Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Mentalman on January 24, 2008, 12:07:19 AM

Title: The Unofficial Sunderland Thread
Post by: Mentalman on January 24, 2008, 12:07:19 AM
Sunderland secure Prica signing

Sunderland manager Roy Keane has made his second signing in two days with the £2m capture of Sweden striker Rade Prica from Danish side Aalborg.
Keane, who snapped up Manchester United right-back Phil Bardsley on Tuesday, took his week's spending to £4m with the capture of the 27-year-old.

Prica, top scorer in the Danish league last term, has two goals in 13 games for Sweden and has signed until 2011.

"Rade is an experienced striker with a good goalscoring record," Keane said.

"He's hungry to play in the Premier League and will give us attacking options."

Prica began his career with home-town club Ljungby before moving to Helsingborg.

He then experienced life in the German Bundesliga with Hansa Rostock before joining Aalborg in July 2006, for whom he scored 28 goals in 48 appearances.

Jonny Evans and defender Jean-Yves Mvoto are the other new arrivals at the Stadium of Light this window, with the Black Cats currently 18th in the Premier League.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/s/sunderland/7205754.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/s/sunderland/7205754.stm)

I really hope I am wrong but I have a feeling Keano has added to his avian collection with these two. I've seen Prica on a number of occasions playing in the Allsvensken for Helsingborg. He was decent at that standard but not outstanding, unlike say Elmander or Kallstrom. Never was a regular for Sweden, even in a time when Henrik only played in the tournament finals. I'll give him this much, he knows about relegation battles, he left Hansa Rostock for Aalborg after they finished rock bottom of the Bundesliga. As for Bardsley, isn't he the kid who thought he was too good to warm the bench at Rangers, given his extensive experience playing for Burnley and Royal Antwerp? Like I said I hope I'm wrong, and given Sunderland is a hard club to get talent into they kind of have to make do for this season in the hope of staying up, but Keano seems to have feet of clay when it comes to the transfer market - signing lads he played with or saw at Utd. just won't get it done long term. Personally what I think they need now is a tough central midfielder, Lilly Savage would have been a decent stop gap, and an experienced centre half - even a Jaap Stamm type would done for the rest of the season.
Title: Re: Sunderland - More ducks than St. Stephen's Green?
Post by: Leo on January 24, 2008, 09:07:52 AM
On top of this he spent another £2.7m yesterday - brings his spend to around £35m. And this is the tool the Mistyeyed "best fans in the world" wanted as Ireland manager? It is taking a very long time for the penny (or multi-millions of pennies) to drop.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 24, 2008, 09:19:02 AM
So you reckon he is bad in the transfer market and thats a reason why he should not be Ireland manager? Who's the tool?
Post by: Mentalman on January 24, 2008, 10:51:08 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 24, 2008, 09:19:02 AM
So you reckon he is bad in the transfer market and thats a reason why he should not be Ireland manager? Who's the tool?

LOL

There's still a couple of days left in the window, hopefully he can get in the one or two players needed to keep them up. Given that he can't depend on Richardson's fitness, which is a pity, midfield is essential. I see this morning they are still after Hunt, making a final push to get him. He is more like the type of player he needs, but I still think the centre needs someone to boss it, a veteran would do to see out the season. From what we I can see man management isn't a problem, Sunderland are a game side who fight to the death, it's just the individual quality isn't there. It's a push but I see Abelda is on the outs at Valencia, if they could get him on loan and throw enough money at him, they can guarantee him the game time, and it would be worth it to stay up. Just an idea, probably couldn't get him anyway.
Post by: Billys Boots on January 24, 2008, 12:02:57 PM
QuoteI see Abelda is on the outs at Valencia

He's just the sort of animal they need in the middle.
Post by: Leo on January 24, 2008, 05:47:23 PM

Sadly your comment is typical of the type of response the Keano afficioandas seem to resort to in order to mask an inability to carry on reasoned debate and not having the objectivity or maturity to handle uncomfortable truths.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 24, 2008, 06:05:30 PM
No. In fact quite the opposite is the case. You went off on a foaming at the mouth rant about Keane and I merely pointed out the ludicrous nature of you linking his transfer spending to his ability to do the Irish job. Surely you can see that? Your blind rage is the exact opposite of the irrational "Keane afficionados" who are not able to "carry on reasoned debate and not having the objectivity or maturity to handle uncomfortable truths" to borrow your own words. Not many people were suggesting Keane for the Ireland job. The fact that you focus on that shows the depths pf your own irrationality on the subject.
Post by: stew on January 24, 2008, 07:09:26 PM

If he cannot spot talent when he has the money to buy it how the hell is he going to know what his strongest team is ? the fact is that there is doubt as to his managerial prowess and he would need to be a bit more of a proven commodity before Ireland should touch him, that is if the IFA care at all about improving the standard of the national team.
Post by: red hander on January 24, 2008, 07:30:56 PM
'he would need to be a bit more of a proven commodity before Ireland should touch him'

What? Like Staunton, reserve team manager at Walsall?
Post by: Leo on January 24, 2008, 11:06:29 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 24, 2008, 06:05:30 PM
No. In fact quite the opposite is the case. You went off on a foaming at the mouth rant about Keane and I merely pointed out the ludicrous nature of you linking his transfer spending to his ability to do the Irish job. ................................. Not many people were suggesting Keane for the Ireland job. 

And I was merely pointing out the more ludicrous suggestions (of which the papaers were full a while back) that he would be a serious contender for the Ireland manager's job at this stage. Stand back from your prejudice - do you have any reason to question his judgment of players looking at some of the dross he has brought to his club? If not, I rest on the point.
Post by: stephenite on January 24, 2008, 11:12:22 PM
Not wanting to get invovled in a Keano debate but I think it's only fair to point out that if the quality players were willing to live in Sunderland or it's environs than we wouldn't be having this discussion. Trying to use the fact that players won't do this as an argument for Keanos inability to recognise talent doesn't wash
Post by: Leo on January 24, 2008, 11:23:35 PM
Quote from: stephenite on January 24, 2008, 11:12:22 PM
Not wanting to get invovled in a Keano debate but I think it's only fair to point out that if the quality players were willing to live in Sunderland or it's environs than we wouldn't be having this discussion. Trying to use the fact that players won't do this as an argument for Keanos inability to recognise talent doesn't wash

Cant really get the sense of this argument. Surely the superhero that is Keane to many should be a magnet for  "top" footballers to join his club, whether it is Sunderland. or anywhere else. I have never heard this location argument from the managers of Newcastle or Middlesborough. Those two clubs are under-achievers as well but their transfer expenditure pales beside Sunderland and they do genuinely have one or two class recruits in their squads.
Post by: stephenite on January 24, 2008, 11:54:33 PM
Whilst I'd be aware of the superhero cult status Keane might have amongst some supporters of Ireland and possibly Man Utd. I'm not sure that professional players would have the same sense of reverence for the man, I could be wrong. Todays players are savvy enough to know that Keane is still unproven as a top flight mananger, and they're not likely to move a club unless they think it can consistently operate in the top flight.

I think that Newcastle and Middlesborough would find it easier to recruit star players on the basis that they're established premiership clubs, sure they have flirted with relegation on occasion but in the main they tend to stay up as opposed to a yo-yo premiership club like Sunderland. If Sunderland were to get a few consistent years in the top flight they could just as easily attract star players.

My only point is that for reasons above it's a tad unfair to question his abilities in recognising talent, that's not such a hard thing to do. He may well be a shite manager it terms of tactical acumen, man management, ability to work under extreme pressure and all the other things that go into making a successful manager, I don't know
Post by: Main Street on January 25, 2008, 09:42:08 AM
He might turn out to be good, very good or he might turn out to be one of those great ex players but an average manager like Bryan Robson.
But so far, in the EPL by his own standards, he has been poor, all things considered. 
Post by: Leo on January 25, 2008, 09:55:44 AM
Quote from: Main Street on January 25, 2008, 09:42:08 AM
He might turn out to be good, very good or he might turn out to be one of those great ex players but an average manager like Bryan Robson.
But so far, in the EPL by his own standards, he has been poor, all things considered. 

Good comparison but I would venture to suggest two things:
Robson was a much better player and is a very poor manager (not average at all) He through money around at previous clubs like confetti at a wedding and I fail to see how he still gets appointments, Sheff Utd being his latest relegation project.
Post by: whyarerefssobad on January 29, 2008, 10:13:45 PM
prica scored on his debut not a bad start for a duck :o
Post by: heganboy on January 29, 2008, 10:14:26 PM
they're 14th in the table now, not bad, I'd say that Roy and the board, not to mention Boyle sports would be pretty happy with that as a final finish...
Post by: dodo on January 29, 2008, 10:53:28 PM
Quote from: whyarerefssobad on January 29, 2008, 10:13:45 PM

Wikipedia is on the ball so to speak. Have updted his profile after tonight´s match.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rade_Prica
Post by: full back on January 30, 2008, 09:05:56 AM
Reports today that Keane is interested in signing Andy 'pie merchant' Reid  :o
WTF, If Keane does sign him I take back anything positive I have ever said about Roy
Post by: Billys Boots on January 30, 2008, 09:14:14 AM
I never knew Andy Reid sold pies - whaddya know?
Post by: full back on January 30, 2008, 09:20:08 AM
Learn something new every day Billy
Post by: thewobbler on January 30, 2008, 09:21:48 AM
Andy Reid is a very good player imho, but he has to play in a central position.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on January 30, 2008, 09:41:57 AM
Keane signing up Irish players like Connolly, Harte, Murphy, Stokes, Kavanagh, McShane and now chasing Hunt and Reid.
It reminds me of Roddy Collins at Carisle and we all know how that ended.
Playing the patriotic card while admirable is probably not the best way to achieve success.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 30, 2008, 09:42:22 AM
I disagree wobbler. I think he is out of shape, and is cultivating the Robbie Keane style of whinging at refs. in my opinion his passing and set piece delivery is overrated.

I would say he is a decent/good Championship player at the moment, with maybe the potential to be a lot better, but he's not there yet. Far from it.
Post by: thewobbler on January 30, 2008, 09:45:19 AM
AZ- Reid will always look out of shape, that's the way the fella was born. His biggest problem isn't the eating and drinking, it's that he picks up a series of injuries every season, and never gets to put in a string of performances as a result. Personally I think he has the potential to be a very useful midfield schemer in the Premiership. He is two-footed, has good balance, good awareness, runs a lot more than anyone thinks, and will always contribute goals.
Post by: full back on January 30, 2008, 09:46:46 AM
Agree 100% AZ
Anytime I have seem him in the last few seasons he looked out of shape & someone who was always battling to get 100% fit
Not a player you should be signing to help you stay in the Premiership - IMHO
Post by: AZOffaly on January 30, 2008, 09:48:24 AM
Can't see it wobbler. We'll have to agree to disagree. Anytime I see him playing for Ireland, I see silly passes attempted and failing, I see corners and free kicks hitting the first man, and I see whinging. Granted he *can* do something special every so often, but his consistency is lacking a lot.

Also, I was at Charlton v QPR at the valley in October, and I can only say that his performance that day, as captain, was a disgrace. No effort, no passing, no tackling and lots of whinging to the ref (for which he was booked).

For some reason, Andy Reid gets a very easy ride from the Irish media, including the panel on RTE. I think they are so desperate for a classy cultured midfield general, that whenever he plays they see elements of this, and hype him up unbelievably.
Post by: An Fear Rua on January 30, 2008, 09:51:15 AM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on January 30, 2008, 09:41:57 AM
Keane signing up Irish players like Connolly, Harte, Murphy, Stokes, Kavanagh, McShane and now chasing Hunt and Reid.
It reminds me of Roddy Collins at Carisle and we all know how that ended.
Playing the patriotic card while admirable is probably not the best way to achieve success.

maybe he is just practising building his squad ..............
Post by: Mentalman on January 30, 2008, 10:26:48 AM
Quote from: whyarerefssobad on January 29, 2008, 10:13:45 PM

Definitely. Like I said I was never over impressed with him, but apparently other than the goal scored, he had one disallowed, and another drew a great save from Taylor...all this after being sprung from the bench! As good a start as he could make.
Post by: Billys Boots on January 30, 2008, 10:57:52 AM
QuoteCharlton v QPR at the valley

Are Charlton back at The Valley AZ?
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 30, 2008, 11:09:23 AM
the standard of football played last night was absolutely brutal, i know the  conditions didn't help but i just couldn't watch the full match which seems to be happening a lot especially if any of the top 4 or 5 teams are not playing.   At this stage i'd nearly prefer to watch bowls thats how bad it is. :(
Post by: AZOffaly on January 30, 2008, 11:11:52 AM
From Charlton's official site.

QuoteAlan Pardew hailed his side after they broke down a resilient Stoke City to earn a 'big, big win' at The Valley on Tuesday night.

Lloyd Sam's 83rd-minute strike saw the Addicks snatch all three points and maintain their recent good form.

And delighted Charlton boss Pardew said: "The win was obviously very important for us. I felt in the Blackpool, West Brom and Watford games that we'd played very well against players in form. But we needed to back it up with a win against Stoke.

So yes, they are at the Valley :D

Post by: Rossie11 on January 30, 2008, 11:45:19 AM
the standard of football played last night was absolutely brutal, i know the  conditions didn't help but i just couldn't watch the full match which seems to be happening a lot especially if any of the top 4 or 5 teams are not playing

The standard of soccer in England is brutal and will continue to be brutal when chairman continue to employ managers who persist with caveman football - hoof and chase.
Pack the midfield, kick anything that moves and lump it into the box and try scramble a goal.
They normally play 4-5-1 with the hard working hitman upfront
With that style talentless players can hide as the collective hacheting normally referred to as "good team spirit" drags the standard of the match down.
Bruce, Big Sam, Warnock, Dowie etc wouldnt get a kitmans job on the continent.

As well as that it doesnt help the top teams either.
Think Man U. They can beat these teams in 2nd gear. If they want they could sit and wait for the opposition to give away the ball in midfield.
3 swift passes-- goal.. You see it every week.
When they go to europe and play the likes of a Milan where they have to work to win the ball and whose defense dont make mistakes they sometimes struggle to up the level as they have become so used to winning easily week in week out.
(Not having a go at Utd BTW I just picked them as they are the team most likely to trash these shite teams more than most)

Post by: Declan on January 30, 2008, 12:27:19 PM
The standard of soccer in England is brutal and will continue to be brutal when chairman continue to employ managers who persist with caveman football - hoof and chase.

agree 100% - Though to be fair to Keane he at least has Sunderland trying to pass the ball a bit. I've seen them live a couple of times in the last 12 months and he does encourage them to play- the fact that they aer incapable of doing so is another argument.l

He also said that they were pretty poor last night but that at least they won!!.

Man Utd , Arsenal and to a lesser extent Chelsea are the only teams in the premiership who try and play the game through midfield.
Post by: Rossie11 on January 30, 2008, 12:32:28 PM
Didnt mention Keane as am willing to give him a bit more time to prove himself.
I think Harry Redknapp has good intentions as to how the game should be played.
Post by: Billys Boots on January 30, 2008, 12:45:09 PM
QuoteSo yes, they are at the Valley

Wasn't having a pop AZ, I didn't know they'd escaped from Selhurst Park.
Post by: full back on January 30, 2008, 12:51:43 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 30, 2008, 12:45:09 PM

Jaysus billy, that wasnt today or yesterday
Post by: Billys Boots on January 30, 2008, 12:55:20 PM
I wasn't following the issue very closely, fullback, but I know now.  Perhaps there's something else I've missed in my stupor too.   :P
Post by: full back on January 30, 2008, 12:58:42 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 30, 2008, 12:55:20 PM
Perhaps there's something else I've missed in my stupor too.   :P

They have been back at the valley for quite a long time billy - thought you would have realised that while watching Andy Reid  ;)

Post by: Billys Boots on January 30, 2008, 01:01:25 PM
Sure I didn't even know he sold pies - I was so busy watching his silky skills, he could have been playing in the Bernabeu.  ;)
Post by: full back on January 30, 2008, 01:04:38 PM
No point in getting involved in complex debates like this billy if you dont know all the facts ;)
Post by: Billys Boots on January 30, 2008, 01:08:39 PM
I was only seeking to become familiar with the facts - you'll notice I didn't get involved in the is he/isn't he good enough debate about Andy Reid.

Incidentally is he a wholesaler or a retailer, in relation to the pies?
Post by: passedit on January 30, 2008, 01:08:59 PM
Quote from: full back on January 30, 2008, 12:51:43 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 30, 2008, 12:45:09 PM

Jaysus billy, that wasnt today or yesterday
Time flys by when you're getting on a bit eh Billy. They're back at least ten years maybe more. I had a season ticket there the first time they made the premiership (used live round the corner). Great wee ground now and the best sacar pub i've been in round the corner in the Bugle Horn. Also the tanning salon where the Dave Courtney/Vinnie Jones sunbed incident happened is about 100 yards from there as well.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 30, 2008, 01:10:23 PM
Damn Billy. I thought you were having a go, and I was all smug :D
Post by: full back on January 30, 2008, 01:11:32 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 30, 2008, 01:08:39 PM
Incidentally is he a wholesaler or a retailer, in relation to the pies?

It would be quite easy to think he is a wholesaler or a retailer, but the reality of it is he buys them up for personal comsumption ;)
Post by: Donagh on January 30, 2008, 01:13:08 PM
I see Sunderland have pulled their fans discussion forum this morning.
Post by: Billys Boots on January 30, 2008, 01:14:15 PM
QuoteTime flys by when you're getting on a bit eh Billy.

I remember the Valley from when Allan Simonsen used to sink to his ankles there.

QuoteIt would be quite easy to think he is a wholesaler or a retailer, but the reality of it is he buys them up for personal comsumption

I was under the impression, from the information presented here, that he was a pie 'merchant'.  ;)
Post by: AZOffaly on January 30, 2008, 01:25:37 PM
Maybe he was a pie merchant, but something kept eating into his profit margin. :D
Post by: Leo on January 31, 2008, 01:36:09 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on January 30, 2008, 11:09:23 AM
the standard of football played last night was absolutely brutal, i know the  conditions didn't help but i just couldn't watch the full match which seems to be happening a lot especially if any of the top 4 or 5 teams are not playing.   At this stage i'd nearly prefer to watch bowls thats how bad it is. :(

Good man TDR.
Pubs around me all cancelling their Sky subs - few in the pubs Saturday or Sunday other than the usual saddos - they even prefer Deal or No Deal. . Unweatchable except the occasional Arsean game and (God forgive me) sometimes MU.
Last time I was at Chelsea (last year)  I fell asleep before half time.
Wigan? Bolton? Blacburn?
Oh Joy!
I'm off to the bowls as well.
Post by: Declan on January 31, 2008, 12:04:59 PM
Looks like Reid is on his way alright - Clubs have agreed a fee
Post by: thebandit1 on January 31, 2008, 12:13:00 PM
Is the canteen ready  :D
Post by: magpie seanie on January 31, 2008, 02:06:22 PM
Reid might actually work out in the system Sunderland sometimes play (i.e. 3 central midfielders with big Jones up front on his own). He's definitely a better player than some of the midfielders Keane has at his disposal at present.
Post by: ExiledGael on January 31, 2008, 07:22:12 PM
Confirmed for 4 million. Whatever about his weight he undoubtedly has premier league ability, which a lot of his side don't. Good news for Ireland to see him back in the top flight too. Could be a good signing, cracking left foot.
Post by: magickingdom on January 31, 2008, 08:41:27 PM
Quote from: thebandit1 on January 31, 2008, 12:13:00 PM
Is the canteen ready  :D

classic!!!
Post by: superblues on February 09, 2008, 05:26:11 PM
good win today think there home form will keep them up thats 7 wins at home only 6 teams can better that liverpool have only won 5 at home  ::)
Post by: gerry on February 09, 2008, 06:42:24 PM
nice to see it. sunderland have to win these bottom half matches if they have any chance of staying up
Post by: Donagh on February 09, 2008, 06:46:53 PM
Surely must be almost safe now. Good man Roy. Still on course for taking over from Ferguson and the (united) Irish job for the 2030 World Cup and Uachtarán na hÉireann two years later.
Post by: slow corner back on February 09, 2008, 07:31:39 PM
Quote from: superblues on February 09, 2008, 05:26:11 PM
good win today think there home form will keep them up thats 7 wins at home only 6 teams can better that liverpool have only won 5 at home  ::)

Sunderland have only two points away from home all season. They may well still have a lot of the top sides to come to their place, I do not know the run in. They need to finish the season witha few more away points or they will be sweating in the last two weeks.
Post by: ildanach on February 09, 2008, 07:59:44 PM
23/2  Portsmouth v Sunderland, 15:00
01/3  Derby v Sunderland, 15:00
08/3  Sunderland v Everton, 15:00
15/3  Sunderland v Chelsea, 15:00
22/3  Aston Villa v Sunderland, 15:00
29/3  Sunderland v West Ham, 15:00
05/4  Fulham v Sunderland, 15:00
12/4  Sunderland v Man City, 15:00
19/4  Newcastle v Sunderland, 15:00
26/4  Sunderland v Middlesbro', 15:00
03/5  Bolton v Sunderland, 15:00
11/5  Sunderland v Arsenal, 15:00

6 home games but that includes arsenal,chelsea,everton and a local derby with boro

Think they will be safe though as they can pick up at least a point at bolton, fulham, derby and maybe portsmouth and the game in newcastle
Post by: muppet on February 12, 2008, 05:53:38 PM
The Pie Merchant and Spud cook up a goal (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ekt8PmwsIMU)  ;D ;D
Post by: slow corner back on February 12, 2008, 10:01:04 PM
Sunderland arsenal last day could be tasty, Roy needs points to stay up and gunners going for the title. Roy will put fire in the bellies but if Arsenal need the points you gotta think they will get them
Title: Sunderland tell Miller he can go
Post by: Mentalman on February 27, 2008, 01:05:38 PM
Sunderland tell Miller he can go

Sunderland boss Roy Keane has placed Republic of Ireland midfielder Liam Miller on the transfer list.
Miller, 27, joined the Black Cats from Manchester United in August 2006 but has now been told he is free to look for a new club.

With the transfer window now closed, Miller is limited to an emergency loan move to a Football League club.

The former Celtic trainee has made more than 50 appearances for Sunderland, scoring three goals.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/s/sunderland/7266844.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/s/sunderland/7266844.stm)

Changed the title of the thread to reflect the fact we seem to have a little bit of occasional discussion about the Mackems here.

To me this is a bit of a strange one and I'd love to know what's behind it. I mean I know I've critcised Keano's tranfer dealings a bit, and Miller has hardly lit up the Stadium of Light, but he was getting quite a bit of game time lately. Is he injured too often or not effective enough? A bit of both, but so is a lot of his squad, what else could be behind this?

Title: Re: The Unofficial Sunderland
Post by: Rav67 on February 27, 2008, 02:07:08 PM
I actually think Miller is one of their better players so I'm surprised to read that.  He's technically sound and I've been impressed with him any Sunderland games I've watched this season.  I think his level is at a stuggling PL side or a top Championship one so he'll have no bother getting a move in the Summer for around £1.5-3m.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 27, 2008, 02:26:23 PM
Wasn't it Miller that Keane was shouting about Staunton not picking for Ireland because he was from Cork? Does Roy not rate him anymore, or was he just mouthing off at the time?
Post by: An Fear Rua on February 27, 2008, 03:09:39 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 27, 2008, 02:26:23 PM
Wasn't it Miller that Keane was shouting about Staunton not picking for Ireland because he was from Cork? Does Roy not rate him anymore, or was he just mouthing off at the time?

Just becasue Roy doesnt rate him for a prem league side, doesnt mean he doesnt think he can fit in nicely with Ireland..
Post by: AZOffaly on February 27, 2008, 03:11:36 PM
Touché.

Although to be honest, given that the premiership side in question is Sunderland, I'd have my doubts.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 27, 2008, 03:14:11 PM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on February 27, 2008, 03:09:39 PM

Just becasue Roy doesnt rate him for a prem league side, doesnt mean he doesnt think he can fit in nicely with Ireland..
Do you not think Ireland would have a better team/squad than Sunderland?
Post by: AZOffaly on February 27, 2008, 03:15:29 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 27, 2008, 03:14:11 PM

Maybe Roy thinks that.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 27, 2008, 03:23:18 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 27, 2008, 03:15:29 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 27, 2008, 03:14:11 PM

Maybe Roy thinks that.

Well if Keane believes that Sunderland have a better team than Ireland i think he has lost his marbles
On the Miller situation though,I'd say the chap is regretting ever leaving Celtic for Man U
Post by: Rav67 on February 27, 2008, 03:24:58 PM
Maybe Roy is a twat who likes having a dig at the FAI and the Ireland team every chance he gets.  
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 27, 2008, 03:26:35 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on February 27, 2008, 03:24:58 PM
Maybe Roy is a twat who likes having a dig at the FAI and the Ireland team every chance he gets.  

There's no maybe about it
Post by: AZOffaly on February 27, 2008, 03:27:13 PM
I think Celtic to Man Utd was too big of a jump for him at that stage in his career. In hindsight, although in fairness a lot of people were saying it at the time, he would have been better off going to somewhere like Everton, Man City, West Ham, etc etc. Never really struggling, but not in the main glare all the time. Once he established himself in the premiership, a move to one of the really big guns would have been the next career move.

What age is Miller? Hopefully he goes to somewhere like Coventry/Leicester/Wolves or wherever and gets his confidence, form and playing time back on track.
Post by: Mentalman on February 27, 2008, 03:42:48 PM
Keano was giving it the big one about Miller not getting his game for Ireland. Then again didn't he think Joe Royle or some such was good enough to manage the side? I know he has become a bit of a rent a quote but I think there must be something more to this - there are plenty more dross in the Sunderland midfield than Miller on his game.

Keano has a habit of getting rid of lads, and then later you find out it was some incident or other, or off field behaviour, like the time he moved the 3 guys who were allegedly involved in the roasting video (one of whom is having a great season in the champo). Not that I'm suggesting anything like that in Miller's case, it just seems odd to me.

I'd say you are right Laoislad, except Miller was on the outs there, as far as I recall, again getting little or no game time through injury until that final season when all of a sudden he made a massive impact after returning from AGF, hence why his contract was running out and he got the Bosman - Celtic were caught on the hop and Liam put in a massive effort. I think injuries have prevented him from ever getting enough games to develop his game since then.
Title: Re: The Unofficial Sunderland Thread
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 27, 2008, 04:28:35 PM
miller should have stayed at celtic to learn his trade ad become the exceptional midfielder he was shaping up to be.
However after Celtic paying his wages and ploughing money into his inj rehab on more than one occasion, he decided to listen to keane and join man u- while he was still a very unfinished player.
Plenty of people inc myself said at the time he should have stayed at Celtic Park. Going to man u was a mistake, but AZ has mentioned that he should have joined everton etc ..thats a bit mad - yes he would have got a game, but playing with a second rate team amond poor enough players wasnt going to educate him the way playing along with Larsson, Sutton, Hartson etc etc was going to .

he too k the gamble for bigger bucks and it hasnt paid off.

Thats a pity for him and Ireland,as I thought at one stage he was our answer to def midfielder problems.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 27, 2008, 04:32:13 PM
I dunno Lynchbhoy,

I think a team like Everton would have allowed him to acclimate to the premiership, and it's not like he'd be joining Accrington Stanley. If he had time to find his feet in the premiership without being under pressure for his place, and in the white heat of Old Trafford, it may have suited him.

Of course it was a gamble to go there, that he chose to take and it hasn't worked out. There's no guarantee my way would have been a better bet, but I'd have preferred the cautious approach.
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 27, 2008, 05:16:20 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 27, 2008, 04:32:13 PM
I dunno Lynchbhoy,

I think a team like Everton would have allowed him to acclimate to the premiership, and it's not like he'd be joining Accrington Stanley. If he had time to find his feet in the premiership without being under pressure for his place, and in the white heat of Old Trafford, it may have suited him.

Of course it was a gamble to go there, that he chose to take and it hasn't worked out. There's no guarantee my way would have been a better bet, but I'd have preferred the cautious approach.
IMO the cautious approach was to stay where he was, accept the new contract with larger pay packet, learn from proven seasoned veterens, get more experience playing in CL,

taking a step back into lesser clubs (they are not bad but you know what I mean) with no CL exposure, no chance of winning titles etc would not have been the way to go.

By going to man u, he proved he was ambitious, but it was just too soon and in that team youneed to be at your peak, there is no time for beginners or improvers in their quest for silverware.
pity, I really thought he could be good. Now he's only a shadow of the player he looked like being (and on occasion was - even as a young player)

Rem Celtic farmed him out to Aarhus (I think it was) in scandinavia for a year to get exp and to help recouperate from inj.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 27, 2008, 05:17:35 PM
Surprised to see Miller getting moved along given some of his recent form being decent. Must have dirtied his copy book a bit. In all truth though if Sunderland have aspirations of being in the top half of the table lads like Miller aren't good enough. Reid would be a better player all told than Miller though a bit injury prone too.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 27, 2008, 05:24:14 PM
Have to agree with lynchbhoy..
I think he would have been far better off staying at Celtic,He was fast becoming a fans favourite after good displays in Champions League games
And the experience of playing in CL games and with far more seasoned pros around him compared to clubs like Everton etc it would have been an overall better decision..
Dare i say Keane has now twice upset this lads career? Once in being the go between in his move to Old Trafford and now by letting him go?
Post by: AZOffaly on February 27, 2008, 05:26:34 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 27, 2008, 05:16:20 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 27, 2008, 04:32:13 PM
I dunno Lynchbhoy,

IMO the cautious approach was to stay where he was, accept the new contract with larger pay packet, learn from proven seasoned veterens, get more experience playing in CL,

taking a step back into lesser clubs (they are not bad but you know what I mean) with no CL exposure, no chance of winning titles etc would not have been the way to go.

By going to man u, he proved he was ambitious, but it was just too soon and in that team youneed to be at your peak, there is no time for beginners or improvers in their quest for silverware.
pity, I really thought he could be good. Now he's only a shadow of the player he looked like being (and on occasion was - even as a young player)

Rem Celtic farmed him out to Aarhus (I think it was) in scandinavia for a year to get exp and to help recouperate from inj.

Ah yeah, I agree he should have stayed at Celtic too. I should have said that seeing as how he was determined to move, he should have moved to a club where he was in with a good chance of playing every week.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 27, 2008, 08:39:44 PM
QuoteDare i say Keane has now twice upset this lads career? Once in being the go between in his move to Old Trafford and now by letting him go?

Roy is also to blame for global warming, the carnage on our roads and our obviously falling standards of education....
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 27, 2008, 10:05:35 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 27, 2008, 08:39:44 PM
QuoteDare i say Keane has now twice upset this lads career? Once in being the go between in his move to Old Trafford and now by letting him go?

Roy is also to blame for global warming, the carnage on our roads and our obviously falling standards of education....

The Bastard !
Post by: longball on February 27, 2008, 11:00:45 PM
didnt keane give an interview on MUTV that time and slate Miller as well saying united would get nowhere with players like Liam Miller and Darren Fletcher!!!! Miller then went on to join Leeds on loan where he shud of styed because he was playing good ball for them in championship! where will he go now??? my guess is Wolves! or Hibs!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 28, 2008, 11:08:36 AM
Apparently Liam has problems with his time keeping, if he starts getting in on time he has a future there. Poor sod has to be in for 10.30...
Post by: Mentalman on February 28, 2008, 11:26:09 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 28, 2008, 11:08:36 AM
Apparently Liam has problems with his time keeping, if he starts getting in on time he has a future there. Poor sod has to be in for 10.30...

Wouldn't be surprised if it's something like that.

The other way to look at that is that Keane facilitated a dream move to one of the biggest clubs in the world. When that didn't work out, at his earliest opportunity, he made Liam one of his first signings of his new management career. It's all about perspective, but to me there would definitely an element of someone showing faith and giving opportunities, which for one reason and another haven't been taken?
Post by: Declan on February 28, 2008, 11:34:47 AM
Sunderland boss Roy Keane has confirmed Liam Miller was transfer-listed because of poor time-keeping.

The 27-year-old Republic of Ireland international was told he could leave the club yesterday after arriving late for training on several occasions.

Keane, who once left three players behind on Wearside after they turned up late for the bus to an away match, had little hesitation in asserting his authority once again.

He said: "The problem is Liam's time-keeping, it is as simple as that. It is nothing to do with Liam as a player or as a lad.

"I have got a lot of time for Liam, but we set a very high standard at the football club and unfortunately, Liam has not been unable to match that, so we have put him on the transfer list and we will see what happens.

"You have got to be on time for training. If a player is late once or twice, well and good; if he is late three or four times, maybe well and good.

"But when it goes beyond five, six, seven times, then you have got to draw the line. In any walk of life, you have got to be on time.

"We had an incident last year when players were late for the bus, and you move on. We cannot wait for anybody at the club."

Miller played in the reserves' 1-0 defeat at Bolton last night on his return from a calf injury hours after being told of the decision, although it remains to be seen whether he will be included in the senior squad for Saturday's Barclays Premier League trip to Derby.

However, while his future looks bleak on Wearside, Keane has not entirely closed the door on him.

He said: "Liam played last night and if he performs like he did last night and nobody comes in for him, then who knows?

"As long as he is under the roof, you feel, as with lots of other players, they have always got a chance.

"We have got a lot of other players who have not been involved in the first team for the last few months, but if they keep working hard, then you never know when they will get the opportunity."
Post by: Uladh on February 28, 2008, 11:52:09 AM

Fair enough then
Post by: AZOffaly on February 28, 2008, 11:57:51 AM
What a bad reflection on Liam Miller. If a professional footballer can't be arsed turning up on time, then it really doesn't auger well for his professionalism elsewhere.

That's poor form out of Miller.
Post by: Billys Boots on February 28, 2008, 12:17:36 PM
Quotebut to me there would definitely an element of someone showing faith and giving opportunities, which for one reason and another haven't been taken?

I'm with you there Mentalman.  You're really a Longfordman at heart - come back from the dark-side.
Post by: Mentalman on February 28, 2008, 12:19:15 PM
There ya go, kind of goes back to something that came up in the Gazza context last week - discipline, but more importantly self discipline. Who knows what going on with the guy, but for his sake I hope he pulls his socks up and gives it a right lash and takes the chance available to him.
Post by: Mentalman on February 28, 2008, 12:21:49 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on February 28, 2008, 12:17:36 PM
Quotebut to me there would definitely an element of someone showing faith and giving opportunities, which for one reason and another haven't been taken?

I'm with you there Mentalman.  You're really a Longfordman at heart - come back from the dark-side.

LOL that's the granny coming out in me alright. Then again with a grandfather from Meath I'm probably where I deserve to be - stuck in the middle!
Post by: Billys Boots on February 28, 2008, 12:28:57 PM
QuoteLOL that's the granny coming out in me alright.

Sure, we knew ye weren't all bad!  ;)
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 28, 2008, 03:20:19 PM
the benefit of wisdom through experience

it doesnt seem that long ago where Roy himself was missing busses on on Ireland tours etc - then falling out with Charlton and McCarthy over this at the time.

Thought there had to be a falling out behind the scenes that lead to keane saying he was letting miller go

keane himself was a big fan of millers ever since the two clased in an Ireland v Ireland u21 practise game many moons ago

have heard before that millers attitude can be bad.
Title: Keane slams hypocritical managers
Post by: Mentalman on March 28, 2008, 03:56:48 PM
Keane slams hypocritical managers 

Interview: Sunderland boss Roy Keane

Sunderland manager Roy Keane has hit out at the "hypocrisy" of some of his Premier League colleagues over their demand for more respect for referees.

A series of high-profile incidents of officials being abused has prompted leading managers to demand protection for match referees.

But Keane told BBC Radio 5 Live: "There are a lot of hypocrites out there.

"The same bosses talking about players showing respect have been sent off themselves for abusing officials."

Liverpool midfielder Javier Mascherano's reaction to being sent off by Steve Bennett against Manchester United last week is the latest in a succession of incidents in which officials have been confronted.

Football Association director of football development Trevor Brooking launched a £200m grassroots football scheme last week, with the aim of recruiting more referees and improving the behaviour of players on the pitch towards match officials.

And he says a fresh approach will be looked at next season in a bid to protect referees.

Meanwhile, Keane added: "I've made it clear to everyone here - from the academy to the first team - that a lack of respect towards referees will not be tolerated.

"But I've seen other managers come out and demand respect. How can the players show respect if their manager does not?"

Keane was famously heavily criticised in 1999 when, as United captain, he led the unsightly charge on referee Andy D'Urso after he awarded Middlesbrough a penalty at Old Trafford.

However, the Irishman has garnered a more reserved reputation as a manager.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/s/sunderland/7318443.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/s/sunderland/7318443.stm)
Post by: AZOffaly on March 28, 2008, 04:06:20 PM
Ah Jaysus. Roy Keane calling for respect of referees? The world is ending lads.
Post by: stew on March 28, 2008, 09:47:46 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 28, 2008, 04:06:20 PM
Ah Jaysus. Roy Keane calling for respect of referees? The world is ending lads.

How that clown can call anyone a hypocrite is beyond me, is there a bigger hypocrite than keane in the premiership? I seriousy doubt it.
Post by: Mentalman on March 29, 2008, 11:26:04 PM
Hypocrite or not it was great win for Sunderland today, given at one stage it looked like all the teams below them were going to gain ground.  It's in the Mackems own hands now as they have to play Fulham and Bolton, all be it away. Outside of that they have a couple of Northeast derbies too with Boro and the Barcodes, neither of which are technically safe yet. Should be interesting from here on in!
Post by: Mentalman on March 30, 2008, 05:28:55 PM
Quote from: stew on March 30, 2008, 02:30:28 PM
He has been managing for five minutes and then he decides to take pot shots at other managers when he has spent a clean fortune buying players and he is in danger of going down. Roy the manager has little credibility at this stage so i would respectively suggest to roy boy that he should shut his pie hole until he accomplishes not something but anything at the managerial level.

Would agree with some of that, he has surprised me by his willingness to engage with the press, although I get the feeling some of it is taking a cue from Fergie, and is mre than a little tongue in cheek. But the point about his spending isn't really here nor there. Yes, Sunderland are the second highest spenders in the the EPL this year, behind Man City, but what was he supposed to do? Not spend the money available to him and finish below Derby? Fulham are the 4th highest spenders and they look completely shafted, wel to me at least. If you look at Keanes signings as a whole a large chunk of that money has been spent on Gordon, 9 million. I think he's proven a good young (for a keeper) signing, and every decent team has to have a solid keeper behind them. The 6 million spent on Jones, which was scoffed at at the time, seems to be money well spent, and if Sunderland do go down they will have no problem making that money back if they so wish. Richardson comes in next I'd reckon, and I'd argue if he had been fit more often during the season they would be safe by now. Next money wise is Chopra, 5 million, who I wouldn't say has been anything near success, but has still scored the winning goals against Spurs & Villa. And finally Andy Reid, 4 million, who's signing seems to have coincided with their up turn in form over the last two months. Bardsely seems to have been  solid signing as well, despite my own sceptisicm, not to mention Evans on loan. None of these are names that roll off the tongue, but this is Sunderland after all, not Chelsea. Of course there duds in there too - Halford, Anderson, Ethuhu and unfortunately our own MacShane. But the positives out weigh the negatives, and all the players mentioned previously have helped get the Mackems to a position where league survival is now in their own hands. That isn't bad going when you think of sides who have gone down, or have barely escaped in recent years - West Ham spring to mind. It's also not bad when you consider that the last time they were promoted they got relegated with 17 points. All managers make bad signings, certainly Fergie has made a raft of them over his career, or more recently Benitez, but seems to be making more god than bad that seems to count.
Post by: ExiledGael on March 30, 2008, 07:23:34 PM
Did you ever see that 'child' Keane 'abused'? Did you see how the case ended up? Pathetic English bullshit of a case.
He's bought a lot of duds, who hasn't? He was given the task of staying up, looks very like he's going to do just that.

Post by: thewobbler on March 30, 2008, 10:21:50 PM
QuoteHow did he walk out on Ireland when McCarthey sent him home..but sure dont let the truth get in the way of talking shit 

I don't know which is the more frustrating, that this argument will never reach an amicable conclusion, or that simpletons such as New Devil refuse to accept that Roy Keane himself played the major part in his absence from the 2002 World Cup.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 30, 2008, 10:26:12 PM
Very good result for Sunderland and they should survive now which is no mean achievement. The funds will be in greater supply in the summer which will be interesting as its another, new challenge for Roy.

I'm not getting involved in the other thing.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 30, 2008, 10:31:15 PM
QuoteThe funds will be in greater supply in the summer which will be interesting as its another, new challenge for Roy.

There seemed to be ample funds last Summer but the problem was attracting players. Probably 2 reasons for that - Sunderland's being perceived as an unattractive location and players thinking they mightn't stay too long in the top flight. Now that they are more established as a Premier League it might be easier to attract better quality players.
Post by: stew on March 30, 2008, 10:34:51 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on March 30, 2008, 10:21:50 PM
QuoteHow did he walk out on Ireland when McCarthey sent him home..but sure dont let the truth get in the way of talking shit 

I don't know which is the more frustrating, that this argument will never reach an amicable conclusion, or that simpletons such as New Devil refuse to accept that Roy Keane himself played the major part in his absence from the 2002 World Cup.

By virtue of the fact that he made a complete tr**p out of himself by hammering on his Manager on the cusp of their first game meant that either McCarthy lost face and the faith of his players or Keane went home in disgrace. Keane was the single biggest reason why the irish team was in disarray, any half decent professional would have waited until the squad were back home before talking about the conditions the team had to deal with. Keane was used to being spoiled at man utd and the standards there and his points were valid, the way he chose to address the issue lies squarely on his shoulders.

I could as much forget what he did in saipan as much as I could forget the tremendous force he was on the field, you simply cannot forget aspects of his legacy be they good or bad, not should you, they are part of his make up.
Post by: dodo on March 30, 2008, 11:00:05 PM
Quote from: hardstation on March 30, 2008, 10:41:34 PM
Quoteany half decent professional would have waited until the squad were back home before talking about the conditions the team had to deal with
However, surely if his intentions were to improve the conditions that the team had to deal with, there wouldn't be much point waiting 'til they were home.

Since they were in Saipan and all arrangements were made for their group stages at this stage it would have made alot more sense to wait till the tournament was over.
Post by: dodo on March 30, 2008, 11:14:05 PM
The point in crying after the event would have been to keep the squad together for the tournament and then to let rip. What happened was that Roy lost the plot. This crap about him having the greater good at heart is laughable when you consider the fallout. Why if he was so concerned, that this fallout did not feature in his thinking ?
Post by: stew on March 30, 2008, 11:20:13 PM
Quote from: hardstation on March 30, 2008, 10:41:34 PM
Quoteany half decent professional would have waited until the squad were back home before talking about the conditions the team had to deal with
However, surely if his intentions were to improve the conditions that the team had to deal with, there wouldn't be much point waiting 'til they were home.

Ask yourself this question, given they way Keane handled the situation would he have been better off waiting until they were home, biting his lip so to speak or did he handle the situation the way it should have been handled in the moment?

even better, imagine what would have happened if Keane had went to the IFA and told them what the isues were and gave them an opportunity to fix them, imagine would have happened in keane had spoken to McCarthy in a respectful manner in front of the squad but instead of going off on his manager he gave suggestions as to how the problems might be fixed in the very short term.

Keane chose to discredit McCarthy and the IFA at the worst possible moment, that was one WC that was there for the taking and his actions cost Ireland dearly as he was one of the best players in the world and he was 30 -31 years old at the time and at the top of his game.

Imagine being a player and sitting through that meeting, your heart would have been broken before you kicked a ball in anger.
Post by: stew on March 30, 2008, 11:28:04 PM
As a kid growing up I was a man united supporter, to this day I would sit down and watch a part of their game if they were playing, no other team in the world could make me do that bar the International side.

Keane is one of the great united players and I admired him for his greatnes on the field, I never saw anyone work as hard as keane did but as he got longer in the tooth he became an agitator and a clubhouse cancer. United and ferguson kicked him to the kerb as did his team mates and manager in Saipan, this constitutes a pattern of destructive behaviour which wrecked Irelands chances and could have derailed United were it not for Ferguson putting him in his place.

Out of all keanes backers the man united supporters are the absolute worst, their boy can do no wrong and they have as much crdibility as Dunphy has when it comes to their opinion on Keane in my eyes. A liverpool or Arsenal supporter with a positive view on keane i would listen to but a united fan........................ it is a waste of time, they have double the loyalty for him given his club and country and shame on them for justifying Keanes behaviour in both Saipan and Manchester.
Post by: stew on March 30, 2008, 11:29:52 PM
Quote from: hardstation on March 30, 2008, 11:26:00 PM
Fair enough.
Being treated poorly, being dumped out of the World Cup and complaining about the way you were treated would not have cut ice with me.

The main reason they were fucked out: Robbie Keane should have hit the fecking penalty! :P

How do you know they would have been knocked out with keane in the lineup? I dont know that.

The main reason they were knocked was Roy keane wasnt there to play for his team mates and his Country.
Post by: stew on March 30, 2008, 11:43:08 PM
Quote from: hardstation on March 30, 2008, 11:38:12 PM
I have little interest in Man United and my main interest is to slag my da when they're bate. My sister was at University in Manchester and I got the chance to go to watch Man United a few times. My first visit was to watch them lose 1-0 to Fenerbache in a CL game. I have even less of an interest in ROI.
I don't believe that the Keane - McCarthy debacle had a lot to do with their exit from the World Cup. I think people have made a scapegoat of Keane.

Fair enough. Is that why he was applauded and revered when he decided he wanted to play for his country again???

I fail to se how any man that spoke to his boss in the way Keane did to McCarthy in front of the entire squad could be made a scapegoat. I would say that McCarthy if anyone in the situation was the scapegoat, shure wasnt he an just an effing English cnut to begin with!! :-[
Post by: AZOffaly on March 31, 2008, 03:05:26 PM
Not to butt in on the whole 2002 revisited thing, but I love the way stew uses the old American sportisms. Not a dig by the way, just looks funny!

Awesome dude :D
Post by: stew on March 31, 2008, 03:15:19 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 31, 2008, 03:05:26 PM
Not to butt in on the whole 2002 revisited thing, but I love the way stew uses the old American sportisms. Not a dig by the way, just looks funny!

Awesome dude :D

I have spent thirty percent of me life in the states AZ. Late hoss.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 31, 2008, 03:16:14 PM
I know, I wasn't having a go. It just looks like i'm reading a column on SI, except about Roy Keane :D
Post by: stew on March 31, 2008, 03:17:29 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 31, 2008, 03:16:14 PM
I know, I wasn't having a go. It just looks like i'm reading a column on SI, except about Roy Keane :D

Feck away aff! :-[
Post by: Main Street on March 31, 2008, 06:37:34 PM
Quote from: hardstation on March 30, 2008, 11:38:12 PM
I have even less of an interest in ROI.
I don't believe that the Keane - McCarthy debacle had a lot to do with their exit from the World Cup. I think people have made a scapegoat of Keane.
Then you are probably not at all aware that Keane on the pitch added a minimum of an extra 20 or 30% to the Irish team performance.
The irony is that Keane the manager would have sent home Keane the player.

Anyway Andy Reid is our best midfielder, as Mentalman has pointed out, making the difference and making up for a lot of dross Keane has signed. At the seasons end he will have to hire a bus to get rid of the surplus to requirements. .

Post by: Mentalman on March 31, 2008, 06:43:27 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 31, 2008, 06:37:34 PM

Anyway Andy Reid is our best midfielder, as Mentalman has pointed out, making the difference and making up for a lot of dross Keane has signed. At the seasons end he will have to hire a bus to get rid of the surplus to requirements. .

What about young Stokes? Will he be on the bus? Listening to the guy Newstalk 106 have on from the fanzine, A Love Supreme, it sounds like he's not exactly popular with the fans. Then again that guy seems quite negative about Keane in general, and specifically in relation to his treatment of Liam Miller as opposed to Dwight Yorke. Hope Stokes isn't on the outs, he's still only a young lad, and at 2 million, there'sa lot worse in the Sunderland squad ahead of him.
Post by: Main Street on March 31, 2008, 07:15:24 PM
Quote from: Mentalman on March 31, 2008, 06:43:27 PM

What about young Stokes? Will he be on the bus? Listening to the guy Newstalk 106 have on from the fanzine, A Love Supreme, it sounds like he's not exactly popular with the fans. Then again that guy seems quite negative about Keane in general, and specifically in relation to his treatment of Liam Miller as opposed to Dwight Yorke. Hope Stokes isn't on the outs, he's still only a young lad, and at 2 million, there'sa lot worse in the Sunderland squad ahead of him.

When I say about Andy Reid "our midfielder", I mean midfielder for Ireland.

I have only seen Stokes for the u21's and he has been disappointing. Andy Keogh of Wolves has half the talent but puts in twice the performance.
Stokes is still young, has been played out of position, might improve if he has a 1/2 decent coach, so no big strain to keep him another year.
There will always be another bus.

So far, of the young lads up front, it is looking very good for Murphy. I would expect him to be on the subs bench for the Ireland team.
If he could head the ball (like Cascarino) he would be a starter.

Post by: Mentalman on April 01, 2008, 12:05:22 AM
Quote from: Main Street on March 31, 2008, 07:15:24 PM
Quote from: Mentalman on March 31, 2008, 06:43:27 PM

When I say about Andy Reid "our midfielder", I mean midfielder for Ireland.

I have only seen Stokes for the u21's and he has been disappointing. Andy Keogh of Wolves has half the talent but puts in twice the performance.
Stokes is still young, has been played out of position, might improve if he has a 1/2 decent coach, so no big strain to keep him another year.
There will always be another bus.

So far, of the young lads up front, it is looking very good for Murphy. I would expect him to be on the subs bench for the Ireland team.
If he could head the ball (like Cascarino) he would be a starter.

I see, thought you might be a genuine Mackem, not like the rest of us who just take an interest, I took you up the wrong way. Murphy seems to have turned a corner alright, from being close to going out on loan to a matchday squad regular. I think himself, and Stokes earlier in the season when Edwards was injured, seem to fit with Keane's desire to have flexibility between 4-4-2 and 4-5-1 during a given game. For that reason I imagine both will be retained, whether Sunderland survive or not. Could be an interesting summer if they stay up though, with them being linked with every ex-Utd. player and some of his older ex-colleagues still at the club. Personally I'd think he needs to spread the net a little further, but on the other hand if helps establish them in the Premiership over the next 3 seasons it's a good strategy.
Post by: Mentalman on April 05, 2008, 11:50:40 PM
Looking better to stay up after a win against another relegation rival. Murphy showed well again today, setting up two goals, Jones does more damage, and Chopra contributes another key goal.

With their remaining fixtures, and the league table, 5 more points would make them mathematically safe at this stage, and Bolton to play in the run in. 

Sunderland v Man City, 15:00 Saturday, 12 April 2008
Newcastle v Sunderland, 13:30 Sunday, 20 April 2008
Sunderland v Middlesbrough, 15:00 Saturday, 26 April 2008
Bolton v Sunderland, 15:00 Saturday, 03 May 2008
Sunderland v Arsenal, 15:00 Sunday, 11 May 2008

PosPlayedPoints
13Sunderland3336
14Wigan3334
15Middlesbrough3234
16Reading3332
17Birmingham3330
18Bolton3326
19Fulham3324
20Derby3211
Post by: magpie seanie on April 06, 2008, 12:20:16 AM
Nearly there now. Would expect that the job will be completed. Couldn't see Bolton winning all their games, they look terrible.
Post by: Mentalman on April 06, 2008, 12:55:56 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 06, 2008, 12:20:16 AM
Nearly there now. Would expect that the job will be completed. Couldn't see Bolton winning all their games, they look terrible.

Defo, can't see Bolton stringing 4 wins together out of 5, they haven't managed that all season. Anyway I'm sure Keane will push them on to finish as high as possible rather than just staying up by default. I'm sue Sunderland fans would have settled for 4th bottom at the start of the season, but every position is worth money. And besides you can learn a lot about players in the remaining matches - I'm sure a fair few of them are fighting for their places at the club next season.
Post by: slow corner back on April 06, 2008, 01:54:10 PM
With home games against City boro and a disintrested Arsenal I would expect Sunderland to pick up 5/7 points, they may well also pick up draws at Newcastle and Bolton. Relegation is down to the bottom five now but with Boltons and Fulhams form awful it almost looks completely over.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 06, 2008, 02:29:35 PM
Its seems now they are safe. Fair play to Keane, watched Sunderland a few times at the beginning of the season and thought they were very poor and had no chance of surviving.He must have done something right!
Post by: Mentalman on April 26, 2008, 09:42:40 PM
Fair dues to the Mackems, it seems they are definitely safe after todays win, Chopra and Murphy contributing crucial strikes again - right decision made not to loan out  both. They'll be hoping to make it more comfortable next year and not supper second season syndrome. Speaking of which it's really squeeky bum territory for Reading - hope they escape.
Post by: stew on April 26, 2008, 10:18:22 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on April 06, 2008, 02:29:35 PM
Its seems now they are safe. Fair play to Keane, watched Sunderland a few times at the beginning of the season and thought they were very poor and had no chance of surviving.He must have done something right!

You taking the piss right?

What he did was spend a ton of money and still nearly managed to get relegated.
Post by: Mentalman on April 26, 2008, 10:50:09 PM
Quote from: stew on April 26, 2008, 10:18:22 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on April 06, 2008, 02:29:35 PM

You taking the piss right?

What he did was spend a ton of money and still nearly managed to get relegated.

Jasus Stew, I thought this has already been more than fleshed out on the thread so far  :D

The various transfers were mentioned further up the thread.

Found this elsewhere to show the sheer level of spending, worldwide. City surprised me coming in top in the Premiership. The Fulham figures kind of bear out what Tony said the other day, without getting in digs at Sanchez - that's a lot of dollars and still looking relegation down the barrel.

(http://www.purelymancity.com/wp-content/Worldtransferspending07.jpg)
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 27, 2008, 03:44:28 PM
WELL DONE ROY KEANE!!! :)
Post by: nifan on April 28, 2008, 11:39:24 AM
I hope sunderland buy Jonny Evans in the summer.
Id probably have liked him to go to a bigger club in the past, but he seems to have done well under Keane so it may be a decent move for him
Post by: full back on May 08, 2008, 02:18:13 PM
Start of the clear out?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/s/sunderland/7389966.stm

Sunderland boss Roy Keane has begun his summer cull by telling four players he will not be renewing their deals.

Veteran striker Andy Cole along with defenders Ian Harte, Stanislav Varga and Stephen Wright have all been released by the Wearside club.

Keane vowed to shake up his squad after securing the club's Premier League future for next season.

He now reportedly wants the Sunderland board to give him another £50m to bring in new players for the next campaign.

Keane said: "I have sat down with Andy, Ian, Stephen and Stan and they won't be getting new contracts."

Cole and Varga had only just returned to training with Sunderland from their respective loan spells at Burnley.

606: DEBATE
Dwight Yorke is still negotiating, but more of a coach role

DS
Cole, 36, joined up with his former Manchester United team-mate Keane on a one-year deal last summer but only made five appearances for the Black Cats.

Former Leeds player Harte was also brought in by Keane, who he played alongside for the Republic of Ireland, in 2007.

Varga joined Sunderland from Celtic in 2006, while Wright joined from Liverpool in 2002 for £3m and recently had a spell on loan at Stoke.
Post by: Tommy Tibbs on July 24, 2008, 02:03:43 PM
Sunderland have completed the surprise signing of Republic of Ireland goalkeeper Nick Colgan.

The 34-year-old has penned a one-year deal at the Stadium of Light after leaving Ipswich at the end of last season.

Colgan recently had a trial at Bradford, but failed to win a deal at Valley Parade.

However, Keane has decided to offer the former Chelsea man the chance to play in the Premier League and he will provide cover for No.1 Craig Gordon.

"It's a huge challenge which I'm really looking forward to," Colgan told the club's official website.

"I got the call from the gaffer and he gave me 24 hours to think about it, but I think it took me about 24 seconds to decide!

"He told me he wants to carry a good squad of goalkeepers and it's my job to bring my experience to the other keepers and to add some pressure on them and keep them on their toes, and I'm looking forward to getting started."

Many of Keano's purchases leave a lot to be desired, Colgan cant even make it at Bradford but gets a deal at Sunderland.  ::)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 28, 2008, 06:07:44 PM
El Hadji Diouf signs for Sunderland....
How will himself and Keane get on?
One is a full of himself,always thinks he's right opinionated ignoramus the other is Diouf  ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 20, 2008, 01:41:12 PM
First Diouf and now Cisse,Keane going for Liverpools rejects..I expect to see Djimi Traore Igor Biscan next to sign for Sunderland  :D

Cisse set for Sunderland
Marseille agree to loan striker to Black Cats

Marseille have confirmed that there is an 'agreement in principle' for Djibril Cisse to join Sunderland on a season-long loan deal.

Former Liverpool striker Cisse has been strongly linked with a return to the Premier League over the summer.

Bolton Wanderers were mooted as suitors of the France international, but he is now set for a move to the Stadium of Light.

The French club's chairman Pape Diouf has revealed that there is a deal in place for Cisse to spend the season with Roy Keane's side.

"An agreement in principle has been reached between OM and Sunderland for the loan of Djibril Cisse to the English club until the end of the season," Diouf told the club's official website.

"Some details still need to be sorted out ahead of the confirmation of the loan."

Black Cats boss Keane revealed earlier on Wednesday that he was hoping to bring in more new signings within the next 48 hours.

Keane had agreed deals for three players, and was also aiming to land a fourth, with Cisse the first of those set to arrive in the North East.

Cisse has spent the past two years at Marseille after originally joining the club on loan following an injury-hit stint at Liverpool.
Post by: fred the red on August 21, 2008, 05:36:23 PM
I see david healey is having a medical at sunderland today.

I wonder how his flute playing antics will go down with the strong irish element at the club!
Post by: Main Street on August 21, 2008, 05:54:50 PM
Quote from: fred the red on August 21, 2008, 05:36:23 PM
I see david healey is having a medical at sunderland today.

I wonder how his flute playing antics will go down with the strong irish element at the club!
You mean the air flute  ;D
Anybody who upsets a group of díckheads has something going for them. More power to Healy.

Roy Keane  looks to be setting up an All Ireland team by proxy.

Post by: Longshanks on August 22, 2008, 10:50:20 AM
I still think Healy will be a backup to Jones and Cisse when everyone is fit though and more of an impact sub..
Post by: magpie seanie on August 22, 2008, 10:57:46 AM
Looks like Keane is beefing up the squad again. While some of these players have failed at just below the highest level they will probably be good enough to get Sunderland higher up the table than last year.

Can't wait to see Fearon's reaction to Keane buying Healy! Should be comical.
Post by: Uladh on August 22, 2008, 11:22:27 AM

Depending on what he paid, Healy may not be a bad buy for the squad. Murphy and Cisse are the obvious starting 2 until jones displaces Murphy. Healy would be decent cover i suppose.
Post by: spiritof91and94 on August 22, 2008, 01:29:20 PM
Fearon must be off today.
Post by: Yes I Would on August 26, 2008, 11:57:03 PM
Roy certainly isnt afraid to splash the cash. 8 million snoops for Anton Ferdinand.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/s/sunderland/7580244.stm
Post by: gerry on August 27, 2008, 09:04:46 PM
1 nil down
Post by: gerry on August 27, 2008, 09:41:26 PM
extra time, all square at full time 1 each
Post by: tyroneboi on August 27, 2008, 09:47:06 PM
2-1 Sunderland - David Healy
Post by: gerry on August 27, 2008, 09:49:37 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on August 27, 2008, 09:47:06 PM
2-1 Sunderland - David Healy

does that mean i have to start liking healy now
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 27, 2008, 11:24:04 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on August 26, 2008, 11:57:03 PM
Roy certainly isnt afraid to splash the cash. 8 million snoops for Anton Ferdinand.

When i heard on the radio that Keane had signed Ferdinand i thought for one second that Keane had lost the plot totally and bought Rio "I didn't mean to miss a drugs test" Ferdinand then i realised it was Anton and thought yeah maybe not a bad signing for Sunderland
Post by: magpie seanie on August 28, 2008, 09:57:11 AM
QuoteWhen i heard on the radio that Keane had signed Ferdinand i thought for one second that Keane had lost the plot totally and bought Rio "I didn't mean to miss a drugs test" Ferdinand

Sure you did.

Thats another striker scoring on his debut as quite a few have for Keane. Trouble is not too many have repeated the dose all that often afterwards. Squad looks a good bit stronger. This time last year Keane happily sacrificed this comp was there was only one target but maybe this year he feels a cup run is possible and practical.
Post by: Mentalman on August 28, 2008, 11:33:26 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 28, 2008, 09:57:11 AM
QuoteWhen i heard on the radio that Keane had signed Ferdinand i thought for one second that Keane had lost the plot totally and bought Rio "I didn't mean to miss a drugs test" Ferdinand

Sure you did.

Thats another striker scoring on his debut as quite a few have for Keane. Trouble is not too many have repeated the dose all that often afterwards. Squad looks a good bit stronger. This time last year Keane happily sacrificed this comp was there was only one target but maybe this year he feels a cup run is possible and practical.

Squad definitely stronger in most positions, would not be surprised to see a few moved on by the end of Monday. If they can get enough goals out of the other strikers until Jones gets fit survival plus a bit more should be well within their reach. Surprised by the number of ball playing midfielders he has, no sign of a real destroyer in there thus far.
Post by: full back on August 28, 2008, 11:36:40 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 27, 2008, 11:24:04 PM

When i heard on the radio that Keane had signed Ferdinand i thought for one second that Keane had lost the plot totally and bought Rio "I didn't mean to miss a drugs test" Ferdinand then i realised it was Anton and thought yeah maybe not a bad signing for Sunderland

Bet a few scousers wouldnt mind Rio

Heard somewhere Keane said the cups are the only chance he has of silverware this season so he wont be resting any players or doing squad rotation for cup games this year
Post by: Minder on August 28, 2008, 11:40:16 AM
He said last night there would be none of the "nonsense" of last year when he rested players in the Carling Cup and got stuffed by Luton. They are a lot stronger than last year and should stay up comfortably.
Post by: Denn Forever on August 28, 2008, 11:53:53 AM
Didn't see the game but appartently he wore a green sweatshirt a la Brian Clough?  Did he?

An Healy scored the winner but I'd say Keane would no be impressed that they didn't win it in normal time.
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 28, 2008, 12:30:25 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on August 28, 2008, 11:53:53 AM
Didn't see the game but appartently he wore a green sweatshirt a la Brian Clough?  Did he?

no, pics I saw last night, was a nice black suit , white shirt, openneck, not sure about the shoes, Id imagine he went for laceups..
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 28, 2008, 06:35:00 PM
Quote from: full back on August 28, 2008, 11:36:40 AM

Heard somewhere Keane said the cups are the only chance he has of silverware this season so he wont be resting any players or doing squad rotation for cup games this year

Why would we want him?
Post by: new devil on August 29, 2008, 06:14:38 AM
Because he's one of the best defenders in the world....Are you saying he wouldn't get on the liverpool team  :D :D
Post by: full back on August 29, 2008, 08:42:05 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 28, 2008, 06:35:00 PM

Why would we want him?

Please tell me you are on the wind up LL  :D

BTW, A Ferdinand is a decent signing. Suprised West Ham let him go
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 29, 2008, 09:33:15 AM
Quote from: full back on August 29, 2008, 08:42:05 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 28, 2008, 06:35:00 PM

Why would we want him?

Please tell me you are on the wind up LL  :D

No not at all
Post by: full back on August 29, 2008, 09:39:31 AM
Have to agree to disagree again LL
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 29, 2008, 09:41:11 AM
Quote from: full back on August 29, 2008, 09:39:31 AM
Have to agree to disagree again LL

Post by: full back on September 01, 2008, 08:31:00 PM
Keane is trying to sign Mc Cartney from the Hammers before the deadline.
North or South, as long as there is an Ireland in your place of origin Keane will take you.
If he does sign how many players from Ireland will he have on the books?
Post by: ExiledGael on September 01, 2008, 08:55:28 PM
Quote from: full back on September 01, 2008, 08:31:00 PM
North or South, as long as there is an Ireland in your place of origin Keane will take you.

BBC quoting six million quid!! About four million too much.
Post by: FermPundit on September 01, 2008, 09:52:54 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on September 01, 2008, 08:55:28 PM
Quote from: full back on September 01, 2008, 08:31:00 PM

BBC quoting six million quid!! About four million too much.

A bit harsh Exiled. I actually thought he had a pretty good season for the hammers last year.
Post by: ExiledGael on September 01, 2008, 10:35:44 PM
He's a decent player. £4.5 million I hear it is now, closer to the truth.
Post by: Mentalman on September 02, 2008, 10:41:52 AM
Some mark up, when you consider he went to West Ham from Sunderland for 1 million & CLive Clark went the other way.
Title: Keano lets loose
Post by: Donagh on September 12, 2008, 03:02:53 PM
Roy Keane in 'clown' attack on Jack Warner

Short shrift: Keane let the Fifa vice-president know exactly what he thinks of criticism over Dwight Yorke's availability for Trinidad & Tobago
Times Online

Roy Keane has attacked Jack Warner, the Fifa vice-president, by branding him "a clown".

Warner, a special advisor to the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation, wrote to Keane this week to accuse him of "insensitivity and disrespect" after Dwight Yorke, the Sunderland midfielder, was withdrawn from the squad to face the United States in a World Cup qualifier on Wednesday. But Keane, who was unhappy that the letter had been leaked to the media, called him to tell him exactly what he thought, and his contempt has apparently grown during the ensuing days.

The Sunderland manager was also upset that Warner has never tried to contact him about Kenwyne Jones, his striker, who suffered knee ligament damage playing for his country in a friendly against England in June. "It's just ridiculous," Keane said. "This clown is writing letters through the media.

"I spoke to Yorkie, who has officially retired a number of times. He is 36, and if they are depending on a 36-year-old to get them through to the World Cup in two years ... I spoke to the man on Wednesday myself and I told him exactly what I thought about him. He has not once called or dropped a letter about Kenwyne.
Related Links

"Carlos Edwards was over and has played a couple of games for them - Carlos was selected last year when he had a broken leg.

"[Warner] is probably a small man and he has got this 'Small-Man Syndrome'. The world is against him. If he is writing a letter representing Trinidad, why is he putting it under Fifa? If he is vice-president - and remember, he is vice-president, he is not president yet - God help us.

"People worry about the game and agents and directors of football and managers losing their jobs - we should be worried about people like him."

Yorke, who can also expect a rebuke from his club manager, captained his country in Saturday's 1-1 draw with Guatemala in Port of Spain, but was missing when they lost 3-0 to USA in Chicago four days later.

Yet, Keane, who insisted he has never prevented a player from linking up with his country, was adamant he has an arrangement with his former Manchester United team-mate. "Kenwyne got injured playing in a friendly," he said. "I don't know what deal was going on with England that time, obviously a deal for [World Cup] votes or whatever. Kenwyne injured his knee even though he had broken his wrist in the last game for us and I was pretty sure he wasn't available. Then I saw Yorkie coming on for a 20-minute cameo appearance.

"Yorkie is 36 bloody years of age - I'm blaming him anyway. He's a clown as well. You retire and then go on an ego trip. He has not played in the Premier League since he busted his cheekbone [in pre-season], and he goes over and he played the first game, 90 minutes.

"He couldn't play Saturday, Wednesday and then try to get involved for us on Saturday, no chance, absolutely no chance. If I had known that, he probably wouldn't have got another year's contract from me. You have got to prioritise certain things at his age.

"All my other eight or nine players who were away, no problem. They have all been selected for every friendly match - I have never, ever once spoken to one of my players about missing a game, never. Certain managers do - certain managers look after certain national teams, I know that. The man [Warner] is a clown."

Whether Yorke makes the squad for tomorrow's Barclays Premier League trip to Wigan remains to be seen as Keane and his players attempt to avenge their 3-0 defeat at the JJB Stadium last season, and bounce back from their mauling by the same score on their own turf by Manchester City last time out.

Recent signings Anton Ferdinand and George McCartney could be included, but Edwards is unlikely to figure after his gruelling trip to the Caribbean, while Dean Whitehead is struggling with a hip injury.
Post by: Main Street on September 12, 2008, 04:46:35 PM
I can't work it out

Yorke played for T&T on the Saturday

4 days later Yorke did not play for T&T against the USA.

Warner is upset with Keane
Keane is upset with everybody

On second thoughts, do I really want to know why.
Post by: bingobus on September 12, 2008, 04:54:43 PM
It gets better, from RTE sport;

FIFA's Warner makes Keane Saipan jibe
Friday, 12 September 2008 16:50
The war of words between Roy Keane and Jack Warner has intensified with the FIFA vice-president making a personal attack on the Sunderland manager and refrencing the Saipan incident, after the Irishman had called him 'a clown'.

Warner is special advisor to the Trinidad and Tobago FA and incurred Keane's wrath for criticising his decision to withdraw Dwight Yorke from international duty.

The Sunderland boss described Warner as 'a clown' and said: 'If he is vice-president of FIFA, then God help us', and suggested he wrote letters on FIFA-headed writing paper 'just to impress everybody'.

Now Warner has retaliated with a new letter attacking Keane - and making a dig about his own conduct in walking out on the Republic of Ireland before the 2002 World Cup.

Today's letter says: 'The disrespectful tone of your reported comments further demonstrates the total disrespect that you and others of your ilk have generally for players and officials from "small" countries.

'It is obviously difficult for you to accept the fact that someone from a "small" country could rise to become a vice-president of FIFA.

'I chose to respond on a FIFA letter-head because that is a privilege afforded me owing to my said status and the fact that your callousness showed utter disregard for FIFA's regulations re the release of players for international duty. Regrettably, but not surprisingly, you did not grasp the message.

'In closing may I remind you that a player's greatest honour is to represent his country in spite of the fact that you chose to walk away from yours during the 2002 Korea/Japan World Cup after publicly abusing your manager... indictment that you will no doubt be proud of up to today. Poor Sunderland.'

No love for Keane but this clown from T&T sounds like a right ejit.
Post by: Main Street on September 12, 2008, 04:57:18 PM
I am beginning to warm to this crook Warner.
Post by: thebandit on September 12, 2008, 05:24:13 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 12, 2008, 04:57:18 PM

And thats exactly what he is - he was found to be dealing in World Cup tickets for over face value!
Post by: Evil Genius on September 12, 2008, 06:17:58 PM
Quote from: thebandit on September 12, 2008, 05:24:13 PM

And thats exactly what he is - he was found to be dealing in World Cup tickets for over face value!

That's only part of it. The "Official World Cup Travel Agent" to the T&T Football Federation (i.e. the only Tour Operator able to offer packages including match tickets) was owned by a certain Jack Warner. When this was exposed by journalists independently of FIFA, they reluctantly ordered him to divest himself of any contact with the Travel Agency (after the WC Finals were over and the profits made, mind).

This Warner did by selling the Agency. To his son.

Of course, this is by no means the o0nly questionable dealing involving Warner. His own World Cup players had to take him to Court to secure the bonuses they were promised for getting to the World Cup Finals. He has point blank refused to pay them, even after they won their Court case:
http://playthegame.org/Home/News/Up_To_Date/Trinidad_and_Tobagos_national_team_resigns_in_row_over_World_Cup_bonus.aspx
http://playthegame.org/News/Up_To_Date/Arbitrators_rule_in_favour_of_players_in_dispute_over_World_Cup_earnings_23050001.aspx

Closer to home, T&T played Scotland at Hampden as part of their World Cup warm-up. After the game, Warner asked for the SFA to make the cheque for T&T's appearance fee out to him personally, rather than the Federation, as would invariably be the case. The Clerk involved was put under so much pressure by Warner, that the Secretary of the SFA had personally to issue a direct instruction to the Clerk NOT to do so in any circumstances.  

Which all came back to haunt the SFA when (Scot) John McBeth, prompted by experiences such as above, made some unguarded comments to journalists about corruption amongst African and Caribbean FA's. McBeth was nominated by the four UK Associations to be their representative FIFA Vice President, until he was "blackballed" by a number of Associations, led by (you've guessed it) Jack Warner. Which was convenient for him, since Warner was (again) being investigated by the FIFA Ethics Committee at the time...
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/article1857290.ece
Post by: Mentalman on September 12, 2008, 07:41:15 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on September 12, 2008, 06:17:58 PM
Quote from: thebandit on September 12, 2008, 05:24:13 PM

That's only part of it. The "Official World Cup Travel Agent" to the T&T Football Federation (i.e. the only Tour Operator able to offer packages including match tickets) was owned by a certain Jack Warner. When this was exposed by journalists independently of FIFA, they reluctantly ordered him to divest himself of any contact with the Travel Agency (after the WC Finals were over and the profits made, mind).

This Warner did by selling the Agency. To his son.

Of course, this is by no means the o0nly questionable dealing involving Warner. His own World Cup players had to take him to Court to secure the bonuses they were promised for getting to the World Cup Finals. He has point blank refused to pay them, even after they won their Court case:
http://playthegame.org/Home/News/Up_To_Date/Trinidad_and_Tobagos_national_team_resigns_in_row_over_World_Cup_bonus.aspx
http://playthegame.org/News/Up_To_Date/Arbitrators_rule_in_favour_of_players_in_dispute_over_World_Cup_earnings_23050001.aspx

Closer to home, T&T played Scotland at Hampden as part of their World Cup warm-up. After the game, Warner asked for the SFA to make the cheque for T&T's appearance fee out to him personally, rather than the Federation, as would invariably be the case. The Clerk involved was put under so much pressure by Warner, that the Secretary of the SFA had personally to issue a direct instruction to the Clerk NOT to do so in any circumstances.  

Which all came back to haunt the SFA when (Scot) John McBeth, prompted by experiences such as above, made some unguarded comments to journalists about corruption amongst African and Caribbean FA's. McBeth was nominated by the four UK Associations to be their representative FIFA Vice President, until he was "blackballed" by a number of Associations, led by (you've guessed it) Jack Warner. Which was convenient for him, since Warner was (again) being investigated by the FIFA Ethics Committee at the time...
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/article1857290.ece

Some excellent research ther. Was he not in some way involved in the vote that saw Germany get the World Cup not England? Could be mixing up my FIFA luminaries there, if so apologies.
Post by: Main Street on September 12, 2008, 08:35:12 PM
McBeth is a Scottish tragedy.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 13, 2008, 06:48:27 PM
Quote from: bingobus on September 12, 2008, 04:54:43 PM
It gets better, from RTE sport;

FIFA's Warner makes Keane Saipan jibe

'In closing may I remind you that a player's greatest honour is to represent his country in spite of the fact that you chose to walk away from yours during the 2002 Korea/Japan World Cup after publicly abusing your manager... indictment that you will no doubt be proud of up to today. Poor Sunderland.'

Totally agree with this Warner chap
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 25, 2008, 01:41:06 PM
Keane having a go at Shay Given in the paper today  ::) Is there anything or anyone Roy Keane doesn't have a opinion on..
First he was bad mouthing Irelands greatest player Liam Brady now Irelands most dedicated professional and one of the best keepers we have ever had....
Typical media whore  ::)
Post by: Norf Tyrone on October 25, 2008, 01:59:56 PM
What's Given done to annoy him?
Post by: Carmen Stateside on October 25, 2008, 02:16:36 PM
What he say about Given?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 25, 2008, 02:20:26 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 25, 2008, 02:19:48 PM
What a f**king goal.

2 - 1 Sunderland.

Some goal alright
Post by: Carmen Stateside on October 25, 2008, 02:23:17 PM
Good strike! Seems to be a good atmosphere at it!
Post by: nifan on October 25, 2008, 02:23:46 PM
He deserved that after his cracking effort last week that his both posts.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 25, 2008, 02:28:19 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on October 25, 2008, 02:16:36 PM
What he say about Given?

No credit Given by Roy

Roy Keane last night had a pre-derby pop at former Ireland team mate Shay Given.
The Sunderland boss delivered a alarmingly curt reply when asked if he admired his fellow countrymans 11 year devotion,through good and bad times for the Newcastle cause.
Keane said "He's under contract isn't he?,He's a good goalkeeper but not as good as ours"

Given's unstinting loyalty to Newcastle has won him many fans,as was his determination to line out for his country.
Keane of course was not a regular when it came to turning up for international friendlies during his playing days.
Keane said " I think players have agendas,Certain players come over all the time no matter what,Maybe they want to get 50 or 100 caps and get a pat on the back for it,Shay is one of those players,he wants to get 200 caps"
Keane's latest frosty comment regarding his former team mate is sure to fuel tensions ahead of todays game

Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 25, 2008, 02:40:56 PM
Nice touch by Cisse there to give his jersey to the fella in the wheelchair when all the other fans were trying to grab it off him..Fair play
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 26, 2008, 01:56:23 AM
Now that u seem to have stopped stalking Seanie, could u add Royston to the list???
Post by: muppet on October 27, 2008, 11:47:22 AM
Sunderland 2 - Newcastle 1 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FWsftncyBJ8&feature=related)

A bit on the extreme anti-Newcastle side but still very funny.
Post by: ludermor on December 04, 2008, 10:56:30 AM
Is Roy gone? Anyone else heard rumours that it will be anounced today?
Post by: Donagh on December 04, 2008, 11:13:21 AM
Quote from: ludermor on December 04, 2008, 10:56:30 AM
Is Roy gone? Anyone else heard rumours that it will be anounced today?

Apparently he has a training session this morning. If he turns up they reckon he'll stay.
Post by: Rossie11 on December 04, 2008, 11:35:25 AM
Gone..
Post by: full back on December 04, 2008, 11:35:39 AM
Sunderland have parted company with manager Roy Keane, skysports.com understands.

Keane had been locked in talks over a new deal, which had refused to sign until he was fully happy with the terms.

Now the Irish legend has walked away from the job, following weeks of speculation about his position.

Keane took charge in August 2006 and he made an immediate impact as he guided Sunderland to the Championship title the following May.

Last season the club consolidated their place in the top-flight and Keane's task this term was to make an assault on the top-half of the table.

With that in mind, Sunderland backed Keane by spending nearly £30million on new players with the likes of Djibril Cisse, Pascal Chimbonda, Anton Ferdinand, El-Hadji Diouf and George McCartney all coming in.

Coupled with the plus £30million spent the previous summer, expectation levels were high on Wearside.

However, despite a morale boosting Wear-Tyne victory over rivals Newcastle - their first since 1980 - Sunderland's form and place in the league has plummeted.

Just two wins in ten league games sees them in the bottom three, and speculation has been rife in the North East over the last month that Keane was ready to walk away from the club.

And now the former Manchester United has left his first managerial post, leaving Sunderland chairman Niall Quinn with the task of finding somebody to guide the club to Premier League safety.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 20, 2008, 05:04:24 PM
Sunderland win again,amazing what a club can do with A) A manager who knows what he is doing and B) A manager who is respected by the players
Post by: Donagh on December 20, 2008, 05:23:48 PM
Who have they beaten without him? Oh that's right West Brom and Hull  ::)  Think I would have a fair chance of matching that and I couldn't even explain the offside rule to you.
Post by: new devil on December 20, 2008, 05:27:53 PM
Maybe Rafa should walk to  ;D
Post by: corn02 on December 20, 2008, 05:30:10 PM
Quote from: new devil on December 20, 2008, 05:27:53 PM

Yeah because Liverpool are only top like?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 20, 2008, 05:30:24 PM
Quote from: Donagh on December 20, 2008, 05:23:48 PM
Who have they beaten without him? Oh that's right West Brom and Hull  ::)  Think I would have a fair chance of matching that and I couldn't even explain the offside rule to you.

The same Hull who are 6th in the League.........
Post by: corn02 on December 20, 2008, 05:31:17 PM
Quote from: Donagh on December 20, 2008, 05:23:48 PM

Very disrespectful to Hull. Have you watched them play this year. Extremely well organised, superb workrate, great mentality and half-decent players. They are playing very, very well and fully merit their lofty position.
Post by: new devil on December 20, 2008, 05:32:40 PM
Quote from: corn02 on December 20, 2008, 05:30:10 PM

What have yous won in last 2 years again?
Post by: corn02 on December 20, 2008, 05:33:52 PM
Quote from: new devil on December 20, 2008, 05:32:40 PM

Brilliant, what did yous win in the two years prior to that? If you want to revert back to the past lets strecth it past two years, let's stretch it back a 150 years and we have won more than you, see you lose.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 20, 2008, 05:35:00 PM
Quote from: new devil on December 20, 2008, 05:32:40 PM

What Primary school are you a student at again?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 20, 2008, 05:43:27 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 20, 2008, 05:04:24 PM
Sunderland win again,amazing what a club can do with A) A manager who knows what he is doing and B) A manager who is respected by the players

To try to claim that Keane wasn't a success at Sunderland is a nonsense arguement. Yes he shouldn't have walked out so quickly but fundamentally his time at the club was a success and he showed more positive qualities for management than negative ones.

QuoteBrilliant, what did yous win in the two years prior to that? If you want to revert back to the past lets strecth it past two years, let's stretch it back a 150 years and we have won more than you, see you lose.

Another 2 years should sort that one out Corn  ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 20, 2008, 05:45:13 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 20, 2008, 05:43:27 PM

To try to claim that Keane wasn't a success at Sunderland is a nonsense arguement. Yes he shouldn't have walked out so quickly but fundamentally his time at the club was a success and he showed more positive qualities for management than negative ones.

Your entitled to your opinion....
Post by: magpie seanie on December 20, 2008, 06:04:40 PM
Sunderland are quite clearly a better team then Liverpool judging by results of the last two weekends.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 20, 2008, 06:22:07 PM
That would make them better than Man United so.....
Post by: magpie seanie on December 20, 2008, 06:25:39 PM
Feck, that's me bested. I'm no good at these ridiculous, braindead statements in comparison to the pros about here.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 20, 2008, 06:28:39 PM
Carefull now you wouldn't want to get reported.... ::)
Post by: new devil on December 20, 2008, 07:38:56 PM
You would know all about that!
Post by: under the bar on December 21, 2008, 12:23:37 AM
Checked the odds on Sagbria or whatever you call him 2 weeks ago and could have been had at 33/1 for the next perm manager. Sadly I didn't have  punt!
Post by: Leo on December 22, 2008, 12:29:56 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 20, 2008, 05:43:27 PM

Despite overwhelming evidence that Keane himself is what he once attempted to attribute to Mc Carthy (sh*te manager and sh*te person) it is nonetheless quite amusingly believable that the one-eyed Keano hero-woshippers cannot comprehend his appalling wasteful record, his bruitsh attitude to  lesser mortals than himself, his total lack of loyalty (country, colleagues, club).
Looking at Mc Carthy's Wolves today I can't help wondering what he would do with €90 million.
Post by: oakleafgael on July 09, 2011, 10:24:27 PM
http://www.sunderlandecho.com/news/local/irish_lawyer_margaret_byrne_31_is_new_sunderland_afc_chief_executive_1_3551981

SUNDERLAND today appointed 31-year-old legal eagle Margaret Byrne as their new chief executive.

She will be one of the youngest chief executives in English top-flight football and steps up from her role as legal director and company secretary in a boardroom revamp at the Stadium of Light.

The club announced last night that Steve Walton was stepping down as chief executive after three years in the job.

Marketing and commercial director Lesley Callaghan has also left after 19 years with SAFC.

Byrne – a qualified solicitor – has already been instrumental in buying and selling players, as well as contract negotiations.

Chairman Niall Quinn (pictured with Walton) said: "Margaret has been a true driving force at the club since her appointment here more than four years ago, and the fact that the club has gone from strength to strength on and off the pitch in that period is no coincidence.

"She has enormous passion for our football club and as its CEO, she will continue with the fantastic work that has gone before and will play a key role as the club continues to grow."

Angela Lowes has joined the board as finance director after 11 years in the finance department.

The two outgoing directors had agreed to stay at the club for two years following Ellis Short becoming owner in 2009, to continue the development of the business and consolidation in the Premier League.

A long way from the polytechnic to where she is now, fair play to her.
Post by: laoislad on October 03, 2011, 06:12:24 PM
Niall Quinn has stepped down as chairman.
Post by: Boycey on October 03, 2011, 07:06:46 PM
Quote from: laoislad on October 03, 2011, 06:12:24 PM

Saw somewhere last week that he was in running for Gary Cooks role at City, thought it a bit farfetched but maybe?

Edit: BBCs reading of it seems to suggest hes taking up another role within Sunderland.
Post by: muppet on October 03, 2011, 08:49:48 PM
Quote from: Boycey on October 03, 2011, 07:06:46 PM
Quote from: laoislad on October 03, 2011, 06:12:24 PM

Saw somewhere last week that he was in running for Gary Cooks role at City, thought it a bit farfetched but maybe?

Edit: BBCs reading of it seems to suggest hes taking up another role within Sunderland.

Director of Beanpoles.
Post by: ross4life on November 30, 2011, 06:55:42 PM
Bruce sacked http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/15975008.stm
Post by: laoislad on November 30, 2011, 07:10:43 PM
BRING BACK KEANO!
Post by: Forever Green on November 30, 2011, 10:56:44 PM
Martin O Neil favourite but what job isnt he favourite for these days? Imo O Neil would be a brilliant appointment for them
Post by: muppet on November 30, 2011, 11:02:07 PM
Quote from: Forever Green on November 30, 2011, 10:56:44 PM
Martin O Neil favourite but what job isnt he favourite for these days? Imo O Neil would be a brilliant appointment for them

Does spelling O'Neil with one 'L' have the same significance as spelling O'Donnel with one 'L'?
Post by: Square Ball on November 30, 2011, 11:09:27 PM
gutted hes gone :(, could he not have bough Evans and Gibson first ;)
Post by: Orangemac on November 30, 2011, 11:53:44 PM
Quote from: Forever Green on November 30, 2011, 10:56:44 PM
+1. Would be perfect for Martin O'Neill. Decent squad at Sunderland and O'Neill would get them organised.
Post by: Dinny Breen on December 02, 2011, 08:10:14 AM
O'Neill it is..
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 02, 2011, 08:14:38 AM
I am delighted he's gone, it means that Man U have lost 6 guaranteed points every season.  MOR is the prime candidate for this type of club.  Will take them above their expectations.
Post by: Denn Forever on December 02, 2011, 11:17:58 AM
Is this a dry run for Ferguson's replacement at Man U?  Roy or Bruce weren't up to it.  Maybe MON can show his pedigree.
Post by: Hashtag on December 02, 2011, 11:23:30 AM
Quote from: Denn Forever on December 02, 2011, 11:17:58 AM
Is this a dry run for Ferguson's replacement at Man U?  Roy or Bruce weren't up to it.  Maybe MON can show his pedigree.

Too old for Old Trafford IMO. This is his last Club I think. Possible NI/ROI manager after that.
Post by: EC Unique on December 02, 2011, 01:53:27 PM
Good luck to him. I hope he does well :)
Post by: JUst retired on December 02, 2011, 03:51:06 PM
Brokencrossbar,I didnt know MOR was into groundball.But good luck to him. ;D
Post by: Hoof Hearted on December 11, 2011, 03:26:19 PM
great to see O'Neill back, he is going mad on the touchline after Sunderlands two goals there
Post by: Forever Green on December 11, 2011, 08:49:00 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on December 11, 2011, 03:26:19 PM
great to see O'Neill back, he is going mad on the touchline after Sunderlands two goals there

Love seeing him going mad on the touchlines when his team scores a goal. He still has some leap on for the game of him. I think this what will wake Sunderland up. Imo, they are a sleeping giant but now with Marty at the helm they will be a European side while he is there. Always liked Sunderland as they are a club that has had an Irish feel about them for many years mainly due to the influence of big Niall Qiunn
Post by: EC Unique on January 01, 2012, 12:13:17 PM
Best of luck today Marty boy!
Post by: rossie mad on January 01, 2012, 12:25:10 PM

Shows the genuine fear you man u supporters have of man city wishing their opponents well.If MON was managing everton today would you be wishing him the best of luck against west brom.I sincerely doubt it.
Post by: EC Unique on January 01, 2012, 04:33:06 PM
Of course we fear them. They went around Europe with a bottomless cheque book buying the best available and are a super strong squad. Every year it is Utd v an other for top spot so naturally Utd supporters will support whatever team can take points off them.
Simple logic in the same way that Liverpool fans/ ABUs support city/Chelsea/barcalona when suitable.
Post by: ross4life on January 01, 2012, 04:51:18 PM
Post by: EC Unique on January 01, 2012, 04:54:03 PM
Well done Marty boy ;D ;D ;D
Fully deserved the win.  :P
Post by: Big Puff on January 01, 2012, 04:58:01 PM
Offside goal, these things balance themselves out over the course of a season- which means city are due a bit of luck.
Post by: muppet on January 01, 2012, 04:59:04 PM
Quote from: Big Puff on January 01, 2012, 04:58:01 PM
Offside goal, these things balance themselves out over the course of a season- which means city are due a bit of luck.

They don't. Everyone just moves on.
Post by: Main Street on January 01, 2012, 05:07:40 PM
Bendtner would have tripped over his bootlaces and fluffed the late chance that fell to Ji
The young Derry lad had a good debut.

Post by: EC Unique on January 03, 2012, 09:57:13 PM
Fair play to Marty. Some great results since he landed. 3 wins and a draw!
Post by: Link on January 04, 2012, 10:56:20 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on January 03, 2012, 09:57:13 PM
Fair play to Marty. Some great results since he landed. 4 wins and a draw!
Fixed that for you, you utd p***k!  ;D
Post by: take_yer_points on January 04, 2012, 12:05:30 PM
And a goal last night for OWC's Ireland's James McClean - he looks a very good player and O'Neill seems like he's going to give him a bit of a run in the team
Post by: EC Unique on January 04, 2012, 12:12:15 PM
Quote from: Link on January 04, 2012, 10:56:20 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on January 03, 2012, 09:57:13 PM
Fair play to Marty. Some great results since he landed. 4 wins and a draw!
Fixed that for you, you utd p***k!  ;D

Post by: Main Street on January 04, 2012, 12:23:34 PM
The game last night was also noteworthy for David Meyler. He made his return to the game last night as a sub, after a recovery from a cruciate ligament injury, inflicted 14 months ago. His second CL injury in a row.
He is tough tackling, attacking midfielder in the Steven Reid mold and just the type who would slot comfortably into Ireland's midfield.

Post by: Carmen Stateside on March 04, 2012, 12:38:48 PM
Feisty opening to the Derby. ONeill has Sunderland playing decent stuff. Mc Lean looks impressive.
Post by: Estimator on January 23, 2014, 04:54:46 PM
Excellent performance last night.  Superb to see 9,000 fans travelling down for the game.
Sunderland have nothing to lose and have a good recent record against Citeh.

2013/2014   Sun 10 Nov Sunderland 1 - 0 Man. City

2012/2013   Wed 26 Dec Sunderland 1 - 0 Man. City

Sat 06 Oct Man. City 3 - 0 Sunderland

2011/2012   Sat 31 Mar Man. City 3 - 3 Sunderland

Sun 01 Jan Sunderland 1 - 0 Man. City

Post by: seafoid on April 22, 2018, 07:11:53 AM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2018/0421/956237-sunderlands-fall-and-fall-a-long-time-coming/
Post by: From the Bunker on April 22, 2018, 09:56:32 AM
Quote from: seafoid on April 22, 2018, 07:11:53 AM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2018/0421/956237-sunderlands-fall-and-fall-a-long-time-coming/

They are not officially relegated yet?
Post by: seafoid on April 22, 2018, 10:31:51 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 22, 2018, 09:56:32 AM
Quote from: seafoid on April 22, 2018, 07:11:53 AM

They are not officially relegated yet?
They are since they lost to Burton yesterday
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on April 22, 2018, 10:33:15 AM
max points sunderland can get is 40. burton have to play bolton - bolton win they are on 43. bolton lose that means burton are on 41. Bolton draw they are on 41.

Sunderland are relegated.
Post by: Rich Ricci on April 22, 2018, 10:38:55 AM
Always sad to see a big club like Sunderland in such a horrible state. The club is a shambles from top to bottom.
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 22, 2018, 11:37:21 AM
Sunderland weren't considered a big club when i started following the sport, they played in the 3rd tier of league football back then which is where they will ply their trade again next year. Very poorly run club indeed will the back to back relegation's be a wake up call or will they fall even further?