Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Minder on January 11, 2008, 01:09:25 PM

Title: OWC fury at Norn Iron shirts not being sold at City Airport
Post by: Minder on January 11, 2008, 01:09:25 PM
I was in Easons at lunchtime and i noticed the front headline on the Newsletter. Some clown from Northern Ireland Supporters Association holding a Norn Iron jersey up outside Belfast City Airport, they say they are not being sold in the shops within the airport for "political reasons".........Discuss
Title: Re: OWC fury at Norn Iron shirts not being sold at City Airport
Post by: ziggysego on January 11, 2008, 01:11:52 PM
Do we have to? lol
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 11, 2008, 01:20:21 PM
Well its a disgrace i'll never use that airport again :P
Post by: MW on January 11, 2008, 01:25:49 PM
Hmm, you do realise that the Amalgamation of NISCs and OWC are different entities?
Post by: Chrisowc on January 11, 2008, 01:29:16 PM
Quote from: MW on January 11, 2008, 01:25:49 PM
Hmm, you do realise that the Amalgamation of NISCs and OWC are different entities?

It's just themmuns.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 11, 2008, 01:30:39 PM
What a complete non story, has been all over fatboy nolans show and talkback this morning - FFS still not a mention about the attack on a GAA ground in Armagh!  >:(
Post by: Maguire01 on January 11, 2008, 01:32:34 PM
Papers in Northern Ireland tend to lack real news a lot of the time, so they either pull out some dirt on the public sector obtained under Freedom of Information, or drivel like this.
Post by: Minder on January 11, 2008, 01:35:05 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 11, 2008, 01:30:39 PM
What a complete non story, has been all over fatboy nolans show and talkback this morning - FFS still not a mention about the attack on a GAA ground in Armagh!  >:(

Well i think you will be waiting a while before you hear mention of an attack on a Gaa ground in the Newsletter. Has the Irish News reported on it?
Post by: ziggysego on January 11, 2008, 01:36:47 PM
No Chris, it's yousesun :p
Post by: Donagh on January 11, 2008, 01:37:40 PM
Heard you man, that OWC bloke that objects to Fenians having houses, on the radio about this earlier. Ridiculous these pricks are given the airtime. Much rather listen to Wendy Austin singing  :D
Post by: Chrisowc on January 11, 2008, 01:37:51 PM
sorry. ussuns ;)
Post by: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 01:48:25 PM
Quote from: Donagh on January 11, 2008, 01:37:40 PM
Heard you man, that OWC bloke that objects to Fenians having houses, on the radio about this earlier. Ridiculous these pricks are given the airtime. Much rather listen to Wendy Austin singing  :D

He objects to fenians having houses??
A bit harsh  :D
Post by: Donagh on January 11, 2008, 01:54:46 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 01:48:25 PM

He objects to fenians having houses??
A bit harsh  :D

Not just any Fenian mind, he particularly objects to OAP and elderly Fenians having houses. He loves his wee country though, so it's all okay  :o
Post by: nifan on January 11, 2008, 02:02:16 PM
Its up to a shop if they want to sell something or not - we can hardly order them to do so.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 02:05:25 PM
Quote from: nifan on January 11, 2008, 02:02:16 PM
Its up to a shop if they want to sell something or not - we can hardly order them to do so.

Was thinking that, I saw a few sports shops down here with only soccer jerseys and no GAA stuff.

Their choice, a bit silly from a business point of view but their loss.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 11, 2008, 02:06:25 PM
Some idiot then came on complaining that the Tourist Information centre in Ballymena sold New Zealand rugby jerseys!!! Jesus wept!  ::)
Post by: T Fearon on January 11, 2008, 02:12:20 PM
Someone should ask the Orangeletter to end its political and sectarian ban on GAA coverage >:(

It really is nauseating the way the media seek out and air this p***k Mc Allister's views on every subject under the sun. You'd nearly think people in general gave a fcuk about the IFA and their monocultural team.

On another point isn't it time that fans of the real Ireland team in the 6 counties (who vastly outnumber OWC) organised themselves into one consolidated and coherent group to facilitate ticket sourcing and exchange, travel to games, lobbying the FAI etc? I kmow many supporters clubs in the six counties exist already and have tenuous links with bigger clubs in the 26 counties
Post by: Chrisowc on January 11, 2008, 02:14:44 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 11, 2008, 02:12:20 PM
You'd nearly think people in general gave a fcuk about the IFA and their monocultural team.

Classic stuff Tony.
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 11, 2008, 02:16:13 PM
Is it true that sports shops in New Zealand don't stock the All-Blacks' jersey, as it is felt that you have to earn the right to wear the silver fern?

Could this now be the case with the IFA?  No longer can anyone simply walk into any sports shop and buy a replica shirt - one must earn the right to wear the jersey and actually play for one of their representative teams.

Gary McAllister must be one of the worst press officers anywhere, regardless of his bigoted views. The ANISC would be much better off with a genuinely intelligent, coherent and literate press officer.  My vote would be for MW or ChrisOWC.
Post by: Hardy on January 11, 2008, 02:20:24 PM
Someone should ask the Orangeletter to end its political and sectarian ban on GAA coverage >:(

Only someone who doesn't understand that the GAA is a non-political, non-sectarian organisation could describe a ban on GAA coverage as political and sectarian.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 02:26:39 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 11, 2008, 02:20:24 PM

Only someone who doesn't understand that the GAA is a non-political, non-sectarian organisation could describe a ban on GAA coverage as political and sectarian.

I see your point and would have to disagree Hardy. Some people see the GAA as a "republican" organisation. This is of course rubbish as they arent a political organisation.
But some would avoid giving them coverage as they believe them to be so.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 11, 2008, 02:27:19 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 11, 2008, 02:16:13 PM
Is it true that sports shops in New Zealand don't stock the All-Blacks' jersey, as it is felt that you have to earn the right to wear the silver fern?

Could this now be the case with the IFA?  No longer can anyone simply walk into any sports shop and buy a replica shirt - one must earn the right to wear the jersey and actually play for one of their representative teams.

Gary McAllister must be one of the worst press officers anywhere, regardless of his bigoted views. The ANISC would be much better off with a genuinely intelligent, coherent and literate press officer.  My vote would be for MW or ChrisOWC.

Chris would be a good vote if you wanted the thing done right (I think he may be a closet b@stard fenian though having 'outed' himself earlier in this thread ...the use of 'themmuns'  ;))

so I'd rather have Mw - as he makes me laugh more  ;)
Post by: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 02:31:15 PM
MW is ok but a bit grumpy, Evil Genius would be a good press officer but the press releases would be 100's of pages long.

I'd go for Samuel/Samantha G.
Post by: T Fearon on January 11, 2008, 02:31:41 PM
His Holiness do not waste your time trying to enlighten the Meath [Edited by Mod3],make allowances for him. Its what I normally do. He really hasn't a clue about life up here
Post by: AZOffaly on January 11, 2008, 02:32:25 PM
QuoteSomeone should ask the Orangeletter to end its political and sectarian ban on GAA coverage

I thought that was part of what you've been doing for the past million years? In between various potshots at Loyalist Emblems, Sectarian Fans and Biggoted Linfield of course :D
Post by: nifan on January 11, 2008, 02:33:16 PM
I think the Irish News said it best when it said the reason it gave little coverage to NI football is that its readership doesnt give a shite about it. The newsletter aims to its market similarly. What do people expect?
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on January 11, 2008, 02:34:06 PM
Tony, I've edited the personal abuse in your last post. Carta Buí.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 02:35:12 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 11, 2008, 02:31:41 PM
His Holiness do not waste your time trying to enlighten the Meath [Edited by Mod3],make allowances for him. Its what I normally do. He really hasn't a clue about life up here

Jaysus Tony, you have been on the recieving end of personal abuse enough times to know better.
I even stuck up for you a few times, and ended up being called gay  :-\

Incidentally, quickest edit ever from the mods, on the ball today!
Post by: Minder on January 11, 2008, 02:37:54 PM
Quote from: Gaaboardmod3 on January 11, 2008, 02:34:06 PM

Is that a yellow card for Tony or is he one of the elite that are immune from sanction?
Post by: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 02:39:35 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 11, 2008, 02:37:54 PM
Quote from: Gaaboardmod3 on January 11, 2008, 02:34:06 PM

Is that a yellow card for Tony or is he one of the elite that are immune from sanction?

Carta buí = yellow card  ;)
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on January 11, 2008, 02:45:04 PM
Tony has been added to the Warning list. There is no special treatment for anyone here. If you have a gripe with individual posts, please report them and they will be dealt with on their own merits.

Many of the long term and valued members have received warnings in the past, and have all had the good grace to accept it when given the reason. People like Hardy, Bud, Pints and now Tony are subject to the same rules as everyone else.

Reasons why bans for these users are very rare is that
a) They generally don't descend into personal abuse and name calling, even as they argue their points or wind people up.
b) If they do, they generally accept they are wrong, and refrain from repeating.

If everyone followed the same rules, no-one would get banned, apart from the 1 post 'shock and awe' type posters like we had with the F365 lads last year.

Cheers.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 02:48:33 PM
What about guys from Laois, surely they should be banned??
Its not right.
Post by: Hardy on January 11, 2008, 02:49:31 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 02:26:39 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 11, 2008, 02:20:24 PM

I see your point and would have to disagree Hardy. Some people see the GAA as a "republican" organisation. This is of course rubbish as they arent a political organisation.
But some would avoid giving them coverage as they believe them to be so.

Holiness, the action is anti-GAA, of course. But the fact that some people see the GAA as a sectarian or political organisation doesn't make it so. And so you would have to be a complete buffoon if you purported to be a GAA person and played into the hands of such bigotry by describing any anti-GAA action as sectarian and/or political. Or misinformed. And, since I would never dream of calling anybody a buffoon here Mr Fearon must be misinformed.

(Mods, please note this is not an attempt to goad [Edit - a valued contributor ... splutter ...] into another fit of girly name-calling and get him the second yellow.  I'd never dream of doing that either).

Post by: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 02:57:00 PM
I think I see what you mean, if someone doesnt show GAA for reasons they beleive to be sectarian/political, that doesnt make the GAA political / sectarian, just means the person is a bit of a p***k. Is that right?
Post by: Hardy on January 11, 2008, 02:59:20 PM
Yep.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 03:04:23 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 11, 2008, 02:59:20 PM
Yep.

Fair enough, but surely if the person does this for reasons they beleive to be sectarian, then its not unrealistic to say the reasons were sectarian, even if only in that guys mind?

But sure we are only nit picking at the moment, you pr**ck  ;)
Post by: T Fearon on January 11, 2008, 03:07:01 PM
I am appealing to the DRA and have contacted Fergal Logan already.

You cannot be deemed to be abusive when you post something which is an established and undeniable fact
Post by: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 03:08:07 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 11, 2008, 03:07:01 PM
I am appealing to the DRA and have contacted Fergal Logan already.

You cannot be deemed to be abusive when you post something which is an established and undeniable fact

Tony, when you have been booked its always risky to argue with the ref!!!
Post by: T Fearon on January 11, 2008, 03:12:12 PM
This ref is worse than Jimmy Cooney and on a par with John Gough.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 03:16:58 PM
Re personal insults, does it matter if you dont type the whole word, ie. call someone a pr*ck instead of a p***k?
Or are both treated as the same offence?
Post by: Hardy on January 11, 2008, 03:19:11 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 11, 2008, 03:07:01 PM
I am appealing

Many would dispute that.

Holiness, you're a L******.

Post by: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 03:20:55 PM
Yeah well your a d*b  >:(
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on January 11, 2008, 03:25:54 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 11, 2008, 02:16:13 PM

Exactly if you can't produce an internet video of yourself and your buddies roasting the bejasus out of some young wan you have no business buying an OWC shirt.

/Jim.
Post by: Whitehair on January 11, 2008, 04:00:26 PM
QuoteOn another point isn't it time that fans of the real Ireland team in the 6 counties (who vastly outnumber OWC) organised themselves into one consolidated and coherent group to facilitate ticket sourcing and exchange, travel to games, lobbying the FAI etc? I kmow many supporters clubs in the six counties exist already and have tenuous links with bigger clubs in the 26 counties

I'd like some sort of body set up too. From where im from "active" Ireland fans are a bit light on the ground. Ya'v more chance gettin a few fellas to go on an away trip than to Dublin for the day. Also that NI supporters club had a stall on the go in freshers week in jordanstown, seemed pretty popular and I'd regulary see people wearing what i believe is a UU NI suporters hoodie. Surely there's a market there for Ireland fans if a little assistance was provided from the FAI/Northern SC's.
Post by: nifan on January 11, 2008, 05:13:02 PM
Queens has a ROI supporters club.
Post by: never kickt a ball on January 11, 2008, 05:18:49 PM
Quote from: Gaaboardmod3 on January 11, 2008, 02:45:04 PM
Tony has been added to the Warning list.
Many of the long term and valued members have received warnings in the past,

You a long term member eh Tony?
Post by: MW on January 11, 2008, 05:41:14 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 02:05:25 PM
Quote from: nifan on January 11, 2008, 02:02:16 PM

Was thinking that, I saw a few sports shops down here with only soccer jerseys and no GAA stuff.

Their choice, a bit silly from a business point of view but their loss.

Yes indeed, they're a commercial operation and can omit to sell anything they want to really.

Mind you the airport shops aren't doing themselves any favours commercially by not selling NI football shirts among the things they think they can shift to tourists as a memento of visiting here.

Post by: MW on January 11, 2008, 05:42:56 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 11, 2008, 02:16:13 PMGary McAllister must be one of the worst press officers anywhere, regardless of his bigoted views. The ANISC would be much better off with a genuinely intelligent, coherent and literate press officer.  My vote would be for MW or ChrisOWC.

You've got me blushing now! But thanks for your kind comments!

Have done a fair bit of work with press officers in my time, I was able to spin with the best of them ;)
Post by: MW on January 11, 2008, 05:44:30 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 02:31:15 PM
MW is ok but a bit grumpy

Depends what mood you catch me in ;D
Post by: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 05:55:32 PM
Quote from: MW on January 11, 2008, 05:44:30 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 02:31:15 PM
MW is ok but a bit grumpy

Depends what mood you catch me in ;D

Indeed, still if grumpy is the worst thing you are called you are doing ok  ;)
Post by: Solomon Kane on January 11, 2008, 06:03:39 PM

Would that be the same project on the Crumlin Rd that Sinn Fein objected to? You had better trot off to Connolly Huose to check that one. ;)
Post by: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 06:08:14 PM
Ok whats the deal with mentioning Connolly house after almost every post Donagh makes.

We get it, no need to keep saying it  ;)
Post by: The Watcher Pat on January 11, 2008, 06:10:25 PM
Quote from: Whitehair on January 11, 2008, 04:00:26 PM
QuoteOn another point isn't it time that fans of the real Ireland team in the 6 counties (who vastly outnumber OWC) organised themselves into one consolidated and coherent group to facilitate ticket sourcing and exchange, travel to games, lobbying the FAI etc? I km ow many supporters clubs in the six counties exist already and have tenuous links with bigger clubs in the 26 counties

I'd like some sort of body set up too. From where I'm from "active" Ireland fans are a bit light on the ground. Ya more chance gettin a few fellas to go on an away trip than to Dublin for the day. Also that NI supporters club had a stall on the go in freshers week in jordanstown, seemed pretty popular and I'd regulary see people wearing what i believe is a UU NI suporters hoodie. Surely there's a market there for Ireland fans if a little assistance was provided from the FAI/Northern SC's.
The club I travelled down with to the Cyprus match have 20 tickets for every match but only have 20 members.They have closed the membership so they are all guaranteed to have their tickets.They run a bus down for £10 return which is good but you have to source your own tickets......I don't really want to put my name down as i feel its a bit morbid, its like waiting for some one to die to get their place >:(
Post by: stiffler on January 11, 2008, 06:30:51 PM
Is that the Derryhirk supporters club pat?
Post by: The Watcher Pat on January 11, 2008, 06:53:23 PM
Quote from: stiffler on January 11, 2008, 06:30:51 PM
Is that the Derryhirk supporters club pat?

Sure is Stiffler.......
Post by: Whitehair on January 11, 2008, 07:10:32 PM
Aye the fella who said he would put my name down for tickets is from Newry and a group of them are associated with a club from belfast or so im told. He's hopeful gaining membership as he's been running with them for a few years. Its a bit of a shame the clubs arent a bit more welcoming to new members in the current climate as the boys arent exactly setting the world alight unfortunately.
Post by: red hander on January 11, 2008, 08:13:18 PM
The Newsletter is dying on its feet.  It barely sells 20,000 monday-friday.  It has reverted to type because the only people who buy it are the utter bigots.  Have u ever read the letters page?  unbelievable.

Its biggest sale is on a saturday because it inserts its farming weekly, which after the irish news and telegraph stopped priniting a farming supplement, is the only alternative.  Ironically, the reason it sells so much on a saturday is because fenian farmers buy it to get all the news.  So, basically, fenians are keeping it afloat.

The editor Darwin Templeton actually tried to change its bent when he joined but was beaten down by the bigots in the place (Kennedy, Miller) after a few months.  He's sitting there on 80,000 a year, so why should he move until something better comes along? 

It really is a disgrace that the oldest newspaper in the world (which started out supporting the United Irishmen) has come to this... pathetic
Post by: ardmhachaabu on January 11, 2008, 08:48:51 PM
Quote from: red hander on January 11, 2008, 08:13:18 PM
The Newsletter is dying on its feet.  It barely sells 20,000 monday-friday.  It has reverted to type because the only people who buy it are the utter bigots.  Have u ever read the letters page?  unbelievable.

Its biggest sale is on a saturday because it inserts its farming weekly, which after the irish news and telegraph stopped priniting a farming supplement, is the only alternative.  Ironically, the reason it sells so much on a saturday is because fenian farmers buy it to get all the news.  So, basically, fenians are keeping it afloat.

The editor Darwin Templeton actually tried to change its bent when he joined but was beaten down by the bigots in the place (Kennedy, Miller) after a few months.  He's sitting there on 80,000 a year, so why should he move until something better comes along? 

It really is a disgrace that the oldest newspaper in the world (which started out supporting the United Irishmen) has come to this... pathetic

Andytown news is dying on its feet and has been for the past 10 years or so yet the stupid management team behind it thought they could introduce a 'republican daily' even after being told it wouldn't work... Still, I suppose as long as a few members of Sinn Fein can gain a wage from the advertising, that's all the Shinners care about ;)
Post by: Orior on January 11, 2008, 08:52:54 PM
County jersies could do a fine trade in airport shops too. But of course, its all about demand and supply and is a decision for the vendor.
Post by: Minder on January 11, 2008, 09:13:36 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on January 11, 2008, 08:48:51 PM
Quote from: red hander on January 11, 2008, 08:13:18 PM

Andytown news is dying on its feet and has been for the past 10 years or so yet the stupid management team behind it thought they could introduce a 'republican daily' even after being told it wouldn't work... Still, I suppose as long as a few members of Sinn Fein can gain a wage from the advertising, that's all the Shinners care about ;)

It is alright, it seems to target a certain demographic - unemployed, semi illiterate. I dont know anyone with an ounce of wit that takes it seriously, most stories are along the line of someone getting their window smashed by "the hoods" or getting their DLA stopped, with the obligatory photo with aggrieved party standing outside their house with a sad expression. A few months ago they ran a story about a local hood who had been knee capped last year and had his application for DLA refused, the story took the usual spin, "big bad government department", i have seen this fella in action on many occasions and he is one of the biggest anti social elements on the Falls Rd, i fired the journalist off an email advising him to exercise greater journalistic responsibility in future. I got a reply - "All feedback is welcome".
Post by: Chrisowc on January 11, 2008, 09:36:31 PM
Shucks guys what can I say :-[ I'm honoured.

Just to say I'm not involved in the Amalgamation but think they do a lot of good work even if it might not come across like that at times.

And Lynchbhoy....no closet about it  :D ;)

Post by: stiffler on January 11, 2008, 10:05:20 PM
Is there any actual sports shops in the City airport or do these norn iron supporters want them to sell the tops in the duty free beside the alcohol and aftershaves?
Post by: full back on January 11, 2008, 10:30:02 PM
Is it a case of the shop making a choice not to sell them or the arent allowed to sell them?
Post by: Aerlik on January 12, 2008, 03:39:05 AM
I suppose in awheena years time those shirts will become collectors' items, a bit like the way old CCCP jersies and other such neolithic entities went.  It's amazing listening to the stories former "soviet" citizens tell me.  Won't be long before we from the occupied 6-counties will be asked the same on our travels.
Post by: MW on January 14, 2008, 01:43:37 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on January 12, 2008, 03:39:05 AM
I suppose in awheena years time those shirts will become collectors' items, a bit like the way old CCCP jersies and other such neolithic entities went.  It's amazing listening to the stories former "soviet" citizens tell me.  Won't be long before we from the occupied 6-counties will be asked the same on our travels.

Given your track record as a fantasist, I don't think I'll be losing any sleep...
Post by: full back on January 14, 2008, 01:46:53 PM
Quote from: MW on January 14, 2008, 01:43:37 PM
I don't think I'll be losing any sleep...

Why would you lose sleep mw?
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2008, 03:33:05 PM
Dublin airport used to stock a small but nice enough range of GAA jersies but now its seems to be just the Dubs and Rebels jersies. I got my New York jersey there. But its mainly rugby and soccer jersies now, which is not too surprising given the domestic nature of the GAA opposed to the international nature of the other sports.

Although Im sure the amount of GAA shirts might pick up in the summer, but you have to wonder at what attraction a GAA jersey would have to tourists, they may not identify with the teams or even the sports for that matter.
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 14, 2008, 05:58:43 PM
Quote from: Solomon Kane on January 11, 2008, 06:03:39 PM

Would that be the same project on the Crumlin Rd that Sinn Fein objected to? You had better trot off to Connolly Huose to check that one. ;)

It would indeed, but then you knew that. One lot objected to the development because of the lack of 'social housing' contained in the plans.  The other lot objected because of the possibility of Fenians moving in. But then you probably knew that too and chose to leave it out in the hope that no-one would notice.

Still interesting that you lump McAllister and the Shinners together. Is there some sort of subliminal message being sent by you?
Post by: Zulu on January 14, 2008, 06:25:13 PM
QuoteDublin airport used to stock a small but nice enough range of GAA jersies but now its seems to be just the Dubs and Rebels jersies. I got my New York jersey there. But its mainly rugby and soccer jersies now, which is not too surprising given the domestic nature of the GAA opposed to the international nature of the other sports.

Although Im sure the amount of GAA shirts might pick up in the summer, but you have to wonder at what attraction a GAA jersey would have to tourists, they may not identify with the teams or even the sports for that matter.

I would have thought that GAA jersey's would be extremely popular with tourists because it is only here you can get them. They'd be pretty unique in any foreign country whereas a rugby or soccer jersey would be just a different version of a jersey they can get at home, in fact they could probably get the same jersey at home!
Post by: his holiness nb on January 14, 2008, 06:37:24 PM
Quote from: Zulu on January 14, 2008, 06:25:13 PM
QuoteDublin airport used to stock a small but nice enough range of GAA jersies but now its seems to be just the Dubs and Rebels jersies. I got my New York jersey there. But its mainly rugby and soccer jersies now, which is not too surprising given the domestic nature of the GAA opposed to the international nature of the other sports.

I would have thought that GAA jersey's would be extremely popular with tourists because it is only here you can get them. They'd be pretty unique in any foreign country whereas a rugby or soccer jersey would be just a different version of a jersey they can get at home, in fact they could probably get the same jersey at home!

I thought the same, could see the yanks buying loads of them.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 14, 2008, 06:45:39 PM
Just something different but kind of the same....I was up in Elverys in Fonthill today they have a large stock of England rugby jerseys and tracksuits etc  just wondered to myself if they sold many
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 14, 2008, 11:16:21 PM
QuoteI think the Irish News said it best when it said the reason it gave little coverage to NI football is that its readership doesn't give a shite about it. The newsletter aims to its market similarly. What do people expect?

In fairness NIfan, what the Irish News said was that their surveys suggested that their readership had little interest in NI matches but, despite this, they continued to cover the NI team and Irish League at a disproportionate level because their felt that they have a moral obligation to provide a wide range of sports coverage encompassing all the major sports and teams up north.

Obviously the Newsletter feel no such obligation.

On a separate point, sometimes the stuff that makes the front page of the northern papers is absolutely laughable. Ridiculously parochial.
Post by: stew on January 15, 2008, 12:21:34 AM
Quote from: full back on January 14, 2008, 01:46:53 PM
Quote from: MW on January 14, 2008, 01:43:37 PM
I don't think I'll be losing any sleep...

Why would you lose sleep mw?

Because he is like the rest of them, he trawls every site known to man that references owc in any way, shape or form, he cant help himself, he is norn iron fan. :P
Post by: his holiness nb on January 15, 2008, 09:30:44 AM
Quote from: stew on January 15, 2008, 12:21:34 AM
Because he is like the rest of them, /quote]

I just thought I'd hop in at this point and say "themmuns", before themmuns do.  ;)

Its some peoples favourite word you know!
Post by: nifan on January 15, 2008, 10:00:12 AM
hhn, at this stage you should also mention a "mask"
Post by: his holiness nb on January 15, 2008, 10:21:11 AM
Quote from: nifan on January 15, 2008, 10:00:12 AM
hhn, at this stage you should also mention a "mask"

Oh yeah the mask slipping and true colours etc  ;)
Post by: his holiness nb on January 15, 2008, 10:22:29 AM
Sure throw in "whataboutery" and "interesting, and by interesting I mean complete bollix" too!

You could have a whole new thread of posters catchprhases come to think of it.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 15, 2008, 11:03:25 AM
Quote from: Zulu on January 14, 2008, 06:25:13 PM

I think I remember something along the lines of Offaly's jersey being the second biggest replica seller (behind Dublin) a fair few years back. The explanation was that a lot of tourists were buying it as a sports jersey which also contained the Irish colours (sic).
Post by: Over the Bar on January 15, 2008, 11:05:24 AM
Waqsit George Best's last request or something?