Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on April 26, 2017, 06:47:49 PM

Title: Tommy Tiernan's tasteless "joke" about Arlene Foster
Post by: T Fearon on April 26, 2017, 06:47:49 PM
Is it just me,or do people generally find,with the exception of Pat Shortt,Freestate comedians (and I use that term losely) to be lewd,obnoxious and generally not funny?
Title: Re: Tommy Tiernan's tasteless "joke" about Arlene Foster
Post by: Rossfan on April 26, 2017, 06:50:05 PM
They'd be all in their late 90s by now.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 26, 2017, 06:51:19 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 26, 2017, 06:47:49 PM
Is it just me,or do people generally find,with the exception of Pat Shortt,Freestate comedians (and I use that term losely) to be lewd,obnoxious and generally not funny?

It's just you, I'm afraid!  ;)
Post by: imtommygunn on April 26, 2017, 06:55:34 PM

It is a bit rich you calling anyone else's jokes tasteless.
Post by: seafoid on April 26, 2017, 07:08:52 PM

No. Some of them are very good.  Who would you class as funny anyway ?
Post by: BennyCake on April 26, 2017, 07:10:42 PM
What was the joke?
Post by: Avondhu star on April 26, 2017, 07:25:05 PM

They can't all have the talent of May McFetteridge
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 26, 2017, 07:26:02 PM
Quote from: Avondhu star on April 26, 2017, 07:25:05 PM
They can't all have the talent of May McFetteridge

Har har har! That's a cracker!
Post by: omaghjoe on April 26, 2017, 07:26:31 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on April 26, 2017, 07:10:42 PM
What was the joke?

Post by: Tony Baloney on April 26, 2017, 07:26:40 PM
What was the joke?
"If she wasn't in politics I can see her working single-handedly on a tiny little farm in south Fermanagh driving cattle up some country lane."

Tiernan then impersonated Foster, saying: "Go on you pups, you fenian bastards ye, go up you fenian... Friesian Arlene, they are called Friesian, Arlene. I'll call them what I want."
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 26, 2017, 07:30:44 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 26, 2017, 06:55:34 PM

It is a bit rich you calling anyone else's jokes tasteless.

Typical of T Fearon to do it though.  ::)
Post by: mrdeeds on April 26, 2017, 08:26:39 PM
He's brilliant here

https://youtu.be/H5KAaVc9r8I

Post by: Crete Boom on April 26, 2017, 08:40:36 PM
I always wonder did these lads meet Fearon before coming up with this sketch , https://youtu.be/7l4JA4C3Qis !!
Post by: StGallsGAA on April 26, 2017, 08:45:20 PM
The BBC  have decided to edit Tommy's joke out of the replay of the show.  They've also edited out his reference to Bloody Sunday - someone must have thought that was tasteless too even though he wasn't making a joke.
Post by: Orior on April 26, 2017, 08:58:46 PM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on April 26, 2017, 08:45:20 PM
The BBC  have decided to edit Tommy's joke out of the replay of the show.  They've also edited out his reference to Bloody Sunday - someone must have thought that was tasteless too Eben though he wasn't making a joke.

I'm not keen on Tiernan's 'shock' humour. But then there are comedians that I think are hilarious and others just don't get it.
Post by: longballin on April 26, 2017, 09:00:00 PM

Aye none as funny as your jokes on the deaths thread on this board Tony...
Post by: imtommygunn on April 26, 2017, 10:07:38 PM
Quote from: Orior on April 26, 2017, 08:58:46 PM
The BBC  have decided to edit Tommy's joke out of the replay of the show.  They've also edited out his reference to Bloody Sunday - someone must have thought that was tasteless too Eben though he wasn't making a joke.

I'm not keen on Tiernan's 'shock' humour. But then there are comedians that I think are hilarious and others just don't get it.

I would agree. i think he's a bit of a tool. There are loads of funny southern comics though. As for the ones in the north not so many...
Post by: Avondhu star on April 26, 2017, 10:35:33 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 26, 2017, 10:07:38 PM

I would agree. i think he's a bit of a tool. There are loads of funny southern comics though. As for the ones in the north not so many...
Obviously you haven't watched the Shinner with the Dunnet Stores suit trying to play the responsible politician act so
Post by: magpie seanie on April 26, 2017, 11:09:34 PM
Tommy Tiernan is simply not funny in my opinion. I hadn't heard the "joke" but if it's as described it's just stupid and shit as opposed to offensive I'd have thought.
Post by: longballin on April 26, 2017, 11:11:37 PM
He packs out every venue he plays, so many find him very funny. I be one of them..
Post by: Dougal Maguire on April 26, 2017, 11:23:50 PM
Each to his own. I think he's hit or miss, although I think the Arlene joke was good.
Post by: ziggysego on April 26, 2017, 11:24:29 PM
I took my Mother to see Tommy Tiernan in Cookstown years ago. I kinda regret that in hindsight.

He's hilarious though.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 26, 2017, 11:26:39 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 26, 2017, 11:24:29 PM
I took my Mother to see Tommy Tiernan in Cookstown years ago. I kinda regret that in hindsight.

He's hilarious though.

You should by now that Cookstown is no place to bring your mum.
Post by: Rossfan on April 26, 2017, 11:41:39 PM
For the record I can see nothing funny in Tommy Tiernan.
Post by: BennyCake on April 27, 2017, 12:26:01 AM
Tommy can be hilarious just in conversation, but his stand up is hit and miss.

That unplanned tour he did was absolutely brutal.
Post by: T Fearon on April 27, 2017, 07:01:45 AM
Off the top of my head,unfunny,lewd Freestate "comedians" include,Dara O'Brian,Ed Byrne,Tommy Tiernan,Brendan O'Carroll,Jake Gallagher,Deirdre O'Kane.

By way of contrast,the late Frank Carson and Jimmy Cricket (both sound Catholic Northerners) made me laugh.Their humour was simple and inoffensive.
Post by: Hectic on April 27, 2017, 08:31:15 AM

I went to see Tommy Tiernan last minute a few years ago after a friend offered me a ticket - I am not madly up with the comedy scene but I do enjoy a good comedian but to be honest I came away thinking that is not comedy but rather a guy spewing as much filth as he could get out of his mouth.  I am far from a prude but it seriously lacked any sort of wit.
Post by: Hectic on April 27, 2017, 08:35:15 AM
But I suppose very few comedians are universally popular.  I do like The Savage Eye but I know a lot of folk think it is terrible.
Post by: johnneycool on April 27, 2017, 09:31:54 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 27, 2017, 07:01:45 AM
Off the top of my head,unfunny,lewd Freestate "comedians" include,Dara O'Brian,Ed Byrne,Tommy Tiernan,Brendan O'Carroll,Jake Gallagher,Deirdre O'Kane.

By way of contrast,the late Frank Carson and Jimmy Cricket (both sound Catholic Northerners) made me laugh.Their humour was simple and inoffensive.

Key word right there!
Post by: lurganblue on April 27, 2017, 09:34:33 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 26, 2017, 07:26:40 PM
What was the joke?
"If she wasn't in politics I can see her working single-handedly on a tiny little farm in south Fermanagh driving cattle up some country lane."

Tiernan then impersonated Foster, saying: "Go on you pups, you fenian b**tards ye, go up you fenian... Friesian Arlene, they are called Friesian, Arlene. I'll call them what I want."

Sounds funny to me.

It's hardly high up on the Frankie Boyle offensiveness scale
Post by: Dire Ear on April 27, 2017, 09:58:37 AM
Quote from: Hectic on April 27, 2017, 08:35:15 AM
But I suppose very few comedians are universally popular.  I do like The Savage Eye but I know a lot of folk think it is terrible.
Savage Eye was brilliant, is it over?
Post by: Crete Boom on April 27, 2017, 10:13:04 AM
Quote from: Avondhu star on April 26, 2017, 10:35:33 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 26, 2017, 10:07:38 PM

Obviously you haven't watched the Shinner with the Dunnet Stores suit trying to play the responsible politician act so

We have plenty down south too check this out, https://youtu.be/PUry3qVFfSk !!
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 27, 2017, 10:32:34 AM
Quote from: Dire Ear on April 27, 2017, 09:58:37 AM

Savage eye was nail on head comedy gold.
Post by: BennyCake on April 27, 2017, 10:41:05 AM
Seems like this is a partionist comedians thread. And some people don't like certain comedians just because they come from across the invisible border, rather than just not finding them funny.
Post by: Hectic on April 27, 2017, 10:43:44 AM
Quote from: Dire Ear on April 27, 2017, 09:58:37 AM

Have not seen any new stuff lately - some hilarious stuff in it in my opinion from the English trial determining if the guy was Irish by playing the fiddle to see if he would start Irish dancing while throwing potatoes at him, the taking the soup one really got me, the Nordies and on and on and on.  Great stuff.
Post by: Orior on April 27, 2017, 11:01:02 AM
Quote from: Hectic on April 27, 2017, 08:31:15 AM

I went to see Tommy Tiernan last minute a few years ago after a friend offered me a ticket - I am not madly up with the comedy scene but I do enjoy a good comedian but to be honest I came away thinking that is not comedy but rather a guy spewing as much filth as he could get out of his mouth.  I am far from a prude but it seriously lacked any sort of wit.

OptionsYour Choice
Strongly AgreeX
Agree
Neither Agree or Disagree
Disagree
Strongly Disagree
Post by: seafoid on April 27, 2017, 11:09:02 AM
I don't think it matters where they come from.
Same with music.
Post by: screenexile on April 27, 2017, 11:15:28 AM
I think it's massively unfair to judge a comedian's joke based on reading it in a thread that has already called it tasteless!!

If we were meant to read Tommy's jokes he'd put them in a book. I'd rather see the context in which he told it and gauge the reaction of the audience at the time. My guess is he got a hearty laugh from it!!
Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 27, 2017, 01:21:24 PM

What is your opinion of Jimmy Young - a comedian from N.Ireland and about as funny as Carson and Cricket but not a Catholic? (You are old enough to know him)

Similarly, where does the Northerner, May McFetteridge, fit into your rating of comedians?

Post by: Stall the Bailer on April 27, 2017, 01:35:25 PM
Going to see him tonight for the first time. Can fill you in on the craic or lack off tomorrow
Post by: BennyCake on April 27, 2017, 01:36:33 PM
Jimmy Young? Jaysus, thon boy was as funny as a kick in the goolies.

Carson was funny though. Could you imagine spending any length of time with him though. He'd have done yer head in. No wonder his wife kept telling him to go on your :D
Post by: Applesisapples on April 27, 2017, 01:42:14 PM

as opposed to you Tony, simple and offensive.
Post by: Esmarelda on April 27, 2017, 01:54:39 PM
I think Tiernan can be hilarious but he has started doing strange whispering in his show, and I'm not sure what he's trying to achieve.

Who exactly do the BBC think the joke offended. As someone else said, it's hardly Frankie Boyle territory.

Savage Eye is/was very funny. Pity the boy that does it is a bit of a tool.
Post by: Estimator on April 27, 2017, 02:08:30 PM
I went to see Tommy in the Millennium Forum back in February. It was a full house. I thought the majority of his material was hilarious, some of it wasn't great. He certainly descended into some of the more lewd and crude stuff in the second half. Though not close to Jimmy Carr's level. Most of crowd sitting close to where I was definitely enjoyed the show. There was one couple who failed to crack a smile for the entire performance.
Post by: T Fearon on April 27, 2017, 03:36:41 PM
Owen.I liked James Young,and remember his tv shows on Saturday nights,in the early 70s.The family even had vinyl LPs of his back in the day,believe it or not.He was funny as he could create local characters we all could recognise.May Mc Fetridge is the same,we've all come across a May in real life.

I also think Pat Shortt is funny without being offensive,as are the likes of Rhod Gilbert.Also liked Tommy Cooper and Ken Dodd even!
Post by: BennyCake on April 27, 2017, 04:17:41 PM
Pat Shortt is great being interviewed, just being himself he's really funny. His comedy, so so. Dunbelievables I thought was awful, seen a bit of Matty which was quite good.
Post by: Avondhu star on April 27, 2017, 05:51:29 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on April 27, 2017, 04:17:41 PM
Pat Shortt is great being interviewed, just being himself he's really funny. His comedy, so so. Dunbelievables I thought was awful, seen a bit of Matty which was quite good.

A great man for laughing at his own jokes is Pat
Post by: Itchy on April 27, 2017, 07:02:29 PM
Google Tommy Tiernan and show review. Check out the reviews, he's one of the best stand ups there is. Dara O Briain also excellent. Patrick Kielty and unbelievable shite give my head peace on the other hand ...
Post by: longballin on April 27, 2017, 07:12:20 PM
there's some right prudes on here if you find these comedians offensive. DON'T go to see Frankie Boyle! Is is very funny though...
Post by: 5 Sams on April 27, 2017, 08:21:40 PM

Billy Connolly??
Post by: Orior on April 27, 2017, 08:48:18 PM
I've watched a number of James Young clips on Youtube recently and they are hilarious. The man was ahead of his time.

Plus, he didn't have to use foul language to make people laugh. Funny that, innit?
Post by: giveherlong on April 27, 2017, 09:10:13 PM
Any recordings of tommys Arlene joke?
Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 27, 2017, 09:49:27 PM
Quote from: Orior on April 27, 2017, 08:48:18 PM
I've watched a number of James Young clips on Youtube recently and they are hilarious. The man was ahead of his time.

Plus, he didn't have to use foul language to make people laugh. Funny that, innit?

The level of sexual innuendo he used was quite risqué for the late 60s and early 70s.  He attracted a cross-community audience and at times imitated Dick Emery (if you remember him).
Post by: imtommygunn on April 27, 2017, 09:56:51 PM
Quote from: longballin on April 27, 2017, 07:12:20 PM
there's some right prudes on here if you find these comedians offensive. DON'T go to see Frankie Boyle! Is is very funny though...

A lot is shock value which runs it's course after a bit. I saw boyle live and wasn't impressed. Jimmy carr too. They seem to just be intent on pushing boundaries which is fine for a bit but gets boring.

O'Briain and the likes of bridges are different league in my view.
Post by: red hander on April 27, 2017, 10:00:50 PM
Would love to hear Frankie Boyle do an Arlene Foster joke, that would be funny
Post by: T Fearon on April 28, 2017, 12:16:42 AM
Wasn't James Young openly homosexual,or as openly homosexual as anyone could be in the North in the 60s and 70s? That's why he could impersonate a range of Belfast women perfectly.Also wasn't he a serious actor to begin with who turned to comedy later?
Post by: ziggysego on April 28, 2017, 12:20:03 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 28, 2017, 12:16:42 AM
Wasn't James Young openly homosexual,or as openly homosexual as anyone could be in the North in the 60s and 70s? That's why he could impersonate a range of Belfast women perfectly. Also wasn't he a serious actor to begin with who turned to comedy later?

Jesus Tony  ??? :o ::)
Post by: T Fearon on April 28, 2017, 06:01:10 AM
You weren't there! He was effeminate.Did make us laugh though!
Post by: Franko on April 28, 2017, 07:55:35 AM
Bridges is the man, modern man's Billy Connolly.
Post by: bennydorano on April 28, 2017, 08:10:24 AM
James Young was a wee bit before my time but we had a best off video back in the day, loved him, very funny, the Trade Unionist (one memorable skit for Ghosts rights) still gets quoted to this day!
Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 28, 2017, 09:16:58 AM
He played caricatures of many Irish stereotypes on TV and has been copied by many including the Hole in the Wall Gang and Brendan O'Carroll. It is important to remember that he would have been the first comedian to transfer from radio to TV in N.Ireland in late 60s and early 70s.  As Tony has stated, his work was put out on vinyl LPs because the VHS was still quite a few years away and manys an old record collection and the Dansette record player left in attics will contain the odd Jimmy Young LP.

Here's a selection of his work that shows the characters he played each week on TV, note all the characters used by the Hole in the Wall Gang 20 years later:

https://youtu.be/pk9V55_cPSg (https://youtu.be/pk9V55_cPSg)

https://youtu.be/N4PD3Q5NICo (https://youtu.be/N4PD3Q5NICo)

https://youtu.be/abs0_l6r8TA (https://youtu.be/abs0_l6r8TA)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Young_(comedian) (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Young_(comedian))
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 28, 2017, 10:33:22 AM
F'nCracker
Post by: seafoid on April 28, 2017, 10:44:09 AM
Dave Allen was superb

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jxo81Ok9Urk
Post by: Stall the Bailer on April 28, 2017, 10:46:26 AM
Seen him last night, very good. Three full houses in Derry this weekend. Arlene jokes sell well.
Post by: Main Street on April 28, 2017, 11:24:03 AM
Quote from: giveherlong on April 27, 2017, 09:10:13 PM
Any recordings of tommys Arlene joke?
I caught it somewhere on You Tube. Tommy's done better and he's done worse.
Usually these sketches work better in the context of a show.
All the same, crocodile tears for Arlene's sensitivities, being parodied as a farmer herding cows/fenian pups.