GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: armaghniac on July 16, 2007, 11:28:15 PM

Poll
Question: Do you use an umbrella
Option 1: low profile rangear for me votes: 34
Option 2: umbrella f**k everyone else votes: 7
Title: Umbrella!
Post by: armaghniac on July 16, 2007, 11:28:15 PM
With the weather that's around this year, the dreaded umbrella has made its appearance in crowded county grounds.
Title: Re: Umbrella!
Post by: ONeill on July 16, 2007, 11:29:52 PM
Thought you Armagh boys'd be off the computers til February.
Post by: Duine Eile on July 16, 2007, 11:38:41 PM
Bit of both, depends on the match really, for a club match the brolly would usually get an outing coz the crowd wouldn't be as big and would be less likely to block anyones view but for county matches usually the rain gear, can't stand big ignorant feckers in a packed terrace putting up big mothers of golf umbrrellas and not giving a shit about who they soak when they shake the rain off or about the short arses (aka me) behind them who have a hard enough job seeing over the big heads in front of them never mind their umbrellas as well! Rant over. :)
Post by: armaghniac on July 17, 2007, 12:19:28 AM
QuoteThought you Armagh boys'd be off the computers til February.

Well sure if the Down crowd can stay, although they have no experience of quarter-finals and the like that are being discussed, then so can Armagh people.

QuoteThey are all on-line cancelling their hotel bookings for September

Not in my case, I live in Dublin. Instead I pass my time making up polls about umbrellas.  :(
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 17, 2007, 12:24:58 AM

When the sun shines
We'll shine together
Told you I'll be here forever
That I'll always be your friend
Took an oath
I'mma stick it out 'till the end
Now that it's raining more than ever
Know that we still have each other
You can stand under my Umbrella
(Ella ella eh eh eh)
Under my umbrella
(ella ella eh eh eh)
Under my umbrella
(ella ella eh eh eh)
Under my umbrella
(ella ella eh eh eh eh eh eh)

Post by: ourboy on July 17, 2007, 07:28:14 AM
I was at the Fermanagh vs Meath match on Saturday night and made the mistake of just going in a t-shirt (It was sunny before the match started - I swear it!!). But there was this fella with an Ulster Bank umbrella about 4 rows in front of me and he was holding it as far up in the air as he could - I swear I think he was doing it to show off!! haha. There's only 1 thing to say on the subject - "GET THEM DOWN!!!"
Post by: David McKeown on July 17, 2007, 11:18:31 AM
My dad made the mistake of bringing one to clones recently.  His only family nearly lynched him when he tried to put it up.
Post by: timmyot501 on July 17, 2007, 11:34:53 AM
Ban all brolly's from GAA matches - especially Joe  :D
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 17, 2007, 12:45:42 PM
Quote from: timmyot501 on July 17, 2007, 11:34:53 AM
Ban all brolly's from GAA matches - especially Joe  :D

:D ;D :D
Post by: Louth Exile on July 18, 2007, 02:07:41 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on July 17, 2007, 11:18:31 AM
My dad made the mistake of bringing one to clones recently.  His only family nearly lynched him when he tried to put it up.

:D :D

Agree with a lot of what Duine Eile said, fine at the club games when you are one of ten lads standing on a hill. I would always bring one with me to county games, but this only for the walk to and from the pitch at half time. NO UMBRELLAS SHOULD BE UP DURING A GAME WHERE THERE ARE PEOPLE BEHIND YOU!  Any gobshite who blocks someone elses view with their umbrella should be shot!

An Laois lad, its bad enough having to listen to shite without you putting up the lyrics (mind you the video ain't bad  ;) )
Post by: magpie seanie on July 18, 2007, 02:19:35 PM
QuoteNO UMBRELLAS SHOULD BE UP DURING A GAME WHERE THERE ARE PEOPLE BEHIND YOU!

Yes. Anyone who does should have the umbrella shoved up their hole, opened and then pulled back out.

QuoteAn Laois lad, its bad enough having to listen to shite without you putting up the lyrics (mind you the video ain't bad 

Don't mind the song and the video is quality.
Post by: his holiness nb on July 18, 2007, 02:34:20 PM
I hate that sort of music and really shouldnt like the song.
But I find it quite catchy  :-[
Post by: inisceithleann on July 18, 2007, 02:47:01 PM
You always find at GAA matches that people bring massive golf umbrellas and sometimes it's only one person sitting underneath it. Umbrellas are just a nuisance, especially when you bring it somewhere and it doesn't rain it pisses me off the thought of carrying it and if it does lash rain you have to put it up somewhere to dry when you get home. Just not worth the hassle. I'd rather get wet.
Post by: his holiness nb on July 18, 2007, 02:50:00 PM
And I always forget mine and leave them behind.
The local must have about 15 of mine in the store room at this stage!
Post by: his holiness nb on July 18, 2007, 03:02:49 PM
Theres only one solution, cowboy hats for everyone!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 18, 2007, 03:09:29 PM
Aul one in front of me put hers up on Saturday, could just about see the pitch so said nothing apart from a few muttered ffs. Poor Donegal fella beside her couldn't see half the field and when the action was up that end had to stand up or peer under the umbrella. Was only the hurling, which was poor enough, so imagine he'd have piped up if it was the football. Anyways she took it down after a break between the showers and put on the wet gear when they came back.  ::) Whey didn't u do that first time round??? Pure ignorance...
Post by: highking on July 18, 2007, 03:34:05 PM
Was at the game in Derry last Saturday. Paid E20 to go in and sit on uncovered slabs in pouring rain. It lashed for about 1/3 of the game. The umbrellas were out in force but no-one seemed to mind as everyone was huddled down and could peer above the umbella in front.

I found it a bit steep having to E20 to go into an uncovered area though.. What were the other prices around the grounds for covered/uncovered stands?
Post by: his holiness nb on July 18, 2007, 03:35:46 PM
20 quid into Navan last week to spy on the enemy and the covered part of the stand was full when we got there!  >:(
Post by: Hardy on July 18, 2007, 04:05:36 PM
The covered part of the stand was full by about ten past six - filled by those of us who anticipated that there might be demand for the covered part of the stand on an evening of monsoon showers!  :P

I suppose it is a bit much, though to charge the people sitting out front in the rain the same amount as us dry people!
Post by: his holiness nb on July 18, 2007, 04:10:19 PM
Thats what we thought, by paying the extra fiver to get into the stand, that we actually would!
Post by: blanketattack on July 18, 2007, 05:30:43 PM
I thought the thread was about this...

(http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o24/liamcahill/HiHoHiHo.jpg)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 18, 2007, 06:32:30 PM
Toronto FC's stadium is uncovered and has a "no umbrella" policy – the people at the turnstiles take the umbrellas off the patrons at the gate and give them a ticket – which they use to get their umbrella back after the game – much like a cloak room in a disco / night-club
Post by: armaghniac on July 18, 2007, 07:22:23 PM
QuoteToronto FC's stadium is uncovered and has a "no umbrella" policy

This is the way to go.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 18, 2007, 07:38:14 PM
Up in Celtic Park I was going fckn spare when all those selfish bastards started putting up those fecken umbrellas, so what if its pissin from the heavens, buy a proper rainproof jacket like I was wearing. c*nts, drives me nuts. The fact that there was no real stand I couldn't use my usual rant of "go pay an extra fiver and sit in the stand, ya soft f**kers"