GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Barney on December 30, 2010, 10:32:30 AM

Title: Connacht FBD League 2011 Extravaganza - Official Thread Anseo
Post by: Barney on December 30, 2010, 10:32:30 AM
Happy New Year all!!

Looking forward to the start of the new GAA season. Throwing in for Mayo in lovely Leitrim on next Sunday.

QuoteFBD League fixtures

SUNDAY 9 JANUARY

Sligo v Galway, Enniscrone (2.00pm)
NUI Galway v IT Sligo, Dangan (2.00pm)

Leitrim v Mayo, Ballinamore (2.00pm)
Roscommon v GMIT, Ballyforan (2.00pm)

SATURDAY 15 JANUARY
IT Sligo v Sligo, Ballinode 7.00pm

SUNDAY 16 JANUARY
Galway NUI v Galway

Roscommon v Leitrim, Elphin (2.00pm)
GMIT V Mayo, Ballinrobe (2.00pm)

SUNDAY 23 JANUARY

Sligo v NUI Galway, Tourlestrane (2.00pm)
Galway IT v Sligo, Tuam (2.00pm)

Leitrim v GMIT, Cloone (2.00pm)
Mayo v Roscommon, Ballyhaunis (2.00pm)

SATURDAY 29 JANUARY

Home final

Title: Re: Connacht FBD League 2011 Extravaganza - Official Thread Anseo
Post by: Lar Naparka on December 30, 2010, 01:44:27 PM
Maithiú, Barney.
It's great to see you coming out of the blocks so early and setting the standard for the year to come. We can get back to serious business again and forget about Galvin, whoever he is and Tom Daly, ditto.
It's time to start giving James Horan and his men a bit of constructive criticism and helpful advice. Roll on 2011!

BTW; I know we will really be back in action when Fear ón Srath Bán makes his customary cameo appearance and tells us all to phuck off back to the bogs or to the local club discussions or whatever takes his fancy. ;D

That's when we'll know we are making our presence felt once again.
Post by: Kerry Mike on December 30, 2010, 02:03:35 PM
Mayo - to win just once  :P
Post by: Rossfan on December 30, 2010, 02:13:11 PM
Ya can't bate th'oul FBD for sorting the men from the boys and not a summer glory hunter in sight.
The joys of Inter County games in January in Ballygrehan/Elphin and Ballyhaunis  ::) with lads playing who'll never wear a Senior County jersey again.

I believe we'll be seeing a few returnees to the fold which hopefully will strengthen our squad for the bigeer tests ahead v Kilkenny/Laythrum/London/Larries etc  :(
Ah well it will be all worth it when the Sun is high in the sky and the hunt is on for tickets next July , August and .......
Post by: 45GoneShort on December 30, 2010, 03:47:06 PM
Its wasn't long coming round since July in Newbridge against Kildare!! 

Big year ahead for Leitrim football after tragic passing of Phlly in the year gone by.  Leitrim like every county and club is being hit with emigration and retirement of players.  Most noticeably Declan Maxwell, Dermot Reynolds (St Marys), Shane Foley, Colin Regan, Michael Foley and Gareth Phelan.  But this opens the door to some of the younger players in the county to stake a place on county team, players like Paddy Maguire, Conor Beirne and Morgan Quinn to name but a few.

This should be a more relaxed Leitrim team this year minus the involvement of John Morrisson. The reintroduction of Barney Breen to the setup should bring a emphasis on playing football rather than this psychology bull.

Should be interesting to see what players take their chance to impress during the FBD ahead of the League.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on December 30, 2010, 05:15:58 PM
From a Sligo Viewpoint, we need to sort out alot of sectors of our team. Theres a fair bit of false positivity in Sligo at the minute but most can see through it. Last yr was a bit of a disaster tbh. A year of missed opportunity. Unfortunetly in Sligo its impossible not to look back as our players keep replaying the same old shit when it matters. Do i expect some respite next yr, probably not but theres always hope. Hope that Kevin Walsh will sort out our kickouts, hope that he'll try to find a replacement for Noel McGuire, hope that he'll get rid of Phillips and put Quinn CHB, hope he'll sort out midfield, hope that when the summer comes we can afford to have O Hara come on for 20 mins rather than start, hope that KW will see changes a bit quicker, brehony lasted 69 mins in connacht final.

Signs that our management are repeating same mistakes is if we see greene during the FBD, give mcgovern and farrell all the FBD games. Give Murphy, Coffey and Johnny Martyn gametime at midfield in FBD. Give Griffin FF chance. Give Gilsenan, C Davey, or donovan FB birth. Get Quinn in CHB all FBD. If we see O Hara, McGuire or S Davey during FBD it wastes an opportuinty to blood new players.

If we get relegated in DIV2 but find a FB, CHB , MIDFIELD, better kickout stragedy, i'll be happy going into summer. Id be fairly confident of finishing above Donegal, Laois or Antrim anyway and obviously if we do sort out the above more than likely we'll do ok but it has to our priority to sort out these positions. Cant go into another summer carrying passengers.

This more than the last 2 yrs will I judge Walsh as a manager, so far hes done an ok job, hes has improved us but hes made alot of mistakes aswell.

All our FBD games are at home, enniscrone, IT Sligo and Tourlestrane, glad they mixed up the groups aswell for the first time. Will obviously be keeping a close on Leitrim and Roscommon in 2011,

45 gone short are all the below not playing with leitrim in 2011 at all? Some big losses..
Most noticeably Declan Maxwell, Dermot Reynolds (St Marys), Shane Foley, Colin Regan, Michael Foley and Gareth Phelan.   
Post by: 45GoneShort on December 30, 2010, 06:03:57 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on December 30, 2010, 05:15:58 PM
45 gone short are all the below not playing with leitrim in 2011 at all? Some big losses..
Most noticeably Declan Maxwell, Dermot Reynolds (St Marys), Shane Foley, Colin Regan, Michael Foley and Gareth Phelan.

Yes these all these players are finished.  Only really bright thing for us is Emlyn Mulligan may make a return after a nightmare 2 years out through injury.
Post by: spectator on December 30, 2010, 07:24:45 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on December 30, 2010, 02:03:35 PM
Mayo - to win just once  :P

He who is tired of the FBD is tired of life. ;D

What odds another tropical rainstorm in The Haunis this year? ;)
Post by: ross4life on December 30, 2010, 07:39:15 PM
Seamus O'Neill is suppose to return for us during the FBD will be interesting to see if he can still do it at inter county level?

I'll be keeping a eye on the college teams where most of our first 15 play during January, why are all those leitrim players missing?
Post by: Rossfan on December 30, 2010, 07:48:00 PM
Quote from: ross4life on December 30, 2010, 07:39:15 PM
, why are all those leitrim players missing?

Father time in most cases I suspect.

As well as 10 or 15 College boys we'll be missing Brigid's lads too.
Post by: ross4life on December 30, 2010, 08:03:06 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 30, 2010, 07:48:00 PM
Quote from: ross4life on December 30, 2010, 07:39:15 PM
, why are all those leitrim players missing?

Father time in most cases I suspect.

As well as 10 or 15 College boys we'll be missing Brigid's lads too.

Well the brigid's lad deserve the rest though we could do with these players for league as they will also miss 3/4 games
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 30, 2010, 08:51:20 PM
Will be very interesting to see how James Horan plays the FBD. Will tell us much about how much change he feels is needed. And where. Would love to see the Leitrim game but, Jaysus, Ballinamore is some trek in January!
Post by: ross4life on December 30, 2010, 10:16:25 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on December 30, 2010, 08:51:20 PM
Will be very interesting to see how James Horan plays the FBD. Will tell us much about how much change he feels is needed. And where. Would love to see the Leitrim game but, Jaysus, Ballinamore is some trek in January!

Can imagine it's a long trip from Mayo. it's over a hour for me on very small narrow roads the pitch (thats all it is) is at the top of the town & it's a good town for a few drinks Smyth's,Bobby Joe's,Poor Scholar the best of the bunch.
Post by: rocco on December 31, 2010, 01:53:28 PM
Ballinamore is about 20 mins from Carrick-on-shannon . They have a lovely set up there , nice pitch , nice stand . Its on the Enniskillen road on the outskirts of the town .
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 05, 2011, 11:53:20 PM
Mayo team to play Leitrim on Sunday has been named.

1: David Clarke
2: Cathal Hallinan
3: Ger Cafferkey
4: Richie Feeney
5: Trevor Howley
6: Mike Nestor
7: Chris Barrett
8: Ronan McGarrity
9: Barry Moran
10: Aidan Campbell
11: Austin O'Malley
12: Aidan Kilcoyne
13: Kevin Dolan
14: Andy Moran (Captain)
15: Brian Benson

As far as I can see it will be the first Mayo senior game for four players - Cathal Hallinan and Mike Nestor of Ballintubber, Kevin Dolan (Tourmakeady) and Brian Benson (Crossmolina). I'd be pretty sure Hallinan and Dolan will be wearing the Mayo jersey for the first time at any level. Michael Nestor and Brian Benson played Mayo minor. Maybe Benson played FBD too, I couldn't swear he didn't. Good to see actual corner backs selected.

Post by: stephenite on January 06, 2011, 05:19:20 AM
I've been away too long
Post by: ross4life on January 06, 2011, 08:12:39 AM
Quote from: stephenite on January 06, 2011, 05:19:20 AM
I've been away too long

Well your always welcomed back. should i put on the kettle?
Post by: Tubberman on January 06, 2011, 08:46:00 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 05, 2011, 11:53:20 PM
Mayo team to play Leitrim on Sunday has been named.

1: David Clarke
2: Cathal Hallinan
3: Ger Cafferkey
4: Richie Feeney
5: Trevor Howley
6: Mike Nestor
7: Chris Barrett
8: Ronan McGarrity
9: Barry Moran
10: Aidan Campbell
11: Austin O'Malley
12: Aidan Kilcoyne
13: Kevin Dolan
14: Andy Moran (Captain)
15: Brian Benson

As far as I can see it will be the first Mayo senior game for four players - Cathal Hallinan and Mike Nestor of Ballintubber, Kevin Dolan (Tourmakeady) and Brian Benson (Crossmolina). I'd be pretty sure Hallinan and Dolan will be wearing the Mayo jersey for the first time at any level. Michael Nestor and Brian Benson played Mayo minor. Maybe Benson played FBD too, I couldn't swear he didn't. Good to see actual corner backs selected.

Horan is quick out of the blocks, naming an FBD team on a Wednesday night!
Quite a few newcomers to the Mayo seniors, but overall it looks a pretty strong and well balanced team.
Best of luck to the two Ballintubber lads - they've earned their shot at it.
I'm also looking forward to seeing how Richie Feeney, Aidan Campbell and Brian Benson get on, I think there's a lot of potential for those lads to make a big impression.
Also good to see Kilcoyne back, hopefully he'll stay clear of injury for the year.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on January 06, 2011, 01:14:49 PM
I think Benson was on the League panel in 2008. I'll look up some programs when I get home.

Looking forward to this. Great to have the football back. The Down game will be a treat. A few pints afterwards too, I hope. What could be better?
Post by: muppet on January 06, 2011, 01:41:32 PM
I've been away too long

I'll put on a pint for you.
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 06, 2011, 02:22:24 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on January 06, 2011, 01:14:49 PM
I think Benson was on the League panel in 2008. I'll look up some programs when I get home.

Looking forward to this. Great to have the football back. The Down game will be a treat. A few pints afterwards too, I hope. What could be better?

yeah i'm pretty sure benny has alleady played for mayo in the fbd a few years ago . tis good to have the football back surely
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 06, 2011, 02:24:19 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 06, 2011, 01:41:32 PM
I've been away too long

I'll put on a pint for you.

stephenite's barred
Post by: ross4life on January 06, 2011, 07:13:00 PM
Cunning move from Horan naming a rossie as captain.  ;)
Post by: Rossfan on January 06, 2011, 07:21:38 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 06, 2011, 07:13:00 PM
Cunning move from Horan naming a rossie as captain.  ;)

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Good to see the rhus honouring their betters   :D
Post by: ross4life on January 06, 2011, 07:38:40 PM
from the Connacht GAA website:-

The following are the players that have been nominated by their 3rd Level Colleges for the Connacht FBD Football League 2011.

NUI, Galway:

Conor Healy & Greg Higgins, (Galway).

Sean McWeeney & Kevin Conlon, (Leitrim).

Alan Dillon, Peadar Gardiner, Neil Douglas, (Mayo).

Stephen Gilmartin & Conor Griffin, (Sligo).

GMIT:

Paul Conroy, Stephen Kavanagh & Tomas Fahy, (Galway).

Eoin Warde, (Leitrim).

Niall Prenty & Brendan Walsh, (Mayo).

Colm O. Neill & Daniel Rogers, (Roscommon).

IT Sligo:

Danny Cummins, Adrian Faherty, Paul Gleeson, (Galway).

Paddy McGuire, Dermot Reynolds, Adrian Croal, (Leitrim).

Tom Parsons & Kevin Keane, (Mayo).

Stephen Coen, Keelan Cawley & Kenneth Sweeney, (Sligo).

Senan O' Grady & Paul Garvey, (Roscommon).
Post by: rosnarun on January 07, 2011, 12:06:31 AM
dillon and gardiner are fair hairy students at this stage
Post by: ross4life on January 07, 2011, 01:01:41 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on January 07, 2011, 12:06:31 AM
dillon and gardiner are fair hairy students at this stage

Gardiner is 30/31 what age is Dillion?
Post by: Never beat the deeler on January 07, 2011, 03:28:27 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on January 06, 2011, 02:22:24 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on January 06, 2011, 01:14:49 PM

yeah i'm pretty sure benny has alleady played for mayo in the fbd a few years ago . tis good to have the football back surely

Yeah, Benny played FBD in 08, scoring 2-3 in three games and came off the bench against Tyrone in the NFL that year too.
Post by: Barney on January 07, 2011, 08:18:18 AM
Happy to see a lot of these fellas get a chance.

I hope the return of Austin O'Malley isn't a sign of the imagination that the new set-up are going to bring.

Style of play is going to be very interesting and I would expect that Andy Moran is going to be play a lot deeper than would be expected. His previous games in the full forward line have been underwhelming so it is hard to see him having a future there.

Anyways there are as many players missing as are available so very difficult to read anything much into the line-up even with regard to the first league game
Post by: magpie seanie on January 07, 2011, 03:33:45 PM
Sligo team to play Galway is:

1: J. Farrell (Owenmore Gaels)
2: C. Harrison (St. Johns)
3: C. Davey (Drumcliffe/Rosses Point)
4: N. Ewing (Drumcliffe/Rosses Point)
5: P. McGovern (Eastern Harps)
6: N. Maguire (Easkey)
7: B. O'Boyle (Calry/St. Josephs)
8: T. Taylor (Eastern Harps)
9: B. Egan (Tourlestrane)
10: A. Costello (Coolera/Strandhill)
11: F. Quinn (Shamrock Gaels)
12: P. Hughes (Geevagh)
13: D. Maye (Curry)
14: J. Hynes (St. Farnans)
15: A. Marren (Curry)

3 debuts and a few interesting positional selections.
Post by: AbbeySider on January 07, 2011, 03:53:25 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 07, 2011, 03:33:45 PM

Any truth in me hearing that Alan Costello is back in Sligo IT for his 8th year starting a new course?
It must not be true is he is not lining out with them...
Post by: magpie seanie on January 07, 2011, 05:16:24 PM
I genuinely don't know. If he is what's the problem? Would you prefer if he went on the dole?
Post by: ross4life on January 07, 2011, 06:38:34 PM
Alan Costello is working for a sports company.
Post by: AbbeySider on January 07, 2011, 06:46:20 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 07, 2011, 05:16:24 PM
I genuinely don't know. If he is what's the problem? Would you prefer if he went on the dole?

Did I say I had a problem? Pull your horns in good lad.
I was making the point, that if true I would have expected him to line out with Sligo IT and thus be playing Sigerson when that comes around.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on January 07, 2011, 11:52:38 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 07, 2011, 03:33:45 PM

Its the first game and im happy enough with most of that team, the selection of McGuire at CHB is a total waste of time to nurture a potential CHB imo and reinforces my opinion on walsh. Whats his thinking there, filter as many HFs back as possible and crowd that area so we can protect McGuire, similar to what T Breheny did when mcnamara was there. Its a mistake, get Mark Quinn in there.

B O Boyle was CHB for u21s last yr and is there again this yr, good player, glad to see get a chance. Glad F Quinn is in there, his inspiration in the conacht junior final was immense so im expecting him to kick on this yr. Hynes is a suprise but he is talented, the great Denis Jonston wouldnt start him for the u21s last yr which probably threw away the title on us so at least walsh can see that he has the raw materials.

Im a big fan of Sean Davey and his Sligo career, absolute legend, he is costing a young player for the future a place on the bench on sunday which is not in the best interests of Sligo seniors imo.

Pat Hughes deserves a shot, dont mind him starting at all. Hard working HF, and more defensive so will suit with mcguire chb buts its not ideal tactic for me.

Glad Farrell is in goals, and hopefully we'll see mcgovern aswell. This will be my first time seeing Conor Davey FB since Sligo minors in 2007, looking forward to seeing him there.

Delighted to see Brendan Egan back aswell.

Glad to see Griffin and Gilmartin made the cut at NUIG
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 08, 2011, 05:45:45 PM
Mayo Leitrim game changed from Ballinamore to Ballyhaunis. Happy days. Makes sense I guess, have it near the Connacht Centre of Excellence.
Post by: muppet on January 08, 2011, 05:53:01 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 08, 2011, 05:45:45 PM
Mayo Leitrim game changed from Ballinamore to Ballyhaunis. Happy days. Makes sense I guess, have it near the Connacht Centre of Excellence.

And Ross4life's mosque.
Post by: ross4life on January 08, 2011, 05:56:58 PM

Reason for this plenty of venues in Leitrim? hopefully that means we don't have to travel to smellyhaunis now
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 08, 2011, 10:03:55 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 08, 2011, 05:56:58 PM

Reason for this plenty of venues in Leitrim? hopefully that means we don't have to travel to smellyhaunis now

No, ye'll still have to travel. Three home games now for Mayo. Great to have a bit of pull.
Post by: ross4life on January 08, 2011, 11:28:32 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 08, 2011, 10:03:55 PM

No, ye'll still have to travel. Three home games now for Mayo. Great to have a bit of pull.

Well the smart thing to do would be... our game with Leitrim to be now away & then play ye at home, problem solved?
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 08, 2011, 11:36:13 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 08, 2011, 11:28:32 PM

Well the smart thing to do would be... our game with Leitrim to be now away & then play ye at home, problem solved?

No need. As has been pointed out before Ballyhaunis is closer to the far extremes of Roscommon than places like Belmullet and Achill. Sure it is almost a home game for ye anyway. And while there ye can go for a look at the wonderful work underway at the Connacht Centre of Excellence in Bekan.
Post by: ross4life on January 08, 2011, 11:46:26 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 08, 2011, 11:36:13 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 08, 2011, 11:28:32 PM

No need. As has been pointed out before Ballyhaunis is closer to the far extremes of Roscommon than places like Belmullet and Achill. Sure it is almost a home game for ye anyway. And while there ye can go for a look at the wonderful work underway at the Connacht Centre of Excellence in Bekan.

No need, we have our own centre thanks.
Post by: ck on January 09, 2011, 01:02:11 AM
Surprised to see Sean Davey back on the Sligo panel
Post by: ross4life on January 09, 2011, 01:19:04 AM
Quote from: ck on January 09, 2011, 01:02:11 AM

The same Sean Davey that scored a monster point v us in the Connacht final back in July?
Post by: magpie seanie on January 09, 2011, 01:26:50 AM
Quote from: ross4life on January 09, 2011, 01:19:04 AM

The same Sean Davey that scored a monster point v us in the Connacht final back in July?

And crippled Tommy Walsh the year before with a shoulder below in Tralee. Seán is one of those players that is capable of anything and I mean anything! That point in the Connacht final was one of the weirdest kicks I've ever seen. I was half way through cursing him when it changed direction and curled unnaturally over the bar!
Post by: muppet on January 09, 2011, 02:58:53 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 09, 2011, 01:26:50 AM

And crippled Tommy Walsh the year before with a shoulder below in Tralee. Seán is one of those players that is capable of anything and I mean anything! That point in the Connacht final was one of the weirdest kicks I've ever seen. I was half way through cursing him when it changed direction and curled unnaturally over the bar!

You should curse more often.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 09, 2011, 03:26:02 AM
Quote from: muppet on January 09, 2011, 02:58:53 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 09, 2011, 01:26:50 AM

You should curse more often.

That's the first time someone has said that to me!
Post by: Tubberman on January 09, 2011, 01:54:56 PM
Mayo v Leitrim called off due to unplayable pitch.
Only called off a few minutes ago, very poor from an organisation point of view. All the supporters would have been en route to the match. Just off the phone to my father who was around Brickens when he heard - not a happy man at all! He didn't have to go too far in comparison to others, especially any hardy Leitrim souls who made the journey.
Wouldn't you think a pitch inspection earlier on would have decided one way or the other whether the match could go ahead.
Post by: ross4life on January 09, 2011, 02:19:33 PM
Roscommon game also called off! need to play this games in pitches that can withstand the conditions
Post by: Tubberman on January 09, 2011, 02:29:21 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 09, 2011, 02:19:33 PM
Roscommon game also called off! need to play this games in pitches that can withstand the conditions

The Connacht Centre of Excellence would be just the job!
Post by: Rossfan on January 09, 2011, 02:32:19 PM
Maybe Prenty need to organise some excellence in timely pitch inspections >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(
Post by: ross4life on January 09, 2011, 04:48:32 PM
thanks to Ram over on the SS

The team listed to play was:

1. Mark Miley
2. Jason Carney
3. John Nolan
4. Sean Purcell
5. Niall Carty
6. Donal Ward
7. Ronan Brady
8. Martin Reynolds
9. Kevin Higgins
10. Fintan Cregg
11. John Rogers
12. Senan O Grady
13. Terence Kelly
14. John Dunning
15. Ger Henaghan

SUBS E McGinley, J McKeague, D Carney, S McDermott, J Connaughton, M Finneran, R Dooner, C Devaney, D Hussey, N Collins

Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 09, 2011, 05:01:38 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on January 09, 2011, 01:54:56 PM
Mayo v Leitrim called off due to unplayable pitch.
Only called off a few minutes ago, very poor from an organisation point of view. All the supporters would have been en route to the match. Just off the phone to my father who was around Brickens when he heard - not a happy man at all! He didn't have to go too far in comparison to others, especially any hardy Leitrim souls who made the journey.
Wouldn't you think a pitch inspection earlier on would have decided one way or the other whether the match could go ahead.

I believe it was inspected earlier that morning and passed as playable. Pitch seemed fine but referee was concerned about the top left corner, which is more sheltered than the rest of the pitch, therefore more ice. I did well though - didn't pay in and got money back on way out  :P
Post by: SLIGONIAN on January 09, 2011, 05:05:57 PM
Just back from Sligo Galway..

Good game for the conditions, Sligo 1-10 Galway 2-9

Armstrong scored 2-3 off Allstar Charlie Harrison. :-X

Best for Sligo Pat Hughes 0-2, Francis Quinn 0-1, Paul Mcgovern and everyone worked hard. Sligo were 1-5 to 0-2 up at HT with the wind, Galway got a goal start of 2nd half after the ref pulled Charlie for picking off the grd even though he clearly put his foot under it, the ref pulled for picking off the grd all day even when it bounced so no complaints as he was consistently useless for both teams.
Post by: ross4life on January 09, 2011, 06:26:59 PM
First game lead boots might be an excuse for Harrison but Armstrong is one of those players that could go into "Footballers with potential" thread maybe he'll cut it this year who knows?

FBD is always about performances results matter little.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 09, 2011, 08:10:38 PM
Finally found Galway team today. Took long enough.

P Lally
C McGrath
F Hanley
A Glynn
D Reilly 
N Coleman
G Sice
G O'Donnell
E Hoare
M Clancy
C Healy
B Faherty
J Ryan
C de Paor
S Armstrong

Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 09, 2011, 09:08:49 PM
From Connachtgaa.ie

Connacht FBD League: Sunday 9th January 2011

Round 1: Results

Sligo 1-10 Galway 2-9

Venue: Enniscrone

Scorers:
Galway: S Armstrong (2-3, 0-1f); C De Paor (0-2); J Ryan (0-2, 0-1f); E Hoare (0-1); M Clancy (0-1)
Sligo: D Maye (0-6, 0-5f); T Taylor (1-0); P Hughes (0-2); A Costello (0-1f); F Quinn (0-1).

Sligo: J Farrell; C Harrison, C Davey, N Ewing; P McGovern, M McGuire, B O'Boyle; T Taylor, B Egan; A Costello, F Quinn, P Hughes; D Maye, J Hynes, A Marren.
Subs: S Davey for Marren, 52; D Rooney for O'Boyle, 57; M Breheny for Costello, 58; M Quinn for McGuire, inj, 62.

Galway: P Lally; K McGrath, F Hanley, A Glynn; D Reilly, N Coleman, G Sice; E Hoare, G O'Donnell; M Clancy, C Healy, S Armstrong; B Flaherty, C De Paor, J Ryan. Subs: M Kelly for Flaherty, 25; F O Curraoin for Healy, h-t; A Burke for Reilly, 56; C O Cualain for Hoare, 59.

NUI, Galway 0-11 IT Sligo 0-10
Venue: Dangan

Scorers:
NUI Galway: J Doherty (0-7, 7fs); N Douglas (0-2, 1f); C Mimnagh (0-1); F Deasmhumnaigh (0-1).
Sligo IT: G White (0-5, 1f); A Croal (0-2); E Keating (0-2, 1f); D Gallagher (0-1).

NUI, Galway: Nathan King, Shane McHale, Ciaran McDonald, Ronan Rochford, Peadar Gardiner, Kieran O' Connor, Donal Newcombe, Stephen Gilmartin(C), Brian Geraghty, Denis Coroon, Cian Mimnagh, Mark McHugh, Neil Douglas, Greg Higgins, Jason Doherty.
Subs: J Moore for Newcombe, 18; F Deasmhumnaigh for Geraghty, 53; D Wynne for Mimnagh, 54.

IT Sligo: Adrian Faherty, Dermot Reynolds, Paul Gleeson, Paddy McGuire, Paul Kelly, Paul Kane, Darren Daly, Martin Brady, David Givney, Gary White, Eugene Keating, Gary Gaughan, Adrian Croal, Kenny Sweeney, Donnacha Gallagher.
Subs: P Garvey for Mannion, 29; K Rodgers for McHugh, 43; K Cawley for Daly, 49; M Leddy for Keane, 52.

Leitrim vs. Mayo Game Postponed
Venue: Ballyhaunis

Roscommon vs. GMIT Game postponed
Venue: Ballyforan

For FBD League Table, click on Con' Leagues '11 on the sidebar.

Connacht FBD League: Round 2 Fixtures

Saturday 15th January 2011

Mayo vs. GMIT

Venue: McHale Park, Castlebar

Throw in: 7.30pm

IT Sligo vs. Sligo

Venue: Ballinode, Sligo

Throw In: 7.30pm

Connacht FBD League:

Sunday 16th January 2011

Galway vs. NUI, Galway
Venue: Tuam Stadium
Throw in: 2pm

Roscommon vs. Leitrim
Venue: Elphin, Roscommon.
Throw in: 2pm

Post by: laoisgaa on January 09, 2011, 10:42:50 PM
Navan
(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF664/480230.jpg)

St Lomans, Mullingar
(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF664/480288.jpg)

Ballyhaunis though takes the biscuit!
(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF664/480325.jpg)
Post by: ross4life on January 10, 2011, 12:04:42 AM
Quote from: laoisgaa on January 09, 2011, 10:42:50 PM

Over there is the great county called Roscommon kings of high connacht.........
Post by: AbbeySider on January 10, 2011, 10:08:55 AM
Quote from: ross4life on January 10, 2011, 12:04:42 AM
Quote from: laoisgaa on January 09, 2011, 10:42:50 PM

Over there is the great county called Roscommon kings of high connacht.........

I along with a few more posters on here made the trip to Ballyhaunis only for the game to be called off.
From where I was standing the pitch looked sound, although a tiny section in the corner didnt seem to get sunlight and the ground was deemed frozen.

It occurred to me that perhaps Leitrim didnt want to play the fixture though. They didnt seem warm-up for the match and waited in the dressing-room. Mayo were put through their paces for a warm-up and seemed to expecting the game to go ahead. Strange.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 10, 2011, 11:31:49 AM
Leitrim have serious power in Connacht Council.  ::)
Post by: Barney on January 10, 2011, 11:47:53 AM
I turned up for the game yesterday as well. I thought it should have gone ahead but calling off the matter so late in the day really is not acceptable in this day and age. Do the GAA care - not a bit.

Disappointing that the start of the season is delayed. I guess the match will be re-fixed for the weekend before the league? Or maybe midweek under lights in Cloone?

Good to see 4 Mayo lads tog out for DIT yesterday in their win over Wexford. Cunniffe was full-back. Kevin McLoughlin was on the wing. Aidan O'Shea scored a point at number 11 and Alan Freeman picked up 3.
Post by: ross4life on January 10, 2011, 10:05:57 PM
Connacht FBD League - rescheduled fixtures:

Sunday, January 30th, 2011

Leitrim vs. Mayo, Ballinamore, 2pm
Roscommon vs. GMIT, Ballyforan, 2pm

I think Mayo should try to get it swithed to Ballyhaunis again  ;)
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 10, 2011, 10:15:19 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 10, 2011, 10:05:57 PM
Connacht FBD League - rescheduled fixtures:

Sunday, January 30th, 2011

Leitrim vs. Mayo, Ballinamore, 2pm
Roscommon vs. GMIT, Ballyforan, 2pm

I think Mayo should try to get it swithed to Ballyhaunis again  ;)

There's no rush yet. No point changing it until the day before.
Post by: AbbeySider on January 10, 2011, 10:55:56 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 10, 2011, 11:31:49 AM
Leitrim have serious power in Connacht Council.  ::)

Not sure what your trying to say there Seanie... what do you mean and whats that in relation to?
Post by: AbbeySider on January 14, 2011, 03:44:53 PM
From Club Mayo... just one change from the Leitrim game

The Mayo starting 15 v GMIT
The official teamsheet release shows only 1 change from the team named to play Leitrim last week. Alan Feeney is down as corner back instead of Richie Feeney. 

McHale Park, Saturday 15th Jan at 7.30 pm.
First match under lights in McHale Park
          David Clarke         
          Ballina         
Cathal Hallinan    Ger Cafferkey         Alan Feeney
Ballintubber         Ballina    Castlebar

Trevor Howley    Mike Nestor         Chris Barrett
Knockmore         Ballintubber         Belmullet

Ronan McGarrity    Barry Moran
     Ballina         Castlebar    

Aidan Campbell    Austin O'Malley    Aidan Kilcoyne
Swinford    St Vincents         Knockmore

Kevin Dolan    Andy Moran (capt)    Brian Benson
Tourmakeady    Ballaghaderreen    Crossmolina

The rest of the panel
16.   Kenneth O'Malley           - Ballinrobe
17.   Richie Feeney                - Castlebar Mitchels
18.   David Killeen                 - Ballinrobe
19.   Jason Gibbons                - Ballintubber
20.   James McAndrew           - Kilcommon
21.   Ruarí O'Connor              - Ballintubber
22.   James Burke                  - Ballymun Kickhams (Ardnaree)
23.   Andrew Farrell               - Killala
24.   Mark Ronaldson              - Shrule-Glencorrib
25.   Enda Varley                   - Garrymore
26.   Cillian O'Connor             - Ballintubber 
Post by: Gaabellting on January 14, 2011, 04:06:59 PM
Looks a pretty decent Mayo team. Gmit have a very poor side this year from what i hear. Played St James(galway intermediate champions) in a challenge last week and drew with them and James's were missing a number of players. Can see nothing but a Mayo win by 5 points +
Post by: ross4life on January 14, 2011, 08:29:51 PM
I understand Sligo have made a full 15 changes for Sunday is the squad a little bloated this year?
Post by: muppet on January 14, 2011, 11:00:38 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 14, 2011, 08:29:51 PM
I understand Sligo have made a full 15 changes for Sunday is the squad a little bloated this year?

The bus is still lost from the last day.
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 15, 2011, 07:08:59 PM
Three changes to the Mayo team I believe. James Burke is in for Howley, Barry Moran is replaced by James Moran, and Brian Benson is relaced by Cillian O'Connor.
Post by: ross4life on January 15, 2011, 08:39:25 PM
A draw in Sligo between the two Sligo teams. IT Sligo 1-09 0-12 Sligo, Ballinode FT
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on January 15, 2011, 08:50:15 PM
Mayo leading 1-7 to 1-4 against the gmit.

COC's hit 1-5 for Mayo.

Edit - 2-8 to 1-4 now.
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 15, 2011, 08:51:06 PM
Beat me to it Cosmo, great start for Cillian anyway!
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on January 15, 2011, 08:59:25 PM
Mayo 2-8 GMIT 1-5 at the finish.
Post by: ross4life on January 15, 2011, 09:00:50 PM
Cillian O'Connor finish on 1-5?
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on January 15, 2011, 09:17:07 PM
He got 1-6 according to Mid-West, but the Mayo Gaa lads broke down the scoring as

O'Connor 1-5
Ronaldson 1-0
McGarrity 0-2
Varley 0-1
Post by: REDCOL on January 15, 2011, 10:20:08 PM
Was at the game poor early season stuff, against the wind in 1st half David Clarke made a blunder for their goal. James Burke was the pick of the Mayo players in 1st half, Dolan picked up an injury early on. 1-1 to 3 at h-t, We had a lot of possession but overplayed the ball with Austie being particulaly guilty, Killer had a poor game. Second Half McGarrity took over Midfield and his dominance gave us a lot of ball, he kicked two nice points, although it was the first time I saw a point in an FBD game being celebrated. Of the Newcomers, Hallinan did fine, Cillian O Connor got 1-6 mostly frees apart from one cracking point when game was over, Campbell tried hard but lacked sharpness, Nestor Ok, Austie slowed up ball too much. A lot of work to do, but a winning start I suppose on a horrible night for football

Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 16, 2011, 03:38:42 AM
A night where you could only praise those who played well and couldn't knock those who had a mare. Cathal Hallinan was solid right through and, to my mind, has what it takes to wear number 2 against Galway in June. James Burke was an unmarked wing-back and attacked with relish but his final ball let him down. McGarrity let  the shackles loose in the second half. Killer gave us a glimpse of his best and worst, Campbell did alright, was rusty but we'll see more and better of him. Varley did well, I only hope poor Kevin Dolan doesn't have the shortest ever inter county career.

Star man was the kid though. Cillian has it. In spades. Will be interesting to see how he is used. He has the wise head for  a young lad to be used often and not to suffer. His point from play, after taking receipt of a wonderful pass from older brother Ruaidhri, was worth the trip into the game in of itself. We have options in the forward line at least.
Post by: moysider on January 16, 2011, 03:00:46 PM

Dunno. Thought James Burke was the class act. Most of his passing was quality. Being left footed he gives great balance at 7 and is always making himself available. He s a big plus for me. McGarrity kicked points the forwards couldn't and bossed the game towards the end. There were other steady enough showings and I m not going to say anything negative about anybody. It s a start anyway. Cillian O Connor showed his quality too. He took his goal chance well from a rebound from the post and of the forwards he was the only one to score a point from play. And it was a classy score. It ll be interesting to see where Cillian ends up in a forward line. Thought Ronaldson brought a bit of craft when he came on and he knows how to take a penalty.
Post by: ross4life on January 16, 2011, 03:25:54 PM
Roscommon 0-7 Leitrim 0-5 FT good to get off too a winning start! though a game that won't live long in the memory.

Roscommon team

M Miley , Jason Carney John Nolan Seanie Mac ; Conor Beirne Niall Carty Donal Ward ; M Reynolds Kevin Higgins ; Fintan Cregg Conor Devaney S O'Grady ; Terence Kelly J Dunning D Hussey

Reynolds 0-4 ,Devaney 0-2 and Higgins 0-1

Post by: SLIGONIAN on January 16, 2011, 04:07:30 PM
Was at Sligo 0-12 IT Sligo 1-9 game last night, decent game, not near as intense as last weeks to be fair. Best for Sligo, M Quinn, A Taafe, B Curran, M Brehony.... danny cummins looked good for IT.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 16, 2011, 10:15:08 PM
Quote from: moysider on January 16, 2011, 03:00:46 PM

Dunno. Thought James Burke was the class act. Most of his passing was quality. Being left footed he gives great balance at 7 and is always making himself available. He s a big plus for me. McGarrity kicked points the forwards couldn't and bossed the game towards the end. There were other steady enough showings and I m not going to say anything negative about anybody. It s a start anyway. Cillian O Connor showed his quality too. He took his goal chance well from a rebound from the post and of the forwards he was the only one to score a point from play. And it was a classy score. It ll be interesting to see where Cillian ends up in a forward line. Thought Ronaldson brought a bit of craft when he came on and he knows how to take a penalty.

Yeah, I agree with you on Burke in the sense that he is very keen and a very good option. I'm maybe being hard on him re kickpassing but there was a few times in the first half when he just horsed the ball into the full-forward line. But, in his defence, the movement wasn't always great inside. I'd certainly like to see him get another few runs because he has something to offer.
Post by: AbbeySider on January 16, 2011, 11:07:14 PM

Would agree with a lot of that Moy. James Burkes distribution and passing was exceptional. Now I know that he was the free man due to negative GMIT tactics (who played a wing forward as a sweeper) but I was impressed with his decision making, work rate and as well as the nice balls into the forwards. Sometimes if the low ball wasnt on, he wasnt afraid to hit Cillian with the odd high ball which worked out. He did take on a couple of wild shots in the 2nd half but at that stage, the forwards were offering limited options and if I was in his boots I would have taken on the shot too. Himself and Cathal Hallinan were perhaps the stand out players for Mayo in the first half. Cathal hardly put a foot wrong and displayed good defensive qualities dispossessing and turning over ball and bursting forward. It was an impressive debut.

Ger Caff and Mick Nestor did their jobs nice and quietly and played Ok. Im not sure so ill have to wait for the reports this week to see if they kept their man scoreless from play, although I have a suspicion that the GMIT centre forward may have sneaked a point from play, he was certainly doing Ok with the frees. Alan Feeney did Ok defensively but gave away possession with 3 passes so things were not working out for him very well. The GMIT goal was a bit of a blunder from Clarke who fluffed a high ball and it broke to a poaching GMIT forward. Chris Barrett had a poor game and was frustrating to watch. Losing the ball in possession and giving it away and GMIT seemed to bomb up his wing and breeze and blast past him at ease. When substituted for Ruaidhri O Connor, things seemed to settle on that wing for Mayo and Ruaidhri did very well to pick out his brother Cillian for that impressive score of his left I mentioned earlier.

Cillian played well, especially in the second half. Ill be honest and slightly critical and say he did kick a couple of frees wide and sent two or three wide and into the keepers hands from play in the first half. He is the kind of player that you cant take your eyes off for a minute and popped up in the second half with about 1-02 from play including, arguably the point of the game off his left boot near the stand. It was a fantastic debut for him and he was many peoples man of the match. The only other players in the forwards worth a mention were Aidan Campbell and Enda Varley who looked lively, if a little greedy in possession. The forward play in general was very poor. Andy Moran and Kilcoyne were getting blocked down and running into trouble, which shouldnt be happening at that level with their experience. Austy simply couldnt kill the ball in possession and it bobbled off him a lot. Also he had two very poor attempts into the keepers hands in the first half and a couple of wides which was disappointing. We only managed to score 3 points by half time and you could tell that the forwards were not trying to make room for each other and were out for themselves and often playing with the head down. I know they may have being out to impress by taking on shots and were perhaps too eager but they should have been playing more as a unit. As the season progresses I hope they improve on what we saw on Saturday evening. 

Regarding midfield, McGarity came into the game a bit more in the second half. In the first we were probably been beaten at midfield and we were losing the break count. In the second McGarity caught some clean leather and got two great scores from distance. James Moran worked hard in the game and got through a lot of the grafting and donkey work. A bit more fitness and belief and he could make something.

The guys that came all did well. Ronaldson made good runs and good use of possession and worked hard for the time he was on. David Kelleen looked strong and solid and did well when tested with a couple of high balls as well as hounding and tackling well. As I said, Ruaidhri O Connor settled things his wing and linked up well and picked out Cillian for that score. Lee Keegan hadnt enough time to make an impression but his a monster shoulder along the sideline.

All in all its very early days and we can take mostly positives from the game. The debutantes all did well which was nice to see. Some of the older guys hadnt the best of games but its also worth noting that many of them wouldnt have kicked a ball since exiting last years championship and will be offering more as the weeks progress. There will be a good battle for places all over the pitch with a lot of last years panel to come back into the fold yet. I have a feeling that the likes of Jason Gibbons and a few more will be given a start on the upcoming FBD games too which will be something to look forward to.
Post by: stephenite on January 16, 2011, 11:18:13 PM
No pressure on you so young Cillian O'Connor, you have it in spades
Post by: moysider on January 16, 2011, 11:35:42 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 16, 2011, 10:15:08 PM

Yeah, I agree with you on Burke in the sense that he is very keen and a very good option. I'm maybe being hard on him re kickpassing but there was a few times in the first half when he just horsed the ball into the full-forward line. But, in his defence, the movement wasn't always great inside. I'd certainly like to see him get another few runs because he has something to offer.

I ll go out on a limb here and say he is probably the best option for 7 we have, and maybe even the best half back we have available. I m delighted he has persisted with it and should have been in long ago. Badly treated in the past by management that didn't know any better.
Post by: FL/MAYO on January 16, 2011, 11:36:03 PM
Quote from: stephenite on January 16, 2011, 11:18:13 PM

Yep, this sounds familiar to the Aidan O'Shea build up two years ago.
Post by: moysider on January 16, 2011, 11:45:56 PM

Eh? Irony I assume?
Post by: AbbeySider on January 16, 2011, 11:50:00 PM
Quote from: moysider on January 16, 2011, 11:35:42 PM

I ll go out on a limb here and say he is probably the best option for 7 we have, and maybe even the best half back we have available. I m delighted he has persisted with it and should have been in long ago. Badly treated in the past by management that didn't know any better.

That is going out in a limb, very early days yet.
You have McGloughlin, Vaughan, Gardener, K Higgins all in contention for wing back positions.
To say Burke is probably the best option for 7, after an FBD game in January where he was a free man and hardly tested defensively is quite the call.  ;)
Post by: moysider on January 16, 2011, 11:59:54 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on January 16, 2011, 11:50:00 PM

You have McGloughlin, Vaughan, Gardener, K Higgins all in contention for wing back positions.
To say Burke is probably the best option for 7, after an FBD game in January where he was a free man and hardly tested defensively is quite the call.  ;)

Happy to make that call. Unfortunately I dont know what the boss is thinking. But to have a left footer for the seven position is something most coaches dream about.
Post by: AbbeySider on January 17, 2011, 12:10:13 AM
Quote from: moysider on January 16, 2011, 11:59:54 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on January 16, 2011, 11:50:00 PM

Happy to make that call. Unfortunately I dont know what the boss is thinking. But to have a left footer for the seven position is something most coaches dream about.

Fair play on the call, agree with the rest.
Out of interest, does Kevin McLoughlin favour the left?
Post by: AbbeySider on January 17, 2011, 12:17:18 AM
One last thing...

McHale park looked splendid under lights. It really looked well, looking forward to the Down game  :)
Post by: highorlow on January 17, 2011, 09:37:25 AM
McGarrity took over Midfield and his dominance gave us a lot of ball, he kicked two nice points, although it was the first time I saw a point in an FBD game being celebrated

It was probably the first point he has scored in 4 or 5 years. I was hoping when the new manager came in he would clear out the deadwood.
Post by: Tubberman on January 17, 2011, 10:39:51 AM
Quote from: highorlow on January 17, 2011, 09:37:25 AM
McGarrity took over Midfield and his dominance gave us a lot of ball, he kicked two nice points, although it was the first time I saw a point in an FBD game being celebrated

It was probably the first point he has scored in 4 or 5 years. I was hoping when the new manager came in he would clear out the deadwood.
Bit unfair on McGarrity there.
a) He's a midfielder, scoring is his not primary responsibility
b) He has scored quite a few points for us - got a couple of great scores v Galway in 09 Connacht final

But overall, I'd agree that McGarrity really needs to step up and dominate games this year. And if he's not winning clean ball, he has to learn to at least spoil it for the opposition midfielders. He's too easily bullied out of the game.
But Horan has brought quite a few potential midfielders into the provisional panel, so he could be of the same view, and if nothing else it should give McG a kick up the arse to see potential successors to him being given their chance. 
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on January 17, 2011, 10:56:03 AM
Kevin Dolan's lower jaw broken in 2 places. Major damage to his teeth also. Heading for the op tomorrow in Galway. Met his father last night, we have waited so long to get someone in the senior panel and this happens. The game should have never gone ahead imo, but the light s HAD to be turned on and that is what is important, these days. Was at the game, a pointless exercise what with the weather and all. Rant over.
Post by: Tubberman on January 17, 2011, 11:00:25 AM
Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on January 17, 2011, 10:56:03 AM
Kevin Dolan's lower jaw broken in 2 places. Major damage to his teeth also. Heading for the op tomorrow in Galway. Met his father last night, we have waited so long to get someone in the senior panel and this happens. The game should have never gone ahead imo, but the light s HAD to be turned on and that is what is important, these days. Was at the game, a pointless exercise what with the weather and all. Rant over.

Awful news for Kevin Dolan - terrible thing to happen only 7 mins into his senior debut.
But was there really any reason why the game wouldn't be played?
I wasn't at the match, but was it not just "one of those things" - an accident which the conditions may have contributed to, but wouldn't have been enough to cancel the game surely? Then we'd never have games played on a wet pitch.
Post by: AbbeySider on January 17, 2011, 11:03:16 AM
Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on January 17, 2011, 10:56:03 AM

I heard that after the game. Mid-West said he was in a fair bit of distress.
Very sad and disappointed for him, his family and Tourmakeady people.
It was a freak accident where he was tackling and fell only to get clipped in the jaw by the heel of the man he was tackling. He will be out for a few weeks I guess but im hoping its not over for him just yet. If he stays in shape and keeps up the programs and training (non contact) he wont slip too far behind and may make another appearance yet.

Why do you think the game should not have gone ahead?
I dont think it was such a pointless exercise, a lot of new players were blooded and did well.
Post by: AbbeySider on January 17, 2011, 11:07:39 AM
Quote from: highorlow on January 17, 2011, 09:37:25 AM

highorlow, McGarity often scores for Mayo and scored in the NFL and FBD last year and got many scores in 2009.
Show-boating and celebrating after a score like that in an FBD game is a little much but we will let it slide. ;)
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 17, 2011, 12:36:26 PM

He was minor in 2005 and, after leaving the panel midway through to concentrate on the Leaving, he was brought back in and somehow played corner-back in the All-Ireland final, not his position, suffered badly and probably that was a big set-back. Being in Dublin didn't help either. I gather he was good with the Under 21s in 2008? I was away that year. He definitely has something.

Re Kevin Dolan An Gaeligoir, that's awful to hear. I really do hope he gets another run out. The pitch and conditions weren't great at all for good football but it was definitely playable.
Post by: AbbeySider on January 17, 2011, 01:54:02 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 17, 2011, 12:36:26 PM

He was minor in 2005 and, after leaving the panel midway through to concentrate on the Leaving, he was brought back in and somehow played corner-back in the All-Ireland final, not his position, suffered badly and probably that was a big set-back. Being in Dublin didn't help either. I gather he was good with the Under 21s in 2008? I was away that year. He definitely has something.

I also heard he got a Blue Star / Dublin GAA Club Star nomination or award in 07/08 so he obviously impressed playing up there. Was it Ballymun or Kilmacud Crokes he was playing with?
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 17, 2011, 02:04:28 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on January 17, 2011, 01:54:02 PM

I also heard he got a Blue Star / Dublin GAA Club Star nomination or award in 07/08 so he obviously impressed playing up there. Was it Ballymun or Kilmacud Crokes he was playing with?

Ballymun. Is he still with them? The programme very infomratively listed his club the last day as 'Dublin'!
Post by: Rossfan on January 17, 2011, 02:24:39 PM
The rhubarbs take over another thread  ::)
Post by: AbbeySider on January 17, 2011, 02:34:18 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 17, 2011, 02:24:39 PM
The rhubarbs take over another thread  ::)

Dont worry you will get your chance to lick your wounds on this thread after next Sunday ;)
Post by: ross4life on January 17, 2011, 03:20:57 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on January 16, 2011, 11:36:03 PM

Do you really think they are similar? one IMO has the makings of a good midfielder while the other guy is the most natural scorer for Mayo since Conor Mortimer
Post by: Tubberman on January 17, 2011, 03:49:50 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 17, 2011, 03:20:57 PM

Do you really think they are similar? one IMO has the makings of a good midfielder while the other guy is the most natural scorer for Mayo since Conor Mortimer

I think he means similar in the way they are being built up as the next big thing before they've played a 'real' competitive match.
I'll assume that Conor Mort comparison is meant as a compliment :D
Post by: ross4life on January 17, 2011, 04:30:00 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on January 17, 2011, 03:49:50 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 17, 2011, 03:20:57 PM

I think he means similar in the way they are being built up as the next big thing before they've played a 'real' competitive match.
I'll assume that Conor Mort comparison is meant as a compliment :D

Yes though have my doubts will young O'Connor ever finish a season as Championship top scorer

Post by: Farrandeelin on January 17, 2011, 04:49:25 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 17, 2011, 02:04:28 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on January 17, 2011, 01:54:02 PM

Ballymun. Is he still with them? The programme very infomratively listed his club the last day as 'Dublin'!

He is still with Ballymun indeed.
Post by: rosnarun on January 19, 2011, 02:36:58 AM
jeez give the lad a break. if Horan is worth his salt at all O'connor will get mature and improve we should not expect any player to arrive at the agfe of 18 to the senior panel as the finished article. esp a free taker Technique is something that can always be imoroved on once there is an natural talen there.
i would be happy if he went back to the under 21s for a year or 2 to develop. playing senior football is a massive step up and no goo dcan come of being promoted  too early.
but its good for him to get a taste  of semi competitive action surely the pont of the FBD.
Post by: ross4life on January 19, 2011, 03:01:28 AM
Is O'Connor not 19 now the same age Donal Shine was when he first arrived at the senior stage but suppose Mayo's bigger panel means Cillian will have to wait his time.

Post by: Peter Solan the Great on January 19, 2011, 12:01:16 PM
Quote from: questforsam on January 19, 2011, 11:56:56 AM
Have they decided on Mayo Captain for the year?? Wonder who will get it?

A Ballintubber man. wait till you see, he has enough of them on the panel. So much for county wide trials.
Post by: AbbeySider on January 19, 2011, 12:14:48 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on January 19, 2011, 12:01:16 PM

A Ballintubber man. wait till you see, he has enough of them on the panel. So much for county wide trials.

Id be embarrassed if I was from Westport reading your posts. 
Post by: AbbeySider on January 19, 2011, 12:17:21 PM

I think Andy Moran was captain for the FBD league anyway. I dont know who will be captain for the year.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on January 19, 2011, 12:35:20 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on January 19, 2011, 12:14:48 PM

Westport are embarrassed by the inbreds that populate the rest of Mayo.
Post by: Tubberman on January 19, 2011, 01:15:28 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on January 19, 2011, 12:35:20 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on January 19, 2011, 12:14:48 PM

Westport are embarrassed by the inbreds that populate the rest of Mayo.

This is just getting too obvious now Peadar. Must try harder!
Post by: southsider on January 19, 2011, 02:09:32 PM
Does anyone know the number of players to be selected on the national league panel? have any of the newcomers a realistic chance of making the grade. based overseas now so bit out of touch.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 19, 2011, 09:19:05 PM
Quote from: southsider on January 19, 2011, 02:09:32 PM
Does anyone know the number of players to be selected on the national league panel? have any of the newcomers a realistic chance of making the grade. based overseas now so bit out of touch.

I don't think there is a final league panel at all. He has said that he'll have a rolling panel of about 40 or so. Not sure at all of its composition. Still too early to say. But I do think a lot of new guys will be given their chance.
Post by: rosnarun on January 19, 2011, 11:17:50 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 19, 2011, 03:01:28 AM
Is O'Connor not 19 now the same age Donal Shine was when he first arrived at the senior stage but suppose Mayo's bigger panel means Cillian will have to wait his time.
one thing has nothing to do with the other
different players mature at different ages and indeed go off the boil at different ages
some like samus oneil play their best Ball before they are 21 and others like Pat falon after they are  30 or kevin o'neill  Brilliant  at u21 and over 30 no career inbetween.
All im saying is let him develop at his own pace
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 20, 2011, 08:03:27 PM
Serious? You're saying O'Neill was no good in between the years of 21-30???
Post by: muppet on January 20, 2011, 08:04:48 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on January 20, 2011, 08:03:27 PM

Didn't know he played that long ago. ???
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 20, 2011, 08:39:17 PM
Ah now you know what I mean muppet! :D
Post by: venter on January 20, 2011, 10:10:39 PM
solid performance from the corner backs on sat evening! Two midfielders were good too, especially Mcgarrity in the second half. O'Connor looks like he has a bit of potential in at corner forward, lovely point at the end. Disappointed not to see James cafferty not togging for Gmit, he's been cursed with injuries for last 2 years.  Fairly poor performance, 7 pints in Johnny's and wrote off all of sunday!
Post by: rosnarun on January 20, 2011, 11:03:28 PM
hr never became the player he look like he was going to be when he started out. he was decent enough but promised so much more
Post by: moysider on January 20, 2011, 11:52:35 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on January 20, 2011, 11:03:28 PM
hr never became the player he look like he was going to be when he started out. he was decent enough but promised so much more

You have to take into consideration that he had a knee injury in the mid nineties that could have finished him and nearly did. There was also a badly torn hamstring that left him with a hole in the muscle that meant he couldn't kick a dead ball again. When you consider that he was never greased lightening in the first place he didn't do to bad. Maybe the blank years are more of a reflection on others than on O Neill himself. I remember other Mayo players like Michael Collins and Gary Ruane who were left aside during their 20's as well.And that trend may not be at an end yet. Anyway the case of O Neill has been well trawled over before and the player and another significant have had their say on the matter.
Post by: AbbeySider on January 21, 2011, 09:14:21 AM
Quote from: moysider on January 20, 2011, 11:52:35 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on January 20, 2011, 11:03:28 PM

You have to take into consideration that he had a knee injury in the mid nineties that could have finished him and nearly did. There was also a badly torn hamstring that left him with a hole in the muscle that meant he couldn't kick a dead ball again. When you consider that he was never greased lightening in the first place he didn't do to bad. Maybe the blank years are more of a reflection on others than on O Neill himself. I remember other Mayo players like Michael Collins and Gary Ruane who were left aside during their 20's as well.And that trend may not be at an end yet. Anyway the case of O Neill has been well trawled over before and the player and another significant have had their say on the matter.

Didnt O Neill break one of his legs too or is that my imagination?
I also think he was travelling and on the road a lot as he worked with a merchant bank or something to that effect
Post by: AbbeySider on January 21, 2011, 09:17:21 AM
Mayo team Vs Rossies - totally new from the last day

1)   Kenneth O'Malley   Ballinrobe
2)   Keith Higgins   Ballyhaunis
3)   David Killeen   Ballinrobe
4)   Eoghan Reilly   Castlebar Mitchels
5)   Trevor Howley   Knockmore
6)   Lee Keegan   Westport
7)   Ruadiri O'Connor   Ballintubber
8)   Barry Moran   Castlebar Mitchels
9)   James Kilcullen   Ballaghadereen
10)   Ian Rowland   Crossmolina
11)   Cathal Freeman   Aghamore
12)   Andrew Farrell   Killalla
13)   Enda Varley   Garrymore
14)   Mark Ronaldson   Shrule-Glencorrib
15)   Brian Benson   Crossmolina
Post by: southsider on January 21, 2011, 01:30:43 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on January 21, 2011, 09:17:21 AM

not often you see ballinrobe having the equal largest contingent on a mayo team!
Post by: ross4life on January 21, 2011, 04:53:33 PM
Why does Barry Moran get the sunglasses treatment is he cooler than the rest?

Anyways heavy frost forecasted for this weekend so likely to be called off.
Post by: ross4life on January 21, 2011, 04:55:44 PM
Quote from: southsider on January 21, 2011, 01:30:43 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on January 21, 2011, 09:17:21 AM

not often you see ballinrobe having the equal largest contingent on a mayo team!

Well Mayo Ladies had plenty of Ballinrobe players
Post by: muppet on January 21, 2011, 05:26:49 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 21, 2011, 04:53:33 PM

Have you not noticed that before statto?

Type a list going 1), 2), 3) etc. when you do 8 and a ) you gets the dude smilie. HTML code or something.
Post by: ross4life on January 21, 2011, 06:27:16 PM
Thanks for clearing that up kermit the frog.
Post by: rosnarun on January 21, 2011, 07:57:15 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 21, 2011, 05:26:49 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 21, 2011, 04:53:33 PM

Have you not noticed that before statto?

Type a list going 1), 2), 3) etc. when you do 8 and a ) you gets the dude smilie. HTML code or something.

shit i thought there was going to be a winters long row about the merits of Barry and midfield V FF
Post by: ross4life on January 22, 2011, 07:13:25 PM
Leitrim v GMIT is off all other venues have been passed to play following pitch inspections.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on January 23, 2011, 10:42:20 AM
Quote from: ross4life on January 22, 2011, 07:13:25 PM
Leitrim v GMIT is off all other venues have been passed to play following pitch inspections.

...although there will be another pitch inspection at Ballyhaunis circa 1:59pm today...
Post by: SLIGONIAN on January 23, 2011, 11:19:16 AM
Its a wonder with all that money he got he dosent go with undersoil heating in ballyhaunis ;)

If we go back to the summer sure they decided to cut the grass on the day of the junior final and up until throw in there was a load of loose grass on a wet surface for the players to enjoy slidding on. The quicker these clowns grow too old and leave our organisation the better.
Post by: Tubberman on January 23, 2011, 11:49:25 AM
Mayo v Roscommon put back to 2:30pm
There will be another pitch inspection at 12:30 so not definite that it will go ahead at all
Post by: AbbeySider on January 23, 2011, 12:39:29 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on January 23, 2011, 11:49:25 AM
There will be another pitch inspection at 12:30 so not definite that it will go ahead at all

Just announced on Mad Whest Radio that the game is officially going ahead after an inspection  ;D
Post by: muppet on January 23, 2011, 01:21:19 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on January 23, 2011, 12:39:29 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on January 23, 2011, 11:49:25 AM

Just announced on Mad Whest Radio that the game is officially going ahead after an inspection  ;D

Yes but to allow the pitch to thaw they have put back the throw-in until March.
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 23, 2011, 02:33:53 PM
Latest: Galway 0-5 IT Sligo 0-3
NUIG 1-4 Sligo 0-4
Post by: maigheo on January 23, 2011, 03:07:29 PM
ros 0.06  mayo 0.03  26 min
Post by: muppet on January 23, 2011, 03:11:19 PM
Ros 7 Mayo 6 HT
Post by: maigheo on January 23, 2011, 03:12:03 PM
ros 0.07  mayo 0.06  ht. ronaldson with 0.05.Freeman doing well at chf for mayo
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 23, 2011, 03:22:46 PM
Mayo 1-7 Roscommon 0-8 Brian Benson with the goal.
Post by: muppet on January 23, 2011, 03:38:03 PM
1-10 to 0-8 50 mins from Twitter
Post by: maigheo on January 23, 2011, 03:44:42 PM
mayo 1.10 ros 0.08. mark ronaldson with 1.06.5 min to go.
Post by: muppet on January 23, 2011, 03:46:26 PM
1-12 to 0-8.

Post by: Peter Solan the Great on January 23, 2011, 03:53:54 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 23, 2011, 03:46:26 PM
1-12 to 0-8.

I told you we would hammer them.
Post by: muppet on January 23, 2011, 03:59:40 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on January 23, 2011, 03:53:54 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 23, 2011, 03:46:26 PM
1-12 to 0-8.

Big win for Mayo and the Fianna Fail government collapses, you must be orgasmic Peter.
Post by: ross4life on January 23, 2011, 04:22:01 PM
Well from a Roscommon point of view.... excellent 1st half could/should have been leading by 4/5 points (loads of goal chances missed)  :-\

2nd half awful from us, seem to give up after the mayo goal? only 1 point in 30+ mins = a defeat every time.

Main cause of concern is the Donal Shine hand injury hopefully nothing serious.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on January 23, 2011, 04:59:53 PM
Sounds like a good performance despite a slow start, 15 changes and so many others unavailable. Hope a few of the new lads have put their hands up for a game or two in the league.

Speaking of which, with so many being tried out this year, its likely that we'll have to continue the experimentation well into the league to get a feel for who is genuinely up to championship football. If that was to cost us our Division 1 status, I wouldn't mind at all as long as we learnt from it and had the 15 best available on the field for the championship.

Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on January 23, 2011, 03:53:54 PM

Seriously, can we not do something about this lad, he isn't even good comedy anymore.

Post by: ross4life on January 23, 2011, 05:08:37 PM
How many of that Mayo team today would be first 15? for Roscommon about 5 i would say.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on January 23, 2011, 05:12:48 PM
We have problems

Sligo 0-13 NUIG 3-9

Very harsh scoreline as we dominated for long periods and played some entertaining attacking football. Game started off with Pat Hughes straight threw on NUIG keeper only to kick it straight at him, then NUIG went up a got a sharp goal.  The 2 mayo corner forward were very sharp and slick and it took us a while to get to grips but our problems were in midfield and HB line. It was 1-2 to 0-1 and then at HT it was 1-7 to 0-6. Sligo outscored NUIG in the first 25 mins of 2nd half 6 to 2 to level 1-9 to 0-12 and sligo missed a 20yard free, 3 goal chances, one a decent save, 2 other just wide, maye just missed 2 frees aswell in that 25 min spell. When Sligo drew level with a brilliant  brehony point 5 mins left and sligo on top everywhere, a normal person would think sligo win but typical sligo. 2 long balls over ross donovan into his man equals 2 goals, game over.

Our corner backs keep making fatal errors, M Quinn nailed down the CHB postion with a very asured performance, Harrison did well wing back, Midfield non existant for us, but Gilmartin did well for them,  moftm was marren, absolutely destroyed the NUIG defence time and again, won 50/50 ball, looks seriously sharp and confident, costello did well when introduced and got a trademark score, brehony was very good aswell, kennedy at corner back did well for long spells but like ross we cant afford laspses. Gilsenan did fine at FB imo but need to see more of him there. EOH did well at CHF.

For the NFL i can see us conceding a few heavy scores and i dont think we have the midfield to get enough ball into forwards to outscore teams.
Post by: muppet on January 23, 2011, 05:14:47 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 23, 2011, 05:08:37 PM
How many of that Mayo team today would be first 15? for Roscommon about 5 i would say.

Hopefully some of the new faces will turn into top IC players but realistically only Higgins would be a cert.

Howley, Barry Moran and Ronaldson would be all in with a shout of starting.

The more of the rest that come into serious contention the better.
Post by: muppet on January 23, 2011, 05:15:45 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on January 23, 2011, 05:12:48 PM
We have problems

Sligo 0-13 NUIG 3-9

Very harsh scoreline as we dominated for long periods and played some entertaining attacking football. Game started off with Pat Hughes straight threw on NUIG keeper only to kick it straight at him, then NUIG went up a got a sharp goal.  The 2 mayo corner forward were very sharp and slick and it took us a while to get to grips but our problems were in midfield and HB line. It was 1-2 to 0-1 and then at HT it was 1-7 to 0-6. Sligo outscored NUIG in the first 25 mins of 2nd half 6 to 2 to level 1-9 to 0-12 and sligo missed a 20yard free, 3 goal chances, one a decent save, 2 other just wide, maye just missed 2 frees aswell in that 25 min spell. When Sligo drew level with a brilliant  brehony point 5 mins left and sligo on top everywhere, a normal person would think sligo win but typical sligo. 2 long balls over ross donovan into his man equals 2 goals, game over.

Our corner backs keep making fatal errors, M Quinn nailed down the CHB postion with a very asured performance, Harrison did well wing back, Midfield non existant for us, but Gilmartin did well for them,  moftm was marren, absolutely destroyed the NUIG defence time and again, won 50/50 ball, looks seriously sharp and confident, costello did well when introduced and got a trademark score, brehony was very good aswell, kennedy at corner back did well for long spells but like ross we cant afford laspses. Gilsenan did fine at FB imo but need to see more of him there. EOH did well at CHF.

For the NFL i can see us conceding a few heavy scores and i dont think we have the midfield to get enough ball into forwards to outscore teams.

Was that Douglas and Doherty?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on January 23, 2011, 05:18:59 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 23, 2011, 05:15:45 PM
We have problems

Sligo 0-13 NUIG 3-9

I think so, not hugely familar with mayo panel. Very impressed with both though.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on January 23, 2011, 05:20:09 PM

I don't think anyone has an iota of what our first 15 is at the moment, but as a guide only two of that 15 started against Sligo last year (Higgins and Varley) and only two against Longford as well (Higgins and Howley).

Some of today's lads won't be seen come summer of course but it is good for them to be part of a winning mayo team and hopefully we can pull a couple of genuine county players out of all this experimentation.
Post by: ross4life on January 23, 2011, 05:21:08 PM
Worrying times indeed for Sligo fans 3 FBD games with no wins & won't get any easier in Divison 2

Doherty looks the real deal whenever i seen him play he has to be part of Mayo plans this year?
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 23, 2011, 05:25:36 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 23, 2011, 05:21:08 PM
Worrying times indeed for Sligo fans 3 FBD games with no wins & won't get any easier in Divison 2

Doherty looks the real deal whenever i seen him play he has to be part of Mayo plans this year?

Him, Neil Douglas to come in from NUIG, Alan Freeman and Aidan O'Shea to come in from DIT, Enda Varley, Mark Ronaldson and Cillian O'Connor showing up well inside so far in the FBD. Options aplenty for the full-forward line. Can't see Conor Mortimer figuring this year.
Post by: ross4life on January 23, 2011, 05:26:45 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on January 23, 2011, 05:20:09 PM

I don't think anyone has an iota of what our first 15 is at the moment, but as a guide only two of that 15 started against Sligo last year (Higgins and Varley) and only two against Longford as well (Higgins and Howley).

Some of today's lads won't be seen come summer of course but it is good for them to be part of a winning mayo team and hopefully we can pull a couple of genuine county players out of all this experimentation.

Lets be honest alot of the guys that played v Longford/Sligo should never see another Mayo Senior jersey again.
Post by: shark on January 23, 2011, 05:29:56 PM
Sligonian, asking here from a Westmeath perspective. How did Gilmartins midfield partner Denis Corroon show up? Westmeath destroyed at midfield today.
Post by: spectator on January 23, 2011, 05:39:49 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 23, 2011, 05:25:36 PM

Him, Neil Douglas to come in from NUIG, Alan Freeman and Aidan O'Shea to come in from DIT, Enda Varley, Mark Ronaldson and Cillian O'Connor showing up well inside so far in the FBD. Options aplenty for the full-forward line. Can't see Conor Mortimer figuring this year.

Do Mayo seem to be playing to any set pattern in the two games so far? It's going to be interesting to see what panel Horan picks for the league. Should be a good pointer to what stamp he's planning on putting on ye. He has no shortage of competition for places by  the looks of things.
Post by: moysider on January 23, 2011, 05:47:59 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 23, 2011, 05:26:45 PM

Lets be honest alot of the guys that played v Longford/Sligo should never see another Mayo Senior jersey again.

To be honest some of us have thought and said the same thing. I called for the panel be formally stood down after Longford. The problem is that individually many of those players may still have a lot to offer. As a team though they were a rabble. The Kerrry or Tyrone squads wouldn't have fared much better with that mismanagement though.
Post by: criostlinn on January 23, 2011, 05:59:01 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 23, 2011, 05:15:45 PM
We have problems

Sligo 0-13 NUIG 3-9

Yep doherty and douglas. Doherty got the 3 goals. Dillon and Gardiner also played. What are these lads studying. 8 Mayo men on the team and  John Maughan in charge they are going to have to change the colour of the kit
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on January 23, 2011, 06:00:37 PM

To be honest there are only 3 or 4 that I would put in that category. Of course there will be a fair few changes this year but most of those who played those games have shown at other times that they have something to offer at their best and don't deserve to be discounted by Horan based on the mess that was our championship campaign last year.

Criostlinn - who were the other four Mayo men?
Post by: shark on January 23, 2011, 06:14:33 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on January 23, 2011, 06:00:37 PM

To be honest there are only 3 or 4 that I would put in that category. Of course there will be a fair few changes this year but most of those who played those games have shown at other times that they have something to offer at their best and don't deserve to be discounted by Horan based on the mess that was our championship campaign last year.

Criostlinn - who were the other four Mayo men?

Ciaran Conroy is one. I'm a bit sketchy on the names but Nally(cant think of his first name) is another. Rochford from Crossmolina. Is Shane McHale from Mayo too? Donal Newcombe also.
Post by: criostlinn on January 23, 2011, 06:23:00 PM
NUI, Galway: Nathan King, Ciaran McDonald, Shane McHale, Keith Rogers, Peadar Gardiner, Ciaran Conroy, Josh Moore, Stephen Gilmartin, Denis Corroon, Fiachra Deasmhunaigh, Greg Higgins, Mark McHugh, Neil Douglas, Aodhan Mullan, Jason Doherty.

Dillon was named on the bench but started. There was another scatter of Mayo lads in the subs. Don't ask me who the were
Post by: muppet on January 23, 2011, 06:31:42 PM
Quote from: criostlinn on January 23, 2011, 06:23:00 PM
NUI, Galway: Nathan King, Ciaran McDonald, Shane McHale, Keith Rogers, Peadar Gardiner, Ciaran Conroy, Josh Moore, Stephen Gilmartin, Denis Corroon, Fiachra Deasmhunaigh, Greg Higgins, Mark McHugh, Neil Douglas, Aodhan Mullan, Jason Doherty.

Dillon was named on the bench but started. There was another scatter of Mayo lads in the subs. Don't ask me who the were

Is that Keith Rogers a Mayo minor from a year or two ago?
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 23, 2011, 06:32:22 PM
Shane McHale and Keith Rogers have plenty to offer too but they're young yet so will probably be with the Under 21s first and see how they get on.

Also, I forgot one obvious choice for a full-forward line place - Aidan Kilcoyne. Barry Moran looks like he is trying out for midfield rather than full-forward.

Muppet - that's him. Ballaghaderreen lad.
Post by: whiskeysteve on January 23, 2011, 06:34:26 PM

Hows Mullan getting on for NUIG, did anyone notice? Clubmate of mine up in Derry
Post by: ildanach on January 23, 2011, 06:37:58 PM

if only the original was starting off his career again!
we weren't very impressive v roscommon today but sure its early days. Looking forward to the down game in 13 days. The flood lights will add to the excitement of the new beginning!
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on January 23, 2011, 06:48:06 PM
Colm Gannon quick as ever with the match report

http://www.advertiser.ie/mayo/article/35646 (http://www.advertiser.ie/mayo/article/35646)
Post by: shark on January 23, 2011, 06:49:22 PM
Quote from: ildanach on January 23, 2011, 06:37:58 PM

if only the original was starting off his career again!
we weren't very impressive v roscommon today but sure its early days. Looking forward to the down game in 13 days. The flood lights will add to the excitement of the new beginning!

This Ciaran McDonald is potentially as good a back as the Mayo one was a forward
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 23, 2011, 06:59:23 PM
I must add that Cathal Freeman was a breath of fresh air today. Serious performer, a classy player and has loads to offer in the half-forward line.
Post by: muppet on January 23, 2011, 07:04:23 PM
A huge welcome back to the over the top early season infectious optimism.

We need it now more than ever.

Mayo for Sam in 2011
Post by: ross4life on January 23, 2011, 07:08:00 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on January 23, 2011, 06:48:06 PM
Colm Gannon quick as ever with the match report

http://www.advertiser.ie/mayo/article/35646 (http://www.advertiser.ie/mayo/article/35646)

& he's spot on with that report "The fact that Mayo went in only down by a point at half time, will be something that will have many Roscommon supporters and players scratching their heads about. The Connacht champions should have had the ball in the back of the net on at least three occasions."
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 23, 2011, 07:08:27 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 23, 2011, 07:04:23 PM

What's over the top? That some players played well and that we have options?
Post by: muppet on January 23, 2011, 07:09:59 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 23, 2011, 07:08:27 PM

Did you see the post before yours?
Post by: ross4life on January 23, 2011, 07:11:16 PM

We need it now more than ever.

Mayo for Sam in 2011

Are you related to farmer2 from Hoganstand by any chance?
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 23, 2011, 07:20:37 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 23, 2011, 07:09:59 PM

About Ciaran McDonald? But he's from Tipp, are we at crossed wires?

Post by: muppet on January 23, 2011, 07:30:20 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 23, 2011, 07:20:37 PM

I think so, it doesn't matter where he is from pronouncing him as good as CMcD is imho ott. But that is what sites like this, and being a Gaa supporter are all about.

He has played a few years for the Tipp seniors afaik. I though he was a full back though

And I still think we will win Sam.
Post by: ross4life on January 23, 2011, 07:47:25 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 23, 2011, 07:30:20 PM

I think so, it doesn't matter where he is from pronouncing him as good as CMcD is imho ott. But that is what sites like this, and being a Gaa supporter are all about.

He has played a few years for the Tipp seniors afaik. I though he was a full back though

How many times have you updated the MWWSI thing now??
Post by: SLIGONIAN on January 23, 2011, 07:57:30 PM
Quote from: shark on January 23, 2011, 05:29:56 PM
Sligonian, asking here from a Westmeath perspective. How did Gilmartins midfield partner Denis Corroon show up? Westmeath destroyed at midfield today.

I have good news, if this wasnt an one off he was immense, strong running, serious presence aorund the middle, won ball clean, scored, he impressed me and those around me, he also got a yellow for fighting costello so not afraid of the physical. He outplayed taylor for us but bear in mind taylor didnt try a leg today. If he was a Sligoman id definitly be optimistic about him.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on January 23, 2011, 08:00:41 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on January 23, 2011, 06:34:26 PM

Hows Mullan getting on for NUIG, did anyone notice? Clubmate of mine up in Derry
Mullan looked ordinary enough, he was being marked by a rookie FB from my club and i thought our fella shaded it. Must be said our fella wasnt tested with long range ball into mullan as NUIG did plenty of damge in the corners and coming from deep. NUIG are a fine side so its achivenment getting his place.
Post by: muppet on January 23, 2011, 08:06:25 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 23, 2011, 07:47:25 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 23, 2011, 07:30:20 PM

How many times have you updated the MWWSI thing now??

This is year two of a two year plan.
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 23, 2011, 08:15:58 PM

I hope he will too, however things don't always end up as they 'should' in Mayo football teams.
Post by: whiskeysteve on January 23, 2011, 08:20:10 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on January 23, 2011, 08:00:41 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on January 23, 2011, 06:34:26 PM

Mullan looked ordinary enough, he was being marked by a rookie FB from my club and i thought our fella shaded it. Must be said our fella wasnt tested with long range ball into mullan as NUIG did plenty of damge in the corners and coming from deep. NUIG are a fine side so its achivenment getting his place.

Cheers for the report, Sligonian. Aye hes only 20 and I wouldn't have a clue how strong NUIG are so wouldn't know how he'd be faring.

We'd have him playing out round the pitch more, midfield or half forward line but sure if he's getting his chance with a strong uni team against county teams im happy!
Post by: shark on January 23, 2011, 08:23:09 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on January 23, 2011, 07:57:30 PM
Quote from: shark on January 23, 2011, 05:29:56 PM

I have good news, if this wasnt an one off he was immense, strong running, serious presence aorund the middle, won ball clean, scored, he impressed me and those around me, he also got a yellow for fighting costello so not afraid of the physical. He outplayed taylor for us but bear in mind taylor didnt try a leg today. If he was a Sligoman id definitly be optimistic about him.

Good stuff. Has serious potential alright, so it wouldn't be considered a one off. Was captain of Wmeath u21s last year but spent the summer in the states. I would think he is beat placed at the moment in the race to partner John Heslin in midfield.
Post by: moysider on January 23, 2011, 08:30:58 PM
Mayo Examiner reporter pretty much on the money for me. We started awful poorly. In fact it was terrible stuff but I suppose that can be expected with totally new teams every week.
I felt we were a different proposition when the ball started going through Freeman in the second half. Great to see him bac. I hope he is allowed to get experience playing there now - not like we ve had an alternative anyway. Andrew Farrell knows what to do as well when he gets the ball. Ronaldson was deadly from frees and took his goal well. Some poor shot selection at the end by him when we should have added a few more scores. David Killleen had the better of Shine (who seemed to break or dislocate something in hand/wrist). Richie Feeney also impressed when he came on. Barry Moran had a decent second-half showing as well. Think there were enough successes over last two games to be getting on with.
Post by: moysider on January 23, 2011, 08:41:44 PM

Good to see McHale playing fullback. What did you make of him Criostlinn? Or Sligonian if you spot this?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on January 23, 2011, 08:51:50 PM
Sligo played 2 man FF line of maye and marren, marren destroyed his man all day, maye was well marshalled, couldnt tell who was marking either nr wise tbh.. but marren was wearing 14 so mchale was probably marking him. With 2 st molaise gaels men at 3 and 6 for us i was situated close to Sligo defence both halfs.
Post by: criostlinn on January 23, 2011, 09:12:10 PM
Quote from: moysider on January 23, 2011, 08:41:44 PM

Good to see McHale playing fullback. What did you make of him Criostlinn? Or Sligonian if you spot this?

Id prefer not to say to much about any performances. Really was a nothing game with players on both sides well off the pace. Shane McHale is a good player and will have way better opportunities then this game to prove his worth in a mayo shirt.
Post by: AbbeySider on January 23, 2011, 10:59:43 PM
I was at the Mayo V Roscommon game today and I have to say I was kind of disappointed with some of the performances of Mayo players, particularly in the first half. We should have been bet out the gate if Roscommon took their goal chances in and I think the scoreboard flattered us a bit at half time. In the first half we were having a torrid time all over the defence with a lot of players mistiming catches, fumbling high balls and getting turned inside out by Roscommon forwards. The rustiness was very apparent but in the second half we settled a bit better defensively, with Keegan and Killeen coming into it more although Im not sure was it the fact that we dominated more upfront and the defence had less to do. Killeen to his credit seemed to better get the measure of shine, and Keegan, although playing kind of loose (his man number 10 caused some damage) got on a lot of ball and did Ok.

At midfield we were wiped in the first half and I dont think we won a clean kickout and were losing the breaking ball count badly. Moran worked harder in the second half and Kilcullen distributed the ball well but we still were still well beaten in the air. Jason Gibbons did well when he came on, getting a point and hitting some sublime passes into Varley and Ronaldson. Up front, only Varley and Ronaldson seemed to really standout and had fine performances throughout. The rest of the forwards were washy enough with Cathal Freeman having some good spells, especially in the second half.

The second half was like a different game. I think that Roscommon tired, and that after the goal they hung the heads. Shine going off injured seemed to take the life out of them altogether and we really dominated the last 20 minutes or so.

All in all, playing badly and wining Im not sure how much we learned today but as they say, a win is a win. It will be interesting to see some of the other guys next week. I can imagine that we will see a few more faces.
Post by: moysider on January 23, 2011, 11:18:26 PM
Quote from: criostlinn on January 23, 2011, 09:12:10 PM

Id prefer not to say to much about any performances. Really was a nothing game with players on both sides well off the pace. Shane McHale is a good player and will have way better opportunities then this game to prove his worth in a mayo shirt.

Ah yeah, that s fair enough. I ve been at the 2 Mayo games and I ve not been critical of anybody I hope. Not everybody has been a roaring success but there has been enough positives - which I have mentioned - that gives me some optimism that we will get a new improved Mayo team this year. Others probably saw other or different positives.
  I also expect to see quiet a few novices make the team for the league and going forward. I don't subscribe to the view that all of the fbd players will melt away come the begining of spring. A lot of these College players are not exactly regular county players either. Douglas was on the periphery of the squad and I dont think Doherty was in the squad, so selection is very much up in the air. Other mature College players can not be assured of anything either. I think there is a level playing field there for everybody and that is the way it should be now.
Post by: mannix on January 23, 2011, 11:20:35 PM
Looks like Horan has a few good players to work with here. Maybe the nfl will give us a better idea about whats really going on but either way it will be a huge improvement on the last year or two.
Come on Mayo.
Post by: moysider on January 23, 2011, 11:32:33 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on January 23, 2011, 10:59:43 PM
I was at the Mayo V Roscommon game today and I have to say I was kind of disappointed with some of the performances of Mayo players, particularly in the first half. We should have been bet out the gate if Roscommon took their goal chances in and I think the scoreboard flattered us a bit at half time. In the first half we were having a torrid time all over the defence with a lot of players mistiming catches, fumbling high balls and getting turned inside out by Roscommon forwards. The rustiness was very apparent but in the second half we settled a bit better defensively, with Keegan and Killeen coming into it more although Im not sure was it the fact that we dominated more upfront and the defence had less to do. Killeen to his credit seemed to better get the measure of shine, and Keegan, although playing kind of loose (his man number 10 caused some damage) got on a lot of ball and did Ok.

At midfield we were wiped in the first half and I dont think we won a clean kickout and were losing the breaking ball count badly. Moran worked harder in the second half and Kilcullen distributed the ball well but we still were still well beaten in the air. Jason Gibbons did well when he came on, getting a point and hitting some sublime passes into Varley and Ronaldson. Up front, only Varley and Ronaldson seemed to really standout and had fine performances throughout. The rest of the forwards were washy enough with Cathal Freeman having some good spells, especially in the second half.

The second half was like a different game. I think that Roscommon tired, and that after the goal they hung the heads. Shine going off injured seemed to take the life out of them altogether and we really dominated the last 20 minutes or so.

All in all, playing badly and wining Im not sure how much we learned today but as they say, a win is a win. It will be interesting to see some of the other guys next week. I can imagine that we will see a few more faces.

I believe it was like a different game because we played a more structured game. We played the game through Freeman and he didn't waste a ball. Moran too was more tuned in second half and grafted a bit and kept it simple. I suppose we all are looking for and see different things but Freeman and Farrell were the pick of the forwards for me. If Farrell can have a good U21 it will bring him along more. Ronaldson was v good also but we were not clinical enough at the end and there was some ridiculous shot selection there from guys that should know better.

Post by: SLIGONIAN on January 23, 2011, 11:38:20 PM
Quote from: moysider on January 23, 2011, 11:18:26 PM

Ah yeah, that s fair enough. I ve been at the 2 Mayo games and I ve not been critical of anybody I hope. Not everybody has been a roaring success but there has been enough positives - which I have mentioned - that gives me some optimism that we will get a new improved Mayo team this year. Others probably saw other or different positives.
  I also expect to see quiet a few novices make the team for the league and going forward. I don't subscribe to the view that all of the fbd players will melt away come the begining of spring. A lot of these College players are not exactly regular county players either. Douglas was on the periphery of the squad and I dont think Doherty was in the squad, so selection is very much up in the air. Other mature College players can not be assured of anything either. I think there is a level playing field there for everybody and that is the way it should be now.
On Douglas and Doherty if they dont get a chance with mayo we will gladly take them ;) probably why they were so up for the game today in front of the Sligo public and walsh
Post by: moysider on January 23, 2011, 11:46:09 PM
Quote from: mannix on January 23, 2011, 11:20:35 PM
Looks like Horan has a few good players to work with here. Maybe the nfl will give us a better idea about whats really going on but either way it will be a huge improvement on the last year or two.
Come on Mayo.

It might not be. Remember we are a division 1 team without a team basically. That s the legacy of the last management sadly. Horan has to be brave and good and lucky all at the same time. I m sure Horan has a first 15 in his head already but he ll find that he will have to revise that several times over the next 6 months.
On a different note I got the impression that some of the more 'established' players didn't exactly burst themselves last 2 games. Maybe I imagined last Summer?
Post by: moysider on January 24, 2011, 12:03:18 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on January 23, 2011, 11:38:20 PM
Quote from: moysider on January 23, 2011, 11:18:26 PM

On Douglas and Doherty if they dont get a chance with mayo we will gladly take them ;) probably why they were so up for the game today in front of the Sligo public and walsh

Of course they will get a chance. They have been regular underage players and Douglas was in the panel last year and Doherty probably should have been. Not that that panel had or has any credibility. Horan s task is to identify the players that will gel into the team he wants to shape. To casual and even informed observers there is probably very little between likes of Douglas, Doherty, Varley, Kilcoyne, a young O Connor and Ronaldson for maybe 2/3 places. That is one of a few areas where  his judgement and his instinct will decide whether Horan will be a success or failure. He ll see a lot of these players and will know a lot about them.
Post by: ross4life on January 24, 2011, 12:04:13 AM
Quote from: moysider on January 23, 2011, 11:32:33 PM

I believe it was like a different game because we played a more structured game. We played the game through Freeman and he didn't waste a ball. Moran too was more tuned in second half and grafted a bit and kept it simple. I suppose we all are looking for and see different things but Freeman and Farrell were the pick of the forwards for me. If Farrell can have a good U21 it will bring him along more. Ronaldson was v good also but we were not clinical enough at the end and there was some ridiculous shot selection there from guys that should know better.

Christ... trying finishing a game with 8 points like we did, in any given game we struggle to be clinical same old story at Senior,Minor & under 21

On a frosty Jan afternoon 1-12 is decent score especially without all your main forward players.
Post by: moysider on January 24, 2011, 12:41:59 AM
Quote from: ross4life on January 24, 2011, 12:04:13 AM
Quote from: moysider on January 23, 2011, 11:32:33 PM

Christ... trying finishing a game with 8 points like we did, in any given game we struggle to be clinical same old story at Senior,Minor & under 21

On a frosty Jan afternoon 1-12 is decent score especially without all your main forward players.

I know, I know but you know what I mean too. But by the way we were not without our all our main forward players. Or even any of them. We dont have any main forward players. We haven't had any proper team for some time.
And bad decision making and poor shot selection is never good at any time of year.The pitch today was grand and not a puff of wind. We in Mayo need to learn to be clinical.
Roscommon s fade out amazed me to be honest. You might not be happy with this but i think yer early dominance was probably down to us being a mess as well. When we settled and kept the ball better Ros got very few chances.
Post by: ross4life on January 24, 2011, 01:18:05 AM
Well Dillon,Andy Moran are certain starters? i don't think many of todays forwards will play much part when the big games comes along & Roscommons fade outs don't amazed me it's like clock work! TBH it could also be said that yer dominance in the final 25mins was down to us being a mess.

Post by: moysider on January 24, 2011, 01:49:24 AM
Quote from: ross4life on January 24, 2011, 01:18:05 AM
Well Dillon,Andy Moran are certain starters? i don't think many of todays forwards will play much part when the big games comes along & Roscommons fade outs don't amazed me it's like clock work! TBH it could also be said that yer dominance in the final 25mins was down to us being a mess.

True. But is in not worrying that ye had a good cut about ye and then faded? You would expect a team to consolidate as they settled into the game. Dillon a certain starter for sure if fit. The others would be Aidan O Sé, Alan Freeman (on last years form) and Harte will come into the equation, if his recovery from cruciate operation continues.
Post by: ross4life on January 24, 2011, 02:02:06 AM
Worring yes & it's not improving as the years pass by. is Conor Mortimer ruled out for the year? BTW it didn't surprise me to see Ronaldson score 1-7 yesterday if my memory serves me right he was Mayos top scorer in the NFL last year only to not get selected for the CSFC.
Post by: Tubberman on January 24, 2011, 09:50:16 AM
Interesting to see the views of others who were at the match yesterday. I agree with some and disagree with others.
Killeen was looking very ropey early on (as was Keith Higgins), but both were much better in the second half. Killeen got the hand in and dispossessed very well. Shine didn't really put in much of an effort though I thought. Higgins started to make his typical runs up the wing, but showed again that he is a wing half back, not a corner back.
Kilcullen's physicality and workrate were very good throughout, he saw a lot of ball and did well. But I'm not sure he's right for midfield - he's not the tallest, so is unlikely to win clean ball but could be good with breaking ball.
Barry Moran looked very sluggish in the first half, but along with the rest of the team improved in the second half. The Ros duo of Finneran and Higgins completely dominated midfield for most of the first half, the way the fell away in the second half was very strange. I thought Jason Gibbons was excellent when he came on - he looked up straight away and put in some excellent quick ball into the forwards (Varley mainly).
Another man who played with his head up and used the ball very well was Freeman - again, in the second half he improved hugely. He was afforded a lot of time by Ros though, so it will be interesting to see how he does with less time and space.
Farrell got the point of the day in the second half, but apart from that I have to say I wasn't all that impressed. He did a lot of running, but there wasn't much of a plan to what he was doing as far as I could see.
Ronaldson and Varley did the scoring. Varley showed well for ball and won an awful lot in the second half. Ronaldson did well, his pace always makes him dangerous but he hit a couple of poor wides and as has been said, took a couple of wild shots towards the end, especially one over his shoulder from the right hand side.
I think a lot of the established players will be nervous, and they're right to be. There is plenty of competition - what will be interesting to see is if anyone manages to stand out in their position or if we have a lot of players, all of similar standard.

Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 24, 2011, 12:28:36 PM
I dunno, I think a lot of ye are being overly critical of Mayo's opening half. The first quarter was poor, particularly from a defensive point of view but surely that is almost inevitable when you make fifteen changes and have a back six who never played with each other before and some who might not even be on first name terms? I thought Mayo's performance was encouraging when all that is taken into consideration.

Ronaldson was wasteful at the end but, to be fair, he was on fire and probably felt he was going to get those scores. And I've seen him score from those positions. In a tighter game I would hope that he would play the percentage option.

I thought Cathal Freeman was very good right through, even when Mayo were under pressure early on. His crossfield ball to Trevor Howley from the left-corner after about 20 minutes was sublime vision. And while the pass left Howley a bit of work to do, his bravey led to Mayo winning a free seconds later.

Of the new lads I'd like to see a lot more of David Killeen, James Kilcullen, Cathal Freeman and Andrew Farrell, of those that started. Ronaldson, Varley and Higgins showed up well too.
Post by: western exile on January 24, 2011, 12:56:51 PM
This was my first attendance at a game this year after a 3+ month break since the club finals last October. It was enjoyable with mild weather and a good size crowd, although the football could have been better. But it is early days yet and the ground is still heavy.

In the first half the Mayo defence was a shambles, but Roscommon could not take advantage of this which meant that Mayo went in a half time only trailing by a point. This piece of luck was a major contributory to them eventually winning the game.

In the second half, however, Mayo started to play a bit more controlled.  Up front Horan bucked a trend and put out a full forward line without any tall timber with Ronaldson at number 14. That said, both Varley and Ronaldson played well. Ronaldson in particular showed signs of what he would be able to do when the ground gets firmer later in the  year and has surely must be in the reckoning for the number 15 shirt. It is good to see so much competition for places in this area as Varley will have to fight off others for the other corner. And with Alan Freeman to return, this forward line is looking good. Kilcoyne showed he still has it when introduced late in the game. Benson, although he had a part in the goal,  he didn't do enough in this game to be considered.

Competition continues in the half forward line with Cathal Freeman putting in a good performance. Ian Rowland came in and out of the game in patches but showed good vision at times to pass the ball to a player in a better scoring position.
Midfield was not great. Jimmy Kilcullen was the better of the two of them and was unlucky to be replaced before Moran. Barry Moran is one of these players that a lot (maybe most) Mayo people see a lot more in him, than I do. I keep waiting for him to fulfil a potential but again yesterday I was disappointed.  Gibbons was good when he came on and is a midfield option.

At half back Ruairí O'Connor was best and adds to the competition for a wing back place. Howley made a very brave tackle in the second half which is the sort of commitment that will be required come big championship games later in the year. However, I was not impressed with the performance of Keegan. He was frequently out of position and when his opponent was in possession he followed him meekly and made limited attempt to stop his progress.

Keith Higgins showed that he a sure thing for Mayo 2011. Good defending, man marking and positional sense, and good runs forward to initiate a counter attack.  I think he could be a good option for number 6. Although corner back is one position on the team where there is less competition for places so he might be needed back there.
Killeen showed some good full back play in the second half, but also made just as many errors.  But with good coaching, if he could work on that, he could be an option there.

O'Malley was not called on for any saves, thanks to Roscommon poor shooting, but kick outs didn't always find a teammate. Perhaps the midfield pair had something to do with that.

All in all, a good outing for Mayo, turning a game they should have lost into a game they won easily.  (I still don't understand why Roscommon threw in the towel after the Mayo goal when there was still 20 minutes left). It was a good trial for a number of players.
Post by: AbbeySider on January 24, 2011, 01:05:49 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 24, 2011, 12:28:36 PM
I dunno, I think a lot of ye are being overly critical of Mayo's opening half. The first quarter was poor, particularly from a defensive point of view but surely that is almost inevitable when you make fifteen changes and have a back six who never played with each other before and some who might not even be on first name terms? I thought Mayo's performance was encouraging when all that is taken into consideration.
I dono. Suggesting guys are not being on first name terms is a bit of a stretch as they are all training and had just as much exposure of each other as the new guys that played last week. In fact, I thought the forwards on Sunday played more like a unit, passed it around more and were more structured than what we saw against GMIT so its all relative R&GS.

Ronaldson was wasteful at the end but, to be fair, he was on fire and probably felt he was going to get those scores. And I've seen him score from those positions. In a tighter game I would hope that he would play the percentage option.
Ya he scored 1-07 so I would have no complaints with himself or Varley, who worked his socks off.

I thought Cathal Freeman was very good right through, even when Mayo were under pressure early on. His crossfield ball to Trevor Howley from the left-corner after about 20 minutes was sublime vision. And while the pass left Howley a bit of work to do, his bravey led to Mayo winning a free seconds later.
Freeman played in spells in the first half. In the second half he was coming very deep looking for the ball and in turn hadnt much penetration although it appeared he got on a lot of ball. His use of possession was good, ill give him that but I wouldnt fancy any half forward playing as deep as he did.

Of the new lads I'd like to see a lot more of David Killeen, James Kilcullen, Cathal Freeman and Andrew Farrell, of those that started. Ronaldson, Varley and Higgins showed up well too.
Kilcullen didnt win a kickout and im not sure if he won a brake. His distribution and decision making was good though, but it took him a while to get up to the pace of the game. I hear he is based in England which isnt ideal but id hope he would get some confidence, more fitness and improve from here. Killeen started badly and im not sure if it was Shine that lost interest in the second half or if Killeen got the better of him. He is good in the air and solid in a tackle but a fast forward would burn him. I thought Farrell was mediocre apart from a good point and block down in the second half. He looked slightly off the pace and didnt provide much of an option off the shoulder to guys in possession. Number 5 for Roscommon was killing us winning the brakes. But again these experiences will count for a lot and he is still U21 so there is lots of room and time in his career to improve and push on.

I hope im not being to negative but sometimes a win like that can cover up the cracks. I just thing there is a lot of room for improvement in certain areas.
Post by: western exile on January 24, 2011, 01:12:49 PM

He appears to favour his right foot, and one of those shots towards the end were taken from a position and angle most difficult for a right foot kick. But the game was won then so he had a go.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 24, 2011, 03:55:09 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on January 24, 2011, 01:05:49 PM

I dono. Suggesting guys are not being on first name terms is a bit of a stretch as they are all training and had just as much exposure of each other as the new guys that played last week. In fact, I thought the forwards on Sunday played more like a unit, passed it around more and were more structured than what we saw against GMIT so its all relative R&GS.

Last week was against a weak enough GMIT side, the Roscommon team yesterday was stronger so that was always going to be a step-up, especially for such a raw defence. As for first name terms, maybe that is a stretch but would Keith Higgins be too sure about who David Killeen is? A lot of new faces and they're only training a couple of weeks. The forwards did play better and I think much of that came down to Cathal Freeman, in both halves. He was centrally involved in at least three of the first half scores and was on the ball as much as any Mayo player. As for him coming deep, I wouldn't worry too much about that. He's a creative player and the more he gets on the ball, the better, same applies with Alan Dillon and the likes.

Quote from: AbbeySider on January 24, 2011, 01:05:49 PM

Kilcullen didnt win a kickout and im not sure if he won a brake. His distribution and decision making was good though, but it took him a while to get up to the pace of the game. I hear he is based in England which isnt ideal but id hope he would get some confidence, more fitness and improve from here. Killeen started badly and im not sure if it was Shine that lost interest in the second half or if Killeen got the better of him. He is good in the air and solid in a tackle but a fast forward would burn him. I thought Farrell was mediocre apart from a good point and block down in the second half. He looked slightly off the pace and didnt provide much of an option off the shoulder to guys in possession. Number 5 for Roscommon was killing us winning the brakes. But again these experiences will count for a lot and he is still U21 so there is lots of room and time in his career to improve and push on.

I hope im not being to negative but sometimes a win like that can cover up the cracks. I just thing there is a lot of room for improvement in certain areas.

The bottom line is games like this, the win isn't really important, it is the performance of individuals and Sunday was a good day from that point of view. And I'm basing what I am saying on players on what I saw on Sunday combined with what I have seen of them in the past. James Kilcullen looked a bit off the pace to start with but came into it. You'll do very well to find a more physical player in Mayo club football and while he didn't do well in the air, he was on a very decent player in Kevin Higgins who also plucked the one ball ahead of Jason Gibbons that came his way. Kilcullen has something to offer as a physical presence beside someone like McGarrity (playing well) as a balanced midfield in my opinion. But, it is early doors and he would need to come on a bit from Sunday. The thing is that he can, because he has it in him.

We'll have to agree to disagree on David Killeen. Granted, Shine has no pace but Killeen still played him very well and won a few balls which were not easy won in the second half. But for Ballinrobe I saw him keep Aidan Kilcoyne in his pocket in a championship game against Knockmore and Kilcoyne is no slouch across the ground. He started badly but, in his first ever Mayo start at any level, nerves probably played a big part there.

Andrew Farrell is a very good prospect in my opinion. He's only 19 so we'll hardly see too much of him this year but his workrate and appetite make him certainly one for the future and I think he had a solid start.

I hope I am not being too positive in the same way as you think you are being too negative. Of course there are areas to work on. And that will remain the case for quite some time. What yesterday showed us is this - we have another creative half-forward line option (Freeman); more midfield options (Kilcullen and Gibbons); a long queue of people for the full-forward line (and decent quality in that respect too) and another option at full-back. What we don't have, or are even close to having at the moment, is a centre-half back, in my opinion. Keegan is a good player but too loose for the centre, maybe better on the wing. Early doors, a lot of work to do but an encouraging start nonetheless.
Post by: rosnarun on January 24, 2011, 10:33:53 PM
i dont think you can overestimate the unimportance of these games. they really are just dressed up friendly where new players are given a run in the county jersey to show the can reproduce a little of what they can do in training , which is what horan will use when deciding on his panel . remeber mayo were world beeater untill the league final last year and even the by that stage the FBD was ancient history.
I personally dont think there will bew that manyu chages in the mayo team straight away esp the forward line
i would expect it to be built along the l;ine as before with Dillion A moran C Mort  A Soé S soé  and A Freeman being the men to move and that thats 6 players in itself then you have P harte A kilcoyne A O'malley enda Varley Ronalson TMort and B Moran another 7, all of whom would be disappointed not to start, before you get into the new guys .

an one for a forward line of
jason doherty c o'connor a campbell  c freeman a farrell N douglas( iknow there are others too )
I Just hope Horan has a plan or philosophy and not let the sheer number of possibiites confuse him.
it certainly does me
Post by: saffronandblue on January 24, 2011, 10:50:33 PM
It's about time the likes of Andy Moran, Kilcoyne, Ronaldson delivered.  They all have potential, but I fear they will never deliver on it.  Their club form, never mind their county form was poor last year.  I sat beside a beleagured Shrule man last year when they were playing Tubber and Ronaldson kicked wide after wide after wide.  My own club man was no better against Castlebar and don't get me started on the ever present Andy.

C. O' Connor is where it's at, and from what I hear, our other great white hope has shed a couple of stone and is shaping up nicely for the coming year.

Killeen impressed me last year when I saw him and I believe that he might well be worth an extended run in the team, it's not like we have loads of option in the FB berth.
Post by: muppet on January 24, 2011, 10:51:38 PM
Quote from: saffronandblue on January 24, 2011, 10:50:33 PM
It's about time the likes of Andy Moran, Kilcoyne, Ronaldson delivered.  They all have potential, but I fear they will never deliver on it.  Their club form, never mind their county form was poor last year.  I sat beside a beleagured Shrule man last year when they were playing Tubber and Ronaldson kicked wide after wide after wide.  My own club man was no better against Castlebar and don't get me started on the ever present Andy.

C. O' Connor is where it's at, and from what I hear, our other great white hope has shed a couple of stone and is shaping up nicely for the coming year.

Killeen impressed me last year when I saw him and I believe that he might well be worth an extended run in the team, it's not like we have loads of option in the FB berth.

Now that would be good news.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 24, 2011, 10:58:24 PM
I don't think any inter-county player, except Niall Sheridan from Longford maybe, would ever have two stone to lose. But Aidan is in tip-top shape this winter and, judging by how he played towards the end of the club season last year, should be a major player for Mayo this year.
Post by: rosnarun on January 25, 2011, 02:30:36 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 24, 2011, 10:58:24 PM
I don't think any inter-county player, except Niall Sheridan from Longford maybe, would ever have two stone to lose. But Aidan is in tip-top shape this winter and, judging by how he played towards the end of the club season last year, should be a major player for Mayo this year.

while 2 stone may be a bit much for him to lose .  he would be a more effective player if he was a bit lighter esp considering his age . most players fill out over the years . id be afraid for aiden it could be a constant issue for the rest of his career it will alway be a way of seeing how serious he is taking his football in any particulair year.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 27, 2011, 05:04:29 PM
Mayo team for Sunday's game v Leitrim

Mayo Team as follows:

1)   Kenneth O'Malley   Ballinrobe
2)   Cathal Hallinan   Ballintubber
3)   Alan Feeney   Castlebar Mitchels
4)   Richie Feeney   Castlebar Mitchels
5)   Chris Barrett   Belmullet
6)   Ger Cafferkey   Ballina Stephenites
7)   James Burke   Ballymun Kickhams
8   Jason Gibbons   Ballintubber
9)   James Moran   Burrishoole
10)   Aidan Campbell   Swinford
11)   Austin O'Malley   St. Vincents
12)   Andy Moran (Capt.)   Ballaghaderreen
13)   Aidan Kilcoyne   Knockmore
14)   Alan Freeman   Aghamore
15)   Brian Benson   Crossmolina

First starts for Richie Feeney and Alan Freeman. Most interesting is the selection of Ger Caff at centre-half back. Moysider, are you James Horan in disguise?!
Post by: moysider on January 27, 2011, 06:02:25 PM
 ;) Caff at CHB is a no brainer. The dogs in the streets around here know he is much better in the half back line. Interesting team.
Post by: ludermor on January 27, 2011, 07:28:51 PM
It looks like he picked the players Alphabethically!
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 27, 2011, 09:24:35 PM
Quote from: moysider on January 27, 2011, 06:02:25 PM
;) Caff at CHB is a no brainer. The dogs in the streets around here know he is much better in the half back line. Interesting team.

I hope you are right. But, like I said about Keith Higgins, does he have the distribution qualities for being a half-back at this level?
Post by: moysider on January 28, 2011, 12:08:23 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 27, 2011, 09:24:35 PM

I hope you are right. But, like I said about Keith Higgins, does he have the distribution qualities for being a half-back at this level?

I take your point about distribution. But he will probably give us a better command of the center. Like all our half backs that I can recall his forte when we are in possession is carrying and punching out. I still think we are going to play that type of game from the back. I would prefer if our no. 11 did the distribution, from deeper positions if necessary. I thought Freeman did a good job on that the last day. I dont think we ve had a half back that has been a good punter of the ball in a long , long time anyway. Like most teams we will be going short in our own half I think.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 28, 2011, 12:58:13 AM
Quote from: moysider on January 28, 2011, 12:08:23 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 27, 2011, 09:24:35 PM

I take your point about distribution. But he will probably give us a better command of the center. Like all our half backs that I can recall his forte when we are in possession is carrying and punching out. I still think we are going to play that type of game from the back. I would prefer if our no. 11 did the distribution, from deeper positions if necessary. I thought Freeman did a good job on that the last day. I dont think we ve had a half back that has been a good punter of the ball in a long , long time anyway. Like most teams we will be going short in our own half I think.

Well Tom Cunniffe can't kick the ball and he was there for the Sligo game. Yeah, it might work well, especially we have a Dillon and/or a Freeman and maybe another half-forward coming deep. It depends on the style of football, you are right. Conor Gormley never struck me as a great passer of the ball even though he played chb a bit. But then his team's game didn't require him to do that. Mayo will be able to play Cafferkey (and Keith Higgins) in the half-time line if this is the case.
Post by: ross4life on January 28, 2011, 11:02:03 AM
Sorry to interfere in the Mayo talk.. but an impressive win for leitrim the other night over GMIT

Post by: Tubberman on January 28, 2011, 11:15:53 AM
Quote from: ross4life on January 28, 2011, 11:02:03 AM
Sorry to interfere in the Mayo talk.. but an impressive win for leitrim the other night over GMIT

Yeah, very impressive, even allowing for it being 'only the FBD'.
Should be a good test for Mayo on Sunday.

And you're more than welcome to introduce more Rossie talk into the thread. Hardly our fault if the other 4 counties are still in hibernation (Laythrum and Galway rarely come out of hibernation on the board though in fairness).
Post by: Rossfan on January 28, 2011, 01:57:10 PM
Us bucks have our own forum  ;)
Post by: ross4life on January 29, 2011, 12:30:01 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 28, 2011, 01:57:10 PM

You would think one of the Mayo bucks would be able to create a forum of there own by now? SS is going 6 years & the one before it was lasted 3/4 yrs
Post by: REDCOL on January 29, 2011, 12:39:27 PM
Mayo men aren't interested in stolen sheep
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 29, 2011, 02:01:00 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 29, 2011, 12:30:01 PM

You would think one of the Mayo bucks would be able to create a forum of there own by now? SS is going 6 years & the one before it was lasted 3/4 yrs

We don't want the Nordies COMPLETELY taking over this board though!
Post by: Rossfan on January 29, 2011, 03:14:05 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on January 29, 2011, 02:01:00 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 29, 2011, 12:30:01 PM

We don't want the Nordies COMPLETELY taking over this board though!

;D ;D ;D
Post by: ross4life on January 29, 2011, 07:18:18 PM
Quote from: REDCOL on January 29, 2011, 12:39:27 PM
Mayo men aren't interested in stolen sheep

I wish Micky51 wasn't interested
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on January 30, 2011, 02:39:05 PM
Mayo 0-8 Leitrim 0-1 at half time.

Ronaldson with 6, Campbell got the other two.

Half way through the second half - 0-9 to 0-1 to Mayo now.

Ciaran Naughton and James McAndrew on for their first Mayo appearances (that I am aware of at least).

Roscommon 1-15 GMIT 0-8 in the other game.
Post by: ross4life on January 30, 2011, 03:25:22 PM
We won by 1-15 to 1-11 (late fight back by gmit)
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on January 30, 2011, 03:26:33 PM
1-11 to 0-2 at the end.

Kilcoyne with the goal, Ronaldson with 0-7.
Post by: ross4life on January 30, 2011, 03:32:29 PM
2 Points in 60mins christ thats bad!
Post by: Rossfan on January 30, 2011, 04:55:40 PM
Didnt venture to Ballyforan as I didnt see any point.
From Co Board website :-
Roscommon defeated GMIT
  Date : 30/01/2011 15:25 

Roscommon defeated GMIT in the FBD League on a scoreline of 1-15 to 1-11. Team and scorers below

Eamon MacGinley

Jason Carney
John Nolan
Ronan Brady (0-1)

Richard Dooner
Conor Beirne
James McKeague (0-1)

James Connaughton
Seamus ONeill (0-1)

Cathal Shine (0-2)
Fintan Cregg (0-2)
Senan OGrady (0-1)

Terence Kelly
Jonathon Dunning (0-2)
Darragh Hussey

Subs used

Colm Garvey (0-1) for Richard Dooner
Brian Cregg (1-1 for James Connaughton
Cian Smith (0-3) for Senan OGrady
Jack Sharkey for James McKeague

Darren Clabby (Kilbride) scored 1-0 for GMIT

I suspect 14 of those 19 will not be involved in the Championship  !!!

Amazing amount of scores from the subs 3 of whom I suspect were called in from the crowd !!
Post by: mannix on January 30, 2011, 05:25:08 PM
well done Mayo.so much for a leitrim threat.
Post by: moysider on January 30, 2011, 10:35:27 PM

Anybody make the trip to Ballinamore? Meant to but my youngest was playing a match in Heffernan Park and I d promised to attend his next home game. There s a good report already from Colm Gannon out there but wouldn't mind a bit more opinion.
Post by: AbbeySider on January 31, 2011, 09:07:13 AM
Quote from: moysider on January 30, 2011, 10:35:27 PM

Anybody make the trip to Ballinamore? Meant to but my youngest was playing a match in Heffernan Park and I d promised to attend his next home game. There s a good report already from Colm Gannon out there but wouldn't mind a bit more opinion.

I made the trip and will post something when I wake up!  ;)
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 31, 2011, 11:02:43 AM
Quote from: AbbeySider on January 31, 2011, 09:07:13 AM

That'll be Thursday oir Friday so?  :P
Post by: AbbeySider on January 31, 2011, 12:17:03 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 31, 2011, 11:02:43 AM
Quote from: AbbeySider on January 31, 2011, 09:07:13 AM

That'll be Thursday oir Friday so?  :P

Ok I had had the porridge earlier and the morning coffee is kicking in so im ready to post!

As I said I made the trip to Ballinamore and I have to say it was a fairly impressive victory and, for the most part, a good performance by Mayo. Straight off the bat a few things impressed me that I hadn't seen before from Mayo teams.

Firstly the workrate by the forwards was exceptional in the first half. Leitrim were not given a second on the ball before being hounded and tackled by all the forwards so they found it really hard to work the ball out or set up anything. The half forward line especially put in trojan work and stopped Leitrim build every time. Its a tactic that Horan had drilled into us at club level and he seems to be employing the same with Mayo. It was great to see and was hopefully an awakening for some of the Mayo forwards who wouldnt be used to that level of working off the ball when the opposition in is possession.

The second thing that struck me was the movement of the ball into the forwards, some of which resulted in some great moves and open football in the first half, which is a change from the short passing and running game Mayo used to go on with. In fact, Mayo played some fine first time football moving the ball at pace and long to set up well worked first half scores.

At half time the score was 8 points to 1 and the second half the workrate dropped considerably in the second half which lead to Leitrim getting on more ball, although they didnt do much with it.   

Some will say that Leitrim were very poor, but I would contest that the reason they were bad was that Mayo didnt allow them to play for large periods which left them demoralised . A team that kicked 3-14 against GMIT a week previous, were made look shambolic and were out classed in defence, midfield and in the attack.

The full back line, after a busy start settled very well and were air tight against pacey Leitrim forwards. Hallinan and Richie Feeney stood out and hardly gave their men a sniff or clear shot off all day. Alan was a little shaky in the first few minutes and was a tad lose but he settled well after a while. At center back Cafferkey didnt look awfully comfortable but he delt with a few situations ok in the first half. He did have a few lapses in concentration, at least once in the first half trying to thread a ball through and a few towards the end which lead to passes being intercepted by Leitrim so he didnt look whoolly comfortable kick passing or finding a player. Im not sure if he is the solution at Centre Back but with another few games and confidence he could improve. The wing backs, James Burke and Barrett got through a lot of work but im not convinced by them yet. Id like to see more of James Burke before I make up my mind. He is a good footballer but is sort of unorthodox in a tackle, more of a stopper and putting the body in rather than technically picking the pocket or turning over the ball. Alternatively Barrett gets through a lot of spade work and tackling but im not sure if he has the body to stop runners and, ball in hand, he sometimes looks unsure and checks back to recycle the ball backwards. McGloughlin did himself favourably as he was very good when he came on for a spell towards the end so he could shade it against Down.

We won mid-field in the first half where Jason Gibbons did well, worked hard and burst forward a few times and James Moran, although quieter did the small things right. We were winning the brake count and most of the possession in the first half but in the second Jason Gibbons really started to dominate winning a few clean catches and sending sublime 40+ yard passes first time into the forwards. In fact, every time he go the ball he was looking up to see runners and send it in which suited or forward line who were out in front. He really looked the part yesterday and himself and McGarity may be the partnership in the future.

Up front it was mostly a good day at the office. Aidan Campbell had a great first half, going up to win kickouts, tackling and turning over possession, and kicking two brilliant scores. He played like an ideal number 10. In the second half he was a bit quieter but with a bit more fitness and match practice but we could see more of him. Austy surprisingly didnt do much wrong and distributed the ball well, sneaking passes over the top to Ronaldson and Freeman who were causing Leitrim serious problems. He was solid enough. Andy Moran worked his socks off all throughout and was honest as the day was long. He kicked two from play but had a few wides which he needs to improve on but I would also but id commend he workrate and brake winning ability the last day. Inside, Ronaldson started for Benson who injured his hand in the warm-up. Rondalson was scurrying around and being his usual busy self and got on the end of some great attacking moves. Alan Freeman also did very well winning all sorts of 50-50 balls and linking up really well with Ronaldson. I dont think Freeman got a score but could have been involved in a large portion of the scores from play so I was very happy with him. Kilcoyne was trying hard but I would be most critical of him in the forwards simply because he wasnt passing when it was on, and was very greedy in possession. For instance getting possession on your wrong side, near the endline and going for your own score (only to blast wide or at the keeper) from tight angles when possible goal chances were on if he passed it across was frustrating to watch.

All in all, I was happy with a lot of the performances although we did let it drop a bit in the second half. I dont know if we learned enough beating Leitrim so convincingly but then again a win like that is good for confidence and morale and show what level of workrate is required and what it can do.

Of the subs that came on Naughton came in for O Malley and I dont think there is a lot between them. O Malley may have a slightly better kickout but Naughton could be the better shot stopper so it remains to be seen. Cuinniffe came on for Alan Feeney who liiked like he had injured his hand and did well. He broke a few balls and did fine in a crowded half back line after Leitrim left their two forwards in on their own for a large spell in the second half. I mentioned McGloughlins contribution when he came on which included some piercing runs and general good play. McAndrew came on for Austy and looked a bit behind the pace. As a footballer he looks good and he has something but it really, really is a shame that he wasnt picked up in his early 20's and given a proper chance. Nestor came on for Barrett and got on the ball a few times but wasnt on long enough to make an impression.

Still a lot of questions for management with a lot of players having a fighting chance and perhaps good enough. Where else would we rather be?

Roll on Down
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 31, 2011, 12:41:48 PM
It is amazing that something so basic as the forwards working when we don't have the ball is a new thing for Mayo. It tells you a lot. Although I will say of Horan that he did have the Ballintubber forwards working to a ferocious extent last year.

I'd be inclined to agree with you about Chris Barrett Abbeysider. He's a very courageous player but I just don't see him being physically strong enough. He's not gonna get any bigger now either. James Burke, as I said before, I think definitely has something. Time will tell and I hope he at least gets the time.

Good to hear Gibbons was good in midfield. There's little doubt that when he's playing well, he's a serious operator and his long-range kickpassing is exceptional. Playing to his ability, he's in the Mayo starting team.

Aidan Campbell needs time to get back to the level and at this stage all I'd like to see out of him is the right attitude and flashes of what he can do. Sounds like we got that and more yesterday. Great to hear. Alan Freeman is a great addition too. Its strange, he goes into this NFL campaign with only five starts for Mayo (in all senior competitions) and is a guy we're expecting an awful lot out of because of his excellent performances in the two shambolic championship games last year. I hope he's not under too much pressure. He's definitely good enough but I would contend he is still finding his feet at this level.

Really, really looking forward to Saturday now. Hope there's 10k or more at it.