12 (10.7%)
5-10 pts
38 (33.9%)
10+ pts
36 (32.1%)

Total Members Voted: 112

Voting closed: December 19, 2020, 08:56:37 AM

maccer

With such a short turnaround to the next championsip its unlikely Dublin will suffer many retirements or any noticeable dip in form. Should the challengers be looking at an 18 month project now to be ready for 2022 (while obviously looking to win if possible). Cluxton, Fitzsimmons, Cooper,  McCarthy and Rock could be retired by then

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Angelo on December 19, 2020, 09:52:10 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on December 19, 2020, 09:45:59 PM

Usual paranoid nonsense from you that Dublin players don't have real jobs and are professional footballers. You were called out on this BS before but like the Covid thread you ignore the facts and continue to spout your idiotic theories. Just because you think something is true doesn't make it an actual fact

Ah the usual unionism from the Dubs over their unfair advantages. The last thing you want in the game is a level playing field.

You eould give anadin a headache

dublin7

I'll leave it to Mayo fans to point out the quality of Mannion's points against them last year in the semi final.

It's like the Covid thread. When people point out actual facts to disprove your nonsense you ignore them as in your world if you think something is true any evidence or facts that disprove the point are ignored as if it never happened

Mayo4Sam14

Quote from: dublin7 on December 19, 2020, 09:43:16 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on December 19, 2020, 09:30:45 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on December 19, 2020, 09:23:14 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on December 19, 2020, 06:46:26 PM
The worst part is Dublin aren't even footballers anymore. The money thing was one thing when they had Connolly, Brogan etc, those were generational talented footballers.

Dublin are just athletes now, they're a professional outfit against amateurs and that's all.

How are you enjoying them lemons tonight? Bitter enough for you? Fenton is one of the the best footballers in the country and is head and shoulders the best midfielder in the game.  Kilkenny is probably the player of the year. Are you saying Cluxton is just an athlete?

It's bitter posts like this that make victory even sweeter

Cluxton has been there ages, Kilkenny has been there for the last decade. Fenton has been there a few years now too, brilliant footballer although more on the athletic. I'm referring to the players coming through, no Connollys etc it's more to do with professionalism

Con is young player who can kick equally comfortably off either foot (like most of the Dublin footballers)

How many of the Mayo footballers can do that? Dublin do the basics brilliantly. How many of the Mayo forwards are more athletes than scoring forwards? Conroy is a player, but he never got a kick tonight. COC disappeared after the first 20 minutes. Did Mayo even score a point from play in the 2nd half?

The fact you think Fenton isn't much of a footballer and relies on his athleticism means you can't be taken seriously when judging players

O'Callaghan is a brilliant footballer of course, mind I posted this at full time so I probably overstated it a bit but I mean most of the players coming through aren't of the same footballing quality as the outgoing crop who were more generational, and the higher professionalism of the dubs is more telling now
You can forget about Sean Cavanagh as far as he's a man!

dublin7

Quote from: maccer on December 19, 2020, 09:54:38 PM
With such a short turnaround to the next championsip its unlikely Dublin will suffer many retirements or any noticeable dip in form. Should the challengers be looking at an 18 month project now to be ready for 2022 (while obviously looking to win if possible). Cluxton, Fitzsimmons, Cooper,  McCarthy and Rock could be retired by then

Some of the older players might go. MDMA made the bench tonight for the 1st time in the championship this year. O'Sullivan, Kevin Mac and Philly could go as well. While they might not get much game time that's alot of experience and leadership to lose from the squad

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Angelo on December 19, 2020, 09:47:04 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on December 19, 2020, 09:38:20 PM
Quote from: Angelo on December 19, 2020, 09:12:53 PM
When was the last time you saw a Dublin player hit an absolutely unbelievable score under big pressure?
McCaffrey v Kerry 2019
O'Callaghan v Mayo 2019
Mannion v Mayo 2019
Howard v Mayo 2019
McCarthy x 2 v Mayo 2017
Connolly v Mayo 2017
McManamon, O'Gara, Connolly v Kerry 2016
Brogan v Kerry 2015

If those scores are not good enough for you, then probably only Cillian O'Connor's points in 2016 and 2017 against Dublin meet your criteria for points scored in any match in Croke Park since 2014

Pressure on the man, extreme pressure in the situation

Nope.

You're overegging them.

They might be great scores but they weren't under severe pressure. For example the McCaffrey goal, nobody could even get close enough to him to make a tackle and he was one on one with the keeper.

There's never an element of a player doing something amazing where he has to do it by himself. The last time I've seen Dublin do this is with Donegal in 2014. Ever since then it's like they walk it in, do not take on a shot if they are not high %. That's exactly what it was today, they just retain and recycle until the simple chance presents itself. Their complete confidence in their levels of conditioning to be able to grind a team down allows them to do this and execute it so well.

And that becomes easy when the opposition don't do the basics like mark corner and full forwards, which they failed to do for both goals.

The unfortunate reality is Dublin pushed on while every other county regressed. That was a relatively poor Mayo team. And they are clearly the second best team out there. But what Mayo did was expose cracks. Up to you and yours to properly exploit them

Quote from: dublin7 on December 19, 2020, 09:58:24 PM

Some of the older players might go. MDMA made the bench tonight for the 1st time in the championship this year. O'Sullivan, Kevin Mac and Philly could go as well. While they might not get much game time that's alot of experience and leadership to lose from the squad
I highly doubt any of the lads you've named will be missed

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 19, 2020, 09:59:28 PM
When was the last time you saw a Dublin player hit an absolutely unbelievable score under big pressure?
McCaffrey v Kerry 2019
O'Callaghan v Mayo 2019
Mannion v Mayo 2019
Howard v Mayo 2019
McCarthy x 2 v Mayo 2017
Connolly v Mayo 2017
Brogan v Kerry 2015

If those scores are not good enough for you, then probably only Cillian O'Connor's points in 2016 and 2017 against Dublin meet your criteria for points scored in any match in Croke Park since 2014

Nope.

You're overegging them.

They might be great scores but they weren't under severe pressure. For example the McCaffrey goal, nobody could even get close enough to him to make a tackle and he was one on one with the keeper.

There's never an element of a player doing something amazing where he has to do it by himself. The last time I've seen Dublin do this is with Donegal in 2014. Ever since then it's like they walk it in, do not take on a shot if they are not high %. That's exactly what it was today, they just retain and recycle until the simple chance presents itself. Their complete confidence in their levels of conditioning to be able to grind a team down allows them to do this and execute it so well.

And that becomes easy when the opposition don't do the basics like mark corner and full forwards, which they failed to do for both goals.

The unfortunate reality is Dublin pushed on while every other county regressed. That was a relatively poor Mayo team. And they are clearly the second best team out there. But what Mayo did was expose cracks. Up to you and yours to properly exploit them

Exposed? Merely half papered over them due to the 'closeness' for 50 or so minutes.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: dublin7 on December 19, 2020, 09:58:24 PM

Philly going on in injury time was a clear swansong. MDMC has fallen off the pace, wouldn't be surprised if he took the hint.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Farrandeelin on December 19, 2020, 10:00:56 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 19, 2020, 09:59:28 PM
McCaffrey v Kerry 2019
O'Callaghan v Mayo 2019
Mannion v Mayo 2019
Howard v Mayo 2019
McCarthy x 2 v Mayo 2017
Connolly v Mayo 2017
Brogan v Kerry 2015

Nope.

You're overegging them.

Exposed? Merely half papered over them due to the 'closeness' for 50 or so minutes.

Mayo 5 years ago would have made that game tight. In 5 years maybe they will.

The cashed up Dubs won out in the end.

Thanks Jackeens for ruining a great sport we once had.

It's almost akin at this stage to ye lads cheering on the brits back in the day.

I'm bitter, I'm a sore losers. By god I'm still Mayo though, ye guys are a commercial manifestation. f**k that.

End game for me. No point anymore .

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: highorlow on December 19, 2020, 10:04:54 PM
The cashed up Dubs won out in the end.

Thanks Jackeens for ruining a great sport we once had.

It's almost akin at this stage to ye lads cheering on the brits back in the day.

I'm bitter, I'm a sore losers. By god I'm still Mayo though, ye guys are a commercial manifestation. f**k that.

Are you not funded by a currency trader?

So the issue isn't commercialisation. Just you are shite at it

StPatsAbu

Quote from: MayoBuck on December 19, 2020, 09:24:29 PM
It is what it is. Dublin have better players than us. To have a chance we needed everything to go in our favour.

We can't afford to lose a player like Paddy Durcan at half time. We can't afford to have Jason Doherty and Brendan Harrison sitting in the stand for a full championship.

Lee Keegan got a black card in 2016 on a 50:50 decision. Jonny Cooper didn't get one in the 2nd half today. Fitzsimons arguably should have seen red in the 2nd half today yet we didn't even get a free.

Just to reiterate, I'm not being bitter as Dublin have better players than us. Everything had to go our way to win and it didn't.
They don't get sent off because they play for Dublin. It's been like that for a long time

Is Coldrick the ref whose partner works in Croke Park?

Mcgeeney was known to do it when he was with Kildare. Dunno about Armagh. It's not that controversial just a leap to suggest that because of doing it you are being biased.

I didn't catch much of the game today but saw the keegan incident which would have been a two point swing. Like someone else said basically Mayo needed everything to go for them and probably some things needed to go against Dublin. Again mayo died with their boots on - you can have nothing but admiration for them.