Recent posts

GAA Discussion / Re: GAA moneybags and Sean Cav...
Last post by Franko - Today at 05:25:52 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on Today at 02:42:23 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on Today at 10:09:37 AM
Quote from: onefineday on Today at 01:58:01 AM
Quote from: Keyser soze on May 15, 2024, 09:53:35 AMMy god there are some crying hoors in the GAA who want everything for free, I surely hope they are over represented on this board or the organisation is truely in trouble.

Crying about the price of tickets to games, and the price of diesel to get to games, and how much a feed costs, and having to get a ticket for the wains, and not getting to see every game on FTA tv, and the game they just saw was lateral shite, and the forward mark, and the studio analysis, and negative managers, and people coming to the door selling tickets for their club, and the amount of money the GAA has, and the lack of money the GAA gives our club, ad nauseum ad nauseum ad nauseum.

And then thinking they are great GAA men when they've not ever wore a shirt or even washed a shirt.

I would say the vast majority of posters on here are not even GAA members.

Keyser, in my experience a good auld moan and gripe is the common language of humanity. I've spent plenty of time abroad and worked with many nationalities and the average gaa fan or poster on this board is no different to the majority everywhere else (well west coast USA with their unwavering positivity might be the exception).
And as for your comment on posters probably not being members, I suspect the vast majority of us are pretty involved with gaa at some level. We are the diehards or we wouldn't be on here in the first place. Not that many people find discussions on the kickout strategies of Armagh all that interesting you know....

There certainly are diehards on here but a majority, definitely not.

There was a thread on ticket selling on here recently.

Not only was there just one poster, of the many who contributed to the thread, who had actually gone out to sell tickets, but there were quite a few who were complaining about being asked to buy a ticket by clubs coming to their door, and there were even a few calling for it to be banned.

Like what sort of GAA person would begrudge being ASKED to voluntarily contribute a few quid to the GAA, by a person who is giving up their time to travel around the country to raise funds for their local club. The people selling the tickets are diehards, people whinging about it on Gaaboard are blowhards.

So no I don't agree that a majority are GAA diehards, their diehardness extends to going to county matches and complaining their hole off on GAA board about stuff they probably know very little about.

And yes that would indeed include Armagh kickout strategies

You seem to have a very narrow agenda.

I've:

- played football for 35 years.
- coached and selected at teams from under-8 to senior, including the past 8 years unbroken.
- spent over 15 years on our club committee, including 5 as treasurer.
- served as our county board rep for a couple of years and on a county board subcommittee for a year.
- acted as a team liaison for our county minors for two years.

And my sincere opinion is that if a club from say County Derry cannot find the funds within their own parish, community, town, county to build whatever it they think they need, then they've no business asking people from say County Down to put their hands in their pockets and pay for it.

Am I not GAA enough to be entitled to this opinion?

No issue with you holding that opinion at all.

My opinion would be that the GAA is a national organisation and one which raison d'etre was to promote Irish games and pastimes on a national basis.  (Just checked there - the words Nation/National are mentioned in the preface to the Official Guide 10 times).

My sincerely held opinion is that there should be zero issue with clubs fundraising on a national basis (if practicalities allowed).

I think we should take it as a source of pride that members a club in Antrim would see fit to contribute to a club in Kerry (or vice versa).  Indeed, it is entirely in line with the aims and ethos of the association.

The parish/town/county element of it should be left to the actual games only.
Quote from: Gael85 on Today at 05:07:40 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on Today at 03:54:33 PMCan anyone from Dublin tell me why Ciarán Archer who would be around 24 now hasn't made the step up to Dublin senior team and is he even on the panel at the moment?

A talented player but don't think he better than what on panel now. Quality freetaker but for me doesn't do enough from play  and without the ball. He was on senior panel in 2022 but picked up an injury and never got back in.

A few of the forwards on the Dublin panel at the moment Ross McGarry,Killian O'Gara,Lorcan O'Dell,Killian McGinnis. He must have fallen back a fair bit from his days standing out at U20 level if not better than some of them now.
Antrim / Re: Antrim Football Thread
Last post by Stillwater2 - Today at 05:13:33 PM
Quote from: Would ye whist on Today at 01:56:46 PMYou mean the dominant force in Antrim football for quite some time now

Also as for the Feile, complete disgrace how Sarsfield's conducted themselves some of our adult mentors even getting assaulted by their U15's

Quote from: antrimman667 on Today at 01:42:28 PM
Quote from: EOC1923 on Today at 01:13:23 PM
Quote from: NorthAntrim on Today at 01:04:04 PM
Quote from: EOC1923 on Today at 12:34:08 PM
Quote from: NorthAntrim on Today at 10:55:55 AMWasnt at the game so relying on a good source

Cargin also scored a few late goals when the game was dead to put a gloss on the scoreline??

I was at it and your source has gave you a phoney account.
Listen I have seen many people comment on here within last 12 months about Bakers negative tactics, I commented something similar after watching them last night.
Ballymena scored their goal along with 3 or 4 points in the last 10 mins, Cargin were 7 points up at half time ended up scoring 6 goals, could have been 10. Just being honest.

https://thesaffrongael.com/2024/05/16/champions-cargin-hit-all-saints-for-six/

You should have went yourself rather than rely on wee Paddy's report.
Ballymena are a well organsised team to be fair to them, just prob need to work on the fitness to keep the lung busting forward runs required up for 60mins
All hail the great glorious Cargin

Re Feile...don't let the truth get in the way of a good story.

Ref report will make interesting reading...even those Cargin supporters/parents were disgusted at the behaviour of the parent of the Cargin player. The fella in the white t shirt that entered the field of play.
GAA Discussion / Re: All Ireland U20 football c...
Last post by Gael85 - Today at 05:07:40 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on Today at 03:54:33 PMCan anyone from Dublin tell me why Ciarán Archer who would be around 24 now hasn't made the step up to Dublin senior team and is he even on the panel at the moment?

A talented player but don't think he better than what on panel now. Quality freetaker but for me doesn't do enough from play  and without the ball. He was on senior panel in 2022 but picked up an injury and never got back in.
General discussion / Re: Man Utd Thread:
Last post by From the Bunker - Today at 04:54:19 PM

Former Dublin star Ciaran Archer has proposed 96-week ban overturned
Last post by NorthAntrim - Today at 04:12:39 PM
Quote from: NatSoSaff on Today at 04:05:21 PMGlenravel didn't look too bad last night. It's a pity they are so badly hampered with county men missing. Again, what is the point in a so called split season. It's killing club football for these lads

Any momentum possibly destroyed by being well represented at county. Hopefully with the playoffs they will all be available if thats where they end up
Last post by NatSoSaff - Today at 04:05:21 PM
Glenravel didn't look too bad last night. It's a pity they are so badly hampered with county men missing. Again, what is the point in a so called split season. It's killing club football for these lads
GAA Discussion / Re: Tailteann Cup 2024
Last post by imtommygunn - Today at 04:04:22 PM
Ah yes  you're right.
Can anyone from Dublin tell me why Ciarán Archer who would be around 24 now hasn't made the step up to Dublin senior team and is he even on the panel at the moment?