Cover Versions.

Started by Denn Forever, May 30, 2013, 01:19:32 PM

NetNitrate

Brendan Bowyer's The Hucklebuck. So good, many think he wrote it. Didn't know myself until my wedding DJ asked in a very pompous manner if I wanted Bowyer or the original. Bowyer unless you want to cause a riot sez I.

Battleme do a great cover of Hey, Hey, My, My by Neil Young.

Bod Mor

Ravel - Pictures at an exhibition
Rachmaninov - Rhapsody on a theme of Paganini
Ó chuir mé 'mo cheann é ní stopfaidh mé choíche
Go seasfaidh mé thíos i lár Chondae Mhaigh Eo.

The Blegard

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kLtDY1VSq40    The Reverend Horton heat. Folsom city blues

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mmceSj07_fs     Rage against the machine. Maggie's Farm
Ceol,Dole agus Ol

Jaysus lads I love this stuff. Some great cover versions out there. Here are a few of my favourites:

Jolene
White Stripes - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gE3-q-aoFZI
Dolly Parton - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1plvBR02wDs

Wonderwall
Ryan Adams - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=78KHK6oE3h8
Oasis - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6hzrDeceEKc

I am the Walrus
Oasis - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=98Z2vQDqpVw
Beatles - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=42luHhrsNhg

Hand on Your Heart
Jose Gonzalez - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ucOjx01zwrE
Kylie Minogue - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FfNaRnuFbsE

Stairway to Heaven
Rodrigo & Gabriela - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vNc5o9TU0t0
Led Zeppelin - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w9TGj2jrJk8

Smalltown Boy
Andre Herman Dune - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f7V89hM-EBE
Bronski Beat - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xuz94ZIPfJk

Also check out a band called Nouvelle Vague who do some good covers. Will get a few more up when I've time.

Dougal

brian ferrys cover of jealous guy 
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hRzGzRqNj58
better than the original.

another great one,wheatus cover of little respect by erasure
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ssmEMtE9YxM

jimi hendrix had some great ones,as mentioned,like a rolling stone,all along the watch tower,always loved his cover of sgt. pepper.
johnny cash had a few great ones aswel,hurt,one.

my favourite is probably heartbeats by jose gonzalez,think it was originaly by The Knife
Fcuk you I won't do what ya tell me!!!

Quote from: Christmas Lights on May 30, 2013, 03:59:07 PM
Anything Ronan Keating covers is basically gold.

I think we can call him the king of cover.

Cat's in the cradle with Ugly kid Joe, much better than Louis Walshes version;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_hcTUuzHlvM

It seems that the most popular cover versions on here are when one artist takes a song and completely turns it around from how it is originally performed - thats cool (with the exception of Wee Wullie Nelson's "scientist", Christ thats garbage) :-X

I kinda prefer acoustic cover versions myself - either by known artists or some of the many unknown folks plying their trade on Youtube, or in bars and coffee shops around the world, particularly when the song is difficult!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MLrC7e3vSv8
Mike Masse has some quality covers on his youtube channel - this is my favourite - Toto's Africa

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IcuLjGkWWUc
Betty Davis Eyes - Handsome devil - catchy little punk version

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cdRP6yhWURE
One of the best covers of Thriller out there.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2U0NFgoNI7s
Walk off the earth, gained fame by their covers. This is my favourite - Someone like you.

Quote from: Puckoon on May 31, 2013, 04:48:13 PM
It seems that the most popular cover versions on here are when one artist takes a song and completely turns it around from how it is originally performed - thats cool (with the exception of Wee Wullie Nelson's "scientist", Christ thats garbage) :-X
hey boy.....

Quote from: theskull1 on May 31, 2013, 05:00:17 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 31, 2013, 04:48:13 PM
hey boy.....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tpKCqp9CALQ

If it was a cover I'd have appreciated the tenuous humor  ::)

I'll have to try to not let that ruin my day so.  ???

John Mayer is a talented fecker.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GmYys-ZjNrg

Jeepers Creepers

Like her or loath her Rebecca ferguson from the x factor (stay with me) does a mean cover of kings of Leon 'knocked up'
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rtcnnM8UW2w&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Also Suzanne and the magical orchestra covering 'love will tear us apart'
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sHhVydgvuAc&feature=youtube_gdata_player