Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: leenie on April 04, 2024, 08:43:12 PM

Title: Getting married
Post by: leenie on April 04, 2024, 08:43:12 PM
It's been 13 years since I posted. today I married the watcher pat..but we are having our main day in the canal court on Saturday.. We first came across each other through the board 17 years ago.. We have been lucky to have a messenger chat all these years with people we met thru this board.. If you remember us we hope u are happy for our wedding day..

Leenie and the watcher pat xx
Title: Re: Getting married
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 04, 2024, 08:53:19 PM
No way! Of course remember you both - are you the first gaaboard wedding?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 04, 2024, 08:53:32 PM
Congrats to you both!
Post by: armaghniac on April 04, 2024, 08:54:29 PM
Many congratulations and many happy years of attending and diagnosing games!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 04, 2024, 08:55:59 PM
Wow! Congrats

Post by: StephenC on April 04, 2024, 08:57:32 PM
 ;D  ;D  That is both brilliant and absurd! Congrats to you both. Where should we all send the RSVP?
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on April 04, 2024, 09:11:39 PM
Congrats, the board was very different back in the earlier days.

Two threads spring to mind from back then related to marraige, and looking back (on your posts) you started one and had a few posts on the other. 

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=9764.msg397061#msg397061

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=9942.0

Post by: Itchy on April 04, 2024, 09:17:56 PM
Congrats. I feel like this should be like the Truman show and you should live your life entirely through this board now  ;D

Post by: Substandard on April 04, 2024, 09:21:56 PM
Congratulations!!
I live in renewed hope!!😅
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 04, 2024, 09:29:55 PM
The Watcher Pat

October 29, 2008, 03:38:02 PM
Four pages on this thread in under a hour...Just goes to show you what you lot are all like!!

I agree name and shame the PM'ers
Post by: thewobbler on April 04, 2024, 09:37:52 PM
Brilliant stuff. Congrats you pair.
Post by: J70 on April 04, 2024, 09:38:37 PM
Wow! Congratulations to you both!
Post by: trueblue1234 on April 04, 2024, 09:41:20 PM
It's only £100 for a couple these days tho.

Congrats on the big day. Great news for the board. Bound to be a mini series in the offing?
Post by: gerrykeegan on April 04, 2024, 10:38:08 PM
Congratulations. That is funny that you met through here.
Post by: Rois on April 04, 2024, 11:12:19 PM
Ah brilliant! Comhgairdeas libh.

He obviously never posted anything that put you off.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on April 04, 2024, 11:48:41 PM
Does that make us all Cillas?!

Congrats Leenie and Pat 🙂
Post by: GAABoardMod5 on April 04, 2024, 11:56:08 PM
Congrats to both.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on April 05, 2024, 12:41:14 AM
Congratulations to you both.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 05, 2024, 12:49:33 AM
Don't know if you're Star Trek aficionados but here's some sage advice on marriage from a Klingon:

Post by: Lubo Moravcik on April 05, 2024, 08:13:06 AM
Congratulations to you both
Post by: Cavan19 on April 05, 2024, 08:38:17 AM
See you all on Saturday.
Post by: lurganblue on April 05, 2024, 09:46:08 AM
Congrats folks.  It is my own wedding anniversary today.  16 years.  On that day it was also Grand National day and Comply or Die was the winner... say what you will about that.
Post by: illdecide on April 05, 2024, 09:51:34 AM
Congrats both...remember you both surely. Well done and hope you both have many happy times ahead.
Post by: AustinPowers on April 05, 2024, 09:56:01 AM
Congratulations to  you both.

Maybe there  should  be  a  dating thread  on here?  We might see more  weddings  ;)
Post by: tbrick18 on April 05, 2024, 10:31:43 AM
Congratulation to you both!
Now that you've given away the venue - does that mean we're all invited to the evening do?
Post by: johnnycool on April 05, 2024, 10:41:54 AM
Who knew this place was also a dating app!

Congratulations to you both
Post by: seafoid on April 05, 2024, 10:48:12 AM
Enjoy the day. And the championship
Post by: maggie on April 05, 2024, 11:18:43 AM
Good times on the board back in the day. Congrats to you both. Looking forward to the celebrations.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on April 05, 2024, 11:45:31 AM
Is Maggie invited but not the rest of us?!

MODDDDDDSSSSSS!!!!
Post by: leenie on April 05, 2024, 03:27:47 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on April 05, 2024, 11:45:31 AMIs Maggie invited but not the rest of us?!

MODDDDDDSSSSSS!!!!

Maggie is bridesmaid and I do think we are the 1st gaaboard wedding
Post by: leenie on April 05, 2024, 03:31:20 PM
We have been asked alot over the years how we met and not everone knows the board.. but we will give it a mention in the speeches
Post by: imtommygunn on April 05, 2024, 03:39:04 PM
I was at a wedding once where the couple met playing world of warcraft online.
Post by: johnnycool on April 05, 2024, 03:39:21 PM
Quote from: leenie on April 05, 2024, 03:31:20 PMWe have been asked alot over the years how we met and not everone knows the board.. but we will give it a mention in the speeches

Is Tony Fearon going?
Post by: AustinPowers on April 05, 2024, 03:42:53 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on April 05, 2024, 11:45:31 AMIs Maggie invited but not the rest of us?!

MODDDDDDSSSSSS!!!!

Surely a  free drink for all members attending  Isnt too  much to ask?  ;D 
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 05, 2024, 03:44:38 PM
The board could have thrown up a lot more marriages over the years but being predominantly male arseholes (obviously not Watcher pat) it probably turned off the female GAA heads out their.

How do we make the board more inclusive? Not too many threads for the ladies, which, considering so many clubs are nearly half and half with the teams seems strange enough or the pattern of social media here isn't much craic lol
Post by: imtommygunn on April 05, 2024, 03:47:11 PM
The ladies football is pretty interesting these days. I wanted to read somewhere what the hell happened armagh against dublin but not much interest in it it seems. Even starting with that.
Post by: joemamas on April 05, 2024, 04:18:55 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 04, 2024, 08:53:19 PMNo way! Of course remember you both - are you the first gaaboard wedding?

No
Eire90 and Kerryforsams
Eire90 and all his stupid other aliases

BTW congrats, great story.
Post by: Puckoon on April 05, 2024, 05:04:01 PM
Congrats Leenie and Watcher Pat!
Post by: gallsman on April 05, 2024, 05:15:10 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 05, 2024, 03:39:04 PMI was at a wedding once where the couple met playing world of warcraft online.

(https://cdn-cf.ginx.tv/imgcdn/lWvoNgAjNn6LyNIADdR7atx95thlFFhnYAQIablLghM/rs:fill:2560:0:1/g:ce/aHR0cHM6Ly93d3cuZ2lueC50di91cGxvYWRzMi9Xb1cvV29XQmFubmVkLmpwZw)
Post by: OgraAnDun on April 05, 2024, 05:33:39 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 05, 2024, 03:44:38 PMThe board could have thrown up a lot more marriages over the years but being predominantly male arseholes (obviously not Watcher pat) it probably turned off the female GAA heads out their.

How do we make the board more inclusive? Not too many threads for the ladies, which, considering so many clubs are nearly half and half with the teams seems strange enough or the pattern of social media here isn't much craic lol

Sub-board for ladies football & camogie discussion under the hurling sub-board.
Post by: armaghniac on April 05, 2024, 05:59:08 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on April 05, 2024, 05:33:39 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 05, 2024, 03:44:38 PMThe board could have thrown up a lot more marriages over the years but being predominantly male arseholes (obviously not Watcher pat) it probably turned off the female GAA heads out their.

Sub-board for ladies football & camogie discussion under the hurling sub-board.

Indeed, Ladies' football rarely gets a mention. Their league final is on Sunday, featuring those giant counties of Gealic football excellence, Armagh and Kerry.
Post by: ONeill on April 05, 2024, 10:57:40 PM
Brilliant!
Post by: Well on April 06, 2024, 02:30:50 PM
Congratulations to you both, great news!

Pat was obviously doing more than watching all these years ;)
Post by: Gold on April 07, 2024, 12:06:44 PM
Quote from: Well on April 06, 2024, 02:30:50 PMCongratulations to you both, great news!

Pat was obviously doing more than watching all these years ;)

Always said you couldn't watch Pat with a bag of eyes!!

Comhgairdeas 🙌🙌
Post by: grounded on April 07, 2024, 12:22:02 PM
Congratulations to you both, hope you had a great day.
Post by: The Subbie on April 10, 2024, 12:45:04 PM
Well done !!
Best of luck to yis !!