Quote from: Tubberman on December 18, 2019, 02:45:45 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 18, 2019, 02:43:34 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on December 18, 2019, 02:09:00 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 18, 2019, 01:25:15 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on December 18, 2019, 11:40:15 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 18, 2019, 11:12:27 AM
Quote from: MayoBuck on December 17, 2019, 09:13:02 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 17, 2019, 08:29:51 PM
Hold up. You state that you can't do the basics because the money is tied up in the senior team, and if they struggle, you have less money, so proportionally more has to go into the senior team.

Thats the business model of a league of Ireland club that went bust in the 60's after two seasons.

What do you mean by can't do the basics? Mayo have 4 full time coaches and that's all that can be afforded with the current GD funding being received. Brolly is proposing to spend ~€280k per year on 8 coaches with no guarantee where the money comes from.

The senior team largely pays for itself. Go far in the championship and more commercial/fundraising money comes in, get knocked out early and less money is spent.

Sigh. I'll type it slowly.

You cant afford coaches to go out and spread the games, but you can afford to spend what is by a distance the most that is spent  on an individual team. And this spending is conditional  on the the income generated by team going a certain distance. If they don't you cant pay the bills. That is by definition unsustainable.

The most Spent by a considerable distance, I'm not sure if that's accurate but there needs to be context added to such a statement. Two years ago there was twenty panel members living in Dublin , I assume that figure hasn't changed much , do you realize how much more expense that adds to the yearly bill compared to the polar opposite of say Dublin who would very few if any based outside the county . There is much more to consider , logistics are a fuc ing nightmare.
Every county has players based in Dublin. Thats not it.

It's not what? Travelling expenses amounted to €927,444 in 2019.

Jesus wept. Thats because you had to go to NY.

But even with that, does that number not strike you as high? €20k a player?

Do you have a point?

You are spunking money on a mediocre team like no other county and complaining you don't have money for the basics

Do you have the breakdown for all counties there handy?

Of course

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/revealed-here-is-how-much-your-county-spent-on-its-teams-in-2017-with-dublin-only-the-second-biggest-spenders-36576369.html

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: larryin89 on December 18, 2019, 03:04:23 PM
"Mediocre team " ffs what's the point when you obviously have an axe to grind .

I'm sorry. Maybe the blinds are for the trophy cabinet

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: rosnarun on December 18, 2019, 03:37:39 PM
the axe of course being that even though dyblin have won 5 in a row the most Dublin teams will ever achieve is Respect ,
they are unlovable  , with the exception of Jack mcCaffery , boring bunch of clones made in their makers image with a massive inbuilt advantages in terms of money and population  that have done nothing to promote Gaelic football  and and no matter how much they win that is how they will be remembered

And how will Mayo be remembered?

MayoBuck

Why does 1 county get handed €1.6 million per year for "the basics" while everyone else is given pittance and expected to find the balance some other way?

Quote from: Hound on December 18, 2019, 12:51:23 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on December 17, 2019, 08:24:12 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 17, 2019, 03:13:44 PM
Quote from: MayoBuck on December 16, 2019, 08:31:40 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on December 16, 2019, 04:42:02 PM
Quote from: TheGreatest on December 16, 2019, 02:49:34 PM
https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/joe-brolly-vertical-blinds-funsize-bananas-and-mass-incompetence-county-boards-are-even-worse-than-we-thought-38785311.html

:o
"The focus was and remains participation and coaching. Dublin spent €1.2m on coaching this year. In that same period, it cost €1m to run the Mayo senior team. Dublin have 52 full-time coaches in schools and small clubs. Their salaries are around €30,000, with the clubs making a contribution towards the cost.
Mayo have four full-time coaches, and two working 19 hours a week. Eight extra coaches in Mayo would cost them around €250,000 and would — pro rata — give them more coaches than the Dubs. Instead, like most counties, the money is disappearing down the black hole of the senior county team, including vertical blinds and fun-size bananas and God only knows what else. No wonder there is civil war in Mayo between the county board and the clubs."

I too read his article and while I have no reason to back the Mayo county board, I think he is being economical with the truth here. He should be able to express his POV without distorting the facts.
By far the greatest items of expenditure are the costs of travelling and accommodation. This season Mayo played nine championship matches and had to travel to New York for the opening game.
With 10 0f the panel residing in Dublin, they travel costs have to be factored in  also. Dublin play most of their games in Croker and have all their players living in the county so Brolly wasn't comparing like with like here and he knew it.
To call  him a devious bullocks would be the understatement of the year.

Brolly also neglects to mention the huge difference in games development funding given to Dublin and Mayo. That's what is used to pay the full time coaches and Mayo clubs are unable to contribute to salaries as they are repaying the MacHale Park loan.

Also, the idea that we can just spend less on the senior team and use the money elsewhere is wrong. Most of the revenue only exists by the senior team going deep into the championship.
So your model is unsustainable.
I'm using a bit of bog logic here but I think Dublin has  about four times as many registered players as Mayo have. That's going by one of the infographs posted on another thread sometime  ago. (39,000+ vs !0,000+ )
Dublin has 52 full time coaches whereas Mayo have four. So you don't have to be a nuclear physicist to cop that Dublin has only four times as many players but thirteen times as many coaches. Mayo coaches have logistical issues their Dub counterparts wouldn't understand. THe Mayo heads might clock up 20 times as many miles in a working week.
Now, I am not begrudging anything to the Dubs. Everyone else who look for the same if they could get it but the Mayo CB isn't totally clueless and in most cases are doing an okay job. My grief here is with Brolly. If you want to criticise the Mayo CB, and most Mayo fans do, you should at least get your facts straight.
When comparing GDO/coaching you need to be comparing numbers of primary school children. Number of adult members is completely irrelevant to the work the GDOs do!!
Not disagreeing with your overall point, but if you use irrelevant facts to back up a point, you're venturing into Brolly territory!
I understand what you are saying but my understanding is that we are/were talking about all grants to counties, irrespective of origin, GAA, Irish Sports Council etc.)
However, if you are going by the number of primary school kids involved, the bias in Dublin's favour would be even greater. Dublin has four times the number of GAA players than Mayo but has far more than four times the number of primary school children.
I don't have precise numbers involved but if you go by the respective populations, Dublin has more than 10 times the number of people. (That's going by the 2016 census, 1,347,359 vs 130,507.) Bear in mind also that the demographics are skewed in Dublin's favour, the numbers of school going age are increasing rapidly whereas the opposite is true in Mayo.Mayo has an aging population, primary schools are closing or amalgamating, few very report an increase in roll numbers. THHe opposite holds true in Dublin.
Anyway, I'm not interested in point scoring of any sort right now, I still maintain that Brolly was being economical with the truth when he attacked Mayo's spend on the senior team. According to the last audit I am aware of, Mayo spent around 1.5 million in team expenses but that included ALL football teams.

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 18, 2019, 01:25:15 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on December 18, 2019, 11:40:15 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 18, 2019, 11:12:27 AM
Quote from: MayoBuck on December 17, 2019, 09:13:02 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 17, 2019, 08:29:51 PM
Hold up. You state that you can't do the basics because the money is tied up in the senior team, and if they struggle, you have less money, so proportionally more has to go into the senior team.

Thats the business model of a league of Ireland club that went bust in the 60's after two seasons.

What do you mean by can't do the basics? Mayo have 4 full time coaches and that's all that can be afforded with the current GD funding being received. Brolly is proposing to spend ~€280k per year on 8 coaches with no guarantee where the money comes from.

The senior team largely pays for itself. Go far in the championship and more commercial/fundraising money comes in, get knocked out early and less money is spent.

Sigh. I'll type it slowly.

You cant afford coaches to go out and spread the games, but you can afford to spend what is by a distance the most that is spent  on an individual team. And this spending is conditional  on the the income generated by team going a certain distance. If they don't you cant pay the bills. That is by definition unsustainable.

The most Spent by a considerable distance, I'm not sure if that's accurate but there needs to be context added to such a statement. Two years ago there was twenty panel members living in Dublin , I assume that figure hasn't changed much , do you realize how much more expense that adds to the yearly bill compared to the polar opposite of say Dublin who would very few if any based outside the county . There is much more to consider , logistics are a fuc ing nightmare.
Every county has players based in Dublin. Thats not it.
Oh yes, it is!
The point is we are comparing Mayo's spend on senior team expenses to Dublin's. To be more precise, we are discussing what one obnoxious individual, aka, Je Brolly, had to say when comparing both.

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 18, 2019, 04:01:51 PM
the axe of course being that even though dyblin have won 5 in a row the most Dublin teams will ever achieve is Respect ,
they are unlovable  , with the exception of Jack mcCaffery , boring bunch of clones made in their makers image with a massive inbuilt advantages in terms of money and population  that have done nothing to promote Gaelic football  and and no matter how much they win that is how they will be remembered

maybe as the best team never to win an all Ireland but with great fondness that played open whole  hearted football even though they had Flaws and it was never quiet enough, well until 2020 anyway
to paraphrase Eamonn Dunphy Dublin's is a 'Strange Kind of  glory '

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: rosnarun on December 18, 2019, 05:28:23 PM

maybe as the best team never to win an all Ireland but with great fondness that played open whole  hearted football even though they had Flaws and it was never quiet enough, well until 2020 anyway
Or chokers who couldn't run a bath

Mayo will be remembered like all good teams who get to All Ireland Finals and lose. The Galway team of the 70's and the Roscommon teams of later on in the decade.

There was never a time I felt that Mayo could have beaten Dublin in all those encounters since 2012. We gave them a game, but they always had a bit more. You have to say they have got a lot of of the Millions and Millions they have gotten from the Government, the AA and their Sponsors.

Anyway that's all in the past now.

MayoBuck

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 18, 2019, 07:46:54 PM

Just after reading the independent article you posted above and noticed this about Dublin's finances in 2017:

"They also benefited from a €462,000 payment from the National League share, courtesy of the crowds they attracted, taking team-related income well over the €2m mark."

Even though they're using a stadium that was handed to them free of charge!! Meanwhile Mayo repay Croke Park 400k per year for the MacHale Park loan.

Chokers? So they should have beaten Dublin in those finals? So they're a better bunch of footballers than the Dublin players then? Because if Dublin were a better team then Mayo couldn't be chokers for drawing with them or losing by a point.

Or a shower of pampered media pets with more professionals in their backup squad than players on the panel or a country board that's so incompetent than it needs more than half the money HQ has set aside for the entire country, north and south just to remain solvent, sort of .... the list goes on ad infinitum.

(Maybe there is no county that could have all those boxes checked; certainly no more than one or two at the most and maybe one at the least. What do you think?) ;D

Quote from: Lar Naparka on December 18, 2019, 11:13:10 PM

Or a shower of pampered media pets with more professionals in their backup squad than players on the panel or a country board that's so incompetent than it needs more than half the money HQ has set aside for the entire country, north and south just to remain solvent, sort of .... the list goes on ad infinitum.

(Maybe there is no county that could have all those boxes checked; certainly no more than one or two at the most and maybe one at the least. What do you think?) ;D

so on the money.
The GAA has become DAA.
As for the media love fest, please don't get me started.
breaking news " Dublin player has dinner in a restaurant, ordered meat instead of chicken"
See six attached photos, one for each course.
Management or sorry "Players PRO or agent " has decided not to comment on the food variance.
If the player in question is suspended for this, there will be a high court injunction to overturn the suspension.

Quote from: Lar Naparka on December 18, 2019, 11:13:10 PM

Mayo will be remembered like all good teams who get to All Ireland Finals and lose. The Galway team of the 70's and the Roscommon teams of later on in the decade.

There was never a time I felt that Mayo could have beaten Dublin in all those encounters since 2012. We gave them a game, but they always had a bit more. You have to say they have got a lot of of the Millions and Millions they have gotten from the Government, the AA and their Sponsors.

Anyway that's all in the past now.
I never mind Dubs or who ever having a go at Mayo it. it's in the nature of the Game but when I see comments like the above from Mayo People I just shake my head.

what kind of fecking self-loathing pessimist see their them draw a match ending on the front Foot cannot see his team win ?

and then writes off any future prospect of success before a ball is kicked in the new year

and the other one having a go at the players , probably the finest bunch of lads to ever pull on the read and green since the 50's anyway ,
courteous polite always time for Supporters , look as thought they love playing for Mayo not afraid to take action when needed eg the heave of pat and noel .
the manner they came back from that with no shite talk and just got on playing as good as ever was remarkable.

They may not have won Sam but it one hell of a ride getting their and the league last year was a fantastic win and a small down payment of whats to come.

Rant over , carry on