Concerned Gaels

Started by give her dixie, June 20, 2018, 02:24:51 AM

Quote from: stephenite on June 24, 2018, 04:44:44 AM
Quote from: southtyronegael on June 23, 2018, 01:15:58 PM
Fair play to you John I hope clones is a sea of Palestine flags tomorrow. I'm sure the people of Palestine will see the pictures through social media and it will give them a great boost that they won't have to fight their fight alone.

It will make f**k all difference to the oppressed people of Palestine.

This seems to be a vanity project for a 1 individual, hitching his cause to the GAA.

John, you are a misguided fool at best, and a dangerous f**ker at worst, I think you should be ashamed of yourself

That's a disgusting post.

He's a lad from Ireland who's been on humanitarian convoys that relieve the suffering of the Palestinians and draws attention to their plight. Disagreeing with his position is one thing but that personal abuse is completely out of order and you should apologise for it,

Quote from: stephenite on June 24, 2018, 08:47:07 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 24, 2018, 08:19:57 AM
If all you achieve is to annoy the shite outta stephenite, I'm behind you.
Best of luck.

I'm not annoyed, mildly amused if anything.

Gives them great comfort indeed .... ::)

Aye. Sure what would you know about it anyway

Quote from: trileacman on June 24, 2018, 11:21:18 AM
Fair play to you John I hope clones is a sea of Palestine flags tomorrow. I'm sure the people of Palestine will see the pictures through social media and it will give them a great boost that they won't have to fight their fight alone.

This seems to be a vanity project for a 1 individual, hitching his cause to the GAA.

John, you are a misguided fool at best, and a dangerous f**ker at worst, I think you should be ashamed of yourself

That's a disgusting post.

He's a lad from Ireland who's been on humanitarian convoys that relieve the suffering of the Palestinians and draws attention to their plight. Disagreeing with his position is one thing but that personal abuse is completely out of order and you should apologise for it,
Agree with that. Hopefully nice and quickly also, please.

give her dixie

The experience in Clones yesterday was fantastic. Not only did dozens of flags fly proudly at the game, but the streets of Clones had flags everywhere.

I was along with a good friend from Gaza who has been living here for a long time. He was the proudest person in Clones yesterday as he saw his flag flying everywhere. To see his pride at the sight of the flags was a joy to behold, and to be in among the Fermanagh and Donegal supporters flying the flag was extra special.

Not only did this photo make it into today's Irish News, but also in the Daily Record in Scotland on an article about Arlene going to the game !!

Viva Palestina

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/uk-world-news/dup-leader-arlene-foster-attends-12782961

http://www.irishnews.com/paywall/tsb/irishnews/irishnews/irishnews//news/2018/06/25/news/palestinian-flags-on-display-during-ulster-final-as-gaa-appears-to-soften-its-stance-1364063/content.html

next stop, September 10, for number 4......

https://electronicintifada.net/blogs/david-cronin/we-must-challenge-israeli-mindset-says-rugby-star-turned-blockade-buster
"It was very interesting to notice the attitude of the Israelis towards us. They couldn't comprehend why were doing this. What we were doing challenges their mindset and that is why it is such an effective tactic. They treat the Palestinians as if they are subhuman. They don't think Palestinians deserve to live in a normal society, to be able to import and export and fish and farm. It's great to be able to meet that mindset head on."
Trevor Hogan

Just like the French on Bothar na Sop in 1798, Stephenite. Jaysus Chrisht. 

PadraicHenryPearse

In our thousands in our millions....

Snapchap

Quote from: gallsman on June 23, 2018, 02:49:15 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 23, 2018, 02:39:26 PM
Quote from: gallsman on June 23, 2018, 02:00:51 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on June 20, 2018, 02:27:43 PM
Quote from: Beffs on June 20, 2018, 02:07:14 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on June 20, 2018, 01:39:20 PM
While those who chose B are living in a fantasy land. Sport always has been and always will be political to some degree, but when it becomes as much or more about humanitarianism as bout politics, then people have a right, or a responsibility to speak up at every available opportunity. It was sporting boycotts (amongst other boycotts) which contributed hugely to the ending of apartheid in South Africa. Here is an opportunity to once again be on the right side of history, instead of hiding behind 'keep the politics out of it' bull.

No one is stopping you speaking out. No one is stopping you organizing a boycott of Israeli products or sporting events. Knock yourself out.

Well the Gardaí were confiscating Palestine flags in Navan, so....

Have you any evidence of that whatsoever?

Pretty sure there's a video of the gardai taking the Palestine flag off the guy

He was asked to take it down as it was obstructing people trying to view the game. Was it subsequently held onto?

The man was arrested before the match even begun. Video widely shared online shows the incident with the Gardaí and not a player on the field. What view was being obstructed?

Snapchap

Quote from: gallsman on June 23, 2018, 02:00:51 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on June 20, 2018, 02:27:43 PM
Quote from: Beffs on June 20, 2018, 02:07:14 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on June 20, 2018, 01:39:20 PM
While those who chose B are living in a fantasy land. Sport always has been and always will be political to some degree, but when it becomes as much or more about humanitarianism as bout politics, then people have a right, or a responsibility to speak up at every available opportunity. It was sporting boycotts (amongst other boycotts) which contributed hugely to the ending of apartheid in South Africa. Here is an opportunity to once again be on the right side of history, instead of hiding behind 'keep the politics out of it' bull.

No one is stopping you speaking out. No one is stopping you organizing a boycott of Israeli products or sporting events. Knock yourself out.

Well the Gardaí were confiscating Palestine flags in Navan, so....

Have you any evidence of that whatsoever?

Apart from having witnessed it with my own eyes? And I wasn't the only one to witness it:

https://twitter.com/seamusdonnelly/status/1005586670039728128

https://twitter.com/ColmYorke/status/1005474438282964994

https://twitter.com/JJHurson/status/1006125039836696582

https://twitter.com/PaulMcGuckin1/status/1006440333792743424

They have previous form for this too:
https://twitter.com/Revolution_IRL/status/496268228495417345

One very noticeable thing about the Palestine flags on sunday was that quite a number of them were continually waved throughout the National Anthem when everyone else was standing to attention.

inthrough

The Palestinian people have more than enough to put up with without being pulled into the small petty world that is Northern Irelan politics.

Fellas can witter on here about justice but this is nothing more than an extension of the republican/loyalist feud which sees one side waving Palestinian flags while the other waves flags from the State of Israel. The irony of slagging loyalists about "flegs" while getting all het up about this is priceless.

Lads ye're fooling no one with this nonsense & outside committed republicans you have no support for this crap inside GAA grounds,

Quote from: Keyser soze on June 26, 2018, 09:57:23 AM
One very noticeable thing about the Palestine flags on sunday was that quite a number of them were continually waved throughout the National Anthem when everyone else was standing to attention.
Well the mindset of the sort of gurrier that goes to matches to use it to push their political agenda with flying such flags is such that they'll fly it throughout, with no consideration of those around or behind them. The Tyrone guy in Navan would have been no different.

Snapchap

Quote from: inthrough on June 26, 2018, 10:10:30 AM
The Palestinian people have more than enough to put up with without being pulled into the small petty world that is Northern Irelan politics.

Fellas can witter on here about justice but this is nothing more than an extension of the republican/loyalist feud which sees one side waving Palestinian flags while the other waves flags from the State of Israel. The irony of slagging loyalists about "flegs" while getting all het up about this is priceless.

Lads ye're fooling no one with this nonsense & outside committed republicans you have no support for this crap inside GAA grounds,

If you are so naive as to believe that the motivation for this is anything remotely to do with six county politics, then you need to go away and have a good lie down to yourself. Your implication appears to be that we in the six counties are a bunch of sectarians and everything we do is framed by sectarianism. I could quite as easily throw an insult back at you and suggest that the folk of the 26 counties a are utterly spineless, have no principles beyond wealth accumulation, and find the very notion of people having publically expressing genuine empathy and solidarity for the plight of others as just incomprehensible. Do you think it is a mere coincidence that Palestinian flags at matches (particularly in Ulster) become more prevalent in the aftermath of an escalation of Israeli violence?

P.s. There was a petition handed in to Ulster GAA last week with the signatures of over 1,200 GAA members in support of the right to fly the Palestinian flag. Are you suggesting that they are all "committed republicans" and that that's the only reason they signed the petition? Away and cop yourself on.

Stand for nothing, and you'll fall for anything.

Snapchap

Quote from: Owenmoresider on June 26, 2018, 10:16:38 AM
Quote from: Keyser soze on June 26, 2018, 09:57:23 AM
Well the mindset of the sort of gurrier that goes to matches to use it to push their political agenda with flying such flags is such that they'll fly it throughout, with no consideration of those around or behind them. The Tyrone guy in Navan would have been no different.

The Tyrone guy who had his flag confiscated for 'obstructing people's views of the game' before the match had even begun, and before the players had even run onto the pitch? That guy?

Support for Palestine and an end to Israeli apartheid is humanitarian, not political. Just as was the case with supporting an end to apartheid in South Africa. No doubt you were running around then, lambasting anyone who dared oppose the S.African regime and accusing them of just "pushing a political agenda" too  ::)

inthrough

Quote from: Snapchap on June 26, 2018, 10:24:24 AM

If you are so naive as to believe that the motivation for this is anything remotely to do with six county politics, then you need to go away and have a good lie down to yourself. Your implication appears to be that we in the six counties are a bunch of sectarians and everything we do is framed by sectarianism. I could quite as easily throw an insult back at you and suggest that the folk of the 26 counties a are utterly spineless, have no principles beyond wealth accumulation, and find the very notion of people having publically expressing genuine empathy and solidarity for the plight of others as just incomprehensible. Do you think it is a mere coincidence that Palestinian flags at matches (particularly in Ulster) become more prevalent in the aftermath of an escalation of Israeli violence?

P.s. There was a petition handed in to Ulster GAA last week with the signatures of over 1,200 GAA members in support of the right to fly the Palestinian flag. Are you suggesting that they are all "committed republicans" and that that's the only reason they signed the petition? Away and cop yourself on.

You obviously know nothing about history and especially the history of Irish Republicanism as anti Semite & indeed pro Nazi during WW2. I'm not going to bother rhyming it out for you here as I have better things to be doing but here's a link.

https://www.frontpagemag.com/fpm/63297/allied-anti-semitism-irish-connection-rob-harris

Face facts, you are being used here by people who couldn't care less about the Palestinians & whose only aim is to politicise the GAA. Where are the flags for the Rohyinga Muslims, where are the flags for all the oppressed peoples in Africa & Central America?

This has nothing to do with compassion for Palestinians & everything to do with hatred of Israel & the Jewish people in general & the vast majority of Irish people are not so stupid as to be taken in by it.

Snapchap

Quote from: inthrough on June 26, 2018, 10:51:57 AM
Quote from: Snapchap on June 26, 2018, 10:24:24 AM

You obviously know nothing about history and especially the history of Irish Republicanism as anti Semite & indeed pro Nazi during WW2. I'm not going to bother rhyming it out for you here as I have better things to be doing but here's a link.

https://www.frontpagemag.com/fpm/63297/allied-anti-semitism-irish-connection-rob-harris

Face facts, you are being used here by people who couldn't care less about the Palestinians & whose only aim is to politicise the GAA. Where are the flags for the Rohyinga Muslims, where are the flags for all the oppressed peoples in Africa & Central America?

This has nothing to do with compassion for Palestinians & everything to do with hatred of Israel & the Jewish people in general & the vast majority of Irish people are not so stupid as to be taken in by it.

So it's impossible to oppose the inhumane treatment of the Palestinian people for reasons other than sectarian hatred of Jews? Again away and cop yourself on you absolute f***ing tube.