McKenna Cup 2024

Started by never kickt a ball, December 30, 2006, 02:22:48 AM

Indeed. Wait until May and all the crying, win or lose, that you'll be hearing from the Tyrone ones here over the referee after the game in Ballybofey.

greatpoint

Quote from: imtommygunn on January 11, 2020, 10:07:39 AM
Quote from: trailer on January 11, 2020, 09:09:07 AM
Donegal and especially Bonner are expert whingers.

I love irony ;D

Self-awareness appears to be extremely scarce in parts of central Ulster.

tyrone08

Quote from: J70 on January 11, 2020, 11:55:26 AM
Indeed. Wait until May and all the crying, win or lose, that you'll be hearing from the Tyrone ones here over the referee after the game in Ballybofey.
Doubt they will be any complaining as Donegal are expected to win. They have had Tyrone numbers the past 2 years and now that mcshane is gone so is Tyrones main attacking threat

It's Donegals to lose.

Quote from: tyrone08 on January 11, 2020, 02:02:35 PM
Doubt they will be any complaining as Donegal are expected to win. They have had Tyrone numbers the past 2 years and now that mcshane is gone so is Tyrones main attacking threat

It's Donegals to lose.

Long way to go till May. You don't know what injuries or drop-outs Donegal will suffer. And maybe someone else will fill McShane's role (Donnelly?).

You beat us in '18 BTW! In Ballybofey. Wee Brennan came on and changed the game. Surely you haven't forgotten that! :)

tyrone08

Quote from: J70 on January 11, 2020, 02:14:53 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on January 11, 2020, 02:02:35 PM

It's Donegals to lose.

Long way to go till May. You don't know what injuries or drop-outs Donegal will suffer. And maybe someone else will fill McShane's role (Donnelly?).

You beat us in '18 BTW! In Ballybofey. Wee Brennan came on and changed the game. Surely you haven't forgotten that! :)

Forgot about that. I think Donegal are on the rise up in general whereas Tyrone still have the same old problems. The qualifier draw has been very kind to us this past few years which has allowed us to progress further than we probably should. Only time till tell I suppose.

You're consistently second or third best team in the country. I don't  think there has been that much luck in it. Donegal tend to peak earlier but are definitely on the up. If mcbrearty is missing then he is possibly as big a loss as mcshane though I do think that injury has hurt his pace.

Angelo

Credit to Down for fulfilling the fixture today.
GAA FUNDING CHEATS CHEAT US ALL

Some amount of crying by Tyrone people on here about a game that has nothing to do with them

Targetman

Quote from: Angelo on January 12, 2020, 08:26:24 PM
Credit to Down for fulfilling the fixture today.
Fulfilling the fixture was about it!!

Eire90

get rid of mckenna cup o byne cup etc and just have a three week period where you can arrange challenge matches

Quote from: Eire90 on January 13, 2020, 01:29:26 AM
get rid of mckenna cup o byne cup etc and just have a three week period where you can arrange challenge matches

Youse just leave the O'Byrne Cup out of this. It's one of Longford's only chance of a bit of craic.

Scrap what ye like in Ulster.

The O'Byrne Cup should be renamed the Midlands SFC.

Is there much difference in pre season tournaments and challenge games ?

Angelo

Quote from: larryin89 on January 14, 2020, 10:10:46 PM

Is there much difference in pre season tournaments and challenge games ?

Don't know about other pre season competitions but there have been done great battles in the McKenna Cup in the past few years and it has been a good testing ground for the mettle of new players.
GAA FUNDING CHEATS CHEAT US ALL

Eire90

Not really but challenge games gives you chance to play on your own times agreed between the teams and you can play teams from other provinces although you wouldnt want to be travelling far this time year.