GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: theticklemister on August 17, 2019, 09:59:46 PM

Title: Up For The Match
Post by: theticklemister on August 17, 2019, 09:59:46 PM
Je I'm really enjoying Lar Corbett, Jackie Tyrell and Shane McGrath here!
Title: Re: Up For The Match
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 17, 2019, 10:26:52 PM
The blonde hair and extra weight doesn't suit Gráinne Seoige.
Post by: Minder on August 17, 2019, 10:43:26 PM
Joe Hayes rolled out as usual
Post by: dublin7 on August 17, 2019, 10:44:18 PM
To be fair its miles better without Grainne Ni Seoige. That woman may be pretty looking but there's more warmth and personality in an iceberg. At least Jackie Hurley makes it watchable alongside that gombeen Des Cahill
Post by: rosnarun on August 18, 2019, 10:51:32 AM
Quote from: dublin7 on August 17, 2019, 10:44:18 PM
To be fair its miles better without Grainne Ni Seoige. That woman may be pretty looking but there's more warmth and personality in an iceberg. At least Jackie Hurley makes it watchable alongside that gombeen Des Cahill
could it be that's she actually interest and loved getting the job for the jobs sake rather than the exposure?
she's a hell of a lot better TV  presenter than des . Ive seem young curate organize better Quizzes . he was explaining still expalaing the rules with 10 seconds gone on the clock,
only a bit of crack I know but still painful to watch him.
love him on the radio though
Post by: AZOffaly on August 18, 2019, 11:33:35 AM
Didn't watch it but not surprised if Jacqui Hurley did a good job. she seems a decent sort and is a genuine sports fan.
Post by: gallsman on August 19, 2019, 05:18:35 PM
Des doing the questions for that quiz was absolutely bloody awful.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 19, 2019, 05:26:58 PM
Des is bloody awful so little wonder.
Post by: BennyCake on August 31, 2019, 10:20:03 PM
No sign of Aslan or Charlie Redmond yet.
Post by: Carbery on August 31, 2019, 10:47:43 PM
I see the viewers quiz is limited to residents of the 26 Counties only.  What a shame for a 32 County organisation.  Both GAA and RTÉ.
Post by: Ball Hopper on September 01, 2019, 12:04:33 AM
Quote from: Carbery on August 31, 2019, 10:47:43 PM
I see the viewers quiz is limited to residents of the 26 Counties only.  What a shame for a 32 County organisation.  Both GAA and RTÉ.

Probably limited to RTE licence holders as well...does RTE claim to serve 32 counties though?
Post by: BennyCake on September 01, 2019, 12:17:19 AM
Ulster and the north clearly doesn't matter to RTE.

Between the opening sequences on TSG and TG4's GAA coverage, there's only a split second of a ball being kicked in a Down v Monaghan match. Nothing else from an Ulster team.
Post by: LCohen on September 01, 2019, 07:34:31 AM

In what way is RTE a 32 county organisation? Where are you getting that from?

I'd agree with Benny though the big issues for the GAA are the bi-annual pratfest that is Up For The Match and the title sequences of The Sunday Game. Surely another Citizen's Assembly is in the offing?
Post by: trailer on September 01, 2019, 10:47:19 AM
The competition is restricted to the 26 counties because of differences in the laws North & South. Now, if we had a functioning executive in NI we could align them but unfortunately we don't. So it has nothing to do with being partitionist and everything to do with RTÉ protecting themselves from a potential court case.

Interesting that it seems to be a specific bug bearer for SF members on twitter. Niall O'Donaigle (Not sure of spelling but Senator from Belfast) being number one I think.....
Post by: seafoid on September 01, 2019, 12:37:04 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on September 01, 2019, 12:17:19 AM

Between the opening sequences on TSG and TG4's GAA coverage, there's only a split second of a ball being kicked in a Down v Monaghan match. Nothing else from an Ulster team.
The Irish Times had 21 highlights of the season and there wasn't one featuring a Galway player.
Post by: Halfquarter on September 01, 2019, 07:41:48 PM

Theses competitions are a mugs game, money grabbing opportunity for RTÉ.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 04, 2019, 11:05:03 AM
Quote from: dublin7 on August 17, 2019, 10:44:18 PM

When I read this two weeks ago I raised my eyebrows as I quite like Gráinne. I saw a bit of last Saturday's show and I agree completely. Jacqui actually shows up how banal and useless Des is.
Post by: trailer on September 06, 2019, 12:26:03 PM
I never want to be in the company of anyone ever who watch these type of gobshite shows.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 29, 2023, 10:17:52 PM
The state of Des Cahill.
Post by: clarshack on July 29, 2023, 10:40:06 PM
Surprised that this show is still a thing.
Post by: armaghniac on July 29, 2023, 11:11:27 PM
It's not the worst tonight.
I wonder who is Anna Geary's dentist?
Post by: Hound on July 29, 2023, 11:14:13 PM
The short clip of Sinead singing Molly Malone was lovely
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 29, 2023, 11:17:26 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 29, 2023, 11:11:27 PM
It's not the worst tonight.
I wonder who is Anna Geary's dentist?

Looks like she's ready to pop.
Post by: Rossfan on July 29, 2023, 11:59:04 PM
Quote from: clarshack on July 29, 2023, 10:40:06 PM
Surprised that this show is still a thing.
And even more surprised anyone is watching it.
Post by: Sportacus on July 30, 2023, 12:02:00 AM
It really bugs me that I can't enter RTE GAA competitions.
Post by: GAABoardMod5 on July 30, 2023, 12:07:50 AM
Quote from: Sportacus on July 30, 2023, 12:02:00 AM

If they linked it to your tv licence number, would that make it a more valid competition?
Post by: Sportacus on July 30, 2023, 12:10:24 AM
Quote from: GAABoardMod5 on July 30, 2023, 12:07:50 AM

If they linked it to your tv licence number, would that make it a more valid competition?
How do you mean?
Post by: RedHand88 on July 30, 2023, 12:15:11 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on September 01, 2019, 12:17:19 AM

4 years later but I have to ask.... did you freeze each frame and keep a running tally?
Post by: From the Bunker on July 30, 2023, 12:17:40 AM
(https://i1.sndcdn.com/artworks-000141288931-bqu7hr-t240x240.jpg)
Post by: restorepride on July 30, 2023, 12:29:27 AM
+7 in this household.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 30, 2023, 12:35:05 AM
RTÉ = Raidió Teilifís Saorstat Éireann, sin é, alas.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 30, 2023, 12:42:07 AM
Quote from: restorepride on July 30, 2023, 12:29:27 AM
+7 in this household.

The question was too hard anyway
Post by: From the Bunker on July 30, 2023, 01:15:39 AM
Up for the game with liam ó murchú.

God be with the days....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C-mLNSaJBWg&t=3323s (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C-mLNSaJBWg&t=3323s)
Post by: restorepride on July 30, 2023, 01:18:29 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 30, 2023, 12:35:05 AM
RTÉ = Raidió Teilifís Saorstat Éireann, sin é, alas.
Cha raibh na duaiseanna mar sin i gcónaí - ar na mallaibh go díreach.  Béal Bocht?
Post by: Hound on July 30, 2023, 09:10:35 AM
+7 in this household.
In the south, we can't vote who to evict in Love Island
Swings and roundabouts 😜
Post by: Sportacus on July 30, 2023, 09:42:43 AM

I don't/can't pay an RTE licence in the North so fair enough, but I'm pretty sure RTE are using me in their viewing numbers when they quote their commercial advertising rates.  I'm just as likely to visit SuperValu or buy a Renault as the next fella. Are they making money off me - yes.  So if the argument is about not contributing, then it doesn't cut.
Post by: seafoid on July 30, 2023, 10:39:13 AM
Quote from: Sportacus on July 30, 2023, 09:42:43 AM

I don't/can't pay an RTE licence in the North so fair enough, but I'm pretty sure RTE are using me in their viewing numbers when they quote their commercial advertising rates.  I'm just as likely to visit SuperValu or buy a Renault as the next fella. Are they making money off me - yes.  So if the argument is about not contributing, then it doesn't cut.
This is a United Ireland issue
Post by: imtommygunn on July 30, 2023, 11:04:17 AM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on July 30, 2023, 12:42:07 AM
+7 in this household.

What is the reason? Is it not gambling laws or something like that or am I imagining that?
Post by: Sportacus on July 30, 2023, 12:05:45 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 30, 2023, 11:04:17 AM
+7 in this household.

What is the reason? Is it not gambling laws or something like that or am I imagining that?
Change the law then.  This should not be beyond the wit of man.
Post by: Rossfan on July 30, 2023, 12:31:14 PM
No Assembly or Executive in the 6 Cos ;)
Post by: From the Bunker on July 30, 2023, 12:57:56 PM
Jez, don't be getting ye're knickers in a twist about a RTE money making competition. Believe me if RTE could legally have the Kings pound filling up their coffers, they'd gladly take it.
Post by: Main Street on July 30, 2023, 01:42:58 PM
In the event of tens of thousands of nordies led by Tony Fearon, who would all be running like dodos with their 2 euros to take part in this scam, does anyone seriously think that RTE would look that gift horse in the mouth?
Jaysus, nordie victimhood knows no end, now it's discriminatory that they can't be scammed just like everybody else on the other side of the border   ;D
Post by: seafoid on July 30, 2023, 01:47:47 PM
Surely what is required is a broker in Monaghan
Post by: Sportacus on July 30, 2023, 01:49:53 PM
McBennett will be tweeting this evening that 1.2 million people watched the All Ireland, and the RTE  commercial team will be selling advertising for big bucks off the back of it.  Does that include northern viewers? 
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 30, 2023, 02:20:39 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 30, 2023, 01:42:58 PM
Jaysus, nordie victimhood knows no end, now it's discriminatory that they can't be scammed just like everybody else on the other side of the border   ;D

Ever been to Dublin, and heard how they might refer to Monaghan folk, ie, "dem nordie bastards"?  :P
Post by: Main Street on July 30, 2023, 04:08:00 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 30, 2023, 02:20:39 PM

Ever been to Dublin, and heard how they might refer to Monaghan folk, ie, "dem nordie bastards"?  :P
Us Monaghan folk can pay the 2 euro and enter the scam and besides we're copacetic nordies, it's the nordies on the other side of the border that have the obsessive complexes, even to the extent of pining to be scammed equally ;D "really bugs me that I can't enter RTE GAA competitions".
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 30, 2023, 04:11:40 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 30, 2023, 04:08:00 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 30, 2023, 02:20:39 PM

Us Monaghan folk can pay the 2 euro and enter the scam and besides we're copacetic nordies, it's the nordies on the other side of the border that have the obsessive complexes, even to the extent of pining to be scammed equally ;D "really bugs me that I can't enter RTE GAA competitions".

Accept it, you're bleedin' nordies, though a partitionist mindset will always draw a partitionist distinction!
Post by: Sportacus on July 31, 2023, 02:32:12 PM
Quote from: Sportacus on July 30, 2023, 01:49:53 PM
McBennett will be tweeting this evening that 1.2 million people watched the All Ireland, and the RTE  commercial team will be selling advertising for big bucks off the back of it.  Does that include northern viewers?
And there he goes. Just tweeted 1.096mn viewers. RTE will be happy to sell advertising off that all day long, but won't let Northern viewers enter their competitions.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 31, 2023, 02:36:45 PM
Quote from: Sportacus on July 31, 2023, 02:32:12 PM
And there he goes. Just tweeted 1.096mn viewers. RTE will be happy to sell advertising off that all day long, but won't let Northern viewers enter their competitions.

Is it not a legal thing though with the law in the North?  And his is why BBCNI and UTV don't run these things anymore? And why Edendork got into hot water recently?
Post by: imtommygunn on July 31, 2023, 02:39:13 PM
Quote from: Sportacus on July 30, 2023, 12:05:45 PM
+7 in this household.

I doubt the law will be changed to accomodate the sunday game competition...
Post by: yellowcard on July 31, 2023, 02:49:28 PM
Quote from: Sportacus on July 31, 2023, 02:32:12 PM

Does he actually believe there is a correlation between the size of the viewing audience and the presentation and quality of the programme. It had over 1million viewers because it was an AI final the biggest game of the calendar. It had nothing to do with RTE quality of pundits or commentary. 
Post by: Sportacus on July 31, 2023, 03:17:19 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 31, 2023, 02:39:13 PM
Quote from: Sportacus on July 30, 2023, 12:05:45 PM
+7 in this household.

I doubt the law will be changed to accomodate the sunday game competition...
It blows back to identity which gets a lot of people revved up.  I'll be surprised if one of the Northern parties don't propose an amendment if Stormont comes back (they have much bigger fish to fry of course, but it will be debated).  In the meantime I believe RTE are milking it.