Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Gs Man on April 08, 2007, 10:15:48 PM

Title: For any Trad heads out there....
Post by: The Gs Man on April 08, 2007, 10:15:48 PM
Just trying to get my big bro's videos a few more hits.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TF--f7JxFPk

Sure let me know what ye reckon anyways.
Title: Re: For any Trad heads out there....
Post by: ziggysego on April 08, 2007, 10:27:03 PM
Very good  ;D
Post by: Cloc Mor on April 08, 2007, 10:36:49 PM
Must admit I'd rather have Trads than Triads.
Post by: Rossfan on April 09, 2007, 12:19:41 PM
Lad on the uileanns is good - pity about the noise from the stringy thing - it takes away from the piper.
Post by: Weo Ping on April 09, 2007, 09:01:31 PM
Great stuff.  I hear Barry Kerr is a lad from Belfast.  Definitely doing us proud. I have heard him playing fiddle and flute- I didn't know he could play pipes as well.  Up there with Donal Lunny on the pipes. 

Don't know bout Rossman but I think the Bouzouki is a nice accompaniment.
Post by: Donagh on April 10, 2007, 11:07:59 AM
Quote from: Weo Ping on April 09, 2007, 09:01:31 PM
Great stuff. I hear Barry Kerr is a lad from Belfast.

Typical!

Great stuff Gs. How did he get on over in the States?
Post by: Hardy on April 10, 2007, 11:20:11 AM
I didn't know he could play pipes as well.  Up there with Donal Lunny on the pipes. 

That good, eh?
Post by: The Gs Man on April 11, 2007, 09:28:23 PM
He didn't go Donagh.  Money on Riverdance wasn't enough to coax him to go.  Too many commitments at home.

Weo Ping, although he's living in Belfast he's originally from Buckfast Central (Lurgan).  And I don't think he's ever played the fiddle.....that might be the wee sister your thinking about.  They look a bit alike but he has a bigger beer belly.  She was on TG4 last night playing fiddle alongside Nipper Quinn on guitar (Antrim Senior Hurler).  Some programme about guitars in Irish music.

Jaysus we're a talented family.   :P
Post by: Donagh on April 12, 2007, 09:46:17 AM
Sounded like a NIO love-in anyway. Probably better off out of it.

Was talking to Bernadette OH recently and she was telling me he was doing some work the kids from the gaelscoil as well. Any chance of some free lessons my way? ;)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 12, 2007, 07:59:22 PM
Very good, and best of luck to them (pipes and bouzouki go well together I think).  ;)
Post by: SammyG on April 12, 2007, 08:17:52 PM
Excellent stuff.
Post by: bottlethrower7 on April 13, 2007, 01:21:21 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 10, 2007, 11:20:11 AM
I didn't know he could play pipes as well.  Up there with Donal Lunny on the pipes. 

That good, eh?

very good hardy.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 13, 2007, 09:33:00 PM
Just reminded today Gs Man, that Barry plays the pipes on Mickey Coleman's The Brantry Boy too, great bit of evocative, elegiac playing. Not easy.
Post by: The Gs Man on April 14, 2007, 03:59:36 PM
Aye, thats right.  Great song.
Post by: The Gs Man on April 16, 2007, 08:37:33 PM
Quick Plug alert.........

The Ceili House Folk Club

After a long absence, The Ceili House Folk Club returns on Friday 27th April with a much anticipated gig involving some of the best talents to grace the Traditional Irish Music scene in recent times.  The Ceili HouseBar in Lurgan, which has recently undergone a change in ownership and a complete refurbishment of both bar and lounge, will play host to three top traditional Irish music artists.

Barry Kerr, Donal O'Connor and Alan Burke are all recognised as virtuosos of their instruments and this is a rare opportunity to see the three lads performing together.

Originally from Lurgan, Barry Kerr is regarded as one of the outstanding traditional musicians of his generation and his debut album "The World Looks Away" has been greeted with critical acclaim.  Barry is rapidly establishing himself as a fine painter and sculptor through numerous sell-out exhibitions but, with his music, he is winning over a large fanbase throughout Europe and beyond.

Donal o'Connor has inherited a great musical legacy of at least five generations of fiddle playing.  He is regarded as one of the greatest fiddle players of his generation.  Donal's playing was described recently by the Irish Times as "...immaculate..." "...electrifying...".

Alan Burke's voice is unique, full of power and sensitivity.  His inexhaustible repertoire of traditional, Gaelic and contemporary songs are varied in mood and style.  His guitar playing is also powerful, but, at the same time, sensitive.  He has played supporting Christy Moore, Sharon Shannon, Moving Hearts and Altan.

Doors open for the gig at 9 p.m. and the concert begins promptly at 9.30 p.m.  Admission will be £5 for what promises to be one of the musical highlights for the local calendar.   

To receive further updates in relation to The Ceili House Folk Club please email: theceilihouse@hotmail.com or visit www.theceilihouse.com

Post by: The Gs Man on April 26, 2007, 10:32:01 PM
FAO Donagh and/or any other Lurgan heads....

This is tomorrow night!!  Should be great.  The bar and lounge have been recently refurbished so this is one of the first big nights.

Plug over.....
Post by: Donagh on April 27, 2007, 05:32:12 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on April 26, 2007, 10:32:01 PM

This is tomorrow night!!  Should be great.  The bar and lounge have been recently refurbished so this is one of the first big nights.

Plug over.....

Will definitely be along later Gs. Trying to get the oul fella to come along as well but with him being a non-smoking Pioneer and the reputation of your place it's proving tough ask. Where's the gig – upstairs?
Post by: Donagh on April 28, 2007, 01:56:30 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on April 26, 2007, 10:32:01 PM

Plug over.....

Great night Gs! As expected Barry was outstanding but to hear him play with Alan Burke was something else entirely. The vocal duet they did was a barnstormer – will bring the house down in Cultúrlann tomorrow night. Was kind of disappointed he didn't play the pipes but the jig and reels he did with Dónal O'Connor more than made up for that.

On the new venue. The place looks well but the noise from the back (right) of the bar was a bit annoying. The crowd back there were fairly young and just out for a nights craic but I don't think they couldn't hear the music – maybe you could wire a PA back to that end or up the táille a bit to dissuade the casual drinkers. Either way, if you keep at it with nights like tonight word won't be long spreading and reputations building.

Cheers for the free drinks btw... 

And Hardy – he really is that good...
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on April 28, 2007, 04:34:32 AM
My favouirte instument absoloutly amazing. Stand up and take a bow for your brother. Brilliant!
Post by: Hardy on April 28, 2007, 08:55:50 AM
Quote from: Donagh on April 28, 2007, 01:56:30 AM
And Hardy – he really is that good...

That was just a smartass joke - I didn't know Donal played the pipes.
Post by: The Gs Man on April 28, 2007, 06:04:12 PM
Cheers Donagh.  Glad the two of you made it up.  Was a good night.  I know what your talking about with the noise at the back.  Definitely get something sorted for future gigs.  Had to head home early myself because I had done a 15 hour shift, but I hear it ended up a good session all the same.

Bring on next month!