so the figure is about €56k a year. €28k is not a huge salary by any means. There are far bigger problems for clubs right now, like recruiting volunteers and the cost of everything from insurance, hurling balls, training equipment and facilities etc. In our club it's impossible to get anyone involved. Nobody has time. The same few of us are left to do everything. And we're not so bad, we've been very successful underage in recent years. They simply drop them at the gate and let you babysit them. I would like to see the Strategic Review give clubs some really good advice on how to recruit volunteers and on finance. Also, the games program needs to be a lot better. With soccer and rugby the children (and more importantly the parents) know they have a consistent program of game and exactly when the games are on. The county board needs to copy that, not make it up as they go along.

There's 5 GDA's and when you add in such things as expenses and employers PRSI,Id say the annual spend wouldn't be too far off €200k p.a

I don't know what issue you have with the games program particularly at juvenile and underage,it's laid out at the start of the year in the games book and by and large is adhered to.

Club officials get this book around March every year and every fixture for the year ahead is laid out in it,It's then up to the club to communicate with the parents.

There's many things wrong with the website,the fixtures section isn't one of them.

Post by: SCFC on October 09, 2017, 03:03:00 PM
There's five GDA's.

There's around 45 clubs, give or take. There's probably 50 schools or so when you take out the ones that aren't interested?

So, roughly one GDA per 10 schools?

I don't know much about their role but there's 167 days in a primary school year. Plenty of time to get into each willing school. I can't see how a GDA couldn't visit two schools a morning. One from 10.30 to 11.30 or so, another from 1.30 to 2.30 or so.

Instead, from what I'm hearing, they are rarely if ever seen in many schools. It's a pity but someone needs to get into the Coaching Officer role on the County Board and shake things up big time.
Post by: Zooming around on October 09, 2017, 04:26:13 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on October 09, 2017, 02:57:18 PM

There's 5 GDA's and when you add in such things as expenses and employers PRSI,Id say the annual spend wouldn't be too far off €200k p.a

I don't know what issue you have with the games program particularly at juvenile and underage,it's laid out at the start of the year in the games book and by and large is adhered to.

Club officials get this book around March every year and every fixture for the year ahead is laid out in it,It's then up to the club to communicate with the parents.

There's many things wrong with the website,the fixtures section isn't one of them.

Is there 5, I thought it was 4. Fair enough add in the expenses but I still can't see how you would get to anywhere near €200k. Five times €14k plus say €20k in expenses comes to €90k. Are you including the full time secretary's wages in your figure? I'm mainly involved in the hurling side of things in my club and I have to say the GDAs are very good to us in terms of coaching courses, club visits and coaching in the local school. We try to get as many people as possible to go to these courses but as I said earlier nobody is willing to give up the time. I would love to get more help and direction in this area. A lot of our players have also benefited greatly from the coaching and games they get with the Setanta program and the Development Squads.

The fixture booklet is fine. It's the non-adherence to it, postponements and the lack of games at certain age groups that drives me mad. Games get called off for the flimsiest of reasons.
Post by: clonadmad on October 09, 2017, 04:41:23 PM
Quote from: Zooming around on October 09, 2017, 04:26:13 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on October 09, 2017, 02:57:18 PM

Is there 5, I thought it was 4. Fair enough add in the expenses but I still can't see how you would get to anywhere near €200k. Five times €14k plus say €20k in expenses comes to €90k. Are you including the full time secretary's wages in your figure? I'm mainly involved in the hurling side of things in my club and I have to say the GDAs are very good to us in terms of coaching courses, club visits and coaching in the local school. We try to get as many people as possible to go to these courses but as I said earlier nobody is willing to give up the time. I would love to get more help and direction in this area. A lot of our players have also benefited greatly from the coaching and games they get with the Setanta program and the Development Squads.

The fixture booklet is fine. It's the non-adherence to it, postponements and the lack of games at certain age groups that drives me mad. Games get called off for the flimsiest of reasons.

I'd be interested to hear at which juvenile/underage age group there is a lack of games,because at most grades I think we are well stocked with games,I think that area is working well,the year is well laid out in the booklet and mentors have a clear knowledge of the year ahead.

I strongly disagree with you in relation to the impact of the GDA's,I have 3 kids at various school ages and they have never seen a GDA,club visits from them are few and far between.Im not the only one saying this.

I'd be very interested to see a monthly journey for 1 of them,what is their call rate?,what targets are they set every year,does anyone know?
Post by: Keyser Söze on October 09, 2017, 06:32:32 PM
To add a little to this I think the GDAs are often bogged down a little with paperwork. Some of it totally unnecessary and some of it which should be completed by others. These are supposed to be our best and most up to date coaching resources. They are needed out in the fields 5 days a week for 6-8 hours. Whether that is all day in schools or part of the day in schools and a few evening hours every now and again between them (coaching courses and club visits) I don't know but there is no need for them to be sitting inside in an office for 15-20 hours a week (which I believe they often are- whether it is their "fault" or not)
Post by: clonadmad on October 09, 2017, 08:10:28 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on October 09, 2017, 06:32:32 PM
To add a little to this I think the GDAs are often bogged down a little with paperwork. Some of it totally unnecessary and some of it which should be completed by others. These are supposed to be our best and most up to date coaching resources. They are needed out in the fields 5 days a week for 6-8 hours. Whether that is all day in schools or part of the day in schools and a few evening hours every now and again between them (coaching courses and club visits) I don't know but there is no need for them to be sitting inside in an office for 15-20 hours a week (which I believe they often are- whether it is their "fault" or not)

Absolutely mental if true and if this is the case the clubs need to hear it and come up with solutions,this is a complete misallocation of resources

I've done a quick count,we have 44 juvenile clubs in the county and 68 national schools.

Thats 9 clubs and 14 national schools per GDA,23 in total,its hardly too much to expect that each one gets one visit per 6 week cycle during the school year,if things were tightened up
Post by: INTJ on October 15, 2017, 09:22:51 PM
Can't see how people are being held up 15-20h per week with paperwork unless it's from the CB. I worked as an RDO with the FAI and spent some time training for role in Belgium and Denmark and never had much more than 2-3h a week to do in office. Only time we got issues was when teams or venues  changed suddenly. We had a good bit of paper work at the start of the season yeah with kids forms containin personalinfo needing to be logged, garda vetting, consent forms etc but that all had to be done before the first session for us. The schools do present an issue with some teachers not wanting kids out at various time with the most anyone will do is 3 primary school sessions in a day (9-30-10-30, 11-12 12-1) after lunch primary schools were reluctant to let you in.  Then we would go home and generally take 2-3 club sessions per night in one club with differnt age groups. Training in schools can be disasterours especially small schools where you might have to take one class room that has from u from ages 7-11  it's pointless. Saturday was designated to training and upsklling club coachs and volunteers in the mornings and high potential sessions in the evening. I don't know what the gaa is at holding coach's up with paperwork.
Post by: clonadmad on October 15, 2017, 09:51:05 PM
Quote from: INTJ on October 15, 2017, 09:22:51 PM
Can't see how people are being held up 15-20h per week with paperwork unless it's from the CB. I worked as an RDO with the FAI and spent some time training for role in Belgium and Denmark and never had much more than 2-3h a week to do in office. Only time we got issues was when teams or venues  changed suddenly. We had a good bit of paper work at the start of the season yeah with kids forms containin personalinfo needing to be logged, garda vetting, consent forms etc but that all had to be done before the first session for us. The schools do present an issue with some teachers not wanting kids out at various time with the most anyone will do is 3 primary school sessions in a day (9-30-10-30, 11-12 12-1) after lunch primary schools were reluctant to let you in.  Then we would go home and generally take 2-3 club sessions per night in one club with differnt age groups. Training in schools can be disasterours especially small schools where you might have to take one class room that has from u from ages 7-11  it's pointless. Saturday was designated to training and upsklling club coachs and volunteers in the mornings and high potential sessions in the evening. I don't know what the gaa is at holding coach's up with paperwork.

The reality is that the Gaa isn't holding up GDA's with paperwork.

It's very illuminating to see the workloads of GDA's in other counties,compared to what's happening here.

Post by: clonadmad on November 16, 2017, 01:25:27 PM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/11/16/four-mix-county-chairman-former-star-also-line-position/
Post by: merman on November 17, 2017, 08:04:26 AM
Brilliant to see Monica Delaney coming onto the County Board. She would be very well-received in the hurling areas and is certainly not afraid of hard work.

Still a lot of the same names looking to swap around positions but guaranteed at least 1 new face and if Fergal Byron leaves his name in the hat then he'll comfortably get in ahead of Jody Conway. I think the appointment of Coaching and Games Officer is the second most important position after Chairman. Everything starts from there. It's good to see someone new looking to come in and tackle it.

Post by: SCFC on November 17, 2017, 08:50:21 AM
Quote from: merman on November 17, 2017, 08:04:26 AM
Brilliant to see Monica Delaney coming onto the County Board. She would be very well-received in the hurling areas and is certainly not afraid of hard work.

Still a lot of the same names looking to swap around positions but guaranteed at least 1 new face and if Fergal Byron leaves his name in the hat then he'll comfortably get in ahead of Jody Conway. I think the appointment of Coaching and Games Officer is the second most important position after Chairman. Everything starts from there. It's good to see someone new looking to come in and tackle it.
I understand Byron is definitely running. If Conway gets it ahead of him, it's a joke.
Post by: Zooming around on November 17, 2017, 10:31:56 AM
Quote from: clonadmad on October 15, 2017, 09:51:05 PM
Quote from: INTJ on October 15, 2017, 09:22:51 PM

The reality is that the Gaa isn't holding up GDA's with paperwork.

It's very illuminating to see the workloads of GDA's in other counties,compared to what's happening here.

You seem to know a lot about what's in the Strategic Review. You're hardly on the committee or anything??????

I deal a lot with one of the GDAs and I met him at the U21 final on Sunday. I asked him about the stuff raised here. He said that he has 14 Primary Schools. He has just finished a 6 week block in half of them and has now started a 6 week block in the other half. Seemingly, not all schools take the coaching offered. He has 12 Primary School Coaching sessions this week, 2 Secondary School Sessions, an Award One course on Wednesday night, Laois U13 training on Tuesday night, U14 and U15 Squad Athletic Program on Thursday night and a Staff training course on Monday. He said he had 8/10 hours paperwork on top of that because this time of the year is when all reports are done up. On top of that he was expected (not part of his hours) to be at the U13 final on Saturday and the U21 final on Sunday. A total of about 52 hours. I joked back to him, "Do you ever get time off?". He smiled back "An odd time". Seems he and 2 of the other GDAs didn't get to take all their holidays last year either as well as not being able to take any holidays during the summer on account of Summer Camps. I have to say I found all this amazing and certainly an eye opener.
Post by: clonadmad on November 17, 2017, 11:00:29 AM
You've defended the GDA's here before and your experience seems to be at odds with what a lot of club/schools are saying.

Croke Park is aware that there's an issue here,It will be interesting to see what the review has to say also.

Post by: Zooming around on November 17, 2017, 11:29:57 AM
Quote from: clonadmad on November 17, 2017, 11:00:29 AM
You've defended the GDA's here before and your experience seems to be at odds with what a lot of club/schools are saying.

Croke Park is aware that there's an issue here,It will be interesting to see what the review has to say also.

I wouldn't call it defending anyone. I don't really know any of them personally but have dealt with them during my time with our underage teams. I just have this nagging doubt that a lot of people who are giving out aren't armed with the full facts. As others have said maybe their workload and roster needs to be arranged a bit better but I couldn't for one second doubt the huge amount of hours they put in. Seems like a bit of a witch hunt.

How do you know about Croke Park? You must be very high up and well in. You seem to know everything.
Post by: clonadmad on November 17, 2017, 12:17:23 PM
Neither high up nor well in,was in Croke Park at one of those conferences during the year and got talking by chance to someone high up on the coaching side,I didn't bring up the topic either.
Post by: Helix on November 30, 2017, 05:17:28 PM
http://www.dttas.ie/sites/default/files/publications/sport/english/sports-capital-programme-2017-local-allocations/2017-scp-list-grants-publication.pdf

Intersting to see few GAA in Laois getting decent bit of funding from sports council capital grant for 2018 Rahdowney and Borris in Ossary Big benefactors.. Hopefully money used well!
Post by: clonadmad on November 30, 2017, 06:06:16 PM
Did many Laois GAA clubs apply?,were many turned down?
Post by: Helix on November 30, 2017, 06:16:21 PM
http://www.dttas.ie/sites/default/files/publications/corporate/english/list-invalid-applications-under-2017-sports-capital-programme/list-invalid-applications-publication.pdf

List of invalid clubs. I assume that's turned down applications. Only 3-4 applications I think Gaa wiser turned down.
Post by: clonadmad on December 02, 2017, 09:29:35 PM
Good to see one of our GDA's doing a mixer in his spare time

https://www.balls.ie/gaa/galways-jack-canning-among-gaa-prospects-todays-afl-combine-378796
Post by: Don Draper on December 02, 2017, 10:00:51 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on December 02, 2017, 09:29:35 PM

https://www.balls.ie/gaa/galways-jack-canning-among-gaa-prospects-todays-afl-combine-378796
What he does in his spare time is his own business. Has anyone got a problem with his work in his role as a GDA? Have you?
Post by: clonadmad on December 02, 2017, 10:05:32 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 02, 2017, 10:00:51 PM

What he does in his spare time is his own business. Has anyone got a problem with his work in his role as a GDA? Have you?

Did he get paid for his time?.

I wonder does his contract of employment make it ok to also work part time for the AFL in the recruitment of GAA players?

Post by: Don Draper on December 02, 2017, 10:08:26 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on December 02, 2017, 10:05:32 PM

I wonder does his contract of employment make it ok to also work part time for the AFL in the recruitment of GAA players?
So you now wish to see a good man sacked from his position for picking up a bit of extra work?
Post by: clonadmad on December 02, 2017, 10:14:04 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 02, 2017, 10:08:26 PM

So you now wish to see a good man sacked from his position for picking up a bit of extra work?
Is he in breach of his terms of employment?.maybe if he is,he should have used his own personal judgement before he took on said nixer.

Post by: Don Draper on December 02, 2017, 10:42:15 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on December 02, 2017, 10:14:04 PM

Is he in breach of his terms of employment?.maybe if he is,he should have used his own personal judgement before he took on said nixer.
Great that you are here to be the conscience of Laois GAA.
Post by: clonadmad on December 03, 2017, 12:31:50 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 02, 2017, 10:42:15 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on December 02, 2017, 10:14:04 PM

Great that you are here to be the conscience of Laois GAA.
Thats the best you can come up with?,pathetic
Post by: merman on December 18, 2017, 05:20:51 PM
Fixtures Review Committee have submitted their proposals for 2018.

U21 Grades to be replaced by U19 in both codes. Played in the autumn.

Football Leagues to be reconstituted to 10 teams for 2019, based off next year's placings.

No changes to the Senior Football Championships but Hurling Clubs to debate changing to 2 Groups of 4. Joint-proposal from Clough/Ballacolla and Rathdowney/Errill.
Post by: clonadmad on December 18, 2017, 07:33:22 PM
I believe the review will be published early in the new year.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on December 18, 2017, 09:20:47 PM
Why can they leave the leagues alone? Every couple of years they f**k around with them. Stick with some format.
Post by: clonadmad on January 02, 2018, 12:32:26 PM
Laois GAA Strategic & Action Plan launch will take place on Monday next, 8th January, in the Midlands Park Hotel at 8pm sharp
Post by: on the hop on January 03, 2018, 02:22:04 PM
is it open to the public???
Post by: Don Draper on January 03, 2018, 02:33:54 PM
Quote from: on the hop on January 03, 2018, 02:22:04 PM
is it open to the public???
Invitees are club chair, sec, treasurer, coaching officer, delegate, juve chair and sec.

I particularly like how in the press release the county secretary is already putting the onus of the report onto the clubs. Clubs need to fund the county board and it seems do their work for them too.
Post by: INTJ on January 07, 2018, 09:07:51 PM
With the strategic review coming out tomorrow I'd like to know what changes people hope will be in it.
I myself would like to see a move towards a long term professional set up that incorporates all players from the u13/14 up. My reasoning behind this would be that once a child is brought into the county set up there should be a clear line of progression, including expectations,  attitudes and outcomes with the senior teams being "professionals role models" in the same way of the first team premiership club.
To start with I'd invest heavily with a "laois player" app. This would be download able under licence by all players with coaded usernames for better personal protection.  Along with this each player would receive a performance tracker vest top "sports bra." With all players having to wear it to track activity for county, club, school etc and aduring all sport activities afterwards it bluetooth syncs to the players phone and app. if they play rugby/soccer etc with the consent of that coach. This is overall just to protect against over training etc. 
The app itself would allow for a better understanding of what your players and doing and how they are reacting to training. It will also allow coaches to send training material directly to their teams rather than waste training time on tactical talks the players can arrive to training with the training session tactics already known.
Along with the app I'd hire a full time nutritionist, exercise physiologist, S&C coach and video alalyst.  These people would be available to all Laois teams. Prior to training individuals would open their app see their coachs input and highlights from the previous games ex: possession turnover short 3min video on the turnovers etc followed by 2 min of coach instructions on how the session is going to be run etc. Players turn up switched on. Along with this the coach can give individuals highlights to them directly and what they are to work on themselves.
The APP+tracker would also allow for direct following of the S&C program and how they are responding to it. As for the s&c it should be conducted along the lines russian liner periodisation along the lines of Zerhoshansky, Zatziorsky, Siff and Simmons. This will instill a constant winning/achieving attitude from an early age on. Weight training should begin with the youngest teams and be a constant progression.
Going back to the club's I'd like to see how the underage structures are within each club. Again clubs could be given acess to the app with training games, structures training etc all there for them. I personally would like to see training sessions from u8 up be run with lots of 1v1, 2v2 skills based training games I think for skills development and overall talent.
Post by: Don Draper on January 07, 2018, 09:55:56 PM
Quote from: INTJ on January 07, 2018, 09:07:51 PM
With the strategic review coming out tomorrow I'd like to know what changes people hope will be in it.
I myself would like to see a move towards a long term professional set up that incorporates all players from the u13/14 up. My reasoning behind this would be that once a child is brought into the county set up there should be a clear line of progression, including expectations,  attitudes and outcomes with the senior teams being "professionals role models" in the same way of the first team premiership club.
To start with I'd invest heavily with a "laois player" app. This would be download able under licence by all players with coaded usernames for better personal protection.  Along with this each player would receive a performance tracker vest top "sports bra." With all players having to wear it to track activity for county, club, school etc and aduring all sport activities afterwards it bluetooth syncs to the players phone and app. if they play rugby/soccer etc with the consent of that coach. This is overall just to protect against over training etc. 
The app itself would allow for a better understanding of what your players and doing and how they are reacting to training. It will also allow coaches to send training material directly to their teams rather than waste training time on tactical talks the players can arrive to training with the training session tactics already known.
Along with the app I'd hire a full time nutritionist, exercise physiologist, S&C coach and video alalyst.  These people would be available to all Laois teams. Prior to training individuals would open their app see their coachs input and highlights from the previous games ex: possession turnover short 3min video on the turnovers etc followed by 2 min of coach instructions on how the session is going to be run etc. Players turn up switched on. Along with this the coach can give individuals highlights to them directly and what they are to work on themselves.
The APP+tracker would also allow for direct following of the S&C program and how they are responding to it. As for the s&c it should be conducted along the lines russian liner periodisation along the lines of Zerhoshansky, Zatziorsky, Siff and Simmons. This will instill a constant winning/achieving attitude from an early age on. Weight training should begin with the youngest teams and be a constant progression.
Going back to the club's I'd like to see how the underage structures are within each club. Again clubs could be given acess to the app with training games, structures training etc all there for them. I personally would like to see training sessions from u8 up be run with lots of 1v1, 2v2 skills based training games I think for skills development and overall talent.

Interesting.

By any chance would you know of anyone with such an app to sell perhaps?
Post by: BallyroanAbu on January 07, 2018, 10:45:42 PM

Don't think any of this will be happening mate nor anything near it.
Post by: oneflewoverthecuckoonest on January 07, 2018, 11:40:46 PM

Laois Gaa is an amateur organisation....the above bollix about under14s doing programmed strength and conditioning is what will ruin the sport....most kids, especially under 14s and 16s should be allowed to express their natural talent, instead of being put into a robotic system.....Beano McDonald was a brilliant minor due to sublime skills not being a bulked up teenager...............all the above apps and tracker stuff is fine if you are  a professional member of a leinster rugby or munster rugby squad......please tell me what happens if you follow the above mantra and still get hammered by 15 to 20 points in your key championship game..what then?

Post by: Helix on January 08, 2018, 12:04:16 AM
Quote from: oneflewoverthecuckoonest on January 07, 2018, 11:40:46 PM

Laois Gaa is an amateur organisation....the above bollix about under14s doing programmed strength and conditioning is what will ruin the sport....most kids, especially under 14s and 16s should be allowed to express their natural talent, instead of being put into a robotic system.....Beano McDonald was a brilliant minor due to sublime skills not being a bulked up teenager...............all the above apps and tracker stuff is fine if you are  a professional member of a leinster rugby or munster rugby squad......please tell me what happens if you follow the above mantra and still get hammered by 15 to 20 points in your key championship game..what then?

Let's get the fundamentals right before we go go investing in apps. Get kids from a young age kicking off their 2 feet would be a start. We're not rearing robots either!
Post by: clonadmad on January 08, 2018, 02:26:35 PM
Anyone with a modicum of cop on would know that "weight training for the youngest teams" would be disastrous,stick to Rugby son
Post by: Don Draper on January 08, 2018, 02:44:41 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on January 08, 2018, 02:26:35 PM
Anyone with a modicum of cop on would know that "weight training for the youngest teams" would be disastrous,stick to Rugby son
If we dont have our U8's lifting weights, then we're already on the back foot.
Post by: merman on January 08, 2018, 04:47:55 PM
I'd imagine anything in this report would be more general than going into the minutiae of Development Squad trainings.

I'd be disappointed if the following weren't included;
1. Need for concise and unambiguous transfer rules, especially with regards to Portlaoise and neighbouring clubs.
2. Clarity re Gaels Teams at underage and adult grades. Should there be more foresight as to how underage teams are allowed join up rather than an ad hoc, year-by-year arrangement?
3. The malaise with regard to the County Board. Term limits are fine; maybe there should be a limit on how many consecutive terms can be allowed.
4. Player progression from U13>U17>Senior. A proper framework for skill and physical development.
5. Clarifying of the responsibilities expected of our GDAs. Improved oversight to ensure that such responsibilities are met.

These are some ideas that I know were submitted through the club meetings.
I would presume the Report will go online tonight?
Post by: The PRO on January 08, 2018, 06:03:44 PM
Quote from: merman on January 08, 2018, 04:47:55 PM
I would presume the Report will go online tonight?
You are an optimistic man (or woman)😀
Post by: clonadmad on January 08, 2018, 07:03:45 PM
2nd club for Portlaoise,headline recommendation
Post by: clonadmad on January 08, 2018, 08:01:20 PM
http://sportlomo-userupload.s3.amazonaws.com/uploaded/galleries/7069_uploaded/07bfbee3650c985dbc7e2f4976bf49e6e973a7d5.pdf
Post by: Helix on January 08, 2018, 08:50:42 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on January 08, 2018, 07:03:45 PM
2nd club for Portlaoise,headline recommendation

Base it out of Portlaoise college would probably be the best option there. Might get more input in knockmay and potentially fairgreen areas. Would need considerable input from county board to avoid an attempt done on Kilminchy in the 2000s. Interesting read nonetheless. Im sure there's more to scrutinise in it!
Post by: clonadmad on January 08, 2018, 09:16:31 PM
Based on the questionnaire as many as 10 clubs could go out of existence in the next 10 years
Post by: Mad Mentor on January 08, 2018, 09:21:28 PM
I would imagine it will be very difficult to establish a second club in Portlaoise or anywhere for that matter. Pretty much anyone who has an interest in helping to run a club is probably already doing so. It's hard enough to get people involved in a club they have a history with, never mind taking on the huge task of establishing a new one. I for one could not see myself leaving my own club to start what would in effect be a rival club. If the Arles divide had happened in Portlaoise, it may have led to a second club that worked, but it is hardly the best way to go about it. If there were enough people from elsewhere, living in Portlaoise, with the experience and will to set up a second club it would still be a monumental task. Trying to set boundaries and catchment areas alone would wreck your head. From my experience coming up against Portlaoise in underage hurling, they are tight enough on numbers as it is. I brought twenty eight u8s to play Portlaoise a few years ago to be faced with seven of them.

As regards strength and conditioning for development squads, this has already started for all down to u13 which is a very welcome development. Peter Hally and Andrew Kavanagh have also run workshops for clubs to introduce this at club level.
Post by: INTJ on January 08, 2018, 10:44:26 PM
Clonadmad... first of all iv never even been to a rugby game so stick to not making judgement son.. my background is in soccer, cycling, triathlon and gaa in that order. Working with underage development squads in Ireland,  Belgium, Australia along with working with senior intercounty hurling teams including Kilkenny, waterford, Dublin and Offaly and the last cyclist I worked with won the An-Post RAS while I was his acting physiologist.. so I'm glad I don't have a "modicum of cop on" perhaps I should stand on a side line and shout things like "run faster" "hit him for f sake" or my favourite "of course we should start him, his father was a great footballer and I'm sure it's in him too".
@HELIX if we get bet by 15-20 points? I don't know but can't be worse than going out to a bad tipperary team, clare,  Longford,  Antrim? Seems like changing nothing has worked for us so far doesn't it? It's childish thinking the sport is still amateur having worked with KK almost a decade ago they are already doing more then what I mentioned below. I got the chance to see Dublin u14 data while they were playing our lads a couple years ago and they are 10 years of what I'm talking about. Laois during the "golden era" had the best conveyor of natural talent in ireland and only 1 leinster to show? That my friend is bollox!!

Strength and conditioning'aphobes are quick to blaspheme when they know little about it. I didn't know it had started already at u13 and I'm glad they have implemented it. Lads have to stop thinking od s&c as making kids big. Anyone with a "modicum" of knowledge knows that correct programming is put is place to teach kids how to lift weights when they get to u20. It's flexibility, technique, quickness and most MOST importantly the training of propioceptive neuromuscular pathways (nervous system) and getting all systems to work together. On the O byrne thread lads our giving out that the new players are to light! Those lads will now be thrown into a S&C program to bulk up. It's like putting a turbo into a 1998 fiat chichento and expecting it to do 100mph every day until September. Something will give!! Imagine wiring your house with the cables for a car headlights! Sure electricity will run down it but it won't power your kettle for long. Correct S&C training with "the youngest squads" will increase ligament and tendon strength  (less injuries), increase bone density (less breaks, osteoporosis, stronger anchor points for muscles), increase neural pathways (quicker, faster and greater foundation for strength), metabolic efficiency (heart ,lungs, skin, lymph, endocrine, muscular, calcium-ptassium shuttle system, lactate system and Krebs cycle) all working in perfect harmony together.

I'm not talking about making robots. I'm saying we should get the most talented kids we have in the county and give them the best information possible including, health, flexibility and tactical awareNess to better prepare them and to be in a position of readiness for when they get called up to the senior intercounty teams.
To put it into perspective around 90% of all international soccer players are brought to an academy between 9-14 and trained in this manner. Would we call them unskillful? Ronaldo is 6'2 and around 13 stone which is the average gaa midfielder. He is built like a tank and the most skillful player in the world.

Finally Don Draper. I actually have no idea where one would start with an app like that but I can't imagine it would be to hard. The underarmour one is free and does most of what I said. My fitness pal is also a group of apps that cover most of what I said. Can't imagine it would be to hard.
Post by: portlaoisekid on January 09, 2018, 08:44:07 AM
Quote from: Mad Mentor on January 08, 2018, 09:21:28 PM
I would imagine it will be very difficult to establish a second club in Portlaoise or anywhere for that matter. Pretty much anyone who has an interest in helping to run a club is probably already doing so. It's hard enough to get people involved in a club they have a history with, never mind taking on the huge task of establishing a new one. I for one could not see myself leaving my own club to start what would in effect be a rival club. If the Arles divide had happened in Portlaoise, it may have led to a second club that worked, but it is hardly the best way to go about it. If there were enough people from elsewhere, living in Portlaoise, with the experience and will to set up a second club it would still be a monumental task. Trying to set boundaries and catchment areas alone would wreck your head. From my experience coming up against Portlaoise in underage hurling, they are tight enough on numbers as it is. I brought twenty eight u8s to play Portlaoise a few years ago to be faced with seven of them.

As regards strength and conditioning for development squads, this has already started for all down to u13 which is a very welcome development. Peter Hally and Andrew Kavanagh have also run workshops for clubs to introduce this at club level.
I couldn't agree more.  I can see why the county board want to tap into the population of Portlaoise but the reality is that the opportunity is there for everyone in town to play GAA if they want. As a Portlaoise man I'm 100% sure that anyone who wants to play GAA in town gets the opportunity. Obviously there is always more can be done but the kids in Portlaoise have as much if not more interest in soccer and rugby than GAA.
Post by: merman on January 09, 2018, 10:14:01 AM
I think it is a commendable notion as there is a significant chunk of Portlaoise town that are, through little fault of the club, not engaging with Gaelic Games. A nursery club with a strong link with Knockmay Primary School that feeds into Portlaoise GAA at U13 level could be a positive for Portlaoise club and the town as a whole.

I do, however, feel that this proposal doesn't serve the overall report well. The report looks very thorough and there are a number of excellent recommendations that need to be acted upon. I hope they don't get suffocated with too much focus on what is a very divisive and complex issue.

The appointment of a Games Manager is badly needed. Securing support from Leinster GAA and the incoming GAA president is a real plus.

Dividing the GDAs regionally should lead to more accountability. Clubs and schools won't sit back and accept huge disparities between the work provided.
Post by: Don Draper on January 09, 2018, 10:18:00 AM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on January 09, 2018, 08:44:07 AM
Quote from: Mad Mentor on January 08, 2018, 09:21:28 PM

I couldn't agree more.  I can see why the county board want to tap into the population of Portlaoise but the reality is that the opportunity is there for everyone in town to play GAA if they want. As a Portlaoise man I'm 100% sure that anyone who wants to play GAA in town gets the opportunity. Obviously there is always more can be done but the kids in Portlaoise have as much if not more interest in soccer and rugby than GAA.
Agreed. And GAA people in Laois would be happy enough if Portlaoise concentrated on those players instead of taking neighbouring clubs ones.
Post by: steven seagal on January 09, 2018, 10:41:20 AM
I don't think Portlaoise, or the other clubs in the parish for that matter, are even scratching the surface of the amount of players that could play GAA. All of their grounds are outside the town, so the only ones who play are the ones who can get a lift out. A club within walking distance for a few hundred children has a great chance of attracting numbers, in my opinion anyway, so long as it is run properly. There are a lot of non-irish in Portlaoise who don't know the first thing about the GAA or have the interest, but that's not to say their children wouldn't like to play a game if it's on their doorstep, fun and well-organised, especially over the summer when there's no soccer, rugby or basketball. It's a massive task to try and get it setup and find people to run it, but it's definitely worth a try. The numbers in the primary schools in the town alone would suggest that.

Post by: Don Draper on January 09, 2018, 10:45:44 AM
Quote from: steven seagal on January 09, 2018, 10:41:20 AM
I don't think Portlaoise, or the other clubs in the parish for that matter, are even scratching the surface of the amount of players that could play GAA. All of their grounds are outside the town, so the only ones who play are the ones who can get a lift out. A club within walking distance for a few hundred children has a great chance of attracting numbers, in my opinion anyway, so long as it is run properly. There are a lot of non-irish in Portlaoise who don't know the first thing about the GAA or have the interest, but that's not to say their children wouldn't like to play a game if it's on their doorstep, fun and well-organised, especially over the summer when there's no soccer, rugby or basketball. It's a massive task to try and get it setup and find people to run it, but it's definitely worth a try. The numbers in the primary schools in the town alone would suggest that.
Spot on Master of Aikido. Portlaoise don't need to dig deeper, they are happy to cream the top and let the rest drift off to soccer and rugby, and then turn around and say "but they love playing soccer and rugby", after not getting a chance play GAA any higher than U6.

Thats not what the association is about. To Peter O Neill's credit, he's harped on about this at length. I hope he follows through on it. We need to give every youngster the opportunity to play GAA into their teens, after that, the decision should be theirs. Not made for them because they can't get out to Rathleague, or when they do, they've spent the day freezing their little nuts off on the sideline. This is bigger than Portlaoise GAA.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on January 09, 2018, 10:49:14 AM
I enjoyed the presentation last night,  I suppose the formation of a second club in Portlaoise was always going to be the headline issue.  I can see the merit in the proposal,the surge in population growth over the last 15 years is incredible.  Personally I thought they would shy away from the issue and some watered down version i.e the promotion of Ballyfin, Ratheniska & The Heath would be seen as the solution.  While I agree anyone who wants to play GAA in Portlaoise is probably playing however I would see a second club as an opportunity to promote the games among those who may not have had any previous interaction with the GAA.  It is an exciting opportunity for the County Board to grasp and the competition may actually enhance Portlaoise GAA.  Hopefully Laois GAA do not let this slide as it would be nice to see the formation of a viable club in the face of the decline of some rural clubs.  The danger lies in the Training Centre because the County Board is so tunnelled visioned with regards to the repayments on this they may not allocate the resources needed to the promotion of this Club that would allow it to flourish.

I would also like to mention the proposal to allow both Ladies Football and Camogie a firmer standing within the county as a major positive, it is criminal that the Ladies County Teams and finals are not played in O Moore Park.  It may not be feasible at juvenile but there is no justification at Senior Level.
Post by: redsetanta on January 09, 2018, 12:55:51 PM
It's a no brainer really that there should be a GDA and coaching manager overseeing the work the GDA's are doing. Why this hasn't been done up to now is crazy. It has meant that coaches not working up to scratch are left go unquestioned and as has been stated in the report others are being overworked. The fact that it is disorganised with no clear goals or targets or schedules means the GDA's are basically having to make it up as they go.
Post by: The PRO on January 09, 2018, 04:08:27 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on January 09, 2018, 10:49:14 AM
I would also like to mention the proposal to allow both Ladies Football and Camogie a firmer standing within the county as a major positive, it is criminal that the Ladies County Teams and finals are not played in O Moore Park.  It may not be feasible at juvenile but there is no justification at Senior Level.
Fair enough but it would be nice of the Ladies Football and Camogie people to meet the GAA a bit on it. They refuse to come into the GAA yet want all the benefits of their infrastructure.
Post by: Don Draper on January 09, 2018, 04:18:26 PM
Quote from: The PRO on January 09, 2018, 04:08:27 PM
Fair enough but it would be nice of the Ladies Football and Camogie people to meet the GAA a bit on it. They refuse to come into the GAA yet want all the benefits of their infrastructure.
You've f**king nailed it there.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on January 09, 2018, 04:25:19 PM
They are our Moms, Wives, Girlfriends, Sisters & Daughters playing the same sport, I think we need to accommodate within reason.  There is a large amount of females keeping the GAA going.   We simply have to show a bit of leadership here and give them a helping hand.  I would be disappointed if this simple commitment is not met.
Post by: The PRO on January 09, 2018, 04:30:32 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on January 09, 2018, 04:25:19 PM
They are our Moms, Wives, Girlfriends, Sisters & Daughters playing the same sport, I think we need to accommodate within reason.  There is a large amount of females keeping the GAA going.   We simply have to show a bit of leadership here and give them a helping hand.  I would be disappointed if this simple commitment is not met.
The large amount of females keeping the GAA going is not in question but it's not relevant either.
I've no problem with the LGFA and Camogie using the GAA grounds but they seem to want their cake and eat it by staying outside the GAA.
Post by: Don Draper on January 09, 2018, 04:53:59 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on January 09, 2018, 04:25:19 PM
They are. But their organisation needs sorting out, and for sometime now. Anyone who says Ladies Football or Camogie aren't a shambles locally and nationally has their heads in the sand.
Post by: clonadmad on January 09, 2018, 10:09:13 PM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/01/09/high-number-laois-gaa-clubs-fear-extinction-next-decade

Who are the clubs in trouble,

Trumera?
Kilcavan?

Fair play to them for highlighting the issues facing them,hopefully their decline can be arrested
Post by: The PRO on January 09, 2018, 10:47:04 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on January 09, 2018, 10:09:13 PM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/01/09/high-number-laois-gaa-clubs-fear-extinction-next-decade

Trumera?
Kilcavan?

Fair play to them for highlighting the issues facing them,hopefully their decline can be arrested
Kilcavan are picking up at juvenile level. They'll be OK.
Trumera and Kyle are my guesses. I can't see the ten that was reported though. Barrowhouse?
Post by: clonadmad on January 09, 2018, 11:26:53 PM
Quote from: The PRO on January 09, 2018, 10:47:04 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on January 09, 2018, 10:09:13 PM

Trumera?
Kilcavan?

Kilcavan are picking up at juvenile level. They'll be OK.
Trumera and Kyle are my guesses. I can't see the ten that was reported though. Barrowhouse?

It was the clubs themselves that signaled their difficulties in playing numbers in the survey.

10 is the figure in the report
Post by: redsetanta on January 10, 2018, 12:38:56 AM
Kilcruise, Killeen, Ballypickas, Barrowhouse??? Can't see club members letting the club go. Playing numbers might be down for a while but be unlikely to let clubs themselves fail.
Post by: The Monument Road on January 10, 2018, 11:26:58 AM
Barrow house should be ok. They provide the vast majority of Na Fianna OGs compliment of players so they always have a few. They are also close to Athy and usually pick up a few strays from that area. Kileen are in trouble unless they re start their recruitment strategy of old. Kilcruise will muster a few every year as they are getting the majority of the Arles kids coming through.
Post by: clonadmad on January 10, 2018, 12:20:22 PM
I see of all the Laois Clubs asked to fill in a Questionnaire and have a consultation night to tease out issues.

Only 1 Club refused to do both

Clonaslee
Post by: redsetanta on January 10, 2018, 12:24:30 PM
Quote from: The Monument Road on January 10, 2018, 11:26:58 AM
Barrow house should be ok. They provide the vast majority of Na Fianna OGs compliment of players so they always have a few. They are also close to Athy and usually pick up a few strays from that area. Kileen are in trouble unless they re start their recruitment strategy of old. Kilcruise will muster a few every year as they are getting the majority of the Arles kids coming through.

Is the national school in Killeen still open? They would get those kids if so.
Post by: Laoiseabu on January 10, 2018, 12:34:19 PM
Barrowhouse Killeen Kilcruise Annanough Spink Trumera Kyle The Rock Ballypickas Slieve Bloom
Post by: merman on January 10, 2018, 05:31:02 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on January 10, 2018, 12:20:22 PM
I see of all the Laois Clubs asked to fill in a Questionnaire and have a consultation night to tease out issues.

Clonaslee

About 1 in 4 clubs didn't return the questionnaire. Return rate of over 75% was good. Very good in fact; far higher than I'd have thought.

Only 3 clubs didn't facilitate a meeting to allow their club members have a say.

Clonaslee
Kilcavan
Clonad

A huge pity as I'm sure there are members within each ckub who would have a lot to bring to the table.
Post by: Don Draper on January 10, 2018, 05:40:03 PM
Quote from: merman on January 10, 2018, 05:31:02 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on January 10, 2018, 12:20:22 PM

Clonaslee

About 1 in 4 clubs didn't return the questionnaire. Return rate of over 75% was good. Very good in fact; far higher than I'd have thought.

Only 3 clubs didn't facilitate a meeting to allow their club members have a say.

Clonaslee
Kilcavan
Clonad

A huge pity as I'm sure there are members within each ckub who would have a lot to bring to the table.
Is David O Brien not a Clonad man?
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 11, 2018, 02:04:41 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 09, 2018, 04:18:26 PM
Quote from: The PRO on January 09, 2018, 04:08:27 PM
You've f**king nailed it there.

Looks like the GAA are going to try to get them to come in under their wing after all....

LGFA And GAA Make History With Exciting Fixture Plan For 2018
https://www.balls.ie/gaa/lgfa-gaa-make-history-exciting-fixture-plan-2018-380883
Post by: Butch Cassidy on September 18, 2018, 01:15:03 PM
Any progress on the strategic point? Has there even been talk since of setting up a new club in Portlaoise?
Post by: The PRO on September 26, 2018, 05:56:12 PM
Quote from: Butch Cassidy on September 18, 2018, 01:15:03 PM
Has there even been talk since of setting up a new club in Portlaoise?
There's a commitment in the plan to have something done on this by the end of 2018.
It's to be a juvenile club only.
Think there is something along the lines proposed in Ennis in Clare (not 100%). Would be interesting to know how that is working.
Could a second adult club evolve in the town in maybe 10 years time? It's possible but I wouldn't have any great confidence in it happening. Confey in Leixlip is a good example of how it could work. I think they might be only less than 30 years old and they've won a couple of intermediate football championships and three senior hurling championships.
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 26, 2018, 06:54:57 PM
What would the new club be called ?
Post by: clonadmad on October 01, 2018, 11:04:07 PM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/10/01/ideal-time-for-portlaoise-hurling-to-put-the-nay-sayers-away/
Post by: SCFC on October 21, 2018, 12:35:46 AM
Not sure if this is the right thread for this but anyway.

There were 7 under 19 championship games down to be played today. 6 football and 1 hurling. How many were played? One.
O'Dempseys v Clonaslee St Manmans. 6 walkovers given. Most notably Portlaoise couldn't field a team to play Courtwood Emo. What the feck is going wrong in the town that this happened?
Post by: Jd on October 21, 2018, 02:13:57 PM
It's a bit ridiculous to be starting a club underage competition in late October in my opinion. Lads are away in college ,playing soccer or rugby or a thousand other things. Can we not run underage stuff off during the summer when football and hurling clubs are still training full tilt. Could you imagine having finished your football 2 months ago with nothing in between and suddenly being asked to tog out for a half thought out competition. I have a lad away in college and I know exactly what he'd say if it was suggested to him.
Post by: burdizzo on October 21, 2018, 07:16:07 PM
The whole point is to keep lads playing.
Post by: Keyser Söze on October 21, 2018, 09:18:35 PM
Ridiculous to be shoe horning these competitions in. This was inevitable. And when a few clubs do it, it suddenly becomes acceptable and more clubs do it.
Post by: Downtheroad on October 21, 2018, 11:29:08 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on October 21, 2018, 09:18:35 PM
Ridiculous to be shoe horning these competitions in. This was inevitable. And when a few clubs do it, it suddenly becomes acceptable and more clubs do it.
What's the alternative? Most under 19s worth their salt are playing adult during the summer months. Try fitting this competition in when clubs are in the final stages of the adult championships.
Post by: Laoiseabu on October 22, 2018, 01:36:47 AM
And the u21 still hasn't even started yet . Another farce
Post by: Downtheroad on October 22, 2018, 12:07:01 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on October 22, 2018, 01:36:47 AM
And the u21 still hasn't even started yet . Another farce
If I'm not mistaken, Laois GAA proposed to get rid of under 21 but they were outvoted by the county committee who wanted both under 19 and under 21. Personally I like the under 21 competitions but I don't think there is any room in the schedule for them anymore. For starters the modern adult hurling and football game is a young player's game.   
Post by: Laois fan on October 22, 2018, 12:55:14 PM
If only the gaa hadn't of messed around with what were perfect age grades,saying that plaois giving a walkover is alarming
Post by: Laoiseabu on October 22, 2018, 02:13:36 PM
The age grades should never of been changed . I don't see what changing them has solved. Portlaoise not fielding an under 19 team at the weekend is very worrying . You'd wonder is the pull of GAA wearing off young lads in Portlaoise ?
Post by: Jd on October 22, 2018, 02:23:29 PM
Just to look at the Portlaoise game v Courtwood/Emo how many of the Portlaoise team were on their clubs senior team or even intermediate I reckon 7 or 8 but I think most if not all  of  the Cw/E panel were involved with their first teams and were part of teams that were going well.  If you're not with Pl seniors  then you're second class with no real  effort being put into any other teams.  Would parkinson Kevin Fitz Adrian kelly make Emo or Cw team without  training.....  No but made Portlaoise  intermediate  team leaving  some young fellas on the line. Give them chaps a run and see how they get on.  Maybe you'll get a benefit from it
Post by: GAA-SMART on October 23, 2018, 11:40:30 AM
U 19 is absolutely idiotic. Its a nonsense competition of no relevence, even less relevence again when you ahve the finish of Senior Championships and everything else in between. Minor, U20 or U21 and then Adult and thats it. U19 is a joke. If it was any use Dublin would of been running it years ago
Post by: Keyser Söze on October 26, 2018, 12:59:27 AM
Quote from: Laois fan on October 22, 2018, 12:55:14 PM
If only the gaa hadn't of messed around with what were perfect age grades,saying that plaois giving a walkover is alarming

This all started with a Laois President! Changing the age to qualify for adult competition from 16 to 17 led to all of this. Silly, shortsighted & look where it has left us! We had an ideal set up & changed for optics!
Post by: BallyroanAbu on October 26, 2018, 10:20:50 AM
What is wrong with U17 ? It's the same competition albeit a year younger.  It takes the vast majority of leaving cert students away from a competitive years football.  The U19 was in theory going to be used to pick county U20 panel so logic was ok.  The fault lies with clubs, we will see what Portlaoise turn up with on Monday for our game but we are ready to go.  I personally think the battle with numbers is being lost far younger in this county.  We have to get back to winning over the 14-16 year olds to playing GAA.  They are being pulled every way and being showed unrealistic promises with soccer and rugby.  It's ridiculous the chances of playing professionally are well flagged by 13/14 but yet we have parents believing this nonsense.  Your chances of playing County Football and Hurling are a lot greater than other sports and can be leveraged to your professional advantage aka Ciaran Lillis or Joe Canning.  Our problem is not age grades it's player numbers.
Post by: clonadmad on October 26, 2018, 10:28:47 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on October 26, 2018, 10:20:50 AM
What is wrong with U17 ? It's the same competition albeit a year younger.  It takes the vast majority of leaving cert students away from a competitive years football.  The U19 was in theory going to be used to pick county U20 panel so logic was ok.  The fault lies with clubs, we will see what Portlaoise turn up with on Monday for our game but we are ready to go.  I personally think the battle with numbers is being lost far younger in this county.  We have to get back to winning over the 14-16 year olds to playing GAA.  They are being pulled every way and being showed unrealistic promises with soccer and rugby.  It's ridiculous the chances of playing professionally are well flagged by 13/14 but yet we have parents believing this nonsense.  Your chances of playing County Football and Hurling are a lot greater than other sports and can be leveraged to your professional advantage aka Ciaran Lillis or Joe Canning.  Our problem is not age grades it's player numbers.

Have you lost many players completely to soccer/rugby,say in the past 5 years?
Post by: portlaoisekid on October 26, 2018, 10:35:04 AM
Great post . Its a very serious problem and lads may laugh but parents ( especially those from a non traditional GAA background) do not want their kids playing GAA when they see the violence at GAA matches. Rugby/Soccer/basketball is seen as as more protective and safer game for kids. I see it hugely in my own town and no doubt its permeated into every club.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on October 26, 2018, 10:47:16 AM
Quote from: clonadmad on October 26, 2018, 10:28:47 AM

Have you lost many players completely to soccer/rugby,say in the past 5 years?

Yes and they tend to be good ones, not many but we are rural so our retention is high, but we all know Portarlington, Portlaoise and Graigue are struggling. 

Can I also mention XBoxes and PlayStation as genuinely being a real problem, parents are time poor but they need to realize that we have to have balance in life and sport plays it's part.
Post by: Keyser Söze on October 26, 2018, 12:24:16 PM
The problem with the changes to age grades is that what we had was functioning perfectly well;

12/14/16/18/21.
You easily substitute 20 for 21 if it was felt beneficial.

The change from 16-17 to play adult led to a change to odd years.
Last year we had u17 & u18 competitions. This year we have u19 & u21 when they don't fit in.
Some counties are play u13/15/17 competitions while others are playing u14/16/18. Challenge matches/tournaments can be impossible.

There has been no obvious benefit to this change at all and it has been very disruptive to our GAA calendar over the last few years.
Post by: GAA-SMART on October 26, 2018, 02:18:40 PM
Who are over the development squads next year?
Post by: SCFC on November 19, 2018, 11:12:04 AM
Quote from: The PRO on September 26, 2018, 05:56:12 PM
Quote from: Butch Cassidy on September 18, 2018, 01:15:03 PM
Has there even been talk since of setting up a new club in Portlaoise?
There's a commitment in the plan to have something done on this by the end of 2018.
It's to be a juvenile club only.
Think there is something along the lines proposed in Ennis in Clare (not 100%). Would be interesting to know how that is working.
Could a second adult club evolve in the town in maybe 10 years time? It's possible but I wouldn't have any great confidence in it happening. Confey in Leixlip is a good example of how it could work. I think they might be only less than 30 years old and they've won a couple of intermediate football championships and three senior hurling championships.
Anything at all on this since? I know Peter Hally is working in the Portlaoise schools but the numbers are just huge.
Post by: clonadmad on November 19, 2018, 04:04:26 PM
Pat Critchely is running a schools parish league also at the minute

That man badly needs to be cloned
Post by: SCFC on November 20, 2018, 10:13:42 AM
Looks like most of the Gaels teams are history. Going by the review that was emailed out to the club's yesterday anyway.
Crettyard, Ballyfin in senior football should be ok but all the senior b and inter mediate ones may not be allowed if the proposals go through.
Post by: Helix on November 20, 2018, 10:18:04 AM
Quote from: SCFC on November 20, 2018, 10:13:42 AM
Looks like most of the Gaels teams are history. Going by the review that was emailed out to the club's yesterday anyway.
Crettyard, Ballyfin in senior football should be ok but all the senior b and inter mediate ones may not be allowed if the proposals go through.

What's the story with the likes of Castletown in hurling since slieve bloom promoted to senior B? Whether that will be permitted on grounds that's it's a natural joining as together at juvenile.
Post by: SCFC on November 20, 2018, 11:34:48 AM
Quote from: Helix on November 20, 2018, 10:18:04 AM
Quote from: SCFC on November 20, 2018, 10:13:42 AM

What's the story with the likes of Castletown in hurling since slieve bloom promoted to senior B? Whether that will be permitted on grounds that's it's a natural joining as together at juvenile.
Not sure on that. Can a senior A team go in with a senior team? Possibly not allowed.
Post by: burdizzo on November 20, 2018, 01:04:07 PM
Well, if two senior teams can go together...?
Post by: SCFC on November 20, 2018, 03:17:47 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on November 20, 2018, 01:04:07 PM
Well, if two senior teams can go together...?
Can they? As "Gaels"?
Post by: Don Draper on November 20, 2018, 03:52:42 PM
They can as a full amalgamation
Post by: SCFC on November 20, 2018, 04:05:30 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 20, 2018, 03:52:42 PM
They can as a full amalgamation
Of course. Whole different scenario.
Post by: merman on April 12, 2019, 03:31:32 PM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/04/10/laois-gaa-appoint-first-ever-games-development-manager/

Good to see this recommendation implemented.
Best of luck to him.
Post by: GAA-SMART on April 16, 2019, 08:50:30 AM
Yeah excellent once he is able for the job. Hopefully he can focus on coaching standards within the clubs at young levels so we start seeing a higher level of games as they get older. Think the Development squad games all begin this month also.
Post by: Zooming around on April 16, 2019, 10:02:38 AM
Is there nobody from Laois able to do/get these jobs?
Post by: clonadmad on April 16, 2019, 10:21:35 AM
Quote from: Zooming around on April 16, 2019, 10:02:38 AM

No there's not

Colm Begley should a lot of potential,but he didn't stick around long enough

Maybe outsiders from Kerry and Tipperary might bring a different perspective and drive to things.

I don't think anyone can doubt Peter Hally's and Jason Coffey's commitment to the job at the minute anyways
Post by: burdizzo on April 16, 2019, 11:47:46 AM
Is he from a purely footballing background?
Or does it even matter?
Post by: GAA-SMART on April 16, 2019, 11:57:59 AM
Presume its more of a management role than actual sporting role. Ie ensuring that proper structures are in place accross all codes within Laois GAA
Post by: clonadmad on April 16, 2019, 12:28:10 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on April 16, 2019, 11:47:46 AM
Is he from a purely footballing background?
Or does it even matter?

It's an operational role

Hopefully it should tighten up things a good bit
Post by: GAA-SMART on April 16, 2019, 12:44:22 PM
27-04-2019 (Sat)
Leinster MHC Rd 1 – Laois v Westmeath

Talent Academy Football Day
U14 in LOETB CoE – Laois "A" & "B" v Offaly "A" & "B"
U15 in LOETB CoE – Laois "A" & "B" v Cavan "A" & "B"
Post by: Zooming around on April 16, 2019, 01:03:30 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on April 16, 2019, 10:21:35 AM

No there's not

Maybe outsiders from Kerry and Tipperary might bring a different perspective and drive to things.

I don't think anyone can doubt Peter Hally's and Jason Coffey's commitment to the job at the minute anyways

Wasn't doubting anyone's commitment to anything. Just would like to have seen a Laois person getting it or more to the point, I would like to think we have somebody capable of doing it. Was that not Andrew Kavanagh's job? Is he not good enough?
Post by: merman on April 16, 2019, 01:18:17 PM
Andrew is a coach. The fact that he was 'Lead GDA' never sat well with me and I know it caused friction with the other GDAs, no reflection on him by the way.

The new man is a Manager, albeit one with a coaching background. He will assume the role that Niall Handy covered for the last few years, overseeing the work of the GDAs. Its not a coaching role. It's an organisational/management role and hopefully his background in business will stand to him.

I believe he came highly recommended by Peter Hally who worked with him before.
Post by: clonadmad on April 16, 2019, 04:05:34 PM
Quote from: Zooming around on April 16, 2019, 01:03:30 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on April 16, 2019, 10:21:35 AM

No there's not

Wasn't doubting anyone's commitment to anything. Just would like to have seen a Laois person getting it or more to the point, I would like to think we have somebody capable of doing it. Was that not Andrew Kavanagh's job? Is he not good enough?

Completely separate role to what Andrew was and is doing

This isn't a coaching position,it's an operational management position.

Best person should get the job and not based on where he is from

The governance and organization of juvenile games in the likes of Kerry and Tipp is well ahead of what we have here.
Post by: Blow-in on April 16, 2019, 05:09:00 PM
I would have imagined Ciaran Muldowney was best placed to take on the Games Manager job?
Post by: clonadmad on April 16, 2019, 06:02:07 PM
Quote from: Batman!!! on April 16, 2019, 05:09:00 PM
I would have imagined Ciaran Muldowney was best placed to take on the Games Manager job?

Muldowney's gone over a year from laois at this stage
Post by: Blow-in on April 16, 2019, 06:43:05 PM
Oh right. Did he get a job with Kilkenny GAA? Not sure if he's much of a loss to the county to be fair.
Post by: clonadmad on April 16, 2019, 07:41:40 PM
Quote from: Batman!!! on April 16, 2019, 06:43:05 PM
Oh right. Did he get a job with Kilkenny GAA? Not sure if he's much of a loss to the county to be fair.

He got a job in Kilkenny

Selling Cars
Post by: Don Draper on April 17, 2019, 09:43:10 AM
Good luck to him. He wasn't the worse sort. 
Post by: Zooming around on April 17, 2019, 11:41:44 AM
Quote from: clonadmad on April 16, 2019, 06:02:07 PM
Quote from: Batman!!! on April 16, 2019, 05:09:00 PM

Muldowney's gone over a year from laois at this stage

Is he gone over a year already? Jaysus where does the time go?

He wasn't everybody's cup of tea but he did some great work with Development Squads (We're much improved at National Level over the last few years) and he was very good at the Coach Education side of things. I always found him a great help with our Nursery and Go Games coaches. He rang me shortly before he finished up to thank me and say goodbye and he said he didn't want to leave but felt he was left with no choice.