GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: youbetterbelieveit on November 13, 2006, 11:12:44 PM

Title: All Ireland Club Hurling
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on November 13, 2006, 11:12:44 PM
So the four Provinces are down to the Following

Munster

Toomevara (Tipperary) v Mount Sion (Waterford)

Wolfe Tones (Clare) v Erins Own (Cork)

Leinster

Ballyhale Shamrocks (Kilkenny) v Birr (Offaly)

Ulster

Winners: Cushendall Ruairi Ogs

Connacht

Loughrea (Galway) v St.Mary’s (Leitrim)/Athleague (Roscommon)
Title: Re: All Ireland Club Hurling
Post by: Lecale2 on November 14, 2006, 09:04:04 AM
Is the Ballyhale v Birr game on TG4 on Sunday? It could be good. Ballyhale look strong.
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on November 14, 2006, 09:11:07 AM
I am not sure it is, i  think TG4 are showing one of the munster semi finals, but would agree it really looks like it will be a cracker. Ballyhale have a very young and determined side and they will be up against a battle hardened Birr side.
Post by: kilkennycat2004 on November 14, 2006, 11:34:27 AM
Quote from: Lecale2 on November 14, 2006, 09:04:04 AM
Is the Ballyhale v Birr game on TG4 on Sunday? It could be good. Ballyhale look strong.

This game is on Sunday week November 26 & apparently  is live on TG4.
Post by: BottleOfStout on November 14, 2006, 04:33:10 PM
From the indo

LOUGHREA and Nemo Rangers have been installed as favourites to win the AIB All-Ireland club hurling and football titles.

The Galway hurling champions are listed at 11/8 to replace 2006 All-Ireland winners, Portumna, whom they beat in a combustible county final, while Nemo, the most successful football club in the history of the competition, are 5/2 to regain the Merrigan Cup.

Loughrea, who won the Galway title for the first time since 1941, look set to take their first Connacht final when they play Athleague (Roscommon) in next Sunday's final.

If they win, they will go into the All-Ireland semi-final against Ulster champs Cushendall. It's Leinster v Munster on the other side.

It will be a major shock if Loughrea don't reach the final, whereas the other side of the draw is much tougher as it features the Leinster and Munster clubs.

ALL-IRELAND CLUB BETTING (Ladbrokes) - Football: Nemo Rangers (Cork) 5/2; Corofin (Galway) 3/1; Crossmaglen Rangers (Armagh) & UCD 5/1; Dr Crokes (Kerry) & Errigal Chiarain (Tyrone) 10/1; Ballinderry (Derry) & St Brigid's (Roscommon) 14/1; Moorefield (Kildare) 16/1; Rhode (Offaly) 20/1; Cargin (Antrim) 66/1; Arles-Killeen (Laois) 80/1; Aherlow (Tipperary) 100/1; Clontibret (Monaghan) & Tyrrellspass (Westmeath) 125/1; The Nire (Waterford) 150/1.

Hurling: Loughrea (Galway) 11/8; Ballyhale Shamrocks (Kilkenny) 2/1; Birr (Offaly) 8/1; Erin's Own (Cork) & Mount Sion (Waterford) 10/1; Toomevara (Tipperary) 12/1; Cushendall (Antrim) 14/1; Wolfe Tones (Clare) 20/1.

Hope Loughrea under estimate Cushendall.  They probably will at their peril.  Cushendall are fully confident of at least making the final this year.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 14, 2006, 05:00:45 PM
Looking like a Loughrea v Ballyhale final alright but Ballyhale will still have to overcome Birr and the Munster champs which won't be easy for them. Loughrea should have too much for Cushendall.

Post by: belleaqua on November 14, 2006, 05:06:29 PM
Its definitely a more open championship than in recent years, dont think Loughrea have the forwards to pull it off but should make Croker on Paddy's Day.

Mount Sion might be worth a pop at 8/1 but i suppose have 3 very hard games to win before they even reach a final.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on November 14, 2006, 05:24:29 PM
Loughrea will probably make the final after a very close battle with Cushebdall but based on what I have seen of them in the championship so far this year, i do not think that they have the forward power to win out overall.  The other side of the draw is very tough but for me its between Ballyhale & Mount Sion.

The football is wide open and very difficult to pick a winner this far out.  I'll reserve judgement until a few more have fallen away................... :)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 14, 2006, 06:05:22 PM
Have my doubts that Loughrea can do it as well although if they get to the final it'll all be on the day and to be fair to them they are a very underrated side. Even within Galway. Yes they are big and physical but they can hurl as well when they want to. Might just lack that marquee forward to get them those difficult scores.
Post by: Spiritof98 on November 14, 2006, 06:09:04 PM
Lads I wouldn't dismiss Cushendall absolutely, the Ulster champs have held their own in recent times and Loughrea might loss focus after bridging a huge gap for their county title
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on November 14, 2006, 06:35:55 PM
might be thinking of putting a few pounds on Cushendall reaching the final, i can see Loughrea stumbling
Post by: belleaqua on November 14, 2006, 06:47:06 PM
While I wouldnt write off Cushendall by any means, I think Loughrea are well aware of their potential and will deal with that successfully. Have to agree with a previous post that this Loughrea team is seriously underrated in Galway and outside of it.
Will need a huge All-Ireland campaign from Johhny O'Loughlin to win an All-Ireland.
Remember, Loughrea did not concede a single goal in championship in Galway this year, an amazing record!!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 14, 2006, 07:16:21 PM
I think Dunloy beating Portumna in 2003 will serve as warning to Loughrea and they'll be well aware of that. I very much doubt they'll take anything for granted with Cushendall.
Post by: slow corner back on November 14, 2006, 10:15:32 PM
Cushendall may go better this year than in previous years due to a very shrewd manager on the sideline and the ability to play the underdog very well. They went into this years Antrim final as reigning champs against a team that had not won a title for 17 years and still managed to make themselves underdogs. Does anyone know any odds for the club championships? The Dall could be a good each way bet
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on November 15, 2006, 02:12:32 PM
How good are Loughrea? will many of the players be pushing for a place with Ger on the Galway team in 2007?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 15, 2006, 02:20:00 PM
Loughrea are a good team. No doubt about it. Have been knocking on the door in Galway for the past 5 years or so. They are big and physical but have some good hurlers too. Very strong defence. Didn't concede a single goal in the Galway championship which is quite remarkable. One thing that might hold them back at the very top is that they don't have a star intercounty forward in their ranks a la Portumna or Athenry. They depend for most of their scores on Johnny O'Loughlin who has just been called up to the Galway squad.
Post by: Guillem2 on February 09, 2007, 03:31:47 PM
Good luck to the Antrim and Ulster representatives in All Ireland Semi Finals this weekend!!
CLooney Gaels (JHC), Gort na Mona (IHC), and Ruairi ogs (SHC) can all do us proud.

Both senior semi finals are on live on TG4. Ballyhale Shamrocks v Toomvara 1.00pm Saturday
Ruairi ogs v Loughrea 1.00pm Sunday.

Looking forward to a good wekend of hurling. Unfortunantly due to work I can't get to any of the games but hopefully someone can post latest scores up here.
Post by: Redhandfan on February 10, 2007, 12:06:26 AM
Good luck to the Dall on Sunday.  It would be a great boost and start to the year for Antrim hurling if they could get the the better of Loughrea in this weekend's semi-final.

I see where Ulster's Intermediate hopefuls Gort na Mona were getting a bit of a pep talk from Gerry Adams recently, ahead of their forthcoming All-Ireland Semi-Final.  Let's hope the Sinn Fein leader has the midas touch and provided them with enough inspiration to make it through to the decider.   

Post by: Lecale2 on February 10, 2007, 09:22:46 AM
Good luck to Cushendall. They might have a chance in this one.  Both teams have tight defences so don't expect goals. Southern teams always under-estimate northern opponents at the semi final stage and many have lived to regrete it over the years. Hopefully Cushendall can go a step further than Ballygalget last year.
Post by: Lecale2 on February 11, 2007, 12:25:09 PM
After yesterday's match I'd say there's no doubt about who the cahmpions will be but it's still an achievement to reach the final. I can't see it being half the game we saw yesterday.
Post by: Syd The Sailor on February 11, 2007, 04:55:16 PM
I have been telling you lads that Cushendall didnt have the scoring power to go the distance, 0-9 isnt going to win you too many games. A few players seemed to freeze a little
Post by: BottleOfStout on February 11, 2007, 08:07:01 PM
No doubt about it , we could have won the game today put did noy have the forward power to finish the job
Post by: Syd The Sailor on February 11, 2007, 08:18:14 PM
Fair comment Bottle of Stout. Most of the forwards didnt count, i know the conditions were not great but you want a better return than 0-9 after 62mins. Someone like Brian Delargy is never gonna get you enough scores, breaking and winning the ball just isnt enough at this level. I thought Karls man gave him a hard enough time too, did you think Kearney maybe could have got the goal? Loughrea player didnt hit it that hard and if he hadnt of done the Hollywood dive i think he may have got it
Post by: theskull1 on February 11, 2007, 08:19:27 PM
Definately there for the taking BoS as Loughrea could also be accused of not having the forward power either. Didn't think youse coped well at all with the pitch and conditions. Hard Luck

Brillant Result for Clooney Gaels if the reports are right. What a result for SW Antrim Hurling. With Tir Na Og, Creggan and Clooneys both getting good numbers at Juvenile, this could be a real shot in the arm for hurling in Antrim if these clubs can push on and try to emulate their near neighbours

Still no news of Gort Na Mona....can anybody post the score?
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on February 11, 2007, 09:04:48 PM
First of all very hard luck to Cushendall. I know the conditions were diabolical but I did notice a deferance from yesterdays game and todays. That was the ability of forwards to make better use of position and run at defenses there for leaving gaps. In the first half Cushendall wernt really giving they forwards much chance with the type of ball they were playing in. A lot of balls were just balloned and one forward tried to stop before stiking the ball and was susquently blocked. In the secound half they made much better youse of position which should have yielded more scores. Cushendall are a very young team and the experiance will stand to them. I must say their defence  was excellant. I also think the final could be closer than some people think.
Post by: milltown row on February 12, 2007, 09:12:53 AM
Though the conditions were bad, I cant see anybody beating the Shamrocks. The game they played against Toomevara was possibly one of the best games of hurling county/club you will witness this year. I'm sure Loughrea will put in a mighty effort but the quality and fitness of Ballyhale will come through.

The weather played its part in yesterday's game but Cushendall will come away knowing that they could have had at least a draw from this game. In the last 5 minutes they had chances to get the 3 points back to level it, but bad options cost them. The goal that finally killed them off was a foul and the referee should have blown it right away (if he had have seen it) the guy fouled the ball when handing it of to Vinny Maher.
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on February 12, 2007, 09:29:44 AM
Can someone post the results? I can't find them any where on the web. As usual Aertel is useless. If Clooney really did win fair play to them!
Post by: imtommygunn on February 12, 2007, 09:34:35 AM
http://antrim.gaa.ie/news/details/?id=366 (http://antrim.gaa.ie/news/details/?id=366)

It's official. Massive result for Ahoghill. Absolutely massive. Well done.
Post by: SlimShady on February 12, 2007, 09:35:45 AM
Congrats to Clooney Gaels, Ahoghill men are going to Croker and fair fucks to them!!

They won by a point after extra time, draw at half time, draw at full time, draw at half time in extra time and they were a point down with a few minutes left. 2 late points won it for them.
Post by: The Truth on February 12, 2007, 09:47:18 AM
Yesterdays match did not show up any surprises. Cushendall dont have the forwards at this level, 0-9 will win you an U-12 match at a push. Most of the forwards didnt count, i knew when big Jacqueline came on they had were gonna get beat.....
Post by: Guillem2 on February 12, 2007, 10:18:37 AM
Congratulations Clooney Gaels!! At least there will be one Ulster team in an All Ireland Hurling final this year.
Post by: theskull1 on February 12, 2007, 10:39:17 AM
Quote from: SlimShady on February 12, 2007, 09:35:45 AM
draw at half time, draw at full time, draw at half time in extra time and they were a point down with a few minutes left. 2 late points won it for them.

What a way to win a game at this level. They must have shown great character to have come out on the right side of this result. Does anyone have the dates for the final....I hear its going to be a flood lit game?

The Truth....if it took Cushendall to get beat yesterday for you to feel the need to sign up here just so you could give off about them then I don't think too many people will look forward to your future contributions on this board ....think about it :-\
Post by: The Truth on February 12, 2007, 10:53:54 AM
Numbskull......I thought what i said was reasonably constructive ie lack of scoring power. Maybe i should have come on with the usual bullshit when we get beat down south...... moral victory, keep the head up, there is always next year blah blah blah. And i am not looking for your acceptance either....PS I dint know this site existed until last Friday
Post by: Glensman on February 12, 2007, 11:35:12 AM
For what its worth I agree with The Truth - not about the fact that The Skull is a numbskull at all rather about Cushendall's forwards. Too many were left wanting.

Sambo's son who no doubt is a great prospect was injured in the 1st half...whether he pulled a muscle or got a slap I do not know but wasn't right for the rest of the game...in that instance he should have been subbed. There were a couple of forwards brought on with about 3 minutes left. Not clinical enough from Skinner who has impressed me to date.
Bringing Jackie on was the right thing to do (ala Gary Docherty being fired on in the soccer)...last throw of the dice but arguably it was lost by then. They had the chances with frees and from open play but let it slip with some poor shooting and some over elaborate handpassing.

As  said on another thread if Cushendall regroup I am not sure if anyhting else in Antrim/Ulster will touch them. Impressed by Aidan and Sean Delargy.
Post by: theskull1 on February 12, 2007, 11:47:31 AM
Nor do you need my acceptance, but you'll very soon end up looking like an asshole if you don't bring something more to proceedings....that was my point. You joined the board so that you make derogatory comments about another club (I'm presuming). To me that is not a good way to start of on this type of forum....it'll get you a bad name as does childish name calling  :). Please, feel free to ignore this advice if you want to

Getting back to the game, I think Cushendalls injuries had a big impact on thier performance up front in particular. Both Monty and Shane McNaughton were both carrying heavily strapped knees and I believe Declan McKillop had a stomach muscle injury. None of them had an impact on the game. Michael McCambridge returning from an ACL injury looked very rusty and played no part. Big players to loose for such an important game and if fit they could easily have contributed 3-4 points to the side. Loughrea look a very avaerage outfit and I think that Cushendall must know that they missed a glorious chance to get to the finals yesterday
Post by: Sky Blue on February 12, 2007, 11:49:09 AM
Who made you the moderator Skull? I didn't vote for you. You've only been around this board for 5 minutes yourself.
Post by: Syd The Sailor on February 12, 2007, 11:55:31 AM
Skull.......Monty has had some sort of strapping since he was about 16. They had the oppurtunity, werent good enough.
Post by: milltown row on February 12, 2007, 12:14:32 PM
well the truth, who in Antrim would have beaten that Loughrea side? Cushendall have dominated Antrim for the last two years, and have been there abouts for the last ten. so are the Antrim clubs not up to the mark?

Cushendall lost out because of the wide tally, they matched Loughrea in most departments but could not score, a dry sod and day would have given both teams a better return, Loughrea handled the conditions better. their forwards clicked at the Antrim final, so they do have it.

Post by: Aristotle Flynn on February 12, 2007, 12:18:19 PM
The difference between the the two semi finals was day and night. It's hard to tell how bad the conditions were on TV. Were they really that bad?
Post by: theskull1 on February 12, 2007, 12:28:28 PM
Quote from: Sky Blue on February 12, 2007, 11:49:09 AM
Who made you the moderator Skull? I didn't vote for you. You've only been around this board for 5 minutes yourself.

WTF...I've been an active member of this board for over two years. If thats 5 minutes in your world SkyBlue then this board must have started in and around the time Babbage invented the computer. And since when did I hold myself as the moderator? I think it is fair advice to someone new...shit stirring are we?

Quote from: Syd The Sailor on February 12, 2007, 11:55:31 AM
Skull.......Monty has had some sort of strapping since he was about 16. They had the oppurtunity, werent good enough.

True but he normally uses the old neoprene knee bandage which only serves mainly as a comfort blanket to players (been there done it), but the strapping he had on his knee yesterday looked to be protecting a ligament injury. Maybe BoS can illuminate? Agreed they were not good enough. I am simply trying to suggest that injuries may have played a part in them not being good enough to win yesterday. Based on what they showed yesterday I can't believe how Loughrea got out of Galway. If Ballyhale can keep their feet on the ground then I can see Loughrea taking a real pasting on the 17th...but it doesn't always work that way does it?
Post by: johnneycool on February 12, 2007, 12:50:59 PM
This certainly was the one that got away for Cushendall. A bit more composure especially in their forwards at key times cost them badly. Neil McManus had two great point taking opportunities in the first half out on the right wing, he tried to place both rather than drill them over and both went wide. AD hit his usual high tally of wides per score ratio but in fairness to him he did show well for the ball and wasn't afraid to take on the chance when it arose. The Cushendall were tight throughout with Laffin showing well even though he should of let the ball into the forwards quicker than going on the Hollywood solo run.

Deccy Mckillop never struck leather all day and probably should of been called ashore earlier but with the weak bench I suppose options were limited. I would of threw big 'Jacqualine' on earlier as he's one hard f**ker to work with under the high ball, but nowadays they'd need to play it right down his throat.

There probably was too much white tape on a few of the Dall lads, Shane McNaughton, Monty etc, which means they probably haven't been able to train either in recent weeks. The Dall forwards in particular gave away too many soft frees allowing Loughrea easy clearances especially when they had them heemed in along the sidelines, probably bourne out of frustration but they really should of been keeping their discipline and make the defenders earn their clearances.

Great victory for Clooney Gaels and a nice wee run out on Croke Park and the chance to lift the title. Who do they play next?
Post by: milltown row on February 12, 2007, 01:24:19 PM
hogan stand:
Clooney Gaels' All-Ireland Final is due to be played on Sunday 11th March (not under lights) as part of a double-header with the Intermediate hurling final.
The Junior and Intermediate football finals are due to be played UNDER LIGHTS on Saturday 10th.
Post by: BottleOfStout on February 12, 2007, 01:33:34 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on February 12, 2007, 12:50:59 PM
This certainly was the one that got away for Cushendall. A bit more composure especially in their forwards at key times cost them badly. Neil McManus had two great point taking opportunities in the first half out on the right wing, he tried to place both rather than drill them over and both went wide. AD hit his usual high tally of wides per score ratio but in fairness to him he did show well for the ball and wasn't afraid to take on the chance when it arose. The Cushendall defence were tight

JC , I would agree with your view.  This a certainly a game Cushendall  could have won, possibly should have won. Bad misses and some silly decision making in the last ten minutes cost the game..  The defense was generally superb but from midfield upwards we just did not click.  The occasion may have gotten to the younger players who,  apart from Neil in the first half esp ( although he did miss two good chances) did not have a great impact.  Injuries almost certainly also had an effect.  I think Shane McN may have been struck off the ball in the first half and struggled for the rest of the game.    Declan McK also struggled and probably only started for the psychological impact.   Conor McCambridge has never worn a knee bandage,  but frequently wore the hamstring thingys.   Time has taken its toll (chronic problems with hip and now possibly knees) and do not be surprised if thats his last time in a Dall jersey.  
Loughrea , while a decent side are no world beaters and that is one match that go away.

Lets be positive,  from the starting 15 only Conor Mc C and AD are in their thirties and Ad has a few years left in him yet.  They will ( should) have other opportunities in the future ( hopefully !)
Post by: Syd The Sailor on February 12, 2007, 01:36:16 PM
Milltown...To say Cushendalls forwards clicked in Antrim Final and therefore "have it" is missing the point. Cushendall scored 2-12 i think (i may be wrong here) against a team that totally gave up and on a perfect day for hurling. Nobody will tell me that is a cricket score, as Skinner said yesterday the forwards lack of scoring has been the problem all year.
Post by: theskull1 on February 12, 2007, 02:04:16 PM
Quote from: Syd The Sailor on February 12, 2007, 01:36:16 PM
Milltown...To say Cushendalls forwards clicked in Antrim Final and therefore "have it" is missing the point. Cushendall scored 2-12 i think (i may be wrong here) against a team that totally gave up and on a perfect day for hurling. Nobody will tell me that is a cricket score, as Skinner said yesterday the forwards lack of scoring has been the problem all year.

The fact that the Antrim Championship was won by a team which I agree lacks fluent forward play say's more about the rest of us does it not StS?  Cushendalls success over the past 2 years is primarily down to them being very defensive tactically. They play their 3/4 line way out the pitch to keep things very conjested at the back. In doing so they only have to deliver ball into space up front and if they are doing well defensively as they have done then the forwards that they only have to find enough ball to get them ahead of the oppositon even allowing for their misses as JC has mentioned. It worked for them up until yesterday.
Cushendall beat who was put in front of them in Antrim, so we can hardly misscall their short comings without exposing our own can we?
Post by: The Truth on February 12, 2007, 02:22:40 PM
The point im trying to get across and tried to before the match was that where were the scores going to come from when they were not scoring heavily all year. With the expected step up in level of opposition i thought it was going to be a bridge too far....
Post by: milltown row on February 12, 2007, 02:26:55 PM
exactly my point, skull. a lot of posters have come on and had a pop at Cushendalls lack of fire power up front, but they have disposed of the so called better teams without much of a fight. and will be the team to beat this year.

no team in Antrim would have done much better with their CURRENT squads.
Post by: Syd The Sailor on February 12, 2007, 03:02:12 PM
Milltown......Get your head outta your arse,check the thread "All Ireland Club Hurling", we are talking about yesterdays match. I think what has been said has been fair comment and it was no mystery coming up to the match where Cushendall might fall down, i wasnt aware we were discussing the merits of the other teams or for that matter strength in depth of Antrim Hurling, that is for another day. Didnt know you were such a princess and got offended as easily
Post by: milltown row on February 12, 2007, 04:33:00 PM
Who rattled your cage, I was talking about yesterday's game. My point being that they out scored all the teams in the Antrim championship (bar Lamhs) and to say that they lacked fire power up front seems strange. All teams going down from Ulster to play in the All Ireland semi will find it tough to score.
Post by: johnjoe on February 12, 2007, 04:37:02 PM
That was a steep learning curve for the Dall, and they came out of it with their pride intact. Will be a better team for the experience.

Post by: Vlad The Impaler on February 12, 2007, 08:27:26 PM
Milltown....Thanks for letting us know that Cushendall outscored everyone in Antrim, and there was me thinking they got beat in every match and still won Antrim Championship. Its good to have such a statistician on board.
Post by: slow corner back on February 12, 2007, 08:38:51 PM
Hard luck to Cdall they came close but not close enough. They were undone ultimately by a lack of strength in depth as has been said here already. Mick Monty and Declan Mckillop clearly were not fit and should not have started. A lack of quality on the bench probably caused the gamble. Conor Monty was well marshalled and it was only when Aidan Delargy came to midfield that he found any space. On the positive side I thought Neil Mc Manus did well ( yes his shooting was as poor as the rest ) and Scullion at full back was rock solid.
I was not at the Gorts match put apparantly they put up a real good show also. And as for Clooney what can you say except excellent excellent excellent. It makes me feel slightly better about loosing to them in last years Junior championship, only slightly mind you.
Post by: Vlad The Impaler on February 12, 2007, 08:45:00 PM
I wonder did the Dall players /supporters take part in their usual championship exit ritual...........ie knocking the shite out of each other in the Lurig......I have seen it a few times, its great value
Post by: imtommygunn on February 12, 2007, 09:18:03 PM
Sadly only in threads coming from antrim do you get such shite. Why people have to come on here and take out their personal stupid grudges is beyond me. Get behind your county men you fools.

Milltown to be fair though in earlier games in antrim pre loughgiel cushendall struggled for points and got a number of fortuitous goals against ballycastle and then dunloy dunloy with their point tallies not being hugely impressive. They have improved since then but similar deficiencies were illustrated on sunday sadly. Shane McNaughton and Paddy Magill will hopefully come on leaps and bounds from sunday and that young brick fella sounds a promising prospect so hopefully that will improve them. Their defense however is immense but from about no. 8 up they have done nothing but chop and change all year which would suggest  they've not been happy with their lineup.

With regards sunday it's a game they could have won - though I wouldn't say should have. What riles me about it is that things they've done as second nature didn't come of on sunday and now you get the usual southern bullshit - you did well battled hard etc. Bullshit - when teams go down with more belief against these boys they'll win. Antrim should have beat Wexford the other year too and belief cost them a lot How they get that belief I don't know. When three points down with six minutes to go they went for goals - three points in hurling is nothing. They took short sixty fives when they should have been striking them over. It is one that got away but hopefully they'll get another chance.

There are positives - Sean Delargy was superb and the rest of the defense were very good too. Aidan Delargy was superb too. Neil McManus was very good - and when he bulks out he'll be a fine player.Conor Monty aside there's a good few more years left in that team. A few forwards had injuries - they'll get better.

Hopefully they've raised the bar for antrim clubs and other teams will raise their game now and benefit antrim hurling. All depends on whether they resolve the fixture problem.
Post by: theskull1 on February 12, 2007, 10:04:14 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on February 12, 2007, 09:18:03 PM
Sadly only in threads coming from antrim do you get such shite. Why people have to come on here and take out their personal stupid grudges is beyond me. Get behind your county men you fools.

No more than you hear in everyday life ITG The world is full of wastes of space. It riles me no end that to some of these numpties, causing offense is the ONLY reason they post. These people are beyond telling

Milltown to be fair though in earlier games in antrim pre loughgiel cushendall struggled for points and got a number of fortuitous goals against ballycastle and then dunloy dunloy with their point tallies not being hugely impressive. They have improved since then but similar deficiencies were illustrated on sunday sadly. Shane McNaughton and Paddy Magill will hopefully come on leaps and bounds from sunday and that young brick fella sounds a promising prospect so hopefully that will improve them. Their defense however is immense but from about no. 8 up they have done nothing but chop and change all year which would suggest  they've not been happy with their lineup.

You're obviously right about their low points tally ITG. Nobody can dispute that but I would argue that it was cushendall game plan to snuff out the oppositions forward line and sacrifice scoring potential ...hence alot of low point scoring games which they won.....but in having so much space in their inside forward line they were able to generate alot of goal scoring opertunities because of this approach. Everyone comments on their defense, but it was immense because their defenders number 2-12 (excluding no 11)

Hopefully they've raised the bar for antrim clubs and other teams will raise their game now and benefit antrim hurling.

Ah--hem..... do you want to think about that again  :)