Ulster Club SFC 2019

Started by oakleaflad, October 21, 2019, 10:48:03 AM

Pearse Blue

Quote from: Fionntamhnach on October 25, 2019, 04:41:34 PM
This thread is starting to convince me that the eastern quarter of Tyrone should be broken off and made a 10th county in Ulster for GAA purposes. They can then hold their own club championship to qualify for Ulster and potentially give their club representatives an easier path towards qualifying for it instead of having to suffer being brutally mentally and physically scarred in an otherwise All-Tyrone championship war that leaves the victors with no energy or wits to compete against otherwise inferior champions from all other Ulster counties. The rest of Tyrone can then disassociate themselves from their former brethern and not have to take renders on a semi regular basis thanks to them.

Either that, or this has been O'Neill's greatest bit of performance artistry on here yet.
Fintona, would you ever give it a rest, your club would be on the brink of division 4 football in Tyrone (if it existed) so you'll never have to worry about ulster campaigns..

Angelo

Quote from: t_mac on October 25, 2019, 04:24:04 PM
Quote from: StephenC on October 25, 2019, 02:56:23 PM
If someone from Donegal came on here and claimed that the reason why Donegal clubs haven't done well in Ulster is that our club championship is too strong etc. they would (correctly) be laughed out of it.

What a load of shite this thred has turned into.

I feel sorry for the genuine Tyrone posters on here whom have fell away since the kids were allowed to register.

Introspection is lost on you as per usual.
GAA FUNDING CHEATS CHEAT US ALL

Quote from: Pearse Blue on October 25, 2019, 04:45:28 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on October 25, 2019, 04:41:34 PM
This thread is starting to convince me that the eastern quarter of Tyrone should be broken off and made a 10th county in Ulster for GAA purposes. They can then hold their own club championship to qualify for Ulster and potentially give their club representatives an easier path towards qualifying for it instead of having to suffer being brutally mentally and physically scarred in an otherwise All-Tyrone championship war that leaves the victors with no energy or wits to compete against otherwise inferior champions from all other Ulster counties. The rest of Tyrone can then disassociate themselves from their former brethern and not have to take renders on a semi regular basis thanks to them.

Either that, or this has been O'Neill's greatest bit of performance artistry on here yet.
Fintona, would you ever give it a rest, your club would be on the brink of division 4 football in Tyrone (if it existed) so you'll never have to worry about ulster campaigns..

Or have rest of Tyrone have to worry

Quote from: Pearse Blue on October 25, 2019, 08:30:42 AM
Quote from: marty34 on October 24, 2019, 05:28:12 PM
Quote from: topofthesoil on October 24, 2019, 02:25:53 PM
Quote from: marty34 on October 24, 2019, 02:22:56 PM
Quote from: topofthesoil on October 24, 2019, 01:53:39 PM
Quote from: Pearse Blue on October 24, 2019, 09:42:13 AM
Quote from: marty34 on October 24, 2019, 09:38:26 AM
Quote from: Ethan Tremblay on October 24, 2019, 09:28:08 AM
Another genuine question for Angelo, do you think if Cross, Slaughtneil, Scotstown or Kilcoo were in the Tyrone championship they would be capable of winning it consecutively?

Can we end this waffle that the Tyrone club championship is quality and their teams are 'wrecked'  after playing in that, that they can't compete in Ulster?

Excuses!  Pure nonsense.

They get a 2 week break, at least, after they finish their county campaign so I don't know how they are burnt out.  They only play football - no hurling, so it's pure waffle.

Not good enough as their record in Ulster senior club states - end of story.
Correct, some teams that come out of Tyrone aren't good enough. This is because the best team doesn't win it every year like what happens in every other county

Excellent point, thats the truth. For a prime example look at this years winners.

What ???- the best team doesn't win the championship???

Correct, nice of you to finally catch up.

Explain to me how the "best" team doesn't win the chsmpionship?
Because the championship is too open, whens the last time a tyrone team won the championship and the league in the same year?
League and championship are 2 completely different animals. No one with any sense focuses on winning a league title and will aim to peak for championship time. 

Quote from: Angelo on October 25, 2019, 11:11:51 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 25, 2019, 11:02:09 AM
Quote from: Angelo on October 25, 2019, 10:51:22 AM
Tyrone clubs in Ulster in recent years.

2018 - Coalisland - lost to Cross by 2 pts
2017 - Omagh - lost to Slaughtneil by 2 pts (Eventual winners)
2016 - Killyclogher - beat Cargin by 5, lost to Slaughtneil by 6 (Eventual winners)
2015 - Trillick - beat Naomh Conaill by 1, lost to Scotstown by 2 (Runners up to Cross in extra time)
2014 - Omagh - beat Crossmaglen by 2, beat St Eunans by 3, lost to Slaughtneil by 1 (Eventual winners)
2013 - Clonoe - Lost to Ballinderry by 4 (Eventual winners)
2012 - Errigal - beat Ballindery by 1, lost to Cross by 6 (Eventual winners)
2011 - Dromore - Lost to Ballinderry by 2
2010 - Coalisland - Beat Roslea by 3, lost to Naomh Conaill by 1

I don't think that is too bad a record on the whole considering only 4 clubs have won Ulster in that time and Cross and Slaughtneil have shared 7 between them. It would be a different story if the same team was cruising through Tyrone every year and consistently falling short.

It's rubbish! To say you're club championship is the best in Ireland and to fail so miserably in an extra 3 games with the best club players is a very poor return, 1968 the competition started

Not really, Ulster club has been more or less dominated by 2 clubs in this decade.

Look at the fate of the Armagh champions when it's not Cross representing them. Maghery were whacked by Kilcoo when they came through Armagh and Armagh Harps lost to Cavan Gaels the other time and that was the first time a Cavan side had won a match in Ulster in nearly 10 years!

Scotstown and Kilcoo have consistently failed in Ulster though they have been there or thereabouts.

I'm also referring to the present and recent past. Many things change in 50 years. Some winners no longer exists or have experienced a severe fall from grace.
I'd say in fairness any team bar Cross that has won Armagh in the last 20 years has been that busy celebrating an Armagh title that they haven't even thought about an Ulster.

Quote from: imtommygunn on October 25, 2019, 11:53:20 AM
The Derry championship was massively competitive for years and multiple teams won there too. Yes St Galls had it easy enough in antrim for years and cross but sure Slaughtneil would have won ulster two years ago and then Coleraine and now Glen beat them this year who didn't even go on to win it. I doubt Slaughtneil have dropped standardsl that much. It wasn't like Slaughtneil were preparing for Ulster and then they had the hurling too. Scotstown have had big challenges from Clontibret when they were good too.

You could argue what you say for Kilcoo having a pass but they haven't been able to win it and neither have Cavan Gaels who were dominant for years in Cavan so that doesn't stack up either. Basically what you say doesn't stack up. At all.

Cross have had great sides. They dominated Armagh but also Ulster and at all ireland stage. They didn't get a pass to the all irelands when they were playing in ulster.

I am not even sure what your point is any more lol. What is your point? Tyrone sides are as good as anywhere but they don't compete because their championship is too competitive - is that your point?
Cross never had it that easy in Armagh, some of the teams in the noughties would have been close to them in Armagh even when they were winning All-Irelands, even that Ballymacnab team they beat last week is strong, their forward line would cause any team trouble, but if Cross turn it on like they did in the second half last week and tighten up in the full back line they'll win an Ulster this year.

Quote from: Angelo on October 25, 2019, 02:38:44 PM
Quote from: GiveItToTheShooters on October 25, 2019, 02:27:58 PM
These Tyrone ones are quare craic, best to give them a fool's pardon.
Their bizarre assumption that because their championship is so 'competitive' means that it is of a high quality. That myth is firmly debunked on looking at their record in the Ulster CSFC.
They're not good enough and haven't been good enough. Quite simple really.

It's utterly false to say it's debunked, Tyrone teams more than hold their own in Ulster.

You look at the likes of Maghery getting a double digit clipping from Kilcoo and Armagh Harps getting knocked out by Derrygonnely to tell you the level of Armagh club football outside of Cross.

Sure Galbally made light work of Grange in the intermediate last week.
The Grange lads were still on the beer all week, whatever it is about Armagh teams they don't seem to give a shite about Ulster bar Cross.

We know Tyrone teams don't have a good record in Ulster. That's not up for debate. Do Trillick have a chance of bucking the trend? They have some big names in their team that's for sure.

It seems it is up for debate despite evidence to the contrary lol. They have some good county players so you never know. Very open this year. Cross not as strong as they used to be so no standout contenders.

Quote from: imtommygunn on October 25, 2019, 08:08:16 PM
It seems it is up for debate despite evidence to the contrary lol. They have some good county players so you never know. Very open this year. Cross not as strong as they used to be so no standout contenders.

Watched cross a few times this year. Their scoring ability is excellent. Their defence not so much. Don't know anything about other teams

Angelo

Quote from: Armagh18 on October 25, 2019, 06:44:56 PM
Quote from: Angelo on October 25, 2019, 02:38:44 PM
Quote from: GiveItToTheShooters on October 25, 2019, 02:27:58 PM
These Tyrone ones are quare craic, best to give them a fool's pardon.
Their bizarre assumption that because their championship is so 'competitive' means that it is of a high quality. That myth is firmly debunked on looking at their record in the Ulster CSFC.
They're not good enough and haven't been good enough. Quite simple really.

It's utterly false to say it's debunked, Tyrone teams more than hold their own in Ulster.

You look at the likes of Maghery getting a double digit clipping from Kilcoo and Armagh Harps getting knocked out by Derrygonnely to tell you the level of Armagh club football outside of Cross.

Sure Galbally made light work of Grange in the intermediate last week.
The Grange lads were still on the beer all week, whatever it is about Armagh teams they don't seem to give a shite about Ulster bar Cross.

They don't really seem to give a shit about Armagh either.
GAA FUNDING CHEATS CHEAT US ALL

Quote from: tonto1888 on October 25, 2019, 08:21:18 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 25, 2019, 08:08:16 PM

Watched cross a few times this year. Their scoring ability is excellent. Their defence not so much. Don't know anything about other teams

The two oneills look very dangerous. Clontibret have McManus who will take some watching. I would expect magherafelt still haven't sobered up. I think gweedore may not win replay in Donegal though if they do maybe hard to beat too. Hard to pick a favourite.

t_mac

Quote from: Angelo on October 25, 2019, 05:35:24 PM
Quote from: t_mac on October 25, 2019, 04:24:04 PM
Quote from: StephenC on October 25, 2019, 02:56:23 PM
If someone from Donegal came on here and claimed that the reason why Donegal clubs haven't done well in Ulster is that our club championship is too strong etc. they would (correctly) be laughed out of it.

What a load of shite this thred has turned into.

I feel sorry for the genuine Tyrone posters on here whom have fell away since the kids were allowed to register.

Introspection is lost on you as per usual.

Maybe GAA should allow Tyrone champions a place in the Ulster final each year, it's clear they deserve it being the best in Ulster, it's just beating those other inferior County Champions to get to the final appears to be the issue, talk about grandiose delusions.

Quote from: Pearse Blue on October 24, 2019, 03:30:27 PM
Quote from: t_mac on October 24, 2019, 03:29:03 PM
Quote from: Estimator on October 24, 2019, 03:25:38 PM
Quote from: topofthesoil on October 24, 2019, 02:01:29 PM

Also, Tyrone always go further than the likes of Derry, Armagh, Cavan, Down in the county scene every year. After the likes of Derry etc are knocked out early they can go back to there clubs a lot earlier and train with them, and also then nothing is holding the club championship back. Unlike in Tyrone they play to near enough the last 4 or final get beat, and a week later the club championship begins.

So what is the excuse for prior to 2003?
You do realise the Ulster Senior Club Championship has been going since 1968

Football was invented in 2003 - would you please keep up.
Exactly, Peter Canavan invented football

Not he didn't. But he probably  hammered the shit out of your lot!  ;D ;D

t_mac

Quote from: under the bar on October 27, 2019, 12:35:23 AM
Quote from: Pearse Blue on October 24, 2019, 03:30:27 PM
Quote from: t_mac on October 24, 2019, 03:29:03 PM
Quote from: Estimator on October 24, 2019, 03:25:38 PM
Quote from: topofthesoil on October 24, 2019, 02:01:29 PM

Also, Tyrone always go further than the likes of Derry, Armagh, Cavan, Down in the county scene every year. After the likes of Derry etc are knocked out early they can go back to there clubs a lot earlier and train with them, and also then nothing is holding the club championship back. Unlike in Tyrone they play to near enough the last 4 or final get beat, and a week later the club championship begins.

So what is the excuse for prior to 2003?
You do realise the Ulster Senior Club Championship has been going since 1968

Football was invented in 2003 - would you please keep up.
Exactly, Peter Canavan invented football

Not he didn't. But he probably  hammered the shit out of your lot!  ;D ;D

Are you not from Manchester. :o