GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: never kickt a ball on February 20, 2007, 10:54:13 PM

Title: Cork V Tyrone NFL
Post by: never kickt a ball on February 20, 2007, 10:54:13 PM
Morgan facing ban
Billy Morgan
20 February 2007
Cork's senior football team may have to take on Tyrone in this Saturday night's NFL clash with Tyrone without the assistance of team-manager Billy Morgan on the sidelines.
Morgan looks set to be banished to the stands at Pairc Ui Rinn after apparently being reported by referee Syl Doyle following Cork's NFL defeat to Donegal in the first round of the competition.
It is unclear what offence Morgan will be charged with but he has sought an appeal hearing with the Central Hearings Committee for this Thursday night.
http://www.hoganstand.com/Cork/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=73093
Title: Re: Cork V Tyrone NFL
Post by: ziggysego on February 20, 2007, 10:58:27 PM
Is this game anywhere on TV?
Post by: never kickt a ball on February 20, 2007, 10:59:33 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 20, 2007, 10:58:27 PM
Setanta apparently Ziggy.
Post by: ziggysego on February 20, 2007, 11:35:29 PM
Quote from: never kickt a ball on February 20, 2007, 10:59:33 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 20, 2007, 10:58:27 PM
Setanta apparently Ziggy.

Going to be a bit of a wrestling match then. My brother-in-law will want to watch the Welsh Rugby match.
Post by: Star Spangler on February 21, 2007, 09:29:23 AM
Have you not got Sky+??
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on February 21, 2007, 10:21:21 AM
In the battle between my two favourite teams - a draw is the only acceptable result ;). Tyrone to win with a bit to spare.
Post by: ziggysego on February 21, 2007, 12:32:29 PM
Quote from: Star Spangler on February 21, 2007, 09:29:23 AM
Have you not got Sky+??

Don't even have Setanta, never mind Sky +.

I'm meeting a mate and my brother-in-law in London for the weekend. Watching the games in a pub over there in Essex. Showing all three games. Ireland -v- England, France -v- Wales and Cork -v- Tyrone. I know which two I want to watch....
Post by: tyroneman on February 21, 2007, 12:46:39 PM
Are Masters etc still suspended?
Post by: timmykelleher on February 21, 2007, 01:38:51 PM
Masters isn't suspended. Same for Nicholas Murphy.
They got 2 yellows versus Donegal and were back on the pitch against Kerry.

Noel O'Leary was the only one to see the line against the kingdom.
Post by: uselessfootballer on February 21, 2007, 01:58:54 PM
Reckon now is the time for Tyrone to go easy on the auld experimenting, should be fielding as strong a team as is available for the next few games to see where we can take the League campagin to.
Hopefully with Dooher and Jordan getting a fair amount of game time in the 2nd half
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 21, 2007, 02:10:14 PM
Can anyone advise on a pub near Pairc Ui Rinn to watch the Rugby??
Post by: cusack on February 21, 2007, 02:53:52 PM
try The Orchard on Ballinlough Rd, or Silver Key on top of Ballinlough Rd (near Cork Con.)
Post by: realredhandfan on February 21, 2007, 05:06:27 PM
agh cusack are you a langer my friend?
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 22, 2007, 09:13:26 AM
Cheers Cussack, I'll look out for them!
Post by: never kickt a ball on February 22, 2007, 04:29:16 PM
Trio in the frame for O'Neill County clash
22 February 2007
Cork senior football boss Billy Morgan has drafted in Owen Sexton, Dermot Hurley and Kevin McMahon into the Rebel County line-up to face Tyrone in the NFL this Satuday night at Pairc Ui Rinn.
The trio come in for Eoin Cadogan, ALan Cronin and Daniel Goulding all of whom figured for Cork last time out against Kerry.

Cork (NFL v Tyrone); P O'Shea; E Sexton, M Shiels, K O'Connor; N O'Leary, G Spillane, A Lynch; D Hurley, D Kavanagh; S O'Brien, N Murphy, K McMahon; J Masters, D O'Connor, K O'Sullivan.

http://www.hoganstand.com/Cork/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=73161
Post by: cusack on February 22, 2007, 05:00:06 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on February 21, 2007, 05:06:27 PM
agh cusack are you a langer my friend?

yes.  i was one of the few rebels in omagh this time last year.  presume ye'll bring a bigger crew to pairc ui rinn?
Post by: realredhandfan on February 22, 2007, 05:03:50 PM
I thought you were a tyrone man  ;) I know who goes by the same name.  Worjk on Saturday so unable to make it.  Cork is the only county in Ireland Ive never been in.  Gutted that a great weekend is spoiled again by work.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on February 22, 2007, 08:51:34 PM
Tyrone v Cork: P McConnell, D Carlin, C McGinley, M McGee, D Harte, C Gormley, J McMahon, G Cavlan, S Cavanagh, R Mulgrew, O Mulligan, C Cavanagh, C McCullagh, S O?Neill, R Mellon.
Post by: never kickt a ball on February 22, 2007, 09:00:23 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on February 22, 2007, 08:51:34 PM
Tyrone v Cork: P McConnell, D Carlin, C McGinley, M McGee, D Harte, C Gormley, J McMahon, G Cavlan, S Cavanagh, R Mulgrew, O Mulligan, C Cavanagh, C McCullagh, S O?Neill, R Mellon.
Cavlan and O'Neill in for Tyrone 

Gerard Cavlan's return to the Tyrone starting line-up is one of five changes from the win over Fermanagh for Saturday's NFL trip to Cork.
Cavlan replaces the suspended Kevin Hughes at midfield while Stephen O'Neill takes over from Enda McGinley.
In the Red Hand defence, Cormac McGinley, Mickey McGee and Davy Harte displace Peter Donnelly, Damien McCaul and Brendan Boggs.
Brian Dooher will be includes in the Tyrone substitutes. Cavlan was not selected for the opening two games against Dublin and Fermanagh but he has produced excellent form in the recent McKenna Cup games against Monaghan and Donegal. Hughes is facing a suspension after picking up double yellow cards in successive games but it's understood that Tyrone are appealing his dismissal in last weekend's McKennna Cup final. Tyrone have maximum points from their opening two games against Dublin and Fermanagh.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/6388199.stm

I'm assuming that's Justin McMahon at number 7
Post by: SuperSub on February 22, 2007, 09:05:26 PM
Don't see much change for us out of this one,Tyrone are my tip to go all the way this year
Post by: ONeill on February 22, 2007, 09:06:54 PM
Probably the best side available selected, given the suspensions to Hughes and McMenamin. Plenty of options with Carlin, Harte, Mulgrew and McCullagh down the one side with Mellon, Cavanagh, McMahon and McGee down the other. Dooher still not match fit to start it seems. Some still have severe reservations at seeing Mugsy at CHF but I've enjoyed watching him there. He's working hard though could see Cavlan getting in his road there. Wouldn't be surprised if Mellon turns in a fine performance this weekend.

What are the Corcaigh corner forwards like? Carlin and McGee will be well suited to the conventional small nippy type. Joe McMahon wing back? Not so sure he'll remain there.
Post by: never kickt a ball on February 22, 2007, 09:09:09 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 22, 2007, 09:06:54 PM
Joe McMahon wing back? Not so sure he'll remain there.
Think it might be Justin McMahon.
Post by: ONeill on February 22, 2007, 09:11:14 PM
That would make sense saying Joe's mobility would be seriously restricted!!

My gaffe.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 22, 2007, 09:21:16 PM
Yep, Justin Mc Mahon indeed, Joe's still crocked I believe. An interesting selection, and just about as strong as we have for what promises to be a very tough test. See Billy Morgan has called up Owen Sexton, Dermot Hurley and Kevin McMahon.
Post by: never kickt a ball on February 22, 2007, 09:26:40 PM
Cork (NFL v Tyrone);

P O'Shea;

E Sexton/R Mellon,               M Shiels/S O'Neill,        K O'Conno/C McCullaghr;

N O'Leary/C Cavanagh,         G Spillane/Mugsy,         A Lynch/Mulgrew;

D Hurley/G Cavlan,           D Kavanagh/S Cavanagh;

S O'Brien/Jus McMahon,        N Murphy/ C Gormley,         K McMahon/D Harte;

J Masters/M McGee,        D O'Conno/C McGinley,        K O'Sullivan/D Carlin

P McConnell,

Cork fans forgive me for using red for Tyrone

Tyrone Subs: J Curran, C Donnelly, P Donnelly, B Dooher, N Gormley, Kelvin Hughes, P Jordan, E McGinley, T McGuigan, P McGurk, M Murphy, M Penrose, P Quinn, P Rouse, D Treanor

Post by: Fuzzman on February 23, 2007, 01:54:13 PM
Yeah looks a strong enough team but Cork away is always a tough game.

Is the squad cut now
Did none of the McCarrons make the squad.

Surprised Enda didnt make it in before Mellon too.
Whats your man Treanor like? What age, height is he?
Post by: realredhandfan on February 23, 2007, 03:56:38 PM
Is that the working squad? Did Mc caul not make it?
Post by: supersarsfields on February 23, 2007, 04:17:51 PM
Is that your guy Treanor from Dungannon?
Post by: na cleirigh on February 23, 2007, 04:22:10 PM
tis indeed declan trainor. would love to see him get on. unbelievable engine in him!
Post by: phpearse on February 23, 2007, 04:37:31 PM
Tyrone squad heading down tonite and staying tomorrow nite also. I'm sure that would cost a pretty penny. 30 players + 1 manager + 10 others for 2 nights = a hefty price. Think the Kerry match is away also. No wonder it costs near half a million to run a county team.

Decent team on paper but will find the going tough in what always looks to be a very heavy pitch in Cork and against a Cork team that badly needs the points. A draw wouldn't be the worst result in the world.
Post by: ExiledGael on February 23, 2007, 04:48:19 PM
Anyone know when Ardboe are playing in the Ulster SFL, apparently Brian McGuigan will be playing his first game back before joining hte Tyrone squad on their trip.
They are playing some Monaghan team
Post by: Kerry Mike on February 23, 2007, 04:49:15 PM
C'mon Cork, no that does not sound great.

C'mon Tyrone, ah jaysus thats worse.

Feck it who cares. C'mon the referee.
Post by: timmykelleher on February 23, 2007, 05:03:41 PM
Surely Sexton will play as a half back swapping with Lynch?

I have my doubts about Hurley in midfield. For a big man he never seems to win much clean ball. Also he wouldn't be the most mobile of midfielders and might struggle against a team that plays the short passing game. Of course these views are based on a very limited viewing. Can any of the new Cork posters confirm this?

Oneill asked about the corner forwards... Were you not watching Cork's march to the McGrath cup/ Munster double last year? Masters likes to be handed the ball. Neither having the physique or the speed to win his own ball. When he gets it, if he is given an inch on his left he can swing it over from the right hand corner flag. Can not kick with the right. Entrusted with the free taking, he can have good days but 45s are outside his range.

Kevin O'Sullivan has been knocking on the door for a while now racking up scores for his club and the Cork juniors. He's big enough but seems to struggle at this level.
Post by: reddgnhand on February 23, 2007, 05:07:45 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on February 23, 2007, 04:49:15 PM
C'mon Cork, no that does not sound great.

C'mon Tyrone, ah jaysus thats worse.

Feck it who cares. C'mon the referee.

Anything coming out of a Kerry mouth doesnt sound great. ;) 
Post by: ONeill on February 23, 2007, 11:50:38 PM
Quote from: timmykelleher on February 23, 2007, 05:03:41 PM

Oneill asked about the corner forwards... Were you not watching Cork's march to the McGrath cup/ Munster double last year? Masters likes to be handed the ball. Neither having the physique or the speed to win his own ball. When he gets it, if he is given an inch on his left he can swing it over from the right hand corner flag. Can not kick with the right. Entrusted with the free taking, he can have good days but 45s are outside his range.

Kevin O'Sullivan has been knocking on the door for a while now racking up scores for his club and the Cork juniors. He's big enough but seems to struggle at this level.

Yes, but I was wondering how the rebels themselves saw Masters. He did seem to be a man on form for the majority of last year, esp against Kerry, until it came to the crunch. Is it true he was courted by the American footbal?
Post by: loughshore lad on February 24, 2007, 01:57:48 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on February 23, 2007, 04:48:19 PM
Anyone know when Ardboe are playing in the Ulster SFL, apparently Brian McGuigan will be playing his first game back before joining hte Tyrone squad on their trip.
They are playing some Monaghan team

Brian played for 15 minutes last night and looked pretty sharp - hopefully this will see him gradually return to action
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 07:38:14 PM
2nd minute point from Cavanagh after Crork gol chance blocked.
5th min. Lynch point
1-1
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on February 24, 2007, 07:39:55 PM
Anybody got a radio link to the game?
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 07:41:03 PM
2-1 Cork 8 mins -  Masters free
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 07:42:33 PM
Tyrone's should have had a goal. Mulligan shot saved.
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 07:44:51 PM
2-2 12mins. O'Neill 45
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 07:51:21 PM
Poor game on poor surface. Scrappy, loads of 'turn-overs' and wides. Still 2-2
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 07:53:42 PM
O'Sullivan fist-passed point after McConnel save 3-2 21 mins
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 07:55:35 PM
4-2 Masters 23mins. Shields doing well on SON.
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 07:59:38 PM
5-2 26 mins Spillane.
Mulgrew getting through some good work in dooher type role, but a few dodgy passes.
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 08:00:47 PM
28mins.  SON great left foot point from tight angle. A needed score.
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 08:01:42 PM
28mins K O'Sullivan 6-3 Some good passing by Masters
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 08:02:24 PM
29 mins McCullagh point from SON knock-down. Game picking up a wee bit now.
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 08:03:41 PM
30mins E McGinley on for Colm Cavanagh.
Post by: ONeill on February 24, 2007, 08:07:45 PM
"Ger Spillane has Mulligan in his pocket"
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 08:10:05 PM
34mins Masters missed free 6-4 at HT. Cork should be ahead by a lot more. MH will need to change up mid-field. Expect Hughes on for 2nd period, with a few others maybe.
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on February 24, 2007, 08:13:53 PM
Wher are you getting your updates? Thanks for posting them by the way.
Post by: tyroneboi on February 24, 2007, 08:19:13 PM
i assume from Setanta or from the Q101.2 live streaming on their website
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 08:27:09 PM
Yeah watching on setanta.com
Score of the game from Masters 38mins 7-4
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 08:28:09 PM
SON 38mins, good catch and score. 7-5
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 08:31:31 PM
42 mins Easy free missed by Mulligan, shouldn't have got it anyway.
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 08:32:39 PM
Noel O'Leary 1st yellow of game. SON misses 21 yard free in from of goals!!!!!!!!
Post by: ONeill on February 24, 2007, 08:34:28 PM
Shocking wide from O'Neill
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 08:35:54 PM
Masters good score. 8-5
McGee down, hate to say it but a new CB would do no harm.
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 08:40:13 PM
Peter Donnelly on for McGee, be careful what you wish for!
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 08:42:18 PM
Mulligan red card. High and late. Deserved. 17 mins to go.
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 08:44:11 PM
54 mins another Master's point. 9-5 Looks over.
Post by: tyroneboi on February 24, 2007, 08:45:11 PM
winning start to the season looks to be over for Tyrone  >:(
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 08:46:43 PM
Hughes on for Calvan
Paul Quinn on for injured Carlin.
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 08:48:09 PM
10-5 O'Sullivan 58mins.
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 08:49:11 PM
11-5 Masters 59mins. Getting a wee bit embarrassing
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 08:50:18 PM
12-5 O'Connor, set up by Masters who was being admired by Donnelly from about 5 yards away.
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 08:51:43 PM
13-5 O'Sullivan. 4th point for him 62mins gone.
Post by: ONeill on February 24, 2007, 08:53:01 PM
A stark reality pill.....
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 08:53:11 PM
14-5 McMahon, good score. One good thing is that there is only 7 mins left.
Post by: Flirtyflan on February 24, 2007, 08:54:23 PM
 :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 08:54:48 PM
Rouse on for S Cavanagh 65mins.
Post by: ONeill on February 24, 2007, 08:56:28 PM
That'll rid any complacency, especially with the fans. Tyrone's worst performance since.......?
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 08:56:42 PM
Mulgrew 14-6. The come back is on. NOT.
Post by: Flirtyflan on February 24, 2007, 08:57:04 PM
Things are pickin up Mulgrew scores   :)
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 08:58:11 PM
14-7 Mellon free 68mins
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2007, 09:01:20 PM
Thankfully Setanta have put me out of my misery by pulling their broadband coverage a minute early. Typical of those wankers.
Post by: Armagh Exile on February 24, 2007, 09:03:52 PM
Final Score
Cork 0-15
Tyrone 0-07
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on February 24, 2007, 09:04:49 PM
Thanks for the updates tyssam5. New it was going to be a very tough fixture for Tyrone but the manner of defeat I never saw it coming.
Post by: ONeill on February 24, 2007, 09:05:08 PM
Finished 15-7.

Full credit to the rebels. All of Tyrone's big names underperformed and were bettered by the dircet opponents. Spillane taught Mulligan a thing or two. Cavanagh nullified.
Post by: Mickeys beard on February 24, 2007, 09:12:20 PM
Of course, there is also the equatorial pull to take into account down that far in the country.
Post by: ONeill on February 24, 2007, 09:22:37 PM
That too.

I'll say it again - If Dooher, Jordan, McGuigan, McMenamin etc (our 2005 team) are missing, it'll be no different to last year against full strength county teams with decent pedigree.

All this strong bench talk is crap. Maybe 1-2 outside of the 15 mainstays.

Hughes should've been on earlier. Move Ger to CHF. Put Mulligan beside O'Neill.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on February 24, 2007, 09:26:35 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 24, 2007, 09:22:37 PM
That too.

I'll say it again - If Dooher, Jordan, McGuigan, McMenamin etc (our 2005 team) are missing, it'll be no different to last year against full strength county teams with decent pedigree.

I would say that the bench is going to be stronger this year because passengers like Devlin, Meenan, Bradley etc will be replaced by up and coming players with talent and a desire to prove themselves. Youre right though, we will need the big guns fit to make a real challenge for Sam. Would also prefer to see Mugsy in the full forward line but he wont be playing CHF all season anyway.

Wee reality check at this point might be no bad thing anyway.
Post by: tyroneboi on February 24, 2007, 09:34:15 PM
In both 2003 and 2005 there have been demoralizing defeats in the league so i dont think the fans should get too downhearted. Its never easy to go down to Cork, never mind on a wet February saturday night. Apparently McGuigan played for Ardboe last night so he will come into consideration again soon and jordan is regaining match fitness as well. Dooher should also make a big difference when he returns to the team. not all doom and gloom and im sure Mickey Harte will be reminding them of this. Perhaps he could use the remainder of the league as a way of introducing new talent i.e. giving them a start rather than 10 mins at the end of games. By this im thinking of paul rouse, tommy mcguigan and paul quinn amongst others. full back is a big problem in my opinion and think they best option is joe mcmahon. im confident that Mickey will get it rite and Sam will be coming back to Tyrone come September.
Post by: ONeill on February 24, 2007, 09:41:31 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on February 24, 2007, 09:34:15 PM
In both 2003 and 2005 there have been demoralizing defeats in the league

Can't say this is true. Lost to Kerry by 7 in last league game of 2005 but we'd still qualified for semis. No heavy defeats at all in 2003.

I can't recall a hammering like this.
Post by: ClosetotheHarte on February 24, 2007, 09:49:12 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 24, 2007, 09:22:37 PM
That too.

This was just a bad day at the office in my view. A very, very bad one admittedly. Just as we should not have got carried away with the seven wins in a row in Jan/Feb we should not be getting too despondent after this beating. This result will do us no lasting harm at this time of the season, and might even do more good than harm.
I still believe we have more depth than we've ever had in the panel and tonight doesn't change that for me. Tonight's beating was not because we haven't got players as good as, or better than, Cork's, it was because almost our entire team chose (for unknown reasons) to play as bad as they can possibly play all together on the one night. And Cork saw an opportunity which they grabbed with both hands. Fair play to them, they played football that I haven't seen them doing for some time.
I can't explain why so many were so poor for Tyrone, and why the team as a whole was so inept, but I'm not going to get too bothered about it until I see how we react to this result against Donegal and others. Another display like tonight's would be a lot more sobering than tonight's was.
Dooher, Jordan, McGuigan, McMenamin and McMahon will all make a difference when they come back but the way things went tonight maybe even those five wouldn't have been able to turn our display around this time.
Tonight was (hopefully) a one off. Our players tonight can, and will, play a lot better than this in future and maybe we will be able to look back on this match as some sort of turning point.
Post by: tyroneman on February 24, 2007, 09:56:09 PM
First off - well done to Cork. To a man were better, sharper and hungrier.

Agree that a reality check is no bad thing at this stage. Armagh for example were no great shakes in 2002 / 2003 in the NFL from what I remember and ended up at HQ in Sep.

I would put this down to a very bad day at the office. Cavaln / Sean was never a MF to my mind. Both of them need a grafter to help out and do the dirty work, can't have both together against a good team.

Don;t think we'll see another game like that for poor passing / support etc from Tyrone. The basics deserted them altogether and all the big players were poor. Do not agree that we have no bench. One bad game and the hyperbole starts. Many of those playing tonight will be in with a shout come the Championship and many on the bench will put pressure on for places.

It was a bad night. Simple as. Everything went right for Cork. Everything went wrong for us. For O'Neill to suggest we are back to square one is a massive overeaction.

Couple of things are for sure though - McGinley is NOT the answer at FB. Mugsy is NOT a CHF. McCullogh deserves a 15 spot and even though things didn;lt come off - Mulgrew is shaping up well. Put in a power of work at least in first half especially as outlet for the backs.

We'll be thereabouts come Aug / Sep
Post by: ClosetotheHarte on February 24, 2007, 09:56:20 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 24, 2007, 09:41:31 PM

Can't say this is true. Lost to Kerry by 7 in last league game of 2005 but we'd still qualified for semis. No heavy defeats at all in 2003.

You're right O'Neill. This was a hammering that was hard to watch near the end. Reminded me of the Derry game last year a bit. But things are different this year and we'll surely bounce back. We've had 2 wins out of 3 in the League and 7 out of 8 so far this year. Definitely not a crisis.
By the way we hadn't qualified for the League semis that time when we lost to Kerry. It took a late, late Mark Harte free to give us the 7-point defeat that got us through. We took a fair beating that day as well and it was maybe a good thing. Now is the time of year to be on the receiving end of a defeat like tonight's, especially with a 2-week break to recover from it.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on February 24, 2007, 09:56:38 PM
Someone mentioned that Tyrone drove to Cork this morning. This would explain a lot, as they looked wrecked.

Credit to Cork though. Masters and Shieds especially.
Post by: ClosetotheHarte on February 24, 2007, 10:02:34 PM
Norf, I heard they left for Cork yesterday and were stopping somewhere along the road. They did look very tired though, no spark at all in their play, especially last 20. I think there could be an emergency team meeting called at their hotel tonight, wherever that may be!
Post by: ONeill on February 24, 2007, 10:08:38 PM
No, not having it. Heads need to roll.

I think when the team returns they should be rounded up in a field and made listen to Hugo's country hour on Radio Ulster.

Square one is a nice position.

McMenamin, McMahon, McGee/Carlin,
Harte, Gormley, Jordan,
Hughes, Cavanagh,
Dooher, McGuigan, McGinley,
Mellon, O'Neill, Mulligan

That's our best Championship team.

So, who do we trust in the heat of the SFC? Mulgrew - not convinced the hype is justified. Someone here said put in alot of defensive work - many players including Penrose could do that. We need Mulgrew doing what he's good at. McCullagh - inconsistent. Colm Cavanagh - too early. Tommy McGuigan - no. Cormac McGinley - 2 poor performances in a row.

Open for slating. By the way, this is not a reaction. If you look over my previous match posts I've always said it. Winning handsomely in January/Feb tells you zilch. (the other side of coin dictates that losing heavily should too)

I still think Tyrone are in top 2, but only when 12 of the above 14 are available.
Post by: tyroneboi on February 24, 2007, 10:16:22 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 24, 2007, 09:41:31 PM

I didnt mean in terms of how much they were beat by but if i remember correctly we did get beat by Roscommon in the first league game in 2003 and that was pretty demoralizing in that it was Mickey Harte's first league game in charge. all im sayin is put this into perspective, its not the end of the world and this defeat wont matter when it comes to championship time. Mickey will get it right.
Post by: Orior on February 24, 2007, 10:28:28 PM
Tyrone beaten? Ach dear. Never mind. Sure its all the fault of those colleges for playing Sigerson cup games. Ban all third level edumacation for Mickey.
Post by: ClosetotheHarte on February 24, 2007, 10:30:28 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 24, 2007, 10:08:38 PM
No, not having it. Heads need to roll.

I think when the team returns they should be rounded up in a field and made listen to Hugo's country hour on Radio Ulster.

Square one is a nice position.

Harte, Gormley, Jordan,
Hughes, Cavanagh,

That's our best Championship team.

So, who do we trust in the heat of the SFC? Mulgrew - not convinced the hype is justified. Someone here said put in alot of defensive work - many players including Penrose could do that. We need Mulgrew doing what he's good at. McCullagh - inconsistent. Colm Cavanagh - too early. Tommy McGuigan - no. Cormac McGinley - 2 poor performances in a row.

Open for slating. By the way, this is not a reaction. If you look over my previous match posts I've always said it. Winning handsomely in January/Feb tells you zilch. (the other side of coin dictates that losing heavily should too)

I still think Tyrone are in top 2, but only when 12 of the above 14 are available.

O'Neill, that team at its best could win another all Ireland but the one I wouldn't have on it right now is Mellon. Has come nowhere near his 05 final display and disappoints me every time. He's capable of far better but there isn't even a hint of good form in his play at the minute. A squad player at best these days, unless he clicks sometime soon.
My forward line would be Dooher, McGuigan, Mulgrew, McGinley, O'Neill, Mulligan, with Cavo, McCullagh, Mellon and maybe Cavanagh Junior as the main back up men. O'Neill, I totally disagree with you on Mulgrew, a superb talent improving rapidly.
Hughes and Cavanagh is the No 1 midfield pairing - Sean really does need Hub with him.
You've mentioned seven defenders there and I'd have no problem with any of them. I also still think McMahon Junior can come good in the half back line with experience and McCaul also looks to be a player with lots to offer in the future, plus McGinley can also do a good job on a certain type of full forward.
That's 22 I've mentioned - add in the two keepers and we have a strong 24, plus there are others outside of that with plenty of improvement in them, so I'm more than optimistic about what we've got to pick from.
There isn't much point in analysing individuals from tonight's defeat too deeply because it was just a poor all round effort, from our least experienced right through to our all stars.

Post by: ONeill on February 24, 2007, 10:42:26 PM
Bring back Art.
Post by: tyroneman on February 24, 2007, 11:18:35 PM
QuoteMcGinley can also do a good job on a certain type of full forward

He might just stick with a dead forward, might..........on a good day....nah fcuk it he'd be roasted there as well.

QuoteMulgrew - not convinced the hype is justified. Someone here said put in alot of defensive work - many players including Penrose could do that

Penrose could. But doesn't. And offers nothing up the other end of the pitch either.

Post by: never kickt a ball on February 24, 2007, 11:42:04 PM
Tyrone beaten by rampant Rebels
Cork produced a superb performance to thump Tyrone 0-15 to 0-7 in Saturday's Allianz National Football League Division 1A clash at Pairc Ui Rinn. Tyrone led early on but two points from the superb James Masters helped Cork lead 0-6 to 0-4 at half-time. The dismissal of off-form Owen Mulligan after he appeared to strike Michael Shiels then didn't help Tyrone. The Red Hands completely capitulated in the closing stages as Cork knocked over a succession of spectacular points. James Masters finished with six points for Cork while Kevin O'Sullivan hit five scores. Amazingly, 14 of Cork's 15 scores came from play as their strong running completely unhinged the leaden Tyrone outfit. Tyrone went into the game as strong favourites after their opening wins over Dublin and Fermanagh. In contrast, Cork had been beaten by Donegal and Kerry and most pundits were expecting Mickey Harte's side to maintain their 100 per cent record in the division. However from an early stage, it was clear that Tyrone were struggling.
The Cork half-backs were dominating the Tyrone attackers with man-of-the-match Ger Spillane and Anthony Lynch in especially dominant form. Still, Tyrone kept in touch during the first half with captain for the night Stephen O'Neill knocking over a couple of fine points. Cork led 0-6 to 0-4 at the interval and Masters and O'Neill swapped points early in in the second half which maintained the home team's two-point lead. However, O'Neill then missed a straight forward free for Tyrone and things went from bad to worse when Mulligan picked up his straight red card which is likely to run him out from league action for at least a month. Two more points from Masters and Kevin O'Sullivan's third score extended Cork's lead to 0-10 to 0-5 by the 59th minute. Instead of a Tyrone comeback, things deteriorated still further as Masters, Donnacha O'Connor, O'Sullivan and Kevin McMahon hit four scores in as many minutes to extend Cork's lead to 0-14 to 0-5. Raymond Mulgrew's 67th-minute point was Tyrone's first score in half an hour and while Ryan Mellon added another Red Hand point, Kevin O'Sullivan had the final scoring say in injury-time.

Cork : P O'Shea, E Sexton, M Shiels, K O'Connor, N O'Leary, G Spillane, A Lynch, D Hurley, D Kavanagh, S O'Brien, N Murphy, K McMahon, J Masters, D O'Connor, K O'Sullivan.

Tyrone : P McConnell, D Carlin, C McGinley, M McGee, D Harte, C Gormley, J McMahon, G Cavlan, S Cavanagh, R Mulgrew, O Mulligan, C Cavanagh, C McCullagh, S O'Neill, R Mellon.

http://newsvote.bbc.co.uk/mpapps/pagetools/print/news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/6393855.stm
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on February 25, 2007, 03:09:27 AM
I understand Mick wants to try out new players and tactics before things get serious. But should he not be trying to get a more consistent team together so they can gell?
Post by: Louis the Red on February 25, 2007, 01:45:47 PM
A few of the players would need to take a long hard look at themselves after their performances last night :-[
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 25, 2007, 03:29:29 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on February 24, 2007, 09:56:38 PM
Someone mentioned that Tyrone drove to Cork this morning. This would explain a lot, as they looked wrecked.

Credit to Cork though. Masters and Shieds especially.

You're right that it looked like they drove down yesterday (Saturday), extremely jaded performance, and not one to judge individual performances by (IMHO), however, they stayed in Cashel on Friday night (could have gone a little closer to Cork). Justin Mc Mahon was encouraging with his intelligent use of the ball.

All credit to Cork though, outstanding full back in Shiels, and Masters created all sorts of problems. If they could play against Kerry with such spirit, determination and self-belief then they would have done a lot better at the business end of the Championship over the last few years. No complaints with the result.
Post by: Tyrones own on February 25, 2007, 07:13:14 PM

Harte, Gormley, Jordan,
        Hughes, Cavanagh,

I think i've asked this before O'Neill but why the consistent inclusion of Ryan Mellon from yourself
   and obviously the bearded one, is he reading your posts or what?
   I actually think your on a very short list here who would agree that on his form these past couple of yrs
  that he has much to offer this team.
  Tyrone have had passenger problems down the yrs imo and i believe Mellon fits the mold fairly well to date!

Post by: never kickt a ball on February 25, 2007, 07:31:10 PM
(http://www.rte.ie/aertel/images/239-01.gif)

A win against Donegal on the 10th is a necessity, for Tyrone, to get back on track. However, given Donegal's disappointing show in the McKenna Cup they will be well motivated for a victory. Should be an extremely interesting tie. Looking forward to it already!
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 25, 2007, 11:35:32 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on February 24, 2007, 09:56:38 PM
They went down Friday night. Stayed in a hotel outside Cork. Cashel.

A big defeat will do this Tyrone team the world of good. Some of the young fellas haven't been beaten till now..

Mellon should be a definate starter for Tyrone. But IMO not in the full forward line. He's a great fielder of the ball, esp. coming from the wing forward position! He's also very accurate!
Post by: bigpaul on February 26, 2007, 12:08:05 AM
Quote from: ONeill on February 24, 2007, 10:08:38 PM

Harte, Gormley, Jordan,
Hughes, Cavanagh,

Am I missing something?
Post by: never kickt a ball on February 26, 2007, 12:15:15 AM
Quote from: ONeill on February 24, 2007, 08:07:45 PM
"Ger Spillane has Mulligan in his pocket"

(http://dynimg.rte.ie/0000c4b710dr.jpg)

See what you mean O'Neill!!!  :D
Post by: realredhandfan on February 26, 2007, 10:01:56 AM
some shocking performances on Saturday night,  some shocking analysis on here today.  O Neill seems to have finally accepted Joe Mc Mahon as county full back but still persists with RMellon.  Tell me where hub Hughes has justified inclusion in anybodies championship team, 3 sendings off in 6 games says it all.  one good half of football against Dublins second string midfield. The man seems to have lost his power of 2003 and I believe has not earned a starting jersey in 2007 4 years later.  I agree he needs persevered with but maybe now is the time to look at the relaively untried Kelvin Hughes. 
1) tyrone had no plan b on Saturday.  Whatever Plan A was wasnt working and they had no variation.  This was why I thought Rouse should have been on and the team restructured earlier.
2) mulligan and O neill had off days but they are the only natural scoring full forwards in Tyrone football so they must be played in that line, and Mulligan needs the outside of his foot bent back inwards.  To have no variance on that sliced kick is ruining his game.
3) Cavlan wasnt good, Big sean was worse.  When Big seans off form Tyrone will probably lose.  The reason I believe is we havent got a second midfielder to give him some support.  He cant show all star form allo the time.  Cavlans workrate was poor.  He is an enigma, at 32 his only role will be in the forward line. 
4)Our full back line is atrocious againmst half decent forwards.  None of these 3 are worth their place starting in these positions,  This is the area of the pitch we were poorest in. Slack unfocused degfenders the three of them.   
5)Our half back line looked uncordinated unsure when to run forward and clogged the play up often running into trouble, they lacked the ability to vary the gameplan with kick passes etc. 
6) Eoin was roasted and hes out of his depth at chf, Mulgrew bar some of his passing was probably one of Tyrone better players.  Colum beside Eoin was poor, I think hes still learning his game at this level, dont ruin him with expectation. He'll come good.
7) Full forward line,  Not enough natural corner forwards here, ONeill needs fitness training was roasted,  Mc cullagh had a poor marginal game - very disaapointing. Mellon was poor yet again..
Subs: Poor subs: peter Donnelly - that attempted block,
Paul Quinn that attempted pass
Hub Hughes - that attempted weak back pass.
Cork were good, disruptive and probably played as well as anyone could in them conditions.  If I could sum it up>  Tyrone were lucky not to concede more. They had 2 many nonscoring forwards on, and they need a variance on their game plan.  It is unfair to criticise the strength in depth of the panel as the new lads were not given a chance on Saturday.  This game was lost by our established  stars.  Our so called strength in depth was on the bench or not selected for the bench..  I think Harte faces more challenges now than ever before.  The talent is there but something is seriously wrong. 
Post by: recall06 on February 26, 2007, 11:38:45 AM
"Real red hand fan" Your comments suggest that your not even close to a real fan. It's very easy to stand back in the crowd and comment on players. Nobody knows whats happenin behind the scenes. Big Sean did have an off day but nobody knows that Sean recieved an injection in his right foot. His foot has been bothering him since the dublin match. Thats why he limped of and has an Off day.
"Our full back line is atrocious against half decent forwards.  None of these 3 are worth their place starting in these positions"
How the hell did you come up with this one. Did you see the match? Do you know anything about football? The game was lost around the middle. Cork drove forward in numbers often having two men overlapping all the time. The full back line done reasonable well considering the amount of pressure they were under the whole game. Carlin and McGee were two of the better players until both went of injured.
It seemed to me that Cork wanted to win more then Tyrone. Around the middle their men were puttin in alot of work. their half back line drove forward at every opportuntiy. Every break somehow seemed to bob over a tyrone man and land in the corks man hand.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 26, 2007, 11:41:46 AM
I agree recall06, that was not the game and this is not the time for mass recriminations -- there was a general malaise (for whatever reason) that afflicted just about everyone. Let's leave the post-mortem to the Donegal game, if the lads can't produce for that one then it'll be time for some serious circumspection.
Post by: realredhandfan on February 26, 2007, 11:59:07 AM
Nobody knows whats happenin behind the scenes. Big Sean did have an off day but nobody knows that Sean recieved an injection in his right foot. His foot has been bothering him since the dublin match. Thats why he limped of and has an Off day.
Exactly..... did you not read my post I did not criticise Sean Cavanagh anywhere, I never have and rarely will.  His committment to Tyrone football is always total.
I stand over my comments about our full back line.  This is not based on Saturdays match alone.  Carlin and Mc Gee and Mc Ginley all lost their individaul battles, and their men took the scores that won the game.  i look forward to the return of ricy and Mc Mahon. Carlin has more potential in the half back line and currently is being used everywhere theres a gap, hardly fair but probably neccessary. 
I stand over all my criticisms... a general malaise in a football team after men supposedly had to fight for places is simply not good enough.  Im sure there were good men who didnt make that panel watching that and questioning their exclusion.   
Post by: Star Spangler on February 26, 2007, 12:09:49 PM
Eugene McGee's analysis in todays Indo.  It's difficult to disagree with him.

Tyrone's shocking ineptitude may not be just a once-off
Monday February 26th 2007

AMID all the hoopla of the sporting weekend, one amazing Gaelic football result could easily slip through the radar into oblivion - the shocking performance of the Tyrone footballers when losing by 0-15 to 0-7 to Cork in Páirc Uí Chaoimh on Saturday night.

It is not the actual defeat that is astonishing because Tyrone have lost several league games in the Mickey Harte era, to Kerry, Roscommon and Wexford among others, but it was the manner in which Tyrone performed in Cork that deserves serious analysis - particularly by the Tyrone players, management and fans.

Putting it bluntly, the performance of almost every Tyrone player used in the game was diabolical and it is this facet of the game that makes it so newsworthy.

After all, these Tyrone players had played seven games in the McKenna Cup and National League so far in 2007 and won them all in a convincing manner.

In the process, many of their players performed very well indeed for so early in the year, most notably Seán Cavanagh, Raymond Mulgrew and Conor Gormley.

Owen Mulligan was looking like a real possibility in the centre-forward position and some young newcomers were also shaping well.

In an interview prior to Saturday's game, Mickey Harte said that he was looking for a strong panel of 30 players to put pressure on the first 15 and he also wanted a strong panel of 36 players to put pressure on the previous 30.

It seemed everything in the Tyrone garden was rosy and in the past couple of weeks there has been a steady stream of bets on Tyrone to win this year's All-Ireland and they had been installed as clear second favourites behind Kerry.

As always, Tyrone's pre-match preparations were meticulous - they travelled to Tipperary for a Friday night stay-over to be in good shape for the Cork game.

Good shape? The subsequent performance must go down as one of the worst since Mickey Harte took control of Tyrone.

And this despite the fact that the return of full-forward Stephen O'Neill was a huge boost, as was the availability of Kevin Hughes following yet another last-minute intervention by some high-up GAA committee which once again over-ruled a yellow card handed out by a diligent referee.

So what went wrong for Tyrone when they as table-toppers faced up to Cork who were at the bottom, and pointless, of the same table?

Before looking at how Tyrone behaved, it is only proper to acknowledge the excellence of Cork's performance.

They had been really brutal when losing to Kerry in Tralee last time out when only scoring 2-2, but this time they were all fired up.

They worked a lot harder, ran faster and made better use of possession than Tyrone and fully deserved to win by the margin of eight points. James Masters returned to his best scoring form and himself and Kevin O'Sullivan scored 11 points between them, nine of them from play.

Ger Spillane at centre-back ran the show, while midfielders Hurley and Kavanagh also controlled their area.

The Cork defence, in which the youthful Michael Shiels was very impressive at full-back, kept Tyrone scoreless for 15 minutes in the first half and a staggering 29 minutes in the second.

So from a Cork perspective, this was an outstanding performance which should kick-start their league campaign as they head off to play Dublin in Parnell Park in the next round.

But back to Tyrone and their problems. In no area of the field did they have any regular control and the total eclipse of Mulligan by Ger Spillane was the start of their troubles.

The failure of Seán Cavanagh to make any impact at midfield was equally serious as Tyrone have seldom won an important game in recent years without a major contribution from Cavanagh. In that context, it was surprising that Kevin Hughes did not make his appearance at midfield until the 56th minute, by which stage the Cork grip was rock-solid.

During their current period as one of the best teams in Ireland, one of Tyrone's hallmarks has been a ferocious work-rate, something which forms the cornerstone of their entire game plan.

They are famous for hunting in packs, pulling as many as 10 players into their backline when being attacked and then breaking upfield at speed with the ball when possession has been regained.

This is an excellent football theory when you are leading and it is on that basis that Tyrone have used it most effectively. But on Saturday, they were only in front for the opening four minutes of the game so they could not afford the luxury of employing a blanket defence as they had to go searching for scores.

Instead, it was Cork players who used the tactic of total movement and often we saw forwards such as James Masters back deep in their own defence collecting the ball.

You can afford to do this, with the inherent risk involved, when you are comfortably ahead as Cork were for most of the game.

In essence, therefore, Tyrone were denied the chance to utilise one of their main football weapons, and it showed.

As the game wore on, even their biggest names appeared very ordinary as they were forced to play 'catch-up'.

This is a role that Tyrone players have coped poorly with on the odd occasions in the past they had to play it.

Frustration set in, as exemplified by the rash tackle by Mulligan which earned him a straight red card that will keep him out of a few league games if it too is not rescinded by some GAA body or other.

They could not afford the luxury of employing a blanket defence as they had to go searching for scores

When Stephen O'Neill missed a free straight in front of the goals, it was clear that frustration and panic were the order of the day in the Tyrone team and things went from bad to worse then.

Cork ambled through the Tyrone backline for a flood of points with ridiculous ease - six in the final 12 minutes to which Tyrone could only muster one in reply. The demolition job was complete.

Years ago, when a very good team collapsed like this, the wise men would start muttering about a row in the camp or a half-time dressing-room bust-up.

I'm sure that didn't apply to Tyrone on Saturday night however and Mickey Harte will have much to ponder on as to what the real reason was.

He is still missing crucial play-makers Brian Dooher and Brian McGuigan whose real value to the team is being highlighted in their absence.

But a lot of other big names were out of it on Saturday and that will be a greater cause of concern.

Granted, Tyrone will probably come storming back in their next league game against unbeaten Donegal in Omagh, but a performance like Saturday's cannot be washed away that easily.

If it happened once, it can happen again and that's the biggest worry for Tyrone who, despite the undoubted pool of talent at their disposal, still, like most of the top teams, rely on a handful of key men playing well to generate success.

Eugene McGee
Post by: realredhandfan on February 26, 2007, 12:24:04 PM
the day we sit on our laurels is the day the golden era for tyrone football stops.  I have heard nothing but praise for the Tyrone team this year from each of us.  As we celebrate victory we must anaylise and if neccessary criticise our defeats.  This defeat may guarantee Tyrone will not get caught out later in the year, if they address what went wrong....  If they have a plan in place where it to happen again. 
Post by: realredhandfan on February 26, 2007, 01:09:22 PM
BTW all credit to Cork. decent side... they are capable of a decent go at it this year. 
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 26, 2007, 01:34:34 PM
That's a bit over the top.

1 bad performance against a team that HAD to win!

McGee wasn't at the match...it was in Pairc Ui Rinn for a start! - & as said earlier, Big Sean had injections in his foot. He said that he couldn't even feel his foot - it was numb. Then it started to half wear off & half his foot was sore & the other half was numb!

I wonder does this bring up another issue though. A medical issue! I don't agree with players having these pain killing injections. It does not cure their problems, simply hides it. People feel pain for a reason - its the body's way of telling you to stop what you are doing & rest!

I read Di Canio's book recently. He nearly lost part of his leg when he was younger due to these injections. His injury was not getting a chance to heal properly!

It has seemed to back fire already for Philip Jordan (Who needs a double hernia op.).

Sean Cavanagh should be protected for the 'bigger' games leter in the year!
Post by: realredhandfan on February 26, 2007, 01:48:48 PM
agreed totally. Why worry about Sean cavanagh now.  It seems hes played in almost every game no matter how small.  We know what he can do.  Give the lad a couple of games off to sort his foot out.  put Hughes and Hughes on for the next 2 games and see whos the better footballer to go alongside Sean.  I think its time for the other midfielders to support big Cav not leave him to do it all of the time.  Ill admit now I was wrong about Ger,  he hasnt the workrate for midfield.  
As for the painkilling injections.  I believe theres a lot of skeleton stories ready to come out. 
Post by: SuperSub on February 26, 2007, 01:50:13 PM
Wasn't expecting to win this one but was plesantly surprised in the end.I wouldn't be all doom and gloom about Tyrone either lads they are a class team and for me they will go all the way this year.We are improving but it will be some step up playing Tyrone on a hot summers day in Croke Park rather than a cold Feburary night
Still happy with the result though  and hopefully it will kick start our season
Post by: loughshore lad on February 26, 2007, 01:57:04 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on February 26, 2007, 01:48:48 PM
As for the painkilling injections.  I believe theres a lot of skeleton stories ready to come out. 

Agree totally with this. The vast majority of people have no idea what some of these players go through to play in games, it could come back to haunt some of them in a few years.  It took Mcguigan months to recover after the 2003 All Ireland final - God knows what they pumped into him.
Post by: tyroneman on February 26, 2007, 01:57:16 PM
QuoteAs the game wore on, even their biggest names appeared very ordinary as they were forced to play 'catch-up'.

This is a role that Tyrone players have coped poorly with on the odd occasions in the past they had to play it.

Jaysus the meejda can be arseholes at times like this. We all know hyperbole sells tomorrows fishwrappers but some of these comments are staggeringly poor.

As far as I can remember in the last 2 years alone (where the majority of this team were playing together) Tyrone managed to play catch up quite well:

- against Dublin under lights 2007
- against Dublin in the Championship 2005
- against Monaghhan in the championship 2005
- against Kerry in the AIF 2005
- against Armagh in the AI SF 2005

so how we have 'coped poorly' on the 'odd occasion' is truly beyond me.

Teams will have off games. MH sometimes gets it wrong. These things happen.

Lets not panic. Before the game we already knew Mugsy is no CHF. We knew Hub is off form. We knew McGinley is not the answer at FB. Agreed some other options (Rouse, Hughes) could have been used but hey - that's life. Cork were good we wern't. Perhaps there was some complaceny, perhaps not.

One thing is for certian - there will certainly not be against Donegal in 2 weeks.

Who to do CHF though????? Cavo - hope so.

And whats the story with Jordan???????

Post by: realredhandfan on February 26, 2007, 02:03:17 PM
agreed.
Donegal will be a chance to comeback and show what we are made of. 
chf - Cavlan is an option here, his workrate is a problem.  However to freshen things up I would play Calvo / Rouse full forward for a couple of games, with O neill and Mulligan on either side. i think Harte has made mistakes there, but he has also the chance to corretc things.  The next 2 games are so crucial now. 
Post by: nrico2006 on February 26, 2007, 02:08:42 PM
Some serious slabbering about Cavanagh on here.  People who play or have played gaelic, or indeed any sport, will know that you are going to play shite some times - simple as that.  Cavanagh wasnt at his best, maybe he had an injury to his foot, but as someone quite rightly pointed out he plays nearly all the games tyrone are involved in.  People expect him to be at his best every time, but hes only human.  Very similar to the way Armagh fans were picking on Stevie Mac last week, as he another who plays nearly all the games there is and always performs to a high standard.Its been a good year so far, result wise.  Cavlan may have been poor on Saturday, but hes been looking brilliant up until.  And with news of McGuigan showing well for Ardboe also things are looking better.  I believe its actually a good thing losing to Cork, because it makes us more determined to perform well against a donegal side looking for revenge from last weekend!
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on February 26, 2007, 02:19:59 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on February 26, 2007, 01:57:16 PM

Jaysus the meejda can be arseholes at times like this. We all know hyperbole sells tomorrows fishwrappers but some of these comments are staggeringly poor.

As far as I can remember in the last 2 years alone (where the majority of this team were playing together) Tyrone managed to play catch up quite well:

- against Dublin under lights 2007
- against Dublin in the Championship 2005
- against Monaghhan in the championship 2005
- against Kerry in the AIF 2005
- against Armagh in the AI SF 2005

so how we have 'coped poorly' on the 'odd occasion' is truly beyond me.

Totally agree, go a year or two further back and you could add being 9 points behind against Down in Ulster Final in 2003 and being 8 or 9 behind (I think) against Galways in the league semi in 2004 and coming back to level both games. Turning games around from a losing position has been one of the hallmarks of Mickey Harte's Tyrone....a really flawed piece of analysis by Eugene McGee there. As for his kiss off line "If it happened once, it can happen again and that's the biggest worry for Tyrone who, despite the undoubted pool of talent at their disposal, still, like most of the top teams, rely on a handful of key men playing well to generate success". You dont say ;D ;D

7 wins and 1 defeat so far this year and a huge number of players tried over those matches....things look ok for February to me.
Post by: cusack on February 26, 2007, 02:43:03 PM
Quote from: timmykelleher on February 23, 2007, 05:03:41 PM

Masters likes to be handed the ball. Neither having the physique or the speed to win his own ball. When he gets it, if he is given an inch on his left he can swing it over from the right hand corner flag. Can not kick with the right. Entrusted with the free taking, he can have good days but 45s are outside his range.

james did take a nice point from play, off his right.

yes this was one cork had to win, with relegation looming and all that.  plus after the bollicking they got in the dressing room following the kerry game, each one of them was out to prove a point.

with all the talk of tyrone being down in numbers, missing brian mcguigan, brian dooher, ryan mcmeniman, &Co......there's no mention that cork are in a similar boat.  no nicholas murphy (MF - flu), graham canty (FB - not yet back from cruciate), alan quirke (G - still on crutches after keyhole surgery)........all all-star nominees last year, with nicholas obviously getting the midfield spot.........pearse o'neill (CF/MF - broke bone in hand in last outing v kerry), add to that, the injured pair of fintan gould and john hayes, and david niblock away in the states, and you've a fair chunk of last years starting 15 missing!
Post by: Kerry Mike on February 26, 2007, 02:49:33 PM
Jaysus 2 weeks ago Cork could only kick 2 points against us, some turn around yesterday kicking 15 of them agin Tyrone. Where did this improvement come from?

I think Tyrone after a recent string of easy wins went into this game a little too cocky and were caught by the langers on a good day.

But then Cork always have a least one good game in them per year, maybe Billy has them peaking very early this year  ;)
Post by: timmykelleher on February 26, 2007, 03:09:38 PM
Hiya Cusack,
As you say I seem to have got it wrong that Masters could not kick with his right.  :-\
I also doubted Kevin O'Sullivan and Dermot Hurley, both of whom were mentioned in the Tribune as playing really well.
Not only that but I wasn't giving Cork much chance of winning, not too mention handing out a hiding.

What chance Hurley and O'Sullivan making the chamnpionship team?

Post by: cusack on February 26, 2007, 05:51:33 PM
kerry mike, cork may only have scored 2 points that day, but we still only lost by 3, so it doesnt say much for ye either, does it?

re. your question timmy:

dermot hurley showed on saturday that he is definately worth his inclusion in the panel.  will surely lose out to the midfield pairing of nicholas and derek kavanagh, come championship though.  i would've faulted him previously for poor distribution, but i can't recall any of his kick passes going astray the other night.  i was impressed with how he glued himself to Sean Cavanagh.  Remember him at one stage when the ball was breaking around midfield, how when a tyrone fella eventually won posession, and Dermot straight away turned, found sean cavanagh, and sprinted around 50 yards to be at his side.  (all the lazy cork yokes, living 10 minutes from pairc ui rinn, watching on tele, wouldn't have seen any of that)  He tracked goal side of Sean all the time, not allowing him make his trade mark bursts forward, setting up play.

Kevin O'Sullivan, if he plays consistently, couldn't be far off it.  lost his place last year after an off day v limerick.
Post by: sam03/05 on February 26, 2007, 09:11:36 PM
I think Cork could be dark horses for an all ireland this year.
In my opinion they have 6 of the best defenders in Ireland - when you count in Canty