GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: ONeill on February 13, 2007, 07:09:16 AM

Title: Stevie McDonnell - Leave Me Alone
Post by: ONeill on February 13, 2007, 07:09:16 AM
McDonnell has been sounding off in today's Irish News about 'so-called' Armagh fans who have been abusing him from the stands, claiming they don't know much about football. He also says the Louth players and goalkeeper were slagging him and it wasn't nice. Anyone got an IN account?
Title: Re: Stevie McDonnell - Leave Me Alone
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 13, 2007, 09:16:19 AM
Article in full

ARMAGH ace Stevie McDonnell last night hit back at "so-called Armagh fans" who have abused him during games and urged Joe Kernan to axe him from the team.

The Killeavey clubman vented his anger after winning Sunday's NFL tie against Louth with a superb last-minute goal.

It is understood McDonnell has been on the receiving end of some vitriol from a section of Armagh spectators this season, who have accused him of being "too greedy" in front of goal.

The 27-year-old former Allstar broke his silence last night by saying: "I'm just a bit pissed off with some of the things that fans are saying; that I'm too greedy and that big Joe should drop me.

"I know I took some wrong options against Louth, I realised that myself, but when you hear some of your own fans going behind your back and saying things, I'm not happy about that. I hear some of it when I'm playing, but I'm hearing most of it from what my family hears in the stands."

McDonnell added that he never considered quitting the inter-county scene just because of the criticism, which seems unwarranted given his massive contribution in helping Armagh to an All-Ireland title and six Ulster crowns since breaking into the senior squad in 1999.

"I've never thought about packing it in," he said. "I wouldn't let them get me down that much. It's not only myself, other senior players have taken some abuse as well. But these are the people that don't know much about football. You talk to many who do know their football and you respect what they have to say about it."

He added: "I don't know, maybe Armagh fans expect too much from me. I'm probably not playing as well since the 2005 season. At the end of the day, I'm only human and I go out and try my best for the county every day. But it's something that annoys you.

"It sickens you a bit because you give so much to the county and we've won a lot for them. These are so-called fans. At the end of the day the most important people are the 30 players that you train with every week."

McDonnell was also riled by several Louth opponents during Sunday's one-point National League victory. The Armagh forward was taunted by several players as the two teams exited the pitch at half-time in Crossmaglen.

"No matter what I tried in the first half it wasn't coming off for me," explained McDonnell. "The more I tried, the more frustrated I got and I maybe rushed things a bit instead of laying things off.

"To score the goal and win the game for us was really sweet because when I was coming off at half-time, there were five or six Louth boys in my ear and slagging me off about my shooting. You usually have to take a bit of abuse from your marker, but not from five or six opponents, and their goalkeeper was one of them. So it was good to ram their words back down their throats with that goal.

"I was annoyed at half-time and I said to the boys if I get one chance in the second half, I'm going to put it away. Thankfully it worked out, but the most important thing was the win."
Post by: bennydorano on February 13, 2007, 09:29:09 AM
He took a lot of abuse on Sunday which was mostly beacuse of his shooting and lack of passing.  I don't think any of it is personal, does he think he should be exempt from criticism anyway?  And I doubt very much whether there are too many calling for him to be dropped :o I've heard a few people hear saying he should be rested.
Post by: SlimShady on February 13, 2007, 10:32:10 AM
and who claimed Armagh fans were scumbags?  :D ;D
Post by: Six Inch Nail on February 13, 2007, 10:42:17 AM
I agree with Benny.  McDonnell took abit of abuse on Sunday due to his decision making.  You will always get a couple of gobshites who will shout for a mans head on a plate when he does something wrong, this type of person is called a "bandwagon jumper".  Armagh have attracted a whole new type of supporter since 2002, and some of them go to league matches as well, doesn't mean that they know anything about football.  McDonnell won a serious amount of ball on Sunday but wasted alot of it, I'd say he'd be the first to admit it that he wasn't at his best.  However, he is still one of the best forwards in the country and maybe he is right when he says that we expect too much from him.

sc**bag supproters Slim, yes we have a right few of them, as does every county.
Post by: Mack the finger on February 13, 2007, 10:45:44 AM
Armagh have done well over the last few years, and the fans perhaps have high standards now.

Criticism of McDonnell is a bit unfair though. Even though he might be going through a lean spell by his standards,
he's still trying to get amongst the scores. Lesser players would have let their heads drop and went missing in games. Not McDonnell though.

Those criticising McDonnell are in the minority, and it'll only make Stevie more determind to ram the criticism down their throats - just as the Louth Goalkeeper found out in the last minutes on Sunday.

As a forward, he's gonna be a bit selfish. Tis part of the makeup of the great forwards.

And what's with the notion bandied about that it's only the real supporters that go to league games. Nonsense.
Post by: SlimShady on February 13, 2007, 10:46:47 AM
Quote from: Six Inch Nail on February 13, 2007, 10:42:17 AM
I agree with Benny.  McDonnell took abit of abuse on Sunday due to his decision making.  You will always get a couple of gobshites who will shout for a mans head on a plate when he does something wrong, this type of person is called a "bandwagon jumper".  Armagh have attracted a whole new type of supporter since 2002, and some of them go to league matches as well, doesn't mean that they know anything about football.  McDonnell won a serious amount of ball on Sunday but wasted alot of it, I'd say he'd be the first to admit it that he wasn't at his best.  However, he is still one of the best forwards in the country and maybe he is right when he says that we expect too much from him.

sc**bag supproters Slim, yes we have a right few of them, as does every county.

you sound like the OWC brigade!!
Post by: full back on February 13, 2007, 10:48:44 AM
Quote from: SlimShady on February 13, 2007, 10:32:10 AM
and who claimed Armagh fans were scumbags?  :D ;D

The more people go to games, the better chance there is of attracting scumbags.
Although to be honest Slim I dont think you lot will have that problem in the near future
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on February 13, 2007, 10:52:01 AM
I wasnt at the game on sunday but getting on Stevies back is out of order. These players are amatures givin up there own time to play football an dont need this type of soccer shite.. Stevie will come good again and stick there chants up there holes! Keep at it Stevie!!
Post by: SlimShady on February 13, 2007, 10:52:37 AM
i'd rather have no crowd than you crowd!!

Scumbags of the highest order, if yer not pissing and boaking in the street or over yourselves yer staggering all over the place and if ye are still fit to speak come throw in time you slate arguably your best forward (apart from Oisin) since football began. (2002).
Post by: full back on February 13, 2007, 10:55:35 AM
Quote from: SlimShady on February 13, 2007, 10:52:37 AM
i'd rather have no crowd than you crowd!!

Scumbags of the highest order, if yer not pissing and boaking in the street or over yourselves yer staggering all over the place and if ye are still fit to speak come throw in time you slate arguably your best forward (apart from Oisin) since football began. (2002).

As I said Slim , the more supporters you have the better chance of attracting a few scumbags.
Think you are tarring a lot of people with the same brush there
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on February 13, 2007, 10:56:16 AM
When was tha last time you were at a Armagh match Slim? The fans you discrib dont exist!! I've never seen any of that behavior at a match. You must hav been at a soccer match.
Post by: SlimShady on February 13, 2007, 10:58:22 AM
yeah, right enough full back. I apologise.

Its the same idiot with the 20p that went to them Norn Iron games causing trouble, he's an Armagh fan as well.

lets put it a different way then, Armagh have a larger sc**bag population than any other county on average. agreed?
Post by: realredhandfan on February 13, 2007, 11:00:41 AM
Outrageous behaviour from the tangerine men.. to claim personal abuse isnt personal is almost as bad as the initial offences. It seems that theres a few rotten apples in the orchard after all and looks like the golden (delicious) era for the apple munchers has been well and truly harvested.  My moneys on Donegal for the Ulster this year.
Post by: full back on February 13, 2007, 11:05:22 AM
RRHF-f**king hilarious-you have missed your vocation

Slim, Armagh having a larger sc**bag population on average!!
Take it you are excluding large sections of your own beloved county
Post by: bennydorano on February 13, 2007, 11:08:02 AM
Quote from: realredhandfan on February 13, 2007, 11:00:41 AM
Outrageous behaviour from the tangerine men.. to claim personal abuse isnt personal is almost as bad as the initial offences.

Yer hole.  Personal abuse is directed at you because of who you are not your actions.  Any abuse I heard directed at him was because he was not passing, shooting wides or dropping balls short anyone else in the same boat would have got similar criticism.  
Post by: realredhandfan on February 13, 2007, 11:18:01 AM
well your big mate Stevuie would tend to disagree?  If I had been in the crowd the day young Mark Harte got booed I would have shut anyone up in the vicinity in no uncertain terms.  My principles of social responsibility mean that I can see the  actions of other Tyrone fans as a regrettable slur on my countys good name.  Are you washing your hands of this Benny.  Is this another North V South Armagh can of worms being opened up?  You are lucky to have O Donnell in Armagh.   
Post by: bennydorano on February 13, 2007, 11:24:13 AM
What I experienced was not personal abuse, it was criticism.  Personal abuse is unacceptable, but criticism isn't, that's my point.
Post by: never kickt a ball on February 13, 2007, 11:27:21 AM
Quote from: realredhandfan on February 13, 2007, 11:18:01 AM
well your big mate Stevuie would tend to disagree?  If I had been in the crowd the day young Mark Harte got booed I would have shut anyone up in the vicinity in no uncertain terms.  My principles of social responsibility mean that I can see the  actions of other Tyrone fans as a regrettable slur on my countys good name.  Are you washing your hands of this Benny.  Is this another North V South Armagh can of worms being opened up?  You are lucky to have O Donnell in Armagh.   
With regard to young Harte what sections of the crowd did that day was totally unacceptable realredhandfan. However, not that it makes any real difference (I suppose), he was not booed.
Post by: red hander on February 13, 2007, 11:32:23 AM
Some Armagh 'fans' have very short memories ... must be Buckfast damage to the brain cells.  All I'll say is I wish McDonnell was from Kileeshill or Kildress rather than Killeavey
Post by: SlimShady on February 13, 2007, 11:35:19 AM
exactly. to abuse a player who has done what McDonnell has for Armagh is disgraceful.

Scumbags.
Post by: realredhandfan on February 13, 2007, 11:39:02 AM
You will find the same people that were slagging him would have been the first to put him in their shoulders when he scored the winning goal.  Benny did youse want him to stop the decision making, he might not have took the goal.  You have to be patient with class forwards,  at times they will get it wrong, but they must be allowed to keep trying.  Thats the way it is with Mulligan in Tyrone we know he'll come good some time after July.
Post by: full back on February 13, 2007, 11:50:28 AM
Quote from: SlimShady on February 13, 2007, 11:35:19 AM
exactly. to abuse a player who has done what McDonnell has for Armagh is disgraceful.

Scumbags.

Correct Slim, but not all supporters, so be careful the way you word it
Post by: ONeill on February 13, 2007, 11:53:58 AM
The 'abuse' thing doesn't bother me. You get that sort of craic at every level in most sports. We all love being critical. However, why did he go to the papers crying about it? Why is he even giving the critics airtime? You have to wonder what his state of mind is.  I thought the Louth comments were childish.

Ironically, the article below was about Dooher's return to fitness. Now, there's a man who suffered plenty of abuse before the first All-Ireland from some supporters. However, Brian never batted an eyelid, worked away and got his rewards.
Post by: Armamike on February 13, 2007, 11:57:02 AM
A serious amount of shit stirring on this thread. Slim, RRRHF etc are having some craic with this one.

McDonnell's probably the hardest working player on the Armagh team - always gives 100%. He was having a stinker of a game on Sunday though, nothing went right for him. From where i was, I never heard any personal abuse or abuse per se thrown at him.  I think he's overreacting a bit. Ideally i think he should be rested for a game or 2  to recharge the batteries -he has been a constant for Armagh in the mckenna cup, league and championship in recent years, while others around him have had time off. At the moment though Armagh can't afford to leave him out.
Post by: Armamike on February 13, 2007, 12:00:34 PM
QuoteWe all love being critical. However, why did he go to the papers crying about it? Why is he even giving the critics airtime? You have to wonder what his state of mind is.  I thought the Louth comments were childish.

O'Neill - i think it's a case of too much football for him. He looked very narked and agitated the whole game on Sunday. I just think he needs a breather.
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on February 13, 2007, 12:03:02 PM
O'Neills just shit stirring.
Title: Armagh4samforeverhasgotitinonego
Post by: realredhandfan on February 13, 2007, 12:10:36 PM
In fairness O Neill I think O Donnell  has 4 options here,
1) he quits the game - cant take heat turn off the heater and all that... not satisfactory
2) he has a Trevor Brennan style moment jumps the fence, and bates the head off a few orangemen.... not satisfactory
3) he scores a last minute match winning goal and say nothing to those of his own support who gave him the grief......it wouldnt do me either...
4) he scores a last minute match winning goal and says it as he sees it in the local press.  I think the fairest outcome.  It gives the player a recourse. 
Post by: never kickt a ball on February 13, 2007, 12:12:37 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 13, 2007, 11:53:58 AM
The 'abuse' thing doesn't bother me. You get that sort of craic at every level in most sports. We all love being critical. However, why did he go to the papers crying about it? Why is he even giving the critics airtime? You have to wonder what his state of mind is.  I thought the Louth comments were childish.
Ironically, the article below was about Dooher's return to fitness. Now, there's a man who suffered plenty of abuse before the first All-Ireland from some supporters. However, Brian never batted an eyelid, worked away and got his rewards.
You have a point O'Neill, however, I think the significant part of that article is the mention of his family and the evidence coming from them. Mickey Harte also mentioned in his book how his family were upset by comments in the crowd - I think in the McKenna Cup final in 2003 when Tyrone lost to Monaghan. I think that is what is causing him the frustration to turn to the papers and then everything else is spilling out. I was at a recent game when some sections of the crowd were pleading with Sean Cavanagh to release/pass the ball earlier and stop taking too much out of it. Now like McDonnell, Sean Cavanagh doesn't owe anything to his County but yet some the fans in the stands will be open with their opinions. Players can take that but it is extra difficult when you are trying to protect your family too.    
Post by: Over the Bar on February 13, 2007, 12:20:00 PM
It's understandable why it happens as McDonnell is Ireland's No.1 at seeking adoration from the crowd.   Blowing kisses and pointing at the number of his back after scoring only leaves him open to criticism from the crowd when he has a stinker.  You can't have it both ways Stevie!   

Secondly the truly great players will say they dont even hear the crowd and if they do, they ignore it and it doesnt affect their game.
Post by: ONeill on February 13, 2007, 12:20:49 PM
I know what you're saying but I can't get my head around speaking to the media about it. McDonnell even says himself that these people don't know their football and it's only those who do he listens to. This is the same man who wouldn't be shy to point to his number after a goal, to the same crowd. If you want adulation, you may expect criticism and take it too.
Post by: Over the Bar on February 13, 2007, 12:24:17 PM
QuoteIf I had been in the crowd the day young Mark Harte got booed I would have shut anyone up in the vicinity in no uncertain terms.

RRHF when was this?  Are referring to when he was substituted in Omagh & a section of the crowd cheered?
Post by: tyroneman on February 13, 2007, 12:25:51 PM
QuoteMcDonnell's probably the hardest working player on the Armagh team

Erm...no he isn't

But I'd have him in a Tyrone shirt in a flash
Post by: Over the Bar on February 13, 2007, 12:28:40 PM

hmm..  I've never seen him beyond the 45!  Stevie does not defend, which gets on a lot of Orange wicks.
Post by: haveaharp on February 13, 2007, 12:31:27 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on February 13, 2007, 12:28:40 PM

hmm..  I've never seen him beyond the 45!  Stevie does not defend, which gets on a lot of Orange wicks.

bullshit
Post by: Over the Bar on February 13, 2007, 12:36:35 PM
Quotebullshit

I'm not saying it hasn't happened but in the 2005 semi-final he barely featured in his own half.   Are you saying that the Armagh fans don't berate him for not tracking back??  You don't go to many games then.
Post by: realredhandfan on February 13, 2007, 12:38:58 PM
If Mc Donnell is not a marquee forward then Armagh do not have one. He provides the flair that is lacking in every other position on the field.  From simply A GAA perspective where O Donnell hounded out like a number of other Armagh flair players over the past few years in favour of dour Gaelic Football machines then Armagh will be virtually unwatchable. At the moment he keeps the rest of the GAA viewing public sane, when it comes to Armagh.   I dont mind the blowing kisses and pointing to his own number... its a sign that theres some personality left in that team.
Post by: realredhandfan on February 13, 2007, 12:42:11 PM
I guarantee that if O Donnell had tracked back he would have made a far more successful attempt of a tackle than that reckless defener Mc Keever.  Cost Armagh an All Ireland that cub..
Post by: Uladh on February 13, 2007, 12:45:39 PM

From the county that regards running with the ball up your jumper entertainment. You are allowed to kick the ball occaionally. there's more pleasure in watching norn iron than tyrone.
Post by: realredhandfan on February 13, 2007, 12:47:09 PM
Each of us get pleasure in different ways Uladh..
Post by: downredblack on February 13, 2007, 12:50:44 PM

"From the county that regards running with the ball up your jumper entertainment. You are allowed to kick the ball occaionally. there's more pleasure in watching norn iron than tyrone."

Which roughly translates into "I am Jealous of the two All Ireland's your fair county has won "
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 13, 2007, 12:51:38 PM
IMO McDonnell works hard defending as attacking alright.
If I was kernan and saw him back in his own half I'd boot his erse.
He is crucial to Armagh's gameplan to score and thus win, and you cannot do that out the field.
He needs to be in the danger zone where he can do all the damage.
One of THE top scoring machines in gaelic football.

Anyone who boo's a lad on their own side needs a kicking.
Thats not supporting your team.
no man goes out to play badly.
that kind of carp really irks me
Post by: Armamike on February 13, 2007, 12:53:32 PM
I wouldn't expect to see a corner forward back helping his backline to be honest - that would get on my wick a lot more. But as far as forwards go, he's as hard working as they come. McDonnell makes countless runs and is always available for the ball - probably explaining why so much goes through him.  I've seen him had plenty of bad games but his selfless off the ball movement has created space and opportunities for others.

Post by: Kerry Mike on February 13, 2007, 01:19:57 PM
We've seen the same personal abuse in Kerry over the years with last years treatment of Declan O'Sullivan a prime example. He was subjected to booing and personal abuse in the Munster final replay last year in Cork by certain elements in the Kerry crowd which I thought at the time was well out of order.

In fairness Declan was having a poor run of form at the time but some of the stuff being shouted from the experts sitting on their holes in the stands was just vile.

Thankfully Declan put his head down and got on with the hard work of regaining his place and the captaincy and he rammed the abuse down their throats in the AI final scoring the first goal and going on to lift Sam and bring him back to Kerry.

But it didnt stop there for Declan, while helping South Kerry win a third county final in a row in October, Declan was again the victim of some personal attacks from elements of the Dr Crokes club in Killarney, and it was that and the earlier happenings in 2006 that probably prompted Declan to take an extended holiday in Australia for the spring, giving up football, its probably something similar to Paul Galvin taking time off as well. The abuse he got after the Armagh game was unreal. Yes he deserved the red card but after being provoked by a water carrier, and yes he plays to the limit of the rules and is a hard man on the field but is that any reason to have to live with personal abuse from every corner.

There is huge pressure on county players nowadays and that can have a big impact on the players family and social lives, these guys give their all for their county and none of us have the right to question their abilities. I have nothing but pride for all county footballers and the dedication they put into the game and none of them should have to put up with the abuse they get on and in particular off the field. When you see it happening from your own so called supporters it is all the more sickening. If McDonnell is getting this from Armagh supporters, who he owes nothing to, no one would be surprised if he was to walk away from it.
Post by: illdecide on February 13, 2007, 01:24:22 PM
Well Stevie got a bit of stick from a few melters in the crowd we all know people who would question his ability are complete dickheads neither can anyone question his dedication to Armagh but lads from reading through this thread why are you even paying any attention to those c**k-boxes slagging him on the board. Ignore them as all they are doing is winding you's lads up. There is not one county in Ireland who wouldn't want Stevie on their team, so don't even reply to those remarks >:(
Post by: SlimShady on February 13, 2007, 01:27:27 PM
it shouldnt happen, ok, if you dont think the player is good enough then fair enough-discuss it down the pub with yer mates but to stand and hurl abuse at him on the field is the actions of an imbecile and those doing this need a good kick in the balls.

I'd see through it if these were professional players getting paid for this but they aren't. as seen in soccer where it is more acceptable to slate and abuse/boo a player off the pitch.

theres definitely a soccer-ish, yob-like element to Armaghs support. a look the GAA could do without.

if ye dont want him send Stevie from Killeavy over the border into Antrim!
Post by: tyroneman on February 13, 2007, 01:28:35 PM
QuoteFrom the county that regards running with the ball up your jumper entertainment. You are allowed to kick the ball occaionally. there's more pleasure in watching norn iron than tyrone

As opposed to..............what?

Humping every ball hig and diagonal into a 2 man forwardline? Great entertainment  ::)

Post by: nrico2006 on February 13, 2007, 01:31:54 PM
Some interesting points, especially about mcdonnell blowing kisses and enjoying the crowds reaction to his scores.  But do you blame him.  Being a Tyrone fan, theres many a day I would have loved to have mowed him down myself, but the man is quality.  If he complains about stick from 'certain' fans, then it must be bad enough so he's right to say so.  Im sure he doesnt  need reminding that he takes the wrong option, or hit a bad miss - all players know what they've done wrong in a match, and just really want the opportunity to rectify their errors, just as McDonnell did on sunday.  Its good craic with your marker trying to wind you up etc, but when 5 louth players do it it shows how much they feared him by trying to piss him off more, putting him off his game.  How it backfired, Im sure mcdonnell got great joy out of hammering the ball into the net to win the match for Armaghs 'B' Team.  I bet the Louth keeper wasnt slabbering as much then.  As someone posted, McDonnell has been playing flat out for past few years, mckenna cup, league and champ.  He definitely should have been rested for the mckenna, and I have no doubt that armaghs best forward will be back scoring for fun in the summer.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 13, 2007, 01:43:11 PM
QuoteErm...no he isn't

But I'd have him in a Tyrone shirt in a flash

You aren't the only one
Post by: Over the Bar on February 13, 2007, 02:07:21 PM
QuoteCost Armagh an All Ireland that cub..

Cost them the opportunity of a replay with Tyrone you mean.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 13, 2007, 07:41:53 PM
I see this thread wasn't worth opening.
Post by: Orior on February 13, 2007, 08:37:55 PM
Is this a bit of artistic licence by the hacks? I seriously doubt that anyone is calling for the dropping Stevie from Killeavy.
Post by: stew on February 13, 2007, 08:57:58 PM
Stevie has given a huge part of his life to Gaelic Football and his club and county, he is one of the best players in the Country over the last generation and he is loved by Armagh fans across the world and I dont doubt for a minute that there are some dirtboards out there, some so called fans who are abusing him because they used to do the same to hooley back in the day as well. There are other more reasoned people like bennydorano who do not get personal and call a spade a spade and voice their opinion on how well the man played and to me there is nothing wrong with that.

Slim talking about scumbags in armagh is a bit rich considering where he comes from ffs, there are more scumbags in Antrim than anywhere else in the country with the posible exception of Limerick. Slimmy baby, you will have to do better than that and I know you must be frustrated that nobody is biting. ;D

Stevie loves the attention he gets when he gets the job done and he has taunted his opponents in the past and so when he gets a bit of abuse he should just shrug it off because if you are fit to dish it out you should be fit to take it when it comes your way.

As for O'Neills analogy with Dooher, to me he represents both the greatness of what it means to be a  gaelic footballer and also unfortunately is the poster child for going to ground early and destroying the game with soccer like writhing when touched and cheating and I  have cursed him from the stands in disgust at his antics at times yet he is as brilliant as Stevie ever was and I admire his dedication and tremendous heart but to listen to O'Neill you would think he was an angel and lets not forget the personal abuse meted out to Mark Harte in the very recent past, there should be no room for vindictive, cutting remarks from your own support and as RRHF stated, these hoors should be shut up from the stands and confronted when they start ripping on their own players. Cnuts all.
Post by: Orior on February 13, 2007, 09:00:27 PM
Stew, get yourself an avatar. A table tennis paddle or something like that.
Post by: stew on February 13, 2007, 09:10:13 PM
Post by: reddgnhand on February 13, 2007, 09:51:47 PM
QuoteAs for O'Neills analogy with Dooher, to me he represents both the greatness of what it means to be a  gaelic footballer and also unfortunately is the poster child for going to ground early and destroying the game with soccer like writhing when touched and cheating and I  have cursed him from the stands in disgust at his antics

stew do you curse Paddy McKeever when he does it?
Post by: stew on February 13, 2007, 10:07:33 PM

Yes, there should be no room at all for diving, you can't condemn just those who play in different coloured shirts and not your own if they are just as bad. diving is diving, end of.

Post by: reddgnhand on February 13, 2007, 10:55:32 PM
Quote from: stew on February 13, 2007, 10:07:33 PM

Yes, there should be no room at all for diving, you can't condemn just those who play in different coloured shirts and not your own if they are just as bad. diving is diving, end of.

So if you can curse Paddy McKeever from the stands what makes you any different from the "Dirtbirds"that curse McDonnell from the stands.
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on February 14, 2007, 12:04:10 AM
Stevie is a hero. Now let that be the end of it. I hope theres no more of this nonsence in Cross.
Post by: stew on February 14, 2007, 04:40:34 AM
So if you can curse Paddy McKeever from the stands what makes you any different from the "Dirtbirds"that curse McDonnell from the stands.

Easy, I piss and moan to my mates and I leave it at that, McKeever also plays for a club that is repugnant to me and that makes it easier and also he plays for the county i support so i go easier on him than that fcuker dooher the hoor.

There is a certain amount of hypocricy involved and i do have orange tinted glasses to a certain extent but not even close to what you tyronies can stomach, there were cnuts from tyrone on here defending the actions of rice when he was putting the kneee into the head of defenseless armagh men lying prostrate on the ground and i would never do that should the roles be reversed.

it is not so long ago that a certain Tyrone contributor was laughing at the fact hooley got his head stamped on by a tyronie thug so I would not make a federal case out of my hypocricy big fella, we all have our biases so we do. ;)

Post by: reddgnhand on February 14, 2007, 11:12:34 PM
QuoteEasy, I piss and moan to my mates and I leave it at that

stew you better not let any of McKeevers family overhear you moaning to your mates or he'll be off to the papers asking you to get off his back. ;)
Post by: ONeill on February 16, 2007, 10:35:05 AM
In today's IN:

McDonnell's critics are not fit to lace his shooting boots  
THE BOOT ROOM 
by Brendan Crossan

A FAN'S prerogative to scream and shout abuse at a player during a game hasn't always sat easily with me.

Just because he/she (and the female fraternity aren't exempt here) has paid a few euro into a ground shouldn't mean that they be allowed to direct a load of verbal at an opposing player. These things happen of course and, really, there's not a lot any of us can do about it.

Maybe we've all been guilty of growling at an opponent from beyond the wire. But to scream and shout abuse at one of your own players is incomprehensible, especially if you're shouting beyond the wire at Stevie McDonnell. This is what a section of the GAA's watching public has sunk to.

In their irrational minds, some so-called Armagh supporters have decided to abuse one of their own.

Let me paint a picture. In the lead-up to last Sunday's NFL match against Louth in Crossmaglen, McDonnell was dosed with 'flu'. Given Armagh's lack of recognised scoring forwards, McDonnell decided to play against Louth. A tenacious Louth defender by the name of Alan Page carried out his task in the best way he could. He harassed and harried McDonnell throughout the game, sometimes by fair and sometimes by foul means.

Most of the time, Longford referee John Bannon appeared to give the benefit of the doubt to Page. The heavy ground made last Sunday a day for defenders. Every time McDonnell got the ball in his pouch he would slip in the mud and concede that half yard he had on Page.

The Louth man was lauded for getting a few last-gasp blocks in, and when McDonnell did get free his aim was off target.

In many ways it was a typical battle between two men on a rainy Sunday afternoon in February. McDonnell took a fair bit of stick from several opponents as the two teams made their way to the changing rooms at half-time. They goaded him about his shooting. Allstar, my arse... that type of thing.

In truth, Armagh never looked like winning the game, not until McDonnell caught Paul McGrane's hoisted pass in the dying seconds and buried the ball into Louth's net with all the conviction and anger in his soul. McDonnell went mad with celebration. St Oliver Plunkett Park rejoiced too as Armagh nicked a win by a single point.

Afterwards, McDonnell didn't hang around. He got showered and got home to his two young children and partner. It turned out he was up all night with the 'flu'. He was hoping to sweat the illness out him that day. He ended up missing work the following morning. On Monday night he didn't sound too great either when this reporter telephoned him.

Now, from my previous dealings, McDonnell is a mild-mannered, easy-going, friendly sort of person. Hyperbole is something you would never associate with the Killeavey clubman.

So when he decided to vent his spleen on those spectators who have shouted obscenities at him over the last few weeks for being "too greedy" and not being up to the job, we can safely assume the abuse has been pretty bad. It is also important to point out that his views were unprompted.

Now, this reporter has covered three of Armagh's games so far this year. McDonnell played in two of them. He played against Monaghan and Louth. Without his contribution in both games, Armagh would not have won.

During the Orchard county's McKenna Cup tie against Monaghan last month, the side was struggling to gain control, until McDonnell popped up with two ice-cool frees near the end. His contribution against Louth last Sunday was even greater: 1-4.

Bearing this in mind and the amount of key players unavailable to manager Joe Kernan, the abuse McDonnell has been receiving is, quite simply, outrageous.

If you think that this reporter is merely trying to find favour with McDonnell or is simply appealing to the player's ego, then consider Eamonn McEneaney's words after Sunday's game. Or Niall McCready's.

After his side lost to McDonnell's late winner, McEneaney declared that McDonnell's mentality was something to be admired. He said the Armagh forward was of the view that a goal could win the game for his team rather than thinking the game was over.

Former Donegal defender Niall McCready marked him during their memorable All-Ireland semi-final at Croke Park in 2003.

Up until the 56th minute, McCready was having a fine afternoon on McDonnell. Every ball sent in to the square, McCready was first. From high up in the Hogan Stand that day, McDonnell looked demoralised by McCready's defensive master-class.

"I was playing in front of him for most of the game and a high crossfield ball came in, I was caught at sea," recalls McCready.

"He was as cool as a fox, he kept his hands in the air longer than mine. He kept his composure and he stuck the ball in the net. I thought I had control of him, but that's the mark of a real class forward. If he gets an opportunity he'll punish you."

McCready adds: "McDonnell's a class bit of stuff, he's up there with Canavan. When I played inter-county football, I noticed the classy forwards never panicked.

"In the Ulster final in Croke Park a year later, holy God, he kicked two scores with his back to goal and ripped me to ribbons."

McDonnell joined the Armagh senior panel in 1999 and has helped the county win no fewer than six Ulster titles and the Sam Maguire in 2002. Armagh gaels have never had it so good, and some of them now take silverware for granted.

McDonnell's performances to date this term need no defence. He's certainly not living off the legend. He's still only 27. His flame burns as ferocious as any of his peers.

So those Armagh 'fans' seeking to shout at one of their own from the sanctity of the crowd should do one of two things: either shut up or stay at home.

It is, of course, easy to lose perspective in an era where players' profiles are heightened by the media. But they don't live in a bubble like other famous sportsmen and women do. They live among us. They get up in the morning and go to work just like you and me. They don't live in fancy houses with electronic gates and plush walls.

It's a real pity, but jealousy can be a vicious thing...
Post by: Over the Bar on February 16, 2007, 12:20:02 PM
Met stevie and his girl at the GPA awards.  Bought him a drink and we chatted for 5-10 mins.  Found him to be as down to earth as they come.
Post by: Armamike on February 16, 2007, 12:39:59 PM
I wasn't in that part of the ground so would it be good to get some perspective on this. Was the abuse really that bad?  and how many in the crowd were having a go - was it 1, 2, 10 or more?
Post by: High Catch on February 16, 2007, 12:54:43 PM
Im guessing it was a number between 1-5. But if people dont like what they see then they will be heard if they want to be heard. I think the whole thing has been blown out of the water. Time to forget, id say Stevie regrets doing the interview now he knows the reaction it got.
Title: The history of Armagh
Post by: realredhandfan on February 16, 2007, 01:03:30 PM
This Armagh squad has form, in fairness the crowd gets to them, just a couple of incidents that spring to mind:
1) Big Joe V Derry at Celtic Park 05
2) Ciaran Mc Keever V Tyrone 05 Ulster final replay
3) Steven Mc Donnell 07

Would a consistent record of taking offense at spectators be typical of a focused set up?   I think not!  Its what happens inside the wire that counts.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on February 16, 2007, 01:27:52 PM
Quote from: High Catch on February 16, 2007, 12:54:43 PM
Im guessing it was a number between 1-5. But if people dont like what they see then they will be heard if they want to be heard. I think the whole thing has been blown out of the water. Time to forget, id say Stevie regrets doing the interview now he knows the reaction it got.

Agreed - I was in the ground on Sunday and there was nothing but encouragement for Stevie. With regard to this thread, it's obvious that the momentum for it is driven by many outside Armagh - enough said! ::)

Note:

By the way - a favour somebody, please! Could you post after me on this thread, pointing out the irony of me posting on this thread, given the argument I was making?

I would appreciate it if you would! Thanks in advance.
Post by: Armamike on February 16, 2007, 02:09:12 PM
QuoteIm guessing it was a number between 1-5.

I wouldn't have thought a couple of eejits shouting would be that newsworthy. The Irish News are getting a bit of mileage out of this one.  Where's Crossan from?

Just as well Brian McAlinden and Brian Canavan were thick skinned.
Post by: armaghniac on February 16, 2007, 03:48:47 PM
There are eejits supporting every county. Armagh has a comparatively good support and so no doubt gets a good share of the eejit community too. I expect what happened here was a couple of foulmouths sitting beside Stevies mother or girlfriend who were not as thick skinned as the two Brian's. Stevie was annoyed that they were annoyed, so to speak, and the Irish news is able to fill up their columns with this stuff.
Post by: ONeill on February 16, 2007, 10:20:36 PM
What interested me most about this was the silence from those who criticised McDonnell in the Louth/Armagh thread:

Bennydorano - pretty wasteful and shockingly greedy
holylandsniper - I thought a dreadful game, and slowly over last year or 2 he's getting greedier and greedier, he wouldnt pass to them. far too greedy today
pintsofguinness - Stevie is selfish
Armamike - McDonnell was having a stinker couldn't do a thing right until that.  He was a bit greedy ,  hiis shooting being woeful - most of the shots he took on were very scoreable

I wish the above would grow a backbone.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 16, 2007, 10:49:27 PM
I thought this thread was about people "abusing him from the stands", I didnt hear one at that so why would I be commenting on this thread?
Post by: Armamike on February 16, 2007, 11:01:40 PM
I presume O'Neill is referring to the IN report and the context for McDonnell's performance.  O'Neill - let it  go, there's been enough said over this nothing 'story'.
Post by: ONeill on February 16, 2007, 11:05:43 PM
How could it be a nothing story when Stevie comes out and states that those who criticise him 'know nothing about football'. I think McDonnell is being harsh here.
Post by: Tyrones own on February 17, 2007, 12:24:56 AM

"it's obvious that the momentum for it is driven by many outside Armagh"

Rufus, would you not say it was given momentum enough by McDonnell himself without any interference.
Post by: corn02 on February 17, 2007, 12:30:57 AM
A few notes:

I rarely agree with ONeill but he is right here. He should be a bit more thick skinned than this. Crying to the media does not help. Abuse is not acceptable in Sport, critism is. Every player recieves it and if constructive enough every player should listen to it.

The posters who say McDonnell never ventures past his own forty fie have not been watching the last 2 years of Armagh football. McDonnell's workrate has raised significantly - note the games against Fermanagh last year, he tracked back on every possible occasion. His tallies may not be as high as around 02 but I believe this to be partly down to his more hard working attitude.

No one would ask for Stevie to be dropped if they did they should never be allowed to a GAA match again. But his championship place is assured, if he was suffering from the flu as claimed today he should of not played for two reasons. 1 - he probably felt he was not fit enough to and 2 - let the new players have a go. I know it is the league and not the McKenna cup but we should be concentrating on surviving not winning the league if it means new players are gaining vital experience.
Post by: realredhandfan on February 17, 2007, 09:16:04 AM
O Neill bottom line whether mc Donnell is thick skinned or not.Its obvious Armagh supporters need to reel their tongues in, as do many other counties. they have been screaming obscenities at some of the greatest players in Ireland for too long, many of them double all ireland winners.  it was only a matter of time before they turned on their own.   Clean up the act lads for a better big game experience for all..
Post by: DrinkingHarp on February 17, 2007, 10:09:44 AM
People can spew what they want when they pay a fair price to watch a match, common sense is a different topic altogether. You will always have the loud mouth know it all and the fan who responds to an unfavorably play or action. It is up to fans to act as civil people to allow their voices to be heard as critics or morons.
Post by: realredhandfan on February 17, 2007, 10:16:21 AM
agreed,  this is not just Armaghs problem.  Do we let it continue until theres crowd trouble or do we all do our best to nip it now and tell the louts to shut up. 
Post by: stew on February 17, 2007, 03:52:56 PM
O'Neill is just shit stirring on this thread as he does on all armagh threads and maybe it is time the Armagh heads started hijacking the tyrone club threads for a while and see how they like it. :P

we all have opinions but for the life of me I dont understand why we are getting all het up about stevies form in February, why should we give a damn how his form is now, it's not like he is not going to have a couple of clinkers in the championship? the man needs to let this abuse go and the supporters in the stands needs to tell these idiots to feck off and shut up, Stevie is one of our best ever players ever and does not deserve the abuse he is getting, that said he would do well to ignore what he hears during league matches because they dont matter in the grand scheme of things, anyone would think that he was from the Moy or Eglish the way he is carrying on. :'(

By the way, if a county man dives to get a free or pretends to be injured that is embarassing to the support and should they not call their own man out????  To me if they are at that craic they deserve to be called out as there should be no room for that carry on and we should leave that to the lawn fairies such as the Arsenal and Chelski players.