Saturday July 22 Cork v Mayo, Gaelic Grounds, 5PM

Started by Lar Naparka, July 10, 2017, 03:23:15 PM

shark

Quote from: Hound on July 11, 2017, 09:06:42 AM
Quote from: blast05 on July 10, 2017, 10:47:21 PM
1993 All-Ireland semi-final .... Corks final score against us more like the time the train was leaving Hueston Station 5-15.
1989 .... Jimmy Browne never raised the Sam Maguire.
1999 ..... James Nallen midfield. Kenny Mortimer centre forward. Strange. All ending in a desperately disappointing 6 point defeat.
2010 ..... hammered out the gate on the NFL final

Enough of disappointment bottled up there to do 2 life times.
And so i will never take those langer b**tards for granted or be arrogant and dumb enough to presume anything when it comes to playing them.
Get the neck on their throat early and squeeze hard
Have Cork and Mayo really not met in championship since the turn of the millenium?
(or are you just reminiscing on bad memories!)

Mayo beat Cork in 1/4 final 2011 and 2014. He's only looking on the negatives.

Quote13. Alan Cadogan (Cork)

Caused consternation in the Clare defence throughout the provincial showdown and contributed 1-4 to his team's winning tally.

This is one of the many problems for Cork, a top underage footballer but opting for hurling instead.

Quote from: Blowitupref on July 11, 2017, 05:16:15 PM
Quote13. Alan Cadogan (Cork)

Caused consternation in the Clare defence throughout the provincial showdown and contributed 1-4 to his team's winning tally.

This is one of the many problems for Cork, a top underage footballer but opting for hurling instead.

He was always a hurler first, there was no opting involved. You're colouring it to suit your argument.

sans pessimism

Quote from: Hound on July 11, 2017, 09:06:42 AM
Quote from: blast05 on July 10, 2017, 10:47:21 PM
1993 All-Ireland semi-final .... Corks final score against us more like the time the train was leaving Hueston Station 5-15.
1989 .... Jimmy Browne never raised the Sam Maguire.
1999 ..... James Nallen midfield. Kenny Mortimer centre forward. Strange. All ending in a desperately disappointing 6 point defeat.
2010 ..... hammered out the gate on the NFL final

Enough of disappointment bottled up there to do 2 life times.
And so i will never take those langer b**tards for granted or be arrogant and dumb enough to presume anything when it comes to playing them.
Get the neck on their throat early and squeeze hard
Have Cork and Mayo really not met in championship since the turn of the millenium?
(or are you just reminiscing on bad memories!)
2011 AIQF Mayo v Cork.Mayo won.
"So Boys stick together
in all kinds of weather"

Crete Boom

Quote from: INDIANA on July 11, 2017, 10:10:17 PM
Have they installed a UFC ring for this ?

Pray tell, why would they do that Charlie?

Quote from: Crete Boom on July 11, 2017, 10:16:57 PM

Pray tell, why would they do that Charlie?

He's on about this..... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aDb9nvzY9sY

Are you inferring that Cork will follow Clare's modus operandi ?

https://youtu.be/sky8ojZPdKE

blast05

Quote from: ballinaman on July 11, 2017, 10:55:36 PM

And yet the Sunday Game chose to get the Dublin GAA commercial manager to comment on the incident a few seconds after this when Cillian eventually had no choice but to try and defend himself.

Ballaghman

Quote from: blast05 on July 11, 2017, 11:48:49 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 11, 2017, 10:55:36 PM

And yet the Sunday Game chose to get the Dublin GAA commercial manager to comment on the incident a few seconds after this when Cillian eventually had no choice but to try and defend himself.
Lads the whole thing was so pathetic it's not even worth commenting. COC has nothing to answer for and on we go. When the dubs are throwing stones while defending McMahon, Cooper, Connolly, McCauley........., all you can do is smile at the blinkers/ignorance.
As for Cork, is there any chance there's a kick in them at all? They won't throw in the towel as easy against us as they did against Kerry but if we play anything like we did in the 2nd half against Clare we'll have too much for them in the second half. I very much doubt there'll be any complacency in the camp anyway. Cork (on paper) are a big team and will get respect which is something that makes me less nervous.

iorras

Yerra, Depends really, if the Mayo of the second half against Clare show up then a 4 to 5 point win for Mayo is in the offing.
If the other Mayo shows up then Cork could well win this.
Cork have a panel of reasonably good footballers, some top class, some mediocre - their management team is a bit pants and thats where their problem lies. However, if Mayo give them the space and time in the fist half they did Derry and Clare then you can expect Cork to take alot more of those chances and Mayo might well end up with a gap thats too big to overcome.
The hurling win will give the footballers a bit more of "we want that too" so I would expect them to have alot more about them then they did against Waterford and Tipp.
They wont fear Mayo, they never do. 2011 happened because Mayo hit them with stuff they werent expecting and they didnt respect Mayo, Cork could easily have won in 2014 if Cadogan had continued to play football instead of trying to box the head off everyone in a green and red jersey, and that was another day when everyone felt Mayo just needed to show up.
Will be interesting to say the least.
Tis all only a competition anyway to see who is going to lose to the all conquering Rossies or one of the two participants in the peoples All Ireland Final Kerry in the quarters.

Crete Boom

Kerrigan & Co could have a lot of joy running at the heart of our defense like every other team at the moment!!

"All conquering Rossies"
Aye - we bet Cyaavan, Laythrum and flaky Galway this year.