GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: ONeill on August 17, 2018, 01:56:12 PM

Title: Derry 1993 - 25 years on
Post by: ONeill on August 17, 2018, 01:56:12 PM
Memories?
Title: Re: Derry 1993 - 25 years on
Post by: theticklemister on August 17, 2018, 02:02:36 PM
 :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( since
Post by: theticklemister on August 17, 2018, 02:06:08 PM
I was 10 years of age at the time. Me, me da, cousin and uncle had tickets for the hill. It was jammed, fecking packed. I got separted from me da as everyone was getting squashed, I then had to got 'crowd-surfed' across the hill to my da's arms. We all left for safety concenrs.

Ventured to the bars outside to watch the game, all bars were shut. mind me da and my uncle banging the windows of abar to open, it opened, we watched the game and won.

Remember sitting on the kerb after the final waving me wee flag, thinking what all the fuss was all about.
Post by: shark on August 17, 2018, 02:53:49 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on August 17, 2018, 02:06:08 PM
I was 10 years of age at the time. Me, me da, cousin and uncle had tickets for the hill. It was jammed, fecking packed. I got separted from me da as everyone was getting squashed, I then had to got 'crowd-surfed' across the hill to my da's arms. We all left for safety concenrs.

Ventured to the bars outside to watch the game, all bars were shut. mind me da and my uncle banging the windows of abar to open, it opened, we watched the game and won.

Remember sitting on the kerb after the final waving me wee flag, thinking what all the fuss was all about.

Hardly a day for a 10 year old on the hill anyway - absolutely pelting down. Cork scored 2 great goals, Derry scored a shite goal. Derry were great, Cork were shite. Tony Davis sent off for a reckless tackle that never took place.

Your comment about thinking what was all the fuss about is interesting as Brolly has said he had the same feeling not long after the game. Which is strange.
Post by: Estimator on August 17, 2018, 04:26:47 PM
After the disappointment of '91 and '92, I was hoping for something better in '93. The stepping stones of the previous years defeats to Down after a replay and Donegal in the Ulster final were there. At the time there seemed to be a decent level of optimism in the county.  I was only 14 at the time, but listening to people who had attended games for many years, this was the year that they were actually going to do something.  There was excellent mix of youth from the '89 & '90 minor teams plus Scullion, McGilligan, Gormley, etc.

I was lucky enough to get to all Derry's championship games that year. We managed to win the whole thing playing fewer games (5) in the Championship than Armagh (6), and they only reached the Ulster Semi-Final (3 draws – Fermanagh, Tyrone and Donegal).

We played Down in the Marshes.  Tohill was awesome, Burnsy scored an excellent volley, Cassidy scored 3 or 4 super points from play.  I think it was John Kelly that was sent off for Down, attempting to box a couple of Derry players.  Tommy Sugrue reffed the game, the first time a non-Ulster man took charge of an Ulster Championship match.

The semi-final against Monaghan in Casement never really sparked to life, Derry were poor in the first half, but Brolly and McCormick injected a bit of life into the game in the second half and we ran out easy winners in the end.  That game was the beginning of the end of Danny Quinn's inter county career, he was subsequently dropped for the Ulster Final.  He made a comeback in the AISF, but didn't make it to half time.

The Ulster Final was a mud-bath, should never have been played.  Tyrone won the minor game – I think Dooher and Cavlan were playing that day.  Cathal Scullion broke his leg in that match.  The senior final was arm wrestle in the conditions.  Memorable points from Cassidy and Tohill's free, plus the superb block by Scullion.  Manus Boyle got the line late in the game.  The pitch was an absolute mess in the aftermath of that. The defeat in the previous years final was forgotten.

The All-Ireland Semi-Final was unreal.  It was my first time in the Canal End.  I'd been to Croke Park previously for the NFL semi final and Final in '92, both times in the Hogan Stand.  Derry got off to an excellent start, but then the Dubs took over. Danny Quinn got the shepherds crook before half time as Vinnie Murphy was running riot.  A solitary Dub fan was close to our position in the Canal and he was doing some slabbering about the Dubs – suffice to say he disappeared in the second half.
It was an excellent comeback – the half back line supplied 4 points in the second half, Downey with 2, Coleman 1 and McGurk with his famous winner.  Brolly was immense that second half, a lot of ball was kicked in that direction and he had the pace to get out in front and win it.  On the pitch after the game was mental – I think that people were more emotional after the semi final than the final – Not sure why.. maybe the relief of actually living to see the county get to the All-Ireland Final.  It was 35 years since our first appearance in '58.
Strangely, I think Charlie Redmond was given MoTM by the Sunday Game that evening.

I remember all the talk of hunting for tickets in the weeks before the match, and how difficult they would be to get.  It actually wasn't the case for myself. The evening the club were giving out tickets, I walked in as an U14 playing member of the club, I give my name and was handed a ticket for the Hill.  I doubt if U14 club players in Dublin and Tyrone will be able to do that for this years final.

As we headed towards the Hill, my younger brother dropped his ticket and it blew away in the wind, thankfully it was stopped by a set of railings as we all raced after it.  Though, from the crowds in both terraces, something tells me that tickets weren't actually needed. 

The Hill was packed – not as packed as the Canal End, which spilled out on the pitch, could easily have been a very serious incident.

Cork got off to a flyer, Tony Davis with the opening point, followed by Kavanagh's goal which should have been saved by McCusker.  Cahalane boxed Gormley, then was involved in the tackle on Heaney which Tommy Howard saw fit to send off Tony Davis. Downey's goal was a fantastic piece of FF work, following the ball in. I didn't think we would lose the game after that.  Even after O'Driscoll's goal, made by a fantastic Don Davis pass, I thought we were always going to win.  Again the celebrations on the pitch were fantastic.  They continue the following night in Maghera, and then every other town in the county.

I remember thinking as a 14 year old that I've witnessed Derry win a couple of Ulster Championships, an NFL title and an All-Ireland Title and believing that it was gonna be like this all the time. 

A few older cynics said that we might never win it again... 25 years later, I am starting to come round to the fact that they could be right...
Post by: BennyCake on August 17, 2018, 05:05:43 PM
"Cahalane should have went" - Eamon Coleman

Don Davis' sublime pass to John O'Driscoll who scored a beauty of a goal.

Gormley clocked. Then wagging the finger at Cahalane.
Post by: APM on August 17, 2018, 06:01:13 PM
Just watched the highlights on youtube there!!  Those were heady days.  I don't think people under the age of 40, or people from the south realised what those wins from 91-94 meant to people in the north.
Post by: J70 on August 17, 2018, 06:04:13 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 17, 2018, 01:56:12 PM
Memories?

Players aquaplaning in the Clones quagmire like it was a slip'n'slide.

Except for Anthony Tohill.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on August 17, 2018, 06:08:29 PM
"Colin Corkery - a deceptive type of player.

He's slower than he looks"
Post by: theticklemister on August 17, 2018, 06:14:53 PM
Quote from: Estimator on August 17, 2018, 04:26:47 PM
After the disappointment of '91 and '92, I was hoping for something better in '93. The stepping stones of the previous years defeats to Down after a replay and Donegal in the Ulster final were there. At the time there seemed to be a decent level of optimism in the county.  I was only 14 at the time, but listening to people who had attended games for many years, this was the year that they were actually going to do something.  There was excellent mix of youth from the '89 & '90 minor teams plus Scullion, McGilligan, Gormley, etc.

I was lucky enough to get to all Derry's championship games that year. We managed to win the whole thing playing fewer games (5) in the Championship than Armagh (6), and they only reached the Ulster Semi-Final (3 draws – Fermanagh, Tyrone and Donegal).

We played Down in the Marshes.  Tohill was awesome, Burnsy scored an excellent volley, Cassidy scored 3 or 4 super points from play.  I think it was John Kelly that was sent off for Down, attempting to box a couple of Derry players.  Tommy Sugrue reffed the game, the first time a non-Ulster man took charge of an Ulster Championship match.

The semi-final against Monaghan in Casement never really sparked to life, Derry were poor in the first half, but Brolly and McCormick injected a bit of life into the game in the second half and we ran out easy winners in the end.  That game was the beginning of the end of Danny Quinn's inter county career, he was subsequently dropped for the Ulster Final.  He made a comeback in the AISF, but didn't make it to half time.

The Ulster Final was a mud-bath, should never have been played.  Tyrone won the minor game – I think Dooher and Cavlan were playing that day.  Johnny McBride broke his leg in that match.  The senior final was arm wrestle in the conditions.  Memorable points from Cassidy and Tohill's free, plus the superb block by Scullion.  Manus Boyle got the line late in the game.  The pitch was an absolute mess in the aftermath of that. The defeat in the previous years final was forgotten.

The All-Ireland Semi-Final was unreal.  It was my first time in the Canal End.  I'd been to Croke Park previously for the NFL semi final and Final in '92, both times in the Hogan Stand.  Derry got off to an excellent start, but then the Dubs took over. Danny Quinn got the shepherds crook before half time as Vinnie Murphy was running riot.  A solitary Dub fan was close to our position in the Canal and he was doing some slabbering about the Dubs – suffice to say he disappeared in the second half.
It was an excellent comeback – the half back line supplied 4 points in the second half, Downey with 2, Coleman 1 and McGurk with his famous winner.  Brolly was immense that second half, a lot of ball was kicked in that direction and he had the pace to get out in front and win it.  On the pitch after the game was mental – I think that people were more emotional after the semi final than the final – Not sure why.. maybe the relief of actually living to see the county get to the All-Ireland Final.  It was 35 years since our first appearance in '58.
Strangely, I think Charlie Redmond was given MoTM by the Sunday Game that evening.

I remember all the talk of hunting for tickets in the weeks before the match, and how difficult they would be to get.  It actually wasn't the case for myself. The evening the club were giving out tickets, I walked in as an U14 playing member of the club, I give my name and was handed a ticket for the Hill.  I doubt if U14 club players in Dublin and Tyrone will be able to do that for this years final.

As we headed towards the Hill, my younger brother dropped his ticket and it blew away in the wind, thankfully it was stopped by a set of railings as we all raced after it.  Though, from the crowds in both terraces, something tells me that tickets weren't actually needed. 

The Hill was packed – not as packed as the Canal End, which spilled out on the pitch, could easily have been a very serious incident.

Cork got off to a flyer, Tony Davis with the opening point, followed by Kavanagh's goal which should have been saved by McCusker.  Cahalane boxed Gormley, then was involved in the tackle on Heaney which Tommy Howard saw fit to send off Tony Davis. Downey's goal was a fantastic piece of FF work, following the ball in. I didn't think we would lose the game after that.  Even after O'Driscoll's goal, made by a fantastic Don Davis pass, I thought we were always going to win.  Again the celebrations on the pitch were fantastic.  They continue the following night in Maghera, and then every other town in the county.

I remember thinking as a 14 year old that I've witnessed Derry win a couple of Ulster Championships, an NFL title and an All-Ireland Title and believing that it was gonna be like this all the time. 

A few older cynics said that we might never win it again... 25 years later, I am starting to come round to the fact that they could be right...

Great memories there estimator
Post by: Erne Man on August 17, 2018, 08:21:21 PM
Damien Cassidys great score in Ulster Final in brutal conditions.
Semi v Dublin was a cracking game - Tohill and Henry Downey were superb for Derry. Jonny McBrides winner was some kick.

Showing my age, but the 90's was a great decade - 3 different winners from Ulster.  Dubs, Meath and Kildare battling it out in Leinster, along with a breakthrough for Offaly - Kerry and Cork splitting the honours in Munster, and similar in Connacht.
7 different All Ireland winners as well?
Post by: BennyCake on August 17, 2018, 08:59:04 PM
Johnny McGurk got the winner v Dublin. McBride was later.

8 AI winners in the 1990's. We'll never see that again.
Post by: tintin25 on August 17, 2018, 09:48:39 PM
Loved heading to matches in the 90's with my father.  Obviously wasn't too much success where my own county (Fermanagh) was involved, but can remember heading to plenty of Ulster Championship games in that 92-95 period.  Pretty sure I went to all the Derry games in 1993 bar the final and similarly with Down in 1994.  I doubt too many neutrals would take in as many games these days.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on August 17, 2018, 10:32:09 PM
Some men been drinking on this thread.
Cathal Scullion broke his leg in the Ulster minor final and Johnny mcgurk hit the winner against the dubs.

My memories
Down game was a lot tighter than most remember; only two in it at half time, but deserved winners.
Monaghan was comfortable, though Gerry mone gave big Danny a torrid time. Loved watching games from the grassy banks of casement.
Donegal far closer that it should have been; a dry day would have had ten points between the sides.
Dublin was the big one; felt better after it than after the final. Love Gormley's point that has been tweeted a million times in the last year. Every club member got at least two tickets; mine were middle of the Hogan.
Final was an anti-climax, knew we would win it. Most emotional part was the anthem before the game, At the final with my father watching our club mates reaching the pinnacle of Gaelic football, knowing that he had soldiered on for his club for the guts of 20 years when a Derry junior championship medal and an intact face were the height of realistic ambitions. And his brother coming home from England to watch the game. Every club member got at least two tickets; I was perched upper deck Cusack, on the half way line.
The week after was magnificent; booked it off from my workplace in east Belfast. Monday in Maghera, Wednesday for the Goal game in Bellaghy, various other random locations. Can't really remember it all. Returning to work and everyone of my colleagues had been introduced to Gaelic football and loved it.
Everyone talks about the higher profile members of that squad, but Dermot Heaney is probably the most under-rated footballer ever.
Playing Club football that year and playing against or alongside every member of that squad. Lavey ruined her though on St Stephen's Day.
Post by: Over the Bar on August 17, 2018, 11:01:10 PM
The GAA bringing Derry v Donegal to newly laid Clones after weeks of wet weather was a disgrace. Lucky men didn't break legs.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 17, 2018, 11:30:41 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on August 17, 2018, 06:08:29 PM
"Colin Corkery - a deceptive type of player.

He's slower than he looks"

Would beat any lad over 10 yards, but usually stood for a couple of minutes with his hands on his hips after a score.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 17, 2018, 11:43:44 PM
Sitting on the windowsill at the back of the cusack stand for the dublin game. It was a tight one. There was no way the final was being lost but touch and go against dublin.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on August 18, 2018, 12:30:57 AM
Quote from: Over the Bar on August 17, 2018, 11:01:10 PM
The GAA bringing Derry v Donegal to newly laid Clones after weeks of wet weather was a disgrace. Lucky men didn't break legs.
[/quot
From memory one of the Derry Minors did get a  broken leg in the curtain raiser
Post by: imtommygunn on August 18, 2018, 08:38:10 AM
I think it was scullion from bellaghy?
Post by: Jeremiah O on August 18, 2018, 09:14:38 AM
Yeah was Cathal Scullion who broke his leg.
Gerald Cavlan had a super game that day.
I can vividly remember the huge crowds in Cookstown to welcome the Derry team.They got a great reception,well until they hit the bottom end of the town where the loyalists were waiting!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 18, 2018, 09:40:58 AM
Was exiled in London at the time, and was genuinely thrilled that the Oak Leafers actually pulled it off (note, lenny ;) ).

That quagmire of an Ulster Final, watched in some Cricklewood joint with Strabane pals I hadn't seen in ages, remains ensconced in this noggin for one unforgettable reason only: Tohill! What an imperious display of midfield prowess in absolutely atrocious conditions.

Saw the Final in Hammersmith in, rather ironically, a pub called the "British Queen" -- this was in the days when one dare not be too choosy about where one might actually catch a game, old chap! ;)

If the Ulster Final was Tohill, then the AIF itself was Gormley, with Mc Gurk in a supporting role, and Cahalane by default, wishing no doubt he'd kept his mitts rather more to himself early on. Also remarkable in my mind for some Derry City buachaill who wandered in, straight out of a Dickens' novel with his "Derry" emblazoned top hat, and Artful Dodger great coat.

Agh... the good old days, before football was really invented... :P ;)

Post by: BennyHarp on August 18, 2018, 09:55:18 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 18, 2018, 09:40:58 AM
Was exiled in London at the time, and was genuinely thrilled that the Oak Leafers actually pulled it off (note, lenny ;) ).

That quagmire of an Ulster Final, watched in some Cricklewood joint with Strabane pals I hadn't seen in ages, remains ensconced in this noggin for one unforgettable reason only: Tohill! What an imperious display of midfield prowess in absolutely atrocious conditions.

Saw the Final in Hammersmith in, rather ironically, a pub called the "British Queen" -- this was in the days when one dare not be too choosy about where one might actually catch a game, old chap! ;)

If the Ulster Final was Tohill, then the AIF itself was Gormley, with Mc Gurk in a supporting role, and Cahalane by default, wishing no doubt he'd kept his mitts rather more to himself early on. Also remarkable in my mind for some Derry City buachaill who wandered in, straight out of a Dickens novel with his "Derry" emblazoned top hat, and Artful Dodger great coat.

Agh... tbe good old days, before football was really invented... :P ;)

My abiding memory of that Ulster Final was Tyrone winning the minor game beforehand in the middle of a monsoon with Gerard Cavlin kicking points for fun. The first of many major inter county honours for a certain Mickey Harte. It was nice for the Derry ones to see it all begin.
Post by: screenexile on August 18, 2018, 10:04:51 AM
Never missed a match those days and followed the whole thing.

Marshes was great to finish so strong and Burnsy's goal was a great memory.

Monaghan match I can barely remember.

Donegal match was just horrific as a spectator but remember it being a real gutsy performance and as has been said there was just no way Derry were contemplating losing the match. Remember Cassidy's points and Barton's was excellent as well!

Dublin match was first class probably the best match I've been to. There were some great scores from both teams and it really could have went either way. Derrys leaders stood up though and the emotion flowing out after the match was like nothing I'd experienced before. It was the first time I got onto the Croke Park pitch which I never shut up about for a week.

The final was a bit surreal I had a ticket on my own in the Hogan Stand (daunting as an 11 year old) beside two older Cork fellas. Was slightly worried after the first 10/15 mins but when Davies went off I felt we would do it and we did.

I had to meet my uncle at the bottom of the stand so was behind Downey has he lifted the cup. Then as I waited at the bottom of the entry the whole team came walking past and I got a few pats on the head from my heroes. It was class!!!

Watched the "Gaelic Games" DVD numerous times over the years I've great memories of the whole Championship!
Post by: Jayop on August 18, 2018, 10:18:18 AM
Class thread lads!
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on August 18, 2018, 03:10:57 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 17, 2018, 01:56:12 PM
Memories?

A few, including...

The Dublin semi-final and Johnny McGurk's point.
The Ulster Final played in a monsoon.
Derry win playing five games; Armagh played six and didn't get to an Ulster Final.
Uhlsport gloves.
Enda Gormley's free-kick run up.
Cahalane's non red card.
Gormley's follow up point.
Tony Davis's red card.
Last match of the old Cusack Stand.
The look of amazement on Barton's face - standing in the bus - at the thousands of people applauding them on the streets of Armagh City on the Monday night.
Post by: pbat on August 18, 2018, 03:57:15 PM
Some great photos on facebook today showing last nights squad reunion.
Post by: BennyCake on August 18, 2018, 03:58:12 PM
Derry's answer to 'Jimmys winning matches'

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=5946UyLWGxY
(https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=5946UyLWGxY)
Post by: Feckitt on August 18, 2018, 04:09:18 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 18, 2018, 03:58:12 PM
Derry's answer to 'Jimmys winning matches'

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=5946UyLWGxY
(https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=5946UyLWGxY)

Brilliant !!!
Post by: haranguerer on August 20, 2018, 09:51:50 AM
Quote from: tintin25 on August 17, 2018, 09:48:39 PM
Loved heading to matches in the 90's with my father.  Obviously wasn't too much success where my own county (Fermanagh) was involved, but can remember heading to plenty of Ulster Championship games in that 92-95 period.  Pretty sure I went to all the Derry games in 1993 bar the final and similarly with Down in 1994.  I doubt too many neutrals would take in as many games these days.

Most games in the 90's beside us in Clones too - in every Sunday. Everyone getting in whatever way they could - there used to be crowds clambering onto the TV lorries which were pulled down the lane which would be the back of the gerry arthurs now and hopping over the fence from there.
Post by: JoG2 on August 21, 2018, 11:57:27 AM
Jeez 'Screen and Estimator, you boys have quare memories. Like a good few, we were at all the games that year, you felt something special was gonna happen. So much so the club warned everybody that no membership, no final tix should Derry reach the final. Yet, low and behold, on the night the tickets were given out at the hall all hell near broke loose with normally sensible folk completely losing the run of the themselves. Each member got 2 tix, I got 2 for the Hill.

The Donegal game was surreal. Tohill put in the single best performance I've ever seen from a player, peerless. Great scenes on the pitch after. Mind shaking Gormley's hand and being struck by the condition the hoor was in. Apparently, maybe someone could verify the story, that Gormley had rehabed in Lilleshall (where the England soccer team trained) prior to the final.

Squad of us traveled in a 4 gear petrol Transit to the final. Christ she was thirsty. Mini-bus stopped outside Castleblaney when we came upon a local north Derry business man standing at the side of the road, wearing a full grey suit, red and white laces around his forehead, wrote clean off . He didn't say much, well he said plenty but none of it made any sense, but we reckon he was let out for another pee with those he was originally travelling down with and they drove off on him.  Stood just to the right of the old scoreboard at the Canal End. Unreal match and something else to beat the Dubs on their home turf. Straight to the Big Tree, drank stout for what seemed like hours waiting on the 2 mini-bus drivers..finally they landed arm in arm, sh1t-faced.

Travelled down to the final on the Friday morning. Booked into halls of residence on the southside. 4 of us booked a ground floor 2 bedroom job, opened the back window and let the other 8 boys in. 10 mins into the match itself and I didn't have the confidence some of the others above had. A few Meath men beside us at the back of the Hill kept telling us we'll win. Serious scenes at the end, we were still trying to make our way onto the pitch when Downey lifted Sam. The amount of heads you bumped into on the pitch was unreal, including a couple of protestants we knew growing up. Eventually landed back to the Big Tree again hoarce and shattered. One of our usual travelling gang who'd soldiered across to 'Screen for the league matches since we were knee height couldn't travel to the final due to sickness. We queued up at the payphone to call him, blubbering like big weans, a combination of the win and 3 days on the stout. Ended up in a place called McGraths on O'Connell street I think (not sure if it's still on the go). The upstairs dance floor was mental all night. The days after were a blur and I was thankful to get off to start uni to sober up !
Post by: Hoof Hearted on August 22, 2018, 10:20:21 AM
County Final on Boxing Day @ Glenullin in the snow
Post by: APM on August 22, 2018, 11:33:44 AM
Lots of great and very fond memories here. 

Funny, its in marked contrast to present day, when I don't sense much of a connection between Derry (GAA) people and the county team. OK, they haven't been going well, but I find it a bit depressing when you hear people saying that they couldn't care less about it. Is it the case that the people have fallen out of love with the county team, or that 1993 and the interest that it generated was an aberration and people were never too bothered in the first place. 
Post by: rrhf on August 23, 2018, 10:40:35 AM
Seen the up for the match Derry song there. Was there ever a song about Eamon Coleman or that teams achievements. Perhaps a newly penned verse or 2 could give common cause emerging from their nostalgic year and people will remember those great days a quarter of a century ago.
Post by: oakleaflad on August 23, 2018, 02:07:46 PM
Quote from: APM on August 22, 2018, 11:33:44 AM
Lots of great and very fond memories here. 

Funny, its in marked contrast to present day, when I don't sense much of a connection between Derry (GAA) people and the county team. OK, they haven't been going well, but I find it a bit depressing when you hear people saying that they couldn't care less about it. Is it the case that the people have fallen out of love with the county team, or that 1993 and the interest that it generated was an aberration and people were never too bothered in the first place.
There is a difference in saying it and truly meaning it though. Like most Irish people, Derry people love complaining and as we are not going well at the moment the easy thing to say is 'I don't care about the county' and concentrate on their club. The truth is that most people complaining only want to see us doing well again.
Post by: Jeremiah O on August 23, 2018, 02:10:25 PM
I have a house full of weans who can't believe that once upon a time Derry actually had a team good enough to win an all Ireland.
Post by: markl121 on August 23, 2018, 02:18:12 PM
I was only two at  th time but still have a couple of vague memories. Like standing in the rain in maghera waiting on the team to come through. There was another time in ballymaguigan where the cup was there i remember my ma bringing me in a panic to my cousins to borrow a derry jacket so I could have my photo took in the cup.
My da recounts a few tales of sliding down the stands in the muck at clones. About meeting brian mcenifff on the pitch afterwards and shaking his hand.
The ticket scramble for the final where his name and my ma name both being pulled out of the hat in the club draw for tickets, and a man delivering them at the dead of night hidden in a black bag.

I wish I had been old enough to enjoy it, as those days look further away than ever now
Post by: JoG2 on August 23, 2018, 02:44:51 PM
Quote from: Jeremiah O on August 23, 2018, 02:10:25 PM
I have a house full of weans who can't believe that once upon a time Derry actually had a team good enough to win an all Ireland.

And I've a house full of wains believe you actually are a 'bullfrog'..wains will believe anything  ;D
Post by: Dubh driocht on August 24, 2018, 08:28:00 PM
I was at three of the games; Newry, Clones and the semi-final.
Derry were a fine team- physical and skilful, with a passionate and canny manager.
In Newry, Brolly didn't play because I think he was doing exams; I remember standing beside McGilligan after the game and Brolly came along, grabbed his head and kissed him on the cheek. McGilligan genuinely was perplexed; didn't know whether to hit him or kiss him back.
Clones was scarey - I was on the Hill and people were sliding all over the show. It was brutal on the field and a terrible way for defending champions to lose their crown.
I went by train to the semi-final from Belfast and the craic up and down really was 90. Brolly's pace tormented the Dubs but Johnny's left foot was the most memrable moment of the year.
I thought the Downeys and Dermot Heaney were the stars of the final- Gormley's point was magic- and Tohill came of age.
I was delighted to see that team went an All Ireland even though I've had tough days against several of the players.
Post by: rosskarr on August 25, 2018, 09:01:41 AM
Quote from: Dubh driocht on August 24, 2018, 08:28:00 PM
I was at three of the games; Newry, Clones and the semi-final.
Derry were a fine team- physical and skilful, with a passionate and canny manager.
In Newry, Brolly didn't play because I think he was doing exams; I remember standing beside McGilligan after the game and Brolly came along, grabbed his head and kissed him on the cheek. McGilligan genuinely was perplexed; didn't know whether to hit him or kiss him back.
Clones was scarey - I was on the Hill and people were sliding all over the show. It was brutal on the field and a terrible way for defending champions to lose their crown.
I went by train to the semi-final from Belfast and the craic up and down really was 90. Brolly's pace tormented the Dubs but Johnny's left foot was the most memrable moment of the year.
I thought the Downeys and Dermot Heaney were the stars of the final- Gormley's point was magic- and Tohill came of age.
I was delighted to see that team went an All Ireland even though I've had tough days against several of the players.
Didn't realise Dubh Driocht,that you had played County Football.Fair play.Good memories for the Derry ones.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on September 19, 2018, 09:36:32 PM
25 years ago today.
Post by: grounded on September 23, 2018, 09:46:28 AM
It's probably been said before, but the Derry of that era should have at least another All Ireland to their name. A super team with a real strong central spine and some classy forwards.

I was at the ' massacre at the Marshes' and the Ulster final drenching. I watched the semi or parts of it in A and E in Newry. I vividly remember mc Gurks point at the end. I
     The final was a strange affair. Derry should really have won by a lot more but the occasion did get to them a little.
       A top team.

Post by: BennyCake on September 23, 2018, 12:56:45 PM
I always felt Derry was Ulsters best chance to keep the run going in 1995. Tyrone beat them, but I thought they wouldn't have enough to win an AI. And so it proved. 1995 was a big opportunity for Derry to win a second AI.

It's weird that that team never really got close again.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on September 23, 2018, 01:59:56 PM
It's all if's but's and maybe's but if the back door had have been in place in the early 90's it wouldn't  have been a huge surprise to me if at least one more all Ireland had have came the way of Derry
Post by: An Watcher on September 23, 2018, 03:32:09 PM
Awwww the Ulster semi final in 95 v Derry.  What a game, great memories
Post by: seafoid on September 23, 2018, 03:54:03 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on September 23, 2018, 12:56:45 PM
I always felt Derry was Ulsters best chance to keep the run going in 1995. Tyrone beat them, but I thought they wouldn't have enough to win an AI. And so it proved. 1995 was a big opportunity for Derry to win a second AI.

Football was very competitive in the 90s. The next 5 Sams were won by 5 different teams plus Tyrone, Mayo and Kildare were also in the mix.
Post by: clarshack on September 23, 2018, 04:20:04 PM

Agree. If there was a backdoor in 1995, Derry would have had their 2nd all-ireland.
Post by: Ambrose on September 23, 2018, 07:44:37 PM
Quote from: clarshack on September 23, 2018, 04:20:04 PM

Agree. If there was a backdoor in 1995, Derry would have had their 2nd all-ireland.

You could also say that if the back door had been introduced in 93 they may not have any All Irelands.

They never got close again because they got rid of Coleman after the loss to Down in 94. A game that really could have gone either way. Down weren't really tested after that on their way to their fifth All Ireland title, which tells you how good that particular Derry team was. But the knives were out for the wee man from Ballymaguigan after the game in Celtic Park and we all know now just how wrong your county board was.
Post by: thejuice on September 23, 2018, 11:26:38 PM
Just looking at the highlights of those games again now. I just remember us being delighted to see Dublin and Cork getting beat. Derry were bridging a 35 year gap from their previous final in 1958. I don't suppose anyone here has memories of that game?

But other memories of that year was of course Tohill and Brolly.
The winning Derry point against Dublin was fantastic.
Charlie Redmond and his bloody run ups to kick a free
Post by: rrhf on September 24, 2018, 07:03:48 AM

Dont know , they couldn't beat a 13 man tyrone team in 95. They sacked Coleman in 94. They hadn't really a serious forward line and they played an auld done cork team in the final and just about bate them.  Armagh were a much better football team in 02. As joe Kernan says it takes a great team to win 2.
Post by: oakleaflad on September 24, 2018, 12:24:25 PM
Quote from: rrhf on September 24, 2018, 07:03:48 AM

Dont know , they couldn't beat a 13 man tyrone team in 95. They sacked Coleman in 94. They hadn't really a serious forward line and they played an auld done cork team in the final and just about bate them.  Armagh were a much better football team in 02. As joe Kernan says it takes a great team to win 2.
Thought we were much the better team myself and the semi final was a tougher test.
Football was much better nearly a decade later just as it is much better these days. Hard to compare.
Post by: Real Talk on September 24, 2018, 01:17:41 PM
Quote from: rrhf on September 24, 2018, 07:03:48 AM

That Cork team bate Mayo 5 15 to 0-10 ... doesn't read like a " auld done" score
Post by: five points on September 24, 2018, 01:19:53 PM
Quote from: Real Talk on September 24, 2018, 01:17:41 PM
That Cork team bate Mayo 5 15 to 0-10 ... doesn't read like a " auld done" score

A demoralised Mayo team that had won the Connacht final by 1-5 to 0-7, and who lost the following year to Leitrim...
Post by: BennyCake on September 24, 2018, 02:00:45 PM
3 late Cork goals that day made it worse than it was. Not that Mayo we're great like.

Jacko was Mayo manager that year if I recall.