Death Notices

Started by Armagh4SamAgain, April 05, 2007, 03:25:33 PM

https://www.irishtimes.com/culture/tv-radio-web/larry-gogan-s-just-a-minute-quiz-the-answers-that-became-part-of-irish-folklore-1.4132699?mode=amp

Larry Name something you open other than a door
Caller Your bowels

Larry Name a jacket potato topping
Caller Jam

Larry What was Hitler's first name?
Caller Heil

Larry Where is the Taj Mahal?
Caller Opposite the dental hospital

Larry Name something that flies that doesn't have an engine
Caller A bicycle with wings

Larry Name an occupation where you might need a torch
Caller Burglar

Larry What is the capital of France?
Caller F

Larry Name a bird with a long neck
Caller Naomi Campbell

Larry Who would use a shuttlecock?
Caller An astronaut

And one that never actually happened but was part of Brendan Grace's comedy routine
Larry Complete the catchphrase "as happy as..."
Caller A pig in shit

snoopdog

BBC radio ulster Stephen Clements. Rip. 47. Just announced.

Quote from: Boycey on January 07, 2020, 11:40:35 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on January 07, 2020, 10:20:30 AM
Ah, Larry. What a legend. I used to listen to him every day on my way home. Even pulled in one day and got onto his Just A Minute Quiz. Came across as a really nice man. Sad to hear. RIP Larry.

Was it you that answered 'Name a bird with a long neck' with Naomi Campbell  ;D ;D

Aye, that was me :D

Quote from: Taylor on January 07, 2020, 12:06:37 PM
The Golden Hour & Just A Minute Quiz. Radio gold.

Before 2FM became putrid shite with egotistical pricks purveying as DJ's

Radio gold indeed.

2FM is absolute shite these days. I never ever have it on.

Stephen Clements is a shocker, listened to him on Citybeat for 3/4 years there until he left in September.  Was reading last week about him potentially moving to a different branch of the BBC too.

Yeah just heard that. I spoke to him a few times after he joined Radio Ulster, he seemed to be a good guy. He had big boots to fill, in my opinion, when he replaced Sean Coyle but he appeared to have won the audience over. RIP

Quote from: BennyCake on January 07, 2020, 01:22:25 PM
Quote from: Taylor on January 07, 2020, 12:06:37 PM
The Golden Hour & Just A Minute Quiz. Radio gold.

Before 2FM became putrid shite with egotistical pricks purveying as DJ's

Radio gold indeed.

2FM is absolute shite these days. I never ever have it on.
Yeah I would never have 2FM on anymore. The Golden Hour was brilliant.
Larry had a great radio voice.
RIP.

Quote from: Dougal Maguire on January 07, 2020, 01:43:29 PM
Yeah just heard that. I spoke to him a few times after he joined Radio Ulster, he seemed to be a good guy. He had big boots to fill, in my opinion, when he replaced Sean Coyle but he appeared to have won the audience over. RIP

Just heard that. Was a relatively young man.
Any word what happened?

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: Taylor on January 07, 2020, 01:51:23 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on January 07, 2020, 01:43:29 PM

Just heard that. Was a relatively young man.
Any word what happened?

No idea but very shocking

You can infer what happened from the way the articles are written. He "died suddenly".

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: gallsman on January 07, 2020, 02:11:23 PM
You can infer what happened from the way the articles are written. He "died suddenly".

I was thinking that. God Rest his Soul.

JohnDenver

He had tweeted a picture last night of a collage of himself, and wife and 2 children. Very sad indeed.

Desperate. And his last tweet is heartbreaking

snoopdog

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 07, 2020, 02:18:32 PM

I was thinking that. God Rest his Soul.
Very sad. Listened to him a good few times on radio Ulster. Always seemed a happy and a really nice guy. Up for a bit of craic with everyone. Liked to wind up Nolan. You never know what is going on in people's minds.  May he rest in peace. God love the 2 kids.