Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: CitySlicker11 on December 11, 2014, 11:14:44 PM

Title: The WINE thread
Post by: CitySlicker11 on December 11, 2014, 11:14:44 PM
Just to go along with the beer and whiskey threads, what wine would you recommend?
Title: Re: The WINE thread
Post by: sans pessimism on December 11, 2014, 11:35:37 PM
Grape
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 11, 2014, 11:37:01 PM
If you like Bordeaux reds then the o'briens booze chain in Ireland have a few good wines on sale right now - esp if you like Cabernet dab/merlot blends

Chateau la raz caman €16 2009 I love

This isn't bad either

Chateau beau rivage 2009 €21

They have another couple cab sav/merlot/can franc blends that are v good but I can't rem which ones right now.  I have a few bottles of the first claret for Christmas!
Post by: Aughafad on December 12, 2014, 12:00:12 AM
just bought some a few bottles in the vineyard on the ormeau road today. They have a real good deal on an Australian wine 'Heartland - Stickleback Shiraz 2013' @£8.99. Its a really good wine for that price. I also bought myself an earlier Christmas present with a £40 Shiraz (Amon-Ra 2010), also Australian.
For those who like Spanish wines they have a real nice Rioja Reserva called Senorio D Barriobero.
Post by: Maguire01 on December 12, 2014, 12:10:56 AM
I'll just have half a bottle of Blue Nun.
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 12, 2014, 12:20:35 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on December 12, 2014, 12:10:56 AM
I'll just have half a bottle of Blue Nun.
Some people love that stuff!

I think it's white wine and I don't particularly like white vino!
Post by: rrhf on December 12, 2014, 12:34:02 AM
A good argintinian mal bec can be perfect.  Love the french  at the moment. I'm a delboy bow jolly connasaurus. 
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 12, 2014, 07:58:01 AM
Quote from: rrhf on December 12, 2014, 12:34:02 AM
A good argintinian mal bec can be perfect.  Love the french  at the moment. I'm a delboy bow jolly connasaurus.
I hope you suck the cork when testing in a restaurant.
Post by: laoislad on December 12, 2014, 08:24:05 AM
6euro bottle of Pinot Grigio from Lidl does me fine  ;D

I remember listening to a radio interview a few years ago with a fella who was supposed to be some sort of wine expert.
He was given 3 glasses of wine and was asked to describe each glass.
He went on for ages with bullshite about each glass about how it tasted.
Turned out all the glasses of wine were from the same bottle.
There is an awful lot of shite talked about wine IMO.

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 12, 2014, 08:28:32 AM
Abort....Abort
Post by: JoG2 on December 12, 2014, 08:55:46 AM
Quote from: rrhf on December 12, 2014, 12:34:02 AM

like the Malbec myself.

Red only in our house. I see Tesco are doing a Chateau Neuf du Pap for a tenner ( £8 off). Make good presents.

I ordered this box for christmas:

http://www.tesco.com/wine/product/details/default.aspx?id=250218971

Would not touch Hardy's, McGuigan's or any Australian wine with a barge pole.....seriously sore on the head

Anyone ever buy online from Morgans Wines in Dublin? Any use? I emailed them on Tuesday and got no reply
Post by: Brick Tamlin on December 12, 2014, 08:58:08 AM
Sufferin fuk.
This is another thread similar to the 'women and weddings' one.
I cant stand wine experts. Cant abide by these arseholes both male and female that blather on about it and want to 'recommend' what ye should be drinkin.
How about you f*ck up, keep your expertise to yourself and il drink whatever I like and how I like. F**kin wine snobs with their fancy glasses and their sniffin would sicken yer shite.
What gives them the right to be judging anyone else and what they like to drink. If I caught someone sniffin wine in front of me and givin me a lecture on it I wouldn't be long throwin it roun the cnut.

Sorry for hijackin yer thread but it that grinds my gears to a halt.
Post by: Billys Boots on December 12, 2014, 08:59:39 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 11, 2014, 11:37:01 PM
If you like Bordeaux reds then the o'briens booze chain in Ireland have a few good wines on sale right now - esp if you like Cabernet dab/merlot blends

This isn't bad either

They have another couple cab sav/merlot/can franc blends that are v good but I can't rem which ones right now.  I have a few bottles of the first claret for Christmas!

I like the Bordeaux alright - am very partial to Haut-Medoc and St. Emilion.  Very expensive here, but tend to buy in France when I'm coming home on the ferry.  Someone did a study recently - wine you'll pay €20 a bottle for here will only cost you €6 over there.
Post by: DennistheMenace on December 12, 2014, 09:04:03 AM
Quote from: laoislad on December 12, 2014, 08:24:05 AM

I remember listening to a radio interview a few years ago with a fella who was supposed to be some sort of wine expert.

In what sense is there an 'awful lof of shite talked about wine'?
Post by: HiMucker on December 12, 2014, 09:07:25 AM
To certain extent I have to agree with laoislad here!  Unless you truly are an expert no need to be spending big dough on wines.  One of the best value for money wines you can get is, Yellow Tail shiraz.  Really nice, and its a bout £6 usually a bottle on offer.

Remember watching Come dine with me.  A girl slAbbering about the wine all week.  Telling ones she wouldn't drink their cheap wine because it was like vinegar.  So in the last night one of the guys got the empty bottle of her favourite wine, which was about £50 a bottle.  Poured a £3 bottle in it, and watched her make a complete tosser of herself, hadn't a clue!  :D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 12, 2014, 09:59:25 AM
I prefer Spanish, French and Italian red wines myself, stay away from the Chilean and other new world wines (though I'll drink them if that's what someone has brought) I'm not a wine snob but prefer the Rioja's, Bordeaux and Chianti.

Never get a hangover and at the weekend would go through a few bottles!!
Post by: Billys Boots on December 12, 2014, 10:03:03 AM
I only drink the old world wines too because Australian (and especially Chilean) wines give me a headache - I'm told it's because of the excess sugar added in production to speed up fermentation. 
Post by: WeeDonns on December 12, 2014, 10:16:50 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on December 12, 2014, 09:07:25 AM
To certain extent I have to agree with laoislad here!  Unless you truly are an expert no need to be spending big dough on wines.  One of the best value for money wines you can get is, Yellow Tail shiraz.  Really nice, and its a bout £6 usually a bottle on offer.

Remember watching Come dine with me.  A girl slAbbering about the wine all week.  Telling ones she wouldn't drink their cheap wine because it was like vinegar.  So in the last night one of the guys got the empty bottle of her favourite wine, which was about £50 a bottle.  Poured a £3 bottle in it, and watched her make a complete t**ser of herself, hadn't a clue!  :D
I'd say you could do this with a lot of wine snobs. Some just like to hear themselves talking

We pretty much always stick to white wine, sauvignon blanc or pinot grigio. I find chardonnay too sharp and leaves a sore head. I quite like the Yellow Tail sauignon blanc, hard to go wrong with it as most will like it
Some nice ones we'd get regularly are going for £5 atm in ASDA, often around £8-9;
Cono Sur Sauvignon Blanc (http://groceries.asda.com/asda-webstore/landing/home.shtml?cmpid=ahc-_-ghs-sna8-_-asdacom-dsk-_-hp&#/product/910000494533)
Barefoot Sauvignon Blanc (http://groceries.asda.com/asda-webstore/landing/home.shtml?cmpid=ahc-_-ghs-sna8-_-asdacom-dsk-_-hp&#/product/910000552793)

Tried a Lidl wine for the first time at the weekend, think it was this;
Rosecreek NZL Sauvignon Blanc Malborough (http://www.lidl.co.uk/en/3887.htm?action=showDetail&id=14295)
Tried it with someone who could possibly be described as a wine snob, and all were impressed

Post by: WeeDonns on December 12, 2014, 10:22:13 AM
The Cono Sur Sauvignon Blanc I mentioned above is Chilean and it doesn't give me a sore head.

I never drink Red, what would someone recommend for an intro to red wine? or just take a lucky dip in the wine isle some day based on how I like the look of the label :-\
Post by: illdecide on December 12, 2014, 10:28:33 AM
Don't drink wine can't stand the taste of it although the rest of my family like their wine it's just not for me. I was told as you get older you'll develop a taste for it but 41 now and still just want a pint of Harp or Guinness...(depends on my mood and location)
Post by: johnneycool on December 12, 2014, 10:30:31 AM
Quote from: WeeDonns on December 12, 2014, 10:16:50 AM

Remember watching Come dine with me.  A girl slAbbering about the wine all week.  Telling ones she wouldn't drink their cheap wine because it was like vinegar.  So in the last night one of the guys got the empty bottle of her favourite wine, which was about £50 a bottle.  Poured a £3 bottle in it, and watched her make a complete t**ser of herself, hadn't a clue!  :D
I'd say you could do this with a lot of wine snobs. Some just like to hear themselves talking

We pretty much always stick to white wine, sauvignon blanc or pinot grigio. I find chardonnay too sharp and leaves a sore head. I quite like the Yellow Tail sauignon blanc, hard to go wrong with it as most will like it
Some nice ones we'd get regularly are going for £5 atm in ASDA, often around £8-9;
Cono Sur Sauvignon Blanc (http://groceries.asda.com/asda-webstore/landing/home.shtml?cmpid=ahc-_-ghs-sna8-_-asdacom-dsk-_-hp&#/product/910000494533)
Barefoot Sauvignon Blanc (http://groceries.asda.com/asda-webstore/landing/home.shtml?cmpid=ahc-_-ghs-sna8-_-asdacom-dsk-_-hp&#/product/910000552793)

Rosecreek NZL Sauvignon Blanc Malborough (http://www.lidl.co.uk/en/3887.htm?action=showDetail&id=14295)
Tried it with someone who could possibly be described as a wine snob, and all were impressed

The Barefoot Merlot is an easy one to put down the gullet especially when Sainsburys are doing a deal on them.

Preferred the Chilean wines to a lot of the old world stuff, Concha y Toro Cab Sav in particular.

Had a bottle of the Châteauneuf-du-Pape and wasn't overly impressed with it, but in saying that, if I'm ever holidaying in France, Spain or Italy I always ask for the house red and have never gotten a bad one yet and cheap as chips to boot.
Post by: 5 Sams on December 12, 2014, 10:39:16 AM

Oyster Bay Marlborough Sav Blanc is delicious...usually about £10-£12 a bottle but is regularly on offer in Tesco or Sainsburys. EDIT...just checked. Down to £7-75 in Sainsburys ;)
Post by: Mikhailov on December 12, 2014, 10:39:30 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on December 12, 2014, 10:30:31 AM

The Barefoot Merlot is an easy one to put down the gullet especially when Sainsburys are doing a deal on them.

Preferred the Chilean wines to a lot of the old world stuff, Concha y Toro Cab Sav in particular.

Had a bottle of the Châteauneuf-du-Pape and wasn't overly impressed with it, but in saying that, if I'm ever holidaying in France, Spain or Italy I always ask for the house red and have never gotten a bad one yet and cheap as chips to boot.

agree 100% - Chilean wine is great especially the one mentioned
Post by: JoG2 on December 12, 2014, 11:15:22 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on December 12, 2014, 10:30:31 AM

some are not as good as others . The stuff is rocket fuel.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 12, 2014, 11:19:58 AM
Quote from: WeeDonns on December 12, 2014, 10:22:13 AM
The Cono Sur Sauvignon Blanc I mentioned above is Chilean and it doesn't give me a sore head.

I never drink Red, what would someone recommend for an intro to red wine? or just take a lucky dip in the wine isle some day based on how I like the look of the label :-\

You can't go wrong with the Campo Viejo range, the Rioja Tempranillo has a nice spice to it

(https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTqizoySUWb7150NkozzjKkJEFYoJKwbnuWEq4jf-4Y4-Mpf0Pf)

Or if you want to get off your head there are some real strong German wines that will feck you up lol
Post by: JoG2 on December 12, 2014, 11:47:09 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 12, 2014, 11:19:58 AM

You can't go wrong with the Campo Viejo range, the Rioja Tempranillo has a nice spice to it

(https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTqizoySUWb7150NkozzjKkJEFYoJKwbnuWEq4jf-4Y4-Mpf0Pf)

Or if you want to get off your head there are some real strong German wines that will feck you up lol

get on it sir

Post by: CiKe on December 12, 2014, 11:57:33 AM
Not an expert but the in-laws have house in La Rioja and would be "enthusiastic" drinkers shall we say. Living in Spain no reason to drink anything other than the local stuff, so here goes"

Red (all Rioja)
- Azpilicueta
- Cune
- Campillo
- Remelluri (not cheap at about €13-15 the bottle here but only bloody gorgeous)
- Solaguen (cheap and excellent value but hard to find)

White (albarino)
- Paco y Lola
- Martin Codax

White (Rueda verdejo)
- Jose Pariente (top notch if you can find it)
- Marques de Riscal

There is also one Chilean red wine (a carmenere) we loved when living in London. Caliterra Tributo. Tastes of chocolate and tobacco. Maybe sounds disgusting, but really is very tasty.

Post by: lynchbhoy on December 12, 2014, 12:03:15 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on December 12, 2014, 08:59:39 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 11, 2014, 11:37:01 PM

This isn't bad either

I like the Bordeaux alright - am very partial to Haut-Medoc and St. Emilion.  Very expensive here, but tend to buy in France when I'm coming home on the ferry.  Someone did a study recently - wine you'll pay €20 a bottle for here will only cost you €6 over there.
I like any of the Bordeaux vinos that have the Cab Sav- Merlot- Cab Franc blend. 
Ive found that this particular blend seems to taste good to me.
As long as they are from the 2003,2005, 2009 crops they seem to be all fairly good. imo.
2010 is still too new and harsh tasting yet even left aerating for long time. For me anyhow.

I used to like the aussie stuff but have heard there are chemicals added for fermentation in some as well as excess sugar which does give the headaches mentioned.

Somewhat jealous of your wine trips !!!
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 12, 2014, 12:13:27 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on December 12, 2014, 08:58:08 AM
Sufferin fuk.
This is another thread similar to the 'women and weddings' one.
I cant stand wine experts. Cant abide by these arseholes both male and female that blather on about it and want to 'recommend' what ye should be drinkin.
How about you f*ck up, keep your expertise to yourself and il drink whatever I like and how I like. F**kin wine snobs with their fancy glasses and their sniffin would sicken yer shite.
What gives them the right to be judging anyone else and what they like to drink. If I caught someone sniffin wine in front of me and givin me a lecture on it I wouldn't be long throwin it roun the cnut.

Sorry for hijackin yer thread but it that grinds my gears to a halt.
same as getting into Guinness, the wine can be an acquired taste.
imo there is no such thing as experts - just people that know what they like.
I don't like lager. but I like Guinness , but its horrible from cans.
So red wine and certain types of it can be nice.

You can tell a bad pint if you drink enough of them, so you can tell the difference between good and bad wines too.
Esp if you are shelling out 10-20 quid a time for a bottle, you don't want to dislike drinking it.

ive had exp wines that were not nice, but I like the heavier tasting wines that they make around Bordeaux.
Also ive found that in certain years where the weather was too wet or too hot, the grapes were affected and the wine tasted not as good as the years where the weather was perfect growing conditions.

like a cup of tea with none or too much sugar in it- you would notice the difference between none and six spoons of sugar if you usually take two spoons of sugar in it!

a good bottle of vine can cost 15-20 euros (you can pay more but I like getting decent stuff for good prices)
a bottle drank over a couple of nights then costs much the same as swallowing 4 or 5 cans of some larger/stout/ale.

don't knock it if you haven't tried it!

I refuse to drink champagne and white wine- have been offered exp champagnes at certain functions but refuse as to me the stuff tastes rotten.
its all about what you like. nothing pretentious there- though some people are pretentious fcukwits!
Post by: AZOffaly on December 12, 2014, 12:21:31 PM
Quote from: CiKe on December 12, 2014, 11:57:33 AM
Not an expert but the in-laws have house in La Rioja and would be "enthusiastic" drinkers shall we say. Living in Spain no reason to drink anything other than the local stuff, so here goes"

Red (all Rioja)
- Azpilicueta
- Cune
- Campillo
- Remelluri (not cheap at about €13-15 the bottle here but only bloody gorgeous)
- Solaguen (cheap and excellent value but hard to find)

White (albarino)
- Paco y Lola
- Martin Codax

White (Rueda verdejo)
- Jose Pariente (top notch if you can find it)
- Marques de Riscal

There is also one Chilean red wine (a carmenere) we loved when living in London. Caliterra Tributo. Tastes of chocolate and tobacco. Maybe sounds disgusting, but really is very tasty.

Is that the guy that plays for Chelsea?
Post by: seafoid on December 12, 2014, 12:43:05 PM
Bordeaux is more expensive than wine from other regions just because it's Bordeaux.
It doesn't necessarily have the best price/quality ratio.

Baron de Lestac is a Bordeaux blend that's quite good if you want a Bordeaux taste and not too expensive  . Very dependable.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baron_de_Lestac

You can also get cases of less in demand Bordeaux from wine merchants for around E 120 to E150 a case of 12 .These are better value than bottles bought individually. Eg Chateau de Fonbel

There are loads of sites with info if you find one and are not sure about it .
The market is skewed towards names, not necessarily the best quality.

Jancis Robinson occasionally writes about good value wines to look out for

http://www.ft.com/intl/cms/s/2/b1a7dca8-41be-11e3-b064-00144feabdc0.html

"Wines that have fallen in price at the cellar door, or stagnated for some time, include Côtes du Rhône, Beaujolais, much of the Loire (Muscadet prices recently rose a little simply to keep growers in business), Bordeaux below classed-growth level, typical Languedoc-Roussillon wines, Montepulciano d'Abruzzo, most Italian whites and some Piemontese reds, virtually all Portuguese wines, sherry and many Spanish wines, particularly Rioja."

I also like Minervois especially those by Anne Gros. She is from Burgundy and brought her expertise to the South of France. 

http://www.anne-gros.com/en/minervois-3.html

Post by: Harold Disgracey on December 12, 2014, 01:33:51 PM
I mostly drink Italian red wines, Montepulciano, Sangiovese, Barbaresco, Barolo etc. I'm particularly fond of Nero d'Avola from Sicily.

I got the loveliest bottle of Chateau Musar Gaston Hochar 2004, from the Bekka Valley in Lebanon, as a Christmas Present last year. Check it out if you can, you won't be disappointed.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 12, 2014, 01:52:04 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on December 12, 2014, 11:47:09 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 12, 2014, 11:19:58 AM

get on it sir

Just ordered it!! I'm away all next week so that should last...... providing my wife doesn't hand them out as xmas gifts ffs!  Good man cheers
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 12, 2014, 01:57:02 PM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on December 12, 2014, 01:33:51 PM
I mostly drink Italian red wines, Montepulciano, Sangiovese, Barbaresco, Barolo etc. I'm particularly fond of Nero d'Avola from Sicily.

I got the loveliest bottle of Chateau Musar Gaston Hochar 2004, from the Bekka Valley in Lebanon, as a Christmas Present last year. Check it out if you can, you won't be disappointed.

A girl (gorgeous Macedonian) at the course I'm on has promised me a bottle of her favourite Italian wine Barolo, hoping to taste it this week, then try the wine after  ;)
Post by: illdecide on December 12, 2014, 02:08:18 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 12, 2014, 01:57:02 PM

A girl (gorgeous Macedonian) at the course I'm on has promised me a bottle of her favourite Italian wine Barolo, hoping to taste it this week, then try the wine after  ;)

Now now...you know the rules..."Photo"
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 12, 2014, 02:12:17 PM
Quote from: illdecide on December 12, 2014, 02:08:18 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 12, 2014, 01:57:02 PM

Now now...you know the rules..."Photo"

lol
Post by: LeoMc on December 12, 2014, 02:29:25 PM

try Brown Brothers Tarango. Very few tanins so it is very light, almost like a white.
Post by: LeoMc on December 12, 2014, 02:32:41 PM

Try the French Chardonnays, no comparison to the Australian stuff. Chablis is as far from the Hardys / Lindemans stuff as you can get. They get less sun and there is no oak taste.
Post by: gerrykeegan on December 12, 2014, 02:51:46 PM

That must be three years now you are drinking the same stuff, as a treat to the wife buy the "Macon Villages" in Lidl, its 9.99 (I know for you that pricey) just try it.
Post by: illdecide on December 12, 2014, 02:59:09 PM
I know you guys are all referring to half decent wine but how bad are the Buckfast, Mundies, Thunderbird, Thunderbird etc. The Alco's obviously buy them as they're cheap but how bad do they taste?
Post by: AZOffaly on December 12, 2014, 03:23:05 PM
My father used to meet up with one of those 'wine snobs' in the course of business meetings, trips etc. He was a union rep, the wine snob - not my father, and was full of bluster about wine. He used to love making a show of the wine steward or waiter or whatever and make all them stupid comments about a 'good nose' etc.

Now my father wouldn't have a clue about wine other than it tastes nice, or it tastes bad. End of story. But he was sick of this fella's act, so he slipped the wine steward £10 (pre 2001) and told him he was going to ask for a 1993 whatever, but the steward was to bring out a 1995 instead.

So when the wine list was produced, my father said 'Sorry XXXXX, would it be okay if I ordered the wine, I think I saw something nice there' and he ordered the 1993 bottle.

The wine steward arrived out with the bottle, and poured the taste into the glass. My father sniffed it, hmmed and hawed a bit and then tasted it. He went 'Oh no, I'm very sorry, I asked for the 1993, not the 1995, I think you brought the wrong bottle'. The lad looked at the bottle, pretended to be all embarassed and went away to get the right bottle.

The other buck never opened his mouth about wine again that night, and he also never noticed that later on they drank the 1995 wine that was obviously paid for as well :)
Post by: muppet on December 12, 2014, 03:23:15 PM
Quote from: illdecide on December 12, 2014, 02:59:09 PM
I know you guys are all referring to half decent wine but how bad are the Buckfast, Mundies, Thunderbird, Thunderbird etc. The Alco's obviously buy them as they're cheap but how bad do they taste?

They taste going down, like proper wine coming up.
Post by: seafoid on December 12, 2014, 03:44:58 PM
We stayed in a hotel in Tipp a while ago that had a menu from the 60s framed on the wall. Nowadays they do mostly weddings and the current wine list reflected that - lots of dependable and drinkable Australian cabernet sauvignon and merlot with Sauvignon blanc for the ladies.

The thing on the wall included the 60s wine list and had Meursault, Sancerre, various Burgundy, Bordeaux and Sauternes. It was a very interesting insight into the type of client they would have had in the 60s - probably from a much smaller pool of people.   

The 60s menu looked nicer than the carvery stuff we had at the time as well. 
Post by: Canalman on December 12, 2014, 04:06:52 PM
Can't stand the taste of wine and the very few times I drank it I had a ferocious hangover.

Definitely "smooth and cosmopolitan"  to drink wine in recent years......... "especially a glass of wine with dinner".

Prefer the glass of tap water myself with dinner or with cordial as a treat.
Post by: muppet on December 12, 2014, 04:08:09 PM
Quote from: Canalman on December 12, 2014, 04:06:52 PM
Can't stand the taste of wine and the very few times I drank it I had a ferocious hangover.

Definitely "smooth and cosmopolitan"  to drink wine in recent years......... "especially a glass of wine with dinner".

Could it possibly be that some people just like it?
Post by: Canalman on December 12, 2014, 04:14:25 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 12, 2014, 04:08:09 PM

Suppose so. Just find it hard to fathom the massive interest in wine in the last decade or so.
Post by: JoG2 on December 12, 2014, 04:20:53 PM
Quote from: Canalman on December 12, 2014, 04:14:25 PM

Suppose so. Just find it hard to fathom the massive interest in wine in the last decade or so.

embrace it luvvy :-)
Post by: muppet on December 12, 2014, 04:29:29 PM

Pre-Cromwell Irish leaders always had plenty of wine. Many of them even were named after the stuff, e.g. Turlough of the Wine O'Donnell 1380-1422 (ancestor of Red Hugh). He have nearly 20 children so it didn't do him much harm.

This was the Annals on Brian Boru:

Oh, where, Kincora ! is Brian the Great ?
And where is the beauty that once was thine ?
Oh ! where are the Princes and Nobles that sate
At the feast in thy halls, and drank the red wine.
Where, oh, Kincora !

Nowadays it just seems that wine has filtered down to the ordinary Irish.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 12, 2014, 04:34:33 PM
I think it's a symptom of the move from pub drinking to home drinking. A nice bottle of red wine at home is grand and handy.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 12, 2014, 04:38:43 PM

Interest in the last 10 years??  Wine has been massive for a lot longer. Larger, Guinness has it's place and will never be under threat, I'll only drink wine while having dinner when I'm out and revert back to beer once done. But at friends or in the house a nice bottle (or 2) lends itself to a good cheap night with friends
Post by: seafoid on December 12, 2014, 04:43:26 PM

More money and curiosity plus more people taking holidays to wine producing countries.

Do you remember the ads in the 80s for some mix to put in meat?  There was one for boeuf Bourgignon and the other one was chili con carne. "chilli con what" was the ad line. 

I remember stopping in Glenamaddy in the badlands of north Galway around 97 and noticing the big wine display at the back of the shop.
15 years previously Blue Nun and Mateus in wine and Lentheric in perfume were the height of sophistication. 
Post by: laoislad on December 12, 2014, 04:56:40 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on December 12, 2014, 02:51:46 PM

That must be three years now you are drinking the same stuff, as a treat to the wife buy the "Macon Villages" in Lidl, its 9.99 (I know for you that pricey) just try it.
But I like it so why would I change?
I gave that man the whiskey the other day. He was delighted with it.
Post by: bennydorano on December 12, 2014, 05:04:17 PM
Rarely drink nowadays(apart from holidays) but like Merlot when i do - i'm thinking that's probably  akin to saying i like red cars or something  equally as uncouth :)
Post by: CitySlicker11 on December 12, 2014, 05:09:42 PM
That Tesco deal which was posted earlier was excellent value. Wine seems to be a lot cheaper online (never considered purchasing alcohol online) If any other deals pop up over Christmas, send them on.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 12, 2014, 07:10:53 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 12, 2014, 05:04:17 PM
Rarely drink nowadays(apart from holidays) but like Merlot when i do - i'm thinking that's probably  akin to saying i like red cars or something  equally as uncouth :)

Sales of merlot in the U.S. decreased significantly after the guy in the movie Sideways trashed it.  People.... 

Not much of a wine drinker myself, but merlot would be the best of it for me.
Post by: thewobbler on December 12, 2014, 07:30:27 PM
Things I don't understand in business #2.307.

How is it possible for someone in California to grow, pick, thresh and ferment 500 grapes, get a bottle, put the liquid in it, print and plonk a label on it, put in a crate, send the crate to a port, get it imported to the UK, pay duty, get it distributed to a wholesaler, get it distributed to a seller, and still make money when selling it at £3.99?
Post by: pullhard on December 12, 2014, 07:46:29 PM
Surprised no has mentioned the monks finest yet.

I can't drink without being ill, so I avoid the stuff. Does my head that wine is provided at weddings and parties but no beer. 
Post by: 5 Sams on December 12, 2014, 07:46:51 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on December 12, 2014, 07:30:27 PM

How is it possible for someone in California to grow, pick, thresh and ferment 500 grapes, get a bottle, put the liquid in it, print and plonk a label on it, put in a crate, send the crate to a port, get it imported to the UK, pay duty, get it distributed to a wholesaler, get it distributed to a seller, and still make money when selling it at £3.99?

You are obviously drinking some rancid piss tonight Wobbs! ;)
Post by: CD on December 12, 2014, 07:50:27 PM

They don't do one bottle at a time  ;)
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 12, 2014, 07:51:13 PM

The same wine is retailing at anywhere between 2 and 5 times that amount in America!

The price of Californian wines over there never ceases to amaze me when you know how cheap it is here.
I've drank a few and i don't like it- IMO it's poor enough stuff.
New world wines in oz nz and South America streets ahead IMO

Post by: laoislad on December 12, 2014, 07:56:45 PM
Quote from: CD on December 12, 2014, 07:50:27 PM

I watched a documentary the other night,can't remember what station but it was about wine coming to the UK from Australia. It comes in massive 24000 litre bags that are then shipped over and the bottling is done in the UK somewhere.
Post by: gerry on December 12, 2014, 08:50:14 PM
love a bottle chasse du pape when the wallet allows it. 
Post by: 5 Sams on December 12, 2014, 08:57:06 PM
Quote from: gerry on December 12, 2014, 08:50:14 PM
love a bottle chasse du pape when the wallet allows it.

Got a couple of bottles for my birthday earlier this yearGerry. One was gorgeous and the other was average.
Post by: Mickey Linden on December 12, 2014, 09:37:46 PM
I'm a recent enough convert to white wine. I was all a Buckfast man in my youth and never thought I would progress to the so called more sophisticated stuff. I have to say I really enjoy a glass of white wine these days particularly anything from the marlbourgh region. A glass of white is some job when ur dying with a hangover too. Glass before bedtime and u sleep like a legend!
Post by: JoG2 on December 12, 2014, 09:44:03 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 12, 2014, 07:56:45 PM
Quote from: CD on December 12, 2014, 07:50:27 PM

I watched a documentary the other night,can't remember what station but it was about wine coming to the UK from Australia. It comes in massive 24000 litre bags that are then shipped over and the bottling is done in the UK somewhere.

Supermarket Secrets I think that was. Those big bags of wine were mad.
Post by: thewobbler on December 12, 2014, 10:00:59 PM
24,000 litres. Farkin hell.

That's 32,000 bottles of the stuff. Or, if you drank one every night, about 88 year's worth. And if it's the good stuff, every year it would just taste that little better too!
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 12, 2014, 10:38:47 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on December 12, 2014, 10:00:59 PM

That's 32,000 bottles of the stuff. Or, if you drank one every night, about 88 year's worth. And if it's the good stuff, every year it would just taste that little better too!
Or a Bank Holiday weekend for Milltown Row.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 12, 2014, 11:02:19 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 12, 2014, 10:38:47 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on December 12, 2014, 10:00:59 PM

Or a Bank Holiday weekend for Milltown Row.

Its good for you sure😆
Post by: amanda on December 13, 2014, 12:05:58 AM
Sauigon fine for.the price.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 13, 2014, 04:49:18 AM

Illegal latin American workers. Treated like slaves, and, at times, wages/passports withheld.  You can always make a profit if you keep your costs that low...
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 14, 2014, 12:13:33 AM
Got myself a few bottles of Campo Viejo Rioja Reserva and Oyster Bay on recommendation of this thread. Smooth and cosmopolitan bastard, me.
Post by: laoislad on December 14, 2014, 12:24:56 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 14, 2014, 12:13:33 AM
Got myself a few bottles of Campo Viejo Rioja Reserva and Oyster Bay on recommendation of this thread. Smooth and cosmopolitan b**tard, me.
#knob
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 14, 2014, 12:37:40 AM
Quote from: laoislad on December 14, 2014, 12:24:56 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 14, 2014, 12:13:33 AM
Got myself a few bottles of Campo Viejo Rioja Reserva and Oyster Bay on recommendation of this thread. Smooth and cosmopolitan b**tard, me.
#knob
Hashtag? What year is it?
Post by: Rois on December 14, 2014, 06:13:06 AM
Chablis for me. I'm def not a wine snob but that's my wine of choice.

I'm currently in New Zealand and going to do a wine tour in Hawkes Bay in a few days. For "wine tour" read "legitimate excuse to drink wine without dinner".
Post by: gallsman on December 14, 2014, 06:58:42 AM
Quote from: Rois on December 14, 2014, 06:13:06 AM
Chablis for me. I'm def not a wine snob but that's my wine of choice.

I'm currently in New Zealand and going to do a wine tour in Hawkes Bay in a few days. For "wine tour" read "legitimate excuse to drink wine without dinner".

That's called Friday night telly in my house.
Post by: Franko on December 15, 2014, 10:56:10 AM

Mass production wobbler.

Two things to think about;

1. Try making a car for 10 grand
2. Try making a cigarette lighter for a euro.
Post by: NAG1 on December 15, 2014, 03:53:31 PM
Quote from: Franko on December 15, 2014, 10:56:10 AM

Mass production wobbler.

Check Economies of Scale when you are there  ;)
Post by: gallsman on December 15, 2014, 04:35:10 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 14, 2014, 02:45:25 AM
Hashtag or no hashtag, Laoislad is right. Don't listen to pseudo wine snobs.
This can also be applied to the beer and whiskey threads.

I don't think anyone on here is being a food or drink snob. I think the most anyone has done is express their like/dislike for particular drinks.

Just because people might be knowledgeable on a subject doesn't make them a snob. I know f**k all about wine but if someone was an experienced wine drinker, never mind a professional sommelier, and they recommended something to go with a meal my reaction would be "this guy knows a hell of a lot more than I do" rather than "this lad's a snob talking out his arse".
Post by: Franko on December 15, 2014, 05:06:03 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on December 15, 2014, 03:53:31 PM

Mass production wobbler.

Economy of scale is what you derive from mass production...  ::)
Post by: laoislad on December 15, 2014, 05:11:57 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 15, 2014, 04:35:10 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 14, 2014, 02:45:25 AM
Hashtag or no hashtag, Laoislad is right. Don't listen to pseudo wine snobs.
This can also be applied to the beer and whiskey threads.

I don't think anyone on here is being a food or drink snob. I think the most anyone has done is express their like/dislike for particular drinks.

Just because people might be knowledgeable on a subject doesn't make them a snob. I know f**k all about wine but if someone was an experienced wine drinker, never mind a professional sommelier, and they recommended something to go with a meal my reaction would be "this guy knows a hell of a lot more than I do" rather than "this lad's a snob talking out his arse".
Tony Baloney is still a knob though.
Post by: thewobbler on December 15, 2014, 06:09:46 PM
Quote from: Franko on December 15, 2014, 05:06:03 PM

Mass production wobbler.

There's obviously profit in it, but it still strikes me as mad that a product which requires so many environments (vineyard, processing plant, 2 airports and the transport cost between, a bottling plant/distribution centre, and a retailer), with each involving some (small) manual effort in the chain, can make money at a £3.99 price point.

Especially when I get charged £2.50 for a punnet of grapes in Tesco!
Post by: seafoid on December 15, 2014, 08:08:37 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on December 15, 2014, 06:09:46 PM
Quote from: Franko on December 15, 2014, 05:06:03 PM

Mass production wobbler.

There's obviously profit in it, but it still strikes me as mad that a product which requires so many environments (vineyard, processing plant, 2 airports and the transport cost between, a bottling plant/distribution centre, and a retailer), with each involving some (small) manual effort in the chain, can make money at a £3.99 price point.

Especially when I get charged £2.50 for a punnet of grapes in Tesco!
Tesco grapes have to be refrigerated to point of sale, wine grapes are processed often on site. Tesco make bigger margins on fresh fruit .

The cost of the wine in a 3.99 bottle might only be 50p.  But it's money for poorer grapes and it might be subsidised by the prices for the better grapes.

there's great money in growing grapes for wine. 15 hectares can produce 60,000 bottles a year.
Post by: lurganblue on October 17, 2018, 02:44:53 PM
Might try and give this wine craic a go (on the back of reading people's drinking trends on here recently).  Now as a good lurgan man i of course had my years of drinking the finest Buckfast and even on the odd occasion got a low numbered bottle ;) but i never ventured into more sophisticated stuff.

Any recommendations for a newcomer? I think i would like to stick to the red stuff, unless of course persuaded otherwise.
Post by: Taylor on October 17, 2018, 03:25:27 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on October 17, 2018, 02:44:53 PM
Might try and give this wine craic a go (on the back of reading people's drinking trends on here recently).  Now as a good lurgan man i of course had my years of drinking the finest Buckfast and even on the odd occasion got a low numbered bottle ;) but i never ventured into more sophisticated stuff.

Any recommendations for a newcomer? I think i would like to stick to the red stuff, unless of course persuaded otherwise.

Chilean Merlot is a decent place to start........coming from someone who has just started and knows no differently
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 17, 2018, 05:01:31 PM
Quote from: Taylor on October 17, 2018, 03:25:27 PM

Chilean Merlot is a decent place to start........coming from someone who has just started and knows no differently

Try and stick to the Spanish, Italian , or French reds, reduced hangovers (providing you don't drink two bottles) New world wine is cheaper but as Ive said very often on here Tesco and other shops run a 25% discount for 6 or more, which will on average give you good bottles of wines for a fiver!

I'll give you a few types later
Post by: trailer on October 17, 2018, 07:36:03 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 17, 2018, 05:01:31 PM

Try and stick to the Spanish, Italian , or French reds, reduced hangovers (providing you don't drink two bottles) New world wine is cheaper but as Ive said very often on here Tesco and other shops run a 25% discount for 6 or more, which will on average give you good bottles of wines for a fiver!

With meat an Australian Shiraz is good. I only like red with food (meat mostly). Malbec, Pinot noir (Delta NZ is good).
With white it is hard to beat a NZ Marlborough.

Key thing with wine is, if YOU like the taste of it then that's all that matters. A £5 bottle can be every bit as good as a £50 bottle. It's to your taste.
Post by: Insane Bolt on October 17, 2018, 07:41:25 PM
As the late great Paddy McAvinchey said......even a sausage tastes better with a glass of red😎
If you like the taste drink your fill😜
Post by: Rois on October 17, 2018, 08:21:19 PM

French Beaujolais is a very light wine and a good one to start with.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 17, 2018, 08:41:46 PM
Quote from: trailer on October 17, 2018, 07:36:03 PM

With meat an Australian Shiraz is good. I only like red with food (meat mostly). Malbec, Pinot noir (Delta NZ is good).

Key thing with wine is, if YOU like the taste of it then that's all that matters. A £5 bottle can be every bit as good as a £50 bottle. It's to your taste.

All true Taylor in relation to prices, I'm into the Rioja Tempranillo, for the French I'm buying the Bordeaux, plenty of them about at decent prices.. the Pinot Noir is a wine that isn't for the first timer but has good Tanin. As for the Italian wines the Tuscan's are the way to go, Chianti decent..

As for the new world wines I tend to avoid they are generally stronger and give more of a hangover (purely my view) the old world stuff is produced differently and I much prefer that style..

As for the Whites, I only drink it when the red has ran out, or if we are out for dinner and we order a bottle it's a white! A Pinot or a Villa Sol!

I'm thirsty after that
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on October 17, 2018, 08:48:24 PM
Quote from: trailer on October 17, 2018, 07:36:03 PM

Tesco have one on clearance at the minute for £3.75 a bottle.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 17, 2018, 09:14:44 PM
Can't beat a good bottle of Chianti.....Fava beans optional!!
Post by: Rois on October 17, 2018, 09:39:47 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 17, 2018, 08:41:46 PM
the Pinot Noir is a wine that isn't for the first timer but has good Tanin.

This thread is so much better than the other alcohol-related ones...

I brought back an expensive bottle of Pinot Noir from the Buena Vista vineyard in Sonoma, California - really liked it when doing a wine-tasting session there 3 or 4 weeks ago.  Determined to savour it but no doubt it'll go the same way as others - open it for a special occasion when we have people round, and get about half a glass of it myself. 
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 17, 2018, 09:58:14 PM
Quote from: Rois on October 17, 2018, 09:39:47 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 17, 2018, 08:41:46 PM
the Pinot Noir is a wine that isn't for the first timer but has good Tanin.

This thread is so much better than the other alcohol-related ones...

I brought back an expensive bottle of Pinot Noir from the Buena Vista vineyard in Sonoma, California - really liked it when doing a wine-tasting session there 3 or 4 weeks ago.  Determined to savour it but no doubt it'll go the same way as others - open it for a special occasion when we have people round, and get about half a glass of it myself.

Rois you'd love my local, it's got a great Offy with a bit at the back where to have a range of wines that you can sip, buy half glass or full glass depending on what you like and should you like the wine leave with it via the offy.. It's called the Sipster
Post by: Rois on October 17, 2018, 10:23:28 PM
Good reason to go for a little jog along the coastal path from Fortwilliam then...

That's a great idea.  Presumably they open different bottles every day or week?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 17, 2018, 11:04:09 PM
Quote from: Rois on October 17, 2018, 10:23:28 PM
Good reason to go for a little jog along the coastal path from Fortwilliam then...

That's a great idea.  Presumably they open different bottles every day or week?

Yes they change it every so often.. you get a card and put money on it and you dispense the wine yourself. Very busy and they serve breads and cold meats also
Post by: Over the Bar on October 18, 2018, 11:23:26 AM
Perhaps the title should be changed to be The WINO Thread? 😁
Post by: lurganblue on October 18, 2018, 12:01:49 PM
Thanks for the advice folks. I shall take a look round Tesco this evening and get the ball rolling on trying a few out. By the sounds of it, it really is trial and error to see what suits me best.
Post by: seafoid on October 18, 2018, 12:48:19 PM
I think it is good to try various grapes and see what works. Experimenting with wine from different countries is worth it.
Also Bordeaux and Burgundy are quite different. 
Post by: ziggy90 on October 18, 2018, 01:23:31 PM
Barley Wine is well drinkable.  ;D
Post by: Rois on October 18, 2018, 02:13:54 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 18, 2018, 12:48:19 PM
I think it is good to try various grapes and see what works. Experimenting with wine from different countries is worth it.
I am a big Cotes du Rhône fan but prob only because of holidays in the east of France. I have no idea of how it is considered (in general) by wine buffs. Any wisdom?
Post by: Billys Boots on October 19, 2018, 09:37:13 AM
Quote from: Rois on October 18, 2018, 02:13:54 PM
I am a big Cotes du Rhône fan but prob only because of holidays in the east of France. I have no idea of how it is considered (in general) by wine buffs. Any wisdom?

Partial to Cotes de Rhones myself in the past few years.  I am not so fond of Chateauneuf de Pape and Crozes Hermitage, but like Vacqueryas and Gigondas.  If you like the Australian/US Shiraz grape, you'll probably like these.  Vacqueryas and Gigondas can be seriously expensive here, but SuperValu sell them for €12-15/bottle on special from time-to-time - normal retail price is €27-30. 
Post by: seafoid on October 19, 2018, 10:06:11 AM

The French supermarkets know their stuff and can give you an idea about prices plus variety. It is a long way from the 1980s ad for Le Piat d'or when Irish punters were told that the French love le piat d'or, which was plonk.

https://www.macave.leclerc/vins-rouge?region=Rhône&res_sf=18

Guigal and Chapoutier are usually quite decent

UK wine brokers are also good for info

https://www.laywheeler.com/country/france/rhone
https://www.bbr.com/region-545-rhone
Post by: trailer on October 19, 2018, 01:29:55 PM

It's similar to Chateneau du pape only cheaper. (i didn't look up th espelling so its prob wrong) I like it personally.
Post by: Rois on October 19, 2018, 02:21:04 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 19, 2018, 10:06:11 AM

The French supermarkets know their stuff and can give you an idea about prices plus variety. It is a long way from the 1980s ad for Le Piat d'or when Irish punters were told that the French love le piat d'or, which was plonk.

https://www.macave.leclerc/vins-rouge?region=Rhône&res_sf=18

Guigal and Chapoutier are usually quite decent

UK wine brokers are also good for info

https://www.laywheeler.com/country/france/rhone
https://www.bbr.com/region-545-rhone
We had our wedding reception in a restaurant in Chamonix and had their basic CdR red (and white) and I've been hearing about how nice it was from people ever since, although it was also free-flowing which may have influenced their comments! 
Sharing a carafe of the house vin rouge mid-afternoon after a long morning skiing is my happy place. 
Just didn't know (even though I don't care) if I was drinking something the French wouldn't put in the toilet.

trailer - that's my "nice" wine - Asda even do their own branded variety which is decent for about £12.   
Post by: Puckoon on October 19, 2018, 05:41:52 PM

Obviously Biased here, living on Napa's door step but why exactly should one not try New World Wines?

Napa Cabs and Pinots will go toe to toe with all and any of the French and Spanish famed wines.

I enjoy a Cote Du Rhone, a Beajoulais, and a Temperanillo - but if I wanna really get nose down in a cracking bottle of Red there are wonderful Californian and Oregon options.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 19, 2018, 05:54:14 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 19, 2018, 05:41:52 PM

Obviously Biased here, living on Napa's door step but why exactly should one not try New World Wines?

Napa Cabs and Pinots will go toe to toe with all and any of the French and Spanish famed wines.

I enjoy a Cote Du Rhone, a Beajoulais, and a Temperanillo - but if I wanna really get nose down in a cracking bottle of Red there are wonderful Californian and Oregon options.

It's just what you are used too I suppose, the production process is different and so is the bottling and storage.. on a personal level for taste after taste and more importantly in the morning, I've no hangover..

But I'd be very happy to let you give me some decent wine dead from your end, I agree with you on the Pinot's there are some lovely Californian ones
Post by: Puckoon on October 19, 2018, 05:56:06 PM
Well you just called me a functioning alcoholic on the other thread so the offer is rescinded :D
Post by: JoG2 on October 19, 2018, 06:13:40 PM

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0914797/

Bottle Shock, a wine off between California and France.
Post by: seafoid on October 19, 2018, 07:30:29 PM

I don't know if American Pinot can match the best Burgundy. And I never had anything as good as a Montrachet.
But other than that there is a lot of very good non European wine.
Post by: ziggy90 on October 19, 2018, 08:40:31 PM
Does anyone else look at the strength of the wine before buying?
The Black Stump (Aussie Shiraz) is 15% and lovely and smooth to drink.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on October 19, 2018, 08:44:03 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on October 19, 2018, 08:40:31 PM

Amarone della Valpolicella is always around 15% as well. Pricey stuff, but very nice.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 19, 2018, 08:55:55 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 19, 2018, 05:56:06 PM
Well you just called me a functioning alcoholic on the other thread so the offer is rescinded :D

That wasn't directed at you per say.. but if I struck chord then im sorry  ;

Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 19, 2018, 08:58:12 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on October 19, 2018, 08:44:03 PM

Amarone della Valpolicella is always around 15% as well. Pricey stuff, but very nice.

15% is rocket fuel for wine! Lot of German wines can be strong, remember a party at mine and friend had a bottle of it was was completely out of it!
Post by: ONeill on October 19, 2018, 09:52:04 PM

Never buy less than 13. 12.5 at a push. Anything lower is balls.
Post by: Taylor on October 19, 2018, 10:49:41 PM
Any recommendations for a newbie for red wines that aren't expensive?

Have drank a few merlot and some are grand. Any merlots to look out for or indeed any other type of red?
Post by: Rois on October 20, 2018, 12:48:55 AM
Seriously, Beaujolais - less than £10 most of the time.

Not suitable for the 15% crowd, but you will def like it even if you don't love it.
Post by: omochain on October 20, 2018, 04:44:32 AM
If you live in the US and have a Costco or Safeway close by. Bogle Old Vine Zinfandel is very good value at $8 a bottle. I think I saw it in Armagh City but it was close to £20. Anyway relative to the other stuff I bought in McAnerney's it stands up well at £20.
Post by: seafoid on October 20, 2018, 06:38:49 AM
Quote from: Taylor on October 19, 2018, 10:49:41 PM
Any recommendations for a newbie for red wines that aren't expensive?

Have drank a few merlot and some are grand. Any merlots to look out for or indeed any other type of red?
Baron de Lestac
Post by: playwiththewind1st on October 20, 2018, 10:30:25 AM
Quote from: ONeill on October 19, 2018, 09:52:04 PM

Never buy less than 13. 12.5 at a push. Anything lower is balls.

Seconded...with the exception of Champagne, of course. Always a standard 12%.
Post by: Insane Bolt on October 20, 2018, 08:43:13 PM
Enjoying Saint Emilion Grand Cru 2014 at minute.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 20, 2018, 08:51:03 PM
Sampling a Faustino
Post by: playwiththewind1st on October 20, 2018, 09:15:38 PM
Me & Mrs. had a bottle Valpolicella Ripasso earlier. Cotes Du Rhone Villages now, while watching Killing Eve. I honestly don't  think a bottle of red per person, over an entire Saturday night, is particularly excessive.
Post by: Taylor on October 20, 2018, 09:53:18 PM
Quote from: Rois on October 20, 2018, 12:48:55 AM

Not suitable for the 15% crowd, but you will def like it even if you don't love it.

Saw it but 12% so decided against.

Went for Kelly's Patch merlot. Shite.

What's the difference taste wise or whatever between the different reds?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 20, 2018, 10:48:34 PM
I'm confused about the not drinking anything 12% or under? If I want something with a high alcohol intake I'll drink whiskey..

Wine for me is about enjoying it, not waking up on the settee at 4am or having a hangover..

I personally never look at the alcohol percentage. I don't drink it to get hammered, I'll leave that for a night out with the lads
Post by: playwiththewind1st on October 20, 2018, 10:52:56 PM
Where do you start? Different grape varieties & even blends; maybe aged in a barrel, or not; styles in different countries (even regions); age. There are so many permutations - i think you just need to try different things, experiment & discover what you like. The worst that can happen is you don't like something & you just don't buy it again.
Post by: ONeill on October 21, 2018, 10:57:16 PM
Quote from: Taylor on October 20, 2018, 09:53:18 PM

It's not the taste, it's the percentage. You need reds at 14% plus to be worthwhile.
Post by: lurganblue on November 06, 2018, 04:28:55 PM
So far on my trials I have tried a Yellow tail Red Roo (stinkin), Barefoot Merlot (ok) and a Cotes Du Rhone (best so far and the cheapest). South American next i think.
Post by: StephenC on November 06, 2018, 05:07:10 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on November 06, 2018, 04:28:55 PM
So far on my trials I have tried a Yellow tail Red Roo (stinkin), Barefoot Merlot (ok) and a Cotes Du Rhone (best so far and the cheapest). South American next i think.

Had a nice Pinotage at the weekend - Abraham and the Heretics. Picked it 100% because of the weird name.
Post by: Puckoon on November 06, 2018, 09:42:30 PM

Neither one of those would be bank breakers?
Post by: lurganblue on November 06, 2018, 10:59:32 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 06, 2018, 09:42:30 PM

No def not. 7 quid or so I think. This is all new enough to me so not jumping in with more expensive stuff just yet.
Post by: johnnycool on November 07, 2018, 09:39:28 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on November 06, 2018, 10:59:32 PM

No def not. 7 quid or so I think. This is all new enough to me so not jumping in with more expensive stuff just yet.

Try a Casillero del diablo Cab Sav Chilean yolk  easy enough drank and won't break the bank either.

Worked with a lad who swore by that Chateauneuf De Pap, tried it but didn't really think it was anything special for the extra mulla required for the pleasure but then again I don't have a very sophisticated pallet.

Twas far from red wines and the likes I was reared.
Post by: seafoid on November 07, 2018, 10:20:54 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on November 07, 2018, 09:39:28 AM

Try a Casillero del diablo Cab Sav Chilean yolk  easy enough drank and won't break the bank either.
Worked with a lad who swore by that Chateauneuf De Pap, tried it but didn't really think it was anything special for the extra mulla required for the pleasure but then again I don't have a very sophisticated pallet.

If you don't have a sophisticated pallet, Johnny, you can always change to a new forklift  :o
A palate would be the other thing
Everyone has their own favourites when it comes to wine, I think. My father in law used to love pinot noir.
Post by: johnnycool on November 07, 2018, 10:30:40 AM
Quote from: seafoid on November 07, 2018, 10:20:54 AM

If you don't have a sophisticated pallet, Johnny, you can always change to a new forklift  :o
Everyone has their own favourites when it comes to wine, I think. My father in law used to love pinot noir.

As I say seafoid twas far from these fine things such as wine and knowing what a pallet/palate was that I was reared.
Post by: seafoid on November 07, 2018, 10:37:25 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on November 07, 2018, 10:30:40 AM
Quote from: seafoid on November 07, 2018, 10:20:54 AM

As I say seafoid twas far from these fine things such as wine and knowing what a pallet/palate was that I was reared.
I think we all were, in fairness. 
I remember going to a table quiz down in St Thomas' catchment area about 20 years ago and the first prize was a roll of barbed wire
I remember the time I pulled into a shop in Glenamaddy and saw the first ever wine display it had.
Things changed a lot.
Thankfully the hurling and football are still thriving   
Post by: Hardy on November 07, 2018, 01:55:00 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 21, 2018, 10:57:16 PM
Quote from: Taylor on October 20, 2018, 09:53:18 PM

It's not the taste, it's the percentage. You need reds at 14% plus to be worthwhile.

Dead on. (https://g.co/kgs/BUHL4x)
Post by: tyroneman on November 07, 2018, 02:25:36 PM
It's an exponential price v quality rise (up to a point) with wine.

Every bottle on wine has a lot of basic (similar) fixed costs: glass, labeling, tax, marketing, production, transport,  mark up etc - so if you buy a £5 bottle...how much are you actually paying for the wine....perhaps around £4.50 fixed costs and maybe 50p wine?

If you buy a £10 bottle, you pay roughly the same fixed costs, but get maybe £5.50 wine

Personally I think there is a point where the ££ doesn't justify the (supposed) difference in quality and taste but certainly I think it;s worth paying that little but extra in the £10-£20 range for a decent bottle
Post by: seafoid on November 11, 2018, 05:55:13 PM
I had a bottle of M Chapoutier côtes du Rhône villages les Pentues for €10 yesterday and it was lovely. Chapoutier is a good name to follow .
Post by: ziggy90 on September 21, 2020, 11:18:00 AM
I was in Slovakia last week and was given a bottle of this to sample. It's from Czechia (I didn't even know they made wine) and is right up there with the best red wine I've ever tasted. And its 15.5%.

https://images.app.goo.gl/MCQpSYYX5TSfvZn98
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on September 21, 2020, 05:04:27 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on September 21, 2020, 11:18:00 AM
I was in Slovakia last week and was given a bottle of this to sample. It's from Czechia (I didn't even know they made wine) and is right up there with the best red wine I've ever tasted. And its 15.5%.

https://images.app.goo.gl/MCQpSYYX5TSfvZn98

Hungary, Poland and the Czechs have some quality stuff. They tend not to export it though
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 21, 2020, 09:35:36 PM
Was given a couple of wines today's as a gift,  Finca Los Principes El Rihuelo Rioja. Looking forward to Friday already! Virgin wines.

Got a introductory box of wines from Naked wines the other day, £46 quid for 12 bottles, whites and reds, decent set in fairness.

Anywhere else doing the introductory stuff?

Still using Portugal vineyards, great stuff
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 21, 2020, 11:06:59 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 21, 2020, 09:35:36 PM
Was given a couple of wines today's as a gift,  Finca Los Principes El Rihuelo Rioja. Looking forward to Friday already! Virgin wines.

Got a introductory box of wines from Naked wines the other day, £46 quid for 12 bottles, whites and reds, decent set in fairness.

What you getting from Portugal Vineyards?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 21, 2020, 11:29:07 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 21, 2020, 11:06:59 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 21, 2020, 09:35:36 PM

What you getting from Portugal Vineyards?

Porta 6 predominantly, 12 bottles for £50 retails in my local for £8.99

Though was in Portugal before and landed on these bottles, Reguengos Alentejo Doc seriously nice and
Cheaper than Porta.
Post by: ziggy90 on September 22, 2020, 01:23:30 PM
Got a introductory box of wines from Naked wines the other day, £46 quid for 12 bottles, whites and reds, decent set in fairness.Anywhere else doing the introductory stuff?

Been using Naked Wines for about 18 months now. I just let the £20 a month build up a bit and then get a case. Good enough stuff to be fair. Laithwaites kicked me off their mailing list for 'abuse' of their system.  :D
What's that Portugal Wine one like? How do you get hold of them?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 22, 2020, 01:46:26 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on September 22, 2020, 01:23:30 PM
Got a introductory box of wines from Naked wines the other day, £46 quid for 12 bottles, whites and reds, decent set in fairness.Anywhere else doing the introductory stuff?

Been using Naked Wines for about 18 months now. I just let the £20 a month build up a bit and then get a case. Good enough stuff to be fair. Laithwaites kicked me off their mailing list for 'abuse' of their system.  :D
What's that Portugal Wine one like? How do you get hold of them?

Ziggy
send me a pm with name and email address and I'll get you 5 euro off your first box, but you'll not spend more that £50 quid on a box of 12 regardless of the offer

Huge selection, yes there is a wait on them to be delivered but once one case comes just order another it'll take about 12 days  ;)
Post by: ziggy90 on September 22, 2020, 02:49:30 PM
Done. I think/hope.
Cheers.