GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: BallyhaiseMan on June 25, 2011, 11:23:02 PM

Title: Val Andrews/Terry Hyland OUT
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 25, 2011, 11:23:02 PM
dont let the door hit ye on the way out lads  >:(
Title: Re: Val Andrews/Terry Hyland OUT
Post by: Blowitupref on June 26, 2011, 01:58:40 AM
Would it not be better to let Terry Hyland go it alone like he did with the Under 21 team?
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 26, 2011, 10:04:22 AM
It's hard to know who is running the show in there. All I know is that the only team in Ireland we would beat is kilkenny. Back when Andrews started his 1st appointment was Stephen king as selector, a guy who everyone who knows him or played for him, knows he is totally useless. I see no future for Cavan with this set up.
Post by: tommysmith on June 26, 2011, 11:46:44 AM
I dont like to say this but its time to pay someone who has a track record big bucks for two years and see if anything can be done.

If that doesnt work just forget about the whole thing  :-[
Post by: Aaron Boone on June 26, 2011, 12:14:22 PM
Unlike a lot of counties, Cavan do have some youth coming through.
Post by: Dougal on June 26, 2011, 12:22:40 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on June 26, 2011, 12:14:22 PM

thats true,and they'll be getting a good lesson today on how to drink pints and impress the ladies cos their county footballers
Post by: full moon on June 26, 2011, 03:13:57 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 26, 2011, 01:58:40 AM
Would it not be better to let Terry Hyland go it alone like he did with the Under 21 team?
No way.
Keep him as U21 manager and a senior selector at most.
It's his level, this joint manager stuff is just bollocks.

As for Val Andrews and Stephen King, if they arent out the door we will continue to go backwards.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 26, 2011, 03:34:41 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 26, 2011, 03:18:02 PM
Here we go again with Cavan....

I know what you are saying and I'm conscious that more change is not good but we have to consider that we have somehow managed to go back even further than last year. The only team we would beat is kilkenny and that is just not good enough.
Post by: Breffni_Yank on June 26, 2011, 04:40:11 PM
They either go or they improve their backroom team. Simple as.

I heard Stephen King was not Val's choice at all and was he was literally forced upon him by the County Board.

From what I can see its pretty obvious that Anthony Forde and Ronan Carolan were the brains behind the u21 set-up.

We got hammered at home to LONGFORD for christ sake.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 26, 2011, 04:45:37 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 26, 2011, 03:18:02 PM
Here we go again with Cavan....
HS
We are after appointing 3 shite management teams in a row, Keoghan,Carr and now this duo.
We are not just complaining for the sake of it.
None of us think we have the players to beat the very best like Cork and Kerry,but we have the players to be far better than what we have shown this year and over the last number of years.
Our last decent manager McElkennon got us to the last 12 in 2005,with a set of players not as talented as the grouping we have on the scene right now.
We are just above rock bottom,and we will hit it next year with relegation to Division 4 if this duo is allowed to stay on.
Post by: Breffni_Yank on June 26, 2011, 04:46:18 PM
Quote from: Dougal on June 26, 2011, 12:22:40 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on June 26, 2011, 12:14:22 PM

thats true,and they'll be getting a good lesson today on how to drink pints and impress the ladies cos their county footballers

Come on now Dougal. A ride never hurt any man ;D
Post by: Breffni_Yank on June 26, 2011, 06:05:21 PM
Love listening to McGeeney after games. I think someone with a character like his is the only way we will see our situation improve. Seems to be no discipline with out lads at all...Kildare had plenty of problems with player commitment and that in previous years but he seems to have them on the straight and narrow now and well organsed.

I'm sure he wouldn't come within an arses roar of the Cavan team though...
Post by: onefaircounty on June 26, 2011, 06:08:17 PM
Quote from: Breffni_Yank on June 26, 2011, 06:05:21 PM
Love listening to McGeeney after games. I think someone with a character like his is the only way we will see our situation improve. Seems to be no discipline with out lads at all...Kildare had plenty of problems with player commitment and that in previous years but he seems to have them on the straight and narrow now and well organsed.

But maybe his assistant would.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 26, 2011, 06:15:00 PM
Quote from: onefaircounty on June 26, 2011, 06:08:17 PM

Aidan O Rourke???
Id like to see that happen,but its too sensible of a suggestion for the Cavan County Board.
Post by: Breffni_Yank on June 26, 2011, 06:22:26 PM
Im at the stage where I have given up on the senior team.

Being honest I do think we have young talented men in there and the fact we actually won something this year gives us some hope to cling to. The likes of McEnroe and McKiernan will improve in time but we are so desperately lacking in strong characters to guide them.

I think the players need someone like McGeeney to look up to. Kildare at the minute are maximizing their potential and that's all I would like to see Cavan doing..
Post by: onefaircounty on June 27, 2011, 01:29:32 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on June 26, 2011, 06:15:00 PM
Quote from: onefaircounty on June 26, 2011, 06:08:17 PM

Aidan O Rourke???
Id like to see that happen,but its too sensible of a suggestion for the Cavan County Board.

Possibly, i'm sure he'll want to branch out on his own at some stage and could be a  good match.
Post by: liihb on June 27, 2011, 01:45:41 PM
Why was Andrews brought back anyway? Since Tralee IT where he was successful, he's never made any fist of any team he's been involved with, be it Cavan, Louth, Dub minors?

Comes across as a nice guy alright, but can't understand what Cavan were doing re-appointing him
Post by: Breffni_Yank on June 27, 2011, 02:01:46 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 27, 2011, 01:55:41 PM
No harm but I think that anybody who takes this job on needs his head examined.

They will just take all the blame for not succeeding with a team of bad-average players.

There is no way O'Rourke will want anything to do with this, possibly the worst job in Gaelic Football.

I'd agree with you. Don't know why anyone in their right mind woud take the job.

You have to be bonkers or really fancy a challenge!
Post by: seafoid on June 27, 2011, 02:08:07 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 27, 2011, 01:55:41 PM
possibly the worst job in Gaelic Football.

Fermanagh, Monaghan and Sligo would give Cavan a run for their money. 
Post by: unitedireland on June 27, 2011, 03:00:20 PM
Now there better than our lot. I listened alot to Andrews recently he's a dub but seems to know abit. Hes a sports leature also so should have a notion
Post by: seafoid on June 27, 2011, 03:32:45 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 27, 2011, 03:11:45 PM
Quote from: unitedireland on June 27, 2011, 03:00:20 PM
Now there better than our lot. I listened alot to Andrews recently he's a dub but seems to know abit. Hes a sports leature also so should have a notion
Yes, they are better than your players that will play under O'Neill but not if you had your full hand, imo.

I would rather be a new manager coming into Fermanagh than Cavan.

Same for Monaghan or Sligo.

Cavan have those under 21s and Sligo have Sligo Rovers. 
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 27, 2011, 03:50:03 PM
Yes, they are better than your players that will play under O'Neill but not if you had your full hand, imo.

Thats debateable whether a full strength Fermanagh side are better than us, HS
Cavan are 2-1 in the last 3 meetings in league and championship since the summer of 2009.
The reality is however,Fermanaghs problem will be fixed when O Neil gets discarded with,
When their full contingent return under their new management,they will walk Division 4 and be incontention for a Division 3 title within 2 years and be much improved in championship.
I have a terrible feeling that this Cavan management duo will be kept on,and they will drag us down to where the Fermanagh  C team  are right now, into the lower ends of Division 4.
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 27, 2011, 04:19:28 PM
well the Cavan co board along with kildare were the richest at one stage, possibly still are.
The Dublin 15 Cavan association used to raise huge funds for the cavan county side and I'd say they are still around doing the same.
While it was mentioned earlier on this year or late last year as a joke, I think in reality, Mick O'Dwyer could be the ideal man to 'cure the blues'
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 27, 2011, 04:23:35 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 27, 2011, 04:10:27 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on June 27, 2011, 03:50:03 PM

Thats debateable whether a full strength Fermanagh side are better than us, HS
Cavan are 2-1 in the last 3 meetings in league and championship since the summer of 2009.
The reality is however,Fermanaghs problem will be fixed when O Neil gets discarded with,
When their full contingent return under their new management,they will walk Division 4 and be incontention for a Division 3 title within 2 years and be much improved in championship.
I have a terrible feeling that this Cavan management duo will be kept on,and they will drag us down to where the Fermanagh  C team  are right now, into the lower ends of Division 4.
I totally agree with the 1st part regarding Fermanagh, which was my point. It would be much easier to come in there as a manager.

As regards yourselves, I reckon that yis are headed for the shit heap no matter who is at the helm.

Our last decent manager Marty McElkennon got us to the last 12 in 2005,
Since he left in 2006, we have gotten progressively worse each year.
Its no suprise that our management teams have gotten worse each year aswell,
Keoghan-Carr-now this duo.
We are presently about Number 28-29 in the country when it comes to football.
We arent talking about All Irelands or Ulster Titles here,just improvement over this shambles right now.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 27, 2011, 04:24:24 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 27, 2011, 04:19:28 PM
well the Cavan co board along with kildare were the richest at one stage, possibly still are.
The Dublin 15 Cavan association used to raise huge funds for the cavan county side and I'd say they are still around doing the same.
While it was mentioned earlier on this year or late last year as a joke, I think in reality, Mick O'Dwyer could be the ideal man to 'cure the blues'

We would take Micko in a heartbeat.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 27, 2011, 04:36:57 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 27, 2011, 04:29:37 PM
Keoghan was a strange one. If I remember right, there were just loads of rumours about pub lock ins etc. He did, however, have yis playing at the level yis were at, imo. He got Cavan promoted and you beat us handy in the championship before he was binned. Is that right?

Then Carr was to be the saviour.....
Then Andrews...

Who next?

Remember that 2005 was a long time ago.
You're correct HS, we did get promotion under Keoghan.
We beat Cork in Division 2,and were competitive in every game,albeit we got relegated back to Division 3.
The problem with Keoghans regime as you have alluded to were the drinking binges and the pub lock-ins.
He actually had good backroom teams both years
Year 1. Paul Grimley/Julie Davis
Year 2. Conal Sheridan
If he could have controlled those squad problems with regards to drink,well who knows he might still be manager.
Post by: Orangemac on June 27, 2011, 10:36:17 PM
Can the problem in Cavan continually be the manager? They may have had some poor ones but 1 Ulster title in 40 odd years suggests a greter problem.

I know Monaghan have slipped back a bit this year but up untl 5/6 years ago there would have been very little between Cavan & Monaghan. Monaghan seemed to go up a few levels whether it was management or underage structures bearing fruit.

Are the 25 best players in Monaghan better than the 25 best in Cavan?

There does seem to be a bit of a 1970s culture about Cavan football,it doesn't seem to have entered the 21st century. There's still a bit of a "We have 5 Sams" attitude in some quarters.

The u21 team from this year have a lot of potential if they can stick at it. A big name outside appointment is needed to shake Cavan up a bit.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 27, 2011, 11:21:44 PM
What Cavan need is a high profile manager with proven track record, the type of guy whose name alone will inspire people to want to play for him. The problem is that such candidates are rare and would have no interest in managing us. My big fear is that our crop of young talent coming through will be destroyed by the current set up. To keep continuity with the u21 panel I would kick king out as selector and bring Anthony forde or Ronan carolan in. I'd put Hyland with the u21s as manager and maybe senior selector. Andrews has been a total failure this year so I'd let him go and look for a new manager right now. Due to our lowly status we would really be looking at a manager starting out but someone with a knowledge of what it takes to get fit, strong and organised. An inspirational figure like Brian dooher, peter canavan etc is what I would be looking. But we need to do well at minor now to show such a candidate that there is talent coming through.
Post by: Breffni_Yank on June 27, 2011, 11:51:44 PM
I say we focus all our attentions on the Hurling for a few years...
Post by: samwin08 on June 28, 2011, 12:22:19 PM
Tommy Carr was a disaster for Cavan football. he turfed out Mc Cabe and a few other useful players.  I am sure Hyland and Andrews would appreciate a few senior players at this moment.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 28, 2011, 12:38:09 PM
Quote from: samwin08 on June 28, 2011, 12:22:19 PM
Tommy Carr was a disaster for Cavan football. he turfed out Mc Cabe and a few other useful players.  I am sure Hyland and Andrews would appreciate a few senior players at this moment.

He turfed out McCabe after he went to a f**king rugby match instead of a challenge that he had organised sometime after the league and before the championship. Of course, maybe stuff was so bad in the camp then that McCabe just said to hell with it. Who knows? McCabe then got a serious injury and was out for a long while so no hope of him coming back to play. He is now joint manager of the minor team.
Post by: Denn Forever on June 28, 2011, 12:44:13 PM
The one constant thing about Cavan Intercounty football is that the soundtrack never changes :(.  Makes it easier to follow I suppose.
Post by: ardchieftain on June 28, 2011, 06:47:54 PM
Cavan should get paddy o'rourke