GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Heshs Umpire on March 04, 2016, 10:34:11 AM

Title: Laois Intermediate Football Championship 2016
Post by: Heshs Umpire on March 04, 2016, 10:34:11 AM
Laois Shopping Centre Intermediate Football Championship - Barrowhouse v The Rock, Kilcavan v Courtwood, Timahoe v Portlaoise, Annanough v O'Dempsey's.
Title: Re: Laois Intermediate Football Championship 2016
Post by: SCFC on March 05, 2016, 10:31:07 AM
O'Dempseys will be hot favourites for this. Timahoe next best. The others are all pretty even.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on July 31, 2016, 12:07:52 PM
First game last night - Courtwood 0-12 Kilcavan 0-7. Not the greatest game to be honest but Kilcavan missed a penalty and some goal chances while Courtwood kicked something like 14 wides. Probably around a fair result.
Post by: SCFC on August 03, 2016, 02:11:46 PM
The Rock beat Barrowhouse Monday night 2-12 to 0-9. Score line was a bit harsh on Barrowhouse who were within 2 points entering the last 10 mins.
Aaron Dowling and Brian Daly are two fine young players and losing Daly on a black was a huge blow for Barrowhouse. Think The Rock could beat Courtwood next day out.
Post by: SCFC on August 07, 2016, 11:11:38 PM
O'Dempseys absolutely destroyed Annanough Wednesday night. They look like certs for the intermediate.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on August 08, 2016, 01:04:59 AM
Results:

03/08/2016
Annanough         2-7
O'Dempseys       3-26   

01/08/2016
Barrowhouse      0-9
The Rock           2-12

31/07/2016
Timahoe            2-14
Portlaoise          1-15

30/07/2016
Kilcavan            0-7
Courtwood        0-12
Post by: Unlaoised on August 09, 2016, 03:46:26 PM
Quote from: SCFC on August 07, 2016, 11:11:38 PM
O'Dempseys absolutely destroyed Annanough Wednesday night. They look like certs for the intermediate.

Timahoe will have a say with Quigley,Damien O'Connor and Ruairi O'Connor all with Laois and ex county men in clancy and a great goalie in Eoin Culliton ....They have good players like Robbie Foyle Joe O'Connor as well...
Post by: Uisce on August 09, 2016, 04:25:33 PM
Clancy won't tog for Timahoe, he hasn't togged this year or last. But, I do think Timahoe will challenge O'Dempseys. They are probably too strong for intermediate but there is a reason they were relegated! There can be surprises at this level but the winner of whenever these two play will most likely be making the return to senior.
Post by: SCFC on August 09, 2016, 10:34:49 PM
Padraig Clancy is retired from club football.
Post by: Laoiseabu on August 11, 2016, 10:33:02 AM
Are the lennons still playin wit timahoe
Post by: Joeythelips on August 15, 2016, 08:46:23 AM
Kilcavan 1-12 v 7-16 Portlaoise, O'Dempseys 3-13 v 0-13 Timahoe. Portlaoise may be able to put it up to O'Dempseys, if not this looks like a dead rubber section. O'Demseys seem far too good for Intermediate, must have just had a poor year last year.
Post by: Laoiseabu on August 15, 2016, 11:25:32 AM
If portlaoise win intermediate do they have two senior teams they are clearly way stronger than last year at this level. A lot of their players would walk onto any other senior teams in the county. Likes of McGovern dean Cullen ciaran mc envoy were on senior team last year at some stages .Laois minors from this year and the last few years aswell
Post by: Laoiseabu on August 15, 2016, 01:38:50 PM
By the way JoeytheLips what was your opinion of portlaoise against your own club yesterday I know they have scoring attackers but what are they like in midfield and defensively I only saw them against annanough in the league final where they ripped them to shreds and weren't tested
Post by: Joeythelips on August 17, 2016, 05:43:04 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on August 15, 2016, 01:38:50 PM
By the way JoeytheLips what was your opinion of portlaoise against your own club yesterday I know they have scoring attackers but what are they like in midfield and defensively I only saw them against annanough in the league final where they ripped them to shreds and weren't tested

Sorry mate, Im no longer on home soil so have not seen Kilcavan themselves play this year. I heard the Portlaoise midfield was decent alright and going forward were pretty ruthless (as the score suggests). Kilcavan is not a big club though the squad is very rarely more than 20 players so even a couple of players missing can be a huge blow to them, going on what I heard they had a one of their defenders in goals. Still they won Division 3 this year so if they can remain in the Intermediate section it will have been a good year. Portlaoise 2nd team are always hard to judge as they may lose players to the seniors but if they can keep them all together they could be dangerous. They are probably the one side that could really trouble O'Dempseys.
Post by: SCFC on August 28, 2016, 07:49:09 AM
Portlaoise through to semis. They will trouble any team in this grade.
Post by: Laoiseabu on August 28, 2016, 10:40:33 AM
Is it an open draw for the semis
Post by: Laoiseabu on August 28, 2016, 10:41:03 PM
Semi final draw :   Portlaoise vs odempseys.   Timahoe vs the rock
Post by: Laoiseabu on August 29, 2016, 10:06:17 PM
Was at the courtwood and portlaoise match and if  portlaoise keep there six forwards in position and kick in quick ball to their forwards they will come very close to winning the intermediate especially since the other teams are very poor defensively when they are taken on at pace
Post by: SCFC on August 30, 2016, 07:41:40 AM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on August 29, 2016, 10:06:17 PM
Was at the courtwood and portlaoise match and if  portlaoise keep there six forwards in position and kick in quick ball to their forwards they will come very close to winning the intermediate especially since the other teams are very poor defensively when they are taken on at pace
O'Dempseys will beat them by 6 or 7
Post by: Unlaoised on August 30, 2016, 09:58:56 AM
Was at the Kilvcavan v Barrowhouse Relegation final

Barrowhouse won on a scoreline of 2-8 to 2-4

Kilcavan will do well to stay Junior next year on the basis of what I saw.

The ref could have sent off more of their players near the end as frustration got the better of them.

God I've never seen as many men over 40 on an Intermediate team ...

Barrowhouse were far better and could and should have won by more!
Post by: haze on August 30, 2016, 03:37:47 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on August 30, 2016, 09:58:56 AM

The ref could have sent off more of their players near the end as frustration got the better of them.

Yep a lot of 40 plus year olds - though each one of those 40 year olds are a credit to the club and damn good footballers!

A different narrative is 14 man Kilcavan missing 7 players come up short against a team they beat by 6 points only 4 weeks ago in the league final. Fair play to Barrowhouse, some very good young players and better team on the night. Hope they kick on next year and don't end up in a relegation battle. Kilcavan on the other hand will do our best to stay out of junior B!!
Post by: Unlaoised on August 30, 2016, 04:27:05 PM
Not saying they weren't or are not good footballers ..Two ex mountmellick men can kick ball but must be in there 40s if not more...Mick Tarpey at midfield has to be more than that...again another fine footballer.

The goalie is a grandad I believe...

Derek O'connell came on he has to be 43/44 ? superb servant in his day...

Pat Hunt must be mid 40s....

You can't expect to stay in Intermediate football with players of that age.

To be fair they never gave in as Kilcavan teams in the past didn't ...

The sending off was deserved the player was frustrated and lashed out ...The Number five for Kilcavan should have really got the line near the end as well.

Malone is a fierce lost to Barrowhouse but the Baldwin twins,Joe Murphy,and Daly can all kick as can the very small corner forward he is a great player to watch!

barrowhouse brought on their own over 40/50 year old in the second half goes by the name of Charlie and he wasn't too bad he made some runs off the ball he was flying it!!!

Post by: Laoislad80 on August 31, 2016, 08:22:55 AM
Kilcavan were without Ronan Gorry Barry Mangan manus dunne Conor bowe all huge losses Gorry alone scored 2-3 in the leauge final against BHouse. Think if kilcavan had of had Gorry and Mangan would of been different game
Post by: Laoislad80 on August 31, 2016, 08:31:10 AM
On another note I don't understand how you can say kilcavan will struggle at junior A kilcavan have to have their full 15 to compete just didn't have it against Bhouse.
Post by: Pablo Escobar on August 31, 2016, 01:06:33 PM
Time for Kilcavan to rebuild. Probably time for a lot of their gallant servants to call it a day. They have given everything. A couple of years in Junior A could do no harm as long as they bed in younger players.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on August 31, 2016, 05:42:29 PM
A pity to see Kilcavan struggling but the age profile of their squad is really starting to hurt them. I know they have some promising players in the 14/15/16 age bracket but that's a while away yet.

On the Portlaoise team, I'm not so sure they'll test O'Dempseys. They were deserving winners over Courtwood last Saturday but until our red card there was very little between the teams.

I think O'Dempseys are at a higher level.

Timahoe v The Rock in the other semi-final should be interesting. I haven't seen Timahoe this year but I fancy them to edge this game.
Post by: Unlaoised on September 06, 2016, 11:33:02 AM
As many people thought it will be an O'Dempseys v Timahoe final in my opinion ...Portlaoise will however make a game of it...Timahoe should take care of The Rock.
Post by: Joeythelips on September 09, 2016, 04:29:57 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on August 30, 2016, 09:58:56 AM

Impossible to judge Kilcavan properly on that performance. One of the smallest clubs in the county, but generally punch above their weight. Although it may be bizarre to see guys in their forties togging out but without these guys there would be no club. As I have said here before, any club of that size  lose even 2/3 players it can be a crippling blow to their chances. They were missing players against Barrowhouse including Ronan Gorry & Barry Mangan who you could argue are their 2 best players. I remember a good few years ago after Courtwood hammered us at intermediate level we dropped back voluntarily as we knew 3/4 lads were packing it in and thinking the club was doomed but it still survived and got back to intermediate where they were beaten after a replay by Crettyard who went on and won the Leinster championship.
Post by: SCFC on September 14, 2016, 08:54:24 AM
Handy win for Timahoe in semi final last night.
This is odempseys championship to lose.
Post by: Downtheroad on September 14, 2016, 08:46:32 PM
Quote from: SCFC on September 14, 2016, 08:54:24 AM
Handy win for Timahoe in semi final last night.
This is odempseys championship to lose.
By all accounts, some unsavoury scenes at last night's game. Wasn't there but I have heard a few reports which more or less tell the same story of fighting on and off the field. The GAA in general has to take a good look at itself as this type of behaviour is not socially acceptable.
Post by: SCFC on September 15, 2016, 07:33:07 AM
Brendan Quigley will be sick at missing the final.
Post by: Don Draper on September 15, 2016, 10:55:38 AM
Quote from: SCFC on September 15, 2016, 07:33:07 AM
Brendan Quigley will be sick at missing the final.
What happened him this time?
Post by: From the Terrace on September 18, 2016, 09:03:35 AM
exactly. unbelievable a player with his experience gets put off & they cruising to victory, hes 30 yrs of age not a chap a final on the horizon hard to fathom it.. portlaoise are some club nearly puling off a serious win yest evening hard not to admire them.
Post by: SCFC on September 18, 2016, 05:37:49 PM
Big fright for O'D's last night I heard. Pulled a win out of the fire. Should go on to win against a Quigleyless Timahoe.
Post by: El Jefe on September 19, 2016, 09:33:00 AM
Timahoe missing Quigley and someone else now due to suspension I hear? Dempey's were lucky enough by all accounts but that's a strong Portlaoise team with a lot of players who played the Division 1 games this season
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 19, 2016, 02:06:31 PM
Portlaoise should have beaten odempseys Kevin fitz missed a serious goal opportunity to put them 6or7 clear with about 10 mins left overall were the better team
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 19, 2016, 02:08:12 PM
I hear quigley is trying to get the red rescinded and has video evidence
Post by: LaoisHeart on September 22, 2016, 08:48:28 AM
Portlaoise the most unluckiest team to loose over the weekend, had Dempseys on the rack who will now go on to win it and regain their senior status, I was very impressed with Portlaoise and can see a number of them called up to the senior squad.  I was also at the Rock/Timahoe game and if Timahoe perform like that they will not stand a chance but if they up their game it will make for an interesting final but with Quigley gone I think Dempseys will have to much fro then
Post by: High Fielder on September 22, 2016, 11:00:33 AM
Dempseys had 3 good goal chances in the first half too, but in general, it was way too open a game to be credible. As with their Seniors, Portlaoise's Intermediates are too laid back. They were in control in the second half, and didn't kill it off. All of their teams at all levels are lovely to watch, with their handling and passing in particular always impressive. But there's very little aggression at all, and you need some
Post by: Rebelred on September 23, 2016, 11:39:52 AM
I hear quigley is trying to get the red rescinded and has video evidence

Well the laois ccc are hearing the case tonight and from what i saw at the game it would be a disgrace if the ban was oveturned. I wounder if this evidence has him going into the crowd swinging after the straightest of reds I've ever seen
Post by: SCFC on September 23, 2016, 06:23:22 PM
From what I heard he hasn't a hope of getting off.
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on September 23, 2016, 06:47:54 PM
It's a good thing that two first-teams are in the final. It's been a long time since a second team won it and long may that continue. With Portlaoise dominating senior, it would even worse if they started dominating all the lower divisions too.
Post by: clonadmad on September 23, 2016, 08:43:29 PM
I was talking to a Timahoe mentor today and he seems to think that Quigley will win the appeal as the video proves that he didn't strike the player for which he was in the refs report for.
Post by: Rebelred on September 23, 2016, 09:21:00 PM
Possibly the worst defence ever i didn't hit him it was the other fella I hit. On that note a referees report would state the infraction ie a kick punch etc and not include the who he hit. Well the decision was made tonight let's wait and see
Post by: clonadmad on September 23, 2016, 09:26:57 PM
Yep the Frank Murphy approach of finding a loophole and then exploiting it to your advantage.
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 23, 2016, 10:14:58 PM
Any word on quigley?
Post by: Rebelred on September 23, 2016, 10:24:08 PM
Nothing as yet
Post by: LaoisHeart on September 24, 2016, 09:28:47 AM
what quigley done was wrong and everyone is against him and wants him to miss the final but on the other hand when he puts on the county jersey we all support him.  strange how the game works.  quigley will be missed but with the o'connors, foyles and martin bergin they might cause a small bit of a surprise.
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 24, 2016, 09:53:34 AM
Anything this morning ?
Post by: Rebelred on September 24, 2016, 10:01:34 AM
Nothing yet but in reply to everyone against him I doubt thats the case I'd imagine the lads in o dempseys would rather compete against the strongest 15 available. People are against the under handed Ness of county board corruption where a normal lad who has trained all year would have no hope to get a decision of that severity over turned but because you play county there is a possibility.
Post by: LaoisHeart on September 24, 2016, 10:36:52 AM
i agree totally that he should miss the final but my point is that we should not be out to condem him, i have never played competitive football but some people just see a mist of red becasue they are so involved and caught up in it (Roy Keane for Example), Brendan has given alot for laois football and we should appreciate that and not condem him and let county board do that within the rules of the game.
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 24, 2016, 12:30:04 PM
Hearing rumours that quigley will be playing can anyone confirm this ?
Post by: Rebelred on September 24, 2016, 01:06:52 PM
I've heard the same rumours myself. If it's the case the ccc will loose any standards they have.if timahoe do win it will be an empty victory. This could be just the thing to put the fire into the o dempseys. Crooked as it goes different rules for county players.
Post by: clonadmad on September 24, 2016, 01:31:50 PM
Yes,he's been cleared to play
Post by: Rebelred on September 24, 2016, 01:41:57 PM
Well that's a disgrace great for neutrals but it really asks questions of the laois ccc it's a reflection on the laois gaa board as a whole really.
Post by: Joeythelips on September 24, 2016, 05:12:29 PM
Any club would try and get their best player off the hook, it does sound a bit odd if video evidence was used and it still showed him striking someone else. Either way its hard to see them beating O'Dempseys.
Post by: LaoisHeart on September 24, 2016, 05:17:20 PM
Surely if video was used he must have been in the clear. I was at the game and the opposing supporters should also be brought up for aggravating the situation even further
Post by: Rebelred on September 24, 2016, 05:22:14 PM
2 wrongs don't make a right..it's pretty obvious what happened a dodgy decesion which undermines a clear red card (I was also there) feel bad for brendan mccann who was the ref on the night and made the right calls. Spoke to a few refs today and they feel its a farcical situation. Good to know the frank murphy virus isnt just in Cork
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on September 24, 2016, 05:54:29 PM
And we wonder why 99% of Laois supporters have no faith in the county board to make fair decisions and lead the county out of the hole we are in.

Brian Cody always rates honesty top of his list of credentials for success and he looks for in in Co. board, his management team and his players (all stakeholders). Our top officials don't even ask it of themselves so how can they demand it of others.
Maybe its one of the reasons why we have no success. Standards are just so low. If this was any ordinary club player he wouldn't have a prayer.
Post by: From the Terrace on September 24, 2016, 08:43:46 PM
I would have been more surprised if decision was upheld and he missed final, it means o dempseys wins by 10 instead of 15 pts. I honestly thought id never shout for dempseys but i will now.
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 24, 2016, 09:14:56 PM
From the terrace that's pure bullshit are you blind or what were you at the match against portlaoise B
Post by: From the Terrace on September 24, 2016, 09:23:59 PM
Wasn't at that game portlaoise and they had a good intermediate team this year, i think o dempseys will win. maybe my winning margin is a bit over the top. But was at timahoe match + Quigley getting off is pure bull.
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 24, 2016, 09:33:58 PM
I think it will be a close encounter 50 50 either way Ciaran Lennon back fullback is a help which will allow one of the o Connors to be released further upfield my timahoe team wud be 1 Culleton 2Richard Oxley 3 Ciaran Lennon 4 James Whelehan 5 Joe Foyle 6 James OConnor 7 Andy Daly 8 Brendan Quigley 9 Sean Ramsbottom 10 Joe OConnor 11 Damien OConnor 12 Colm Lalor 13 Robbie Foyle 14 Ruari OConnor 15 Martin Bergin.    It wud be hard enough bet
Post by: From the Terrace on September 24, 2016, 09:46:05 PM
No doubting they have good footballers, losing to clonaslee & ballyfin in past two years, would of thought timahoe were better than both of them. Discipline big problem just look at midfielders one of them get the line + there done.
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 24, 2016, 09:48:56 PM
Exactly when I look at timahoe there two hot heads at centre field wud get sent off in a flash and undo a whole years training . If they can keep there heads and just play football there more than good enough
Post by: Rebelred on September 24, 2016, 10:16:45 PM
Sure look I personally think this is what o dempseys needed to galvanise the squad nothing more dangerous than a group of lads thinking everyone is against them. Heard the o dempseys camp is bursting to get a hold of timahoe since this news of the farcical quigley situation. No matter what war the match goes the ccc need to be more transparent as they are a part of a rotten laois set up from the core
Post by: LaoisHeart on September 25, 2016, 07:13:36 AM
I think the findings and evidence of such a report should be made available for public viewing just like you can request information under the freedom of information act. O Dempseys started the year training to win a final against teams with strong squads and this mentality should not change over this
Post by: SCFC on September 25, 2016, 02:07:05 PM
Quote from: LaoisHeart on September 25, 2016, 07:13:36 AM
I think the findings and evidence of such a report should be made available for public viewing just like you can request information under the freedom of information act. O Dempseys started the year training to win a final against teams with strong squads and this mentality should not change over this
The minutes of the meeting where the suspension was overturned are available from the secretary of any GAA club who they are emailed out to each month.
And by the way it wasn't the CCC who overturned the suspension. They actually gave the suspension and it would be the hearings committee who rescinded it.
Post by: Rebelred on September 25, 2016, 02:36:00 PM
Ah sure look what's done is done pretty obvious what went on crazy the way the Whealen suspension wasn't challenged he must be feeling surplus to requirements after that. Don't blame timahoe they just took a chance and the corrupt system which still consumes the laois gaa to the core looked after the rest. Was a neutral before this saga but I hope o dempseys go through them for a short cut. The appointed ref won't give quigley an inch either
Post by: Tintin84 on September 26, 2016, 08:12:43 PM
Well when the ref that sent Quigley off said he hadn't a hope in he'll of getting the suspension overturned who ends up looking like fools. Not only was he sent off he abused the ref that night to a degree that he nearly attacked the ref and then gets into an altercation with someone from the crowd how wrong is this? The county board are a joke!!!
Post by: Rebelred on September 26, 2016, 08:18:43 PM
I heard the video that was used in the appeal is doing the rounds on wass app groups and it's a disgrace. Plus with the news of a big name injury coming out of the o dempseys camp. Don't know who but county or ex county was mentioned looks like o dempseys are getting a run of bad luck and corrupt decesions
Post by: LaoisHeart on September 26, 2016, 09:00:43 PM
I'd like to see the video before I pass judgement. I wonder is this a phantom injury as in playing mind games
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 26, 2016, 10:03:22 PM
Is it Meitheal Finlay that's injured? Or is it just rumour
Post by: Rebelred on September 26, 2016, 10:06:36 PM
Didn't hear an exact name just that is a current or past laois senior few of them up those parts so your guess is as good as mine. Hopfully who ever it is gets back in time after that ref card fiasco o dempseys deserve the best shot to beat timahoe
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 26, 2016, 10:09:59 PM
Is it definitely true that there's an injury
Post by: Rebelred on September 26, 2016, 10:23:57 PM
Unfortunately I think so collision with 2 players one defo out one struggling. When it rain it pours
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 27, 2016, 09:07:38 AM
Was talking with someone this morning not serious injuries players should be able to play
Post by: LaoisHeart on September 27, 2016, 09:22:21 AM
It's always the case of over talking an injury coming into a final to try get advantage over the opposition. But hopefully both players will be available as this is our second tier competition and you always want to see a good final with talent on show
Post by: Don Draper on September 27, 2016, 10:06:14 AM
RebelRed you're running around here like a blue arsed fly. Calm down a bit, you'll give yourself a hernia by Friday night.
Post by: Rebelred on September 27, 2016, 10:14:40 AM
Think I got a hernia watching that video last night.
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 27, 2016, 11:28:34 AM
Where can I go to see the video
Post by: Don Draper on September 27, 2016, 11:31:53 AM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on September 27, 2016, 11:28:34 AM
Where can I go to see the video
The Tower Inn
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 27, 2016, 11:59:55 AM
Besides the tower inn
Post by: SCFC on September 27, 2016, 03:21:03 PM
Quote from: Rebelred on September 26, 2016, 10:23:57 PM
Unfortunately I think so collision with 2 players one defo out one struggling. When it rain it pours
Stop talking scutter.
Post by: les Antiques on September 27, 2016, 03:28:11 PM
And it begins  :)
Post by: Rebelred on September 27, 2016, 03:37:00 PM
 :-X
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 27, 2016, 04:25:19 PM
Hearing rumours that Padraig Clancy will be playin can anyone confirm this
Post by: SCFC on September 27, 2016, 09:26:59 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on September 27, 2016, 04:25:19 PM

Yes. And Benny O'Connell and Joe Conlon in the corners.
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 27, 2016, 09:29:10 PM
No seriously is this true heard it off a couple of people today
Post by: Don Draper on September 27, 2016, 11:28:49 PM
Quote from: SCFC on September 27, 2016, 09:26:59 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on September 27, 2016, 04:25:19 PM

Yes. And Benny O'Connell and Joe Conlon in the corners.
The Sheriff is flying in training.
Post by: Unlaoised on September 28, 2016, 10:17:03 AM
Big Rumour's that Clancy is training alright!
Post by: Rebelred on September 28, 2016, 10:31:47 AM
Been back training since ballroan got knocked out. Good addition few lad back from America jumping in will it unsettle the team or kill team spirt from the lads dropped who knows
Post by: Don Draper on September 28, 2016, 10:40:12 AM
Quote from: Rebelred on September 28, 2016, 10:31:47 AM
Been back training since ballroan got knocked out. Good addition few lad back from America jumping in will it unsettle the team or kill team spirt from the lads dropped who knows
I heard they had a massive row down there last week, someone ate Ox's Syntha - 6 power edge recovery bar and all hell broke loose. There's talk they won't have 15 for Friday night now.
Post by: Rebelred on September 28, 2016, 10:48:50 AM
To be fair with that lot it's belivable 😂😂😂😂
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 28, 2016, 10:49:08 AM
Ciaran Lennon back fullback is also a big help looking like the makings of a better balanced team than earlier in the championship
Post by: Rebelred on September 28, 2016, 02:25:09 PM
http://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/watch-laois-midfielder-red-card-rescinded-county-final-despite-throwing-punch/96841
Post by: Ballyroan Abbey on September 28, 2016, 03:10:48 PM
The curroption of this county board is gone beyond a joke, how that could possibly be resinded is amazing, if they were doing their jobs right he would be getting a long term ban.

Remember we are only too years away from the county board blatently saving two of the biggest clubs in laois being relegated, one of whom just happened to be the club of the county chairman and secretary. They have form in letting county players off too with munnelly a few years ago being a prime example, and then there is the farce if the young suspension a few weeks ago which barely amounts to one. These lads have to go simple as that

Post by: Unlaoised on September 28, 2016, 03:41:02 PM
Too be fair there is not a clear strike in that footage as such....He catches the first player high but looks like he just pushes the second Rock player away?

What jerseys were each team wearing stradbally and ballyroan?

Post by: Don Draper on September 28, 2016, 03:43:54 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on September 28, 2016, 03:41:02 PM
Too be fair there is not a clear strike in that footage as such....He catches the first player high but looks like he just pushes the second Rock player away?

What jerseys were each team wearing stradbally and ballyroan?
No clear strike, and even what appeared to look like a strike, could easily be seen as self defence as he was set upon by a third party, after already being gone for by another player. The clothesline was the worst of the lot, yellow card at worst. I'm not really seeing the issue here. Not sure what the fella in the stand was at.
Post by: Tintin84 on September 28, 2016, 04:00:28 PM
So you think all is okay and that he should get off, Is making a drive for the linesman and threating to throw a punch is getting into an altercation with the spectators and throwing punches not a clear sign of indiscipline, How the hell can you say that there wasn't much to the video.. Open your eyes for god sake
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 28, 2016, 04:05:10 PM
No strike he deserves to play the final that was just handbags Twitter just loses the run of itself sometimes imagine what would be said if there was a bloodbath and there was proper boxin
Post by: Don Draper on September 28, 2016, 04:06:50 PM
Quote from: Tintin84 on September 28, 2016, 04:00:28 PM
So you think all is okay and that he should get off, Is making a drive for the linesman and threating to throw a punch is getting into an altercation with the spectators and throwing punches not a clear sign of indiscipline, How the hell can you say that there wasn't much to the video.. Open your eyes for god sake
So you can get a red card for threatening to throw a punch? Bejaysus. And you can red card a lad for showing signs of indiscipline? Bejaysus again. I expected there to be bloody murder from how lads were describing the video. I was left feeling disappointed.
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 28, 2016, 04:08:22 PM
Don draper exactly what I was thinking it was all blown out of proportion
Post by: les Antiques on September 28, 2016, 06:19:55 PM
Completely blown out of proportion . I have seen the Same handbags happen throughout the league championship in Laois this year constantly and seen a red card  Yellow card ,lets move on . Not sure what exactly that so called fan was up too swinging and shaping up to an on field player . Accomplishes nothing .  Moving to Friday I predict the boys from Killenard by 3 . Could be a cracker .!!
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 28, 2016, 06:43:54 PM
If clanceys playin I'd fancy timahoe but if not I predict a tight tight encounter
Post by: Don Draper on September 28, 2016, 09:53:26 PM
I heard a rumor that Trump is actually in cahoots with Hilary and that it's all a ploy to get her into the White House.
Post by: OTF on September 28, 2016, 10:19:19 PM
I heard a rumour there'll be a few more rumours tomorrow.
Post by: LaoisHeart on September 28, 2016, 10:20:17 PM
Love Brendan as a player but seen the video and he has got away with one there. Still think ODempseys by 7, looking forward to the game tho.
Post by: HonTheTown on September 29, 2016, 02:01:45 PM
Will Lennon and Clancy(possibly) make up a nine point difference from the first game? Not forgetting O'Leary is back for O'Dempseys too! Will the Portlaoise gane be the scare they needed? Or are they there for the taking?
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 29, 2016, 05:27:18 PM
Robbie Foyle wasn't playin the first day either
Post by: Helix on September 30, 2016, 09:54:14 PM
Entertaining game tonight with good atmosphere.  Timahoe left that behind big time. Credit O dempseys for their comeback. Dug in when it mattered.
Post by: Ballyroan Abbey on September 30, 2016, 10:04:53 PM
Was late goin in why was quigley been booed
Post by: Keyser Söze on September 30, 2016, 10:35:35 PM
Quote from: Ballyroan Abbey on September 30, 2016, 10:04:53 PM
Was late goin in why was quigley been booed

Lol!
Post by: SCFC on October 01, 2016, 08:15:24 AM
Super game for the neutral. Draw would have been a fair result but hard to argue with O'Dempseys win either. They looked a beaten docket with less than 15 to go. Some comeback.
Post by: LaoisHeart on October 01, 2016, 02:51:50 PM
Have to hand it to ODempseys. That's 2 games in a row now back from the dead. Great game to watch.
Post by: Unlaoised on October 04, 2016, 03:42:13 PM
Thought the ref was very harsh on timahoe all throughout the game it wasn't noticeable when they were ahead but he brought O'Dempseys back into it with four soft frees in a row when they needed them being 5,6,and 7 points down...As I said people don't notice them when a team is  ahead like that but I did...

Quigley should have had a stonewall penalty in the first half as well.