GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Laoiseabu on October 18, 2019, 12:35:26 PM

Title: OByrne Cup 2020
Post by: Laoiseabu on October 18, 2019, 12:35:26 PM
Not too long till the O'Byrne cup draws will be made . Decided to make a new thread for it
Title: Re: OByrne Cup 2020
Post by: Beffs on October 18, 2019, 07:38:54 PM
Any word on Walsh Cup fixtures?
Post by: Laoiseabu on October 25, 2019, 11:49:56 PM
We've to play Offaly , Wexford and Meath in the O'Byrne cup . First game against Offaly on December 7th(Laois venue ), next up Wexford on December 14th(Wexford venue)and lastly Meath on January 4th (Meath venue). All games 2pm throw in
Post by: les Antiques on November 01, 2019, 01:09:36 AM
Would be nice to see Offaly game played somewhere other than Portlaoise in December.
Post by: Mad Mentor on November 01, 2019, 04:58:43 AM
Quote from: les Antiques on November 01, 2019, 01:09:36 AM
Would be nice to see Offaly game played somewhere other than Portlaoise in December.
Agree. The Bahamas would be nice. ;D
Post by: les Antiques on November 01, 2019, 11:05:18 AM
😂 I was thinking Ballyroan or Ballylinan but the Bahamas would work too :)
Post by: LooseCannon on November 01, 2019, 12:50:56 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on November 01, 2019, 01:09:36 AM
If Portarlington has lights.......

If we were at home.....Gracefield
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on November 05, 2019, 02:13:47 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on October 25, 2019, 11:49:56 PM
We've to play Offaly , Wexford and Meath in the O'Byrne cup . First game against Offaly on December 7th(Laois venue ), next up Wexford on December 14th(Wexford venue)and lastly Meath on January 4th (Meath venue). All games 2pm throw in

The CCC has yet to confirm fixture details for these games.

Group 1 – Kildare, Longford, Carlow, Wicklow
Group 2 – Laois, Wexford, Offaly
Group 3 – Meath, Louth, Westmeath

FIXTURES  (All games at 2pm)
R1 – Laois v Offaly: December 7. 
R2 – Wexford v Laois: December 14.
R3 – Meath v Laois: January 4. 

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/10/31/draw-made-for-the-2020-obyrne-cup-which-will-begin-in-2019/
Post by: Laoiseabu on December 02, 2019, 01:59:04 PM
It all kicks off this weekend against Offaly . Any word on how the panel is shaping up ?
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 03, 2019, 01:09:17 AM
Here is your GAA Fixtures Diary for 2020
https://res.cloudinary.com/dvrbaruzq/image/upload/fl_attachment/gtbxjegdlgerygrts6az.pdf
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 06, 2019, 12:18:19 AM
Brand new team for Saturday's O'Byrne Cup game v Offaly..

(https://pic8.co/sh/wIE18t.jpg)

New Laois football manager Mike Quirke has named five debutants in the Laois team to face Offaly in the opening round of the O'Byrne Cup on Saturday.
Laois take on their neighbours at 2pm in Portarlington – and there will be first Laois senior starts for Clonaslee's Niall Corbet, Portarlington's Jason Moore, Stradbally native Garry Comerford, Ballyfin's Darragh Connolly and last season's U-20 player Diarmuid Whelan from Ballyroan-Abbey.
Corbet and Comerford are both former League of Ireland soccer players with Corbet named in goals – where he played with UCD, Bohemians and Waterford – instead of attack where he impressed for Clonaslee in this year's Laois IFC.

Comerford, who played club football with Ballincollig in Cork this year as well as with Cork City, is named at wing-forward with Darragh Connolly, one of Ballyfin's top players in their run to the Laois SFC semi-final, on the other wing.
Whelan is corner-forward while Moore, captain of the Portarlington team that also reached the last four of the Laois SFC, is named at wing-back.

Mountmellick's Gearoid Hanrahan returns to full-back after not being involved since 2016 while Michael Keogh was involved in 2018 under John Sugrue but not in 2019.
None of the Portlaoise contingent are involved as they take some time following their run in the Leinster club championship, nor is there any involvement from intermediate champions Rosenallis.
John O'Loughlin, however, who will be part of the Rosenallis set up next year as he is set to return to his home club is named at midfield and is the side's most experienced player as he begins his 13th season.

He is one of six starting players who featured in last year's championship – the others being Trevor Collins, Robbie Pigott, Eoin Buggie, Paddy O'Sullivan, Eoin Lowry and Evan O'Carroll.
None of Eddie Kinsella's U-20 squad are among the starting team nor is there any involvement from the Portarlington or Courtwood-Emo U-20s as they face off in the Laois U-20 final in Stradbally on Friday night.
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on December 06, 2019, 12:26:23 AM
Didn't know Gearoid Hanrahan was back in the mix. He was a player that impressed me a few years ago playing for Laois seniors but dropped completely off the radar after that.
Post by: Brandon on December 08, 2019, 07:47:14 PM
Why doesn't Sean moore play with Laois ? Does he not want to play county
Post by: Butch Cassidy on December 08, 2019, 09:45:54 PM
Anyone stand out? Quirke play a kicking game or what tactics did he employ? I know pitches are in shit so hard to read too much into it
Post by: Blow-in on December 08, 2019, 10:17:35 PM
Offaly were better drilled yesterday. They were also close to full team, think 11 of their championship team played.
Pitch was in good condition for the time of the year.

Goals: we badly need Brody back for the league anywsys. No direction or plan with kickouts yesterday.

Full back line was exposed a lot. Offaly full forward kicked 0-5. Cian Johnston done a lot of damage when he came on at HT.

Midfield was okay but lost the battle. Paddy Sullivan is a half back only. O'Loughlin was slow and one dimensial.

Half forward line wasn't wondering. Comerford good assist for the goal but that was about it. Should have picked up a black card before HT. Connolly isn't up to that standard at all.

Full forward line struggled. O'Carroll wasn't able for the 1-1 battle to ball kicked in.

Best of the subs was Munnelly. Kicked two lovely points.
Post by: Unlaoised on December 10, 2019, 04:16:17 PM
BATMAN "Connolly isn't up to that standard at all"

Funny I thought he was one of our better players in the first half esp in first 25  minutes

O'Carroll well beaten in the one and battles .

Offaly lorded midfield o Sullivan looked lost and johno while he tried hard was hufing and puffing after 20 mins .

Munnelly looked sharp .

Comerford was raw but showed well for the ball .

Corbett is never a keeper .
Brody come back quick .

All in all a bit disappointing on the back of the news Paul Donie Steven Attride  and Gary Walsh won't be around this year .

On the plus side Piggot looked composed and strong in the half back.line
Post by: Neutralobserver on December 11, 2019, 01:40:19 PM
i think its going to be a very hard year for laois and now is it becoming clearer why sugure left or did the players leave because he left?
Post by: Brandon on December 12, 2019, 10:45:12 AM
Can anyone please tell my Sean Moore from Ballyfin not play for the county ?
Post by: Neutralobserver on December 14, 2019, 03:52:36 PM
Not good enough for intercounty as yet
Post by: Brandon on December 14, 2019, 04:42:18 PM
Better than what's there anyway
Post by: Blow-in on December 14, 2019, 06:53:52 PM
Good to get the win today. Wexford looked to have snatched a draw but credit to Laois for coming back up the field to win a free.
Galvin looked stylish. Brown shoes and the whole lot from Dunnes Stores!

1: Eoghan Keogh: Wasn't reallt tested. But like last week we need Brody back.

2 Brian Byrne: Had a woeful start to the game. Came into it a bit but was subbed after getting a smack of an elbow which left him with a bad facial injury

3 Gearoid Hanarahn: came out with a lot of ball but his man scored approx 1-3. Fiery character and was booked after a skirmish involving most players.

4 Shane Bolger: Hardy buck. But got caught in possession too many times.

5 Paddy O Sullivan: Does okay. Always like to run at teams

6 Seamus Lacey: intelligent performance. Looked tidy. His marker scored 0-1 who was Paul Bealin's son. Done nothing wrong and is worth a shot.

7 Robbie Piggott: Not sure what he really offers bar physical presence. Subbed

8 John O Loughlin: got caught badly with rules of a mark from the kickout which the referee was correct. But did catch some good ball throughout.

9 Sean Byrne: not his day. Gave away too much possession. Subbed

10 Mark Barry: Laois version of David Clifford. Classy but does tend to take too much out of the ball. Scored a wonder goal after some good play. Also won the free which won the game.

11 Brian Daly: Once again a sub par performance in a Laois jersey. Won't make it and was subbed

12 Diarmuid Whelan: scores some lovely points and is a talent. Needs to get stronger

13 Ross Munnelly: got a couple of points before injury ruined his first half. Picked up an ankle injury. Was dangerous when on.

14 Colm Murphy: continuing his good form. Was alert and dangerous. Shipped some heavy punishment from his maker but played a part in the goal

15 Alan Kinsella: not up to it at the moment unfortunately. Caught in possession and gave away ball after ball. Lucky to last the full 70

Subs: Rob Tyrell, Eoin Dunne, Sean Michael Corcoran all seen action. Roll on Meath on Jan 4th.
Post by: Rebelred on December 14, 2019, 11:41:21 PM
Quote from: Brandon on December 12, 2019, 10:45:12 AM
Can anyone please tell my Sean Moore from Ballyfin not play for the county ?
Ill take no interest as a major factor fairly confident all doors opened named in divisional never showed
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 02, 2020, 11:55:52 PM
LAOIS V MEATH: Sat @ 2pm in Navan

Niall Corbet (Clonaslee)

Ruaidhri C-Fennell (Rosenallis), Gearoid Hanrahan (Mountmellick), Shane Bolger (Killeshin)
  Eoin Buggie (Stradbally), Robbie Pigott (Portarlington), Paddy O'Sullivan (Portarlington)

John O'Loughlin (Rosenallis), Rob Tyrell (Camross)

Eoin Lowry (Killeshin), Mark Barry (O'Dempsey's), Michael Keogh (St Joseph's)
Garry Comerford (Ballincollaig), Evan O'Carroll (Crettyard), Diarmuid Whelan (Ballyroan-Abbey)
Post by: on the hop on January 04, 2020, 02:40:39 PM
3-8 to 1-3 at half time and could be far worse if Meath didn't kick so many wides. Poor kickouts or lack of options on kickouts a cause of a lot of damage. This could get really ugly
Post by: on the hop on January 04, 2020, 08:33:38 PM
things learned from today,

a bit like the last few years we tried a lot of players (a few their second/third time) and a lot are not at present up to the standard. I say present, as unfortunately you can't judge them all when they are facing a near enough full strength meath team in navan coming off promotion and Super 8 games. Meath were just bigger, used the kick pass better and generally did what they wanted apart from a spurt in the third quarter. the only thing for sure is that their is a lot more of the older crew are going to have to appear in the league as we simply haven't found anything new so far. Division 2 is going to be tough.

On the game itself, we didn't start to bad in that we had a lot of ball but unfortunately no end product. meath tackled hard and forced a few turnovers and kicked direct, something we really didn't do all day , we were more inclined to constantly hand pass laterally, their wasn't much of an option inside. they got a run of scores but their forwards in particular all fouled at the sign of danger, you could call it cuteness but it was definitely a tactic. they pressed our kickout aggressively, and we messed up dreadfully going short which resulted in goals and a few missed opportunities for them. Long kickouts gave no real return. Tyrell was too raw to be on Menton and didn't appear for the second half and they punched everything aimed at JOL. the physical difference in size between their halfback line and our half forwards meant going long their was not an option. We were trapped at times and luckily avoided another few goals. they kicked a few wides which could have made it a lot worse. Bright moment was Keogh placing the ball for Evan to palm in for a goal. Evan had an all too common game with a bit of everything. got a goal, kicked some good points from frees and play, but at the same time missed a 21 yard free in front of the goals and another badly on his own side. We ended up with the keeper taking a 45 wide before Comerford slotted one. A settled, consistent freetaker still eludes us.

The second half or the third quarter in particular we started really well. Paddy o Sullivan went midfield and tracked menton. We really pressed their kickouts, on a number of occasions the whole team bar the full back was in their half leaving four meath forwards free. it was very brave and thankfully the meath keeper hadn't a long enough kickout to reach them. their was some lovely points scored by Barry in particular and we got it back to four. They got two points back which settled them and then the corner back was outmuscled on a high ball in and the on running meath forward buried it. The game died after that, their was numerous changes, the keeper saved another goal and their corner forward blazed over from 5 yards. A few other rusty warriors like Timmons, Gary Walsh and Ross came on and he kicked a nice point before JOL dunted menton under one of the last kickouts and was wisely substituted. it will be interesting to see how many of last years team are back training before the league starts.
Post by: thegreeenandgold on January 04, 2020, 11:21:56 PM
I fear for Laois, Quirke did he do any research in to what he was getting into ? Seriously a promising coach is going to get burned here.
Post by: Smurfy123 on January 04, 2020, 11:25:37 PM
What's so good about Quirke May I ask? He talks a great game let me tell you. Waffling on social media this few years what county teams ought to be doing. Talks cheap
Post by: SCFC on January 05, 2020, 12:14:53 AM
Quote from: thegreeenandgold on January 04, 2020, 11:21:56 PM
I fear for Laois, Quirke did he do any research in to what he was getting into ? Seriously a promising coach is going to get burned here.

Quote from: Smurfy123 on January 04, 2020, 11:25:37 PM
What's so good about Quirke May I ask? He talks a great game let me tell you. Waffling on social media this few years what county teams ought to be doing. Talks cheap

It's the O'Byrne Cup, for jaysus sake.
Post by: thegreeenandgold on January 05, 2020, 09:25:50 AM
I agree on it's the O Byrne Cup,  but the writing is on the wall with this one.  I'll wait till the Leagues over but would not be surprised if we don't win a game.
Post by: Chrimtain on January 05, 2020, 09:34:09 AM
Are we more concerned how this turns out for the coach or the team? On what  basis are we assuming he is a good coach?
Post by: High Fielder on January 05, 2020, 11:01:52 AM
I don't know what it is about us in Laois, but we find it hard to accept that you can't just replace good players or managers with ease. John Sugrue was good for us, and Quirke is a big gamble. Donie Kingston was good for us, and Sugrue decided Gary Walsh wasn't good enough to play in Division 3. He somehow is going to make up the shortfall now we're in Division 2. There are others and I could go on, and we also have this habit of assuming that anyone half decent will automatically make it at Intercounty level. Some of the forwards we have playing at the moment are only average club players, and in all honesty, it's ridiculous to be even opening the door for them.

It's going to be a tough year, unless Quirke is a f**king magician as well.

Post by: thegreeenandgold on January 05, 2020, 11:11:02 AM
I think that's a fair enough assessment,  Quirke walked into it with his eyes wide open which is hard to fathom.
Post by: High Fielder on January 05, 2020, 11:19:37 AM
I hope he goes on to be a massive success. I hope all those players I think are not good enough prove me wrong. Of course I do. But I hate that we seem to have to reset every couple of years and go over old ground to bring us to the point we were at two years ago. It's either the very definition of madness or flogging a dead horse.
Post by: Butch Cassidy on January 05, 2020, 11:38:06 AM
What Portlaoise lads have committed to Laois? We badly need to add pace and power into the team
Post by: Unlaoised on January 05, 2020, 03:12:19 PM
Has quirke contacted and Portlaoise players like Boyle Brody  etc I've heard he hasn't
Post by: Laoiseabu on January 05, 2020, 03:26:19 PM
I've been told Seale, Boyle and Dillon aren't committing
Post by: welcomehome on January 05, 2020, 04:07:22 PM
The only players returning to laois from portlaoise are lillis anbd benny caroll...
Post by: Giovanni on January 06, 2020, 08:56:56 AM
It's a shame if Brody has decided not to commit. Huge potential and changed the way managers think about goalkeepers.
Post by: Blow-in on January 06, 2020, 09:22:38 AM
Only one man at fault for Brody and that's Brody himself. Be under no illusions there. Unfortunately it looks like his career will peter out and he will be more talked about for his off field antics which unfortunately is a growing issue among the youth of today.
Post by: High Fielder on January 06, 2020, 09:57:41 AM
Let's not start mounting our high horses here people. Is it really that big a surprise to see lads not wanting to commit? The Intercounty scene is a messed up place right now, and there is little if any enticement for lads in Laois and many other counties to devote their precious time to football or hurling. Eddie Brennan made me laugh the other day when he spoke about those not wanting to commit. He wouldn't be seen within an asses roar of the place if he wasn't get compensated for his efforts. There's a conversation that needs to take place, and it shouldn't be about why individual players choose not to commit.

When your captain, best forward and a recent player of the year walk away, off the back of a successful season, oh and the coach too, there's something badly wrong. Could it be that Intercounty participation in places like Laois is just not that important to some lads? And can we forgive them for that. I know I can, as disappointing as it is for all of us.
Post by: SCFC on January 06, 2020, 11:27:33 AM
It would be disastrous if Brody didn't return. The next choice keepers just aren't at his level. Keogh is a great shotstopper but a bit inconsistent on kicking. Corbett I haven't seen but the reports aren't wonderful. Last year's sub keepers Osborne and Comerford are pretty average. Young Byron is prone to the odd mistake but might be the best option long term.
Post by: Laoiseabu on January 06, 2020, 12:34:31 PM
Judging by the fact there is only a couple from Portlaoise comiitting this year it looks like our team that played Meath on Saturday is very close to full strength . It always seems to be one step foward two steps back in Laois which is very frustrating .
Post by: Neutralobserver on January 06, 2020, 03:05:52 PM
laois just are not good enough, great credit to the players for committing as it takes a hugh effort but they just are not up to the standard that we all want them to be. no matter what manager we have the players just arnt there
Post by: blueandwhite1 on January 06, 2020, 04:04:01 PM
God I hope none of the lads that have committed read this page anyway. They would all walk away before a ball is kicked in anger in 2020.
Post by: High Fielder on January 06, 2020, 04:20:00 PM
Don't be so naive blueandwhite, Nothing we say makes that much difference. They only have to look around them to see that something is badly wrong. The challenge for them I suppose is to make discussions about players who have opted out redundant. Somehow I get the feeling it's all we're going to be talking about. I hope I am wrong.
Post by: thegreeenandgold on January 06, 2020, 05:08:42 PM
Brody and Dillion to return to panel in coming weeks.
Post by: Giovanni on January 06, 2020, 05:50:48 PM
Good to hear. Sometimes you'd wonder how these stories get started.......
Post by: Joeythelips on January 07, 2020, 07:45:33 AM
No middle ground on here, things are either amazing or chronic. Judging any side on their O'Byrne cup games is surely a fools errand. Longford beat Laois in the first round in 2003 and it did not turn out too bad.

Quirke will be judged on results in league and championship, there is no doubt they will be up against it in Div 2 especially with the loss of the Kingston brothers and Attride which are 3 of the teams best players but thats the way it is. Im sure the other Div 2 sides will probably see Laois as the most beatable but thats the challenge for our lads, we have earned the right to be there. The likes of Down, Westmeath, Fermanagh etc are hardly world beaters.
Post by: les Antiques on January 07, 2020, 09:32:23 AM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on January 05, 2020, 03:26:19 PM
I've been told Seale, Boyle and Dillon aren't committing

Where do these rumours get started ?  By the time the league is up and running expect to see a more than decent portlaoise contingent involved.  A few lads involved in the Obyrne cup won't be near the league panel when it's cut so I wouldn't be getting too bothered just yet over a few glorified trial games .
Hasn't Dillon been nominated as captain this year ?
Post by: thegreeenandgold on January 07, 2020, 09:40:08 AM
I think at one point returning was not on the cards for both but they have changed their minds.  It's easy enough imagine New Manager, long season etc.
Post by: Blow-in on January 09, 2020, 09:20:42 PM
Brody returned last night
Post by: Butch Cassidy on January 09, 2020, 10:03:28 PM
Is Quigley back?
Post by: BobbyBoucherJr on January 09, 2020, 10:27:42 PM
Quote from: thegreeenandgold on January 06, 2020, 05:08:42 PM
Brody and Dillion to return to panel in coming weeks.

Dillon not playing with Laois this year I heard
Post by: Joeythelips on January 10, 2020, 11:43:55 AM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2020/01/10/huge-boost-for-laois-footballers-as-portlaoise-quartet-return-to-the-fold/ (https://www.laoistoday.ie/2020/01/10/huge-boost-for-laois-footballers-as-portlaoise-quartet-return-to-the-fold/)

Great to have Healy back, a huge boost if he gets back fully fit.
Post by: portlaoisekid on January 11, 2020, 06:43:30 PM
Are the Kingstons back? Presenter on Newstalk earlier said they may be back ...
Post by: les Antiques on January 13, 2020, 10:32:11 PM
Quote from: Joeythelips on January 10, 2020, 11:43:55 AM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2020/01/10/huge-boost-for-laois-footballers-as-portlaoise-quartet-return-to-the-fold/ (https://www.laoistoday.ie/2020/01/10/huge-boost-for-laois-footballers-as-portlaoise-quartet-return-to-the-fold/)

I'm not sure and I hope I'm wrong . Healy hasn't played much football at inter county level the last few years and nowadays you just don't jump straight back into gear after been Away that long regardless of how well you look after yourself. Especially at the age of 32.
Its going to be very tough for him . I really hope I'm wrong.
Post by: SCFC on January 14, 2020, 09:21:25 AM
Quote from: les Antiques on January 13, 2020, 10:32:11 PM

I'm not sure and I hope I'm wrong . Healy hasn't played much football at inter county level the last few years and nowadays you just don't jump straight back into gear after been Away that long regardless of how well you look after yourself. Especially at the age of 32.
Healy is 33. And will turn 34 this year.
Post by: Joeythelips on January 14, 2020, 12:18:13 PM
Quote from: SCFC on January 14, 2020, 09:21:25 AM
Quote from: les Antiques on January 13, 2020, 10:32:11 PM

Healy is 33. And will turn 34 this year.

There is no doubt he is gone past his prime and coming back from serious injury is difficult but if anyone can do its him.
Post by: Unlaoised on January 14, 2020, 11:39:06 PM
Healy will be in the team that finishes the league ....Mark my words
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on January 15, 2020, 12:12:05 AM
Quote from: Unlaoised on January 14, 2020, 11:39:06 PM

He may be 33/34 but he's still one of the best options we have ar corner-back considering the losses of Attride and Dillon this year. I wonder will Saunders be brought in as well to cover that position after U-20's finish campaign. He looks physically ready for senior inter-county football.
Post by: Joeythelips on January 15, 2020, 07:41:21 AM
Quote from: Silkyskillssunshinee on January 15, 2020, 12:12:05 AM

He may be 33/34 but he's still one of the best options we have ar corner-back considering the losses of Attride and Dillon this year. I wonder will Saunders be brought in as well to cover that position after U-20's finish campaign. He looks physically ready for senior inter-county football.

He might be wasted in corner back, he could also be slightly exposed as he would surly not have the same pace he once had. He is a terrifically experienced footballer and leader and I wonder would he have more influence on a game at centre back.
Post by: SCFC on January 15, 2020, 09:47:44 AM
Quote from: Silkyskillssunshinee on January 15, 2020, 12:12:05 AM

I would think O'Flynn, Barry and Saunders will all be part of the senior team from the under 20's.
Post by: thegreeenandgold on January 15, 2020, 10:50:55 AM

You could be right but if Timmons, Healy and Munnelly are starting, we will be heading to Div 3.  All great servants but are past their prime, they genuinely would be left for dead by reasonably decent inter county players.  You could be right that they are the best we have, but if that is the case we are in big trouble. Sugrue was in the process of changing our age profile,  a return of these lads would not be a good sign.  Again this is not a slur on any of the 3 players as they have been superstars for Laois in their day but they are not getting younger & two them would have a tough time of it with injuries.