Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Gs Man on January 18, 2010, 09:45:23 PM

Title: Paris....advice
Post by: The Gs Man on January 18, 2010, 09:45:23 PM
Hullo.  Heading to gay Paris next week.

Anyone know the best way (cheapest) to get from the airport (Charles De Gaulle) into the city centre?

Thinking of getting the shuttle bus through Easyjet but it seems to get mixed reviews on tripadvisor.  A Taxi works out about 60 or 70 Euros which is a feckin rip-off.

Cheers in advance! :)
Title: Re: Paris....advice
Post by: mc_grens on January 18, 2010, 09:50:07 PM
If I remember, the taxi was more like €45, and is kinda worth it when you remember that you'll at least be droppped at your hotel door and will have no trekking round with luggage.
Post by: Shortso79 on January 18, 2010, 09:51:21 PM
get the metro  train - great job - cheap as chips

go to disneyland - its lethal
Post by: Paul Mc Graths Da on January 18, 2010, 10:07:05 PM
Stay away from Disneyland - it's beyond shite (unless you're a bit special)
Always use the metro
For eating and drinking it pays to stay just off the beaten track (montmartre has some lovely wee bars and restaurants in amongst the windy streets)
Post by: Gaffer on January 18, 2010, 10:21:09 PM
Centre of Paris is not a place if you are a tightarse. 2 drinks cost moi 16 euros last year. Fcukin killed me to pay it. >:( >:( >:(
Post by: JimStynes on January 18, 2010, 10:31:52 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on January 18, 2010, 10:21:09 PM
Centre of Paris is not a place if you are a tightarse. 2 drinks cost moi 16 euros last year. Fcukin killed me to pay it. >:( >:( >:(

G's man wont be hanging around the centre of paris then  ;D
Post by: armaghniac on January 18, 2010, 10:51:12 PM
It all depends on where you are going. But I'd take the train and perhaps then a taxi if needs be. If you are going hand luggage only, you can easily go on the metro and there are a metro stations everyone in central Paris so it is generally only a short walk to the hotel.
Post by: under the bar on January 18, 2010, 10:57:47 PM
You can purchase a 'Carnet' for the trains which is a little book of 10 tickets and you can travel as far as you like with them.   A good cheap simple system which london transport could take example from 
Post by: Norf Tyrone on January 18, 2010, 11:12:57 PM
I can never remember the details like prices and things when I come back from holidays.... but the Eiffel Tower is superb.
Post by: ross4life on January 18, 2010, 11:25:51 PM
to be fair to the lad i don't think he mention Disneyland? but going their all depends if you like theme parks or not, & even then the children will still want to go anyways ::)

anyways the metro is the way to go (just check your hotel for the nearset metro stop)
Post by: takeyourownpath on January 18, 2010, 11:41:30 PM
the bus men and taxi drivers are all in cahoots! told us we'd missed the last bus to the airport and we'd have to get a taxi at 70euro! lucky a nice couple informed us there was another bus in 20mins!
wouldn't suggest the metro if you've got cases/younsters with you, nightmare them stairs!
Post by: mannix on January 19, 2010, 01:53:31 AM
taxis are crazy but necessary if you have bags with no wheels or kids with you. there are sandwich shops called la croisanterie and a great selection of restaurants in the louvre museum that are not expensive and have a wide selection of foods, sidewalk places are ripoff expensive and generally will leave you hungry even if you pay a lot.  ALWAYS LOOK AT THE PRICES AND BE CAREFUL OF THE SEATS ON THE SIDEWALK, MORE EXPENSIVE FOR FOOD, EXPECT TO PAY 8 OR 9 EURO A PINT FOR ANY BEER.
Post by: gallsman on January 19, 2010, 09:11:53 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on January 18, 2010, 09:45:23 PM
Hullo.  Heading to gay Paris next week.

Anyone know the best way (cheapest) to get from the airport (Charles De Gaulle) into the city centre?

Thinking of getting the shuttle bus through Easyjet but it seems to get mixed reviews on tripadvisor.  A Taxi works out about 60 or 70 Euros which is a feckin rip-off.

Cheers in advance! :)

I used the metro. A line change or two as far as I can recall, but that's only to be expected in a city the size of Paris. I was coming from Terminal 3.
Post by: dublinfella on January 19, 2010, 10:13:44 AM
RER train from CDG straight into the centre and leaves you on the Metro. Couple of euro, 20 mins.

Also loads of touristy places round the Latin Quarer do set menus for good value, worth checking out.

Rue Lappe for nightlife, near the Bastille.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on January 19, 2010, 10:48:38 AM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 19, 2010, 10:13:44 AM
RER train from CDG straight into the centre and leaves you on the Metro. Couple of euro, 20 mins.

Also loads of touristy places round the Latin Quarer do set menus for good value, worth checking out.

Rue Lappe for nightlife, near the Bastille.
Would agree  with everything you say , have been to Paris a couple of times and have found good value restaurants in and around the Latin Quarter
Post by: The Gs Man on January 19, 2010, 07:16:57 PM
Cheers lads! Some good advice there.
Post by: stiffler on November 16, 2018, 07:32:02 PM
Any recommend best way to get from Beauvais airport into Paris city centre ?
Post by: playwiththewind1st on November 16, 2018, 07:54:30 PM
Quote from: stiffler on November 16, 2018, 07:32:02 PM

Just looked up my Rough Guide there for ya. Says take coach Beauvais - Porte Maillot & metro after that.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 16, 2018, 08:16:15 PM
You flying with Ryanair? They did run a bus from the airport and it dropped you off at the Irish bar in central Paris ..

Though that was a right few years ago (20!!!)
Post by: Hardy on November 17, 2018, 11:26:12 AM
But do not go into said Irish Bar unless you enjoy being fleeced.
Post by: Gold on November 17, 2018, 12:51:36 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on November 16, 2018, 07:54:30 PM

Just looked up my Rough Guide there for ya. Says take coach Beauvais - Porte Maillot & metro after that.

Thats it. Flew home from there a few months back. Metro fo Port Maillot then bus to airport...40mins or so. Not much in that airport.
Post by: spuds on November 17, 2018, 01:58:36 PM
Quote from: Gold on November 17, 2018, 12:51:36 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on November 16, 2018, 07:54:30 PM

Thats it. Flew home from there a few months back. Metro fo Port Maillot then bus to airport...40mins or so. Not much in that airport.
Remember us getting off at Port Maillot and having an oysters and amazing white wine meal at a corner restaurant nearby thinking this was the life. Had a right day about Paris for our first day before heading back to our depressing Etap hotel with it's camper van bathroom on the far side of the Boulevard Peripherique, having to pass by junkies and alcos on an undesignated unlit underpass with no footpath. The alcohol helps sometimes.
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 15, 2019, 08:01:41 PM
Sad to see the Notre Dame Cathedral engulfed in flames this evening.
Post by: JimStynes on April 15, 2019, 08:16:32 PM
Terrible! Some history lost.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 15, 2019, 08:44:27 PM
Awful. The spire is gone and it's spreading to the towers. This is not looking good.  :'(
Post by: Capt Pat on April 15, 2019, 09:05:32 PM
I never got to see it. I was always thinking of taking a trip to Paris but have never been.
Post by: RedHand88 on April 15, 2019, 10:02:03 PM
Unbelievable to think it survives 850 years of European history and everything that it entailed, but gets destroyed within a few hours on a Monday evening in April 2019, probably due to the renovations.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on April 15, 2019, 10:37:22 PM
The spire is only 150 years old

But yeah, terrible all the same
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 15, 2019, 10:48:22 PM
It will rise again......but not til we're old and greyer  :-\
Post by: GJL on April 15, 2019, 10:52:47 PM
Was in it a few times. Magnificent building. Very sad to watch it burn. Hopefully it will be restored properly.   
Post by: moysider on April 16, 2019, 12:52:32 AM

No loss of life but this is a tragedy for humanity. Terrible.

Hopefully those windows survived.
Post by: Dire Ear on April 16, 2019, 08:30:06 AM
Good way to reunite the country, a cynic would say
Post by: tonto1888 on April 16, 2019, 08:30:44 AM
Quote from: moysider on April 16, 2019, 12:52:32 AM

How is an old building burning down a tragedy for humanity?
Post by: Insane Bolt on April 16, 2019, 09:16:40 AM

What's happening in Yemen is a tragedy for humanity......what's even more tragic for humanity is people care more about a building/windows.....than human suffering.
Post by: Rossfan on April 16, 2019, 09:23:03 AM
And that cnut Gemma O'Doherty claiming it's an "attack on European civilisation " and "we" need to fight back.

It's  a pity such a fine old building is damaged but " tragedy"......
NO.
Post by: Insane Bolt on April 16, 2019, 09:28:53 AM
Over €300 million pledged already for restoration......incredible......tycoons trying to outdo each other.....

'Again I tell you, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God.'

Indeed.

Post by: trailer on April 16, 2019, 09:59:33 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 16, 2019, 09:23:03 AM
And that cnut Gemma O'Doherty claiming it's an "attack on European civilisation " and "we" need to fight back.

It's  a pity such a fine old building is damaged but " tragedy"......
NO.

She's a f**king tragedy.

Post by: north_antrim_hound on April 16, 2019, 10:00:10 AM
Quote from: Insane Bolt on April 16, 2019, 09:16:40 AM

What's happening in Yemen is a tragedy for humanity......what's even more tragic for humanity is people care more about a building/windows.....than human suffering.

That's exactly what crossed my mind when the media went into overdrive on this. The billionaire that owns Gucci is gonna pay for restoration but how much would he pledge to Syrian refugees. Bunch of jumped up attention seeking pretentious idiots the lot of them.
How many of these people have a passion for gothic architecture
Post by: seafoid on April 16, 2019, 10:34:42 AM
Most of the historic buildings in Ireland were trashed by the English over time.
Visiting countries that weren't occupied by England for centuries you notice what a lovely heritage they still have.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 16, 2019, 10:38:30 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on April 16, 2019, 10:08:48 AM
I know now that the Internet's corrupted me badly when I first saw pictures of the fire and the first words that came into my head was "You let Dougal do a funeral?!"

I know....we were watching the coverage last night.. she turns to me and says 'Paris mourns the burning of the Notre Dam, Belfast mourns the burning of Primark!'....thought it was quite funny myself....
Post by: armaghniac on April 16, 2019, 11:35:52 AM
Quote from: seafoid on April 16, 2019, 10:34:42 AM
Most of the historic buildings in Ireland were trashed by the English over time.
Visiting countries that weren't occupied by England for centuries you notice what a lovely heritage they still have.

In fairness, some of them were thrashed by the Germans.
Post by: seafoid on April 16, 2019, 12:25:51 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 16, 2019, 11:35:52 AM
Quote from: seafoid on April 16, 2019, 10:34:42 AM

In fairness, some of them were thrashed by the Germans.

They were but let's just say that Bord Failte has an Ancient East marketing campaign because there isn't much left of the
Medieval stuff that is presentable.
And the Germans only operated over a few years rather than centuries
Post by: playwiththewind1st on April 16, 2019, 01:28:10 PM
Last real tragedy in Paris was the Duke of Edinburgh tampering with yer woman's brake pipes & forcing us to listen to over 20 years' worth of "England's Rose" type nonsense.
Post by: tonto1888 on April 16, 2019, 01:31:04 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on April 16, 2019, 10:08:48 AM
I know now that the Internet's corrupted me badly when I first saw pictures of the fire and the first words that came into my head was "You let Dougal do a funeral?!"

As for the tragic/not tragic angle, it is at least a positive that no person seems to have been harmed, but such the destruction of a building that holds centuries of historical cultural heritage is if not a tragedy at least a significant loss for a civilisation. No less worse than other such places or constructions of long standing cultural artefacts that are destroyed either accidentally or deliberately. The fact that a great deal of suffering is occurring to a large group of people by other people, particularly when this suffering is happening in isolation from such an incident of cultural destruction, doesn't change that. Neither do you have to choose one over the other.

You don't have to choose one over the other but an old building burning is not a human tragedy
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on April 16, 2019, 01:51:13 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on April 16, 2019, 10:00:10 AM

That's exactly what crossed my mind when the media went into overdrive on this. The billionaire that owns Gucci is gonna pay for restoration but how much would he pledge to Syrian refugees. Bunch of jumped up attention seeking pretentious idiots the lot of them.

Its their money they can spend it on what they like and a 100 million on an iconic landmark is far more honourable than spunking hundreds of millions on spoilt brats to kick a football around as for the rest of the rant why are you spending money on broadband and not pledge it to refugees or some other cause
Post by: armaghniac on April 16, 2019, 01:58:28 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 16, 2019, 12:25:51 PM

The Germans were more efficient than the British in wrecking things.
But when you travel on the Continent and see old abbeys and churches operational when here they are roofless ruins, you realise how much was lost.
Post by: Hardy on April 16, 2019, 02:03:05 PM
An 850-year-old beacon of human heritage is destroyed and all some fools can think to say is that we shouldn't call it a human tragedy because there's only one definition of tragedy.

Or they suggest that we shouldn't bewail the loss unless we issue a preamble listing all tragedies (to be mediated by these commentators themselves, we assume).

They seem to believe that to mourn one tragedy implies complete disregard for other tragedies.

And then, when someone offers to pay for its restoration, they condemn him for not paying to remediate other tragedies (thereby also assuming that he has never contributed to any other cause).
Post by: GJL on April 16, 2019, 02:10:37 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 16, 2019, 02:03:05 PM
An 850-year-old beacon of human heritage is destroyed and all some fools can think to say is that we shouldn't call it a human tragedy because there's only one definition of tragedy.

Or they suggest that we shouldn't bewail the loss unless we issue a preamble listing all tragedies (to be mediated by these commentators themselves, we assume).

They seem to believe that to mourn one tragedy implies complete disregard for other tragedies.

And then, when someone offers to pay for its restoration, they condemn him for not paying to remediate other tragedies (thereby also assuming that he has never contributed to any other cause).

Good post..
Post by: J70 on April 16, 2019, 02:18:18 PM

Well said.
Post by: seafoid on April 16, 2019, 02:26:15 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 16, 2019, 01:58:28 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 16, 2019, 12:25:51 PM

The Germans were more efficient than the British in wrecking things.
But when you travel on the Continent and see old abbeys and churches operational when here they are roofless ruins, you realise how much was lost.

Alsace had a pretty crap history over the last 500 years between wars, famines, plagues, being run by the Nazis etc  but it has a lot more functional "patrimoine" than Ireland has. Bad times didn't go on indefinitely.
The English were vicious. I think the Israelis in Gaza would be comparable.
Post by: tonto1888 on April 16, 2019, 02:29:19 PM

Who said we shouldn't bewail it's loss? Who said to mourn one tragedy implies complete disregard for other tragedies. And how is it a human tragedy?
Post by: Insane Bolt on April 16, 2019, 02:32:13 PM

So your definition of tragedy is superior to 'some fools'.....unbelievable Jeff😂
It's a building.....they can be rebuilt/restored.....so the news coverage et all is IMHO way over the top.
As for those tycoons contributing to the restoration.....you are right they can do whatever they like with their money.....but spare us the sanctimonious bull.
Post by: seafoid on April 16, 2019, 02:48:42 PM
Quote from: Insane Bolt on April 16, 2019, 02:32:13 PM

So your definition of tragedy is superior to 'some fools'.....unbelievable Jeff😂
It's a building.....they can be rebuilt/restored.....so the news coverage et all is IMHO way over the top.
As for those tycoons contributing to the restoration.....you are right they can do whatever they like with their money.....but spare us the sanctimonious bull.

The Customs house and Four Courts were bombed in the Irish civil war and the historical records of the country were lost. That was a tragedy.
Not everything can be rebuilt.
Post by: trailer on April 16, 2019, 02:53:27 PM
Some people on this thread should seek immediate help from trained health professionals.
Post by: ziggysego on April 16, 2019, 02:53:47 PM
Quote from: Insane Bolt on April 16, 2019, 09:28:53 AM
Over €300 million pledged already for restoration......incredible......tycoons trying to outdo each other.....

'Again I tell you, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God.'

Indeed.

Where's the €300 million for where it's really needed?
Post by: armaghniac on April 16, 2019, 03:24:58 PM
Quote from: trailer on April 16, 2019, 02:53:27 PM
Some people on this thread should seek immediate help from trained health professionals.

Or at least stop the self medication.
Post by: north_antrim_hound on April 16, 2019, 03:46:42 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 16, 2019, 02:53:47 PM
Quote from: Insane Bolt on April 16, 2019, 09:28:53 AM

Indeed.

Where's the €300 million for where it's really needed?

I would say contributions to save life's wouldn't have the same impact in their social circles so f..k it let's re build this gothic church and get some back slaps from the in crowd. He's French so he can adopt the "let them eat cake" mindset of two hundred years ago.

Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 16, 2019, 05:48:07 PM

And the traditional Irish begrudgery and gobshitery is underway.

Yesterday I saw the people of Paris responding with dignity to this, singing hymns while watching in sadness but taking comfort in each other's presence. It was a beautiful moment. They say that when you're explaining to your kids why bad things happen in the world, it's good practice to point out how this sort of thing often brings out the best in people. They say that whenever something bad is happening, look out for how the place is full of good people trying to put it right or trying to help others.

Unfortunately there's something about the anonymity of social media that also brings out the worst in people, and I was bracing myself for the inevitable that was sure to follow today. As soon as anybody tries to do anything worthwhile, out come the begrudgers and the usual tiresome "what about the homeless" brigade.

"He's spending millions fixing problem X? How much did he spend on problem Y?"

"He's spending millions fixing problem Y? How much did he spend on problem X?"

The city of Paris is a priceless treasure. The old part of town is a work of art. It has survived revolutions, world wars, terrorist attacks and Christ knows what all, and we're very lucky to have it. They say that France falling to the Nazis as quickly as it did was why so much of Paris survived intact.

The loss of human life is not the only bad thing that can happen in this world. Imagine if Dublin's GPO were to burn down. Or Navan Fort were to be obliterated somehow (which almost happened). Or if St Patrick's Cathedral in Armagh were to burn down. Or if another beautiful building like Belfast City Hall were to be lost. Are you telling me we've got no business mourning the loss of heritage if nobody dies in the process? That it's no big deal if an irreplaceable treasure gets lost? Was it no big deal when the Taliban blew up the Buddhas of Bamyan?

Cop yourselves on.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 16, 2019, 05:50:01 PM

Could not agree more. There are times when the internet would put your head astray.
Post by: Insane Bolt on April 16, 2019, 06:11:29 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 16, 2019, 05:48:07 PM

Yesterday I saw the people of Paris responding with dignity to this, singing hymns while watching in sadness but taking comfort in each other's presence. It was a beautiful moment. They say that when you're explaining to your kids why bad things happen in the world, it's good practice to point out how this sort of thing often brings out the best in people. They say that whenever something bad is happening, look out for how the place is full of good people trying to put it right or trying to help others.

Unfortunately there's something about the anonymity of social media that also brings out the worst in people, and I was bracing myself for the inevitable that was sure to follow today. As soon as anybody tries to do anything worthwhile, out come the begrudgers and the usual tiresome "what about the homeless" brigade.

The city of Paris is a priceless treasure. The old part of town is a work of art. It has survived revolutions, world wars, terrorist attacks and Christ knows what all, and we're very lucky to have it. They say that France falling to the Nazis as quickly as it did was why so much of Paris survived intact.

The loss of human life is not the only bad thing that can happen in this world. Imagine if Dublin's GPO were to burn down. Or Navan Fort were to be obliterated somehow (which almost happened). Or if St Patrick's Cathedral in Armagh were to burn down. Or if another beautiful building like Belfast City Hall were to be lost. Are you telling me we've got no business mourning the loss of heritage if nobody dies in the process? That it's no big deal if an irreplaceable treasure gets lost? Was it no big deal when the Taliban blew up the Buddhas of Bamyan?

Cop yourselves on.

Do you do stand up?😂😂😂😂
Post by: tonto1888 on April 16, 2019, 06:51:55 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 16, 2019, 05:48:07 PM

Cop yourselves on.

I don't anybody has said don't mourn it. Certainly from my point of view all I'm saying is it isn't a human tragedy. Not that what happened isn't bad or sad.

Funny you should mention the Taliban. Where was all this outrage when they and Isis were destroying historical buildings in that part of the world
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 16, 2019, 07:59:30 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on April 16, 2019, 06:51:55 PM
Funny you should mention the Taliban. Where was all this outrage when they and Isis were destroying historical buildings in that part of the world

Are you serious? You think there was no outrage about Isis destroying ancient treasures?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 16, 2019, 08:00:45 PM
Quote from: Insane Bolt on April 16, 2019, 06:11:29 PM
Do you do stand up?😂😂😂😂

No, but I've often considered giving it a shot.
Post by: Insane Bolt on April 16, 2019, 08:14:42 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 16, 2019, 08:00:45 PM
Quote from: Insane Bolt on April 16, 2019, 06:11:29 PM
Do you do stand up?😂😂😂😂

No, but I've often considered giving it a shot.

Go for it👍👍
Post by: tonto1888 on April 16, 2019, 09:34:38 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 16, 2019, 07:59:30 PM

Are you serious? You think there was no outrage about Isis destroying ancient treasures?

There certainly wasn't anything as close to what we are seeing over this. But then we didn't have the likes of Hopkins and GOD whipping up hysteria
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 16, 2019, 09:46:05 PM
It's customary to get more upset about bad things that happen closer to home, particularly somewhere that many of us have visited.

Is that okay with you?
Post by: tonto1888 on April 16, 2019, 09:51:48 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 16, 2019, 09:46:05 PM
It's customary to get more upset about bad things that happen closer to home, particularly somewhere that many of us have visited.

Is that okay with you?

Has a nerve been touched there Eamon? You find it customary I find it hypocritical. I also find describing it as a human tragedy grossly exaggerated
Post by: Insane Bolt on April 16, 2019, 10:22:36 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 16, 2019, 09:46:05 PM

Is that okay with you?

How does it compare with Grenfell Tower? Maybe you never heard of it.....after all it was a human tragedy.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 17, 2019, 12:12:27 AM
I am aware. There was an entire thread about the Grenfell Tower.

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=27952.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=27952.0)

Grenfell was a horrifying loss of human life that raised all sorts of questions about fire safety and the treatment of ordinary people.

Notre Dame is a heartbreaking loss of cultural value.
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on April 17, 2019, 09:26:19 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on April 16, 2019, 09:34:38 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 16, 2019, 07:59:30 PM

There certainly wasn't anything as close to what we are seeing over this. But then we didn't have the likes of Hopkins and GOD whipping up hysteria

Palmyra was in the news non-stop at the time