Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: screenexile on September 10, 2007, 11:47:37 AM

Title: How Metrosexual Are You?
Post by: screenexile on September 10, 2007, 11:47:37 AM
Had a conversation over the weekend about this whole 'metrosexual' stuff.

Personally I think it's a load of crap that's mainly used for posers and gay men but I know of a few people who have been forced into it by their other halves.

What are the grooming habits of lads on the board like? Do you use moisturiser every day? Do you have separate shampoo and conditioner to achieve the desired look for your hair?

Personally I don't do any of it I'll use whatever shower gel or shampoo is lying about, usually lynx or wash and go (you know the one where the bird washes her hair and then pisses off!) and any moisturising comes from it being tied into whatever gel or cream I'm using for a shave.

What do the rest of you think about it? Ladies are also invited to comment as to what they think of the whole idea.
Title: Re: How Metrosexual Are You?
Post by: Will Hunting on September 10, 2007, 11:50:26 AM
Surely there are no metrosexuals about the 'screen?!!
Post by: screenexile on September 10, 2007, 11:54:23 AM
Not anymore! They get driven out as soon as they dye their hair as they are immediately assumed to be on drugs. (Nobody's actually been driven out but it has happened around our place that the oul' boys will say that any lad who dyes their hair blonde "must be takin' them e tablets!")
Post by: Derry Daisy on September 10, 2007, 11:59:40 AM
Maybe not so many hair dyes but here's been a few straighteners purchased in screen :o :o
Post by: screenexile on September 10, 2007, 12:01:08 PM
Here this is supposed to be a general topic about GAAboard posters and not about my parish thank you! Although I will need you to PM me those names so I can get the slagging underway ;)
Post by: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 12:02:17 PM
You were looking very metrosexual in the gaaboard pub Screen.
Post by: screenexile on September 10, 2007, 12:05:40 PM
You must have me confused Zig. I had a championship match over the weekend and I've been off the beer for the last few weeks so haven't ventured into the GAAboard Pub yet. I could do with hitting it this weekend though for a few scoops. Is there much talent about it or are there still 10 lads fighting over Rois as usual?
Post by: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 12:06:48 PM
Rois is still getting a hard time, trying to fend off the advances of some of the punters.
Post by: Derry Daisy on September 10, 2007, 12:08:03 PM
I wouldn't want to be naming anyone but I'm sure if you have a look the next time there is training (maybe just hurling I'm not sure) but you'll know who it is right away (unless it has changed recently)

Post by: parttimeexile on September 10, 2007, 12:24:42 PM
I just use good old fashioned lynx shower gel and then any shampoo thats there. The woman was tryin to get me to use moisturizer but I just had to tell her it wouldnt be happening!Ever! She starting going on about how good it is for your skin and that it will keep you young looking. I said i dont have to worry about that because woman age quicker than men. ;) She hasnt mentioned it since.
Post by: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 12:28:16 PM
If you tell your missus that again, you'll be fulltimeexile!!  :D
Post by: parttimeexile on September 10, 2007, 12:40:15 PM
If you dont lay down the law early on it'll get outta hand. Next thing she'll want to be voting! :o
Post by: his holiness nb on September 10, 2007, 12:49:51 PM
Moisturiser? Yes
Seperate shampoo and conditioner? Yes (I've a big old mop of hair)

Thats about as far as I'd go, I see they are selling tinted moisturiser for men now, feckin fake tan for a mans face.
Thats just wrong.
Post by: TractorTom on September 10, 2007, 01:06:44 PM
I think aftershave balm is perfectly acceptable.
Post by: Balboa on September 10, 2007, 01:20:06 PM
I wish the wee martian Marty Morrissey could take part in this, did youse see the photos of him in Irish News when he was at Irish News All Stars??? He had more make up on than a cheap wh*re. Myself i just use Fcuk deodorant, because i like the smell but as for hair products i cut my hair with a Number 0 and when it starts to stick up at the sides at all it gets cut again, zero maintenance.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on September 10, 2007, 01:21:35 PM
I mean, where do you draw the line at metrosexuality.

Is deoderant out, toothpaste, lipsalve, bodyspray, shower gel.

I've no need for hair gel but maybe that is OK too.
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 10, 2007, 01:43:15 PM
QuoteWhat are the grooming habits of lads on the board like? Do you use moisturiser every day? Do you have separate shampoo and conditioner to achieve the desired look for your hair?

I have to use separate shampoo because the woman won't let me use hers  :-\
I shave maybe once a week.  Deodrant, soap and toothpaste, that's about it.

I'm man enough to admit the oul fisherman's handcream is a God send. Particularly in the winter. 
And as most will be aware my ongoing foot problem means cream have to go on them. 

I was going through airport security recently and was amused when I met a 6"4 20stone rough looking man carrying a little plastic bag with his lipbalm in it.   :)
Post by: Great Leap Forward on September 10, 2007, 02:41:29 PM
Acceptable: Hair Gel, Shaving Balm.

Borderline: Dying hair, Shaving Chest

Not acceptable: Fake tan, Waxing your ball-bag.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 02:53:39 PM
QuoteNot acceptable: Fake tan, Waxing your ball-bag.

it takes a real man to do that
Post by: Balboa on September 10, 2007, 02:58:07 PM
Quote from: Great Leap Forward on September 10, 2007, 02:41:29 PM

Are you sure that should not be in the "Not Acceptable" category unless you are in  a boyband or a male stripper.......
Post by: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 03:17:32 PM
Quote from: Balboa on September 10, 2007, 02:58:07 PM

Are you sure that should not be in the "Not Acceptable" category unless you are in  a boyband or a male stripper.......

I have to agree with you there Balboa. That's the biggest metrosexual sin of them all.
Post by: TractorTom on September 10, 2007, 03:20:09 PM
also not acceptable - Sunbeds, handbags for boys (or manbags as they are sometimes called).
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 03:26:55 PM
I'm sorry - but manbags are acceptable
Post by: screenexile on September 10, 2007, 03:33:43 PM
They are so not!

OK maybe not the sack but what about the 'ole Back and Crack wax?? Surely it's acceptable to get rid of that unwanted hair!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 03:36:56 PM
Quote from: screenexile on September 10, 2007, 03:33:43 PM
They are so not!

OK maybe not the sack but what about the 'ole Back and Crack wax?? Surely it's acceptable to get rid of that unwanted hair!

I'd rather stick all my stuff in a bag than have trousers pockets full to the brim - and I'm not at school - so I'll not be using a back-pack
Post by: Great Leap Forward on September 10, 2007, 03:37:29 PM
Quote from: Balboa on September 10, 2007, 02:58:07 PM

I put it in Borderline because I didn't want to offend the legions of men who do it on the duke before they go on holiday.
Post by: TractorTom on September 10, 2007, 03:46:02 PM
Re manbags Gabriel Hurl.

Gab Hurl, this is perhaps a style issue. The only way a 25+ man carrying a bag round is acceptable is if you don't want to carry a brief case and have found a trendy alternative. Manbags are wrong.
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 10, 2007, 03:47:26 PM
I have a man-bag and am proud of it  >:(
Post by: Rois on September 10, 2007, 03:59:02 PM
I like manbags too!  I think you should be proud of it Dinny.  Very classy if you have the right one.  Just don't be carrying it when you're wearing a "Miley from Glenroe" jumper - ya gotta have the right look to carry it off properly. 
Post by: screenexile on September 10, 2007, 04:02:38 PM
Dinny and his man bag!

(http://www.pop-fiction.com/images/backstage-james-manbag.jpg)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 04:08:28 PM

(http://img172.imageshack.us/img172/5696/bagag2.jpg)

And if Jack Bauer can carry a man-bag - then it's perfectly acceptable for any other man in the world to carry one
Post by: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 04:11:22 PM
Until I do, it ain't acceptable!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 10, 2007, 04:18:53 PM
Speaking of manbags, I want to get a carry on bag for short breaks away and the likes that isn't one of them yokes with wheels and extendable handle that makes u look like a trolley dolley. Any suggestions???
Post by: screenexile on September 10, 2007, 04:21:58 PM
Get a good O'Neill's kitbag from your club... for real men who need to carry a bag on Holidays!
Post by: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 04:23:01 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on September 10, 2007, 04:18:53 PM
Speaking of manbags, I want to get a carry on bag for short breaks away and the likes that isn't one of them yokes with wheels and extendable handle that makes u look like a trolley dolley. Any suggestions???

(http://msnbcmedia2.msn.com/j/msnbc/Components/Photos/070308/070308_plasticbag_vlrg_7a.widec.jpg)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 10, 2007, 04:24:22 PM
Quote from: screenexile on September 10, 2007, 04:21:58 PM
Get a good O'Neill's kitbag from your club... for real men who need to carry a bag on Holidays!

That's what I have been using but I'm sick of taking my dirty boots and half the pitch on holiday with me  :P
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 10, 2007, 04:27:29 PM
Jaysis i wouldn't be caught dead with a man-bag....

As for grooming..I shave everyday because i have to as my stubble starts growing as soon as i have shaved.I also like to use the King of Shaves range of shaving foam and after shave with a Mach 3 blade
I like to have a nice shower gel usually that foam burst one from Imerial leather,but as for shampoo it doesn't really matter as i have a completly shaved head actually it is more of a case of shaving off the small bit that nature has left me :-[
I have a gorilla chest and would need a hedge trimmers before i even thought of shaving it so no i wouldn't dream of shaving chest
And i like to use Hugo Boss or CK1 spray when i am going out

Does any of this make me a Metro Sexual? I think it's just being clean and Hygenic to be honest
Post by: screenexile on September 10, 2007, 04:40:00 PM
I would let you away with that Laoislad. Personally I think that I would class the following things as metrosexual:

Straightening your hair
Chest/Sack shaving/waxing
Puposely moisturising (Not aftershave balm) as in you have separate moisturising cream for your face
Dying your hair
Wearing beads
Using a separate shampoo and conditioner
Any kind of tanning
Too much jewelry (one watch and one chain... I'm not too keen on rings either but you sometimes have to wear them)

That's all I can think of. Anyone else any more to add?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 04:46:17 PM
Is this you screen??

(http://img250.imageshack.us/img250/6779/farmerkr1.jpg)

Post by: screenexile on September 10, 2007, 04:53:10 PM
Nah thon boy has more hair than I have!
Post by: Puckoon on September 10, 2007, 04:57:44 PM
In order of metrosexual (and subsequent unacceptability) magnitude id go with
1. Any type of nail treatment
2. Shaving the chest/self tanning (outside of psoriasis treatment)
3. Fully waxing the legs and body (outside of swimming/atheltics and I dont know how many of us here that applies to)
4. Using any type of specialist shampoo (outside of dandruff/grease control)
5. Shaping the eyebrows :o

Honourable mentions:
Manbags. You can have one, but at least pretend its for school or something. Or have a lap top in it, or at least a bunch of important looking papers. Dont just have keys, wallet, and cell phone in there, cos you may as well have a lipstick and mascara.

Sac and crac wax - A craze made famous by the reality TV show, the salon. On one very obvious level (the fact that it might encourage the mrs to pay a little more, ehm lip service) Id be for it. However, unless it was accompanied by the unacceptable action stated in point numbers 2&3 - I think it would look a little more than ridiculous. Hair ass farmer tanned legs, big old hairy belly, but testicles as smooth as eggs... Just wrong.
Post by: parttimeexile on September 10, 2007, 05:03:28 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 10, 2007, 04:57:44 PM
In order of metrosexual (and subsequent unacceptability) magnitude id go with
1. Any type of nail treatment
2. Shaving the chest/self tanning (outside of psoriasis treatment)
3. Fully waxing the legs and body (outside of swimming/atheltics and I dont know how many of us here that applies to)
4. Using any type of specialist shampoo (outside of dandruff/grease control)
5. Shaping the eyebrows :o

Honourable mentions:
Manbags. You can have one, but at least pretend its for school or something. Or have a lap top in it, or at least a bunch of important looking papers. Dont just have keys, wallet, and cell phone in there, cos you may as well have a lipstick and mascara.

Sac and crac wax - A craze made famous by the reality TV show, the salon. On one very obvious level (the fact that it might encourage the mrs to pay a little more, ehm lip service) Id be for it. However, unless it was accompanied by the unacceptable action stated in point numbers 2&3 - I think it would look a little more than ridiculous. Hair ass farmer tanned legs, big old hairy belly, but testicles as smooth as eggs... Just wrong.

That had me in stitches there. Good man. Just made me laugh out loud and everyone in the office thinks i'm fuckin mental.
Post by: Driver long on September 10, 2007, 05:06:22 PM
Thats a decent start exile but you can add the following :-

Manicure
Eye-brow plucking
Diamond earring (any other sort is not metrosexual, merely queer or tinkerish)
Any hair product that costs over a fiver
The use of a hair dryer
Any jewellery outside a watch - chain isn't allowed - they all look shit even if you think yours doesn't
Coloured boots on the football pitch
You've included tanning but this needs to be stressed even more - this is a trend that is growing and more people do it than you would imagine (i'm not one of them!!)
Post by: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 05:07:34 PM
It's a slippery slope to this guys!

(http://bigrikcouk.brinkster.net/images/default_53-b.jpg)
Post by: Puckoon on September 10, 2007, 05:08:26 PM
Quote from: Driver long on September 10, 2007, 05:06:22 PM

Manicure
Eye-brow plucking
The use of a hair dryer
Any jewellery outside a watch - chain isn't allowed - they all look shit even if you think yours doesn't
You've included tanning but this needs to be stressed even more - this is a trend that is growing and more people do it than you would imagine (i'm not one of them!!)

Hairdryer - yes
Hairstraightener - yes
But what about a st judes medal on a chain - should I be taking that off?

Are we calling mugsy metrosexual? Whats the consensus on tattoos while we are at it?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 05:09:18 PM
What's wrong with that Ziggy?
Post by: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 05:09:52 PM
That's a bloke Gab.
Post by: Puckoon on September 10, 2007, 05:12:07 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 05:09:52 PM
That's a bloke Gab.

I aspire to his flexibility :D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 10, 2007, 05:18:25 PM

Manicure
Eye-brow plucking
The use of a hair dryer

Have to admit i had coloured boots when i was playing ...Blue and White Puma Kings
Post by: Puckoon on September 10, 2007, 05:22:25 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 10, 2007, 05:18:25 PM

Manicure
Eye-brow plucking
The use of a hair dryer

Have to admit i had coloured boots when i was playing ...Blue and White Puma Kings

Is that the soccer coming out in you?! ;)
I occasionally wear the white and blue predators, but ONLY for soccer. Dont know If id dare bring them out back at St Endas - especially with the shaved chest...
Post by: stew on September 10, 2007, 05:22:45 PM
I keep meself clean and use gel, shave with an electric job and wear whatever come to hand. I don't give a shite for fashion and never did and when I played football my boots were always black, none of those colored efforts.

No dye, no tats or earing for me. I am no metro.
Post by: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 05:25:00 PM
(http://www.ukstudentlife.com/Travel/Tours/Paris/Guide/MetroSign3.jpg)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 05:27:14 PM
I know it's a bloke Ziggy - what are you implying?
Post by: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 05:31:06 PM
Nothing Gab (http://www.laptopvideo2go.com/forum/style_emoticons/default/whistling.gif)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 10, 2007, 05:35:03 PM
Fellas who drink wine in a pub and fellas who wear those big scarfs with the big knot..Its usually D4 types or students who ya see wear them.They are usually gray,I can't find a picture on the web to show
Also anyone who wears those jeans with all the cuts and rips in them wtf is that all about?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 05:44:30 PM
what's wrong in dressing differently?
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 10, 2007, 06:01:01 PM
Lets get something straight here, there are no such thing as "man bags" they are hand bags and have been called handbags from the beginning of time!  It does not make men who carry them manly if you call them man bags.
I just don't understand them.  What do yous have to carry that can't go into your pockets?  Do yous take them out with you? Dance around them on the dance floor? 

What is a man doing straightening his hair?  why?
Why is he drying his hair, sure it's dry in a few minutes??
WHY would you want to wax your balls?

Why are men in our society becoming more and more female? 
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 06:16:54 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 10, 2007, 06:01:01 PM
Lets get something straight here, there are no such thing as "man bags" they are hand bags and have been called handbags from the beginning of time!  It does not make men who carry them manly if you call them man bags.
I just don't understand them.  What do yous have to carry that can't go into your pockets?

In mine this morning

Mobile Phone
Wallet
House Keys
mp3 Player
Newspaper
Lunch
Work papers

I'd love to know what size pockets you have in your trousers Pints
Post by: ExiledGael on September 10, 2007, 06:22:28 PM
Manbag and moisturiser both things I use on regular basis

That's it. Black football boots, short hair.

What's the opinion on pink shirts and any coloured vests/tank tops?? Lot of these around, don't like it
Post by: screenexile on September 10, 2007, 06:27:28 PM
QuoteWhat's the opinion on pink shirts and any coloured vests/tank tops?? Lot of these around, don't like it

Please tell me you are taking the piss!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 06:29:50 PM
I've a couple of t-shirts that I cut the sleeves off for when I'm lying round the house on the weekends or at training

I have a pink dress shirt that I wear to work
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 10, 2007, 06:33:53 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 06:16:54 PM
I just don't understand them.  What do yous have to carry that can't go into your pockets?

In mine this morning

Mobile Phone
Wallet
House Keys
mp3 Player
Newspaper
Lunch
Work papers

I'll give you the work papers otherwise I'd have the rest to work myself -
Phone - pocket
Wallet - pocket
Keys - pocket
Mp3 player - pocket
Paper - plastic bag
Lunch - plastic bag

Post by: ExiledGael on September 10, 2007, 06:35:37 PM
Quote from: screenexile on September 10, 2007, 06:27:28 PM
QuoteWhat's the opinion on pink shirts and any coloured vests/tank tops?? Lot of these around, don't like it

Please tell me you are taking the piss!

No, why?
Post by: mannix on September 10, 2007, 06:42:07 PM
Lots of youngfellas dyeing the hair blonde or white, my hair has a lot of gray but if i dyed it I would look stupid, pavarotti dyed the hair and the beard and looked ridiculous..During the winter I have to use handcream or else the fingers crack something shocking,bleeding and impossible to work with, the lips were the same,that was  in new york where they get winter.Man bag is for gays or lads with the potential to be gay, not a thing wrong with it but thats the way it is.Pink shirts are another thing,paris is full of them, they look gay rather than cool.I know a few gay lads and they are fine but I would be horrified if anyone made an advance so I always say a few f's and c's to let them know I am a real man.I am happily married.
Moisturiser, ok if you have dry skin but otherwise its for the girls
Manicure,only for ladies
shaving the sack, only if you have mange
shaving the chest, only if you are breastfeeding
Manbag, the only bag a man needs is the sack for the makers
Aftershave,deodorant and hair gel, no bother because you want to appear and smell clean or risk the dirtbag label
Post by: Puckoon on September 10, 2007, 07:45:49 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 10, 2007, 05:35:03 PM
Fellas who drink wine in a pub and fellas who wear those big scarfs with the big knot..Its usually D4 types or students who ya see wear them.They are usually gray,I can't find a picture on the web to show
Also anyone who wears those jeans with all the cuts and rips in them wtf is that all about?

:D :D :D :D
Post by: Puckoon on September 10, 2007, 07:50:31 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 10, 2007, 06:33:53 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 06:16:54 PM

In mine this morning

Mobile Phone
Wallet
House Keys
mp3 Player
Newspaper
Lunch
Work papers

I'll give you the work papers otherwise I'd have the rest to work myself -
Phone - pocket
Wallet - pocket
Keys - pocket
Mp3 player - pocket
Paper - plastic bag
Lunch - plastic bag

Perhaps an exception can be made for the man bag, if for example you live in a huge city and use public transport. Then I can see needing some sort of recepticle for carrying stuff - still, Im a backpack man myself.
Post by: his holiness nb on September 10, 2007, 07:54:46 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 10, 2007, 05:35:03 PM

Guilty  :-[

But black boots all the way.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 07:56:46 PM
live in a huge city - check

and use public transport - check
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 10, 2007, 07:57:38 PM
No, no exception for the man bag.
Next you'll be saying "but it hides my blemishes".
Post by: Puckoon on September 10, 2007, 08:04:35 PM
Now if you have a blemish, askin the wife for a dab of foundation (think thats what its called  ;)) does the trick.
Gabriel - Manbag accepted (im sure that makes you feel much better ::)) - but lets just call it a bag.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 08:04:59 PM
yes - because carrying a bag automatically makes you feminine  ::)
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 10, 2007, 08:06:42 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 08:04:59 PM
Nah carrying a hand bag wouldn't make you feminine, just like wearing a bra wouldnt either.
Post by: Puckoon on September 10, 2007, 08:11:18 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 10, 2007, 08:06:42 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 08:04:59 PM
Nah carrying a hand bag wouldn't make you feminine, just like wearing a bra wouldnt either.

:D :D :D :D

Ive changed my mind however - Ive its good enough for gabriel and good enough for joey tribbiani - then im going to get myself one on my lunch break!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 08:15:39 PM
yeah Pints - cos my bag looks exactly like a handbag
Post by: stew on September 10, 2007, 08:16:09 PM
I have to agree with pog on this one.
Post by: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 08:17:36 PM
Wear what you want, be what you want, be with who you want. Who cares, I don't.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 08:18:32 PM
Stew - any chance of Packers tickets?

I'll bring all my moisturizers and hair dyes down in my man-bag - we can swap beauty tips and all that craic
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 10, 2007, 08:21:42 PM
QuoteI'll bring all my moisturizers and hair dyes down in my man-bag - we can swap beauty tips and all that craic
And give each other facials, have a boys night in.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 08:23:38 PM
poor turn of phrase there Pints  :D :D :D
Post by: The Gs Man on September 10, 2007, 09:20:00 PM
Whats the verdict on long hair????

Some of youse boys sound exactly like the hallions (teammates at one time I might add) slagging me at a gig the other night for having my hair five inches longer than theirs......Jesus Christ, Georgie Best, Bobby Sands etc etc is what they're calling me.  This coming from fellas with who've had the same hairstyles/clothes styles etc for the past 15 years.  You know the ones.......kicker shoes, check shirts and Levis with the belt hanging out, hippy oil or old spice recking aff them.........

For the record......

- I don't condition
- I don't use moisturiser (I have the crows feet to prove it)
- I don't have a man-bag
- I have a sack of hair

I do wear pointy boots and flares sometimes though.

Post by: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 09:21:15 PM
Long hair's grand in my books. Well as long as you don't play with it and chew on it.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 09:26:30 PM
pointy shoes are great
Post by: screenexile on September 10, 2007, 09:27:49 PM
QuoteI do wear pointy boots and flares sometimes though.

Boy sounds to me like he's smokin' that waccy baccy!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 09:36:21 PM
doesn't everyone?  ???
Post by: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 09:37:19 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 09:36:21 PM
doesn't everyone?  ???

Canada has sullied you
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 09:41:49 PM
Sure if it's not illegal  ;)
Post by: Mayo4Sam on September 10, 2007, 09:47:43 PM
Pointy shoes are ridiculous, you look like a knob

I use moisturiser on the face from time to time, whenever it gets dry
Got a great stuff for christmas last year, for putting on before shaving foam, exfoliatant, closest nicest shave ever after it, dear but lasts for ages
Them over the shoulder type school bags, like the ones the courier uses only not made of leather, they're defo acceptable as a bag for going anywhere
Croi u need a second football bag for travelling, they're ideal, no matter how u pack them out u can fit them into the over heads, throw the toothpaste and all into the womans bag and no need to be payin the €12 with ryanair
Any form of shaving below the neck unless for sport or an operation is purely for women
Post by: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 09:48:30 PM
Anyone I know with pointy shoes are knobs.

Yes, you know who you are!
Post by: Puckoon on September 10, 2007, 09:52:41 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on September 10, 2007, 09:20:00 PM
Whats the verdict on long hair????

Some of youse boys sound exactly like the hallions (teammates at one time I might add) slagging me at a gig the other night for having my hair five inches longer than theirs......Jesus Christ, Georgie Best, Bobby Sands etc etc is what they're calling me.  This coming from fellas with who've had the same hairstyles/clothes styles etc for the past 15 years.  You know the ones.......kicker shoes, check shirts and Levis with the belt hanging out, hippy oil or old spice recking aff them.........
For the record......

- I don't condition
- I don't use moisturiser (I have the crows feet to prove it)
- I don't have a man-bag
- I have a sack of hair

I do wear pointy boots and flares sometimes though.

Hands up everyone who ever had a belt with the metal arrowed tip that made it hang down towards your welt. ::)

We're a nation of f**kers which is why we enjoy ripping the arse out of anyone who dares to step outside of the box. The fact that this thread was even started is an indication of our uneasiness at expressing ourselves if it means being different. God help any of us who are actually not heterosexual. Tough crowd. :o :o :o
This new manbag is fuckin deadly though I- thanks gabriel! ;) :D
Post by: Puckoon on September 10, 2007, 09:53:54 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on September 10, 2007, 09:47:43 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 09:48:30 PM
Anyone I know with pointy shoes are knobs.

Yes, you know who you are!

Got a great stuff for christmas last year, for putting on before shaving foam, exfoliatant, closest nicest shave ever after it, dear but lasts for ages
Them over the shoulder type school bags, like the ones the courier uses only not made of leather, they're defo acceptable as a bag for going anywhere
Croi u need a second football bag for travelling, they're ideal, no matter how u pack them out u can fit them into the over heads, throw the toothpaste and all into the womans bag and no need to be payin the €12 with ryanair
Any form of shaving below the neck unless for sport or an operation is purely for women

I guess I didnt even have to make my point! ;)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 09:54:25 PM
It must be being over this side of the water Puckoon - I'm under the assumption from your posts that you are

:D :D :D
Post by: Puckoon on September 10, 2007, 10:03:36 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 09:54:25 PM
It must be being over this side of the water Puckoon - I'm under the assumption from your posts that you are

:D :D :D

Im hoping the assumption is that im over this side of the water and not
that I wear pointy shoes (cos I dont)
or am not heterosexual (cos I am)

not that theres anything wrong with that! :D
Post by: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 10:05:58 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 10, 2007, 10:03:36 PM
not that theres anything wrong with that! :D

With what? Wearing pointy shoes or being heterosexual?
Post by: Puckoon on September 10, 2007, 10:06:49 PM
Ones a bigger faux pas than the other, thats all im saying.
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 10, 2007, 10:13:30 PM
QuoteWe're a nation of f**kers which is why we enjoy ripping the arse out of anyone who dares to step outside of the box. The fact that this thread was even started is an indication of our uneasiness at expressing ourselves if it means being different. God help any of us who are actually not heterosexual. Tough crowd.

Nah I wouldnt care who anyone likes to shag - good luck to them (as long as it's legal!).  I'd say most here are the same.
Post by: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 10:19:23 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 10, 2007, 10:13:30 PM
QuoteWe're a nation of f**kers which is why we enjoy ripping the arse out of anyone who dares to step outside of the box. The fact that this thread was even started is an indication of our uneasiness at expressing ourselves if it means being different. God help any of us who are actually not heterosexual. Tough crowd.

Nah I wouldnt care who anyone likes to shag - good luck to them (as long as it's legal!).  I'd say most here are the same.

Yeah

Quote from: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 08:17:36 PM
Wear what you want, be what you want, be with who you want. Who cares, I don't.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 10, 2007, 10:26:36 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 09:21:15 PM
Long hair's grand in my books. Well as long as you don't play with it and chew on it.

Long Hair.....I'd be happy to have any hair  :-[
Post by: stiffler on September 10, 2007, 10:27:48 PM
I know a poster on this board who allegedy got a back crack and sack wax before going to Australia for a weeks holiday a few years back.
Post by: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 10:28:28 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 10, 2007, 10:26:36 PM

(http://real.coolio.cz/x/the-baldy-man.jpg)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 10, 2007, 10:34:49 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 10:28:28 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 10, 2007, 10:26:36 PM

(http://real.coolio.cz/x/the-baldy-man.jpg)

>:(
Post by: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 10:39:07 PM
 :-*
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 10:42:57 PM
now now lads - keep that behind closed doors
Post by: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 10:43:56 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 10:42:57 PM
now now lads - keep that behind closed doors

Now who judging others!!  :D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 10, 2007, 10:44:04 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 10:39:07 PM
:-*

(http://www.freesmileys.org/emo/finger006.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 10:44:35 PM
 :D :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 10, 2007, 10:45:42 PM
Laoislad would probably get up on ziggy too, he'd get up on everything else. 

Post by: ziggysego on September 10, 2007, 10:47:27 PM
Good lord, prehaps I should hide  :D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 10, 2007, 10:48:06 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 10, 2007, 10:45:42 PM
Laoislad would probably get up on ziggy too, he'd get up on everything else. 

(http://www.freesmileys.org/emo/finger007.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org)
Post by: stew on September 10, 2007, 11:35:23 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 08:18:32 PM
Stew - any chance of Packers tickets?

I'll bring all my moisturizers and hair dyes down in my man-bag - we can swap beauty tips and all that craic

The tickets I can get you, you can even have room and board for free, but i will not let you in the house with a man purse gab. ;)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 11, 2007, 04:42:51 AM
At least I'll not be bothering yer young blades  :D :D :D :D
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on September 11, 2007, 08:15:35 AM
Nothing wrong with fellahs drinking wine in bars in, err, Lurgan.

Also, why would you get anything below your neck shaved for a sport. Don't understand.

However, what if you're ginger.

Post by: screenexile on September 11, 2007, 10:23:10 AM

Metrosexual alert! One right here!

So are you McDonald or Mortimer M4S?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 11, 2007, 11:40:50 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on September 10, 2007, 09:47:43 PMCroi u need a second football bag for travelling, they're ideal, no matter how u pack them out u can fit them into the over heads, throw the toothpaste and all into the womans bag and no need to be payin the €12 with ryanair

Off on a stag to Krackow the weekend after next, forgot u can't bring "liquids" in carry on, what do people do? Buy shit in duty free???
Post by: Puckoon on September 11, 2007, 03:43:09 PM
You can bring travel sized amounts (no more than 100mls) and throw the heap in a ziplock sandwich bag. Bobs yer uncle. Hopefully you dont need more than 100mls of any of the moisturisers or aftershave.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 11, 2007, 03:48:12 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 11, 2007, 03:43:09 PM
You can bring travel sized amounts (no more than 100mls) and throw the heap in a ziplock sandwich bag. Bobs yer uncle. Hopefully you dont need more than 100mls of any of the moisturisers or aftershave.

Yeah but where do u get these "travel sized amounts"??? Is that not a bit metrosexual???  :P
Post by: ziggysego on September 11, 2007, 03:50:33 PM
To my knowledge, you can take whatever you want in holdage, but not with you as your carry-on bag. So Gab, not in your man bag.
Post by: Puckoon on September 11, 2007, 04:01:07 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on September 11, 2007, 03:48:12 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 11, 2007, 03:43:09 PM

Yeah but where do u get these "travel sized amounts"??? Is that not a bit metrosexual???  :P

thats a good question. wife picks them up so im not sure
Post by: The Gs Man on September 11, 2007, 07:06:11 PM

I think I look cool as f**k in my pointy boots.
Post by: ziggysego on September 11, 2007, 07:10:15 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on September 11, 2007, 07:06:11 PM

I think I look cool as f**k in my pointy boots.

No..... no, you don't.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on September 11, 2007, 09:54:04 PM
Quote from: screenexile on September 11, 2007, 10:23:10 AM

Metrosexual alert! One right here!

So are you McDonald or Mortimer M4S?

Little from column a little from column b
Post by: Puckoon on September 11, 2007, 10:22:13 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 11, 2007, 10:18:33 PM
Right lads, a few confessions. Say what ye will.
1. Manbag - Check. I don't ever call it a manbag though. Used it for Uni (books/filepad/calculator/pens etc). I would never use it for anything else. Trouser/jacket pockets for mobile/wallet/ipod etc.

2. Moisturiser - Check. Nivea for (metrosexual?) men moisturising cream. Haven't used it in a while but I have excema and in the winter I get awful dry skin on my bake.

3. Hair Gel - Check. Currently using Fructus "Surf Hair" texturising gum.

4. Shower Gel - Usually Radox (Green/Blue/For Men). It says Shower Gel & Shampoo on it so I use it on the dome too.

5. Deoderant - Usually Right Gaurd.

6. Aftershave - Whatever the woman has bought me. Currently between some green gear by Paul Smith and Emporio Armani (nice stuff btw).

7. Jeans - No holes but I do have a pair that have 3 or 4 small threadbare bits on them.

8. Shoes - Normal enough. Definately no pointy ones.

9. Body hair - I have never shaved or waxed anything below my neck. Actually never waxed anything.

10. Pink T-shirt - Check. She bought it. It's not very bright and isn't too bad really.

Abuse me if you must. :-[

I read somewhere once that its only meterosexual if you refer to it as "hair product"
Post by: Fishbat on September 12, 2007, 02:52:00 AM
God save Ireland :D  Now lets get a few things clear!

Bag -  having pockets full of stuff and other items round your neck, camera etc... plus a handful of curleys bags.....so as not to "look stupid" is feckin stupid - Even jungle dwellers know the practicality of a bag versus pockets - especially when trampin about with a dozen poison arrows

Bag with wheels at airport -or- carting a boggin O'Neills bag around an airport over your shoulder - fairly obvious.

Nothing wrong with pointy shoes/cowboy boots - only in Kazakstan are the brown brogues acceptable in 2007.

Hair - masai warriors have been dying their hair for millenia.  Are punks considered metros? Long hair has been around a lot longer than the short back and sides/boul cut/NFTAB (no fringe, tuft at back) etc...

Denim - all forms acceptable - not just blue with cow-shit stains.

Washing - should be made law, have sat beside too many bastards with onions rolling down their brow.

Whatever yanks your plank
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 12, 2007, 11:14:12 AM
Quote from: screenexile on September 10, 2007, 04:40:00 PM
I would let you away with that Laoislad. Personally I think that I would class the following things as metrosexual:

Straightening your hair
Chest/Sack shaving/waxing
Puposely moisturising (Not aftershave balm) as in you have separate moisturising cream for your face
Dying your hair
Wearing beads
Using a separate shampoo and conditioner
Any kind of tanning
Too much jewelry (one watch and one chain... I'm not too keen on rings either but you sometimes have to wear them)

That's all I can think of. Anyone else any more to add?

am more neanderthal than metrosexual

POG
fishermans hand cream  :o.....I suppose its fecking pink ! ! !
Post by: screenexile on September 12, 2007, 12:54:57 PM
Quoteam more neanderthal than metrosexual

:D :D :D Couldn't have put it better myself!
Post by: oneillcup2007 on September 12, 2007, 01:01:31 PM
Pub talk at the weekend descended into all sorts of moral / ammoral quandaries.  One bloke albeit hes a pisstaker, reckoned it was now perfectly acceptable to use  ahem toys in the bedroom with the missus and claimed it was widespread.  Needless to say he got slagged out of the place.  Where does this fit in with the whole metrosexual arguement, and would these toys be something for the manbaggers.
Title: Manbaggers & Toys
Post by: full back on September 12, 2007, 01:25:14 PM
I would say in the case of the manbaggers the wife probably uses the toys on the bloke ;)
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 12, 2007, 01:31:41 PM
QuotePOG

What's wrong with it?  It's for fishermen isn't it?
You wouldn't tell any of them in "perfect storm" that they were soft would you????
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 12, 2007, 01:51:52 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 12, 2007, 01:31:41 PM
QuotePOG

What's wrong with it?  It's for fishermen isn't it?
You wouldn't tell any of them in "perfect storm" that they were soft would you????

....are YOU a fisherman

are ye a man at all !

sever hints of metro there POG ! :D
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on September 13, 2007, 10:12:49 AM
Having read this thread I now notice a proliferation of fellahs with manbags AND laptop carriers too. Two Bags?

At least there'll be less Norn Iron jerseys running around now.
Post by: Rois on September 13, 2007, 03:11:01 PM
Well suit-wearers - having a debate in work here.  I have heard that men shouldn't mix a patterned shirt with a patterned tie with a patterned suit, ie if you have a pin-stripe suit, only one of the tie or the shirt should have a pattern. 

A colleague of mine today is wearing a pinstripe suit, a shirt with a check in it, and a striped tie.  I think it looks too busy and a bit like a dog's dinner.

Any opinions?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 13, 2007, 03:18:36 PM
Plain shirt - patterned tie
Patterned shirt (stripes or checks) - plain tie
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 13, 2007, 03:21:28 PM
Quote from: Rois on September 13, 2007, 03:11:01 PM
Well suit-wearers - having a debate in work here.  I have heard that men shouldn't mix a patterned shirt with a patterned tie with a patterned suit, ie if you have a pin-stripe suit, only one of the tie or the shirt should have a pattern. 

A colleague of mine today is wearing a pinstripe suit, a shirt with a check in it, and a striped tie.  I think it looks too busy and a bit like a dog's dinner.

Any opinions?

really depends on how loud the colours are imo
what used to be the unwrittern code of fashion (eg no blues with greens or only black shoes with black/grey suits)  etc no longer holds.
anything goes these days. Some people try to be be outlandish to appear to be fashionable.
if you cant convince them, confuse the,.
Post by: ziggysego on September 13, 2007, 03:24:36 PM
Quote from: Rois on September 13, 2007, 03:11:01 PM

Any opinions?

Sounds like a fashion disaster darling
Post by: Rois on September 13, 2007, 04:18:39 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 13, 2007, 03:18:36 PM

Well, see, I don't think patterned shirt and patterned tie is necessarily that bad, but if you team it with a striped suit, just assault on the eyes.
Post by: Louth Exile on September 13, 2007, 04:35:26 PM
Quote from: Rois on September 13, 2007, 04:18:39 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 13, 2007, 03:18:36 PM

Well, see, I don't think patterned shirt and patterned tie is necessarily that bad, but if you team it with a striped suit, just assault on the eyes.

You're right.
Pinstrip suit, plain or stripped shirt and plain tie, you can't go wrong.

PS: Only real men can pull off being able to wear salmon..... it's salmon I tells you, not pink!!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 13, 2007, 04:37:06 PM
it's fecking pink
Post by: Puckoon on September 13, 2007, 05:07:38 PM
Pink is the new black - or so the salesman said... :-\

Patterened everything is too much. The workmate needs to ditch the striped suit for starteds (I think they make men look fatter than usual).
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 13, 2007, 05:13:03 PM
Vertical stripes = good

Horizontal stripes = bad
Post by: Rois on September 13, 2007, 05:16:10 PM
They make you look fatter hardstation - that's a basic fashion rule!!!
Post by: Puckoon on September 13, 2007, 05:24:09 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 13, 2007, 05:08:44 PM
QuoteI think they make men look fatter than usual).
You are metrosexual.

The thought dawned on me after Id written that hardstation. However - I dont own a striped suit. I dont moistuise, I dont wax the other bits (conscious that there is a lady on here now) or shave the chest/legs  - heck i barely shave my face cos Im a lazy sod, and until recently, Id never owned a manbag but now I ride the bus just to show it off! ;)
Post by: Louth Exile on September 13, 2007, 05:26:42 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 13, 2007, 05:19:56 PM
Does my bum look big in these feckin football shorts?

:D :D
Post by: Puckoon on September 13, 2007, 05:27:45 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 13, 2007, 05:13:03 PM
Vertical stripes = good

Horizontal stripes = bad

Horizontal stripes = Jail?
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on September 14, 2007, 08:14:33 AM
Quote from: hardstation on September 13, 2007, 05:14:03 PM

Horizontal stripes???????

Glasgow Celtic?
Post by: Louth Exile on October 15, 2007, 04:13:28 PM
I don't remember entering the competition, I must have though, because I just won a years supply of mens grooming products  :D :D

Damn want to watch myself, if I use this stuff (probably mosturiser and the like) whats next? I could end up sporting a man bag  :-[

God help the male member of my family who gets me in a Kris Kringle  :D
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on October 15, 2007, 04:44:31 PM
There is no such thing as a manbag - it is a handbag and men survived long enough without them....
Shaving below the neck is just immoral really...(for men anyway)....
Post by: unforgiven on June 26, 2008, 11:57:37 AM
Just had a wee trim down below with combination of scissors and razor.  No particular reason other than i thought i would give it a go.  Looks the business now but not sure if I went about it the right way.

Anyone any advice on the best methods?  any veet for men users amongst us?

Also any advice on where to stop at.  I just did the pubes and ballbag but there's hair coming in from everywhere else.

all tips much appreciated
Post by: ziggysego on June 26, 2008, 12:03:19 PM
Stop shaving your pubes...... freak!

Post by: Stalin on June 26, 2008, 12:07:16 PM
Quote from: unforgiven on June 26, 2008, 11:57:37 AM
Just had a wee trim down below with combination of scissors and razor.  No particular reason other than i thought i would give it a go.  Looks the business now but not sure if I went about it the right way.

Anyone any advice on the best methods?  any veet for men users amongst us?

Also any advice on where to stop at.  I just did the pubes and ballbag but there's hair coming in from everywhere else.

all tips much appreciated

pics or it didnt happen
Post by: unforgiven on June 26, 2008, 12:07:44 PM
now ziggy, don't tell me you don't trim the manbush?  i hear there is a parlour for that sort of thing at the back of eddie mccullaghs?
Post by: Hardy on June 26, 2008, 12:10:14 PM
I use a strimmer.
Post by: ziggysego on June 26, 2008, 12:10:34 PM
That there is, but I've never frequent it. I'm rough and ready, but hard pushed to even use a bit of spray on my way out the door on a Saturday night!
Post by: fred the red on June 26, 2008, 12:12:52 PM
I got my pubes shaved by a nurse when i had a hernia. havnt got round to doing it again though.
Post by: unforgiven on June 26, 2008, 12:13:21 PM
Quote from: fred the red on June 26, 2008, 12:12:52 PM
I got my pubes shaved by a nurse when i had a hernia. havnt got round to doing it again though.

So i should hire a nurse then?

Post by: fred the red on June 26, 2008, 12:14:44 PM
it sounds like its too late if you already have the job done. they are a bastid growing back!
Post by: unforgiven on June 26, 2008, 12:56:58 PM
maybe I am.  But surely I'm not the only one on here doing the same? 
Post by: Longshanks on June 26, 2008, 01:34:41 PM
Only one on the board admitting to it anyway!! :P :P

Aye I got an op once had to have that area shaved, said I could either have it all off or just half (i.e where they needed to operate)
what the fook would I have looked like with half of it off?

went the whole hog!!itchy as hell growing back.. :o :o
Post by: screenexile on June 26, 2008, 04:49:39 PM
Quote from: noeldebrun on June 26, 2008, 04:47:34 PM
i've just realised after reading through this , i've dyed the hair, straightened it, used mosteriour, own several pink shirts, i'm sounding rather gay i must admit

Dude... you are so gay!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 26, 2008, 04:55:13 PM
Quote from: unforgiven on June 26, 2008, 12:56:58 PM
maybe I am.  But surely I'm not the only one on here doing the same? 

You not the only one i have often given the crown jewels a bit of a haircut
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 26, 2008, 05:12:26 PM
I'm so metrosexual I'm going to this on Sunday

http://www.pridetoronto.com/pride_parade.php
Post by: Puckoon on June 26, 2008, 06:22:47 PM
A 'friend' made this mistake one valentines day. He was headed over to a very very very cold eastern european country. Thought it was a good idea. Went a bit further than the scissors and clippers - this eejit took the mac 3 to them. All worked out fine until he was done - and (he says) the whole thing was shriveled up like a pickled walnut with goosebumps. Then he hit the -15degree weather and he thought the sac was going to tighten up until the nuts and the whole shebang were squeezed out like a pimple.

This fella has since moved to warmer climes - and is happy enough leaving them the way they are by all accounts. However the last day I was chatting to him - he said he was getting worried about a stray grey...
Post by: ziggysego on June 26, 2008, 06:34:59 PM
For goodness sake Puck, let him to dye!!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 19, 2008, 11:35:18 AM
bump for kinghen
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 19, 2008, 11:36:56 AM
shaving is costing me a fortune, anyone else get this amount of stuff?

Nivea for men pre-shave face wash (about 4 or 5 quid a pop)
Gillette Fusion Power blades (rip off but the best, about 10er for a pack)
King Of Shaves Shaving Gel (the green one with the aloe vera and stuff, doesn't foam up just lathers a little) (again about 4quid)
Nivea for men replenishing balm (about 6 quid a bottle!)

Does that sound a bit   :-*

Post by: kinghen on August 19, 2008, 12:15:00 PM
i think that trimmin th'aul pubage is a must, im not talkin about using razors or anything but a wee trim with the scissors tidies the whole thing up
Post by: bennydorano on August 19, 2008, 12:16:05 PM
Cant shave with them gels at all, shaving brush and soap for me.  You need the moisturiser after shaving with soap everyday (Mac 3).  My biggest outlay is on aftershave, I have about 7 or 8 different bottles, I just cant help myself.  My favourite is Paco Rabanne (sp?), not that dear at about £15 for a good size bottle but I find it is excellent for the skin, would never need moisturiser when using it.
Post by: Longshanks on August 19, 2008, 12:21:54 PM
Jasis Niall whats this pre shave stuff you talk about, I use the rest though :o :o
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 19, 2008, 12:26:42 PM
Its sorta like this stuff but says on it about prepping you for a shave

http://www.amazon.com/Nivea-Cleansing-Double-Action-5-Ounce/dp/B000FKJPIS/ref=pd_sim_hpc_14/002-2111325-5976849

Its good as I used to hate shaving but since I started using this stuff an all, it softens your stubble an all

This one isn't the one I use though, look like it though

I love aftershave as well, went there about two months ago and spent near £200 on it one day, got four new ones!
Post by: ziggysego on August 19, 2008, 12:29:04 PM
Shave, aftershave and a bit of spray. That's my lot.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 19, 2008, 12:39:36 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 19, 2008, 12:29:04 PM
Shave, aftershave and a bit of spray. That's my lot.

I'm surprised there's that much!!
Post by: ziggysego on August 19, 2008, 12:45:30 PM
That's only if I'm heading out or going to work. Rest of the time I smell as nature intended.
Post by: downgirl on August 19, 2008, 12:57:38 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on August 19, 2008, 11:36:56 AM
shaving is costing me a fortune, anyone else get this amount of stuff?

Nivea for men pre-shave face wash (about 4 or 5 quid a pop)
King Of Shaves Shaving Gel (the green one with the aloe vera and stuff, doesn't foam up just lathers a little) (again about 4quid)

Does that sound a bit   :-*

Worth every penny our nail, better to have a fella that looks after themselves than one who doesn't!
Post by: kinghen on August 19, 2008, 01:02:03 PM
 :o
Post by: screenexile on August 19, 2008, 01:04:10 PM
I know you're a big one for the hairly chests downgirl but hat about the hairy back? I've noticed the usually fine hairs on the other side are starting to get a bit thicker and it's probably only a matter of time until I'm soorting the jumper look.

Anyone else had this problem? What's the story with the waxing is it sore? Expensive?

Downgirl reckons she loves the hairly chested men but what do you and the rest of the femal species think about the all around hairiness?
Post by: Longshanks on August 19, 2008, 01:09:06 PM
Indeed Screenexc I know what your talking about...

Lastnight had my housemate shaving the neck hair and she noticed the hairs on the back, wasn't too happy about it offered to shave it all off but it aint that bad and heard it comes back twice as thick.

Anyway never had any other bother ;D
Post by: downgirl on August 19, 2008, 01:28:02 PM
Hairy at like the base of your back and up rather than the top??  That's quite nice...not so fussed on hairy shoulders though!!  Out of all my friends I only know of one other girl that loves hairy men...her boyfriend is the hairiest fella I have ever seen!!

Never had my back waxed but I wouldn't think it would be that sore?  Are you thinking about getting it done screenexile?  If you want it removed permanently you could try laser hair removal.
Post by: screenexile on August 19, 2008, 01:33:55 PM
Quote from: downgirl on August 19, 2008, 01:28:02 PM
Hairy at like the base of your back and up rather than the top??  That's quite nice...not so fussed on hairy shoulders though!!  Out of all my friends I only know of one other girl that loves hairy men...her boyfriend is the hairiest fella I have ever seen!!

Never had my back waxed but I wouldn't think it would be that sore?  Are you thinking about getting it done screenexile?  If you want it removed permanently you could try laser hair removal.

I'm not that bothered about it that I'd laser it. Is that not right and expnsive anyway?
Post by: downgirl on August 19, 2008, 01:48:10 PM
Yea I think it is expensive enough, don't know the exact price though.  Sure leave the hair unless your other half doesn't like it at all.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 19, 2008, 01:56:13 PM
QuoteNivea for men pre-shave face wash (about 4 or 5 quid a pop)

Nail that is f***ing ridiculous. Have ya money to burn or something? A drop of shaving foam and a dispoable razor is all ya need (gillette disposable, not Bic - I have some class!). Pre-face wash?! Never heard the likes of it.
Post by: unforgiven on August 19, 2008, 02:34:21 PM
exile, would it not be possible to transplant some of that hair from your back onto your ever expanding forehead?  just a thought!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 19, 2008, 05:46:04 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 19, 2008, 01:56:13 PM
QuoteNivea for men pre-shave face wash (about 4 or 5 quid a pop)

Nail that is f***ing ridiculous. Have ya money to burn or something? A drop of shaving foam and a dispoable razor is all ya need (gillette disposable, not Bic - I have some class!). Pre-face wash?! Never heard the likes of it.

If I had to pick someone to be amazed by my regime it would have been you!!

Do yourself a favour and use a gillette fusion razor with some of that shaving gel, you will blow your load!!

Sure doesnt tiger woods, terry henry and roger federer want ya too!
Post by: Puckoon on August 19, 2008, 06:04:17 PM
Quote from: screenexile on August 19, 2008, 01:04:10 PM
I know you're a big one for the hairly chests downgirl but hat about the hairy back? I've noticed the usually fine hairs on the other side are starting to get a bit thicker and it's probably only a matter of time until I'm soorting the jumper look.

Anyone else had this problem? What's the story with the waxing is it sore? Expensive?

Downgirl reckons she loves the hairly chested men but what do you and the rest of the femal species think about the all around hairiness?

About 18 months ago I noticed a straggler at the top of my back. In the passing time its procreated and has about 20 siblings. Kinda silly looking to be honest, but it is what it is.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 19, 2008, 06:10:46 PM
I used to have two stray hairs, they had doubled within a couple of months and now I have about thirty!!

Dreading the day they spread like f**k. Don't fancy gettnig waxed at all!
Post by: ziggysego on May 16, 2009, 02:12:31 PM
David Mitchell - Male Grooming

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NaTM2dO7TV8 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NaTM2dO7TV8)
Post by: ziggysego on September 29, 2009, 02:13:20 PM
Jesus wept, any of the lads here got one?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/magazine/8272962.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/magazine/8272962.stm)