Tyrone County Football and Hurling

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, April 01, 2007, 05:58:31 PM

Tyrone Gaa

Quote from: lenny on July 18, 2017, 03:01:18 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 18, 2017, 02:05:42 PM
The big worry for us is the way Dublin defend in their full back line. They're so strong they, more or less, mark their men from the front. Colm Parkinson was on about this in his podcast and lamenting Kildare not going for more ball over the top as Flynn and Brophy would be to big men who could take advantage of that. Mark Bradley is built for pace and movement, the Dublin backs could eat that up all day. My fear is the one man FF line works against weaker opposition but the big teams exploit this massively. Bradley has done a great job so far by creating space, winning ball out in front and laying off for the runners. This will be harder against a team like Dublin and to a lesser extent Kerry.

So youse play Dublin in the qf then?

No its Kildare in the Quarter Final, Dublin in the semi final and Kerry in the Final.  8)
Living the dream!!!

square_ball

Does there still be that GOAL charity match for the winners a few days after the final? Wonder who we would play in that?

I don't know folks but I think ye are all getting away ahead of yerselves here.
I mean Kerry will be sitting waiting in the final for us having beaten Galway and Roscommon in the quarters and semis.

square_ball

Quote from: Fuzzman on July 18, 2017, 03:58:51 PM
I mean Kerry will be sitting waiting in the final for us having beaten Galway and Roscommon in the quarters and semis.

Will you head to the banquet yourself Fuzzman? Or head up the road on the Sunday evening for the homecoming on Monday in Aughnacloy/Garvaghy? You can stay with STG!

Naw, I'll hold off for the 3 in a row banquet square_ball. You can't be going to that every year. Wile dear.
That's if there's not a West and East Tyrone by then.

Actually I was at the Donegal banquet in 2012 when Jim McG got me in for free to the afters.

Lenny, I'm curious how you see the semifinals shaping up. How would you like to play who and with what final outcome?

Goals_Will_Come

Quote from: Fuzzman on July 18, 2017, 02:14:07 PM
Was wondering about the age of most of these players and who among them have won minors and u21s.
Like was Declan McClure an U21 winner or did he miss out?
Are Harte, Mattie and McNabb the only minors who made it through to this team?

If anyone can fill in what years players won a minor or U21 that would be great below and if you know their age?
Are Sean, Colm, McCarron and Justy the only ones with senior AI medals?
It's a pity the Tyronegaa.ie website doesn't do player profiles

1 – Niall Morgan – Éadan na dTorc – 61 (18) - Did he not play underage for Tyrone?
2 – Aidan McCrory – Aireagal Chiaráin – 97 (25)
3 – Ronan McNamee – Achadh Uí Aráin – 64 (19)
4 – Cathal McCarron – An Droim Mór – 99 (26)                 2008 AI Senior winner (sub)
5 – Tiernan McCann – Coill an Chlochair – 56 (15)
6 – Pádraig Hampsey – Oileán a'Ghuail – 22 (4)               2015 AI U21 winner
7 – Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin – 118 (39)                 2008 AI minor winner
8 – Colm Cavanagh – An Mhaigh – 136 (50)                    2008 AI Senior winner (came on)
9 – Conall McCann – Coill an Chlochair – 28 (6)
10 – David Mulgrew – Ard Bó – 7 (2)
11 – Niall Sludden – An Droim Mór – 29 (7)                      2010 AI minor winner
12 – Kieran McGeary – Cabhán a'Chaortainn 19 (5)           2015 AI U21 winner
13 – Mark Bradley – Coill an Chlochair 35 (14)                  2015 AI U21 winner
14 – Sean Cavanagh (c) – An Mhaigh 236 (86)                 2008 AI Senior winner
15 – Matthew Donnelly – Trí Leac 92 (29)                         2008 AI minor winner
16 – Michael O'Neill – Cluain Eo – 24 (5)                           2015 AI U21 winner
17 – Lee Brennan – Trí Leac – 13 (1)                                2015 AI U21 winner
18 – Rory Brennan – Trí Leac – 28 (10)                            2015 AI U21 winner
19 – Michael Cassidy – Ard Bó – 1 (0)                               2015 AI U21 winner
20 – Richard Donnelly – Trí Leac – 15 (5)                       2010 AI minor winner
21 – Declan McClure – Cluain Eo – 11 (2)
22 – Darren McCurry – Éadan na dTorc – 74 (27)
23 – Justin McMahon – An Omaigh – 109 (38)                  2005 & 08 AI senior winner
24 – Cathal McShane – Eoghan Ruadh Uí Néill 28 (9)        2015 AI U21 winner
25 – Conor Meyler – An Omaigh – 23 (6)                         2015 AI U21 winner
26 – Ronan O'Neill – An Omaigh – 65 (15)                       2010 AI minor winner

Morgan, McNammee, Tiernan McCann Minor in 09 (Unluckily beat by Armagh first round who then won All Ireland. Under 21 in 2012 losing Ulster final to Cavan. McNamee was injured for that years Under 21s. Morgan didn't play, soccer maybe at the time?
McCurry minor in 2010 and 2011.
Declan McClure Conall McCann midfield Tyrone Under 21 in 2014.

southtyronegael

Quote from: Redhand Santa on July 18, 2017, 08:07:51 AM
This is Mickey Harte's 15th season in charge of the Tyrone team. Interesting to look at our record over that time. In 6 of the years (2003, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2016, 2017) we won the ulster titles. In two other years that we didn't win the ulster we went on to win the All Ireland (2005 and 2008). In a further two years we reached the All Ireland semi final through the back door (2013 and 2015). So in 10 out of the 15 years he has been manager we have either won the all Ireland, an ulster title or got to the All Ireland semi final. In a further two years we reached a quarter final.

When you consider where we came from before he took over and if you look round at the rest of the counties in ulster that is a serious record. It was crazy that he didn't get reappointed by the county board when he asked for an extension last year. From the outside looking in there appeared to be an itch to get rid of him from some within the county board particularly before the run in 2015.

Some of the main points of complaints on here have been:
Lack of scores - we have averaged 23 points this championship which is probably an ulster championship record for us.
Mickey dominates club fixtures - 9 games played to date with the county players on board. Might even be another one this weekend. I'd say that matches and betters most counties in Ireland.
Not enough east Tyrone men on the team - seems to have increased in recent years. Hampsey McClure Mulgrew Morgan McCurry Cavanaghs x 2 all featured.

Judging by Sunday it seems the majority of the county are back behind the team. Hopefully it stays that way as we continue to go through a great period in Tyrone gaa history. Lets hope for a big finish to the year now and we don't have any flat performances in croke park like last year.
i think your post is very disrespectful to all the good county managers we have had before mickey. where did we come from before mickey? we won ulster in 2001 then national league 2002 so hardly rock bottom. sure art mc crory had won as many ulsters as harte up until sunday. there will be plenty more good tyrone men to manage our team long after harte is gone too

Quote from: Fuzzman on July 18, 2017, 03:58:51 PM
The whole focus in training is neutralising the Kerry half backs in the 3rd quarter when we are 3 points up to ensure they have someone black carded and allow us loyal fans to start cheering passes from the 63rd minute and give Aidan a standing ovation when he comes off on the 67th minute.
Mickey knows that we cannot afford to get too cocky and start looking beyond the start of the second half of the final.

Redhand Santa

Quote from: southtyronegael on July 18, 2017, 09:58:33 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on July 18, 2017, 08:07:51 AM
This is Mickey Harte's 15th season in charge of the Tyrone team. Interesting to look at our record over that time. In 6 of the years (2003, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2016, 2017) we won the ulster titles. In two other years that we didn't win the ulster we went on to win the All Ireland (2005 and 2008). In a further two years we reached the All Ireland semi final through the back door (2013 and 2015). So in 10 out of the 15 years he has been manager we have either won the all Ireland, an ulster title or got to the All Ireland semi final. In a further two years we reached a quarter final.

When you consider where we came from before he took over and if you look round at the rest of the counties in ulster that is a serious record. It was crazy that he didn't get reappointed by the county board when he asked for an extension last year. From the outside looking in there appeared to be an itch to get rid of him from some within the county board particularly before the run in 2015.

Some of the main points of complaints on here have been:
Lack of scores - we have averaged 23 points this championship which is probably an ulster championship record for us.
Mickey dominates club fixtures - 9 games played to date with the county players on board. Might even be another one this weekend. I'd say that matches and betters most counties in Ireland.
Not enough east Tyrone men on the team - seems to have increased in recent years. Hampsey McClure Mulgrew Morgan McCurry Cavanaghs x 2 all featured.

Judging by Sunday it seems the majority of the county are back behind the team. Hopefully it stays that way as we continue to go through a great period in Tyrone gaa history. Lets hope for a big finish to the year now and we don't have any flat performances in croke park like last year.
i think your post is very disrespectful to all the good county managers we have had before mickey. where did we come from before mickey? we won ulster in 2001 then national league 2002 so hardly rock bottom. sure art mc crory had won as many ulsters as harte up until sunday. there will be plenty more good tyrone men to manage our team long after harte is gone too

Art McRory did a very good job with Tyrone and helped improve us as a force in ulster, wasn't disrespecting him at all.

Mickey Harte's record with Tyrone is very very impressive. In 10 of the 15 years to have either won an all Ireland, an ulster title or got to an all Ireland semi final is some going. Plus two quarter finals in other years. In the 15 years before he took over we won 4 ulster titles and played in one all Ireland final (losing it) but we also lost in the first round of ulster on 7 occasions.

an léirmheastóir

Was wondering about the age of most of these players and who among them have won minors and u21s.

If anyone can fill in what years players won a minor or U21 that would be great below and if you know their age?

1 – Niall Morgan – Éadan na dTorc – 61 (18) - Did he not play underage for Tyrone?
4 – Cathal McCarron – An Droim Mór – 99 (26)                 2008 AI Senior winner (sub)
7 – Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin – 118 (39)                 2008 AI minor winner
8 – Colm Cavanagh – An Mhaigh – 136 (50)                    2008 AI Senior winner (came on)
11 – Niall Sludden – An Droim Mór – 29 (7)                      2010 AI minor winner
13 – Mark Bradley – Coill an Chlochair 35 (14)                  2015 AI U21 winner
14 – Sean Cavanagh (c) – An Mhaigh 236 (86)                 2008 AI Senior winner
15 – Matthew Donnelly – Trí Leac 92 (29)                         2008 AI minor winner
16 – Michael O'Neill – Cluain Eo – 24 (5)                           2015 AI U21 winner
17 – Lee Brennan – Trí Leac – 13 (1)                                2015 AI U21 winner
18 – Rory Brennan – Trí Leac – 28 (10)                            2015 AI U21 winner
19 – Michael Cassidy – Ard Bó – 1 (0)                               2015 AI U21 winner
20 – Richard Donnelly – Trí Leac – 15 (5)                       2010 AI minor winner
23 – Justin McMahon – An Omaigh – 109 (38)                  2005 & 08 AI senior winner
25 – Conor Meyler – An Omaigh – 23 (6)                         2015 AI U21 winner
26 – Ronan O'Neill – An Omaigh – 65 (15)                       2010 AI minor winner

Sean cavanagh has 3 all Ireland medals mick o Neill is to old to have Been on 2015  u21 team

sensethetone

Quote from: an léirmheastóir on July 19, 2017, 08:22:07 AM

Sean cavanagh has 3 all Ireland medals mick o Neill is to old to have Been on 2015  u21 team

I thought Justy came onto the senior panel around 07.

Justy was in the 2005 final with joe marking the twin towers Donaghy and Tommy Walsh

Yeah sorry for the other errors but I was just copying and pasting. Of course Sean has 3 and Mickey O'Neill doesn't have any afaik.

Thanks  Goals_Will_Come for your input there.

Hard to believe Mattie, Petey and McNabb will all be 30 in three years time.

square_ball

The McMahons v Twin Towers was 2008 Fuzz (the year of the beards). I don't think Justy was involved in 2005.

sensethetone

Quote from: square_ball on July 19, 2017, 11:30:11 AM
The McMahons v Twin Towers was 2008 Fuzz (the year of the beards). I don't think Justy was involved in 2005.

I think Justy may have been the Capt. of the U21s 06 came on the panel 07.

Ahh yes, silly me. The beards final. Love it.
Has Joe got 2 medals or 3?