Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

EOC1923

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on November 19, 2021, 09:33:54 AM
Quote from: country bumpkin on November 19, 2021, 08:36:08 AM
Quote from: NAG1 on November 19, 2021, 08:28:03 AM
Quote from: country bumpkin on November 19, 2021, 08:22:16 AM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on November 19, 2021, 08:11:37 AM
A wonderful club and a credit to their members and community. I wish them every success.

I don't think you are going to convince anyone that they don't pay a manager though.

The crux of it is whether it is acceptable or cheating I suppose.

Or acceptable cheating.

You gotta meet our esteemed treasurer......then you will.understand.....not a chance.

Been about here a long time and can assure you Cargin club do not provide 'expense' to any outside management....

Fact..!

CB that argument might wash a little better had your previous manager not have been who he was  ;)

Going to tell you again......Cargin club, do not provide payment/expenses to any of their vast array of management.

Come and meet the treasurer and be convinced.

Put a pair of knickers on it and call it whatever you want.
Meanwhile, the rest of us will keep living in that real world you keep telling us about....
Get your members together and get your club organised at all levels, my guess is your club has been left behind and this manager thing is an easy target for you.

geezer

100%. All the clubs comepeting for senior championship are constantly competing at underage maybe barring LD in recent years, having said that they did win ulster minor with alot of their current team.

Its no coincidence lads, put the work at underage and reap the rewards.

Quote from: Lár na páirce 1 on November 19, 2021, 09:46:29 AM
Looking at Cargin they made an academy about 20 years ago purely to put emphasis on youth as whether your an u6 new start or a Kieran close your treated equally, always compete at all grades and fair play to them, hard work from top ex senior players on every age group also, been at top at senior level now going on 40+ years, that's no accident, it takes everyone, Creggan been the same for a long time also, Men and Woman giving up their free time to forward the club on to another level, fact is it's not all about the senior team, that's were alot of other clubs fail.there is no quick fix.

So can someone tell me why a club with this level of organisation and obvious commitment from serious ex players, not able to get a club man to manage their senior team.

Surely there is a neglect then on the development of coaches within the club if they are unable to do so.

geezer

Aghagallon are the prefect example. Massive amounts of work must have been done at that club. 7/8 years ago they werent anywhere to be seen at underage. Now, they seem to be winning or at least competing every year at every age group. And what do you know they got to the senior final. No disrespect but im sure that wouldnt have even be dreamt of at that club 10 years ago.

Its all about underage. Always has been and always will be.

geezer

Cargin have the best squad in antrim and probably 1 of the best in ulster. No harm in wanting a top manager to match their players talents.

Quote from: NAG1 on November 19, 2021, 10:03:48 AM

So can someone tell me why a club with this level of organisation and obvious commitment from serious ex players, not able to get a club man to manage their senior team.

Surely there is a neglect then on the development of coaches within the club if they are unable to do so.

Lár na páirce 1

I'd imagine the coaches in Cargin are top drawer and there is no neglect, maybe the fact senior teams are now a 7 day a week job between organising as stated previously likes of strength&conditioning,GPS analysis,stat men,nutritionists, physios,massage crew, all need tied into the senior set up, that's all before the basics of even managing a team, maybe some can't committ to that level but are happy to take an underage team.

country bumpkin

Now that we have discovered the moral compass within are we about to dispense with our senior football and hurling management teams.
Will we stop paying for the services of our county secretary and halt expenses available to our admistrators and ensure no more payment to Ulster and Croke officials.

Will referees turn out for nothing and forget mileage allowance and those lucky enough to be on our Saffron squads to forget about expenses....pay their own treatments for physio etc.

Strange this howling foul as increased in volume recently.
Could it be anything to do with the obvious emergence of strong teams from the South West and Mc Namee preferring residence in the calm of the countryside?

bannside

That's my point too. Why pick on club managers receiving reimbursement when so many other sectors within CLG are freely benefitting.

Either it's a volunteer organisation or its not, once you cherry pick who can receive payment and who should not it's a very blurry line.

It cannot be policed. It is not going to change. If this is bothering anyone greatly they are in for a long ride. Let it go!

Quote from: bannside on November 19, 2021, 10:53:33 AM
That's my point too. Why pick on club managers receiving reimbursement when so many other sectors within CLG are freely benefitting.

Either it's a volunteer organisation or its not, once you cherry pick who can receive payment and who should not it's a very blurry line.

It cannot be policed. It is not going to change. If this is bothering anyone greatly they are in for a long ride. Let it go!

The blurred lines need to be addressed though, Croke needs to accept and change ruling, but if it does that will open up a can or worms also, that's why they have 'allowed' it to happen.

Hopefully they will review the mileage for ref's also  ;D

EOC1923

we've won championships with club men in charge and we've won them with outside managers, and we'll do both again no doubt. It's whatever suits best at a particular time. Simple.

geezer

Pure lies. All about the managers. Nothing to do with the fact yous have kobo, crozier, scullion, laverty, mccanns, shivers, magill, bradley, gribben, close.

Quote from: EOC1923 on November 19, 2021, 11:04:43 AM

we've won championships with club men in charge and we've won them with outside managers, and we'll do both again no doubt. It's whatever suits best at a particular time. Simple.

Quote from: geezer on November 19, 2021, 12:54:28 PM
Pure lies. All about the managers. Nothing to do with the fact yous have kobo, crozier, scullion, laverty, mccanns, shivers, magill, bradley, gribben, close.

Sooooo, if you those brilliant players why go outside?

I'm sort of asking is it a case that the players prefer this or do the committee feel this is the best method to get the best out of the team at the top?

country bumpkin

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on November 19, 2021, 11:37:04 AM
Quote from: bannside on November 19, 2021, 10:53:33 AM

Because it is against the rules and therefore cheating.

Lets examine the issue Duinte.......
You wanna get rid of Gleeson and get a North Antrim man in to manage the county hurling team...?

geezer

Bit of both maybe. Players want to play under the best no matter if its a man from the club or not. Commitees responsibility to give the team the best chance of winning. Especially if you have a squad like cargins.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 19, 2021, 01:10:07 PM

I'm sort of asking is it a case that the players prefer this or do the committee feel this is the best method to get the best out of the team at the top?

EOC1923

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 19, 2021, 01:10:07 PM

You tell us, why did you bring James McCartan in?