Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on July 09, 2017, 07:09:02 AM

Title: Truly inspirational.
Post by: T Fearon on July 09, 2017, 07:09:02 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-40545129. Even the most hard hearted anti Catholic would have to have the utmost respect for this guy,who in his previous secular life had it all,but has given it all up to follow his true vocation.
Title: Re: Truly inspirational.
Post by: punt kick on July 09, 2017, 07:47:19 AM
The altar boys will love him!
Post by: The Subbie on July 09, 2017, 07:51:30 AM
http://mobile.abc.net.au/news/2017-06-29/cardinal-george-pell-charged-sexual-assault-offences/8547668?pfmredir=sm (http://mobile.abc.net.au/news/2017-06-29/cardinal-george-pell-charged-sexual-assault-offences/8547668?pfmredir=sm)

Even the most hard hearted anti humanitarian would struggle to have the any respect for this guy, who , in his previous religious life had it all , considered himself untouchable and is now set to face the court where he will hopefully be sentenced to an extended stay in the big house, Please God.....
Post by: BennyHarp on July 09, 2017, 08:23:54 AM
Quote from: The Subbie on July 09, 2017, 07:51:30 AM
http://mobile.abc.net.au/news/2017-06-29/cardinal-george-pell-charged-sexual-assault-offences/8547668?pfmredir=sm (http://mobile.abc.net.au/news/2017-06-29/cardinal-george-pell-charged-sexual-assault-offences/8547668?pfmredir=sm)

Even the most hard hearted anti humanitarian would struggle to have the any respect for this guy, who , in his previous religious life had it all , considered himself untouchable and is now set to face the court where he will hopefully be sentenced to an extended stay in the big house, Please God.....

Ffs, there's plenty of threads to discuss this sort of thing. It's like those knobheads on twitter who reply to Gary Lineker about shitting himself every time he posts. Oh there's a positive story about priests...I need to post an abuse story!

Fair play to Mulryne - I wish him all the best. I have been blessed to know many great priests in my life, hopefully he will have a positive influence in his new role.
Post by: smelmoth on July 09, 2017, 08:31:01 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 09, 2017, 07:09:02 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-40545129. Even the most hard hearted anti Catholic would have to have the utmost respect for this guy,who in his previous secular life had it all,but has given it all up to follow his true vocation.

He didn't give up his life as a footballer.

Possibly he gave up his accumulated wealth. I don't know. If he did where does it go and what will it be used for?

What useful things will be now do with his life?

As an individual, best of luck to him. I hope he finds happiness and that it doesn't come at a cost to others
Post by: The Subbie on July 09, 2017, 09:13:40 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 09, 2017, 08:23:54 AM

Ffs, there's plenty of threads to discuss this sort of thing. It's like those knobheads on twitter who reply to Gary Lineker about shitting himself every time he posts. Oh there's a positive story about priests...I need to post an abuse story!

Fair play to Mulryne - I wish him all the best. I have been blessed to know many great priests in my life, hopefully he will have a positive influence in his new role.

Thanks for letting me know what, where and when to post big lad, I'd be lost without you.
Seriously , Tony has been posting about the now Fr Mulryne since just before he entered the seminary.

Good to hear that you know or have known good priests in your life, unfortunately more than a few of our fellow country men and others around the world have not had as benign an experience as you .

If Tony , who has condoned the clerical sex abuse cover up time after time , is going to keep us informed at every step of the way , on Fr Mulrynes path to ordination , well then I will , if I choose to , post links to the increasing volume of Fr Mulrynes now colleagues worldwide who are been hauled before the courts to explain their nefarious activities of the past.

Now I must go and tweet to Gary Lineker that he soiled himself on the field of play, yet again Benny I am in your debt , I almost forgot I had to do that
Post by: Seany on July 09, 2017, 10:03:08 AM
Replying to Tony Fearon as if his opinion matters is like worrying about what Joe Brolly, or Katie Hopkins or Piers Morgan, or Willie Frazer say. These people need feedback to feed their egos. Responding to them or taking heed of their opinion is offering them respect which they simply don't deserve.

Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 09, 2017, 10:37:26 AM
Quote from: Seany on July 09, 2017, 10:03:08 AM
Replying to Tony Fearon as if his opinion matters is like worrying about what Joe Brolly, or Katie Hopkins or Piers Morgan, or Willie Frazer say. These people need feedback to feed their egos. Responding to them or taking heed of their opinion is offering them respect which they simply don't deserve.

Catch 22?
Post by: Orior on July 09, 2017, 12:30:45 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 09, 2017, 08:23:54 AM

+1.

Also good to see that Canon Stevenson still attends Armagh matches.
Post by: BennyCake on July 09, 2017, 12:52:03 PM
Did he have a nickname while he was in the seminary? All priests seemed to in Father Ted anyway.
Post by: T Fearon on July 09, 2017, 04:17:55 PM
Probably Roberto (after Baggio).He did study at the magnificent Irish College in Rome.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 09, 2017, 07:46:10 PM
Let's not have this thread degenerate into the crap that goes with Tony's normal threads...

Having met Philly a few times many years ago when he first signed for Utd and him playing for local GAA club before his big break, I'd hate to see Philly being tarnished with others who abused kids...
Post by: armaghniac on July 09, 2017, 07:53:58 PM
Ireland for the over 80s Priest's championship around 2060.
Post by: BennyCake on July 09, 2017, 07:59:18 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 09, 2017, 07:53:58 PM
Ireland for the over 80s Priest's championship around 2060.

Backboned by the squad that won the Over 75's competition in 2055.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 09, 2017, 08:03:12 PM
I wouldn't be a big religious person at all but i thought this was a nice story. Professional footballers with all their money can let themselves lose the run of any sense of morals or decency but this guy's faith survived all that withhim now dedicating his life to it so personally i think that is to be commended.

I have no problem with people of faith if they live their lives to the standards they set. When they don't , as is very apparent every bloody day in the north, that is when it is annoying.
Post by: ONeill on July 09, 2017, 08:46:16 PM
I remember being at a talk he gave a year or two ago. He spoke of how his team mates would be celebrating a win or whatever but he just felt a massive hole in his life. The only thing that filled it was religion.

If that's your fancy, good luck to him.

Tony fills his hole with a bargain bucket and a picture of Pat Jennings.
Post by: T Fearon on July 09, 2017, 09:33:42 PM
This thread once again the extent of the pure and irrational hatred of Catholicism,sadly shared by a disproportionate number of posters on this board
Post by: LCohen on July 09, 2017, 09:56:35 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 09, 2017, 09:33:42 PM
This thread once again the extent of the pure and irrational hatred of Catholicism,sadly shared by a disproportionate number of posters on this board

You planned to post that from the very outset didn't you?

Sad man
Post by: 5 Sams on July 09, 2017, 10:13:18 PM
Good luck to him joining a crew like that...let the lads get married and a lot of problems will be solved. Speaks volumes when one their senior management team is up in front of the beak in Australia on child abuse charges. Sensible intelligent people can see through this shite...blinkered fenians cant.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 10, 2017, 12:19:58 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 09, 2017, 07:46:10 PM
Let's not have this thread degenerate into the crap that goes with Tony's normal threads...

Having met Philly a few times many years ago when he first signed for Utd and him playing for local GAA club before his big break, I'd hate to see Philly being tarnished with others who abused kids...

I hate seeing the vast majority of priests who don't and haven't abused children tarnished with others who have. Surely you feel the same way about them and not just one who you kind of know personally
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 10, 2017, 07:43:37 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 10, 2017, 12:19:58 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 09, 2017, 07:46:10 PM

I hate seeing the vast majority of priests who don't and haven't abused children tarnished with others who have. Surely you feel the same way about them and not just one who you kind of know personally

Whether I know the man or met the lad, be he a priest, minister, care worker or teacher is irrelevant... my point is these threads tend to turn out the same way.
Post by: T Fearon on July 10, 2017, 07:51:35 AM
While it is sad to see the extent of irrational anti -Catholicism here and in general,the story of Philip Mulryne is heartwarming and indeed inspirational.The transformation in his life path is evidence of divine intervention,of that I have no doubt.
Post by: seafoid on July 10, 2017, 08:12:26 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 10, 2017, 07:51:35 AM
While it is sad to see the extent of irrational anti -Catholicism here and in general,the story of Philip Mulryne is heartwarming and indeed inspirational.The transformation in his life path is evidence of divine intervention,of that I have no doubt.
What if trees are God?
Or should we stick with Bronze Age theology?
Post by: The Subbie on July 10, 2017, 09:29:09 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 10, 2017, 07:51:35 AM

And you genuinely have no idea why ? It's not anti Catholicism per se Tony , far from it, I know lots of practising Catholics and apart from sometimes questioning their sanity genuflecting before the sky fairy I do not in any way hate them, even you Tony ! 
Post by: T Fearon on July 10, 2017, 09:38:17 AM
Anti Catholicism is not necessarily hatred,and definitely not hatred of ordinary catholic people.It is the irrational extreme aversion  to a faith group based on,I suspect mistakes made by the Church in the past,particularly on its mishandling of child abuse allegations by a relatively few perverted monsters who wormed their way into clerical office,coupled with the contemporary view that God doesn't exist,and those who believe he does,are deluded,unintelligent etc.

Is it too much to expect that people could at least tolerate and respect the views of others that they don't agree with.
Post by: The Subbie on July 10, 2017, 09:54:18 AM
Tolerance wasn't exactly a trait the venerated Roman Catholic Church displayed too often in Ireland in the past but now it is expected in return ?
Having pity on otherwise sensible people that worship the sky father is surely akin to most values espoused in Christian parables is it not ?
Post by: Dougal Maguire on July 10, 2017, 10:01:48 AM
Quote from: LCohen on July 09, 2017, 09:56:35 PM

Sad man
Got it in one. However I think dangerously pathetic, rather than sad, would be a better description of him. He doesn't give a toss about Philip because if he did he'd never have started the thread in the way he did.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 10, 2017, 11:08:41 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on July 10, 2017, 10:01:48 AM

Sad man
Got it in one. However I think dangerously pathetic, rather than sad, would be a better description of him. He doesn't give a toss about Philip because if he did he'd never have started the thread in the way he did.

which is why these threads are started in the first place.... surely the Mods should have these threads deleted when they go the way the normally do? Hate giving oxygen to it but thats the skill of a troll
Post by: LCohen on July 10, 2017, 10:45:22 PM

Sad man

Tony is there to get a reaction.

Even knowing that I give him that reaction from time to time. Why? Because he peddles a hatred that has to be challenged. He hates people an he hates logic. Logic drives him mad. He hides behind a dogma and a fiction whilst at the time displaying a selective knowledge and understanding of that dogma. Dogma is all or nothing and Tony can't even do that.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 10, 2017, 10:53:23 PM
I hope Tony follows this inspiration and goes away and becomes a priest. Otherwise he's a bit of a hypocrite really isn't he?
Post by: red hander on July 10, 2017, 11:37:24 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 09, 2017, 10:13:18 PM
Good luck to him joining a crew like that...let the lads get married and a lot of problems will be solved. Speaks volumes when one their senior management team is up in front of the beak in Australia on child abuse charges. Sensible intelligent people can see through this shite...blinkered fenians cant.

Hopefully that's changing. The number of vocations is way down despite the hype over a decidely average footballer joining their ranks. If there's any justice it'll lead to the death of the church and its malign influence, and they've only themselves to blame with their disgraceful behaviour in schools, children's homes and all the rest.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 11, 2017, 12:04:17 AM
Quote from: red hander on July 10, 2017, 11:37:24 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 09, 2017, 10:13:18 PM

Hopefully that's changing. The number of vocations is way down despite the hype over a decidely average footballer joining their ranks. If there's any justice it'll lead to the death of the church and its malign influence, and they've only themselves to blame with their disgraceful behaviour in schools, children's homes and all the rest.

I'd say there is absolutely no hype over it at all to be honest! You think that Tony puts a post on a GAA forum where 200 odd people look in or post is creating hype!??

Wonder was Tony at Oliver Plunkett's tonight?
Post by: T Fearon on July 11, 2017, 06:52:16 AM
As a supposedly "unintelligent blinkered fenian" I started this thread because I believe a professional footballer who wore the jersey of Man Utd (if he only wore it once he can still always say he played for Man Utd),giving all that up is truly inspirational,in an era when vocations are at an all time low.I maintain that this is evidence of divine intervention,and who knows,the inevitable  publicity concerning an ex Man Utd player becoming a priest (not hype),and Fr Philip appearing on BBC NI to tell his story,may well inspire others to consider whether they have vocations.

Unlike this thread,I have witnessed no derogatory comments from non catholic NI supporters on other forums,about Fr Mulryne's ordination.On the contrary they have been gracious with good wishes
Post by: mrdeeds on July 11, 2017, 07:59:15 AM
Devine intervention. Yeah sure.
Post by: The Subbie on July 11, 2017, 08:03:50 AM
I haven't seen any evidence of anyone being anything but complimentary to the now Fr Mulryne on this thread.
More fiction Tony.
Post by: seafoid on July 11, 2017, 09:20:58 AM
If vocations are at an all time low it must be part of God''s plan. God must also have planned the Holocaust.  I wonder what those poor Jews and Gypsies did to deserve it.
Post by: The Subbie on July 11, 2017, 10:33:08 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 11, 2017, 09:20:58 AM
If vocations are at an all time low it must be part of God''s plan. God must also have planned the Holocaust.  I wonder what those poor Jews and Gypsies did to deserve it.

We should just accept Gods Will & listen to some gospel music and prepare our souls for repentance or whatever or something something Mary and the little ass
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=teEsNn7YuKI (https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=teEsNn7YuKI)
Post by: Dougal Maguire on July 11, 2017, 10:33:47 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 11, 2017, 06:52:16 AM
As a supposedly "unintelligent blinkered fenian" I started this thread because I believe a professional footballer who wore the jersey of Man Utd (if he only wore it once he can still always say he played for Man Utd),giving all that up is truly inspirational,in an era when vocations are at an all time low.I maintain that this is evidence of divine intervention,and who knows,the inevitable  publicity concerning an ex Man Utd player becoming a priest (not hype),and Fr Philip appearing on BBC NI to tell his story,may well inspire others to consider whether they have vocations.

Unlike this thread,I have witnessed no derogatory comments from non catholic NI supporters on other forums,about Fr Mulryne's ordination.On the contrary they have been gracious with good wishes
I'd be interested to know what you posted on those other forums. Like for instance had you posted something here like - Congrats to ex Utd player Philip Mulryne who had just been ordained a priest and taken a vow of poverty. We wish him well - You'd most likely have got a completely different reaction, but that wasn't your goal so you worded it in a way that would provoke the reaction you wanted. As a matter of interest does your wife or any people who care about you know what you're posting on the Internet?  I think you need help
Post by: T Fearon on July 11, 2017, 10:53:36 AM
So describing the unusual scenario of a former Man Utd becoming a priest as inspirational is provocative? How and why?
Post by: Taylor on July 11, 2017, 11:06:18 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on July 11, 2017, 10:33:47 AM

I'd be interested to know what you posted on those other forums. Like for instance had you posted something here like - Congrats to ex Utd player Philip Mulryne who had just been ordained a priest and taken a vow of poverty. We wish him well - You'd most likely have got a completely different reaction, but that wasn't your goal so you worded it in a way that would provoke the reaction you wanted. As a matter of interest does your wife or any people who care about you know what you're posting on the Internet?  I think you need help

And what qualifies you to say that?
Post by: BennyHarp on July 11, 2017, 11:33:00 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on July 11, 2017, 10:33:47 AM

Oh ffs, would you ever catch a grip of yourself. If Tony is after the reaction that you suggest, then its people like you that give him that reaction. Personally I don't think there's anything wrong with the title or opening post - its the usual posters with the usual reactions, complaining that Tony is looking for the usual reactions which I find most tedious. It must be tiring being Tony and all those who prey on every word he posts.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on July 11, 2017, 11:56:37 AM
Not at all. He's a complete narcissist who needs this type of reaction. Mind you there's quite a bit of irony in your post too if you think about it.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 11, 2017, 01:32:38 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 11, 2017, 10:53:36 AM
So describing the unusual scenario of a former Man Utd becoming a priest as inspirational is provocative? How and why?

Anyone becoming a priest is unusual.
Post by: armaghniac on July 11, 2017, 03:36:43 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 11, 2017, 01:32:38 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 11, 2017, 10:53:36 AM

Anyone becoming a priest is unusual.

So is anyone becoming a professional soccer player.
Post by: omaghjoe on July 11, 2017, 04:09:56 PM
Quote from: LCohen on July 10, 2017, 10:45:22 PM

Sad man

Even knowing that I give him that reaction from time to time. Why? Because he peddles a hatred that has to be challenged. He hates people an he hates logic. Logic drives him mad. He hides behind a dogma and a fiction whilst at the time displaying a selective knowledge and understanding of that dogma. Dogma is all or nothing and Tony can't even do that.

Your only fond of logic yourself until it challenges your own beliefs/dogma if memory serves me rightly. And dont try and kid yourself (or us) that your not trying to get a reaction yourself with your own posts.
Post by: T Fearon on July 11, 2017, 04:10:41 PM
Ok it is particularly unusual for an ex Man Utd player to become a priest.
Post by: Oraisteach on July 11, 2017, 04:17:26 PM
There is nothing inspirational whatsoever about a former soccer player becoming a priest.  Unusual, yes, inspirational no.  What may or may not be inspirational is how he acts as a priest. 
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 11, 2017, 05:52:58 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on July 11, 2017, 04:17:26 PM
There is nothing inspirational whatsoever about a former soccer player becoming a priest.  Unusual, yes, inspirational no.  What may or may not be inspirational is how he acts as a priest.

Exactly.

What is interesting is that Philip Mulryne moved from becoming part of the mainstream church to belong to an separate order.  He started out as a student in the Irish College in Rome sponsored by the bishop of the Down and Connor diocese and then last year he decided to become a Dominican friar and was ordained last week by the Dominican archbishop.

Post by: T Fearon on July 11, 2017, 05:55:52 PM
It is inspirational when a man rejects a lifestyle of fame,vast wealth etc to serve God.
Post by: omaghjoe on July 11, 2017, 06:24:19 PM
Inspiration is subjective lads, no point stating it as fact or arguing what other people feel as you can only take them at their word.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 11, 2017, 06:31:29 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on July 11, 2017, 04:17:26 PM
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 11, 2017, 06:45:05 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 11, 2017, 05:55:52 PM
It is inspirational when a man rejects a lifestyle of fame,vast wealth etc to serve God.

Has he taken a vow of poverty?  If not there is nothing mutually exclusive about being a Catholic priest and having wealth nor seeking, enjoying fame.  There are many examples of those who have entered the priesthood and retained/enjoyed a life of wealth and fame (as opposed to infamy).
Post by: Newbridge Exile on July 11, 2017, 08:42:32 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on July 11, 2017, 06:45:05 PM

Has he taken a vow of poverty?  If not there is nothing mutually exclusive about being a Catholic priest and having wealth nor seeking, enjoying fame.  There are many examples of those who have entered the priesthood and retained/enjoyed a life of wealth and fame (as opposed to infamy).
Our local priest definitely now buying in the vow of poverty that's for sure, charging £25 now to sign a passport photograph !!
Post by: T Fearon on July 11, 2017, 08:50:20 PM
Fr Mulryne as a Dominican has taken a vow of poverty.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 11, 2017, 09:06:06 PM
It's been a while since a priest last managed a county team. Fr Mulryne has the attributes to be the next.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 12, 2017, 12:18:12 AM
Inspirational is finding a cure for cancer! A lad becoming a priest in Ireland wouldn't lift an eyebrow....he's not the first professional person to become a priest and give up on previous wealth...I've also yet to see a persist living on the streets so they do alright, and relationships aren't for everyone
Post by: T Fearon on July 12, 2017, 06:38:08 AM
 Why would they live on the streets? That would be simply a gimmick.The only people who live on the streets are those who choose to do so.At a conference I was at,not so long ago,the Chief Executive of Belfast City Centre Management explained that every single homeless person in Belfast is offered a bed in suitable sheltered accommodation every night,but many reject the offer.
Post by: LCohen on July 12, 2017, 07:17:57 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on July 11, 2017, 04:09:56 PM
Quote from: LCohen on July 10, 2017, 10:45:22 PM

Sad man

Your only fond of logic yourself until it challenges your own beliefs/dogma if memory serves me rightly. And dont try and kid yourself (or us) that your not trying to get a reaction yourself with your own posts.

Care to post some evidence or am I being too logical there?
Post by: LCohen on July 12, 2017, 07:22:13 AM

Genuine question if he had walked down the streets of Manchester or any town in NI last week would he have been recognised?

Has he got great wealth and would sort of current earnings had he?
Post by: magpie seanie on July 12, 2017, 09:25:39 AM
Quote from: LCohen on July 12, 2017, 07:22:13 AM

Genuine question if he had walked down the streets of Manchester or any town in NI last week would he have been recognised?

Has he got great wealth and would sort of current earnings had he?

I don't think he's giving up any great wealth but like Trump, Tony makes up his own facts to suit his argument.
Post by: T Fearon on July 12, 2017, 10:52:58 AM
Er he once earned £600k per annum
Post by: imtommygunn on July 12, 2017, 10:59:48 AM
That wasn't last week...
Post by: dclane on July 12, 2017, 11:00:42 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 12, 2017, 10:52:58 AM
Er he once earned £600k per annum
Why aren't you giving away all this vast wealth of yours considering you are the world's greatest Catholic.?
You could even just donate all the considerably amounts of money you will make from being a landlord. Or you could  donate the property to some homeless charity.
Post by: The Subbie on July 13, 2017, 07:03:22 AM
It could be better all round if Tony joined the Cistercians and took a vow of silence.